digimag-banner

Plumtree: Sharks will struggle

John Plumtree says the unavailability of 10 first-choice Sharks will hamper his team’s progress to the play-offs.

The Sharks may have won the 2008 Currie Cup, but according to their coach, they’ll battle to mount a successful title defence. The Sharks were thumped 29-15 by Western Province on Saturday, a result that bodes badly for the rest of the season.

To make matters worse, captain Johann Muller was brought off in the second half with an arm injury. Plumtree confirmed the lock went to hospital to receive treatment, and at this stage, the injury looks serious. For the Sharks to lose Muller would be another debilitating blow for a team short of depth.

‘We’ve lost 10, and it may be 11 now that Johann [is in doubt],’ Plumtree told keo.co.za. ‘We’ll have to do some recruiting if he’s unavailable. Hopefully Waylon Murray, who has been out with injury for awhile, will be fully fit by next week, so that’s one positive, but otherwise we are short on numbers.

‘We know what the situation is and we’ll try to hang in there until the Springboks return. Hopefully we are still in contention for the play-offs at that point, otherwise we still have to build for the Super 14.

‘If WP don’t make the top four then there are some serious problems. For us, it’s the other way around. We just need to keep building.’

Nineteen-year-old flyhalf Guy Cronje battled in the wet conditions on Saturday, and Plumtree admitted he started the inexperienced flyhalf because he had no other option.

Frans Steyn and Ruan Pienaar are unavailable with the Tri-Nations tournament just a week away, but Plumtree is still hoping to sign Argentina flyhalf Juan Martin Henrnandez as soon as possible.

‘Guy is an excellent prospect for the future. He’s brave and has a lot of natural ability, but he needs to work on his kicking,’ Plumtree said.

‘To get Hernandez would be a major coup for the Sharks. It’s an ongoing process. Certain processes need to be completed before we can secure his signature, and hopefully we can complete that by next week. Bringing him here would solve a number of problems.’

Plumtree said the Sharks’ poor kicking game let them down at Newlands and was the primary reason why the visitors failed to score a single try.

‘Our kicking wasn’t accurate enough. We always knew Willem de Waal and Peter Grant were going to be a danger in that department, and they outplayed us on this occasion. Without winning the territorial battle and building the pressure, we were never going to score a try.

‘We were never going to score from 70 metres out. We needed to get into their half and build some momentum.’

Keegan Daniel was sin-binned in the second half, and as WP extended their lead in his absence, it was too much for the Sharks to reduce the deficit without their full compliment.

‘The conditions made it extremely difficult, but we gave them too much of a head start,’ said Plumtree. ‘We also conceded 10 points in about four minutes when Keegan Daniel was off, and in those kind of conditions, any lead over five points was going to be difficult to reduce.

‘I’ll have to have another look at the replay, but I didn’t think there was much wrong with what Keegan did. Perhaps we have to be more clinical at the breakdown. I thought WP’s loosies were very good in the way they tackled the ball. They made life difficult for us.’

By Jon Cardinelli

43 Responses to “Plumtree: Sharks will struggle”

• 1. BoerboelReply to this comment :

Struggling dragons

• 2. SkimReply to this comment :

Province jou lekka ding!

• 3. BlueBloodReply to this comment :

Ag shame, my heart bleeds. Shamepies.

Every year the Blue Bulls start the CC with 20 – 30 players unavailable, and when we say something everyone else tells us to shut up because we are whinging.

Go and check the previous years posts and you will see it.

So the sharks must shut the hell up.

• 4. St.PetersburgbokReply to this comment :

that’s a bit defeatist after only the 1st game isn’t it?

i mean seriously….you did have a s14 strengh pack starting.

It’s only pienaar,steyn and jp that was missing today wasn’t it?

but I definately agree that without a proper 10 a side is a little screwed. Just look at the Bulls today….just how much was fourie du preez and morne steyn’s absense highlighted.

in all honesty…all the sides I saw looked uberkak

• 5. sparticusReply to this comment :

Now u know how the Cheetahs feel every year !! Actually all teams are about 8-10 players short evens WP , I counted about 5 loosies alone unavailable to name a few.

Schalk
    Koster
    Loberts
    Franscious louw
    Vermeluen

Add Des Fountain , De Villiers , Janjies ,Mujati , Fondse and Bekker , plus the loss of Bobo and thats 12 players out !! Looks worse for Wp than the sharks actually.

• 6. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

Oh don’t give me that. Nobody wanted to hear WP’s story in last year’s Currie Cup and this year with our SEVENTEEN injuries in the S14.

• 7. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

#5 sparticus: full Stormers team status
    Andries Bekker- Springbok duty
    Wicus Blaauw- playing
    Gcobani Bobo- left
    Schalk Brits- left
    Schalk Burger- banned and would have been with the Boks
    Tonderai Chavhanga- playing
    Jean De Villiers- Springbok duty
    Dylan Des Fountain- injured
    Adriaan Fondse- injured
    Deon Fourie- playing
    Peter Grant- playing
    Conrad Jantjes- injured (and for a year too)
    Ricky Januarie- playing
    Nick Koster- injured
    JC Kritzinger- injured
    Hilton Lobberts- injured
    Francois Louw- injured
    JD Moller- playing
    Percy Montgomery- retired
    Brian Mujati- left
    Pieter Myburgh- playing (but was also out for quite some time)
    Sireli Naqelevuki- playing
    Morgan Newman- playing
    Joe Pietersen- playing
    AJ Venter- retired
    Duane Vermeulen- injured
    Luke Watson- playing

so if I counted correctly we’re missing 15 players out of our S14 squad

• 8. carolReply to this comment :

#7 SpringbokSarah: Time for bed Sarah!!! Do your parents know you are blogging at this hour?
    I saw Percy at Loftus….missed the O’Gara “mishap” cos I was watching Percy!! ;-)

• 9. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

#8 carol: yeah cos I’m too hyped to sleep …

carol carol carol, keep your head in the game! ;-)

• 10. carolReply to this comment :

#9 SpringbokSarah: Looks like you had the stadium to yourself…..bit empty! As for sleep…

Breathe deeply and concentrate on something really boring…..drink a milky drink……go to bed!!

• 11. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

#10 carol: actually, near the top and under cover was full… me I’m nuts, so I sat behind the tunnel (landed on TV)

ok ok, let me check my superbru and I’ll go to bed

night

• 12. chinaReply to this comment :

argh no..is Plumtree getting the Sharks coaching disease?Strueli..Muir and now Plumb..all started progressively then the style turns in to an excuse-riddled losing grind ending in heart break and a new progressive coach. Seems to me there’s something wrong at the Sharks.. something so ingrained and deep-seated it always finds itself dominating even the best coach. Lucky if we come 4th this year.

• 13. chinaReply to this comment :

sorry not Strueli..Kevin Putt..

• 14. RobzimReply to this comment :

Shame John, we know you will struggle. With or without your Boks.

The CC will be won by either WP or the Bulls this year.

Nothing you can do about it.

• 15. wooden spoonReply to this comment :

#3 BlueBlood: Lol! 20-30 players missing every year?! Unbelievable!

#4 St.Petersburgbok: “It’s only pienaar,steyn and jp that was missing today wasn’t it?”

Lol! What about Beast, John Smit, Bismark Du Plessis, Ryan Kankowski, Adi Jacobs, Odwa Ndungane?

Anyway, this is no excuse – it’s not like this ’sudden’ lack of depth can have taken the Sharks’ management by surprise. It’s been on the cards for a while now. The Sharks have one of the smallest squads in the country – this much was evident from this year’s S14. Time to do some buying, big time.

• 16. wooden spoonReply to this comment :

#14 Robzim: Lol! The Currie Cup is a long comp Rob. Let’s see what happens!

[I like your confidence after ONE game though!]

• 17. BlueBloodReply to this comment :

#5 sparticus: You’re joking right? The cheetahs are always the team with the least amount of bokke out, maybe 2 or 3. Maybe. So, no, you’re not serious.

#15 wooden spoon: Go back and check the stats son. I believe it was 2007 when we started without 27 players through Bok call ups and injuries. A blogger challenged me on this and I posted the list.

• 18. SkipperReply to this comment :

The Curry Cup has become diluted with the Springboks not being available to play for their franchises. The games are boring, strewn with refereeing decisions to penalise as much as they can and player mistakes that cause breakdown after breakdown. It was sad to see the grounds not full yesterday. And to add insult to pain is the unmanerred and unsportsman like booing, especially at Newlands. Couple this with the poor way that the B&I Lions tour was handled and sane, rational people must realise that our rugby is in some trouble – hampered by poor management, probably right at the top. Franchises will lose money with the Boks not being available to play for them. This will lead more and more players to seek fame and especially fortune overseas. Hope I am wrong about the above but somehow I doubt it.

• 19. ufoReply to this comment :

Lack of depth…?

As Skinstad said in the preamble to the match… The Sharks still had seven Boks in the team… maybe not current Boks but Boks none-the-less… and they didn’t become bad players overnight…

Well done Province!! But let’s not get all cocky and claim the Cup just yet… there’s a long way to go… but as the guys said above… with 15 of our front-line team not available, it does look promising for us when they all become available…

• 20. grant10Reply to this comment :

1 game at a time……

• 21. Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporterReply to this comment :

We are going to struggle this year and I dont believe the loss of so many Boks was the major contributer to our loss against the bloody WP!

In the first half we created nothing. I believe the ball passed through our backline all of 1 in 40 minutes. Sad, reminded me of how we lost the plot in the latter stages of the S14.

Keegan Danial shouldnt be a no 8. Vulindlu needs to start looking for more work on the park. Riaan Swanepoel doesnt seem to do much but defend well. Andries Strauss is a vodacom cup player and we have no hooker if John and Bissie arent around.

Gonna be a tough comp for us. Bring on the Kavaliers so we can gain some more confidence. Well done WP. I think losing Luke Watson is more detrimental than losing Schalk Burger. Luke is a very talented player with a big heart and has leadership skills to boot, the real deal

• 23. Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporterReply to this comment :

#22 grant10:

Many short-sighted bloggers fail to see that. Very good captain, I always respect province more when Luke is playing and captaining the side

• 24. grant10Reply to this comment :

#23 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: yes….i agree….i hope he leaves in a blaze of glory having captured the C C ….

As i say , still a mountain to climb and 1 win is all yesterday was….WP must stay grounded and work hard …..at least we go to Loftus with hopes in our hearts …..and Jack will assist in instilling a hard edge to our pack….gonna be a thriller!

• 25. Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporterReply to this comment :

#24 grant10:

Damn straight. I will be surprised if Province dont beat the Bulls next weekend. Chris Jack an excellent addition. We just lost Muller and its A van den Berg waiting in the wings, eish

• 26. goyougoodthing2Reply to this comment :

Helluva sad for the Sharks yesterday. Didn’t seem to have a plan at all. I know the kid is 19, but IMO you either shine or you don’t and there was nothing there at all. We need a General and Mr Pocket Rocket is a too individualistic to provide that. 10 in the Sharks is essential and we are lacking.

Maybe Hernandez’ price tag just went up after yesterday…
    Our 2nd tier players IMO have always been soft, and it showed up yesterday. Not sure about the yellow but the outcome, sans bonus point? would have been the same IMO.

No urgency, except and always with Deysel in the loosies, backline flat, Odwa and Vundi need to work more esp Vundi… put your back into it kid. Tries on debut don’t earn you the right to sit on your hands for the rest of your career. Terblanche solid as ever. Somewhere between 3 and 4 years ago, Strauss was a hard, decent player, he’s lost it completely, no class no fair no heart. Vodacom Cup at best.

Very disappointed. Looking like the great kiwi import assistant coach has been more of a hinder than a blessing for the Sharks, if anything the backline looks flatter than ever.

Well done Province, Luke spoke well, credit to him for not being an uber dork.

• 27. goyougoodthing2Reply to this comment :

Puff the Magic Dragon and Jackie Paper LOL ha ha ha. What were his parent thinking?

• 28. Sir_Charles__NapierReply to this comment :

feit … as die Bulle en die Sharks verloor dan kla hulle oor die min Bokke in hul span …. as die bokke speel en hulle verloor dan is dit die ref. feit … as die bokke terug is, sal die Sharks die CC vat ..Bulle 2de, Shark sal nie hoef 4 driee te druk soos in die Super 14 nie. Repeat van 2008. Sharks wen CC … Die ranking sal anders wees : 1. Sharks, 2. Bulle, 3. WP, 4. Lions. 5. Griekwas. 6. Cheetahs. 7. Boland. 8 Leopards ….

• 29. coherenceReply to this comment :

Where are all the people now that were writing WP off?

Of course, most of these people were WP supporters. Don’t you realize that this year they have an underrated team, instead of having an overrated team.

Frikkie Welsh is a case in point. He is still being criticised even though he made some useful tackles yesterday, one of which created a turnover. The management decided to buy a player which fits into their gameplan, instead of buying a glamorous player that doesn’t.

• 30. mshiniwamiReply to this comment :

Sharks can still field a decent 15 out there on the park.

Upfornt they got bullied by the WP pack,which should be their biggest concern.With all those Bok props they got shoved back multiple times.

Plus our kicking game was pathetic

Sharks XV (if Hernandez does indeed get here in next 2 weeks)

15.Terblanche
    14.Vulindlu
    13.Murray
    12.Swanepoel
    11.Ndungane
    10.Hernandez
    9.Kockott
    8.Deysel
    7.Downey
    6.Daniel
    5.Muller
    4.Sykes
    3.Du Plessis
    2.Burden
    1.Carstens

16.Cilliers
    17.Badenhorst
    18.Van der Berg
    19.Botes
    20.Cronje
    21.Strauss
    22.Nel

Weak bench but a more thsn XV

• 31. goyougoodthing2Reply to this comment :

#30 mshiniwami: Locks are weak… no idea at 10, no control. Poor all around

• 32. Sir_Charles__NapierReply to this comment :

excuses , excuses ….. Plumtree is a k@k coach net soos **** … sal wil sien wat ‘n ou soos robbie deans met so ‘n span maak … veral as bokke terug is … met die bokke, seker die beste span op papier in die wereld

• 33. sparticusReply to this comment :

#17 BlueBlood: BB you right Cheetahs have the least number of players in the bok squad but they alo the team with the most disruptions every year in that they cannot hold onto their players.

Watch and I bet that broussouw is a gonna next year. The cheetahs may lose the least amount of players for the bokke but thats simply because their players represent another Province.

• 34. Number_46Reply to this comment :

cry me a river, build a bridge and get over it

• 35. PredawnReply to this comment :

I am starting to see a pattern here. Plumtree is showing his true colours and just like all Kaaiwaais when they lose, look for excuses for being shite.

Do your job and coach or move along maait.

• 36. money_manReply to this comment :

#35 Predawn:

Unfortunately like he proved in the end at Wellingston… he’s a one trick pony playing 10 man rugby with your 9 an extra loose-forward…

It’s damaged Kockott’s career (well to those selectors that cannot see Plummo’s game-plan)… and it did Weepu’s in the same vein…

He’s a great forwards coach… Sharks need a better tactician at the helm whilst Plummo learns to evolve into a great coach…

• 37. PredawnReply to this comment :

I rated Plumtree last year. Sounds like you’re right there MONEY_MAN.

Who the heck would coach the Sharks then?

• 38. superBulReply to this comment :

top 3 coaches in SA, my opinion.
    Jake
    HM
    DM

Jake
    HM
    Rassie

HM
    Jake
    Rassie

2007 1st half
    HM
    DM
    Rassie

2007 2nd half
    Jake
    Eddie

99th AC

Plumtree
    PdV
    Rassie

2009 up to the CC
    PdV
    Ludeke
    Slapchips
    10th Plumtree
    50th Rassie

• 39. KoosReply to this comment :

#38 superBul:

51st Naka!

• 40. King SharkReply to this comment :

#4 St.Petersburgbok: Minus the following actually:

Beast, Bismark, John(our first choice front row), Kanko, Ruan, Frans, Adi, JPP, Waylon.

Now also Muller.

When the boks go on tour, we’ll also loose Deon or Jannie and Odwa again.

In recent times we also lost Barrit and Butch – neither of whom was replaced.

Depth is at its lowest ever and we need to reinvest in one or two names.

• 41. JL1Reply to this comment :

#40 King Shark: Time to plunder and pillage from your favourite resource, no not the great Sharks Academy, but from Grey College or from the Free State Cheetahs!

• 42. st.a.t.wReply to this comment :

is plumtree blaming his flyhalve for the loss?

• 43. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#3 BlueBlood: Wow and the Bulls did oh So weeeeeeeeeeeell! beating a struggling Lions side, who have last most of their senior players under a new coach and management by 3 points. And lets not forget it was at Loftus! At least the Sharks last away to a full strength team who was playing extremely well! The Sharks have also last most of their players to the Boks since 2007!

I wish I could blame the ref, the Weather anything but I cannot, our depth is missing our game plan was the usual kik and lets wait for everyone to run at us. We had Yellow card Keegan starting (4th yellow he is COSTING us!) and WP were just damn good! Well done WP! and congratulations to their fans!

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator