Boks were well beaten

Worse than the Springbok performance in Brisbane was the post match analysis on SuperSport, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.

Naas Botha blamed the referee Wayne Barnes for South Africa’s emphatic 21-6 defeat against Australia and to illustrate his point he laboured through a couple of debatable decisions at the breakdown. Then Botha spoke about the two Australian tries and the four times Australia’s players crossed South Africa’s line, only to be denied by stunning cover tackles. Not once did Botha show us a South African try or a South African try-scoring opportunity because there wasn’t a heck of a lot to show from a South African perspective.

Australia could have had six tries. South Africa, at best, were close to scoring once. That is how convincing this Australian win was. The Boks, three years ago, took a 49-0 drubbing at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane and had everything gone Australia’s way on Saturday the result could have been of a similar nature.

The SunCorp Stadium has never been kind to the Springboks in matches against Australia, with the Boks having last scored a try at the venue against the Aussies in 1997. They scored plenty there against Samoa during the 2003 World Cup, but when it comes to playing the Wallabies in Brisbane the Boks have managed six, nine, zero and six points in the last decade, while the hosts have totaled 32, 29, 49 and 21.

History always favoured the Wallabies in Brisbane, where the only team to have won there in the last 10 years is New Zealand. Form was also decisive, as was Australia’s team selection, which was an improvement on who started in Perth seven days earlier.

A week ago I cautioned against writing off Australia and wrote that they were not half as bad as their media made out after the 32-25 defeat in Perth. I watched that match three times and the more I watched it the more worried I got about the prospect of Brisbane. It did not need hindsight to know that Brisbane would be very different to Perth.

In Perth Australia never recovered from a 12-point deficit, but they controlled the last 30 minutes of the Test and in particular they were impressive in the scrum. What they lacked was a lineout and physicality in the contact areas. In Brisbane the lineout still wobbled, but the physicality was greater than anything the Springboks have experienced in the Tri Nations this year and the Australian scrum was as good as it was in Cape Town and Perth.

Decisively, the Australians maintained this physical onslaught for the duration of the match and when a Bok team does not physically dictate they tend to struggle.

Anyone blaming Barnes’s officiating is insulting Australia’s performance.

As far a game plans go, South Africa got it wrong and Australia got it boringly right. The hosts played the percentages, kicked for territory and rarely attacked from within their half. Matt Giteau kicked a drop goal and James O’Connor scored from a kick and chase.

When South Africa did it in Cape Town, the criticism Down Under was they were boring. When Australia did it, they were just being clever. What is disappointing about Brisbane is that the Boks were suckered into playing a more expansive and risky game, which favoured the Australians, who in turn played risk-free rugby and got the rewards.

The Springboks, outstanding in the first four Tri Nations victories, will win the Tri Nations, regardless of the result in Hamilton because New Zealand does not have the capacity to score four tries against the Boks and four tries against the Wallabies a week later.

But the taste of championship victory will be soured if there is another defeat in Hamilton, and another set piece disaster will force the selectors to revisit their view on John Smit’s future as an international tighthead prop.

Smit, South Africa’s greatest captain and one of the finest hookers in the game, has taken a beating in the scrum against Australia this year. He should not be playing tighthead. If you play him, start him at hooker, which is his best position.

It won’t happen this weekend and Smit will again be a target, when not long ago he was a strength in the front row. With France waiting in Toulouse in November I can’t see the selectors playing two hookers in the front row, and if they do they should be the ones getting the chop.

266 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All

• 51.zef: Reply to this comment

#22 klippies101: presies klippies, jy slaan die spyker op die kop. Die Bokke kan nog maklik tweede kom

• 52.Staal: Reply to this comment

#49 Dawn: Want hy kry nie die krediet as hul wen nie….. :lol:

• 53.cane: Reply to this comment

#29 Kerneels:

Nice post Kerneels. Very sporting.

• 54.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Yup and I agreed with you as much last week too.

The Aussies are always going to get better under Deans.

The AB’s however will not get any better under the Headmaster.

The Boks will beat the Blacks in Hamilton this weekend.

• 55.Staal: Reply to this comment

#54 PissAnt: Regarding your predictions… you’ve been off the ball …. please ….please can you be correct this weekend!!!!

• 56.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#55 Staal:

Hey I think I scored 4 out of 5 this weekend!!!

Same as last week!

It was only in my first 2 weeks I was pisspoor!!

• 57.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

Why is no-one giving credit to Berrick Barnes. He was phenomenal on Saturday. The best play by a 12 this year. He is going places. All the hype about Genia is also confusing. I counted at least 4 times where he passed the ball behind the flyhalf on attack. This slowed down the movement and menat they had to set up another phase. He is good but not worthy of all the kudos yet. Barnes on the other hand was enormous.

• 58.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

my prediction
    for Hamilton: New Zealand 18 South Africa 18

• 59.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Credit to the Aussies – they were the better team.

As to all you w@nkers calling for John’s head…. what a fickle bunch you are. JS is our most important player without him we would explode. I can’t believe how DUMB you ppl are!!!

John offered way more in the lose that Beast did and he also scrummed better than Beast. On Sat JS carried the ball, made some huge hits and steals. Beast did NOTHING.

FYI – there is no-one @ Tight Head in SA that is close to international standard .

• 60.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Berrick has all the creativity a rugby player would want.

• 61.Staal: Reply to this comment

Keo – talking about stunning cover tackles….

what the hell was Adi Houtsplinters thinking with his Butch James no-look pass on his own tryline…..?

it took me and 2 surgeons 3 hours to get the tv-remote out of my stomach when i accidently swallowed it as Adi gooied that pass to Neverneverland.

the guy is dof.

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#59 brains_trust:

OK OK don’t get your Jockeys in a knot.

• 63.Staal: Reply to this comment

#58 Wezwp: I’ll take that! NOW!

• 64.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#61 Staal:

What would you have done if you were Adi.

Tell us all the right way.

• 65.superbowljoel: Reply to this comment

#50 BlackPanther: i’ve been reading his articles for some time so i’m familiar with his style and i appreciate the thought provoking candor of his writing. I find it interesting reading what some one outside of SA thinks of springbok rugby. it seems like he (like many journas actually) still feel that PdV isn’t in charge of the team and its run by john and the seniour players. which is interesting coz if we take away regan’s comment that PdV’s appointment was in the interest of transformation, the colour of his skin, his ‘analogies’ and references to the bible, voice pitch and moustache and just consider his coaching credentials at the time of his appointment – he is, well, basically jake white. my point is, what will it take to convince the critics that PdV IS the coach of this team and he knows what he’s doing?

• 66.Staal: Reply to this comment

#62 Dawn: :lol:

• 67.Staal: Reply to this comment

#64 Dawn: Honestly – i don’t wanna be ADI! :lol:

• 68.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#61 Staal:

I dunno. Piri Weepu thought that pass was on….

• 69.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Australia is a team on the up, i could never discredit them.

• 70.Staal: Reply to this comment

#68 BlackPanther: LMAO!!!!

• 71.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Isn’t it ironic that one week we beat them at the running game and the very next week they beat us in forwards game.

• 72.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

We were always going to win the line outs. The only difference is Australia did their basics well and made less mistakes.

• 73.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#65 superbowljoel:

He’s damned if he does and damned if he doesnt.

He inherited a RWChampion team, the most experienced in Bok history. So you can understand the doomsayers. And when they won in Carisbrook and vs Lions, you can understand the backslappers.

The true value of PdV will really only be seen when the Boks have to re-build with retirements and injuries. Theres been none of those of note for 2 years because everyone hung around for the Lions. Come 2010/11, you’ll get a much clearer picture. For now, as long as he doesnt open his gob, he seems to be doing OK. But what Rattue said is, by no means, any less that many fans here said ad finitum for ages. Until he started winning. Then they turned on likes of Dowd and Rattue and forgot themselves a little.

• 74.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

But you gotta admit he bought himself some time.

• 75.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

As it was pointed out to me last week, SA and NZ aside, Australia would most probably beat any other rugby nation out there 8 times out of 10. Just because we won our home games, doesn’t mean the other 2 are rolling over and playing dead. What this year has taught me, springbok rugby wise, is the importance of crucial combinations in a team. Just because a player is a good one, doesn’t mean he’ll fit in the side. It is often only in their absence that a certain players worth is obvious (John Smit, Bakkies, Victor) Ruan Pienaar has NOT looked the business at fullback, we definately missed Steyn’s booming boot and physical prescence in the tackle at the back. Similarly we missed JP at 14, as much as I have been critical of him in the past.

Yes, we were tired. Yes, it’s hard to win on the road (unless you’re French in which case it’s harder to win at home) but hopefully the AAK the wallabies gave us on Saturday will have the desired effect

• 76.gunther: Reply to this comment

#40 grant10:

dodgy samoosa seems suzie was doing the catering…. I swear if I see another samoosa at a box I am going to start watching at home where I can control the catering…

• 77.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

You guys all gave up on Hamilton, didn’t you.?

• 78.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

The Boks will come back harder in The super14. Ai Cape Town in The Spring is no fun at all.

• 79.grant10: Reply to this comment

#76 gunther: LOL….i stood under the Danie Craven stand….really enjoyed the vibe and buzz….made up for the rather dismal Boks!

• 80.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Barnes was pretty poor, but then he’s a pretty poor ref. No sense reading too much into it, as both sides could feel aggrieved at times, however his reffing in the loose was terrible.

Aussies were better on the day. What stung for me was that they employed our tried and trusted gameplan, whilst we tried to play too much in our own half again. Maybe we were a little complacent after last weekend? Win first, entertain second. THAT is what the fans want.

And now, we’re missing JP and potentially Habs, which will make our kicking game more difficult to accurately execute against the AB’s. They are our best chasers.

• 81.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Lol gunther what’s up with the samoosa’s?

• 82.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

#80 Vetkoek: We also missed rand at the back. I was paying close attention to how far Ruan was kicking the ball. The aussies were fielding it on the run and sending it back with interest, driving us back all the while. It was like watching us lose a game of “gainers” at times….

• 83.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

rand = Frans.

• 84.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Thanks

12. Kerneels :

Indeed. Unless he had bleached blonde hair you’ll never see the real truth without the actual stats.

Apart from the scrums Smit had a really good game. It must be ruining his confidence though that he is under so much pressure at scrum time.

He has done fantastically to try and make the switch. But the shorter guys seem to be getting the better of him.

If the $%£^ hits the fan we have to move Bismark to the bench but how sad. The guy is getting better and better. Doesn’t even lose the ball when taking it forward anymore and wins a lot of ball on the ground – well for a hooker he does. His brute strength is amazing actually.

But all that said the value Smit brings as a Captain has to be put first.

I’m a die hard Smit fan and I’m hoping he can make it as a prop. He has held up well until the last 2 games. If they have now found his weekness well we’ll see in Hamilton.

• 85.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

#82 stormersboy:

Yeah, the kicking wasn’t accurate in that regard. Straight up the middle of the park and not enough distance. By contrast, our boys were having to heave for the corners to retrieve a bobbling ball with chasers haring down.

Credit to Berrick Barnes here. He’s an important cog for them when it comes to their kicking game.

• 86.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Also so few people gave Habana and JP the compliments they deserved in the kick and chase game – most praise went to Du Preez. But now we see how valuable they are in our kick and chase game.

They are jus so very valuable full stop. Best wings we have had in a decade or more.

Habana’s try saving tackle – incredible.

• 87.superbowljoel: Reply to this comment

#73 BlackPanther: dont get me wrong, what the likes of rattue/dowd have written undoubtedly originated out of SA and they’ve just picked up on the general mood coming out of the republic on the issue. so in this regard, we’ve probably shot ourselves in the foot, we let one of our own down…the whole situation could have been handled in a much better manner (like the caster semenya issue, it just got ugly).
    you’re right about the next two years! they will define his tenure as coach. i for one remain pleasantly optimistic!

• 88.gunther: Reply to this comment

$#81 Wezwp:

%**&^*&@#@#$@ samoosas

#79 grant10:

was a dismal day for me just goes to show in the tri-nations if you are off your game you get your nuts delivered on a plate … as for the mess at newlands im cheesed off newlands has been a home away from home for the bulls in recent years…

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

#87 gunther: WP seem to be on the way up….but acid test when you boys get the Boks back……1 game at a time….

• 90.Mike H: Reply to this comment

88. grant10 :

Indeed

• 91.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

#85 Vetkoek: I agree. Barnes deserves a great deal of credit for keeping us on the backfoot the whole game.

• 92.Dunx: Reply to this comment

i agree with half but not hte other, Barnes was terrible and Naas didn’t blame him all he said was the ref isn’t to blame but we would like to know what are you watching, the aussies they scum illegally they scrum in and up which is what they’ve done all their games. They are just allowed to play a certain game and yet again the boks were unable to play the ref so we couldn’t figure out what it was that the ref wanted from us. and i guess POB will probaly back him as well.

• 93.UKBokSupporter: Reply to this comment

Pick your team for the weekend, this is my choice:

Jannie
    John (replaced by Bismarc on 60 mins)
    Beast
    Victor
    Bakkies (replaced by Danie on 60 mins)
    Schalk (replaced by Heinrich on 60 mins)
    Jean
    Pierre (replaced by Kanko on 60 mins)
    Fourie
    Morne
    Bryan
    Jean
    Jacque
    Odwa (replaced by Adi or Ruan on 60 mins with Jacque moving to wing)
    Frans

• 94.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Im sorry but i can’t take your team seriously@ Ukboksupporter

• 95.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Just move the captain back to tighthead this weekend.

• 96.jean-jacques: Reply to this comment

thank you keo for a very lucid article, nuff said.

• 97.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

…… and bring in bissie.

• 98.robofthecape: Reply to this comment

Wezwp

You said I was an idiot and a poephole for saying I dont agree with dropping Brussow for Burger thats not cool. I like Burger but after one poor game do we forget all Brussow has done.And lets be honest Skalk was not great.

• 99.Mike H: Reply to this comment

I think Schalk will start in place of Brussow agree there but this might not be the game to make that change. The Aussies sorted Brussow out but have the Kiwi’s?

• 100.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#79 grant10: it seems you have done a complete 180 degrees turn re john smit heh…weren’t you the one telling justrugby a couple of weeks back to go & read an article on some other 24 or something website that was singing the the man’s praises? And you commented on how lucid it was on his contribution & how he has made the switch to tighthead.

Were you just following the crowd or do you just like hearing yourself say “i told you so”? :D

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.