Boks were well beaten
7 Sep 2009
Worse than the Springbok performance in Brisbane was the post match analysis on SuperSport, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.
Naas Botha blamed the referee Wayne Barnes for South Africa’s emphatic 21-6 defeat against Australia and to illustrate his point he laboured through a couple of debatable decisions at the breakdown. Then Botha spoke about the two Australian tries and the four times Australia’s players crossed South Africa’s line, only to be denied by stunning cover tackles. Not once did Botha show us a South African try or a South African try-scoring opportunity because there wasn’t a heck of a lot to show from a South African perspective.
Australia could have had six tries. South Africa, at best, were close to scoring once. That is how convincing this Australian win was. The Boks, three years ago, took a 49-0 drubbing at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane and had everything gone Australia’s way on Saturday the result could have been of a similar nature.
The SunCorp Stadium has never been kind to the Springboks in matches against Australia, with the Boks having last scored a try at the venue against the Aussies in 1997. They scored plenty there against Samoa during the 2003 World Cup, but when it comes to playing the Wallabies in Brisbane the Boks have managed six, nine, zero and six points in the last decade, while the hosts have totaled 32, 29, 49 and 21.
History always favoured the Wallabies in Brisbane, where the only team to have won there in the last 10 years is New Zealand. Form was also decisive, as was Australia’s team selection, which was an improvement on who started in Perth seven days earlier.
A week ago I cautioned against writing off Australia and wrote that they were not half as bad as their media made out after the 32-25 defeat in Perth. I watched that match three times and the more I watched it the more worried I got about the prospect of Brisbane. It did not need hindsight to know that Brisbane would be very different to Perth.
In Perth Australia never recovered from a 12-point deficit, but they controlled the last 30 minutes of the Test and in particular they were impressive in the scrum. What they lacked was a lineout and physicality in the contact areas. In Brisbane the lineout still wobbled, but the physicality was greater than anything the Springboks have experienced in the Tri Nations this year and the Australian scrum was as good as it was in Cape Town and Perth.
Decisively, the Australians maintained this physical onslaught for the duration of the match and when a Bok team does not physically dictate they tend to struggle.
Anyone blaming Barnes’s officiating is insulting Australia’s performance.
As far a game plans go, South Africa got it wrong and Australia got it boringly right. The hosts played the percentages, kicked for territory and rarely attacked from within their half. Matt Giteau kicked a drop goal and James O’Connor scored from a kick and chase.
When South Africa did it in Cape Town, the criticism Down Under was they were boring. When Australia did it, they were just being clever. What is disappointing about Brisbane is that the Boks were suckered into playing a more expansive and risky game, which favoured the Australians, who in turn played risk-free rugby and got the rewards.
The Springboks, outstanding in the first four Tri Nations victories, will win the Tri Nations, regardless of the result in Hamilton because New Zealand does not have the capacity to score four tries against the Boks and four tries against the Wallabies a week later.
But the taste of championship victory will be soured if there is another defeat in Hamilton, and another set piece disaster will force the selectors to revisit their view on John Smit’s future as an international tighthead prop.
Smit, South Africa’s greatest captain and one of the finest hookers in the game, has taken a beating in the scrum against Australia this year. He should not be playing tighthead. If you play him, start him at hooker, which is his best position.
It won’t happen this weekend and Smit will again be a target, when not long ago he was a strength in the front row. With France waiting in Toulouse in November I can’t see the selectors playing two hookers in the front row, and if they do they should be the ones getting the chop.

266 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
7 Sep 2009, 16:46 pm
i …for one….will be grateful and relieved to see J Smit lead the boks onto Wellington this sat…..for what amounts to a Cup Final….
If ever we need Smits inspiration and motivation it will be sat….Go for it skipper…go Boks…
7 Sep 2009, 16:47 pm
#150 grant10:
?
7 Sep 2009, 16:47 pm
#146 Wezwp: The hate is your perception….no saffa hates Smit….why would anyone hate him??
7 Sep 2009, 16:48 pm
#148 Transformation:
yep I noticed that too…evertime we started a mall one or two aussies fell down in front of it…
7 Sep 2009, 16:49 pm
I love it when you call me big poppa.
7 Sep 2009, 16:50 pm
#151 cab: This week is not about change….this week is about Frans Steyn at 15….and the rest is about the Boks ….lead by the greatest most capped skipper in the history of the game fighting the most damgerous of enemies on there home turf….
That the need for change and renewal is nigh is facing us….but not this week Cab….not now…
7 Sep 2009, 16:50 pm
Captain fantastic will lead the Boks to victory this weekend and that will surely silence a few critics.
7 Sep 2009, 16:54 pm
#155 grant10:
so you not advocating a change in Burger for Brussow?
Here’s what i say they do, start with Burger at 8, tell him not to pluck out the opposition eyeballs but to tackle the kak out of anything that moves, tell bakkies and bismark its time for one more big one and to keep discipline, slap Beastie accross the face a few times before the game (and then run off), do not put on subs at the 57min mark, leave bakkies on until 65 min, bring Spies on for Juan in the last 20 who normally throws himself around like a madman in any case.
The backs well they can do what they want, its of no consequence.
7 Sep 2009, 16:55 pm
#156 Wezwp: Those critics will be silenced when the Boks scrum with authority and gain at least parity….until then the critics will push boundaries and question….as it should be….blind loyalty at the expense of excellence is just plain dof….dont let a critic be crucified for wanting more from the team they love….noi one is immune from criticism….grow up just a little but and stop seeing criticism levelled at the Bok front row as a personal attack on the skipper…it is not so…
7 Sep 2009, 16:57 pm
#158 grant10:
Sorry I missed you okes on Saturday. What are your plans for this weekend, rugby-wise?
7 Sep 2009, 16:58 pm
#157 cab: LOL….Love it!
No…i would leave Spies….and Brussow…Burger not quite there yet….in face he should be playing for wp and getting game time….
For me…just the F Steyn move….
Boks will lift it cab….
7 Sep 2009, 16:58 pm
oh yes and tell big vic, tho his lineout jumping, grubbers and backline cover tackling is much appreciated, we need him to clear out a few ABs too, esp with that speed and build.
7 Sep 2009, 16:59 pm
#159 WP Till I Die:i will probably do a bok town ..La Med breakfast thing with the blonde….have you any plans as yet?
7 Sep 2009, 16:59 pm
#162 grant10:
Not as yet – might give Bok Town a try!
7 Sep 2009, 17:00 pm
he may get a klap for his efforts, but thats what the arm guard is for.
#161 cab: Not brave enough….you tell him!!
#163 WP Till I Die: cool…we chat later in the week then…
7 Sep 2009, 17:02 pm
#165 grant10:
i think he’s got half an eye on his modelling career, but surely he can take a klap or two for the team?
7 Sep 2009, 17:03 pm
I hardly believe Burger at 8 will do a better job than Spies. I would rather bring him on early in the 2nd.
7 Sep 2009, 17:04 pm
#167 cab: Yeah….surprised he never got more coverage in the You Magazine….old Vic…
#150 grant10: if he is dropped he will be @ wellington alone, the other bokke will be @ hamilton
#149 WP Till I Die:
Come on please man!!! This is a team sport. We lost the majority of trinations matches pre 97 world cup and John the mighty captain was there. Boks never fell apart then.
John is a good captain for sure. Only one man walked on water on this earthly world except for Zinzan Brooke when it comes to rugby.
I see our coach continues to blame the ref (News24):
People jealous of Boks – Div
Gold Coast – Springbok-coach, Peter de Villiers, says he is wasting his time by consulting with referees before Test matches.
“I believe it’s a complete waste of time,” De Villiers said at the Springbok hotel here at Surfer’s Paradise on the Cold Coast.
“It doesn’t matter if we ask for an explanation of the scrum rules. The problem is pointed out but it is not officiated properly by the referee and the other officials on the field,” complained De Villiers.
The Springbok coach went to the trouble to write to the IRB’s head of referees, Paddy ‘O Brein, before last week’ Test against the Wallabies in Brisbane because he wanted more clarity on certain decisions that were made the previous week in Perth.
The Boks were penalised repeatedly at scrum time, but De Villiers, the rest of his playing staff as well as the players were baffled by the New Zealand referee, Bryce Lawrence’s decisions.
‘O Brein however defended Lawrence’s performances in his report by saying that it was the most accurate performance by a referee thus far in this year’s Tri-Nations competition.
In last week’ Test against the Wallabies at the Suncorp stadium in Brisbane, English referee, Wayne Barnes, also made some questionable decisions.
Asked if was going to send another email to ‘O Brein this week he said: “I believe life within your own country is sometimes a burden because you have to face it every day but when you go outside your borders, you see that its’ actually worse.
“People don’t want to see other teams being successful. That is my biggest problem at the moment. We can’t go public about certain things because we don’t have all the evidence, but the body language of certain officials when things went against us in that game made us worry.
“The officials were so happy when decisions went against us on the day. I am talking about the number one rugby team in the world. Shouldn’t they really get the other guys to that level?
“Or do they want to break things down so that the game can become mediocre and everyone has a chance to win it. We don’t want to dwell on that point, but if that is the case, them I feel I am wasting my time by talking to them. I will then have to reconsider talking to them.”
7 Sep 2009, 17:05 pm
anyone in natal see the pic on the back page of the tribune?
JS is looking so pissed off at barnes that he wants to tear him a new *******.
he will channel that anger into a hamilton game that will hopefully be a cracker.
just like he did with an enourmous hit that turned defense into offense on sat.
in John we trust.
Brussouw might just have Richies number.
#157 cab: I hope Odwa pulls a hamstring during training, I dont want to see that boy near a bok jersey, he looks like Chester Williams in early 2000′s full of tricks and no pace, give him ball in good space rather than going for the white line, he cuts back and look for support, its embarrassing!!!!
At the end of the day we have Beast playing Prop who converted from Flank and we have Smit playing Prop who converted from Hooker. How strong do we think our props will be against, for my knowledge, 2 props who have played that position their entire careers?
7 Sep 2009, 17:06 pm
#168 Wezwp:
watch him, in fact i’d say Burger is a must if you want Brussow to not be carted off the ball everytime by the kiwis, like the ozzies showed how easy it is too, with two guys playing to the ball and burger’s strength and support, much harder to clean out two players rather than an isolated pinball wizard.
7 Sep 2009, 17:06 pm
#168 Wezwp: Agree….The back foot ball caused by the retreating scrum has hurt Spies to be fair….but Smit and Beast will arrive thuis sat,…and to be fair to smit he really did fare better against Woodscock than that bloody Robinson…
Also we must throw miors at the rucks…..last sat we were outnumbered at the breakdown and brussow was made to look mortal…
7 Sep 2009, 17:07 pm
#170 Transformation: LOL….sorry there!
#172 kwas:
Wow, lots of typos in there for a News24 article – piss poor copywriting.
Gist of the article? The highest trees catch the most wind.
#171 Peter Mkata: there were two, Chuck Norris is the other one
7 Sep 2009, 17:08 pm
#171 Peter Mkata: Bob Skinstad??
#175 XhosaKid:
lol, i thought he was from your part of the world EC? yeah pretty average, but too be honest, he actually did little wrong on sat. i’d rather we picked a bit of pace outwide tho or someone prone to make things happen.
Chester was a great winger, one of the world’s best, no comparison.
Anyone got some sedatives for Grant?
7 Sep 2009, 17:11 pm
#184 Wezwp: LOL….none required…
7 Sep 2009, 17:12 pm
#184 Wezwp: It’ not Grant, somebody nicked his nick!
7 Sep 2009, 17:13 pm
We nail the Kiwis….wp do the cheetahs and the sharks turn the knife at loftus….my kinda day!
actually with JP out perhaps its best to move Jacque Fourie to wing and Adi into 13. Frans Steyn gotta go back to 15. Ruan has also played well on the wing before.
“The Springboks, outstanding in the first four Tri Nations victories, will win the Tri Nations, regardless of the result in Hamilton because New Zealand does not have the capacity to score four tries against the Boks and four tries against the Wallabies a week later.”
Overall good article just a small remark. If ABs deny Boks anything, they need just ONE bonus point win and favourable +/- difference. Many thing will depend on weather, too.
Currently Boks have +25, while ABs have -14. It may look huge difference at the first sight (massive 39 points!) but let’s not forget that any point ABs get in the 1st Test automatically have double value because the same point is deduced from Boks point difference.
So, let’s say, ABs win by 10, the the difference will become 19 points, not 29. And any win by teen point margin makes final target reasonably reachable.
Boks still are firm favourites, imho, to win the title, but if ABs record convincing win in Hamilton, things may change.
7 Sep 2009, 17:15 pm
#186 Boerboel: No Boerboel….this si time to get behind the skipper….massive task Sat….lets give the man and the team all tghe support we can….time for change has come….but not this week….
Go Smit….make us all proud….
7 Sep 2009, 17:15 pm
#135 Bobcat10: No need to shout boet.
If you wanna join the okes for a beer at cubannas or firemans you just have to ask you know
I think those okes are quite cool and wouldn’t mind accomodating anyone.
7 Sep 2009, 17:16 pm
#188 cab: Please not Ruan at wing….Odwa will need a shrink…and so will Ruan….leave that 12 and 13…the Kiwis in disarray there….exploit it
7 Sep 2009, 17:17 pm
#183 cab: Yes, I know Odwa & Akhona personally, I have actually told them myself that I dont think they deserve to play for the Springbok, I can list atleast six wings that the Bulls and Sharks should have signed ahead of the twins, they know it. Their brother Mayidunyiswe Ndungane is twice the player both boys combined.
The Ndungane twins are a marketing gimmick!!!
7 Sep 2009, 17:17 pm
#191 Jozi: LOL….as long as he knows how to drink and supports WP !!!
7 Sep 2009, 17:19 pm
#188 cab: Why not Ruan at TH…….geez why the need to accommodate Ruan ???
7 Sep 2009, 17:20 pm
#193 XhosaKid:
lol, harsh one, i think they good wingers, but agree springboks with this group of players is a tough call – i dont get it, nokwe’s a try machine and chavhanga a match for bolt, sure there’s more to it, but these okes surely offer more than the ndungane boeties at the highest level.
7 Sep 2009, 17:21 pm
outta here…cheers all…
#181 XhosaKid: did you notice some halfwit posting as xhosaskid.
tried stirring up a racial war in your name yesterday but no one was biting.
“Come with me if you want to live “.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All