Springboks 29 Wallabies 17

Keo.co.za brings you live commentary from the Tri-nations clash at Newlands.

1 min – Morne Steyn goes high with the kick off and the Aussies clean up well.

2 mins – Penalty to the Wallabies and they decide to kick for touch .

2 mins – WALLABY TRY! Adam Ashley-Cooper finishes off the move in the corner after a well worked lineout move.

4 mins – Matt Giteau adds the extras with a great kick and the Wallabies lead 7-0.

6 mins – The Boks are yet to get out of first gear and errors at critical moments are costing them dearly.

8 mins – Penalty to the Boks. Steyn nails his kick and the Boks are on the board.

10 mins – The Wallabies are penalised again and Steyn punishes them for a second time.

13 mins – An Australian player is penalised for not releasing the ball and the Bok No 10 does what he does pest. Boks now in front by two.

14 mins – The Boks’ lead is short lived as Berrick Barnes nails a drop goal to put his side back in front.

19 mins – Boks starting to find their feet and putting together a couple of passages of good play.

20 mins – Yet another penalty to the Boks for an infringement at the breakdown. This time the ref has a chat to both captains.

21 mins – Steyn once again nails his kick and the Boks are back in the lead.

24 mins – After a great period of play from the hosts, which started with a turnover in midfield, Steyn nails a drop goal to extend South Africa’s lead.

27 mins - BOK TRY! Victor Matfield  gets the hosts first try after skipper John Smit puts through a cheeky little grubber kick off his left boot.

28 mins – This time Steyn’s radar is off and misses the conversion attempt. South Africa 20 Australia 10.

31 mins – Teams trade kicks before Steyn gets it in midfield. Looks to find touch with a deep kick, but puts it out on the full. Australian lineout on half way.

34 mins – Giteau lays in to Fourie du Preez with a shoulder while under the highball. Some ‘how’s your mothers’ break out and the Wallaby flyhalf is shown a yellow card for a moment of utter stupidity.

35 mins – Penalty to the Boks, and yet another yellow card, this time for Richard Brown for deliberately playing the ball from an offside position.

37 mins – Steyn slots the penalty to extend his side’s lead. South Africa 23 Australia 10.

40 mins – The hooter sounds and Pierre Spies is put through a gap and is on course to smash James O’Connor, but some good cover defence sees the big Bok knock on.

40 mins – That’s half-time and the Boks are in complete control.

Half-time – South Africa 23 Australia 10

41 minsAussies start the second half. Boks gather and Steyn thumps it back at them.

44 mins – Wallabies counter attack after Boks drop out. Visitors now back to full compliment.

45 mins – Hosts nick yet another lineout.

48 mins – Box kick from the Wallabies and the hosts regather. Steyn pumps the ball into the corner – 10 metres from the Aussie tryline.

52 mins – Danie Rossouw on the field now in place of Juan Smith who took a heavy knock in the first half.

54 mins – Penalty to the Boks in a kickable position as the visitors are blown up for yet another breakdown infringement.

55 mins – Steyn nails the penalty and the Boks lead by 16 points.

56 mins – Some brilliant chasing by Morne Steyn and it’s a scrum to the Boks in front of the sticks five metres from the Aussie tryline.

58  mins – Boks are penalised and the chance is gone. Good clearing kick from the Wallabies.

59 mins – Australia look to put together a set move from the lineout, but the ball is passed forward. Scrum to the Boks just inside Wallaby territory.

62 mins – Penatly to the Boks and Steyn kicks it out on half way.

64 mins – A huge hit from Bakkies Botha on Giteau gets a loud response from the Newlands crowd. Springbok scrum.

65 mins – WALLABY TRY! The ball comes to Giteau from an attacking scrum. He steps a couple of defenders and stretches out an arm to score next the the upright.

66 mins – Giteau quickly adds the extras and the Wallabies trail by just nine points now.

70 mins – The Wallaby pivot looks to peg the hosts deep in their own half but his kick is too long and it’s a scrum to South Africa on half way.

74 mins – Boks put together a good passage of play, but squander possession just metres short of the tryline.

78 mins – A good kick chase from Brian Habana. The Bok flyer is tackled without the ball and it’s a penalty to the hosts. Boks kick for touch.

79 mins – Yet another penalty to the Boks and this time George Smith is shown a yellow card. Steyn points to the sticks.

79 mins – Steyn nails the kick and the game is all but over.

80 mins – The hooter goes and the visitors have the possession, but yet another handling error brings the an end to the game. Boks win!

Full-time – South Africa 29 Australia 17

Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Pless

Comments are closed.

269 Comments

• 1.Senga: Reply to this comment

Go Bokke!!! Show those Waltzing Matildas how the game should be played…

• 2.toe-jam: Reply to this comment

camel-toe dragons

• 3.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Bokketeas third match on the trot
    Aus fresh after a good rest and having had a good chance to review the Bokketeas
    The wisdom of resting players for the 3rd Lions test will become clear today
    The wee Maestro’s Bokketeas by 7.

• 4.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Morne will keep it stable and able setting the platform in the early stages
    Ruan and Adi to be introduced later in the match to open things up and add that killer blow

• 5.toe-jam: Reply to this comment

the oz have never played the bokke with a fetcher on the park,it’s time we dish out some ground assault of our own,dont expect the oz to have it all their own

• 6.RedLion: Reply to this comment

It is not going to be an easy match. Eventually the good guys will win the fight against the criminally insane convicts.

That is right the Boks by 2-8

• 7.chch: Reply to this comment

The only change from the team that played NZ is Phil Waugh not even making the bench

• 8.toe-jam: Reply to this comment

less than a year ago it waugh on the park and smith on the bench…bring it on either way.

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

go bakkies!!

• 10.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

Boks by 18 ….see if i can keep my 100% record!!!

• 11.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Morning all! Hope you have a fantastic time watching the match wherever you are. I’m in a Costa Rican rainforest watching on my computer.

• 12.yzerfontein: Reply to this comment

Empty that tank, Bokke, give it horns. Boks are probably going to win by 7 to 14 points, with an outside chance of a runaway victory (good weather & Newlands is dry).

• 13.sglazer: Reply to this comment

It’s hard to imagine the Boks loosing this one, no disrespect to the Wallabies.

• 14.timo: Reply to this comment

I am expecting the boks to run more with the ball and especially keep it tight up front with pick and drive etc. If we score early and get a 10 – 14 point lead we will put these guys away. We are no longer afraid or less skilled than our antipodean counterparts.

• 15.yzerfontein: Reply to this comment

#11 sglazer: where you streaming the video from?

• 16.yzerfontein: Reply to this comment

Amabokoboko

• 17.Senga: Reply to this comment

#11 sglazer: tarantula inside your trousers – be still, very still!

• 18.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Lets not forget 2007
    We were extremely confident going into the match
    Big talk of dominating the scrums, collisions, etc
    Aus dominated
    We won by virtue of two freakish drop goals
    Aus are better than many give them credit for
    Technically always very intelligent

• 19.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#17 Senga: Saw a big one in a lab yesterday, and some amazing butterflies. Everything grows big here, with 4 meters of rain per year. But no big mammals. Jaguars hard to find.

• 20.chch: Reply to this comment

#11 sglazer:

We were being attacked by polar bears before taking refuge underground in a Siberian salt mine which has since caved in. I am watching on my computer

• 21.timo: Reply to this comment

The boks need to win this one by some margin. In order to win the tri nations we need to win at least one overseas. The match against Oz in Perth will be so much easier if we assert mental dominance today. That said I am expecting the boks to beat Aus in OZ at least once and the AB’s in NZ.

• 22.smallies72: Reply to this comment

Go bokke show the convicts how we do it in africa

• 23.Senga: Reply to this comment

#20 chch: Winter approaching in Siberia – you gonna hibernate while there?

• 24.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Right Boks, do your thing. Show these Wallabies the meaning of PAIN!!

• 25.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#20 chch: Isn’t our modern world amazing, that we can watch the match almost wherever we are. Remember the past, when we would wait for Saturday afternoon transmission on SABC, after the test pattern [!].

• 26.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

BOKKE!

• 27.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

LOL, very true SGLAZER!

• 28.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Okay, transmission has started. Enjoy it in Siberia CHCH, and wherever you are Senga!

• 29.Senga: Reply to this comment

#28 sglazer: Thanks Sglazer. Watching from the peak of Kilimandjaro. Reception is great coz of the height.

• 30.chch: Reply to this comment

Does anyone have a Justin feed?

• 31.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Laptops not allowed in the Tibetan Arshram
    Sneaked away and watching from the toilet
    Gonna have to tell the Holy brothers had a bad case of diarrhoea

• 32.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Brains v/s Braun? Brain is gonna win today

Brussow v/s Smith

Mortlock v/s Fourie

Steyn v/s Gitau

No rain!!!! Man we are in for a humdinger.

• 33.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

I’ll very happily settle for a slow, choking, ball-starving, space-limiting, pressure-building, goal-focused performance where the Bokke slowly squeeze the life out of the Wallas!

No need to ‘go big’ … :)

Cheers Boykies!!!

• 34.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Hello girls.

• 35.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

here we go go bokkies

• 36.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#28 sglazer: The humidity is so high in Minneapolis that I could be in Costa Rica.

Having said that a beach in Costa Rica watching rugby sounds pretty darn good to me.

Go Boks. Costa da Wallabies Plenty.

• 37.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

SA has played the Aussies about 30 times post isolation and the win/loss ratio is roughly 50:50! Could not believe it that we have been so sh–ty!!!!

• 38.chillie: Reply to this comment

watching on veetle.com
    select SETANTA SPORTS

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i hope jean is wearing his tackling underpants today otherwise gits, barnes & stirling will be running through that channel all day long!

• 40.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Just look at all those green jerseys!! What a lovely sight!

• 41.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Soda,

Your thoughts on the final outcome …

• 42.brendon: Reply to this comment

http://www.veetle.com/viewChannel.php?cid=4a7d359c3de54

• 43.cab: Reply to this comment

come now Bokke!

• 44.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#41 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Boks by 7. Equal tries.

Brussow, Biz, Bakkies, Victor, Morne and Steyntjie to stand out.

Morne solid and takes points.

FdP to run the team.

Smitty to lead the team.

• 45.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#43 cab: More ou pellie.

• 46.Senga: Reply to this comment

both teams singing their anthems with vigour! Here comes one hellava match.

• 47.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Boks are def up for this one!

• 48.David: Reply to this comment

Afternoon guys. Should be a great game.

• 49.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

So easy can you believe it!

• 50.David: Reply to this comment

Jeez, where was our defence?

• 51.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Horrible tackling JPP

• 52.cab: Reply to this comment

oh ****, ozzies come out storming, boks better watch it here

• 53.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Why are are crowds booing?

• 54.Senga: Reply to this comment

Aus 7 – SA 0

• 55.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Lovely kick too.

• 56.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Jou Ma Se P**s man
    Ooops, the Capetonian in me just came out
    Sorry guys

• 57.Transformation: Reply to this comment

tackle jpp & fransie!!

• 58.David: Reply to this comment

#51 SodaJoe:
    He was Frans man.

• 59.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Spies must not go in like a lone trick pony and isolate himself these Aussies going to pick him off and counter like we just saw 7-0 already. Pietersen must make his tackles.

• 60.David: Reply to this comment

Anyone who reckons we can win games without raising the attacking ability of our backs needs their heads read.

• 61.Jackson 4: Reply to this comment

Pietersen, like last week, is a total liability defensively. He tackles like a fairy, keeping his face well out of the way and clutching neck high. Doos!!!

• 62.Senga: Reply to this comment

OZ 7 – SA 3

• 63.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Great not to have Nisbett & Fox commentating actually.

Go boys.

• 64.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

I love seeing all the bravado we’ve been hearing the last folding like a chinese napkin in a restaurant. You lot crumble faster than a pack of cards when the heats up, which shows that you are still not confident in your team or really believe all the hype over this last week. Wakey Waky, we’re leaving kansas!!:-D

• 65.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Bloody great. Cheating & caught.

• 66.Senga: Reply to this comment

OZ 7 – SA 6

• 67.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Boks looking good so far, and they have not even started playing yet! lol

• 68.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Lovely kick.

• 69.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#67 TaffyIX: Agreed!

• 70.Senga: Reply to this comment

Great passing OZ!

• 71.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#64 captain fantail:

You were saying …

• 72.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

Not that I particularly want either team to lose, but man I love hearing and seeing the change that comes with a changing tide.

• 73.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#64 captain fantail: aha. What was that?

• 74.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 9 – OZ 7

• 75.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#72 captain fantail: speak up bud.

• 76.Senga: Reply to this comment

OZ 10 – SA 9

• 77.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Super droppie.

Good game this.

• 78.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

#71 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: ..yes I was saying that, and exactly that!
    The thing is with your lot is that if your winning everyones a hero, losing the knives come out before the first fifteen are over..you know and we all know it!!

• 79.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Oof Beast is giving Baxter a very hard time. Going to be a long game.

• 80.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

******, the talent of guys like Morne, Carter, Wilko etc is going to turn Rugby into a bloody soccer match. I really hope they decide to drop the amount for penalties and such so we can get back to playing rugby—- boring as bat s#$t

• 81.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Nothing wrong with enjoying the moment is there?

• 82.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Aussie back 3 very safe and steady.

• 83.Senga: Reply to this comment

#80 captain fantail: Please leave ****** out of this!

• 84.David: Reply to this comment

I see that Frans is getting more involved in the backline.

• 85.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

good luck all , going to bed :-D

• 86.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#82 SodaJoe:

Aus is always technically very good
    For that matter, all their sports usually are

• 87.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#83 Senga: The horse you’re on is very high indeed.

• 88.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 12 – OZ 10

• 89.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

#83 Senga: They play rugby in heaven mate, and anyone who can walk on water must be an AB :-)

• 90.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Bismarck – brains sometimes help.

• 91.Senga: Reply to this comment

#87 Ezee-23: #89 captain fantail: Let’s talk rugby.

• 92.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 15 – OZ 10

• 93.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Moer hulle!!!!

• 94.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Fkn sweet. Just great from all sides. Nice Bokke.

BRUSSOW YOU DIAMOND!

• 95.cab: Reply to this comment

Is this the birth of naas botha mark II?
    jeez he does not miss.

• 96.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#91 Senga: Lets!

• 97.cab: Reply to this comment

i must say this brussow is actually exceptional, he’s almost single-handedly turned the momentum here.

• 98.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

This guy Morne Steyn….words elude me.

• 99.Senga: Reply to this comment

try Victor!!!

• 100.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Captain Fantail,

SMOKE THAT :-)

• 101.David: Reply to this comment

Centre Matfield scores a great try fro JS chip. :lol:

• 102.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

ALL PRAISE PDV!
    THIS TEAM IS CLEVER AND GETTING CREATIVE

• 103.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 20 – OZ 10

• 104.The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Reply to this comment

Nou gaan julle kaaaaaaaaak wallies!

• 105.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Smitty!!!!! Skills boet. Skills on toast.

Fantail, speak up.

• 106.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

how’s that for a pressure try grubber from Smit

This team is rocking so far

• 107.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

Victor you beauty! That’s a nice way of celebrating his and Bakkies’ 50th Anniversary.

• 108.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#93 kwaailight: Not with violent intent … just moer hulle … :)

• 109.David: Reply to this comment

If the backs can’t do it, then our forwards are showing them how! :grin:

• 110.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Mortlock off. Wow. Not good for Wobblies.

• 111.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Oi Jake! Go fetch us beer mate … will you please?!?

• 112.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

The Boks seem to be slipping too many tackles…

• 113.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

youngster O’ Connor is class already at 19

• 114.David: Reply to this comment

What happened to Mortlock?

• 115.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

O’Connor going to be a great.

• 116.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#111 kwaailight: You said it!

• 117.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Shocking by Gitaeu!!

• 118.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

That is totally ridiculous. Red card minimum. 8 week ban minimum. Shocking.

• 119.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Giteau will NOT play the next match … absolute D00S

• 120.cab: Reply to this comment

be good if the boks can go over here with giteau off just before halftime

• 121.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

lol, prob the dumbest play by a flanker I’ve seen in awhile there!

• 122.Senga: Reply to this comment

Now down to 13

• 123.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#119 kwaailight: That’s fair.

• 124.The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Reply to this comment

JUSTICE FOR SPIES!!!

• 125.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 23 – OZ 10

• 126.cab: Reply to this comment

tough call on brown.

• 127.smallies72: Reply to this comment

2 yellows eq red justice

• 128.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

We have to make them pay now!

• 129.David: Reply to this comment

If only Luke had taken his kicks last night, like a professional captain.

• 130.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#126 cab: No way. Warned and totally dof.

• 131.David: Reply to this comment

#126 cab:
    C’mon Cab. That was a blatant offside after a series of warnings.

• 132.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Aussies playing with guts.

• 133.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

I’m afraid Brown was WAY offide there. No excuse really.

• 134.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

du Preex too slow clearing from scrum base offering the turnover where if it went out then our backs would have been over in corner.

• 135.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#126 cab: I agree … :)

• 136.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

should have been a try then too many glory boys trying to go it alone Spies knocking on 2 mt out

• 137.cab: Reply to this comment

dissapointing, i hope SA dont regret not converting some points in the last 7 mins of the first half with oz down to 13.

Not too bad, but too many errors, boks are looser than before with a few mistakes creeping in, got to tighten up.

• 138.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Honestly I have to say Giteau’s foul is unbelievably bad. Maniacal.

Hammer him. 8 weeks minimum.

• 139.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#136 skopskiet: Can you believe it?

• 140.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#137 cab: I agree – too loose. Should tighten up a bit and work the ball not let the ball work them.

Need more phases.

• 141.Braloo: Reply to this comment

Giteau will not be playing for 3 weeks!!!!

• 142.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#138 SodaJoe: or should rather agre to the 8 weeks!!!1

• 143.Senga: Reply to this comment

#138 SodaJoe: Compared to Bakkies offence…

• 144.whatever: Reply to this comment

Martin & Kearns are as one eyed as friggn Fox and Nisbett! Oh for some SA Commentary…………

• 145.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#136 skopskiet: spies did very well to get into the gap!!!

• 146.Izo: Reply to this comment

what the **** is up wit FS not looking for supporting runners and only passing when he is im trouble. He has butchered 3 try scoring chances cos he is not looking. Fourie offer to take the quick taps no one else!

• 147.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

I will be suprised if this doesn’t become a rout.

• 148.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#143 Senga: compared to bakkies should be 10 weeks but again it is against SA, so it should only be 1week,

• 149.Transformation: Reply to this comment

these aussies didn’t come here to play rugby. I’ve never hated australian teams before but i hate this one ffs!

• 150.whatever: Reply to this comment

#136 skopskiet:

So which non glory boy would you have chosen who would have made that try??

• 151.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#148 Braloo: compared to bakkies, mat should get 10 weeks but again it is against SA, so it should only be 1week,

• 152.Izo: Reply to this comment

these guys need to build phases, the gaps will come when they over commit there will be space. Man that was some stupid rugby there at the end

• 153.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Brussooouuuww!! Jou yster! Where have you been all my life? F@ckshakes, this laaitie is f@ckin good!

• 154.cab: Reply to this comment

#131 David: #130 SodaJoe:
    lads, lads – tackler can play the ball from any angle provided a ruck has not formed – brussouw has perfected this.

• 155.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#146 Izo: You right … he is seeking contact ala old ‘Bluebuls Sidestep’ … :)

• 156.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

#151 Braloo: Freaking sad but so true

• 157.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

#151 Braloo: Oh please, they’ll call him a naughty boy and ask him very nicely not to do it again when he plays next week.

One thing we should not expect from our Sanzar partners is fair treatment.

• 158.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#154 cab: No boet. Maul had moved way past him. The most obvious penalty of the game.

Now Horwill off. That’s good for us too.

• 159.David: Reply to this comment

#154 cab:
    Yes, but he was on the wrong side of the ruck and was not even the tackler.

• 160.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#153 BokiNZ: A few seasons ago he was called Luke, but he had a k8k attitude and a coach that used fetchers to go get the beer … :)

• 161.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Fabulous kick.

• 162.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

why Steyn didn’t kick that out dunno, stupid

• 163.David: Reply to this comment

The ABs will be the only ones to benefit if Giteau’s cited.

• 164.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

We haven’t been good at all in the first 15 minutes of the 2nd half in any of our games this year.

• 165.Senga: Reply to this comment

Great kick Morne!

• 166.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#160 kwaailight: To be fair to Jake he didn’t like having players forced on him even if they are the best at what they do.

• 167.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

#166 Ezee-23: SSHHHHT! Skoppie is lurking somewhere. So please! Not while the game is on! I disagree with U on that 1 but can we do it after. THX. :smile:

• 168.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#166 Ezee-23: I have no problem with that. Neither do I have with the notion that a player has to fit in the overall team setup (which Luke would not have), BUT for an otherwise intelligent, very knowledgeable rugby man to then make the statements about fetchers and his comments about Luke’s ‘average ability as a provincial flanker’, just exposed him for the a-hole he is … that’s where he lost my respect and admiration … totally.

• 169.Transformation: Reply to this comment

frans steyn is having a k@k game, play ruan @ fullback!

• 170.Senga: Reply to this comment

Paletoe!

• 171.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

#168 kwaailight: Oh *****…here we go! You know what you’ve done?

• 172.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 26 – OZ 10

• 173.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Great 3 scores minimum.

Brussow. Bloody great again.

Pocock on, try compete with teh Diamond.

• 174.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#167 BokiNZ: Hahahahahah!
    #168 kwaailight: Agreed.

• 175.David: Reply to this comment

What the hell is FdP doing kicking away so much ball? So far they’ve all been fielded and returned. Doesn’t he have faith in his backs. We need a 4 try bonus from this game.

• 176.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

Must!

• 177.David: Reply to this comment

What happened to the weak Wobblie scrum?

• 178.cab: Reply to this comment

thts very poor rugby from the south africans considering their field position/

• 179.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#178 cab: Can you believe this? What the fudge, there’s gonna be a telling off of a few when this game is over.

• 180.cab: Reply to this comment

f’ck me, what is the maestro up to here?

• 181.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Bok scrum pumped twice in a row.

• 182.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#171 BokiNZ: Sorry mate .. I hate it when intelligent people lose their marbles due to their prejudice … can’t help it … :)

Imagine this game without Brussouw ’cause fetchers don’t belong in the modern game.

• 183.cab: Reply to this comment

Bok scrum getting poked, john smit has lost the scrum battle today.

• 184.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Is our front 3 tired?

• 185.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is a MONSTER!

• 186.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Ooooouch. Bakkies Big Hit boet. Nice.

• 187.cab: Reply to this comment

lol…smashed by the Bakster, the sort of hits that change things?

• 188.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Spies. Beautiful defense.

• 189.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Good try Wallabies.

O’Connor made it.

We better watch out.

• 190.cab: Reply to this comment

well now, are we in for another nail-biter?

Boks need to start keeping ball in hand and actually attacking the ozzies.

• 191.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#187 cab: The sort of hit that makes you reevaluate your life.

• 192.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 26 – OZ 17

• 193.David: Reply to this comment

The Wobblies get position and the backs score. We do the same and we try and do it with our forwards without effect.

• 194.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

What the f**k?

• 195.cab: Reply to this comment

there are some very bad mistakes here.

• 196.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Time for John to talk some sense and calmness into the heads here … mine too … the red wine is takiing a pounding now!!

• 197.David: Reply to this comment

Mossie seems to have been almost invisible today.

• 198.Senga: Reply to this comment

#197 David: JP aint man of the match either

• 199.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#197 David: Who’s that if you don’t mind me asking?

• 200.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Pierre Spies is becoming all the more prominant.

• 201.David: Reply to this comment

#199 Ezee-23:
    Jaques Fourie. :grin:

• 202.cab: Reply to this comment

actually i dunno why jannie du plessis is picked, he cant scrum and he’s handling is abysmal.

• 203.WP_: Reply to this comment

why does div insist on bringing on jacobs for jean with 10 mins to go.

• 204.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

if that’s not proffesional then I don’t know what is! F@ck ref!

• 205.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Poor play by George Smith there.

• 206.Senga: Reply to this comment

SA 29 – OZ 17

• 207.David: Reply to this comment

#203 WP_:
    Because that’s where he’s going to be when Jean leaves, I think.

• 208.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Bakkies MoM.

But Brussow very close.

Great game guys.

Scrum only weakness.

• 209.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Jacques invisible today.

• 210.cab: Reply to this comment

this spanish commentator keeps going on about pierre SPICE, wtf?

oh well another to the Boks, cant complain, 3 from 3.

Skitterend.

• 211.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Yeehaa!!!

• 212.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Jeeezzzz … I am not designed to watch full rugby matches … in fact I struggle to survive just hearing them whilst stoking a fire that no-one needs … :)

Bokkkkkeeeeee!!!!!

• 213.WP_: Reply to this comment

david but thats rubbish because wynand olivier is better

• 214.David: Reply to this comment

We may have won, but it’s a bit embarrassing to be outscored 2 tries to 1 with our possession and against 13 men at one stage.

• 215.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#209 SodaJoe: I saw him … he was there … tackled some … ran some … ‘t was him – for sure!

• 216.Transformation: Reply to this comment

3 out of 3 in the tri-nations!!!

• 217.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Oh well. Not our best by a longshot but ultimately another tick in the W column. Agree Soda. Bakkies was awesome.

• 218.cab: Reply to this comment

the young australian O’Connor looked very good, whenever he touched it.

Bok backline needs to start functioning, think its a good thing JdV is off, we need some penetration, its not getting past him, backs need to start hitting the line at pace and on the angle, they not looking good on attack.

• 219.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#214 David: why would you want to scorre more tries but then stil loose?

• 220.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

It’s a win. But the Boks played terribly from the 35th minute.

A bit disspointing when they should have absolutely murdered the Aussies with 13 men. Our backline looks clueless. Is **** Muir adding anything?

• 221.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#214 David: Embarrassing? That’s a bit harsh. Humbled maybe, but never embarrassed.

• 222.Braloo: Reply to this comment

Bakkies for man of the match!!!!

• 223.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#219 Braloo: How about scoring more tries and winning more emphatically?

We cant always rely on our kicker to win the game by penalties.

• 224.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

PdV is on his way to becoming our greatest pro coach
    Three cheers for the great, little man
    Hooooray, hoooray, hoooray!!!

• 225.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Can you believe how much I’m in heaven? We are the first team to win 3 games in a row. Good try Wallabies, shame you had to cheat so much, probably because your skills are pretty low. #1 team, Boks. 1 hand is on the Trinations Trophey. Deal with it.

• 226.Braloo: Reply to this comment

I think that the backs did not get any ball to play with tonight…yes our forwards are very good, but just think that we should try and move the ball wide more times…especially close to the opponents goalline!!!

• 227.WP_: Reply to this comment

#222 Agree! he was absolutely immense!

• 228.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#222 Braloo: why can’t you rely on Morne if he is on form and winning you games!!!!

• 229.smallies72: Reply to this comment

George smith is brussow,s bunny

• 230.Senga: Reply to this comment

Morne 24 points. 55 in the last 2 games!

• 231.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#223 wooden spoon: Yes we can but we don’t evidenced by the fact that we also scored a try.

• 232.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#225 Kobus Kitty: Are you telling me a Bok team has never won 3 in a row before?

Last I heard Nick Mallet’s team had 17 in a row?

• 233.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#224 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Nice!

• 234.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#223 wooden spoon: why can’t you rely on Morne if he is on form and winning you games!!!!

• 235.David: Reply to this comment

#221 Ezee-23:
    FdP kicked far too much possession away with his up and unders. The Wobblies were very solid there and he should have realised that earlier.

• 236.Braloo: Reply to this comment

Well done PDV!!!

• 237.chch: Reply to this comment

Congrats to SA. Very close to taking the 3N now

• 238.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

#214 David: Not at all. Our 3rd game in a row, intensity not upthere. All that matters is the win. In the past we scored more tries and still lost the game and it sucked! Rather have it this way.

Now Bokkies, for a well earned rest. Same as lst yr, the 3N’s in your hands, so please make it count this time. Put it beyond doubt in the 1st game in Perthfontein. That way you can relax the rest of the tour. GOOOO BOOOKKKKKKKKKEEEEE!!!!!

• 239.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

Off to watch the late broadcast on SABC 2. Wanna see Bakkie’s tackle again. later!!

• 240.David: Reply to this comment

#225 Kobus Kitty:
    We’re also the first to have 3 home games in a row.

• 241.WestAussieBok: Reply to this comment

The fact we’re winning on penalties is more a reflection of the negative spoiling play of the opposition.

Especially when you consider their 3 yellow cards, it’s pretty clear they were out to spoil and rather concede the penalty than the try.

• 242.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

#210 cab: Because “Spies” is the english word for spioene which is pronounced “spaais”.

En daar het jy dit …

• 243.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#228 Braloo: because of the law of averages.

And when the law of averages comes to bite you in the arse, we all sit here crying when the other team has outscored us 2 tries to 1.

• 244.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#235 David: would also like to see the back three coming into the line a bit more!!!

• 245.cab: Reply to this comment

Perhaps they just need a break.
    A Lions series win.
    An AB series win.
    All home games in 3N won.

They need a bladdy good pat on the back.

I believe this team (incl coaching staff) have the ability to win all their away games if they want it and hungry for it, they looked a bit off it it today – but I think they will rest and regroup and make a moerse impact at the Subiaco oval in 2 weeks time.

What a team, what a maestro!

• 246.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Oz conceded 19 turnovers … no wonder George Smith looks a bit of a sourpuss?

• 247.cab: Reply to this comment

#242 Windhoek.Lager:
    ok dankie

• 248.David: Reply to this comment

#244 Braloo:
    Frans did come into the line, but there was no structure in the support. However, Frans did tend to die with the ball.

• 249.Izo: Reply to this comment

Too many mistakes, i knew we would win at home but this performance will be punished overseas. We need to be more clinical in our play. The link between 10 and 12 is not good. I think we might have a situation were we have too many generals in that backline. We need PDV to fix this. Our backline play is diabolical!!!

• 250.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

We pressure the opposition into penalities
    Dominate the opposition at the collision point forcing them into errors
    Literally suffocated the AB’s and Aussies out of their phase plays
    Don’t allow them to get into their stride

• 251.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the “settled” combination of jdv & mossie is not doing anything offensively, i don’t know what **** muir is telling them…our forwards are keeping us in the game & when fatigue settles we’re like sitting ducks! Something has to be done!!

• 252.Senga: Reply to this comment

#246 kwaailight: Oz conceded 8 line-outs – must be a record of some sorts…

• 253.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#251 Transformation: You clearly don’t like JDV, why waste your energy with all the posts, we know already!

• 254.cab: Reply to this comment

#250 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:
    Very accurate, but our scrum was beaten today, our backline attack consists solely of slow crash-ball often behind adv line, the boks were even counter-rucked at the end…alot to work on.

• 255.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#214 David: i take winning a game with kicks anyday abive trying to outscore the opponents..winning is winning

• 256.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#254 cab: Our scrum was beaten in the 2nd half. Backs look clueless.

Good win, but there is work to do.

• 257.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Is the issue the individual players or the change in approach?
    Out attacking play was at times sublime in 2008
    Probably the best for just on a decade
    Think its more a matter of change in approach than individual players
    We committing more players to the breakdown points in order to dominate
    Thus fewer players standing off as potential support runners
    The move towards total rugby will take time

• 258.Gerhardt: Reply to this comment

I am not happy with the fact that we could not get our backline operating. I think i saw jacue fourie for first time in 78th min.
    Either the ball is kicked away or juan de villiers goes to ground with it. Only during broken play do we se something , but not smooth at all. We couldnt score for 10mins agains 13 aussies???? not good.

• 259.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#253 wooden spoon: what about Morne at inside sentre when de villiers goes and pienaar at flyhalf?

• 260.RedLion: Reply to this comment

Well done Boks.

A win is a win but I must say not a very good match because of rather cynical and negative play by the criminals.

Obstruction on numerous occasions

Uncalled for thuggery

Playing the man the without the ball

Knocking the ball out of players hands

Numerous despicable behaviour at the breakdown – rather 3
    points that a TRY

Dissent!

3 Yellow cards

Yes they played like convicts and were properly punished.

• 261.Braloo: Reply to this comment

#256 wooden spoon: definitely work on the scrums….

• 262.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#258 Gerhardt: Lol, I thought the same thing… I first saw Jaque Fourie in the 78th minute! Unusually quiet game for him.

• 263.Gerhardt: Reply to this comment

#260 RedLion:
    we should not be happy with only a win, this is trinations where bonus points are abegging

• 264.cab: Reply to this comment

#257 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:

I think its the players – when last did JdV or Fourie actually make a linebreak? When last did we have a centre like Robbie Fleck who cut lines or even Muir himself who could create for his outside backs with his offloads and rugby brain?

Our boys need to start having a go and backing themselves, the kick ‘n chase must not develop into the only show in town.

• 265.David: Reply to this comment

#255 Braloo:
    Please re read your post regarding winning above outscoring the opponents. :grin:
    Yes, I’ll take a win but I don’t believe we’re taking advantage of the possession we’re getting. Too many games have been relatively close when we should have closed them out.

• 266.Braloo: Reply to this comment

the aussies deserved more than 3 yellows!!!1

• 267.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#254 cab: Fair comment, BUT keep perspective – we killed them at the breakdown, moered them in thelineouts and held our own in the scrum for most of the game.

The backline situation is also something that has to be seen in a the context of a game-plan … ?

And in the final analysis … Looks at the scoreboard boet … :)

• 268.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#261 Braloo: yep, their substitutions in the front row killed us. We only had weakling Jannie Du Plessis to bring on.

• 269.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Total rugby is achieving that fine balance between the two ends of the spectrum
    Something the Bulls achieved this year
    Will take time to cultivate this perfection at test level

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.