Springboks 31 All Blacks 19

Keo.co.za brings you live commentary from the Tri-Nations match in Durban.

1 min – Morne Steyn goes high with the kick off which is comfortably fielded by All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw.

2 mins – Close call for Jimmy Cowan as his clearance attempt is charged down, but Stephen Donald is on hand to clean up after some sloppy line out work from the visitors.

3 mins – The Boks look to test the All Blacks’ back three under the high ball and are rewarded with a penalty after some good chasing from JP Pietersen.

5 mins – Morne Steyn nails the penalty and the Boks get the first points of the game. 3-0 South Africa.

6 mins  – All Blacks hit back straight away with a penalty of their own which Donald slots with ease to level the scores.

9 mins – A little stop-start at the moment with handling errors from both sides hampering the flow of the game.

11 mins – ALL BLACK TRY! Isaac Ross finishes on the wing after some good attacking play which started all the way back in New Zealand’s own half.

12 mins – Donald slots a tough conversion and the visitors extend their lead to seven points. 10-3 New Zealand.

14 mins – Boks hit back almost immediately as New Zealand are blown up for offside. Steyn makes no mistake with the penalty and the lead is reduced to four points.

16 mins  – Yet another penalty for the Boks as Jerome Kaino is penalised and Steyn punishes him for his poor discipline to make it a one point game.

20 mins – All Blacks seem to have a slight advantage at scrum time and they set up a good attacking move from centre field but it is brought to an end by a thumping tackle from Jaque Fourie.

23 mins – New Zealand continue to look dangerous on the counter-attack but continue to squander possession through poor discipline.

25 mins – South Africa win a scrum against the head, and Morne Steyn has a drop goal attempt but it sails wide to the left.

27 mins – The All Blacks launch a quick attack through Joe Rokocoko, but it is brought to an end by a high tackle by Pietersen on Cowan and the Springbok winger is shown a yellow card.

28 mins -Donald nails the resulting penalty and the All Blacks extend their lead to four points.

30 mins – Penalty to the home side and Ross is now shown a yellow for a professional foul.

32 mins – Steyn slots the kick to bring it back to just a single point. 13-12  New Zealand.

36 mins – BOK TRY! Some brilliant work from Fourie de Preez and he pops it off to his Bulls teammate Steyn who finishes with ease to put the Boks back in front.

38 mins – Steyn converts his own try and the hosts lead by six points and are now back to 15 men as Pietersen re-joins proceedings.

40 mins – The Boks look to launch a counter-attack with time up in the first half and are rewarded with yet another penalty. Steyn is spot on again and South Africa go into the break with a nine-point advantage.

Half-time – South Africa 22 New Zealand 13

41 mins – Donald gets things under way again. The vistors come away with the ball but a shocking pass from Ma’a Nonu brings an end to the move.

43 mins – Piri Weepu comes on fro Cowan and Keven Mealamu replaces Andrew Hore at the front of the scrum as the All Blacks look to inject some fresh legs into the game.

45 mins – The Boks continue to dominate both territory and possession at the start of the second stanza, but the visitors defence holds firm and Steyn is forced to attempt a drop goal which comes back off the post.

50 mins – All Blacks launch a dangerous attack from deep in their half, but it is halted illegally by the Boks. Bakkies Botha is sent to the sin bin for a professional foul.

51 mins  – Donald slots the resulting penalty and the Boks’ lead is reduced to six points.

55 mins – Penalty to the boks. Richie McCaw is blown up for playing the ball on the ground and John Smit has no hesitation in giving Steyn the ball.

56 mins – Steyn pops it over to restore South Africa’s nine point lead.

60 mins – Penalty to the visitors just inside their own half. Luke McAlister comes on for Donald and says he’ll have a shot.

61 mins – McAlister nails the huge penalty attempt as Bakkies Botha is back for the Boks who now lead by just six points with just under 20 minutes to play.

64 mins – Penalty to South Africa as Mealamu is penalised at the break down.

65 mins – Steyn makes no mistake yet again. South Africa 28 New Zealand 19.

68 mins – South Africa win ter another lineout against the feed and look to launch an attack in midfield but a skip pass from Jean de Villiers goes wrong and it all comes to nothing for the hosts.

70 mins -  Adi Jacobs comes onto the field in place of De Villiers.

72 mins – The Boks have a 5 metre attacking scrum as the clock continues to wind down.

73 mins – Penalty to the Boks as the All Blacks are penalised for intentionally swinging the scrum.

74 mins – Steyn nails the kick and has a new record to his name – most points by an individual in a Tri-Nations clash.

76 mins – The All Blacks look to launch an attack from deep in their half, but yet again a handling error spoils the move – summing up New Zealand’s performance on the day.

77 mins – South Africa turn to the bench as they look to wind down the clock. Skipper John Smit leaves the field to a rapturous applause in his 60th Test as Springbok captain.

80 mins – Penalty to the Boks. Steyn pushes the kick just wide – he is human after all.

Full-time South Africa 31 New Zealand 19

Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Andries Bekker, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Wynand Olivier.

All Blacks — 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 John Afoa, 18 Jason Eaton, 19 Kieran Read, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Luke McAlister, 22 Cory Jane.

838 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] Show All

• 801.smallies72: Reply to this comment

big hit i realy like the way he is playing at the moment.he gets stuck in and does not shy away from the nasty stuff i think he is the most complete winger in sa if not the world at the moment

• 802.cab: Reply to this comment

i see Sir Stodders is still trying to work out wtf just happened?

• 803.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#788 Big Hit: Eton might beat Abergavenny Blind school. If the ABs aren’t given a tinkling bell in the ball, that is. If they are, the Etonian Chinless Wonders are doomed, I tell you, DOOMED.

• 804.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

687. David
    In South Africa it used to be if the Bulls and WP are
    strong South African rugby is strong.Today if the
    Bulls and the Sharks are strong South African rugby
    is strong.
    In New Zeeland if the Crusaders were strong,New Zeeland
    rugby was strong.With the Crusaders declining so is
    New Zeeland rugby.
    The mere fact is,they simply dont have a forward pack to mix it up front.Ther backs are never going to be in the game
    as long as they have to back pedal.
    Now think about this,if the back lines could switch at half time,Morne and every one outside him would have been under
    tremendous pressure and the ABS would have been running riot.

• 805.utiskuzap: Reply to this comment

#753 TheTackler: As ever you are so wrong, jet lag does have an adverse effect, and there is a significant difference between East-West and West-East jet lag.

Many studies show that heading east is worse than heading west. In tests of U.S. Army soldiers who transferred between the U.S. and Germany, it took three days for the soldiers who flew home to the U.S. to adjust to time and environmental changes. Those transferring eastward to Germany took eight days to adapt, according to the 1983 study in the journal Aviation, Space and Environmental Medicine.

In 1980, NASA (in collaboration with the FAA, and at the request of Congress) established The NASA Ames Fatigue/Jet Lag Program to study the problem. set out “to collect systematic, scientific information on fatigue, sleep, circadian rhythms, and performance in flight operations.” Researchers determined that…when traveling westward, the circadian day is lengthened (or delayed) and promotes adjustment to the new time zone. Conversely, when flying eastward, the circadian day is shortened (or advanced), contrary to the natural tendencies of the internal clock.”

In a sporting context, In a study by researchers from the University of Massachusetts Medical School and the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, major league baseball teams from the West and East coasts were compared to see who had the best records for the season. The East coast teams had a higher winning percentage as compared to the West teams when traveling across country.

However, as seen from the quoted studies , the AB should have recovered before the first test (3 days). At altitude SA is at an admitted advantage. on the rare occasions you antipodeans play there.

• 806.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

Great work Boks you gave us a really scholacking last night, much to my disappointment but fully acknowledge the superiority on display. I was dubious after the first week’s game and even though we saw a more aggressive style from the AB’s the Boks dominated, kept their composure and came up with the points- Congratulations, you guys must be over the moon. If you can carry this forward the Tri-Nations will be yours and deservedly so. Great effort, great performance, great strength!!
    I am proud to be beaten by a team that has had to lift and done so, so well :-)

• 807.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#803 utiskuzap: Yes, and there are countless studies in mental health publications on the adverse effect of time-zone travel, in both directions, on mental health. To illustrate the point, people with manic depression are strongly advised not to travel across time zones, for fear of life-threatening psychotic episodes.

With regard to rugby schedules, the main point is that SA players have to spend twice as long on the road across far time zones than their Australasian counterparts. NZ and Australia cross the Tasman Sea to play each other, and zip in and out of South Africa. This is a significant difference. The playing fields are uneven.

The players know it. NZ’s fine captain Mils Muliaina said as much in a recent interview: the SA players have by far the harder travel schedule when compared to NZ and Australia, and this has been the case for years [paraphrasing].

This has coincided with NZ pulling away from SA in the winning stakes.

Tackler is stuck on a superficial level of thinking. That’s his version of reality, but it’s the wrong one. Everyone creates their own reality, and that is Tackler’s. There are several other bloggers who hold the same wrong view.

SA journalists and commentators are afraid to focus on this for fear of being branded “whingers” etc. They do themselves and their country a disservice.

The positive for SA rugby is that the players are becoming harder and more suited to modern rugby schedules, as they adapt to the more trying environment. This may just work to SA’s advantage.

• 808.sglazer: Reply to this comment

The most anyone has come up with on the other side of the debate is along the lines of Tackler’s linear and superficial logic, or immature rants about being cry-babies and the like.

• 809.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

More all

Congrats to the Boks – superbly played :-)

• 810.pompies: Reply to this comment

Tackler can you please explain the demise of your All Black rugby team? What a load of tripe. Fire the coach and those two characters that sit on either side of him. Tackler you my friend please take your jacket and leave this blog before you get even more embarrassed by this rugger team supposedly called the All Blacks, huh what a load of rubbish, worse than school boy rugger.

• 811.Atreides: Reply to this comment

wowow what a match by the Boks…..just superior, no other word to describe it. They really panicked the All Blacks, damn, how many times have we had to watch the Boks at sixes and sevens because of the ruthless AB’s, what a nice change to see us turn the tables! I thought they played wth great courage, but poor decisions, poor discipline and poor handling let them down….and the one-eyed, dogged approach of sticking to a game plan that wasn’t working really killed them

Ref wasn’t great, but fairly consitent and strict I thought

I’d love to ask Cane where all the filthy skullduggery from the Boks was? But I see he’s nowhere to be seen! Lol…and this isn’t gloating, but he really p****d me off with his comments about the boks yesterday….what was the penalty count, Cane? Where was all the pressure that was going to turn them into serial killers? Where was all the horrific violence our filthy criminal Boks were going to unleash? You owe every SA supporter here an apology for your disgusting remarks, and you’re a f***ng embarrassment to every decent kiwi supporter who blogs here.

To the other (cool) kiwi supporters, hard luck guys, you guys lost no honour in this defeat, but they’ll be back, that’s one thing you can count on. Your guys showed big heart, when everything else ‘clicks’ you guys will be back to winning ways….see you in NZ ina few weeks!

• 812.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

After this there can’t be too much debate about who our flyhalf is.

Morne beats the All Blacks all alone! And not just beats he scores 31 points, he thrashed them! It’s not normal!

• 813.cane: Reply to this comment

Firstly………..and this hurts….so forgive me if it takes a while before I spit it out.

Con…con……con…

I know I can it, if I focus.

Con…….No I’m choking….sorry. I’ll try again in a minute or two.

• 814.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#811 cane: No rush….we will wait all day for this one.

It’s going to be worth the wait. :)

• 815.cane: Reply to this comment

Congratulations SA, on what was a comprehesive and well deserved Victory.

There, a shot Johnny Walker and a piece of humble pie and all is possible.

P.S. Attreides I’ll get to you in due course.

• 816.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#805 sglazer: Bull. Hundreds — THOUSANDS — of business people are sitting in aircraft as you read this busy travelling across time zones. I’ve done it countless times. And the more you do it, the less affected you are by it — just like how frequent sailors don’t get seasick any more.

“Travel disadvantage” is the purest bunkum. And, for a newbie traveller, even the worst jetlag is totally gone in a week.

• 817.cane: Reply to this comment

I have to agree with Old Tickles.

It is the same distance from Germiston to Wellington…..as it is from Wellington to Germiston. Fact.

So when you travel East/West for a game or two…..you then have to travel return West/East for a game or two. Or vice-versa.

Where is the inequality!

There is none.

• 818.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

If West-East travel across timezones is worse than East-West, then it bears remembering that the Antipodean teams all have to travel West-East on their way home and prepare for games while re-adjusting to their homeward travel in exactly the same way as the SA teams headed off on their away leg.

You don’t travel East-West from NZ to SA and then mysteriously just re-emerge home in NZ as if Scotty just beamed you back home with his Star Trek teleporter beam. You have to fly home and then play opponents who are, often, already waiting for you over there in a jetlag-free state.

The yarpies moan about “travel disadvantage” when what they really mean is “homesickness”.

And THAT is really so unprofessional and crybabyish from men who earn a handsome living playing rugby in foreign places!

After all, coming to play in a safe, hygienic, friendly first-world developed country is hardly anything you’d call proper hardship. Not like the Antipodeans who have to travel to a dangerous, hostile, unhygienic and violent third-world destination every time they come to play in Africa.

• 819.Atreides: Reply to this comment

#813 cane: cool…

• 820.cane: Reply to this comment

#816 TheTackler:

Easy Tickler…………..Phasers on stun.

• 821.cane: Reply to this comment

#817 Atreides:

“You owe every SA supporter here an apology for your disgusting remarks, and you’re a f***ng embarrassment to every decent kiwi supporter who blogs here”.

Well now Atty……it is just possible, you may take life too seriously.

I should be “commended” for trying to bring some passion and feeling into the lead-up, to what was a very important Test Match.

But do I ever get any THANKS!

• 822.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#250 poppa69: Ross’s play was not legal – it was not out of the ruck, and he came from an offside position. Combine it with the multitude of other AB’s illegalities, and you have a recipe for a yellow card.

And Mils had his one foot on the ground when JP tackled him. Fair go…

#481 NZMaori: Where do you think we learnt it from? ‘Yer man Richie!!

#485 poppa69: It seems we have moved on stringing up men in black jerseys…

#547 poppa69: apology accepted- spoken like a gentleman. The fact is that he AB forwards could not compete with the Boks tight 5 today and got frustrated by their lack of dominance at the breakdown due to Heinrich Brussow, whihc is why the lost the game for themselves through penalties. If they had more patience, and trsted their won defence, they would not give their game away 3 points at a time.

#684 poppa69: Actually Stodders was goiving you sage advice in a roundabout way. You should take it. And get used to coming down to a 60% winning margin,. AB’s have been spoilt the last few years with a 85% win ratio – and it went on a for a long time. But it certainly is not “normal procedure” for any team consistently. The star players you had have now left/retired or injured.

• 823.smallies72: Reply to this comment

#816 TheTackler: ja boet ek sien jou chill pille is weer op,luister ou piet afrika is leeu wereld jy konnie cope nie so bly still da in jou ou hoekie van die kiwis se land.jy weet koos jy krap my g@t.

• 824.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Tackler, you’re missing the main point again.

Imagine if NZ was playing against SA and Madagascar in the Tri-Nations. NZ would spend twice as long on tour on the other side of the world in Southern Africa as SA would in Australasia.

NZ would be on tour for four to five weeks in Southern Africa, whereas SA would be in and out of NZ in two weeks. SA would have a short trip to Madagascar for that leg of the tournament.

The situation is worse in the Super 14, where there are more teams in Australasia than in South Africa.

This is not a matter for debate. It’s fact. The players know it, the organizers of the tournaments know it, and so do all fair-minded people. Mils Muliaina said as much, as have other leading players from NZ and Australia.

The solution is an automatic point for the SA teams playing in those extra-travel games. An easy solution that is statistically legitimate.

• 825.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Correction: The situation is worse in the Super 14, where there are even more teams in Australasia compared to South Africa.

• 826.smallies72: Reply to this comment

sglazer even if you draw him a picture he will not,cannot understand.jy kan n perd water toe vat en al daai goed

• 827.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#824 smallies72: I live in hope. My concern is that people reading along decide upon the same faulty, superficial view as Tackler.

• 828.smallies72: Reply to this comment

sglazer luckely not all people are born with half a brain some even know how to use google.fear not.this is why i wanted the argies to join the comp so that the kiwis and aus can experiance the same thing

• 829.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#824 smallies72: #825 sglazer: oet there’s a world of difference between winning and whining.

It is what it is.

And Big Vic is on record saying is doesn’t matter. He should know.

• 830.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#827 SodaJoe: Not making it matter is one thing, and that’s the strength of this team, but the fact remains that the playing fields are uneven. Those who are grounded in the true reality know it.

Overcoming it is a strength, which is what Victor meant.

• 831.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

#809 Atreides: Yep agree, the ref wasnt exactly a great ref, more like a strict headmaster that expected all his students to abide by the rules and then punish for any infringement, but across the board pretty fair on both sides.
    Dirty tatics etc, well it all seemed pretty clean as well but in defense of those who have raised the issue, myself included, it was Schalk who got pinged on International Television eye gouging, he belongs to the Boks and bought their name into disrepute- we all reacted to it so maybe you need to tell him and others to stop using dirty tatics and then no-one will say anything- Fair enough I reckon. Boks have a reputation for foul play more so than any other team I can recall.
    If Richie McCaw was seen trying to put his fingers in someone’s eyes as blatantly as that pea brain Burger, well what a field day you lot would have with that- the difference is – do you really think McCaw would stoop?

• 832.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#822 sglazer: If you spend time away from home as part of a team, it ought to be a case of “the longer, the better” as you get to bond better. There’s no jetlag beyond week one. You focus more and more intently on the job you are being paid to do, far away from home distractions.

The only ones who see this as a “disadvantage” are the mentally-weak crybabies who get all homesick. Well, boo hoo! Harden up.

• 833.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#826 smallies72: Duhhh… the Argies don’t have ANY professional rugby in Argentina. Nil. Zip. Nada. Every single one of their pro rugby players — including every last Puma — earns his living playing pro rugby in UK/France where the winter rugby season is out of synch with the Southern Hemisphere.

So the Argies cannot possibly play in the S14/3N unless they have absolutely no off-season rest-and-recovery. As they are by far the weakest of the SH test teams already, to have them bear the extra burden of no R&R off-season would mean they would be even easier to beat.

They’d be the eternal whipping-boys of these competitions.

No point including them unless and until all of Argentina’s best rugby pros earn their rugby wages in Argentina rather than France.

• 834.whatever: Reply to this comment

#829 captain fantail:

Aaah, why do you always have to be such a negative doos? Sure Burger was reckless or even clumsy if you will. But he did not stand over the bloke and jam his finger in his eye like Richard Loe.

If anyone is pea brained, it was you blokes on Saturday thinking you could run in tries from your own 22. Now that was pea brained and even arrogant maybe??

• 835.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Tackler you are a DORK !

• 836.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#831 TheTackler:

The Tri Nations has been moved to a later date under the new SANZAR agreement so the Argentina players playing Europe would get an off-season. That point is completely invalid.

As for how well they’d do, NZ’s last game in Argentina ended 19-25.

Ultimately there aren’t enough teams in the Tri Nations and crowds are voting with their feet at the current 3 meetings per year format.

• 837.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#830 TheTackler:

You’ve missed the main point again Tackler, which is the significantly uneven playing field in regard to relative travel schedules.

• 838.Atreides: Reply to this comment

#829 captain fantail: YEa he did it and I think it was a ****** thing to do….although on the other side of the coin, they have cleaned up their act big time in the last few years (with the notable exception of Burger’s brain implosion) I think it puzzles a lot of Saffas to be honest, no-one saw that one coming!

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.