Boks were well beaten

Worse than the Springbok performance in Brisbane was the post match analysis on SuperSport, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.

Naas Botha blamed the referee Wayne Barnes for South Africa’s emphatic 21-6 defeat against Australia and to illustrate his point he laboured through a couple of debatable decisions at the breakdown. Then Botha spoke about the two Australian tries and the four times Australia’s players crossed South Africa’s line, only to be denied by stunning cover tackles. Not once did Botha show us a South African try or a South African try-scoring opportunity because there wasn’t a heck of a lot to show from a South African perspective.

Australia could have had six tries. South Africa, at best, were close to scoring once. That is how convincing this Australian win was. The Boks, three years ago, took a 49-0 drubbing at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane and had everything gone Australia’s way on Saturday the result could have been of a similar nature.

The SunCorp Stadium has never been kind to the Springboks in matches against Australia, with the Boks having last scored a try at the venue against the Aussies in 1997. They scored plenty there against Samoa during the 2003 World Cup, but when it comes to playing the Wallabies in Brisbane the Boks have managed six, nine, zero and six points in the last decade, while the hosts have totaled 32, 29, 49 and 21.

History always favoured the Wallabies in Brisbane, where the only team to have won there in the last 10 years is New Zealand. Form was also decisive, as was Australia’s team selection, which was an improvement on who started in Perth seven days earlier.

A week ago I cautioned against writing off Australia and wrote that they were not half as bad as their media made out after the 32-25 defeat in Perth. I watched that match three times and the more I watched it the more worried I got about the prospect of Brisbane. It did not need hindsight to know that Brisbane would be very different to Perth.

In Perth Australia never recovered from a 12-point deficit, but they controlled the last 30 minutes of the Test and in particular they were impressive in the scrum. What they lacked was a lineout and physicality in the contact areas. In Brisbane the lineout still wobbled, but the physicality was greater than anything the Springboks have experienced in the Tri Nations this year and the Australian scrum was as good as it was in Cape Town and Perth.

Decisively, the Australians maintained this physical onslaught for the duration of the match and when a Bok team does not physically dictate they tend to struggle.

Anyone blaming Barnes’s officiating is insulting Australia’s performance.

As far a game plans go, South Africa got it wrong and Australia got it boringly right. The hosts played the percentages, kicked for territory and rarely attacked from within their half. Matt Giteau kicked a drop goal and James O’Connor scored from a kick and chase.

When South Africa did it in Cape Town, the criticism Down Under was they were boring. When Australia did it, they were just being clever. What is disappointing about Brisbane is that the Boks were suckered into playing a more expansive and risky game, which favoured the Australians, who in turn played risk-free rugby and got the rewards.

The Springboks, outstanding in the first four Tri Nations victories, will win the Tri Nations, regardless of the result in Hamilton because New Zealand does not have the capacity to score four tries against the Boks and four tries against the Wallabies a week later.

But the taste of championship victory will be soured if there is another defeat in Hamilton, and another set piece disaster will force the selectors to revisit their view on John Smit’s future as an international tighthead prop.

Smit, South Africa’s greatest captain and one of the finest hookers in the game, has taken a beating in the scrum against Australia this year. He should not be playing tighthead. If you play him, start him at hooker, which is his best position.

It won’t happen this weekend and Smit will again be a target, when not long ago he was a strength in the front row. With France waiting in Toulouse in November I can’t see the selectors playing two hookers in the front row, and if they do they should be the ones getting the chop.

266 Comments

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Dragons – verseker waar!

• 2.cab: Reply to this comment

lol Staal, dink jy ook JS moet vervang word op vaskop?

• 3.grant10: Reply to this comment

Exactly right…..any rugby fundi will tell you it srarts in the scrums…..go back there and its goodnite nurse…..at this level we are being exposed …

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

#2 cab: To be honest Cab it should not really even be a debate point….if J Smit wants to go to WC 2011 he needs to do so as a Hooketr ….klaar!

• 5.Staal: Reply to this comment

As a team will be better but honestly….. we need a tighthead. We can argue till the cows come home…. we are 14 players and a captain……

what no-one seems to mention is the workrate of our cappie…. he is absolutely under performing….. have a look at the stats of him clearing rucks and mauls… and how late he gets to them….

he has been part of the team but he has not been “massive” as a player in his own right….

but still we will get people saying he is not struggling in the scrums, he is not as bad as we say he was… blah blah blah,rememeber a chain is as strong as ……….

if you wanna play Smittie….play him hooker…..BUT above Bissie?…. not so sure…..

What to do then…..Janie at tighthead is just as bad…. honestly there is no-one else……..

Maybe Januarie?

• 6.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Let’s see how Smitty do in Hamilton. I won’t call for his head just yet.

• 7.grant10: Reply to this comment

#5 Staal: LOL….Staal wghat are the Bulls gonna do….surely they must ne looking overseas for a 3,,,,,cant see them retaining the super 14 with the problems being experienced currently in that scrum?

• 8.grant10: Reply to this comment

These are the tough calls ….really should never have done this to Smit to begin with.

• 9.cab: Reply to this comment

#6 Wezwp:
    yep, agree, lets see.

• 10.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Keo – nonsense.

“Australia could have had six tries. South Africa, at best, were close to scoring once.”

Watching the game a second time, there were at least 5 instances in the first half where we were on the attack, and dropped a pass etc.

As far as your views WRT to Naas’s post match review, which part was incorrect? He showed particular examples of how oz players came from the side and stopped the bok maul a few times in the oz 22, right in front of the ref. These should have been penalized without doubt. Whether this would have changed the outcome of the game, who knows, there were still only 6 points in it at that point.

• 11.Staal: Reply to this comment

#7 grant10: What problems? :lol:

Eish….horrible…..

Bulls might even not make the CC semi’s this year.

#6 Wezwp: and that is the right way of going about it… drop no-one….

but the wrong way is to say Smittie is not as bad a “everyone says he is” or its all just “technical” from the refs….. nada…. ons cappie struggle nou al heeljaar of ons wen of nie.

but as stupid as it may seem i think we have now got a better chance of winning the Ab’s than if we had “walked” the Wallas last week.

hope so anyhow….

• 12.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

#5 Staal: Hey Staal – I usually respect your opinion but I can’t agree with you on that one.

Do you perhaps have this stats you mention?

On the stats I saw he mad more tackles and hit more rucks than any other tight forward on Saturday. These stats may be from Fantasy Rugby, but they get all their info from the guys who does NZ’s analysis for the tests.

• 13.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

Crikey, wonders never cease. Keo gets it spot on for once !

Surely Naasty Boota didnt blame Barnes ? Aus were, quite simply, better. There was not 1 decision by Barnes that affected the result.

The Boks simply cant lose this TriN. Noone expects this AB team, shorn of so much class by defections and injuries, to score 4 tries in 1 match let alone back-to-back against 2 of the 3 best teams in the World. Theyve struggled to catch a cold this season let alone a slip-pass. Certainly the best Im hoping for is a win, period.

And Smit wasnt the only problem in the frontrow this time around, both Bismarck & Beast were popping too. But its obvious Smit is not a TH and that Bismarck is the better player as hooker. So make the tough call and stick with it.

• 14.cab: Reply to this comment

#12 Kerneels:
    thats the way i saw, so am also surprised staal says that.

• 15.grant10: Reply to this comment

#11 Staal: I was at Newlands Sat and thought the teams had swopped jerseys!!! So used to WP being manhandled at scrum time….
    On a serious note though it was not a pretty sight and i have concerns about Bok rugby going forward. We have been hurt at scrum time …its the wins that cloud the judgement…..no real hard men at 3 on the horison……Bulls should wave the chq book under those boys noses in Ireland….we need all the help we can get!

• 16.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I got a feeling John Smit will retire at the end of the Tri-Nations. He has given more than his all in service to SA rugby. He’ll be wise to leave at the top. A good man…but just a man. He is not a Tighthead and he is not the best hooker anymore. He’s done us very proud. He deserves to pass the baton on with his dignity in tact. He will always be held in high esteem in world rugby. He deserves at little R & R. To expect him to die for us SA fans until the end of RWC 2011 is a bit mean hearted. His captaincy skills are scary boots to fill but time moves on and SA rugby will in time find another diamond. It’s the Bokke way. TRUST!

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

#13 BlackPanther: Yes….not just Smit that got walloped….Beast was as poor!!

• 18.grant10: Reply to this comment

#16 Jinx: yeah….my contention that for a while now…..i actually thought he would have done so after the B and I Lions tour as Jake suggested to him….

Even better to exit after beating the kiwis in Hamilton and winning the tri nations….i agtee with Cab…i ecpect a massive onslaught from the Boks against the old enemy this weekend.

• 19.seamus: Reply to this comment

The Boks were hammered, no doubt. They played the wrong game. It should have been up and unders and lineouts all day.

That however does not excuse Barnes performance. He missed quite a bit that happened right in front of his eyes.

It’s a pity Smit is being played at prop, but SA will have to stick to him in that position for the year. He’s too ‘big’ to play hooker.

Still, exactly what the Boks needed. I’d rather have them beat the Wallabies once and the ABs over erseas to take the trophy

• 20.Staal: Reply to this comment

#12 Kerneels: rugbystats.com

have a look at that,

but even though i am not a true believer in stats only – i can honsetly say that i have been watching him since the start of this year and he seems to be struggling …..

• 21.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#18 grant10:

Nothing but full power commitment will do. The boys must fire at 1000%. To me this is a mini “world cup final”. The Boks must dig into places so deep within their spirits.

• 22.klippies101: Reply to this comment

The Springboks, outstanding in the first four Tri Nations victories, will win the Tri Nations, regardless of the result in Hamilton because New Zealand does not have the capacity to score four tries against the Boks and four tries against the Wallabies a week later.

dont write the all blacks off just keo i have a bad feeling we s. africans and bok supporters might be calling it the cry nations

• 23.superbowljoel: Reply to this comment

#13 BlackPanther: bp, did u read chris rattue’s piece in the nz herald on the boks? what do you make of his views?

• 24.gunther: Reply to this comment

and the naysayers prattle on hoping that if they say it enough it will come true…

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

#21 Jinx: They will Jinx….agree…the importance is huge….we have opened the door for the Kiwis and need to shut it firmly….and we will…

I wouldnt be surprised if J Smit plays like a man possessed….perhaps in the knowledge that it may very well be his last hurrah….in the 3 jersey anyway…..

• 26.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

#20 Staal: Ja I’ll be the first to admit that he has struggled a bit with his added weight to play prop, but I really thought he had a good game on Saturday with the obvious exception of scrums – where all three the front rowers seemed to struggle.

I know most people will say that he is the weak link and therefore the front row struggles, but the fact of the matter is that the scrums have not been any better with Jannie on the field and in my opinion we do not have a TH of enough quality to take along to NZ in 2 year’s time.

A few of the young guys look promising (most notably Blaauw who had a stormer on Saturday) but in terms of international quality non of them are there yet with regards to experience. Smit is included in this crowd, but at least he brings a bit more in general terms…86 test sand all that.

Ignoring the overseas based players for the moment – who would you have replace him?

• 27.seamus: Reply to this comment

What has been asked of Smit is tantamount to a complete career change without the requisite experience or qualification.

It’s not fair to him and the criticism of him for performing badly should be directed at Snor and Gary Glitter

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

#24 gunther: Hi G….Did you enjoy the North …sOuth derby sat….i was there…great crowd and atmosphere.

• 29.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

FYI I agree with Keo – but I think the Aussies deserve most credit for the win on Saturday. In my opinion a team who can pick themselves up after 4 straight painful defeats to dominate the world no 1 team like that deserves all the praise we can heap on them.

Average age of 23…watch out for this team.

• 30.Stawm: Reply to this comment

#13 BlackPanther:
    Naas wasnt blaming the ref, but pointing out a poor performance by the man.
    He also acknowledged the great performance by the aussies, but with only 6 points in it, and one of the boks primary strength areas being badly officiated, it certainly again highlights how poor reffing has become of late.
    Aussies were also confused at times about some of Barne’s calls, although when it came to bringing down our rolling maul, they transgressed right in front of Barnes, it almost seemed as if they knew they could get away with it, and this in their 22.

Maybe Deans had spoken to Barnes beforehand who said he wasn’t too concerned about that side of the maulling rules, who knows?

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

#27 seamus: Exactly what a lot of ex boks are saying …

• 32.cab: Reply to this comment

#29 Kerneels:
    agree with all your comments on this thread, and blaauw is one to watch, but will wait for S14, and another LH.

• 33.Wikus van der Merwe: Reply to this comment

John Smit struggling?

No ways it was only the refs interpretation 2 weeks ago.

No ways. it’s just an illusion. He was not pushed into the air and had no airial view of the pitch. It’s the negative remarks from wingers who makes us all believe it is happening…..

No whay’s man……let’s rather be possitive and say the BOKS were dominating the scrums. Ya…maye then everyone will believe…….

• 34.gunther: Reply to this comment

#27 seamus:

actually it was john’s decision…

#28 grant10:
    it made me ill….I almost had to leave the box at half time….

• 35.digger: Reply to this comment

Lets not panic just yet. While Smit was dominated on Saturday he didn’t do badly in the other matches. Think Phil Vickery, vastly experienced prop who was torn to pieces by the beast. I used to play tighthead and hooker incidentally. There are just some days when things just don’t go well. Again the best example if Vickery … Smit played well in the loose and has done just fine against all other teams.

• 36.Wikus van der Merwe: Reply to this comment

#26 Kerneels: Honestly – there is no-one to replace Smittie. The rest are even worse….

But what is more worrying is that we (Boks) keep blaming the refs for our scrum problems and we are not fixing it.

• 37.Urah001: Reply to this comment

I agree that we could have and should have played better, but surely the ref should take some flack for those dodgy call he made. No wonder we started loosing momentum and composure, we were blown at, at every turn. Can’t help but think that the Lions tour has something to do with it, getting us back the only way he knows how?

• 38.grant10: Reply to this comment

#34 gunther: LOL….i attended with a few bloggers….thought of you choking back some tears when Brock and Blaauw did the pushover….and to sweeten the pot even more with Luke barging over!!LOL

On a serious note though it is not cool to see a bulls scrum in such poor form…doesent augur well for the super 14 next year….really hoping the bulle on a dspending spree top bring some props home…preferably those that play with 3 on there backs…

• 39.digger: Reply to this comment

#36 Wikus van der Merwe: Agreed wrt ref. Dominant scrums have few issues with the ref.

• 40.grant10: Reply to this comment

#34 gunther: Why at half time…you guys were leading!!!

• 41.Staal: Reply to this comment

#26 Kerneels: Kerneels, ek dink ook nie dis korrek om hom nou te drop nie. Kry iemand om hom hul te kom help – iemand soos Os wat dalk kan verduidelik waar die probleem is ASOOK die oplossing.

• 42.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

#36 Wikus van der Merwe: In fairness it is the media (well, some of them) who are blaming the ref – Smittie said in his post-match interview ‘excuses are for losers’. I couldn’t agree more.

#41 Staal: Stem saam – met all respek vir Gary Gold ek dink hulle moet ‘n skrum spesialis kry om te help. Balie Swart, Os of een van daardie ouens. Miskien selfs vir Kobus Visagie wie nou help met die scrums by Saracens. Scrums en spesifiek voorry is nou maar net een posisie waar jy iemand nodig het wat daar gespeel het (en redelik onlangs) om te verstaan en af te rig.

• 43.zef: Reply to this comment

Verskonings, verskonings. Kan die Bokke nie maar net hul pak vat soos ‘n man nie. Op die dag was die Aussies beter en klaar. Die All Blacks kan maklik twee bonus punt wenne inryg, dan kom die Bokke tweede. Dis nie rerig die einde vd wereld nie.

• 44.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

Not convinced.. oh mygodwhoonearthwouldblamewaynebarnesforanythingheistheprodigoussaviourofSA’srugbysWCvictory,imagineifhehadallowedtheAB’stowinagainstFrancetheycouldhavewontheWC….nowhe’stobalmefortheirlosstoAustralia..:-D

• 45.zef: Reply to this comment

Bokke het bietjie groot geraak vir hulle boots. Dis tyd om terug te gaan na die drawing board. Die verloor was nodig om weer terug te kom aarde toe.

• 46.Staal: Reply to this comment

#45 zef: hmmmmm – ek dink daar’s nogal waarhe4id in wat jy sê….. slegte nuus vir die A4Y’s want nou gaat ons lekker gatvol wees as ons hul aanvat!

• 47.Staal: Reply to this comment

ek’s nie in n goeie bui nie…..

en dit het niks met rugby te doen nie!

• 48.zef: Reply to this comment

Re: 46 Staal: laat ons so hoop Staal, laat ons so hoop. As die ouens eers beneuk raak gaan die ABs aftjop. Ek hoop Schalk speel.

• 49.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Why is no-one blaming the coach?

• 50.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#23 superbowljoel:

I did. Rattue is often a little too desperate to flying in to the breeze, not with it, but he often strikes a real chord. I like that he ruffles feathers in NZ, whether its right or wrong. NZ, like SA, can be a bit insular esp about rugby and this doesnt develop character and NZ has suffered horrendously under a leftwing pinky Uncle Helen Prime Minister for so long that PC attitudes brought NZ to its knees. We were a nation that ‘called a spade a spade’, which encouraged opinion, not dampened it, so people were happy to call it a gardening utensil instead for fear of annoying the neighbours. You have idiots there like Murray Deaker who are stubborn 1-eyed f*wits and give Kiwis a bad name. So Rattue is a breath of fresh air as far as Im concerned.

The good thing about Rattue is that he’s also man enough to admit when he’s wrong. For eg he was GHs biggest critic post-RWC and continuing this year. But still had the common grace to admit that GH had done good things this year when the Bledisloe was won. You have to be a Kiwi to know what it means to us.

So when Rattue said stuff about the Boks and Blacks, its the thought-provoking stuff I like. He loves Robbie Deans so of course he pumps him up (because its consistent eith his anti-GH stance). He said PdV was selected for non-rugby issues, which is what Hoskins said, what Dowd para-phrased, and has elements of truth. But not the whole story either. But he was careful not to delve too deep there because he knows SA is a complex society and NZs less so.

I like Rattue, but its doesnt mean I agree with everything he says. Which is exactly why I do, it makes me think. Im more suspicious about strangers bearing gifts. Aye BH.

• 51.zef: Reply to this comment

#22 klippies101: presies klippies, jy slaan die spyker op die kop. Die Bokke kan nog maklik tweede kom

• 52.Staal: Reply to this comment

#49 Dawn: Want hy kry nie die krediet as hul wen nie….. :lol:

• 53.cane: Reply to this comment

#29 Kerneels:

Nice post Kerneels. Very sporting.

• 54.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Yup and I agreed with you as much last week too.

The Aussies are always going to get better under Deans.

The AB’s however will not get any better under the Headmaster.

The Boks will beat the Blacks in Hamilton this weekend.

• 55.Staal: Reply to this comment

#54 PissAnt: Regarding your predictions… you’ve been off the ball …. please ….please can you be correct this weekend!!!!

• 56.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#55 Staal:

Hey I think I scored 4 out of 5 this weekend!!!

Same as last week!

It was only in my first 2 weeks I was pisspoor!!

• 57.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

Why is no-one giving credit to Berrick Barnes. He was phenomenal on Saturday. The best play by a 12 this year. He is going places. All the hype about Genia is also confusing. I counted at least 4 times where he passed the ball behind the flyhalf on attack. This slowed down the movement and menat they had to set up another phase. He is good but not worthy of all the kudos yet. Barnes on the other hand was enormous.

• 58.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

my prediction
    for Hamilton: New Zealand 18 South Africa 18

• 59.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Credit to the Aussies – they were the better team.

As to all you w@nkers calling for John’s head…. what a fickle bunch you are. JS is our most important player without him we would explode. I can’t believe how DUMB you ppl are!!!

John offered way more in the lose that Beast did and he also scrummed better than Beast. On Sat JS carried the ball, made some huge hits and steals. Beast did NOTHING.

FYI – there is no-one @ Tight Head in SA that is close to international standard .

• 60.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Berrick has all the creativity a rugby player would want.

• 61.Staal: Reply to this comment

Keo – talking about stunning cover tackles….

what the hell was Adi Houtsplinters thinking with his Butch James no-look pass on his own tryline…..?

it took me and 2 surgeons 3 hours to get the tv-remote out of my stomach when i accidently swallowed it as Adi gooied that pass to Neverneverland.

the guy is dof.

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#59 brains_trust:

OK OK don’t get your Jockeys in a knot.

• 63.Staal: Reply to this comment

#58 Wezwp: I’ll take that! NOW!

• 64.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#61 Staal:

What would you have done if you were Adi.

Tell us all the right way.

• 65.superbowljoel: Reply to this comment

#50 BlackPanther: i’ve been reading his articles for some time so i’m familiar with his style and i appreciate the thought provoking candor of his writing. I find it interesting reading what some one outside of SA thinks of springbok rugby. it seems like he (like many journas actually) still feel that PdV isn’t in charge of the team and its run by john and the seniour players. which is interesting coz if we take away regan’s comment that PdV’s appointment was in the interest of transformation, the colour of his skin, his ‘analogies’ and references to the bible, voice pitch and moustache and just consider his coaching credentials at the time of his appointment – he is, well, basically jake white. my point is, what will it take to convince the critics that PdV IS the coach of this team and he knows what he’s doing?

• 66.Staal: Reply to this comment

#62 Dawn: :lol:

• 67.Staal: Reply to this comment

#64 Dawn: Honestly – i don’t wanna be ADI! :lol:

• 68.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#61 Staal:

I dunno. Piri Weepu thought that pass was on….

• 69.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Australia is a team on the up, i could never discredit them.

• 70.Staal: Reply to this comment

#68 BlackPanther: LMAO!!!!

• 71.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Isn’t it ironic that one week we beat them at the running game and the very next week they beat us in forwards game.

• 72.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

We were always going to win the line outs. The only difference is Australia did their basics well and made less mistakes.

• 73.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#65 superbowljoel:

He’s damned if he does and damned if he doesnt.

He inherited a RWChampion team, the most experienced in Bok history. So you can understand the doomsayers. And when they won in Carisbrook and vs Lions, you can understand the backslappers.

The true value of PdV will really only be seen when the Boks have to re-build with retirements and injuries. Theres been none of those of note for 2 years because everyone hung around for the Lions. Come 2010/11, you’ll get a much clearer picture. For now, as long as he doesnt open his gob, he seems to be doing OK. But what Rattue said is, by no means, any less that many fans here said ad finitum for ages. Until he started winning. Then they turned on likes of Dowd and Rattue and forgot themselves a little.

• 74.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

But you gotta admit he bought himself some time.

• 75.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

As it was pointed out to me last week, SA and NZ aside, Australia would most probably beat any other rugby nation out there 8 times out of 10. Just because we won our home games, doesn’t mean the other 2 are rolling over and playing dead. What this year has taught me, springbok rugby wise, is the importance of crucial combinations in a team. Just because a player is a good one, doesn’t mean he’ll fit in the side. It is often only in their absence that a certain players worth is obvious (John Smit, Bakkies, Victor) Ruan Pienaar has NOT looked the business at fullback, we definately missed Steyn’s booming boot and physical prescence in the tackle at the back. Similarly we missed JP at 14, as much as I have been critical of him in the past.

Yes, we were tired. Yes, it’s hard to win on the road (unless you’re French in which case it’s harder to win at home) but hopefully the AAK the wallabies gave us on Saturday will have the desired effect

• 76.gunther: Reply to this comment

#40 grant10:

dodgy samoosa seems suzie was doing the catering…. I swear if I see another samoosa at a box I am going to start watching at home where I can control the catering…

• 77.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

You guys all gave up on Hamilton, didn’t you.?

• 78.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

The Boks will come back harder in The super14. Ai Cape Town in The Spring is no fun at all.

• 79.grant10: Reply to this comment

#76 gunther: LOL….i stood under the Danie Craven stand….really enjoyed the vibe and buzz….made up for the rather dismal Boks!

• 80.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Barnes was pretty poor, but then he’s a pretty poor ref. No sense reading too much into it, as both sides could feel aggrieved at times, however his reffing in the loose was terrible.

Aussies were better on the day. What stung for me was that they employed our tried and trusted gameplan, whilst we tried to play too much in our own half again. Maybe we were a little complacent after last weekend? Win first, entertain second. THAT is what the fans want.

And now, we’re missing JP and potentially Habs, which will make our kicking game more difficult to accurately execute against the AB’s. They are our best chasers.

• 81.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Lol gunther what’s up with the samoosa’s?

• 82.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

#80 Vetkoek: We also missed rand at the back. I was paying close attention to how far Ruan was kicking the ball. The aussies were fielding it on the run and sending it back with interest, driving us back all the while. It was like watching us lose a game of “gainers” at times….

• 83.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

rand = Frans.

• 84.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Thanks

12. Kerneels :

Indeed. Unless he had bleached blonde hair you’ll never see the real truth without the actual stats.

Apart from the scrums Smit had a really good game. It must be ruining his confidence though that he is under so much pressure at scrum time.

He has done fantastically to try and make the switch. But the shorter guys seem to be getting the better of him.

If the $%£^ hits the fan we have to move Bismark to the bench but how sad. The guy is getting better and better. Doesn’t even lose the ball when taking it forward anymore and wins a lot of ball on the ground – well for a hooker he does. His brute strength is amazing actually.

But all that said the value Smit brings as a Captain has to be put first.

I’m a die hard Smit fan and I’m hoping he can make it as a prop. He has held up well until the last 2 games. If they have now found his weekness well we’ll see in Hamilton.

• 85.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

#82 stormersboy:

Yeah, the kicking wasn’t accurate in that regard. Straight up the middle of the park and not enough distance. By contrast, our boys were having to heave for the corners to retrieve a bobbling ball with chasers haring down.

Credit to Berrick Barnes here. He’s an important cog for them when it comes to their kicking game.

• 86.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Also so few people gave Habana and JP the compliments they deserved in the kick and chase game – most praise went to Du Preez. But now we see how valuable they are in our kick and chase game.

They are jus so very valuable full stop. Best wings we have had in a decade or more.

Habana’s try saving tackle – incredible.

• 87.superbowljoel: Reply to this comment

#73 BlackPanther: dont get me wrong, what the likes of rattue/dowd have written undoubtedly originated out of SA and they’ve just picked up on the general mood coming out of the republic on the issue. so in this regard, we’ve probably shot ourselves in the foot, we let one of our own down…the whole situation could have been handled in a much better manner (like the caster semenya issue, it just got ugly).
    you’re right about the next two years! they will define his tenure as coach. i for one remain pleasantly optimistic!

• 88.gunther: Reply to this comment

$#81 Wezwp:

%**&^*&@#@#$@ samoosas

#79 grant10:

was a dismal day for me just goes to show in the tri-nations if you are off your game you get your nuts delivered on a plate … as for the mess at newlands im cheesed off newlands has been a home away from home for the bulls in recent years…

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

#87 gunther: WP seem to be on the way up….but acid test when you boys get the Boks back……1 game at a time….

• 90.Mike H: Reply to this comment

88. grant10 :

Indeed

• 91.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

#85 Vetkoek: I agree. Barnes deserves a great deal of credit for keeping us on the backfoot the whole game.

• 92.Dunx: Reply to this comment

i agree with half but not hte other, Barnes was terrible and Naas didn’t blame him all he said was the ref isn’t to blame but we would like to know what are you watching, the aussies they scum illegally they scrum in and up which is what they’ve done all their games. They are just allowed to play a certain game and yet again the boks were unable to play the ref so we couldn’t figure out what it was that the ref wanted from us. and i guess POB will probaly back him as well.

• 93.UKBokSupporter: Reply to this comment

Pick your team for the weekend, this is my choice:

Jannie
    John (replaced by Bismarc on 60 mins)
    Beast
    Victor
    Bakkies (replaced by Danie on 60 mins)
    Schalk (replaced by Heinrich on 60 mins)
    Jean
    Pierre (replaced by Kanko on 60 mins)
    Fourie
    Morne
    Bryan
    Jean
    Jacque
    Odwa (replaced by Adi or Ruan on 60 mins with Jacque moving to wing)
    Frans

• 94.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Im sorry but i can’t take your team seriously@ Ukboksupporter

• 95.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Just move the captain back to tighthead this weekend.

• 96.jean-jacques: Reply to this comment

thank you keo for a very lucid article, nuff said.

• 97.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

…… and bring in bissie.

• 98.robofthecape: Reply to this comment

Wezwp

You said I was an idiot and a poephole for saying I dont agree with dropping Brussow for Burger thats not cool. I like Burger but after one poor game do we forget all Brussow has done.And lets be honest Skalk was not great.

• 99.Mike H: Reply to this comment

I think Schalk will start in place of Brussow agree there but this might not be the game to make that change. The Aussies sorted Brussow out but have the Kiwi’s?

• 100.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#79 grant10: it seems you have done a complete 180 degrees turn re john smit heh…weren’t you the one telling justrugby a couple of weeks back to go & read an article on some other 24 or something website that was singing the the man’s praises? And you commented on how lucid it was on his contribution & how he has made the switch to tighthead.

Were you just following the crowd or do you just like hearing yourself say “i told you so”? :D

• 101.Quagmire: Reply to this comment

I’d start with Schalk, and bring Brussow on later. I’d also have Pienaar on the wing instead of Odwa. With Frans at FB. Other than that I’de leave the team as is (if Habana is fit).

• 102.grant10: Reply to this comment

#99 Transformation: Howzit….no boet….go read again…i stated it was a helleva brave effort to even accept the challenge of the change ….and saiod it would end in tears….

I always have views…sometimes get them horribly wrong….as in punting F Steyn for the 10 spot ad nauseum….but never short of an opinion or view….after watching this game passionately for 33 years i believe i am entitled to call it as i see it….and i was always vehemently against the J Smit move to 3….just too big an ask….

Doesent mean i dont respect J SMIT…in fact been a huge fan ….but this move…in my opinion….a bridge too far.

• 103.Shakes: Reply to this comment

Watched game again, we were never going to win the game. woeful scrum, frontrow turned into popcorn and no commitment to the breakdown. Barnes seemed to allow side entry allowing Aus to seal off the ball and we did not know how to react.
    Lots of poor performances from many players. We have the best lineout yet MS especially was guilty of not kicking the ball out from within the 22. RP is not a fullback. Spies played like he did last year.
    The kick and chase strategy is, as many predicted, not sustainable and it actually makes us vulnerable to counter attacks. There is a school of thought that suggests it is different with BH and JPP as chasers but I can’t see it. When will we learn that you become the best and consistently beat the opposition by playing more with the ball and that is the modern game. This self limitation and robotic approach will sell us way short and another QF or SF exit come 2011. Big calls need to be made by PDV firstly fixing the frontrow and getting players who are more adept at playing with the ball instead of tackling our hearts out for 60 and fading in the last 20.

• 104.Mike H: Reply to this comment

102. Shakes :

The Aussies used the kick anh chase against us and proved that it works, but you have to be pin point and have good chasers otherwise it can work against as you well say.

Quite honestly though this team won a WORLD CUP!! a B&I tour and are close to winning a 3 nations and you call to change the team.

Short term memory hurts.

That is a Aussie stronghold, we haven’t won there in 40 years and in post isolation this is the least we have been beaten by.

Give the Aussies their dues.

This is the best Springbok team in post isolation, one loss doesn’t change it.

My god people are fikkle.

• 105.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Saying though: Fixing the front row might be something we have to do. Hamilton will show whether it’s just the Aussies or whether we are in as much trouble there as people are saying.

• 106.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Remember the mighty NZ team that conquered all around 2006. They still lost a few now and then. Rustenberg?

This is no time to panick.

• 107.grant10: Reply to this comment

#103 Mike H: Mike….shakes…ita about trying to remain reasonably unemotional and being prepared to also face up to shortcomings and fix them…..i dont believe not 1 saffa has anything but the highest regard for guys like J Smit, R Pienaar, Beast, etc…..

But hell that front row needs to either get fixed or get changed…..

• 108.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#103 Mike H: Hi mike H, unlike us the Aus don’t overdo the garry owen. We only kick and seldom take the ball up more than 5 phases. We made 30 odd % more tackles that is not indiactive of a team that only kicks it away. When Aus kicked they probed the corners and closed us down very different to this up and under nonsense that most of us rave about.

• 109.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I want to lodge a complaint.

Against the weather.

:evil:

• 110.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#105 Mike H:

There was nothing on the line at Rustenberg, the trophy was already sealed in NZRFU cabinets. Thats why the ABs spent the entire week at Sun City and it showed. Rodney put everything on the black but came up red (faced).

All to play for in Hamilton however.

• 111.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#106 grant10: G10, yes that is really what I am getting to that we do have problems and if we don’t address it then we will not take that step up. I think that because we have won 4 out of 5 we should not overlook our shortcomings.

• 112.Mike H: Reply to this comment

The Aussies have lost 4 games in a row we have lost 2 in 7.

We were out played today but we don’t need to change how we play.

Our kicking was not as accurate, it doesn’t mean kicking doesn’t work just as you pointed out the Aussies kicked. We just kicked worse this game.

We had a bad game end of story.

Our frontrow is a point to look at and Frans for Pienaar but we don;t need to change the way we play.

Kick when you are in your own part of the park and run when you are in theirs. (You just have to kick accurately because if you kick badly you are most likely to lose against teams like Aussie or NZ)

• 113.grant10: Reply to this comment

#110 Shakes: That is the ‘problem’ with winning…in the euphoria one tends to paper over the cracks …..which is understandable…..

For this team to be labelled ‘great ‘ we need to critically analyse and then take measures to address weaknesses….

Yesterday a blogger even said the boks always weak at scrums and so be it….a kiwi here says he would rather have a great lineout than a great scrum….

Why the hell cant we have both!!!!

• 114.Mike H: Reply to this comment

I will definitely not accept that we should follow the lead of a Aussie team that wins 1 from 3 at home.

• 115.grant10: Reply to this comment

#111 Mike H: Cant and wont make too many changes….not the week before a mini WC Final!

Frans Steyn at 15….Hope habana fit…and lets rock n roll…

• 116.iceman: Reply to this comment

I totally agree with the sentiments of this article.

Which Internation Team in the World can afford to go into a test match with three hookers, two on the field and one on the bench. Madness!

The frontrow would be far more balanced and a whole lot stronger with Smit back at hooker and a specialist tighthead either being CJ, BJ or even Jannie di Plessis.

Bismark can come on for the last 30 minutes and John could even move to the far easier loosehead position.

My bench would have Heinke van der Merwe (when fit) and Bismark.

Just these changes would in my opinion greatly strengthen our team and would create more opportunities for the backline who continually are on the back foot.

• 117.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#101 grant10: i’m fine grant hope wp cheered u up a bit on saturday…i’m not suggesting you don’t respect jsmit, i’m just trying to understand your point of view, because i could’ve sworn that on the day you referred JR to the news24 article you were agreeing with whatever the author of the article had to say about smit & maybe as they say “a week is an eternity in test rugby” and now you have chamged your mind & you’ve reverted back to thinking it was a huge mistake to move him to tighthead.

Beside CJ & BJ (who by the way got murdered too by the aussies this year) who do u see as the future for the bok 3 jersey?

• 118.Mike H: Reply to this comment

112. grant10 :

You are alwasy going to have a crack or 2 no matter. Wonder why NZ haven;t won a world cup in 2 decades.

Wholesale changes is not a solution. We have cracks we need to ensure our strengths outweigh our weaknesses by a long way.

That’s what this team does. It plays to it’s strengths.

No matter how good we are we will never win every game we play. But we when we lose half the public think the team is falling apart.

This is is far from falling apart.

109. BlackPanther :

You could say the same for that game but not as much of a dead rubber but you could imagine how our guys might not have been as amped as they could have or should have been against a Aussie team fighting for pride.

• 119.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#114 grant10: Agree totally my suggestion obviously EOYT and beyond. After thi saturday it is time for some sort of makeover i.e. addtional/new personnel (not extreme though) then perhaps we can push the envelope.

• 120.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#116 Transformation:

Ophou skoor soek man.

Grant spoils me when Keolings get together.

• 121.grant10: Reply to this comment

#116 Transformation: Ja…WP made a tough day bearable…although a bok loss is like a 1000 times worse than antthing imafginable in sport!!!

It was a great arcticle and the massiveness of the conversion to 3 was emphasised….i brought it to JR attention as Gold alluded to wanting to get Faan Rautenbach, BJ and CJ back and have a horses for courses policy ….and said J Smit needed to improve by 30%….some bloggers wondered whether it was possible…..

I am dead set against playing players out of position….have always been and will always be….to convert a 2 to 3 at this level…damn nigh impossible….

But so brave of smit to attempt it…..that was my point boet.

• 122.Bobcat10: Reply to this comment

We need Smit to play 2 & Jannie to play 3 for the 1st 60min. Then off comes Jannie, on comes his boetie and Smit moves to 3. Please PDV change the front row!

Please PDV can you aslo send Adi Jacobs home he is no good, put Olivier on the bench in his place.Frans Steyn needs to move back to 15 and Ruan on the bench.

Lastly Schalk needs to start as we are not getting the calls at the breakdown that we got at home therefor eliminating Brussouw. Brussouw must come on after 60 min when others are not as fresh then he can do his best work! Schalk is needed for his physically and number of tackles made period!

• 123.Diliza: Reply to this comment

The level of debate on this site has taken a subsequently downward spiral in the intellectual stakes due in large part to the dynamic duo masquerading as journalists (J.C/Ryan take a bow) who set the agenda. These modern days spin-doctors’ set the bait and let their dogs of war attack. Allow me to present an article I feel will aid in raising the general level of constructive debate and hopefully expose some truth.

I believe that Rugby transcends sport in South Africa and has the capability to help people of different backgrounds understand each other and air whatever misconceptions they may perceive of one another. In short, Rugby is a metaphor for life because it presents the same challenges we all go through and recreates the situations we encounter.

I read the “JAKE WHITE STORY” this weekend and was absolutely in awe of the authentic love and passion this man has for the game of rugby. No one exhibiting sane faculties could ever question this man’s commitment to the game.

One passage from his book did peek my interest, it transpires in 2007 before he named the Springbok squad. He is invited to a meeting with his agent and a lawyer who notifies him that the Watson family had asked him to relay a message. Either pick Luke for the bok squad or else a story would break in the press about a so called third force that ran rugby in S.A to which Jake would be linked. Jake goes overboard in selling the scene and you can almost hear that hideous “mafia-movie” violin playing in the background. He then states in a derisory tone that a “clandestine offer I couldn’t refuse was being put on the table by the family of a slightly above average rugby player”. Eventually he decided to accept the deal but was told the Watson’s had withdrawn the offer.

This is where I have a major gripe with the inconsistency in Jake’s behaviour, the whole book looks like a rendition of Jake the great who faced up to countless foes when he believed in something: disagreeing with Nick Mallet about dropping Venter in favour of Bobby Skinstad, when he quit Viljoen’s coaching team when he’d been marginalised by the appointment of Tim Lane as backline coach, when he threw Andre Markgraff under the bus, when he refused to select Solly Tybilika (a Springrose man) in honour of Dan Qeqe despite pressure from Van Rooyen and the presidents Council, the manner he fought tooth and nail to contract the right players through the end of 2007, when the press turned on him, the proposal by the blue bulls for a vote of no confidence. Through all this attrition Jake showed admirable strength and resolve.

For this great powerful man with bags of resolve who had faced up to politicians and was still standing to give in because of a 9 point plan linking him to a 3rd force begs for introspection. When Luke’s famous D******n and puking on the bok jersey speech caused a furore, no one seemed to address his allegation of a third force.The people Jake White was so scared to be linked to he was willing to select Luke. All we had was that Luke was racist and that he’d disrespected the jersey, but nothing about the third force (smoke screen anybody?).

The so called journalists on this site should go back to their day jobs and investigate to see if there’s any truth to this allegation instead of wasting our time pushing an agenda that for all intents and purposes has ceased to annoy or influence anybody.

• 124.grant10: Reply to this comment

#116 Transformation: as for who can do the job at 3….you know i believe both CJ AND BJ better bets imo…..

As for those 3 s in the country….damn we in a spot of strife hey….not sure we have 1 !!

• 125.grant10: Reply to this comment

#118 Shakes: agree….it will be fascinating to see the squad come end of year!!

• 126.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#123 grant10: I reckon any frontrow with JS at hooker will beat our current one. BDP is a softie beneath the surface.

• 127.grant10: Reply to this comment

#119 Dawn: well you are ten times better looking than the others!!!LOL

• 128.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#126 grant10:

Baie dankie. Such a gent!

• 129.grant10: Reply to this comment

#125 Shakes: Not sure about that….truth be told i am really no expert at that front row…..but i havent liked what i have seen from the 2 nd lions test …

• 130.grant10: Reply to this comment

#127 Dawn: i see no WPTID on the blog….hope he survived the swine flu!!

• 131.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#129 grant10:

He’s OK. Just going through one of his bipolar moodswings.

• 132.grant10: Reply to this comment

#130 Dawn: LOL….off to beach with me and the hound in the bloody rain…..aiii…

Have a good evening Dawn…..you missed a great atmosphere at the game…next time….

Outta here….

• 133.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#122 Diliza:zama futhi diliza…

#119 Dawn: hey wena noNtombi, sukuzirhawulela zisiya kusela, uzakujika uxakane nazo!

• 134.gunther: Reply to this comment

#126 grant10:

worth missing pilates for????

• 135.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#133 gunther:

Of course I am.

But God forbid anyone drags you away from Pilates!

#132 Transformation:

Watter?

• 136.Bobcat10: Reply to this comment

KEO – PLEASE CAN YOU TAKE NOTE OF COMMENT #122 WHICH IS SPOT ON!
    I USED TO LOG ON TO THIS SITE EAGER TO READ SOME QUALITY ARTICLES AND READ POSTS THAT DISCUSSED RUGBY? OVER THE LAST COUPLE MONTHS THIS SITE HAVE BECOME NO MORE THAN A SOCIAL NETWORKING SITE, A MERE EXTENSION OF FACEBOOK & TWITTER FOR THOSE WHO CAN’T LOG ON TO THOSE SITES AT WORK!

• 137.Chuckwoodybumblespri: Reply to this comment

Keo I found this entry on your website.

2007 and now you think Barnes is ok?

Furious All Blacks fans have put a NZ$1,000 bounty on the head of Wayne Barnes.

The English referee played a huge part in the Cardiff quarter-final. He sent Luke McAlister to the sin bin for a professional foul, missed a blatant forward pass in the build-up to Yannick Jauzion’s match-winning try and failed to penalised French hands in the ruck near the end of the game. Barnes also appeared to target All Blacks captain Richie McCaw at the breakdown.

A fan, or fans, doctored Barnes’s Wikipedia entry over the weekend (Wikipedia is an online encyclopedia that is edited by its readers), which starts: Wayne Barnes is a c*** and goes on to say he “suffers from a vision-related disease which results in him being unable to see forward passes” and “gave up law to take up refereeing because he couldn’t read any “f***ing law books.”

A $NZ1000 bounty is also offered to the person who “finds him for me and keeps him under lock and key until I get there.”

The Barnes attack includes a threat to “f***** rip off your head you w*****”. It calls him a “sack of “s***” and warns in capital letters: “WE WILL FIND YOU”.

Barnes’s performance has also been questioned by leading New Zealand website RugbyHeaven, which has changed it’s name to RugbyHell since the loss to France.

“This was the Tri-Nations champions against the Six Nations,” wrote Duncan Johnstone. “It was the best team in the world against the tournament hosts on a hugely emotionally occasion. Sounds like it might have needed the best referee in the world. I don’t think we got that person dished up to us.

“And perhaps astute TV commentator and former All Black (and World Cup winner) Grant Fox hit the nail on the head when he suggested that while the French were now moving forward in the competition, Barnes should not.”

– To read the uncensored Wikipedia entry on Barnes click here

– To read Johnstone’s full column on Barnes click here.

This entry was posted on Monday, October 8th, 2007 at 6:21 am and is filed under Rugby World Cup. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

• 138.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#134 Dawn: andinaxesha lokuba uGrant ukuthengela izimuncu-muncu sithetha ngebhola yombhoxo ngoku!

• 139.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

We are at the point where we have reached The pinnacle of world rugby. Its up to pdv now to keep this green machine going. Its definitely not going to be easy with all the overseas departures. It will however give us the opportunity to blood some new talent.

• 140.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#130 Dawn:

Bipolar mood swing?

• 141.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Even Keo is afraid of saying it loud and clear – JOHN SMIT IS A PASSENGER IN THIS NATIONAL TEAM!!
    Bismarck is better than him – fact. Cannot go back to hooker position. Saffas stop being sentimental, there is no place for him in this team. He is over 30 now. Let us start looking for a new t/head. I say this with all the respect he deserves as a GREAT captain!!

• 142.cab: Reply to this comment

i’m not quite sure why you okes think its particularly brave or fearful to express your opinion that John Smit should not be selected, since all it is is your own personal opinion.

Just because its your opinion does not make it true, and the last two coaches who actually know how to win rugby test matches, just keep selecting him.

I think its good you express your own opinion, but lets face it, none of it means anything. The wee Maestro conjures his plans without input from others, a wonderful stubborn arse.

• 143.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#49 Dawn:

Tshwane mob is no longer here!! ha ha!!!!!!!!

• 144.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

John Smit is worth two players for his leadership alone.

• 145.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

it’s not all doom and gloom all of a sudden.

• 146.Ig: Reply to this comment

#140 Peter Mkata: One just needs to look at how the Boks fall apart without him in a tight situation to understand how key he is to the team…

Next in line Matfield is woeful as a leader…

• 147.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

The John Smit hate propaganda has really gotten to me.

• 148.gunther: Reply to this comment

#140 Peter Mkata:

its a good thing that the coach doesn’t share your view….

• 149.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#138 Wezwp: “pinnacle” as defined by whom?

#30 Stawm: i agree, wayne barnes seem to be applying the Elvs when it came to the mall, at one point someone jumped on heinrich brussow & floored him while he was bound to the maul, when brussow signalled to get barnes’ attention he just ignored him & move along!

I’ve always admired how the aussies never allow anyone to maul them, they will either throw themselves on the grond or blatantly collapse your maul like they did on saturday…bloody cunning aussies

• 150.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

You drop John Smit out of this team and the entire Bok squad will fall apart, mark my words.

• 151.grant10: Reply to this comment

i …for one….will be grateful and relieved to see J Smit lead the boks onto Wellington this sat…..for what amounts to a Cup Final….

If ever we need Smits inspiration and motivation it will be sat….Go for it skipper…go Boks…

• 152.cab: Reply to this comment

#150 grant10:
    ?

• 153.grant10: Reply to this comment

#146 Wezwp: The hate is your perception….no saffa hates Smit….why would anyone hate him??

• 154.gunther: Reply to this comment

#148 Transformation:
    yep I noticed that too…evertime we started a mall one or two aussies fell down in front of it…

• 155.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

I love it when you call me big poppa.

• 156.grant10: Reply to this comment

#151 cab: This week is not about change….this week is about Frans Steyn at 15….and the rest is about the Boks ….lead by the greatest most capped skipper in the history of the game fighting the most damgerous of enemies on there home turf….

That the need for change and renewal is nigh is facing us….but not this week Cab….not now…

• 157.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Captain fantastic will lead the Boks to victory this weekend and that will surely silence a few critics.

• 158.cab: Reply to this comment

#155 grant10:
    so you not advocating a change in Burger for Brussow?

Here’s what i say they do, start with Burger at 8, tell him not to pluck out the opposition eyeballs but to tackle the kak out of anything that moves, tell bakkies and bismark its time for one more big one and to keep discipline, slap Beastie accross the face a few times before the game (and then run off), do not put on subs at the 57min mark, leave bakkies on until 65 min, bring Spies on for Juan in the last 20 who normally throws himself around like a madman in any case.

The backs well they can do what they want, its of no consequence.

• 159.grant10: Reply to this comment

#156 Wezwp: Those critics will be silenced when the Boks scrum with authority and gain at least parity….until then the critics will push boundaries and question….as it should be….blind loyalty at the expense of excellence is just plain dof….dont let a critic be crucified for wanting more from the team they love….noi one is immune from criticism….grow up just a little but and stop seeing criticism levelled at the Bok front row as a personal attack on the skipper…it is not so…

• 160.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#158 grant10:

Sorry I missed you okes on Saturday. What are your plans for this weekend, rugby-wise?

• 161.grant10: Reply to this comment

#157 cab: LOL….Love it!

No…i would leave Spies….and Brussow…Burger not quite there yet….in face he should be playing for wp and getting game time….

For me…just the F Steyn move….

Boks will lift it cab….

• 162.cab: Reply to this comment

oh yes and tell big vic, tho his lineout jumping, grubbers and backline cover tackling is much appreciated, we need him to clear out a few ABs too, esp with that speed and build.

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

#159 WP Till I Die:i will probably do a bok town ..La Med breakfast thing with the blonde….have you any plans as yet?

• 164.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#162 grant10:

Not as yet – might give Bok Town a try!

• 165.cab: Reply to this comment

he may get a klap for his efforts, but thats what the arm guard is for.

• 166.grant10: Reply to this comment

#161 cab: Not brave enough….you tell him!!

• 167.grant10: Reply to this comment

#163 WP Till I Die: cool…we chat later in the week then…

• 168.cab: Reply to this comment

#165 grant10:
    i think he’s got half an eye on his modelling career, but surely he can take a klap or two for the team?

• 169.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

I hardly believe Burger at 8 will do a better job than Spies. I would rather bring him on early in the 2nd.

• 170.grant10: Reply to this comment

#167 cab: Yeah….surprised he never got more coverage in the You Magazine….old Vic…

• 171.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#150 grant10: if he is dropped he will be @ wellington alone, the other bokke will be @ hamilton :D

• 172.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#149 WP Till I Die:

Come on please man!!! This is a team sport. We lost the majority of trinations matches pre 97 world cup and John the mighty captain was there. Boks never fell apart then.

John is a good captain for sure. Only one man walked on water on this earthly world except for Zinzan Brooke when it comes to rugby.

• 173.kwas: Reply to this comment

I see our coach continues to blame the ref (News24):

People jealous of Boks – Div

Gold Coast – Springbok-coach, Peter de Villiers, says he is wasting his time by consulting with referees before Test matches.

“I believe it’s a complete waste of time,” De Villiers said at the Springbok hotel here at Surfer’s Paradise on the Cold Coast.

“It doesn’t matter if we ask for an explanation of the scrum rules. The problem is pointed out but it is not officiated properly by the referee and the other officials on the field,” complained De Villiers.

The Springbok coach went to the trouble to write to the IRB’s head of referees, Paddy ‘O Brein, before last week’ Test against the Wallabies in Brisbane because he wanted more clarity on certain decisions that were made the previous week in Perth.

The Boks were penalised repeatedly at scrum time, but De Villiers, the rest of his playing staff as well as the players were baffled by the New Zealand referee, Bryce Lawrence’s decisions.

‘O Brein however defended Lawrence’s performances in his report by saying that it was the most accurate performance by a referee thus far in this year’s Tri-Nations competition.

In last week’ Test against the Wallabies at the Suncorp stadium in Brisbane, English referee, Wayne Barnes, also made some questionable decisions.

Asked if was going to send another email to ‘O Brein this week he said: “I believe life within your own country is sometimes a burden because you have to face it every day but when you go outside your borders, you see that its’ actually worse.

“People don’t want to see other teams being successful. That is my biggest problem at the moment. We can’t go public about certain things because we don’t have all the evidence, but the body language of certain officials when things went against us in that game made us worry.

“The officials were so happy when decisions went against us on the day. I am talking about the number one rugby team in the world. Shouldn’t they really get the other guys to that level?

“Or do they want to break things down so that the game can become mediocre and everyone has a chance to win it. We don’t want to dwell on that point, but if that is the case, them I feel I am wasting my time by talking to them. I will then have to reconsider talking to them.”

• 174.rangerman: Reply to this comment

anyone in natal see the pic on the back page of the tribune?

JS is looking so pissed off at barnes that he wants to tear him a new *******.

he will channel that anger into a hamilton game that will hopefully be a cracker.

just like he did with an enourmous hit that turned defense into offense on sat.

in John we trust.

• 175.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Brussouw might just have Richies number.

• 176.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#157 cab: I hope Odwa pulls a hamstring during training, I dont want to see that boy near a bok jersey, he looks like Chester Williams in early 2000′s full of tricks and no pace, give him ball in good space rather than going for the white line, he cuts back and look for support, its embarrassing!!!!

• 177.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

At the end of the day we have Beast playing Prop who converted from Flank and we have Smit playing Prop who converted from Hooker. How strong do we think our props will be against, for my knowledge, 2 props who have played that position their entire careers?

• 178.cab: Reply to this comment

#168 Wezwp:
    watch him, in fact i’d say Burger is a must if you want Brussow to not be carted off the ball everytime by the kiwis, like the ozzies showed how easy it is too, with two guys playing to the ball and burger’s strength and support, much harder to clean out two players rather than an isolated pinball wizard.

• 179.grant10: Reply to this comment

#168 Wezwp: Agree….The back foot ball caused by the retreating scrum has hurt Spies to be fair….but Smit and Beast will arrive thuis sat,…and to be fair to smit he really did fare better against Woodscock than that bloody Robinson…

Also we must throw miors at the rucks…..last sat we were outnumbered at the breakdown and brussow was made to look mortal…

• 180.grant10: Reply to this comment

#170 Transformation: LOL….sorry there!

• 181.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#172 kwas:

Wow, lots of typos in there for a News24 article – piss poor copywriting.

Gist of the article? The highest trees catch the most wind.

• 182.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#171 Peter Mkata: there were two, Chuck Norris is the other one

• 183.grant10: Reply to this comment

#171 Peter Mkata: Bob Skinstad??

• 184.cab: Reply to this comment

#175 XhosaKid:
    lol, i thought he was from your part of the world EC? yeah pretty average, but too be honest, he actually did little wrong on sat. i’d rather we picked a bit of pace outwide tho or someone prone to make things happen.

Chester was a great winger, one of the world’s best, no comparison.

• 185.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Anyone got some sedatives for Grant?

• 186.grant10: Reply to this comment

#184 Wezwp: LOL….none required…

• 187.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

#184 Wezwp: It’ not Grant, somebody nicked his nick!

• 188.grant10: Reply to this comment

We nail the Kiwis….wp do the cheetahs and the sharks turn the knife at loftus….my kinda day!

• 189.cab: Reply to this comment

actually with JP out perhaps its best to move Jacque Fourie to wing and Adi into 13. Frans Steyn gotta go back to 15. Ruan has also played well on the wing before.

• 190.Nils: Reply to this comment

“The Springboks, outstanding in the first four Tri Nations victories, will win the Tri Nations, regardless of the result in Hamilton because New Zealand does not have the capacity to score four tries against the Boks and four tries against the Wallabies a week later.”

Overall good article just a small remark. If ABs deny Boks anything, they need just ONE bonus point win and favourable +/- difference. Many thing will depend on weather, too.

Currently Boks have +25, while ABs have -14. It may look huge difference at the first sight (massive 39 points!) but let’s not forget that any point ABs get in the 1st Test automatically have double value because the same point is deduced from Boks point difference.

So, let’s say, ABs win by 10, the the difference will become 19 points, not 29. And any win by teen point margin makes final target reasonably reachable.

Boks still are firm favourites, imho, to win the title, but if ABs record convincing win in Hamilton, things may change.

• 191.grant10: Reply to this comment

#186 Boerboel: No Boerboel….this si time to get behind the skipper….massive task Sat….lets give the man and the team all tghe support we can….time for change has come….but not this week….

Go Smit….make us all proud….

• 192.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#135 Bobcat10: No need to shout boet.

If you wanna join the okes for a beer at cubannas or firemans you just have to ask you know ;) I think those okes are quite cool and wouldn’t mind accomodating anyone.

• 193.grant10: Reply to this comment

#188 cab: Please not Ruan at wing….Odwa will need a shrink…and so will Ruan….leave that 12 and 13…the Kiwis in disarray there….exploit it

• 194.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#183 cab: Yes, I know Odwa & Akhona personally, I have actually told them myself that I dont think they deserve to play for the Springbok, I can list atleast six wings that the Bulls and Sharks should have signed ahead of the twins, they know it. Their brother Mayidunyiswe Ndungane is twice the player both boys combined.

The Ndungane twins are a marketing gimmick!!!

• 195.grant10: Reply to this comment

#191 Jozi: LOL….as long as he knows how to drink and supports WP !!!

• 196.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#188 cab: Why not Ruan at TH…….geez why the need to accommodate Ruan ???

• 197.cab: Reply to this comment

#193 XhosaKid:
    lol, harsh one, i think they good wingers, but agree springboks with this group of players is a tough call – i dont get it, nokwe’s a try machine and chavhanga a match for bolt, sure there’s more to it, but these okes surely offer more than the ndungane boeties at the highest level.

• 198.grant10: Reply to this comment

outta here…cheers all…

• 199.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#181 XhosaKid: did you notice some halfwit posting as xhosaskid.

tried stirring up a racial war in your name yesterday but no one was biting.

• 200.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

“Come with me if you want to live “.

• 201.kwas: Reply to this comment

#180 WP Till I Die: Not entirely true. All Blacks never got targeted by officials whilst they ruled the roost.

Fact is, our beloved Bok team will not change/improve as long as the coach blames the ref. It will be same old against the ABs in Hamilton – demolition of our scrum (must be the ref again), outplayed at the breakdown (ref allowing opposition to enter from the side/play over the ball), etc.

• 202.grant10: Reply to this comment

#195 justrugby: hi and bye boet!

• 203.cab: Reply to this comment

#195 justrugby:
    ha ha, well perhaps you should ask grant that?
    Look i’ve always thought pienaar should be competing for 9 and 10, with Frans playing 15, but JP and possibly Habana are down, so we have a choice Odwa and perhaps one other. Adi does not have the pace for wing, we saw that on sat. So perhaps the Greatest will need to make a plan.

• 204.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#202 cab: LOL….. I think for continuity sake we must make as few changes as possible, I would leave backline as is except if Habs is ruled out I would play Steyn.

• 205.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

The iphone the pinnacle of bathroom entertainment, No sir ! not for me The **** is, just doesn’t have all The rad aps, cept The one.

• 206.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#175 XhosaKid:

Horrible thought but true for the rest unfortunately. When you see overated wings like those twins then you can’t help of thinking of Bhabha Nolokhwe at his best for Kwaru at Dan Qeqe.

• 207.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#183 cab: i’m actually convinced the ndungane twins boned his chick or his ex, when those boys were playing for EP they lived in the same block of flats as me in humewood. They always had groupies from collegiate, pearson, victoria park etc camping by their place and maybe, just maybe xhosa’s chick or ex, fell victim to the twin’s charm…they always rolled with their sidekick ondela mkiva, maybe they let him hit it! Ha ha ha :D

• 208.cab: Reply to this comment

#206 Transformation:
    :lol: lets stop there, u okes seem to have intimate knowledge of the twins, they look like pretty cool dudes, but we need em a bit more rough and tumble i reckon.

• 209.Transformation: Reply to this comment

like snoop dogg said back in ’94 “it ain’t no fun, if the homies can’t have none”!

• 210.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#198 rangerman: I saw that last night, idiot, he tried doing the same with Grant10

• 211.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#181 XhosaKid:Think Bruce Lee was better than him! mh!!!!

#182rant10:

Politics and injuries had a negative effect on a HUGE potential talent. Was really good. Think Mallet wanted a star to the world cup – unfortunately had not fully recovered from injury. Then rugby politics took over thus overseas so-journey. Charismatic fellow. Would have been great for our game.

But Zinzan was just ……………

• 212.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

“A week ago I cautioned against writing off Australia and wrote that they were not half as bad as their media made out after the 32-25 defeat in Perth. I watched that match three times and the more I watched it the more worried I got about the prospect of Brisbane.”

Mark Keohane – this is the opposite of every article written by your scribes in the lead up to the game.

Their embarrassing hubris was illustrated like Asterix vs The Romans.

The Thompson Twins (“investigative” journalists) JC & Ryan should hang their heads.

Come to think of it – this is the first time you write objectively, without typical chest beating.

Big game coming Saturday. I await the latest & greatest on Keo.

• 213.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#209 XhosaKid: seems a little odd to me.

but like i say, no one was biting.

now back to odwa and akona.

my mates at Old Boys reckon Odwa was no great shakes at club level for our first team.

gcobani was a legend, and a gent.

• 214.cab: Reply to this comment

#210 Peter Mkata:
    agree on zinzan, what about haas as a water-walking flyhalf? or is that out of the question?

#211 SodaJoe:
    quite liked the thompson twins actually.
    what is your prediction mr joe?
    doom or glory?

• 215.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#211 SodaJoe: ja, and “delusional boks” is just such an insulting headline when it was these fukwits who were crowing from the rafters.

the boks and PDivvy were nothing but grounded.

as i have lways said, i blog here for the comments from friends and foe (i am watching you wakacracker, calling me repulsive ranger is just not very nice :lol: ).

• 216.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#206 Transformation

Transman

Uyamazi kanti uOndela? Hayi umncinci lo mhlaba!!

• 217.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

AG PLEEEEASE PdV play a full strength team on Sat! Forget the politics and who is going overseas next season etc.

Lets take the TN with pride!

Put Steyn on as a starter, and put Ruan on an airplane.

• 218.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#213 cab:

Naas was good during his era. But I preferred Hugo Porta and Mark ella. Played more attractive rugby. In South Africa I preferred Michael du Plessis and Bra Peter Mkata.

• 219.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#215 Peter Mkata:ha ha yeah, well the eastern cape is small…i’ve always figured that you might be someone i’ve met before…but it’s whatever… :D

#214 rangerman: hey ranger!!! “crowing from the rafters” i like that part….

• 220.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#218 Transformation:

Well don’t think so.Would have told you long time ago if I knew/met you!! ha ha!!
    Got to know Ondela recently just before the Lions tour through work.

• 221.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#216 TheBoksAreBack: Pienaar had a shocker at 15 and so did Adi at 14. What is the point in playing Adi at 14 to chase high kicks(the shortest player on the field!!) rather move Steyn at 14. Anyway Pienaar needs time off from the game to recompose himself and regain confidence which as things stand must be at an all time low. His postional play was shocking, his organisational skils at no 15 even worse. This has to be one of the worst failed experiments so far. We also need our nos 6 and 7 to cover which no 7 did not do giving the Aussies a field day in broken play.

Aussies were clever and it is to be expected from a coach like Deans. Fortunately Henry is not as smart, but as a side we must not become too predictable. Amazingly we are going backwards in an area where no one ever ever was even a contest against our front row. Gary Godl time to pack and let a proper fowards coach take over again. You were ***** at the Stormers and have not improved much.

• 222.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Boks were well beaten – and beaten well

nice job Aussie

• 223.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#221 vindicated: i agree.

well done aus.

how you doing vindicated?

long time man. still flying the big jets?

• 224.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Good luck bokke

• 225.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

‘What is disappointing about Brisbane is that the Boks were suckered into playing a more expansive and risky game, which favoured the Australians.’

spot on keo

• 226.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#140 Peter Mkata: how is he a passenger when he was one of the best players in the loose?

It is the Beast who has been penalised more in the scrum in the past two tests but Smit for some reason seems to be taking the heat.

• 227.kevin w: Reply to this comment

#218 Transformation: Eastern Cape is small … interesting.

Ruan needs to get an extended run at flyhalf or be the backup scrummie or go back to the Sharks. You have to ask yourself about finishing off Jean De Villiers / Jaques Fourie’s attack … where was the flyhalf? If anybody they had come back in field and he should have been right on the spot to finish off. Perhaps he had dropped back for the drop goal already.

• 228.brendon: Reply to this comment

Hows this…

was just reading on superrugby when it got pulled.

the article was flak flies in tri nations or the like. did a refresh and it was gone

now check it out, the headline reads “Inactive-do-not-reuse-might be sensitive” I kid you not… what is happening

http://www.supersport.com/rugby/article.aspx?headline=Flak%20flying%20in%20Tri-Nations&id=314988

• 229.brendon: Reply to this comment

Okes, that is censorship plain and simple…

Not happy

KEO, guys time to pull finger and see what is really going on

• 230.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

This isn’t the first time the Aussie’s have suckered a team into playing ‘exciting’ rugby – they did it to the English in the 1991 RWC final too.

• 231.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Narse Botha knows nothing, and he’s even forgotten that. He’s a Narse.

• 232.brendon: Reply to this comment

Inactive-do-not-reuse-might be sensitive
    07 September 2009 (19:04)
    Peter de Villiers © Gallo Images
    The entire SA Rugby hierarchy went to ground on Monday after Springbok coach Peter de Villiers reportedly slated IRB referee boss Paddy O’Brien and his officials, saying he was wasting his time consulting with them before matches.

- Tri-Nations: Dream Teams and score predictions
    - Buy rugby merchandise

Neither SA Rugby president Oregan Hoskins, Communications manager Andy Colquhoun or Springbok media manager Anthony Mackaiser could be reached for comment after De Villiers reportedly told the News24 website that it was a complete waste of time complaining to the IRB about referees.

The Springboks were unhappy about being blown up in the scrums by New Zealand referee Bryce Lawrence in Perth, where they beat Australia 32-25 two weeks ago. They were again unhappy with the officiating of Englishman Wayne Barnes after going down 21-6 to the Wallabies in Brisbane on Saturday.

After South Africa wrote to IRB referee’s boss Paddy O’Brien, asking for clarity on decisions and were told that Lawrence’s decisions were the most accurate of the Tri-Nations, De Villiers told News24: “I believe it’s a complete waste of time.

“It doesn’t matter if we ask for an explanation of the scrum rules. The problem is pointed out but it is not officiated properly by the referee and the other officials on the field.

De Villiers, however, won’t be sending another email to O’Brien protesting this week and explained why.

“I believe life within your own country is sometimes a burden because you have to face it every day but when you go outside your borders, you see that it is actually worse.

“People don’t want to see other teams being successful. That is my biggest problem at the moment. We can’t go public about certain things because we don’t have all the evidence, but the body language of certain officials when things went against us in that game made us worry.

“The officials were so happy when decisions went against us on the day. I am talking about the number one rugby team in the world. Shouldn’t they really get the other guys to that level?

“Or do they want to break things down so that the game can become mediocre and everyone has a chance to win it. We don’t want to dwell on that point, but if that is the case, then I feel I am wasting my time by talking to them. I will then have to reconsider talking to them.”

South Africa had to face an IRB tribunal recently and the Boks were fined £10 000, captain John Smit £1 000 and the players £200 each for wearing armbands in the third test against the British Lions demanding justice for all following the suspension of Bakkies Botha for foul play.

The IRB were reportedly appealing the verdict for being too lenient and before the Tri-Nations, SA Rugby bosses met with De Villiers asking him to tone down his fiery and often controversial rhetoric.

Nobody at SA Rugby could be reached to verify the accuracy of De Villiers’s statements.

• 233.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

#230 TheTackler: That makes two of you, then.

• 234.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

#225 Big Hit: The beast has had one good game this season, which was the first one again the B&I Lions – apart from that it’s much ado about nothing.

• 235.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#233 CharlieBrown: The Beast had one tackle and one ball carring ruck (which he turned over) in the 2nd half on Saturday, if the Boks truely believe they can afford him that’s good for the Beast.

• 236.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#231 brendon:
    A common sense dictates that any reservations, disagreements and protests to Mr. O’Brien should be made in a discrete manner and by a reputable SA Representative, Andre’ Watson comes to mind
    Unleashing Mr PdV against the IRB refereeing system is not so prudent, but I doubt he opened up without a permision from Hoskins?!
    The Boks had their 5 out of 6 home Tests handing to them on a palte by the Test referees, no reason for us to complain in the final analysis.

• 237.brendon: Reply to this comment

#235 Hondo: Dude! But how blatant was that…

Inactive-do-not-reuse-might be sensitive

No man. Free press my gat!

• 238.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

#234 Hondo: Pretty much how i saw it too, Hondo.

• 239.ORBok: Reply to this comment

Naas is a major muppit!

Barnes did a good job!

The Boks were creamed by a better (fitter?) side.

As much as it pains me to say this: Well done, Wallies! The Boks were lucky not to have an even more embarrasing day at the office… Sigh!

• 240.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

both
    our props
    are not
    of
    international
    standard

• 241.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#236 brendon: Brendon
    say as I see it,,
    Remember, PdV is persumably under a gag order from the SARU.
    The guy with all his limitations knows well what ‘buys the Whisky’ so he wouldn’t go against his employers without their permission
    I wouldn’t!

• 242.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#239 Porra the Fat Speedster:
    Old news mate, but it will take more than a D9 CAT to scrape them out of there.
    In fairness, JS does a huge amount of useful work in the loose, break down, rucks and defence, what exactly is the Beast’s contribution must be debatebale

• 243.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Actually towards the end of the game, SA was also playing a territory game. But whenever they actually made it into teh Walla’s territiry, their possession was taken away by dodgy Aussie actions at the breakdown (which the ref allowed tehm to do, but not us) or by the ref penalising our scrum or some other aspect.

The ref really did kill all momentum for us in their 22. They were infringing with impunity at the breakdown, coming in from all sides (even the back)slowing the ball down, and got off completely scott free. But if we did it in our half, we got nailed!

PdV must realise that teh only way that they are going to win the 3N is if we take the game away from them completely in the same way that the Bulls took the game from the Chiefs. So that there can be no arguments about who won, or even let them have a chance in the last ten minute. We need to expect complete reffing bias, and win despite it. That seems to be the only way SA can actually win.

If we expect fair reffing, we get upset and our heads drop. If we expect to play the ref as well, we take him into account in our plans, and he becomes just another obstacle to overcome.

The IRB seems to hand down directives to the ref’s * (WWF style) that they must ref for the most exciting ends to the tournaments. To my mind that means that the IRB would have decreed that the AB’s must beat the Boks, so that the result is still in doubt for the last game, setting up a massive clash between the old guard AB’s and the newly confident young gun Wally’s. So expect the ref to come out firing against the Boks. Boks can still win, but dont expect a level laying field.

* did anyone else think it was a coincidence that England (rated 115th in the world?) made it to the RWC final – strangely that fact encourged thousands of the closest country’s fans to cross the channel, and spend lots of money, and increase viewership massively.

So did Wayne Barnes “miss” the French forward pass or was he instructed to miss it? How could he not have seen the 17 other penalties? Also, how can an international ref that is THAT BLIND still be appointed by the IRB? I’ll tell you why – he is their results man.

Just like casinos use special croupiers when a punter is winning too much, the IRB use their special ref’s.

A boring old game between SA and AB’s/Walla’s would not have done anything for The Game (or the IRB finances). Ironically the IRB think that they are building the game with their control, but they are actually killing it.

• 244.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

#241 Hondo:

before
    all that
    we need to
    dominate
    the scrums

• 245.Predawn: Reply to this comment

But we all know the Boks were crushed on Saturday. Time to move on to the next game which is the all important one.

• 246.chch: Reply to this comment

So ABs need a 4 try bonus point and 24 point win to get the for/against advantage and a much better chance

• 247.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#245 chch: very unlikely Chch, would just rather they win this weekend, if they go out looking for that result we will see repeats of Bloem and Durbs…

• 248.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Narse Botha? Bwaaahaha!

Et de end orf de dey, Derren…

• 249.Predawn: Reply to this comment

242. SjamBok :
    September 8th, 2009 at 12:21 am
    Actually towards the end of the game, SA was also playing a territory game. But whenever they actually made it into teh Walla’s territiry, their possession was taken away by dodgy Aussie actions at the breakdown (which the ref allowed tehm to do, but not us) or by the ref penalising our scrum or some other aspect.

I saw it too. Johan Smurf decided to not harp on about it though and I suppose he has his reasons.

I suspect there will be a few surprises on the weekend.

• 250.chch: Reply to this comment

#246 poppa69:

They must aim for 4 tries or else we will have to win by 4 tries and some absurd number in the final game.
    Rather lose to the Wallabies trying for 4 tries than a repeat of the France ‘win and give up’ situation.

• 251.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#249 chch: yeah, look, to be honest, our team is nowhere near capable of that if past performances this year are to go by… two years ago I would have said a real possibility, not so sure now…

I have to laugh at the SA’s, all feeling hard done by because for the first time in the whole 3Ns they didnt win, so now they are all blaming the ref, no mention of that when they got Rolland and co to guide them to 3 straight wins…

• 252.poppa69: Reply to this comment

its gone complete circle on them, they all complained and wanted NH refs, now they got one and he was cheating against them… bwahaha sad.

• 253.chch: Reply to this comment

#250 poppa69:

From what I saw they were blaming the referee after each time they won anyway

• 254.chch: Reply to this comment

#251 poppa69: hehe, yep

We will get flamed for this conversation in about 4 hours

• 255.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#253 chch: hehe yep… I just wonder what will happen if Owens rules against them this weekend, will they all still want NH refs? interesting times…

• 256.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#253 chch: when are the sides announced do you know ? Im interested to see what our backline is exactly ?

• 257.chch: Reply to this comment

#255 poppa69:

I suspect Wednesday night/ Thursday morning which seems to be what GH has been doing.

• 258.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#256 chch: so, you think Carter will play 2nd 5/8th ? not sure its a good thing or a bad thing yet…

• 259.chch: Reply to this comment

#257 poppa69:

I think it will be
    10 Donald
    11 Sivi
    12 Carter
    13 Nonu
    14 Roko
    15 Mils

Res backs
    Toeava
    Slade
    Leonard

• 260.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#258 chch: Im excited with the thought of Carter with more time, the two wingers still worry me with the safety, or lack thereof, of their catching, and Nonu at 13 is a concern, he hasnt played there too often of late…

• 261.chch: Reply to this comment

#259 poppa69:

I remember when Nonu first player center and even though he looks more like a center physically he did not go that well at all. I was pleasantly surprised in the last game to see that he did go well.
    I think we can play a Nonu at 13 with very versatile players inside of him. I am excited with this lineup except that maybe Wulf, Masanga or Gear should have got a go at 14.
    I think the plan is that Toeava is a wing backup but Mils will be the sub centre with Slade going to full back. Slade is small for a wing but then again O’Conner is small too.

• 262.chch: Reply to this comment

#260 chch:
    player = played

• 263.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#260 chch: he (Nonu) definitely provided us with some impetus of the bench when he came on against the Aussies, perhaps when we get Kahui and Smith back then Nonu may become our supersub…

especially if the Duck and JC’s brother DC gel cohesively this weekend…

• 264.garth: Reply to this comment

Naas is a useless commentator. Bobby is a hell of a lot better.

• 265.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#251 poppa69: got to admit you’re spot on with that one, I still think they’re safer with NH refs, Barnes wasn’t harsh on them at all really. It’s not like he didn’t give them a penalty for an entire second half or anything ;)

• 266.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Die skeidsregter kan nie alles sien nie,daarvoor is daar
    assistent-skeidsregters.Snaaks dat nie nie een van hulle sien
    hul sien hoe stutte hul hand eers op die grond plaas voordat
    hul bind.Kyk gerus na die Bulle/WP wedstryd om te sien wat ek bedoel.
    Elke keer as die stut sy hand op die grond plaas voordat hy
    bind is dit ‘n strafskop.
    Dit is duidelik dat daar min voorrye is wat ‘square’ en en reguit met reguit rue skrum.Kyk gerus na die Aussie loskop en
    haker,hulle skrum reg op die die vaskop in.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.