SA fails in RWC bids

The IRB Council have announced England and Japan as hosts for the 2015 and 2019 Rugby World Cups.

After their meeting in Dublin earlier today, the 26-man IRB council ratified the recommendation from the Rugby World Cup League (RWCL), who considered England as the best candidates, after discussions with television and sponsor experts.

The England Rugby Football Union (RFU) beat rival candidates South Africa and Italy after submitting a commercial package worth an estimated 300 million pounds to the global game. The South African Rugby Union (Saru) had bid for both events.

‘We are immensely disappointed but we congratulate the successful Unions,’ said Mark Alexander, bid committee chairman and Saru deputy president. ‘I am sure that they will deliver successful and memorable tournaments and we will support them in any way we can.

‘Obviously, this is a sad day for us as we proved in our tender document that South Africa offered the IRB the prospect of an outstanding event both from a commercial and development perspective. The choice between our bid and that of the RFU was a narrow one but we respect the council’s decision.

‘In a very short space of time we prepared an outstanding bid,’ Alexander continued. ‘The process has been an intense one but a worthwhile one. We faced a tough challenge but it was our duty to attempt to bring the tournament back to South Africa and present the best case we possibly could, and we have achieved that.’

Matches will be staged in 10 cities and 12 stadiums across England including Wembley, Old Trafford, Anfield, the Emirates Stadium and the Millennium Stadium in Wales (the only venue outside England).

The 2015 World Cup will run from 4 September to 17 October. The final will be played at Twickenham.

The last time England hosted the tournament was in 1991.

141 Comments

• 1.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Too bad.

• 2.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

This was known a long time ago

• 3.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Disgraceful.

Japan is a great call and either they or Italy (who also bid) should have got 2015.

This coupled with the fact that once again the NH are incapable of hosting the tournament in 1 country (congrats Wales on your 4th World Cup) makes a mockery of things.

• 4.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

How much bucks will the Japan tournament generate?

• 5.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I dont believe that Japan is a wise move to host a world cup… the majority of their public no nothing about the sport, and while it will be nice to have supporters at a game who will clap and be polite, wouldnt you rather parochial fans that know the game and appreciate its nuances ?

IMO they have missed the boat, all this talk of gettin Argentina into a competition, why didnt they give it to them… The Americas have never held one, the game would receive a massive boost in that region and would be akin to growing the game much more then in Japan…

• 6.Puma: Reply to this comment

#5 poppa69: Agree totally poppa. Not sure if it will be a great world cup in Japan. Like I have said before it will be rent-a-crowd. As you say people will be nice and polite and clap and all and fill the stadiums, but with people that are not passionate about the game and know nothing about rugby. Just does not cut it for me anyway. Italy should also have been given a chance to hold it. If they wanted to spread the game. At least they do know their rugby. Also maybe Argentina.

Here in South Africa the vibe during a world cup no matter where it is held is just magnificent. Pity we could not have got another wc to host. If we do get it in 2023 thats 14 years away. Such a long, long time to wait.

• 7.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#6 Puma: totally my friend, I mean, we could both be completyely wrong, but one only has to look at the number of foreigners playing in Japan to realise the locals dont gt into the sport all too much…

Im not convinced with Italy either, the only positive being the crowds can travel from the UK.. not sure too many Italians would actually get into the game, they prefer their soccer… one only has to look at the status of Italian soccer sides in European competition to realise this..

Shame SA didnt get one, but if you guys keep your strike rate in the WC as it is, dont think it will be a problem for you guys then mate :D

• 8.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

But we knew that already?

• 9.Grape White: Reply to this comment

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww :-D

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

whewww! Our money can stay here & solve all these problems we have!!

• 11.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

#7 poppa69:

Hmm- not sure I agree with you their mate. Having lived in Japan for a year, I can tell you the Japanese rugby supporters are fanatical and they are a big base. you only have to look back to France to see they actually had a huge travelling support base there. Those foreigners are playing in Japan, precisely because Japan is trying to grow the game, by injecting some “big” names into the sport and also make their teams competitive.

Same with Italy who are a 6 nations side and have a huge fanbase in the North of the country. Remember that in France the game is considered almost exclusively to belong to the South and south west regions, but they staged a massively succesful tournament.

Rugby is not the exclusive property of the passionate supporter. It’s a game for all people of all shapes and all sizes. That is precisely what makes it such a great game and it should be grown accordingly.

I certainly do agree with you that Argentina and the US should have a shot, but neither of them bid as far as I’m aware?

• 12.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#11 Vetkoek: And we are not trying to grow the game in RSA?

• 13.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#11 Vetkoek: fair and valid points, having never been to japan I was guilty of making the assumption.

I agree its not the sole domain of the passionate supporter.. but I just cant see the Asian countries really adopting rugby as a sport, their body shapes generally are not conducive to it… happy to be proven wrong

The reason I think the Americas didnt bid was simply the monetary aspect, none of the unions there have the dollars to make a competitive bid.

I just think there is much more potential and a much bigger audience that we could take the game to by giving it to USA for example… Im sure they would love the physical aspect of it all… definitely a future proposition.

• 14.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#12 Bul-a-Bhloo: SA has a slightly different challenge than Japan I think lol

• 15.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#14 Grape White: For sure, last two days news coverage shows the honeymoon is over.

• 16.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#12 Bul-a-Bhloo: Grow? How big do you want the Boks to get?!

World Champions, we are grown

• 17.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#16 SpringbokSarah: Imagine if another 5 million young lads preferred rugby to soccer. Result could be awesome.

• 18.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

“The last time England hosted the tournament was in 1991.”

How very strange. In 1999, I distinctly remember going to 2 matches at Twickenham – England vs ABs; ABs SemiF vs France. I also went to Bristol – ABs vs Tonga. I also went to Huddersfield – ABs vs Italy.

Then I must have been dreaming, I was in Wales instead, right ?

Damn shame the Poms have had their way, would have been sensational in SA or Italy.

• 19.smallies72: Reply to this comment

i guess this happens when you whup the lions ha ha ha

• 20.David: Reply to this comment

#18 WakaNathan:
    Wales officialy hosted the 1999 WC, but the games were shared between all the 5 Nations at the time.

• 21.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Somewhere along the line I have seen the number of registered after school players each country has. The surprise was Japan, third most behind SA and England.

• 22.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

#20 David:
    There’s no way you can justify Wales “hosting” their 4th!!!!!! World Cup!!!
    Corrupt Muther$£ckers.
    PS: Well Done Japan.
    PPS: Well Done NZ, i hope you do yourselves proud and show England how to host the WC

• 23.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

The IRB recently concluded a deal whereby the USA, Canada and Argentina will play in a America Rugby Cup competition. Thus Argentina is now included in a international competition.

• 24.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

As with cricket and soccer, Poms think they own rugby.

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#17 Bul-a-Bhloo: i’ve got 5 nephews under the age of 10, they’re going nowhere near a soccer ball but it’s difficult because their parents look @ them & see doctor khumalo while i’m trying to mold a dan carter out of them!…but the model c & private schools help a lot with the changing of the mindset…

• 26.byoboy: Reply to this comment

are the soar puss losers going to HOST!? this should be amusing, and what if they don’t win, what or who will they blame it on. All credit to the All Blacks for losing gracefully on Saturday I heard no excuses unlike the soar puss poms who are now hosting the world cup.

• 27.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#17 Bul-a-Bhloo: it would be, but you can’t force people to like something. Soccer is more appealing because it’s more… I don’t want to say this but I can’t think of another way, it’s classier than rugby. Players have higher profiles and the money is more. It’s more glamorous. And as much as I love it when the big guys slam into eachother, most 15 year old girls would rather see Ranaldo taking a penalty and throwing his shirt over his head than opposed to Schalk Burger

• 28.smallies72: Reply to this comment

#25 Transformation: give them rugby balls for all holidays in sa after that the parents will get the message

• 29.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#25 Transformation: Not just the 22 at the top of the heap, on the field.

I’m saying all levels of rugby; provincial, club, schools, supporters, sponsors, merchandising, facilities – the list is endless.

We would be the greatest rugby nation on earth.

• 30.David: Reply to this comment

#23 dWeePer:
    About bloody time. I’ve wondered for a while now why the Americas shouldn’t have their own international competition. It can only be for the good of the game there. I wonder why Uraguay is missing, they used to have a decent side.

• 31.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#11 Vetkoek: aye boet. I am with you. The parochial self-serving approach to the game by administrators IRB and local has caused the game to stagnate.

Japan is perhaps a little intimidating to South Africans, but the game is being aggressively developed there.

Argentina & US would be obvious next steps.

Don’t hold your breath.

• 32.JL1: Reply to this comment

#18 WakaNathan: We finally agree on something

• 33.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#27 SpringbokSarah: Dreams are good friends………..

• 34.David: Reply to this comment

#27 SpringbokSarah:
    Are you one of those 15 year olds. :grin:

• 35.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Later this year the IOC will decide if rugby will be included in the Olympics. Rugby becoming an Olympic sport will receive a major boost.

• 36.ronstermusic: Reply to this comment

THE UK GOLDEN DECADE OF SPORT
    2010: Ryder Cup, Celtic Manor
    2011: Champions League final, Wembley
    2012: Olympic Games, London
    2013: Rugby League World Cup
    2014: Ryder Cup, Gleneagles; Commonwealth Games, Glasgow
    2015: Rugby World Cup
    2019: Cricket World Cup

——————————————————————————–

ADDITIONAL BID
    2018 Football World Cup

• 37.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

The intention is that Uruguay and other countries will be included at a later stage. They start the competition with the three strongest teams

• 38.Senga: Reply to this comment

The IRB Council consist of 28 members of which 14 are from Europe. Small wonder the 2015 WC went to England.

Source:
    http://www.irb.com/aboutirb/organisation/structure/council.html

• 39.David: Reply to this comment

#38 Senga:
    That’s only 50%. Apparently, Scotland are pissed because England didn’t give them some games and may have favoured SA.
    But you’re right. The 6 Nations Unions can always collaborate to spread the matches between the different countries to get their votes. It should be like Soccer, one country to host all the games. This might reduce the bribery for votes.

• 40.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#38 Senga: Wouldn’t matter if only 2 came from Europe.

30 million of the buggers thought they could rule the world, sun never sets and all!!!!!

They would rig the ballots.

• 41.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#25 Transformation:

You can only mould them into Dan Carter’s if you know something about 1st five-eight play.

Will you play them at 12 first?

• 42.Senga: Reply to this comment

#39 David: Why not present the rugby WC every 2nd year? 4 Years seem to be like forever…

• 43.David: Reply to this comment

#42 Senga:
    That’s why it’s special. Besides, I doubt whether it would find sufficient hosts to finance it to be substainable.
    The other point is that it gives us 4 years to boast that we’re WC holders. :grin:

• 44.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

I think it is nonsense that one NH country hosts the tournament and then there are games in other NH countries as well. As someone pointed out – this is the 4′th time that Wales will be hosting games. And how far does the NH supporter have to travel anyway to go to a different European country compared the southern supporter? Why this favoritism towards European countries considering that they have only won one fluke tournament.

• 45.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

#42 Senga: Then New Zealand may actually win some tournaments! With the probable exception of 2009, New Zealand is usually invincible halfway between worldcup years!

• 46.Darkwing: Reply to this comment

#22 Oxy moron:
    You do know that the main reason that England got the tournement was the fact that the next RWC in NZ is going to loose money…. So they HAD to go to England where they had a banker to get money…

So NZ basically scr3w3d us both ways by hosting the new RWC!

• 47.Senga: Reply to this comment

#43 David: So many countries qeueing to host the WC – so finance should not be a problem. I agree with you – us saffas having bragging rights for 4 years, well that must come close second only to a virgin honeymoon!

• 48.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

How old will Jaco van der Westhuyzen be in 2019? Since he is gaining first hand experience of Japanese conditions while playing there, he can maybe still play for the Boks in 2019 – and by that time he would probably have perfected the art of dropping for posts from his own 22? :oops:

• 49.Senga: Reply to this comment

#45 Hier kom groot k..: We don’t want that to happen, do we? :-)

• 50.smallies72: Reply to this comment

#48 Hier kom groot k..: or dropping of his own goalposts after a win

• 51.Senga: Reply to this comment

#48 Hier kom groot k..: Jaco to be employed as advisor and kicking coach in 2019

• 52.Senga: Reply to this comment

not serious – spoke with tongue in cheek :-)

• 53.JL1: Reply to this comment

#36 ronstermusic: Uuugh, pweh!

• 54.JL1: Reply to this comment

#38 Senga: I cannot see why minnows like England still get a vote, or Scotland

• 55.Senga: Reply to this comment

#54 JL1: Majority votes in the IRB. The rest of the world, including us, just have to dance along to the drums of Great Brittan. They dont rule the colonies anymore but they sure rule rugby.

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#41 Sheriff:dan carter was just an example like doctor khumalo was, i can mold the into carters!

#38 Senga:can you please get us the names of the SARU president’s council, the one that seems to be making all the decisions about rugby in this country?

#29 Bul-a-Bhloo: that’s why i’m starting to spark the interest while they’re young, look @ makhaya ntini (most recognised sports personality in south africa) & before him (jabu pule), i’m glad beast is achieving that kind of visibility…

• 57.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

#50 smallies72: LOL

• 58.Senga: Reply to this comment

Keo,

Please stop this poll: Who should start at flyhalf for the Boks in Durban?
    Morne Steyn or Ruan Pienaar?

By now we all know Ruan is injured and Morne will start.

Post a new thread about Griquas – the team hiding in the shadows – leader by 6 points on the CC log – Vodacom winners.

• 59.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#58 Senga: Leading due to draw. They will be reeled in in due course.

• 60.Senga: Reply to this comment

#59 Bul-a-Bhloo: Hope you are right. Too often they have been the Bulls nemesis. Recently the Vodacom cup final – at Loftus nogal. Whenever you see a pic of Dawie Theron, check out the confidence staring from his eyes – a mighty good coach that one.

• 61.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#18 WakaNathan: It’s IRB who have had their way, mostly so that they can get some real profit after 2011.

#23 dWeePer: what a cop-out that is.

#26 byoboy: most of the complainers were Celts, not English.

• 62.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#61 Big Hit: Not even subtle.

But … possibly correct, only because those self-serving ******** are worrying about their Berry Bros & Rudd en primeur futures.

• 63.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#62 SodaJoe: so SA will have to play their pool game against Wales at Millennium stadium, that should be a heck of a clash. Likewise, their probable QF with Australia who they beat last Autumn. I feel Wales could make a semi-final.

• 64.Grape White: Reply to this comment

shame … :-D some saffas still whining about the big IRB conspiracy hehehehehe

• 65.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#63 Big Hit: u sure u wanna predict QFs and SFs given what’s happened at the last WC? :-)

• 66.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#65 Grape White: scratch that, I was thinking of the wrong RWC, getting ahead of myself.

• 67.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#63 Big Hit: Oh I don’t give a damn about 2015.

I would dearly love to beat NZ twice and win Tri-Nations this year and next then win 2011 RWC.

Then start thinking about 2012 Tri-Nations…..

• 68.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#67 SodaJoe: yes this weekend is the big one, win it and I think the Boks will be well on their way to the 3N win, I don’t see Aus living with SA’s power up front.

On a side note, do you think the USA could’ve hosted a decent RWC?

• 69.Senga: Reply to this comment

Quoted from 3rd paragraph on top: “after submitting a commercial package worth an estimated 300 million pounds”

Multiplied by current pound/rand exchange rate of 12.81:

Gives you R 3,843,000,000

Eish – rather give it to England even 5 years in advance.

• 70.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#68 Big Hit: I think that the US have a lot going for them beyond rugby. Not least of which is accessibility for rugby nation tourists like Europe & Japan.

The game is emerging now, and has a basis of strength quite a lot ahead of where we were just a few years ago, but clearly still an emerging nation.

Americans love rugby when they watch it, and see it as Ultimate Fighting Meets (American) Football. So I think there would be a groundswell of support beyond the everyday base. It would get significant TV coverage.

Stadiums would be no problem. Geography could be a big problem – huge country, 3 different time zones.

I honestly believe they could pull it off, and the IRB need to watch the Kiwi’s and Aussies playing in Denver and see what expat base is.

SA would pull well in Atlanta, Dallas, and San Diego. Maybe NYC.

Love it to happen.

• 71.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#70 SodaJoe: would definitely be good, reckon Ireland and Italy could fill stadia in NYC.

I think if the 7s gets added to the Olympics much more funding will be given to US rugby.

I watched the Eagles play Canada recently in Charleston, NC on television. They beat them 12-6 which is a pretty good result given their record versus the Canucks.

The idea of the US taking to rugby is scary in some ways too though, I have visions of them winning every World Cup and going on a 20 year unbeaten streak :)

• 72.carol: Reply to this comment

#70 SodaJoe: Hi Soda, you won’t be wanting a bed for the UK Rugby World Cup then?
    Big Hit and I may be very popular with the Saffas that year!! :-)

• 73.carol: Reply to this comment

#24 Bul-a-Bhloo: Well we did sort of “invent” it!! :-) (Rugby)

• 74.Viscount Crouchback: Reply to this comment

#55 Senga:

Dashed right, old bean. Those blighters at the IRB do what we bloody well tell them to do. That is entirely as it should be.

Quite why SARU ever thought it stood a chance is quite beyond me. No one in world rugger likes the Boer chappies. They are detested by all and sundry, as the frequently harsh disciplinary judgments handed down to their players makes all too apparent! (Poor old Bakkies, what?)

It’s time to take a look in the mirror, chaps. You need to ask why everyone hates you. A swift personality makeover is in order or you blighters won’t see another World Cup before 2050.

• 75.carol: Reply to this comment

#74 Viscount Crouchback: Tally Ho…..talking complete ‘Nuts’ as usual old boy!!!

Does Keo want some evening hits…..Now some of the regulars have dropped off the radar??? :-)

• 76.Senga: Reply to this comment

#74 Viscount Crouchback: That is why the enjoyment of beating you on the green grass evens the field – you prolly still suffering from the Lions defeat?

• 77.bdb: Reply to this comment

#75 carol: Naand tannie Carol, hoe gaan dit met ons engelse dame ?

• 78.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#74 Viscount Crouchback: back again so soon?

were you the wally in the pith helmet at kings park?

• 79.charo: Reply to this comment

what concerns me is that there seems to be insufficient big rugby stadia in england.
    hence the need to use old trafford, emirates, anfield etc.
    since the 2015 rwc will be played between august and october, where will the likes of manu, arsenal and liverpool play their home games?
    even if they schedule rugby matches to avoid clashes with the football, those delicate pitches will be cut up and unplayable for the ballerinas.

• 80.The-Pill: Reply to this comment

#74 Viscount Crouchback: What a Chump you are.

• 81.bdb: Reply to this comment

#74 Viscount Crouchback: Julle is lekker bang vir die boere, en nou is julle nog meer dikbek omdat julle die toetsreeks 2-1 verloor het.

Toe die AB’s teen die Bokke verloor het, was sy eerste woorde baie geluk aan die Bokke, hul verdien om weer nr.1 in die wêreld te wees.

Toe ons die BIL wen, toe kon jy niks anders **** as ‘n gemompel en verskonings van al die rooies waarom hul eintlik moes gewen het. Lekker klomp engelse suurknolle, as jy my vra

Al die ‘kolonies’ (NZ, Aus, RSA) het hul lekker pak gegee in ‘n ry (2001,2005,2009). Maar kom gerus wees, vir nog pakslae.

Julle het ‘rugby’ uitgevind, maar die kolonies, en veral die boere het vir vervolmaak.

• 82.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#72 carol: Depends on the offer. I have seen your pix.

• 83.Viscount Crouchback: Reply to this comment

#75 carol:

Young filly, I’ll have you know that there is nothing remotely “nuts” about my take on events. I offer good old-fashioned common sense befitting of a former Colonel in the Coldstream Guards.

Truth is, young gel, the blasted Boers are jolly well hated by everybody. The ancient bond of Empire unity is strong in the IRB. Those Australians might be frightful boors in cricket, but their rugger chaps are jolly proud Britons, and damned loyal to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Only the funny folk voted for the Saffers – the Argies, the Scotch, those type of blighters. Oddballs. Folk who’ve come across the wrong side of the English too many times in war. You get the point, old girl.

Mind you, those yellow chappies can count themselves lucky to have won 2019. Word was the IRB hadn’t forgotten WWII last time they when they voted against the ****. What’s changed in the meantime? Damned peculiar race, the Nips.

Rugger should be like the cricket cup used to be. England three times in four, and then once to the colonies to mix things up a bit.

• 84.carol: Reply to this comment

#77 bdb: Naand, hoe gaaan dit Afrikaans vrende?

• 85.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#83 Viscount Crouchback: could be like that too.

if only your chaps could play the game……

• 86.Senga: Reply to this comment

#83 Viscount Crouchback: Expat without identity – lost between countries – family of tackler perhaps…

• 87.bdb: Reply to this comment

“the Argies, the Scotch”

Great people !

Robert the Bruce
    William Wallace
    John Knox
    Eric Liddell

Great men !

• 88.carol: Reply to this comment

#78 rangerman: The blokes in the ‘Pith Helmets’ (The smart ones anyway) were Ex Royal Marines!! They were a laugh! Although I thought possibly sartorial mishap!! Lucky they were not scalped!

• 89.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Gentlemen, start your mouses. Please.

• 90.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

and lady.

• 91.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Dead give away. “the Scotch”. Fake & troll.

Doos.

• 92.carol: Reply to this comment

#82 SodaJoe: Hahahaha – don’t let that put you off….
    The Cotswolds are beautiful anyway and between London and Cardiff!!

• 93.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#88 carol: some of them were a right laugh indeed Carol.

and like the majority of Lions fans, a real pleasure.

my mate is just finishing his time as a Captain in the Blackwatch.

just another bunch of dirty Scotch according to crouchy. lucky for the queen, they are always on their guard.

• 94.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#92 carol: Ms Cheltenham, that’s the incentive. I am just a wee bit scared of WRS. Of whom I saw no pix.

• 95.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#93 rangerman: I have a comment on Vermulen for you on the other thread.

• 96.bdb: Reply to this comment

#84 carol: Great my lady, I can even speak good ol’ country english, in cases of emergency !

• 97.charo: Reply to this comment

thank goodness old viscount crouchdown has arrived.
    the evening would have been dead boring otherwise

• 98.carol: Reply to this comment

#83 Viscount Crouchback: Are you sure you are not actually Prince Philip, or did you model yourself on him?? :-)

I will not enter a Boer argument with you as you tend to throw history about!! I stopped history at the Middle Ages!!

• 99.carol: Reply to this comment

#93 rangerman: Honestly, do explain to Crouchback that we Lions supporters got on just fine with the ‘Boers’ (I know you are not one)…..

He would love us to still hate them!! Fuel for the fire!

• 100.carol: Reply to this comment

#94 SodaJoe: Did Roy give you my mail address? All can be revealed!!

• 101.carol: Reply to this comment

Well not quite all…..if you know what I mean!! :oops:

• 102.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#99 carol: whatever do you mean?

• 103.Viscount Crouchback: Reply to this comment

#99 carol:

Old gel, I know perfectly well that the chaps in our Last Outpost were absolutely super sorts. I would expect nothing less from our kith and kin in Durban and the Cape.

Alas, the tales from Pretoria were less satisfactory. Apparently those brutish backvelders made the Welsh look like worldly sophisticates.

• 104.carol: Reply to this comment

#102 rangerman: Which bit?

Has everyone gone to sleep????

• 105.carol: Reply to this comment

#96 bdb: Good ol’ Country English…..sounds interesting!

• 106.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

‘backvelders’ lol

• 107.carol: Reply to this comment

#103 Viscount Crouchback: Let’s face it, if they are from ‘The Valleys’ it is not difficult!! Although they were fun, polished would not describe them!!
    However my ‘Pretoria Boys’ were superb….no brutish backvelders at our braai!!

• 108.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#45 Hier kom groot k..:

its a Curse I tell ya. Last thing you want to be is no1 at 2yrs prior to a RWC !

What you need is political upheavel, poor form, flushing out the old and sweeping in the new and the whole Nation on your back.

So its all looking very promising so far.

#46 Darkwing:

Well that was the way the Gracious Imperialists put have it.

The IRB profits have been guaranteed by the NZ Govt in 2011, just like they will be by the UK Govt in 2015.

#61 Big Hit:

Thanks Lord Barry, on behalf of the Gracious Imperialists.

and I see now joined in combat by the Viscount. Excellent stuff.

• 109.JimT: Reply to this comment

#107 carol: Question of the day: Is swine flu communicable over the internet? If so should Carol & BH be banned? :-)

• 110.JimT: Reply to this comment

#70 SodaJoe: Soda, God knows why they would pick Denver? Why not the West or East coast? I mean how many Kiwis & Aussies live in Denver?

• 111.carol: Reply to this comment

#109 JimT: Hi Jim, don’t worry the Americans have got it only they don’t talk about it, same as when their cattle had BSE and Foot and Mouth.
    They just keep their ‘gobs’ shut!! Damage limitation!!

Whats new Jim?

• 112.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#110 JimT: Jim. I don’t know either. Denver’s a pretty good ruby town, but San Diego has a larger support base, and almost everyone would fly there!

• 113.JimT: Reply to this comment

#111 carol: #111 carol: LOL. I’m in mourning after watching a sub par 3N match last Saturday. Suffered in comparison with the Lions series. At this rate the Wallabies will walk this year’s 3N, notwithstanding their 1st loss :-)

• 114.JimT: Reply to this comment

#112 SodaJoe: Yeah but it’s so out the way. I would go to San Diego, Denver? Maybe.

By the way re: your potential visit to the Cotswolds in 2015 I will act as your wingman. Will get WRS drunk :-)

• 115.carol: Reply to this comment

#113 JimT: Oh I forgot we are on opposing sides in the 3 Nations…..Fancy you being an A.B fan Jim, hang your head in shame!!

For that you will have to share a double bed with Soda. I will have to make sure I put GBS and Grant on different sides of the house!! Lol!!

Bed time….

See you all..

• 116.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

And it would not sound so sweet to say to the Kiwis 2 more years guys two more years

• 117.Staalburger: Reply to this comment

Just read that Mike Stofile is against quotas. Great that commonsense has prevailed.

There is still however a problem with talented non-white players not making the transition to the senior ranks.

The answer is to introduce a mentoring system whereby the more talented young non-white players are mentored by the senior players in terms of fitness regimes, diet and skills as well as passing on experience and tradition.

In time more black and coloured players will fill the ranks of the provincial and S14 teams and there will be more players of colour to choose from for the national teams.

This is a constructive solution and can be done now at very little extra cost. Perhaps these youngsters can be signed under contract so they earn some money in the process.

Or a rugby academy can take these guys under their wing. Either way it would pave the way for a winning culture at all levels of the game.

Also how about putting more ex players, particularly non-whites, into the ranks of the administrators. At least these guys would know the game and what is required to support the players and coaches. Then we can all pull in the same direction at last.

• 118.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

It was revealed today from an undisclosed source that the WC was not granted to SA as the committee did not consider SA’s hospital systems would cope with an unprecedented amount of food poisoning considering the amount of teams that could be exposed effected and the possibility that the quota would also disrupt the sewerage systems, leaving the RWC in the poo.

• 119.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#46 Darkwing:
    Typical,look at this,blame NZ for something you lost.Instead of thinking oh well NH had a better proposal you blame another country for your bad luck.Live with it and stop bitching

• 120.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#83 Viscount Crouchback:
    What a post,i just dont know what to say.
    Nips??

• 121.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#118 captain fantail:
    Yep and i heard that the gold watch factory is now angry at the loss of the RWC as well.
    Dosnt anyone care about the gold watch makers these days?

• 122.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

South Africa should have had the 2019 event rather than Japan. SA is a real rugby heartland nation; Japan isn’t and will never be.

(Just like SA will never be a true heartland nation of judo or karate, while Japan clearly is.)

Hosting a RWC won’t transform Japan into a rugby heartland. In fact, Japan’s massive urban population will swallow up all the hoopla of having a RWC in its midst without the ordinary man-in-the-street even noticing, or bothering, that it’s going on.

• 123.kwas: Reply to this comment

#117 Staalburger: Judging by the constant drivel coming out of his gob, how can you take anything Stofile says serious?

• 124.kwas: Reply to this comment

#83 Viscount Crouchback: Funniest post i have ever read on this site. Crouchie, you are a legend.

• 125.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Nogge world cup in England and Wales. There is a real sense of entitlement over there that needs to be addressed. Japan was a bold move. Grow the game in new markets. They have the stadia and corporate muscle. Argentina would have been a great choice too. They have battled along with stuffall support from SANZAR or IRB and would add a lot of flair and passion to the occassion. They have earned a crack at it. SA should definitely have beaten England. We have the TV-friendly timezones, excellent infrastructure and rugby passion as do England of course. It is just that we have to kick this idea that every eight years the world cup must be held within a dropkick of London. The only upside; we always kick their asses over there.

• 126.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

I think we can take one thing for granted. NZ will never host the world cup again. The IRB is now clearly in the money business and NZ with its unfriendly timezones and 4 hotel rooms is just never going to make a profit. What happens if there aren’t enough double bunks? Will they have to top n tail like Noddy and Big Ears?

• 127.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Well, SA had the world cup in 1995 and they aren’t in the frame until — at the very least — 2023. That’s 28 long years between drinks. NZ has got it in 2011, and therefore shouldn’t see it for at least another 28 years, bringing up 2038 as the earliest possible date.

Most of the people who read Keo’s blog will be dead, or really old pensioners by 2038, including Keo himself.

And the world will be a different place in 2038. Maybe by then all the world’s sportsfields will have be turned into rice paddies and rugby will only be played as a video-game.

• 128.cane: Reply to this comment

Sorry SA dipped out. Particully in the Bid for 2019, I think they would have put on a great WC.

Passionate, knowledgable spectators. Great Stadia, sunshine and varity of playing conditions.

• 129.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

#46 Darkwing: NZ didnt screw us as i would guarantee that England would have won this “Vote” no matter NZ situation was.
    Something needs to be done.
    England
    Ireland
    Wales
    Scotland
    France

Economically speaking, they all have something to gain by the World Cup going to any one of the countries.

They are tiny countries which most people would find it difficult to spend longer than a few days in(besides France).
    So people will be visiting the neighbours even if they aren’t hosting any games.

I would rather it went to France again than have to endure a miserable English Winter World Cup.

• 130.PaulLondon: Reply to this comment

I would rather it went to France again than have to endure a miserable English Winter World Cup.

The French did not bid for 2015 because they hosted 2007.So it was never going to be awarded to them again.If it was,we would be re

Scotland,Ireland,and Wales, screwed England out of hosting 2007 by voting for France.(who hosted the most successful world cup to date.)

Now, before putting up pom bashing,anyone and anywhere but England posts. You must all be asking yourselves, how did SA lose out on the 2015 other then being screwed by the 6N countries.

Could back to back SH world cup be one reason?

• 131.PaulLondon: Reply to this comment

Could back to back SH world cup be one reason?

Sorry back to back NH wworld cups

• 132.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

SARU had no chance here and everyone told them so before hand. All that happened was they managed to write a cheque for R10 million that went into a well known someone’s pocket for drafting the document.

A very expensive word file!

• 133.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#130 PaulLondon: yes it was Japan who got SA’s World Cup not England. England were competing with Italy.

#128 cane: empty stands…

• 134.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

They will try anything to try and put the Boks at a disadvantage ;-)

The empty-ish stadiums during the Lions tour probably didnt help our bid…

• 135.JL1: Reply to this comment

#74 Viscount Crouchback: If the world hates the Boer chappies, then they must despise you useless Pom

• 136.smallies72: Reply to this comment

#130 PaulLondon: how can the cabagepatch ever compete with a brand new soccer city in a final.come fifa 2010 the old farts will see the blunder but then it will be to late.

• 137.smallies72: Reply to this comment

#74 Viscount Crouchback: dont need the tournament we will just take the cup on your form you will not need it until about 2050.at least the next three campions WON’T be rooinekke

• 138.Nils: Reply to this comment

I really hope WC final in England will be in early October when it may be still sunny. No way November.

• 139.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#138 Nils: the Autumn internationals are rarely wet occasions and they take place in November. Just be glad it’s at Twickenham and not Murrayfield in Scotland.

• 140.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#139 Big Hit: Are you drunk? They are always wet, at the very least damp. Geez last year was close to snowing – and in fact snowed the next day, along with buckets of rain per usual.

What I would like is for the June tours to SH to be abandoned or focused on emerging Boks, etc. They are not true internationals.

• 141.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#140 SodaJoe: Eng v Aus/SA/NZ last year were not wet at all. I’m not sure what damp means to you but to us those were dry days :)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.