Springboks 31 All Blacks 19

Keo.co.za brings you live commentary from the Tri-Nations match in Durban.

1 min – Morne Steyn goes high with the kick off which is comfortably fielded by All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw.

2 mins – Close call for Jimmy Cowan as his clearance attempt is charged down, but Stephen Donald is on hand to clean up after some sloppy line out work from the visitors.

3 mins – The Boks look to test the All Blacks’ back three under the high ball and are rewarded with a penalty after some good chasing from JP Pietersen.

5 mins – Morne Steyn nails the penalty and the Boks get the first points of the game. 3-0 South Africa.

6 mins  – All Blacks hit back straight away with a penalty of their own which Donald slots with ease to level the scores.

9 mins – A little stop-start at the moment with handling errors from both sides hampering the flow of the game.

11 mins – ALL BLACK TRY! Isaac Ross finishes on the wing after some good attacking play which started all the way back in New Zealand’s own half.

12 mins – Donald slots a tough conversion and the visitors extend their lead to seven points. 10-3 New Zealand.

14 mins – Boks hit back almost immediately as New Zealand are blown up for offside. Steyn makes no mistake with the penalty and the lead is reduced to four points.

16 mins  – Yet another penalty for the Boks as Jerome Kaino is penalised and Steyn punishes him for his poor discipline to make it a one point game.

20 mins – All Blacks seem to have a slight advantage at scrum time and they set up a good attacking move from centre field but it is brought to an end by a thumping tackle from Jaque Fourie.

23 mins – New Zealand continue to look dangerous on the counter-attack but continue to squander possession through poor discipline.

25 mins – South Africa win a scrum against the head, and Morne Steyn has a drop goal attempt but it sails wide to the left.

27 mins – The All Blacks launch a quick attack through Joe Rokocoko, but it is brought to an end by a high tackle by Pietersen on Cowan and the Springbok winger is shown a yellow card.

28 mins -Donald nails the resulting penalty and the All Blacks extend their lead to four points.

30 mins – Penalty to the home side and Ross is now shown a yellow for a professional foul.

32 mins – Steyn slots the kick to bring it back to just a single point. 13-12  New Zealand.

36 mins – BOK TRY! Some brilliant work from Fourie de Preez and he pops it off to his Bulls teammate Steyn who finishes with ease to put the Boks back in front.

38 mins – Steyn converts his own try and the hosts lead by six points and are now back to 15 men as Pietersen re-joins proceedings.

40 mins – The Boks look to launch a counter-attack with time up in the first half and are rewarded with yet another penalty. Steyn is spot on again and South Africa go into the break with a nine-point advantage.

Half-time – South Africa 22 New Zealand 13

41 mins – Donald gets things under way again. The vistors come away with the ball but a shocking pass from Ma’a Nonu brings an end to the move.

43 mins – Piri Weepu comes on fro Cowan and Keven Mealamu replaces Andrew Hore at the front of the scrum as the All Blacks look to inject some fresh legs into the game.

45 mins – The Boks continue to dominate both territory and possession at the start of the second stanza, but the visitors defence holds firm and Steyn is forced to attempt a drop goal which comes back off the post.

50 mins – All Blacks launch a dangerous attack from deep in their half, but it is halted illegally by the Boks. Bakkies Botha is sent to the sin bin for a professional foul.

51 mins  – Donald slots the resulting penalty and the Boks’ lead is reduced to six points.

55 mins – Penalty to the boks. Richie McCaw is blown up for playing the ball on the ground and John Smit has no hesitation in giving Steyn the ball.

56 mins – Steyn pops it over to restore South Africa’s nine point lead.

60 mins – Penalty to the visitors just inside their own half. Luke McAlister comes on for Donald and says he’ll have a shot.

61 mins – McAlister nails the huge penalty attempt as Bakkies Botha is back for the Boks who now lead by just six points with just under 20 minutes to play.

64 mins – Penalty to South Africa as Mealamu is penalised at the break down.

65 mins – Steyn makes no mistake yet again. South Africa 28 New Zealand 19.

68 mins – South Africa win ter another lineout against the feed and look to launch an attack in midfield but a skip pass from Jean de Villiers goes wrong and it all comes to nothing for the hosts.

70 mins -  Adi Jacobs comes onto the field in place of De Villiers.

72 mins – The Boks have a 5 metre attacking scrum as the clock continues to wind down.

73 mins – Penalty to the Boks as the All Blacks are penalised for intentionally swinging the scrum.

74 mins – Steyn nails the kick and has a new record to his name – most points by an individual in a Tri-Nations clash.

76 mins – The All Blacks look to launch an attack from deep in their half, but yet again a handling error spoils the move – summing up New Zealand’s performance on the day.

77 mins – South Africa turn to the bench as they look to wind down the clock. Skipper John Smit leaves the field to a rapturous applause in his 60th Test as Springbok captain.

80 mins – Penalty to the Boks. Steyn pushes the kick just wide – he is human after all.

Full-time South Africa 31 New Zealand 19

Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Wynand Olivier.

All Blacks — 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 John Afoa, 18 Jason Eaton, 19 Kieran Read, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Luke McAlister, 22 Cory Jane.

838 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 » Show All

• 751.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#746 Puma: He lost it after the final whistle tonight. The tread is there for all to see. Bad manners to say the least.

• 752.chch: Reply to this comment

I am off back to sleep too. I can dream of a parallel universe where Robbie Deans is AB coach after GHs dignified decision not to run against him

• 753.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#741 JL1: wakanutter will be funny next week, I think this might actually tip him over the edge :)

• 754.chch: Reply to this comment

#748 Hmmm:
    He did and I think that he can do again.

• 755.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#726 The-Pill: A kilometre west to east is the same as a kilometre east to west. Any jetlag is overcome within a week, anyway. After that one week, you’ve got no excuse, even if you’re one of the few who suffer jetlag. Most frequent travellers soon get over jetlag anyway. It’s only the raw newbies to timezone travel who ever get bad jetlag.

Naah, “travel disadvantage” is just a myth like mermaid fins, hens’ teeth and ubuntu.

• 756.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

#753 TheTackler: What about a cheating ref?

• 757.JL1: Reply to this comment

#751 Big Hit: He will not be humble or you will not see him on this site

ABs are going down like Aussies in cricket

• 758.The Old Enemy: Reply to this comment

Surprised by some of the comment from fellow New Zealanders. Do you sincerely not understand why we tried to run it from everywhere? PDV, when asked prior to the match what he thought the ABs would do, said exactly that – that they’d run from everywhere. Proving that despite his gaff-prone comments, he is nobody’s fool.
    Henry’s tactics were correct. The execution was abjectly poor, and that was because the Springboks were superb in the pressure they applied.
    Faced with a team boasting three of the top five territorial kicking backs in the world, and the most dominant lineout since rugby went professional, do none of you understand that you’re only option is to keep the ball in play and hope to run them off their feet? What? You think Stephen Donald is the man to take them on in a kicking duel? Or that Isaac Ross (that little queen), is going to take Matfield apart?
    Lament the execution, and hate the fact the Boks are this good, but think a bit about questioning the tactics. Henry is the most successful coach we’ve ever had. Just because his team were handed their arses doesn’t mean he became a fool overnight.
    Well done South Africa – that was a mighty performance.

• 759.JL1: Reply to this comment

#754 Beertjie: That ref was reminded all the time by the AR’s, he was really pathetic

• 760.chch: Reply to this comment

#755 JL1:

Please do not make reference to the Australian cricket team and ABs in the same sentence. We may have lost but I don’t remember half the AB side being ********

• 761.JL1: Reply to this comment

#756 The Old Enemy: I take my hat off to you…very accurate in your summary

• 762.JL1: Reply to this comment

#758 chch: Sorry,

• 763.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#756 The Old Enemy: was the tactic of running it from everywhere in the wet really correct? also you’d have to question Henry being in charge when NZ had their worst WC result ever.

• 764.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

#758 chch: If half the players in the AB squad were ********, that would equal the amount of AHs in the Aussie cricket team. :)

• 765.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#756 The Old Enemy: Excellent post. Well summed up and why the AB’s will be back sooner than later. Realizing the problem is the start of the cure.

Boks managed to mount the pressure unbelievably and it went from there….

• 766.bdb: Reply to this comment

Kan iemand my sê wanneer is Burger se ‘ban’ verby ? Hou ons die lostrio soos hy nou is, of kan hy verbeter word ?

• 767.chch: Reply to this comment

#756 The Old Enemy: It is not essential that we beat the Boks at the kicking game but it is essential that we have a kicking game

• 768.JL1: Reply to this comment

#764 bdb: Schalk vir Juan nog 4 weke of 3

• 769.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

#766 JL1: Ek sal eerder vir Schalk saam met Dane op die bank sit. Imagine, jy haal vir Bakkies en Juan af en Danie en Schalk kom op. SB is ook goeie cover vir 6, 7 en 8.

• 770.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#754 Beertjie: What cheating ref? That — along with imaginary “travel disadvantage” — is a traditional yarpie excuse. Ever since neutral refs came along refs haven’t cheated. Cheating refs are a myth.

• 771.bdb: Reply to this comment

#766 JL1: As dit solank is, sal ek nie vir Schalk inbring nie, laat hy maar die WP help om die semi’s te maak. Juan se ervaring is goed vir die jong lostrio.

Sal dan vir Dewald kies as back-up, maar omdat hy beseer is, vir Deysel.

Snorre sal dalk nog vir Daniesourus daar kies.

• 772.bdb: Reply to this comment

#767 Beertjie: Dit kan mooi werk.

• 773.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#768 TheTackler: ‘Cheating refs are a myth.’

that include Barnesy tackles? :)

• 774.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#769 bdb: Danie was massive op verdediging toe hy opkom.

• 775.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

#768 TheTackler: I think you’ll need to educate your new countrymen on that one this week. You can start with Poppa.

• 776.bdb: Reply to this comment

#772 Bul-a-Bhloo: Ja, ‘oom’ Danie is ‘n legend.

• 777.bdb: Reply to this comment

#768 TheTackler: And you can add another myth: Suzie ! ;-)

• 778.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#771 Big Hit: Barnesy didn’t cheat. He wasn’t remotely competent at test level, but he certainly didn’t cheat. He did his best to be fair.

• 779.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#756 The Old Enemy: Quite correct, if any of those forays into our 22 (and there were enough of them to make a sizable difference to the outcome of the game, not least of all the one where JP stopped Cowan with the high tackle) then it could have very much been a different ballgame altogether.

AB’s tactics were correct but conditions determined that more balls were going to slip and passes not sticking than if it were dry, so in the end the up and under bombs worked, the pressure told and the rub of the green went our way.

It seems AB’s were outclassed on the day, but not quite so, the pressure percentage game worked in the conditions, and the running game didn’t, but until the last quarter it was still anyone’s game, and quite a few AB attacks were stopped at the last line of defense. Also some pretty poor options taken when overlaps were beckoning and strike runners opted for inside breaks instead of sending it wide.

• 780.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#775 bdb: A South African security guard assigned to the team has written a book backing up claims by All Black coach Laurie Mains that the All Blacks were got at before the cup final – suggesting their food was poisoned.

Rory Steyn, a former head of security for South African president Nelson Mandela, revives the poisoning suggestion in his book, One Step Behind Mandela, the Story of Rory Steyn.

The All Blacks lost 15-12 in an epic final which went into extra time against the host nation, a late dropped goal giving the Springboks victory.

Several of the All Blacks had been ill before the match with Jeff Wilson and Andrew Mehrtens among the worst affected. A weak Wilson had to be replaced before the match finished.

Afterwards there were claims from the All Blacks’ camp of food poisoning.

This theory was largely rejected until the recent release of Steyn’s book.

Mains, now coaching in South Africa, was unavailable to comment on Thursday.

The first real support for his often repeated claims of deliberate food poisoning at the team’s hotel comes in a chapter titled “The All Blacks and Food Poisoning”.

Mains had alleged his players were got at by a waitress called Suzie.

On the Thursday before the Saturday final in Johannesburg, most of the All Blacks went to a cinema complex. Steyn accompanied prop Richard Loe.

Loe vomited immediately after the movie while Wilson had severe stomach cramps.

Steyn said he knew then he had a serious problem on his hands.

“We raced back to the hotel and when I got up to the doctor’s room it looked like a battle zone – like a scene from a war movie,” Steyn says in the book.

“Players were lying all over the place and the doctor and physio were walking around injecting them.

“I was a police officer, I worked with facts. What my eyes told me that night was that the team had deliberately been poisoned.”

Steyn said medical staff were able to get most of the players back to playing shape apart from Mehrtens and Wilson.

He said the “illness” which had swept through the team had a major impact on the All Blacks’ preparation for the final.

“I had to endure accusations of complicity in this, from New Zealand officials, and I was very angry that this was allowed to happen in my country – to people in my care,” Steyn said.

The security man says the All Blacks were the best team in the competition – “against the Ellis’ Park altitude and against food poisoning they ran South Africa close into extra time, so close.

“Laurie Mains, now the highly popular coach of the Cats, says that he’ll go to his grave wondering what would have happened if the All Blacks had not been sick,” Steyn said in the book.

Mains employed a private investigator in an attempt to get to the bottom of the mystery.

Steyn said the investigator reported back that a Far Eastern betting syndicate had paid a waitress called Suzie at the All Blacks’ hotel to put something in their water.

“South African rugby fans remained sceptical of this theory and preferred to put it down to sour Kiwi grapes,” Steyn said.

“To my fellow South Africans I want to say this: Stop all those cheap jokes about Suzie, the food poisoning and whingeing Kiwis. It happened. There is no doubt that the All Blacks were poisoned two days before the final.

• 781.bdb: Reply to this comment

Een swaeltjie maak nie ‘n somer nie, maar een Carter maak wel ‘n groot verskil aan ‘n AB span. Met hom daar sou die AB’s baie beter kon speel in die nat omstandighede. Sou nogsteeds nie gewen het nie, maar sou baie beter vir hu gegaan het.

• 782.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#776 TheTackler: his best was good enough ;)

• 783.The Old Enemy: Reply to this comment

#761 Big Hit: I think so Big Hit. It is hard for me argue this successfully when the execution was so terrible and when the South African performance was so commanding. But the try to Ross in the first half seemed to show that this was the only way to take on the Springboks. They’re a side so sure of their systems that to unsettle them you need to break the game open to a point where those systems are not applicable.
    The weather was, you also have to understand, not bad by NZ standards. And it was a day game, unlike the rugby in NZ. So the conditions provided no explanation as to why paid professionals thought fit to send passes from the base of a ruck sailing over the in goal and into the stands behind for no apparent reason.
    #765 chch: No argument there, but the reality was we didn’t have players on the park with a kicking game. So you have to play to that reality don’t you?

• 784.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#780 Big Hit: For Eton U14C versus Harrow U14C, no doubt.

• 785.bdb: Reply to this comment

#778 TheTackler: Oh boy, now I started something …

What is next: the earth is flat and there were no moon landing ? ;-)

• 786.Shakes: Reply to this comment

The ABs played stupid rugby considering the conditions and I now question McCaw as captain. ooking at them and to add Dan Carter will make them a different prospect. Great tactics and effort although our inability to create anything even after 8+ phases in one instance is an eye opener as to Pienaar’s creative value, but let’s not take anything away from Morne, great kicking display.

My men of the match in order
    Bismarck
    Spies
    Brussow

• 787.bdb: Reply to this comment

#784 Shakes: JF en FS kan jy ook byvoeg.

• 788.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

#778 TheTackler:

“I was a police officer, I worked with facts. What my eyes told me that night was that the team had deliberately been poisoned.”

So that is his only “fact” on which he base the whole story – what his eyes told him” Luckely it was not a tape worm that told him.

LMAO!

• 789.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#781 The Old Enemy: a lot of the poor NZ execution came from Bok pressure, the NZ pack couldn’t quite get physical parity.

Which ex-black recently said they needed to toughen up? whoever it was, was right I think. Sending in the likes of young Ross and the 21 year old Franks to take on the best pack in the world was a mistake in my opinion especially with Woodcock and Hore in poor form. Surely there were some other more powerful options?

• 790.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#782 TheTackler: high enough standard, I reckon Eton would give the ABs a game these days :)

• 791.bdb: Reply to this comment

#787 Big Hit: Where is Hayman, or is he finished with the AB’s. Great prop !

• 792.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#785 bdb: still have a moerse smile on my face. Morne kicked the goals but hey no backline player deserve a mention before any of the forwards. One of the best overall pack performances I’ve seen in years from the Boks. Juan Smith needs to be managed if he is to play a part in 2011. He was the only one looking slightly tired.

• 793.smallies72: Reply to this comment

big hit no tighthead is ready at 21 and ross is not up for it only thorn is the buisness that is the main prob of the blacks a weak tight 5

• 794.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#789 bdb: he’ll be back for the World Cup, currently playing in the GP for £350k a year.

• 795.The Old Enemy: Reply to this comment

#787 Big Hit: Absolutely. I’m not suggesting for a minute the New Zealanders self-destructed. They were beaten and those mistakes were forced by the Boks.
    I’ve just read the article just posted reflecting comments from John Smith and Peter De Villiers. They seem to be observing the same thing in this regard.

Franks and Ross are it sadly. Such is New Zealand’s domestic game. Players either make high honours very young or they take flight and go to Europe to earn better money. The days of there being some old grafter who might not be the first pick, but who is a steady replacement, are I suspect gone.

• 796.bdb: Reply to this comment

Nou ja, dit is 1 Augustus. Waaroor kan ons reeds bly wees:

1. SA span (Bulls) wen die S14
    2. SA sewes wêreld kampioene
    3. SA wen BIL toer
    4. SA wen toetsreeks teen NZ in SA
    5. SA nr.1 op wêreldranglys

As die sokker- en krieket paloekas nou net wil wakker skrik ! ;-)

Geluk Snorre en die Bokke !

Lekker slaap almal.

• 797.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#791 smallies72: yeah sending that lighter five in against physical brutes like Beast, Bismarck, Smit, Botha, Matfield was a huge task that they were never going to manage.

• 798.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#793 The Old Enemy: yeah I understad, still Chris Jack is playing good rugby for WP it won’t be long until he’s back and Hayman/Williams to return. It’s not all doom and gloom on that front.

• 799.smallies72: Reply to this comment

big hit did you see habs kleen out mcaw at a ruck in the last 5 min.now that is comitment

• 800.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#797 smallies72: yeah it was rare to see a winger cleaning out forwards at ruck time but he did a pretty good job, McCaw went flying

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.