All Blacks 29 Springboks 32
12 Sep 2009
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Tri-Nations Test in Hamilton.
80 mins: The All Blacks run the ball into the Boks’ half for an intense final minute. Carter attempts another cross kick but he kicks too far and the ball goes into touch. Springboks win and are the Tri-Nations champions!
78 mins: All Blacks try! Carter gives a cross kick out wide to the unmarked Richie McCaw, who touches down in the corner. Carter converts. 32-29 to the Springboks.
76 mins: The All Blacks run the ball from their half and puts a kick through. Jaque Fourie covers but out numbered by the All Blacks defence and they win a scrum after Habana knocks-on the ball.
75 mins: The All Blacks take a quick lineout, but the Boks steal possession and drive into the All Blacks 22m area. Morne Steyn stands in the slot, but the home side steal the ball at the breakdown.
70 mins: Boks chip the ball in space and exposes the All Blacks at the back. Mils Muliaina caught by Habana and Jaque Fourie and penalised for holding on. Morne Steyn slots the penalty. 32-22 to the Springboks
68 mins: Du Preez kicks another up and under and puts Sivivatu under pressure. The All Blacks’ clearance gets chraged down, but Springboks penalised for driving off their feet.
62 mins: Carter puts another chip through and Habana covers well, but the wing finds himself isolated and Botha penalised for side entry at the breakdown. Carter slots the penalty. 29-22 to the Springboks.
60 mins: All Blacks set up another attack and Carter breaks through with a man on his outside. A good cover tackle by Frans Steyn forces the pivot to pass the ball out. Boks take a quick lineout but make a hash of it. The All Blacks steal possession but lose the ball forward and the Springboks clear.
55 mins: All Blacks try! After a scrappy scrum, Du Preez penalised for holding on to the ball after good pressure by Read. All Blacks take a quick tap and catching the Springboks’ defence off guard. The ball is passed out wide and Sivivatu crashes over for his side’s first try. 29-19 to the Springboks.
51 mins: Springbok try! The All Blacks runs the ball through the hands from a 50m lineout, but Jean de Villiers intercepts the ball and gets a clear run to the try line. Morne Steyn slots the conversion. 29-12 to the Springboks.
49 mins: After a Frans Steyn clearance, Brad Thorne gains possession, but Smit crushes him with a big tackle and the All Blacks lock loses the ball forward.
46 mins: Boks play the knock-on advantage and Ndungane clears the ball into space behind the All Blacks line. Carter covers but loses the ball forward.
45 mins: Du Preez launches another up and under, but this time Sivivatu catches the ball cleanly. All Blacks work themselves well into the Boks’ half, but strong defence forces a knock-on.
43 mins: Morne Steyn puts the ball up high with a good up and under. Rokocoko drops the ball and the Springboks steal possession. Bismarck du Plessis drives up 5m from the All Blacks try line, but the referee sees an accidental obstruction. Carter clears from the scrum.
41 mins: Morne Steyn restarts and Andrew Hore gathers. Carter doesn’t clear but opts to chip the ball and Boks regain possession in All Blacks’ territory.
Half-time: All Blacks 12 Springboks 22
40 mins: The All Blacks’ forwards work themselves 5m from the try line. Carter chips the ball through, but covered by the Boks’ defence. The home side set up another attack and chip the ball through again, but Morne Steyn covers well and puts the ball out to end the first half.
38 mins: Boks penalised again after the referee judges Heinrich Brussow to be competing off his feet at the breakdown. Carter kicks for touch and puts the All Blacks in a promising position in the Boks’ 22m area.
34 mins: Pierre Spies clears the ball from the kickoff, but the Boks’ defence penalised for chasing from a offside poisiton. Carter converts his fourth penalty. 22-12 to the Springboks.
32 mins: Bryan Habana shoulder charged by a frustrated Kieran Read after the whistle and the No 8 is penalised in a kickable position. Morne Steyn slots the penalty. 22-9 to the Sprinboks
28 mins: All Blacks take a quick penalty tap and start a good build up into the Boks’ half, but good defence catches the home side holding on to the ball at the breakdown. Steyn clears back into All Blacks territory.
25 mins: All Blacks penalised for not rolling away at the half way line. Frans Steyns cues up another 50m penalty and converts. 19-9 to the Springboks.
22 mins: Carter kicks a high restart and Odwa Ndungane gathers. Boks’ forwards penalised for side entry. Carter slots a difficult penalty attempt from the left touchline. 16-9 to the Springboks
20 mins: Springbok try! Springboks put the All Blacks backs under pressure by kicking a high up and under. Rokocoko fails to gather the ball after good pressure by Du Preez. Bakkies Botha steals possession and sets up the breakdown 5m from the try line. Du Preez scores after sniping around the fringes. Morne Steyn converts. 16-6 to the Springboks
17 mins: Boks steal possession from the kickoff and hit right back through a Morne Steyn drop goal. 9-6 to the Springboks
14 mins: Smit’s foot slips, which is acknowledged by the referee, but he still awards the All Blacks a penalty in front of the posts. Carter converts it successfully. Score level at 6-6
12 mins: After a scrappy lineout in their 22m area, Fourie du Preez kicks a poor clearance that’s gathered by Joe Rokocoko. The wing sets up a quick counter attack, but the Boks manage to stand firm. All Blacks awarded a scrum at the 22m line.
8 mins: Strong Bok defence restricts the All Blacks to the 50m line. Stephen Donald put under heavy pressure from three Springbok defenders and penalised for holding on. Steyn steps up and converts his second long-range penalty. 6-3 to the Springboks
5 mins: Sitiveni Sivivatu penalised for offside at the breakdown. Frans Steyn nails a massive 60m penalty to level the score. Score stands at 3-3
4 mins: Boks build momentum and enter the All Blacks’ 22m area, but Morne Steyn penalised for holding on to the ball.
2 mins: Carter slots the penalty and kicks first points on the score board. 3-0 to the All Blacks
1 min: High kickoff from Dan Carter and Victor Matfield gathers. John Smit, who supported Matfield in the lift, judged to obstruct the All Blacks’ defence and penalised in a kickable position.
New Zealand – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Ma’a Nonu, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 John Afoa, 18 Adam Thomson, 19 Rodney So’oialo, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Isaia Toeava 22 Cory Jane.
Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Ricky Januarie, 20 Adi Jacobs, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Ryan Kankowski.

621 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All
13 Sep 2009, 15:44 pm
#587 The Analyst: Mate, you’re just going to get jeered, told you’re a conspiracy theorist and paranoid. I am the least paranoid guy I know (lol does that even make sense) and I despise the conspiracy theory attitude about refs, but my god, this past season has had some seriously glaring irregularities….
Ok kiwi friends, engage me on this without resorting to mockery, just bear with me; (oh and a rider, I do not think our players are a bunch of sweeet-cheeked choirgirls for one second, just in case you think I’m saying they’re always innocent)
Ok so Jacues F ha been banned for 4 weeks. I haven’t seen the replays, but if he’s guilty, good. Thought he was **** yesterday anyway lol.
Just this season though, we’ve had Habana almost decapitated by Lauaki – no censure. Sheehan hospitalises Barrett – no censure. Giteau takes FdP out in mid-air, could have broken his neck – no censure. Habana taken out in mid-air, could easily have done his shoulder – no censure. Habana shoulder charged after the whistle- ok fair enough, not a citing offence, but a yellow at least – nothing. (mmm do I detect a pattern emerging here Brian?) Thorne dumps Smit in front of the ref after the whistle, injuring him nogal – no censure. Drew Mitchell spear tackle (RWC) – no censure. Umaga and Mealamu spear tackle on BoD – no censure. Nonu dropping on Giteau with the express intent of hurting him – acceptable? I thought the rules state that you may not drive a player downwards with force?
But the Great Beast, the Antichrist and Eater of Children Botha drops his forearm on Waugh’s face from about 2 cm away – banned. Cleans out Jones – Banned. Schalk collides with a guy in mid-air (RWC), competing for the ball (um did Rockocoko even jump????) – Banned 8 weeks reduced to 4. Stegmann reckless challenge – banned.
Now before you start frothing, I’m sure there have been incidents our guys have got away with, but how many as blatant and dangerous as the ones I mentioned?? Now I’m NOT saying this is any kind of conspiracy, or lets-get-the-japies, or refs ganging up on us….what it is, is simply unacceptable inconsistencies within the officiating structures in dealing with illegal & dangerous on the playing field.
Now you can carry on all you like about us moaning when winning or losing, dear friends, but the very fact that there are no clear and effective channels to address these incidents (and please don’t tell me that Paddy o’ Brien is an effective anything), makes it all too easy to sweep these things under the carpet and denounce those complaining as paranoid or obsessive. And leads to stupid, ill-advised but borne-from-frustration incidents like the moronic armband thing. Will it take a headline reporting Habana with a career ending shoulder break or a flyhalf with a broken neck after being tackled in the air, before anyone takes these complaints seriously?
I have tried to put my point across as clearly as possible without sounding like whingeing or making accusations of a hemispehere wide conspiracy. I hope it has come across as such.
I am really concerned that we’re going to see a serious injury soon unless the rules that were drafted by the IRB to prevent those very injuries from occuring, are strictly and evenly enforced on everyone. I love the hard and physical nature of rugby, and enforcing these rules strictly will in no way diminish the nature of the game.
13 Sep 2009, 15:45 pm
#578 WakaNathan: I don’t like the way the Bok management have dealt with the media this week either….
13 Sep 2009, 16:00 pm
#598 Atreides: No you didn’t. Made perfect sense to me. Well weighted and presented arguement. Now post it to the IRB please. ;(
13 Sep 2009, 17:54 pm
#588 fouriedavinci: My comments looked unpleasant at second viewing – apologies Wakanathan – uncalled for. Allowed my frustration to boil over…
I’m a little mystified that any straight-seeing fellar can’t see ( doesn’t want to see?) what to me is blindingly obvious – shocking and unremitting double-standards with citings and officiating.
I just watched the game again, focussing on the decisions and specially the break-down area (with assistance of pause and rewind button)… and it looked worse the second time round!
It left me thinking a friggin inquest is in order.
I don’t have time to list all of them here but regarding the Fourie ‘spear’, when it happened it was with play (not off-the-ball) , near the ref who did nothing not even a penalty. The kiwi commentators, not afraid of voicing their thoughts, said not a word about it. And it passed me by too – made no impression. Within the context of the game, of all pens given against the boks it would probably have been one of the most legitimate pen calls of them all though…
Which brings me back again to the overall performance of Owen. I put it somewhere between hapless and abysmal. There really are grounds for this guy to be given a little break from the game after that showing. At best it was incompetent and puzzling, at worst a scandal and a disgrace. By the end he’d lost all control at the break-downs and the players picked up on it as he repeatedly allowed ABs to join from the side, dive over the top or allow mauls to be pulled down, not to mention those bizarre ‘obstruction’ calls. It had descended into an almost law-free zone by the last 15 as some boks then started infringing too (like FdPs coming from the side which happened straight after AB nr 8 Read had blatantly gone over the top of the ruck off his feet, which even the Kiwi commentators mentioned). Incidentally, Owen missed DdP’s infringement but incorrectly pinged Bakkies instead!
Should also mention the dubious performance of touch judge Barnes. Without exception every close call (some not that close) went ABs way, including his missing the second late charge on Habana that happened 1 foot away from him.
And then there’s this strange occurrence: Owen calling for the 4th official to confirm FdP’s rather clear try that happened about 6 feet away from him, and awarding Sivivatu’s try with indecent haste when he was totally unsighted, behind play. As it happens the try was just about good, but there was a thin whisker between the ball being grounded and held up.
These points are in addition to the plain bizarre and inexplicable calls at the start of the game that I mentioned in a previous post and have been noted by several other fans.
On a brighter note, the second viewing brought the following observations:
Bismarck was Immense, FdP played like a prince, Bakkies was peerless in his general play and commitment, Smit put in probably the best performance I’ve seen from him for the boks, the Steyn duo were masterful -Frans’ contribution to breaking the spirit of the ABs with those monster kicks shouldn’t be underestimated, and flyin’ Vic had the ABs totally spooked at the lineout.
In short, had the boys been playing on a level playing field they would have blasted the ABs by 20 points or more. They were on fire and nothing those dodgy officials pulled could stop ‘em.
13 Sep 2009, 19:38 pm
#601 fouriedavinci:
So youve listed all the incidents involving the Boks as victims. Thanks.
So what youre saying is that the ref, the 2 touchies and the citing officers ONLY missed incidents where the Boks were hard done by ? And they got all the ones where ABs/Aussies/Lions were victims ?
So all refs are now ‘dodgy’. Not just Kiwi ones. Not just Australasian ones. Not just SH ones. Not just NH ones.
No. All refs.
And they ONLY miss incidents where Boks are victims. Where Boks are the perpetrators, they get all of those.
Is that what youre saying ?
13 Sep 2009, 19:53 pm
#602 WakaNathan: I think his post is well structured and motivated, you can agree or disagree, that’s your right. But you wouldn’t know how to do it properly, you can just make opinionated re,arks.
13 Sep 2009, 20:29 pm
#602 WakaNathan: YES!
13 Sep 2009, 20:31 pm
#603 Boerboel: Boerboel Wankermarathon is always out to impress some pond life with his derogatory remarks about SA
13 Sep 2009, 20:36 pm
#603 Boerboel:
don’t take too much notice of waka – he likes to harp on about his pet hates but forever manages to ignore the facts.
seems a belligerent type – would rather fight with saffas than post on a kiwi website – too boring, nobody to fight with.
13 Sep 2009, 20:40 pm
#606 charo: I totally agree Charo, he has been showing his true colours for a long time
13 Sep 2009, 21:34 pm
#603 Boerboel:
Actually, I asked a question. His reply was most certainly ‘well structured’. I do think its interesting that he can be ‘motivated’ – which is OK. But Im ‘opinionated’, and thats not OK.
DaVincis post ONLY mentions incidents missed involving Boks as victims. Are they the only ones missed ?
13 Sep 2009, 21:40 pm
#604 JL1:
Thanks for making that clear. So youre saying refs and officials are turning a blind eye to all incidents where Boks are victims and catching all incidents where they are the perpetrators. Presumably you mean every match, and not just from Hamilton ?
How come Parisse got banned for eye-gouging this season ? How come Shaw got banned ? How come Isaac Ross got a YC ?
Let me guess. Because every official had agreed beforehand (commonly called a ‘conspiracy’) to make it LOOK ok, so noone noticed. That must be why, that would make sense.
13 Sep 2009, 21:45 pm
#606 charo:
13 Sep 2009, 21:47 pm
#605 JL1: That makes him a …..
13 Sep 2009, 21:52 pm
#609 WakaNathan: Most games the Boks have to be 30-405 better on the day than the opposition to win, in close games the refs tend to help the opposition
Thorn=2 weeks suspension???
Gits= no citing at all
Rockococo= no citing
Toby Flood= no citing at the RWC 2007
Schalk Burger= 4 weeks banned for a rubbish incident and if Rupert did not get the best solicitors in the world it would have remained 4 weeks
Did you actually see the 12 gifted points the ABs recieved from the pirate?
Pathetic
How come we get refs and after 9 games we have still not won a game when they were the ref?????????????????
13 Sep 2009, 21:55 pm
#611 Boerboel: …poepol!
13 Sep 2009, 22:06 pm
#612 JL1:
So when ABs/opposition get penalties/points, they are ‘gifted’ ? But when they were handed out to SA in the 1st Lions Test, and vs ABs in Bloem & Durban they were not ?
Why did the whole of SA laud Beast after the Lions Test when Bryce gave 6 consecutive penalties, 9pts ? But when the same ref penalised SA in Perth, then PdV complained to the ref and the IRBs Head Ref ?
so its OK when youre getting them, but when they go against you theyre ‘gifted’ ?
Why did Wayne Barnes only get criticised after pinging SA in Brisbane, but before that it was ‘SH refs’ that had it in for the Boks ? Why was he excellent in the RWC Qter when the ABs lose controversially, but so bad in Brisbane that PdV complained, for the 2nd consecutive week ? Didnt Smit say excuses were “for losers” ?
Its obvious that instead of believing SA need ‘to win by 30-40′ pts, that you actually believe they are 1. not infringing at all and 2. should be winning by scores of 50-60pts.
Poor winners, poor losers.
13 Sep 2009, 22:26 pm
Barnes was and is useless.
If the Kiwi and Aussie refs were so good how come there are only one from each country on the top 10 panel
Even this Craig Joubert from SA is rather pathetic
14 Sep 2009, 01:53 am
#591 skopskiet: ***** you’re a bigger racist than most AWB members?! How exactly does being born in SA with an afrikaans name make me a colonialist?! How do you know what colour I am for fcks sake?! You’re an opinionated, bigotted judgemental like prk with a chip the size of India on your shoulder! You think you’re such a patriot but really you’re a bitter racist deep down and you love nothing more than rail against the “whites” whenever you get the chance.
Unlike you I don’t hate my fellow south africans and I consider all races in SA as my countryman – I think that makes me a more genuine patriot than you. A celler dwelling piece of kak like you doesn’t deserve to be called south african in fact I refuse to acknowledge we’re from the same country because you are far too repellent to have been spawned from such beautiful shores! I make no apology for saying that SA would be a far better country if we could rid it of racist bigots (of all colours) like you. When is Keo going to wake up and ban such an abhorrent hate spreading psychotic! This blog would be so much more pleasent and stable without your hate filled negativity…must be a very dark world you inhabit.
14 Sep 2009, 02:20 am
#579 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Ndungane was my only concern for the Boks and as I predicted he was hopeless. What can ya do.
14 Sep 2009, 14:41 pm
Sorry I was wrong, it wasn’t Sivivatu it was Toaeva (sp?) the Iceman who he fell off. I just got annoyed because that was a really soft try we let in there. Carter’s cross-kick was phenomenal and they’re very hard to defend against but the Sivi try should’ve been stopped in my opinion. The scoreline really flattered the ABs. My god Du Preez was on fire in that match. His hit on Rokococo leading to our first try was a sight to behold.
Glad to see someone else agreeing with me about Odwa. If a player performs badly then I’m going to comment, I don’t care what colour our players are, they should be there on merit and commitment. Did you see the disgusting backlash I got for criticising him and accussations that I suddenly hate PdV? Couldn’t be further from the truth. I’ve never ever said I was anti-PdV. I was very disappointed by his conduct during the Lions tour but I’ve since forgiven him for that as he seems to have learnt from that experience. I’m very impressed what he has done with this team. His next big test will be negotiating the void left by Jdv and FS. If we can keep our win ratio and blood some new players during the AI eish it will have been the best ever year for the Boks (perhaps barring RWC 07)!
Going back to Odwa he’s always been a bit shaky but he was much better for the Sharks a few years ago. He had a pretty poor S14 this year and I felt some of his mistakes really let us (Sharks) down on occassions. I just don’t think he’s in great form at the moment. It’s a real shame JPP got injured when he did. Having seen highlights of the CC last week and my despair of our depth at wing was aleviated somewhat. Two players stood out for me the Leopards no.11 and Bjorn Basson. I’d like to see Basson blooded on the EOYT I think he’s got that killer instinct. His hack and chase against the Leopards was very impressive and I felt he troubled the B&I Lions on attack during the E Boks game. Problem is at the lower level these players can look impressive so we need to see how they perform against the tougher teams in the CC. I’d also like to see more of the Sharks new winger Mvovo. He seems to have the skillset but whether he can replicate good performances under pressure. I hope Plum selects him for the S14 squad next year provided he has a good S14.
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All