All Blacks 29 Springboks 32
12 Sep 2009
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Tri-Nations Test in Hamilton.
80 mins: The All Blacks run the ball into the Boks’ half for an intense final minute. Carter attempts another cross kick but he kicks too far and the ball goes into touch. Springboks win and are the Tri-Nations champions!
78 mins: All Blacks try! Carter gives a cross kick out wide to the unmarked Richie McCaw, who touches down in the corner. Carter converts. 32-29 to the Springboks.
76 mins: The All Blacks run the ball from their half and puts a kick through. Jaque Fourie covers but out numbered by the All Blacks defence and they win a scrum after Habana knocks-on the ball.
75 mins: The All Blacks take a quick lineout, but the Boks steal possession and drive into the All Blacks 22m area. Morne Steyn stands in the slot, but the home side steal the ball at the breakdown.
70 mins: Boks chip the ball in space and exposes the All Blacks at the back. Mils Muliaina caught by Habana and Jaque Fourie and penalised for holding on. Morne Steyn slots the penalty. 32-22 to the Springboks
68 mins: Du Preez kicks another up and under and puts Sivivatu under pressure. The All Blacks’ clearance gets chraged down, but Springboks penalised for driving off their feet.
62 mins: Carter puts another chip through and Habana covers well, but the wing finds himself isolated and Botha penalised for side entry at the breakdown. Carter slots the penalty. 29-22 to the Springboks.
60 mins: All Blacks set up another attack and Carter breaks through with a man on his outside. A good cover tackle by Frans Steyn forces the pivot to pass the ball out. Boks take a quick lineout but make a hash of it. The All Blacks steal possession but lose the ball forward and the Springboks clear.
55 mins: All Blacks try! After a scrappy scrum, Du Preez penalised for holding on to the ball after good pressure by Read. All Blacks take a quick tap and catching the Springboks’ defence off guard. The ball is passed out wide and Sivivatu crashes over for his side’s first try. 29-19 to the Springboks.
51 mins: Springbok try! The All Blacks runs the ball through the hands from a 50m lineout, but Jean de Villiers intercepts the ball and gets a clear run to the try line. Morne Steyn slots the conversion. 29-12 to the Springboks.
49 mins: After a Frans Steyn clearance, Brad Thorne gains possession, but Smit crushes him with a big tackle and the All Blacks lock loses the ball forward.
46 mins: Boks play the knock-on advantage and Ndungane clears the ball into space behind the All Blacks line. Carter covers but loses the ball forward.
45 mins: Du Preez launches another up and under, but this time Sivivatu catches the ball cleanly. All Blacks work themselves well into the Boks’ half, but strong defence forces a knock-on.
43 mins: Morne Steyn puts the ball up high with a good up and under. Rokocoko drops the ball and the Springboks steal possession. Bismarck du Plessis drives up 5m from the All Blacks try line, but the referee sees an accidental obstruction. Carter clears from the scrum.
41 mins: Morne Steyn restarts and Andrew Hore gathers. Carter doesn’t clear but opts to chip the ball and Boks regain possession in All Blacks’ territory.
Half-time: All Blacks 12 Springboks 22
40 mins: The All Blacks’ forwards work themselves 5m from the try line. Carter chips the ball through, but covered by the Boks’ defence. The home side set up another attack and chip the ball through again, but Morne Steyn covers well and puts the ball out to end the first half.
38 mins: Boks penalised again after the referee judges Heinrich Brussow to be competing off his feet at the breakdown. Carter kicks for touch and puts the All Blacks in a promising position in the Boks’ 22m area.
34 mins: Pierre Spies clears the ball from the kickoff, but the Boks’ defence penalised for chasing from a offside poisiton. Carter converts his fourth penalty. 22-12 to the Springboks.
32 mins: Bryan Habana shoulder charged by a frustrated Kieran Read after the whistle and the No 8 is penalised in a kickable position. Morne Steyn slots the penalty. 22-9 to the Sprinboks
28 mins: All Blacks take a quick penalty tap and start a good build up into the Boks’ half, but good defence catches the home side holding on to the ball at the breakdown. Steyn clears back into All Blacks territory.
25 mins: All Blacks penalised for not rolling away at the half way line. Frans Steyns cues up another 50m penalty and converts. 19-9 to the Springboks.
22 mins: Carter kicks a high restart and Odwa Ndungane gathers. Boks’ forwards penalised for side entry. Carter slots a difficult penalty attempt from the left touchline. 16-9 to the Springboks
20 mins: Springbok try! Springboks put the All Blacks backs under pressure by kicking a high up and under. Rokocoko fails to gather the ball after good pressure by Du Preez. Bakkies Botha steals possession and sets up the breakdown 5m from the try line. Du Preez scores after sniping around the fringes. Morne Steyn converts. 16-6 to the Springboks
17 mins: Boks steal possession from the kickoff and hit right back through a Morne Steyn drop goal. 9-6 to the Springboks
14 mins: Smit’s foot slips, which is acknowledged by the referee, but he still awards the All Blacks a penalty in front of the posts. Carter converts it successfully. Score level at 6-6
12 mins: After a scrappy lineout in their 22m area, Fourie du Preez kicks a poor clearance that’s gathered by Joe Rokocoko. The wing sets up a quick counter attack, but the Boks manage to stand firm. All Blacks awarded a scrum at the 22m line.
8 mins: Strong Bok defence restricts the All Blacks to the 50m line. Stephen Donald put under heavy pressure from three Springbok defenders and penalised for holding on. Steyn steps up and converts his second long-range penalty. 6-3 to the Springboks
5 mins: Sitiveni Sivivatu penalised for offside at the breakdown. Frans Steyn nails a massive 60m penalty to level the score. Score stands at 3-3
4 mins: Boks build momentum and enter the All Blacks’ 22m area, but Morne Steyn penalised for holding on to the ball.
2 mins: Carter slots the penalty and kicks first points on the score board. 3-0 to the All Blacks
1 min: High kickoff from Dan Carter and Victor Matfield gathers. John Smit, who supported Matfield in the lift, judged to obstruct the All Blacks’ defence and penalised in a kickable position.
New Zealand – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Ma’a Nonu, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 John Afoa, 18 Adam Thomson, 19 Rodney So’oialo, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Isaia Toeava 22 Cory Jane.
Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Ricky Januarie, 20 Adi Jacobs, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Ryan Kankowski.

621 Comments
12 Sep 2009, 08:02 am
Let the games begin
12 Sep 2009, 08:03 am
I cannot wait for this one. I do NOT want to see an ABs win.
12 Sep 2009, 08:07 am
bokke to prevail!!! Go pdv!
12 Sep 2009, 08:09 am
I thought it was 0930 kickoff?
12 Sep 2009, 08:12 am
#4 rich1:
Yeah I think kickoff is 9:35
12 Sep 2009, 08:13 am
#5 Sonito:
cheers for that. And thanks Keo for “accurate” headline above
12 Sep 2009, 08:19 am
#2 Big Hit: Hi BH [ 007 ]
Saw in one of our newspapers this morning that BJ Botha has now intimated he wants to come back to SA….intime for 2011 Super 14 …to have a crack st WC 2011…….
Happy to speak to any Super 14 franchise….
Rassie…buy an option!!
12 Sep 2009, 08:19 am
st is at
12 Sep 2009, 08:24 am
The All Blacks may have decided on a strategy like take the Springboks on physically today – but be sure the Springboks will do some thinking of their own, before and during the game.
Big games like today and eg the world cup require big match temperament and ability to think strategically on the day and to change the plan if required. I do not think the All Blacks have the strategic thinking ability on the field to be able to change their game should things not go their way. Brawn yes – brains no.
12 Sep 2009, 08:25 am
#7 grant10: interesting, he’s going to do a Carl Hayman then. He picked up a harsh yellow at the weekend but I reckon he’s still the best technical tighthead available to SA. Smit doesn’t sound at all like he’s ready to retire. Erasmus might well try to sign WP Nel after today if he handles himself in the scrums, apparently he’s from there.
12 Sep 2009, 08:29 am
#10 Big Hit:
Have you seen much of BJ Botha playing this season? How do you rate him – is he doing well in UK?
12 Sep 2009, 08:30 am
#10 Big Hit: Cannot wait for all 3 games today BH ….
Bloody nerves frazzled….keen to hear how weather is that side…..a Bok, WP and Sharks win will pose huge threats to my liver !!
I look forward to seeing this WP Nel fellow….he will be tested against Wickus Blaauw….
12 Sep 2009, 08:31 am
For those bloggers who enjoy movies….i saw The Wrestler last nite….finally.
What a performance by Mickey Rourke!!
12 Sep 2009, 08:32 am
Bj can gladly go to the bulls.they wìll need him more
12 Sep 2009, 08:32 am
Morning All,
Here’s hoping for a great game.
RICH1 – BJ is a strong scrummager and anchors his sides really well. He will never have the same impact that Smittie does in the loose, is not a better runner with the ball in hand, and does not get through the same amount of work that Smittie does. Then there is the leadership factor that Smittie brings to the table.
Tight Head play is not just about the scrum, but to be fair, thats a large part.
But he is a strong scrummager, probably the best technical TH from SA in the last 5 – 8 years. His stature makes it difficult to scrum against, and the man is very mentally tough.
12 Sep 2009, 08:33 am
Good evening everyone! Tonight promises to be an epic encounter.
12 Sep 2009, 08:33 am
#14 mk: Stormers….with open arms…please!!
12 Sep 2009, 08:34 am
Good Morning Esoteric!
12 Sep 2009, 08:34 am
#15 BULLET:
Have you watched him in recent games? I haven’t seen any NH games this season
12 Sep 2009, 08:35 am
#15 BULLET: good summation.
Personally i feel the loosehead can be the flashy prop.
The 3 has an absolute priority….scrum!
12 Sep 2009, 08:35 am
#11 rich1:he was pretty good last season in what was a poor Ulster team, he and the Ireland hooker Rory Best are a class above the rest of that side. But I get the impression the longer he stays there the more his game will depreciate, their standards aren’t as high as say a Munster or Leicester. Choice of club is often important I think, JDV should remain in good form with Munster but Frans Steyn might well drift with Racing.
12 Sep 2009, 08:36 am
RICH1,
Yip, I have. He is suited to the NH rugby, not as fast a game and typically forward dominated. He does well here, very well. Strong man, no doubt.
He will always do well against an England, Scotland etc etc. I feel that he falls off the pace slightly when we take on the lies of Aus & NZ.
Horses for courses in my opinion.
12 Sep 2009, 08:37 am
Howzit Bullet! (Are you James Dalton?
) Not sure what the weather in Hamilton is like but it is pretty damp here in Auckland!
12 Sep 2009, 08:38 am
Schalk is starting in place of Juan? Sjoe…
12 Sep 2009, 08:39 am
#24 Esoteric: WHAT????????????/
12 Sep 2009, 08:40 am
I just hope the Boks find their touches more often today enforcing as many lineouts as possible and they must use the rolling maul more. Those are their strong points and they must play to them.
By controling the game and ensuring more than 50% possession will ensure that they have a much better chance of winning the game. It will also frustrate the All Blacks who will want to play a running game.
Good luck Boks!
12 Sep 2009, 08:40 am
#12 grant10: They say Oosthuizen is even better than WP Nel. I think Oosthuizen is on the bench today. Os has really changed the Cheetahs forwards for the better. Maybe the Boks need Os to sort out there scrum problems.
12 Sep 2009, 08:41 am
Is Juan out?? Tragedy if so!!
12 Sep 2009, 08:42 am
GRANT10,
I agree with you actually. I currently coach a pretty high level of rugby and am a forwards coach, and to be fair, I always look for a strong man who can anchor the scrum. That said, I mostly want someone who can hold their own. Very rare to get a TH who can dominate an opponent as the natural wheel of the scrum is against him. Its easier to be a dominant loose head for that reason.
For the majority of the TH’s in the world, he needs to contain the loose head.
Also important to realise that scrummaging is an 8 man effort. When the timing and synergy is there, it far outweighs any 1 individual from the opposing team.
Furthermore, I believe that the referees at international level are struggling to read the scrums, all they can physically see at scrum time are the binds. When a scrum goes down, they are speculating 50% of the time who has collapsed it etc. Most scrums go down if there is too much of a gap before the engagement (an area that is policed by the ref’s in the first place)
Finally, the team with the ascendancy at the hit, generally will have the go ahead in the scrums, why would they collapse in the first place. Watch how often they get blown up. Amazing.
#26 iceman: don’t think Owens will allow any mauling.
Yup – according to Sky sport, Juan is wearing the blazer and is sitting in the stands!
This ref is a joke.
#28 grant10: He’s injured son.
#27 Dwarslat: Yes….a scrum doctor absolutely required….
I will watch that Cheetahs front row with interest today….glad to hear some 3 talent seems to be coming through.
12 Sep 2009, 08:43 am
ESOTERIC,
Not James Dalton
I can control by alcohol intake!-)
Good luck today, may the best team win.
12 Sep 2009, 08:44 am
I have my bar fridge within arms reach and I think it’s time for another Peroni
12 Sep 2009, 08:44 am
#29 BULLET: Great stuff…thanks for that….
What is your opinion on Smit at 3….?
12 Sep 2009, 08:45 am
remain calm Grant, Schalk always has his best games against NZ
12 Sep 2009, 08:45 am
#31 Esoteric: #32 BlueBlood: No !!!
Terrible news…a massive blow….MASSIVE…
Jeez , i am in a state of shock here….
12 Sep 2009, 08:46 am
#37 Big Hit: That’s right and I’m sure Schalk is keen as a bean to get stuck in there.
#21 Big Hit:
#22 BULLET:
Thanks for that. I think we should persist with Smit but need someone to come on in the last 20 when he tires, and I’m not convinced Jannie du Plessis is the answer there
Who is on the bench at flanker now?
22man 85man rugby!
12 Sep 2009, 08:47 am
#37 Big Hit: Well he has huge boots to fill today…Juan such a banker at the tail of the lineout….Boks hill just became a lot more steeper…
Hell i am shattered.
12 Sep 2009, 08:48 am
#40 rich1:
Correction we need a Liebenberg or non-quota 2 to come onto the field from the bench with JDP…
Bok’s have Ralepelle… AB’s De Malmanche… no contest!
#42 grant10: trust, he has the talent and desire.
I would have played D Rossouw at 7.
**** – that’s bad news about Juan. I don’t believe Schalk is fit enough to start a test at the moment. Who’s on the bench in his place? Kanko?
12 Sep 2009, 08:49 am
Juan out??? – fnok, dit is nou ‘n gatslag.
12 Sep 2009, 08:49 am
#43 money_man: stop your constant racist garbage man….get behind the boks now…..
12 Sep 2009, 08:50 am
S. Donald: “Ma’a Nonu is probably the most dangerous ball carrier in world rugby”… (excuse the spelling mistake?)
12 Sep 2009, 08:50 am
schalk…if ever the boks need you at your best it is today my man….no penalties …please!!
12 Sep 2009, 08:52 am
#50 grant10: Ja no high tackles or taking out players in the air!
#48 grant10:
Calling a spade a spade racist?
Whatever…
Bok’s do not have their next best hooker on the bench to their detriment…
Call it what you will!
#42 grant10: Refs having a shocker.
#37 Big Hit: Thats true. And its our last game, so we can hurt ‘em good.
12 Sep 2009, 08:53 am
#45 grant10: a Bull over a WP player?
actually it might not have been a bad call in the conditions.
12 Sep 2009, 08:53 am
#52 money_man: You mean Gary Botha?
12 Sep 2009, 08:54 am
what the **** happened to Juan?
*panic*
12 Sep 2009, 08:54 am
#56 WP_: Injury of some sort.
12 Sep 2009, 08:55 am
#52 money_man: Just dont need the negative karma….sorry for calling you racist though…
we entitled to our opinions…wasnt cool of me.
12 Sep 2009, 08:56 am
#55 BlueBlood: he’s playing for Quins today.
12 Sep 2009, 08:56 am
#54 Big Hit: For me its about the boks….Stormers and Wp come a distant 2nd to the big picture!!
12 Sep 2009, 08:57 am
haha, I’m not really panicking, Schalkie can do it!
Thanks for the news estoric!
#55 BlueBlood:
Sorry mate… Liebenberg, Strauss, Kuun, Fourie, before…
But let’s keep Grant’s ‘racism’ fantasy alive when all other logical arguments fail… it’s the Afrique way…
Ek is Bok befok!
#53 BlueBlood:
What do you mean refs having a shocker – it hasn’t started yet has it? Or have I got time zones wrong?
12 Sep 2009, 08:58 am
Okay…..coffee and a Calmette tablet….make that 2 x calmettes….gents…enjoy!
Got kiwis by 11….pray i am wrong.
Outta here
12 Sep 2009, 08:59 am
Good luck Bokke. Maybe we win the Tri-Nations today. Hoping.
Go Bokke.
#58 grant10:
Kudos… accepted…
Always prudent rather than ‘negative’ BOKKE BOKKE!
#62 money_man: Now i retract that apology….LOL
Enjoy the gane Money Man…and relax!
12 Sep 2009, 09:00 am
Boks by 2. COME ON BOYS! AAAHHHH!
12 Sep 2009, 09:00 am
#67 money_man: cool….
12 Sep 2009, 09:02 am
#64 rich1: Refs always screw us, so we may as well start early.
12 Sep 2009, 09:03 am
Nice little intro to the game on supersport. I like that.
12 Sep 2009, 09:04 am
#64 rich1: lol
12 Sep 2009, 09:05 am
Its been raining all day in Hamilton fellas!
12 Sep 2009, 09:05 am
#74 WP_: good stuff
12 Sep 2009, 09:06 am
#72 WP_:
Great on Fox too… got the blood pumping…
Go Boks!
Out of here…
I really hope that Smit doesn’t get pomped by Woodcock tonight.
#65 grant10: Jeez kiwis by 11? You don’t have much faith in our Boks today.
Boks anywhere from 1 to 7 today.
12 Sep 2009, 09:07 am
#71 BlueBlood: Game not kicked off and you are already crying referees. It is no wonder the world media has been pasting the South Africans. Woe is me the world is out to get us. FFS man play up to capability and the TNs is the BOKs.
12 Sep 2009, 09:08 am
great, that will suit us BH! Come on boykies!
12 Sep 2009, 09:09 am
Boks WCup champs, head of IRB leader board and outright favourites for the TNs. Play well and the rest is a done deal.
12 Sep 2009, 09:10 am
Grant10,
I think that Smit should not have had to move to tighthead to secure his place in the team. I think that PDV and the BOK management made a mistake by asking him to do that. I have made this point millions of times, you do not disrupt your winning team or drop/move the most influential player cause a youngster is knocking on the door.
In 1996 & 1997, Norm Hewett was the best hooker in NZ. Player of the year in the NPC if I am not mistaken, yet he warmed the bench for the All Blacks longer than Shimmy & Ralapele cause the Kiwi management knew that “YOU NEVER DROP/MOVE YOUR CAPTAIN WHO HAS WON YOU MASSIVE TITLES & GAMES!” Its the wrong message to send out. You let your Captain go out on his terms, when he is ready. Fitzpatrick overstayed his international welcome by 2 years, the Kiwis looked after him, the side settled, and they were dominant for his last two years in charge. Boks only won tri nations when Fitzy left.
Same can be said for Eales, Johnson & Fitzpatrick. If England had 2 better locks than Johnson in 2003, would they have asked him to change position for the RWC? Never in a million years.
I think that Smit is having a tough time at 3 for now, I also think that there is no better person in SA rugby to handle that position. He has experience on his side (not at 3), and will be fine, but I resent SA rugby for putting him in this position.
Remember last time the SA coaches thought it was a good idea to drop their record winning/equalling captain for a more “dynamic” player. That was Teichman for Skinstad. The net effect on the team was uncertainty. They moved Andre Venter to lock to accomodate Skinstad, crazy, and when that failed, they dropped Teichman. You then had Honniball threatening to walk out on the boks 3 months before RWC99. We went there, a disjointed team when we had the best players in their respective positions in the world 12 months earlier.
I think it would not have hurt anyone for Bismark to still be in the bench coming on after 60 and Smit coming off.
12 Sep 2009, 09:11 am
Yes money man, supersport showed the fox one. Big goosebumps hey!
Bokke yes.
12 Sep 2009, 09:11 am
#78 Puma: Going to be close. Bokke by 3.
12 Sep 2009, 09:13 am
#82 BULLET: why was honiball threatening to walk out?
12 Sep 2009, 09:14 am
Sky have misspelled M. Steyn’s name… he’s now “Stein” :p
12 Sep 2009, 09:15 am
I’m very concerned about today’s game. Methinks they have figured out our defensive patterns, and the scrum is not what it should be (granted the loose is top notch).
Schalk should be starting. Brussouw is now, old news. We need the mongrel against the AB.
Come on the bokke! I hope my nerves are out of line!
12 Sep 2009, 09:16 am
May the best team win and may this be a great game! ABs by 11, dare I say anyway.
Cheers everyone.
Game for me is to close to call. All Blacks have home advantage, backs to the wall, Carter there all pros. Boks have the team, the will, the spirit, but most of all they have their eyes on the last piece of silverware.
Going to be WAR!
Goodluck.
Jurrr I hope my nerves can hold out tonight. My Kiwi wife absolutely hates SA Vs NZ games! Hehehe :p
12 Sep 2009, 09:17 am
At least its not stain!
12 Sep 2009, 09:17 am
TAB has announced they have had someone place a NZ$50 000 bet on a NZ victory…
12 Sep 2009, 09:19 am
morning okes.
anyone got a link to watch online?
For those of you without DSTV or Sky, you can watch it online here:
http://www.justin.tv/allblacksboy
#86 Esoteric: Was in pub watching the one Aus game. Morne kicks for posts and one woman shouts ‘Come Steyn’.
After that, it never ended.
12 Sep 2009, 09:20 am
What an idiot that guy is esoteric! That guy’s gonna be very sad tonight! and will probably get very drunk
haha
@knersboy… please! I am marooned in the US. Anyone with a link, it would be sincerely appreciated!
BIG HIT,
I heard from his own mouth that he and a few senior players were angry at the way Teichman was dropped. He told Mallet that he would not play if Teichman did not play. Then, the Bok magagement threatened him over breach of contract. He suddenly injured his ankle.
It took a phone call and meeting between Honniball (who had never played in a RWC) and Teichman to get Honniball to go back and play for the Boks.
Teichman told Honniball that even though his dream had been taken away, he should not have to suffer too.
I reccommend to read Teichman’s book as well, you will get a great insight into the 1998/1999 season for the Boks, and how polotical agendas on the Management side led to insecurity in the Bok camp and ultimately a divide within the set up.
You should also understand the reason behind why Skinstad was thrown in at the deel end. For the 1999 RWC, which company was the cheif sponsor? It was Guiness. Who was the only Guiness sponsored rugby player of that era? It was Skinstad. Did anyone ever think that the major money contributor was going to see their poster boy play off the bench or not at all?
I stress strongly, that this was not Skinstad’s doing. I thought he was a brilliant player and great for the game, but you do not drop your Captain and change winning formulae’s to accomodate any player. It breeds uncertainty in the team and people who fear for their positions, do not play well.
12 Sep 2009, 09:21 am
#94 Esoteric: Thanks man!
12 Sep 2009, 09:21 am
#97 Crisis1: http://www.justin.tv/allblacksboy
12 Sep 2009, 09:22 am
#98 BULLET: cheers bullet and I agree.
12 Sep 2009, 09:23 am
Forecast from the local farmers just in:-
No wind, clear skies. Maybe some drizzle later at worst.
He reckons perfect conditions. Hamilton has come under the kosh from the media this week but its the epi-centre of the Rugby World right now….where would you rather be ?
#82 BULLET: #98 BULLET: Well said.
#84 BlueBlood: Thats how I see it. Boks can win this but it will be tough. I don’t mind as long as we win even if its by 1 that will do.
Burger in for Juan. Will miss Juan at the back of the line out. Hoping Burger has a great game today.
12 Sep 2009, 09:24 am
Boks by 2
Cheers buggers I’m off!
enjoy the game boys!
12 Sep 2009, 09:24 am
#102 WakaNathan: Just saw on TV there are lots of huge big clouds about but its dry. They say the field is still wet though. So probably will be a kicking game today.
12 Sep 2009, 09:27 am
Thanks NILS & BIG HIT.
Should be a cracker today. I think that the Boks will be much more focused than last week, but this side at home will always be very difficult to beat!
12 Sep 2009, 09:28 am
Bokke have just taken the field, an experienced lineup – Kankowski on the bench I see.
12 Sep 2009, 09:29 am
#102 WakaNathan: Welcome Waka – your boys are going to give it to us tonight.
I thought that Kankowski was in Durban still?
#106 Puma:
Really ? Mate reckoned there had been little rain about and theyd had great weather recently. Mind you, he spends alot of his time in the cowshed…
Either way he said conditions are good and the pitch is excellent.
Our coverage starts now.
kia kaha. May the best team in Black win.
dancey time
12 Sep 2009, 09:31 am
Stadium is packed – full house
12 Sep 2009, 09:33 am
I hate the sight of Carter…
#112 Big Hit: Soon… very soon
money_man is that you @ the stadium with the old saffa flag?
12 Sep 2009, 09:34 am
Brad Thorn reminds me of a scarred English Bull terrier…
12 Sep 2009, 09:35 am
which national anthem do you think tackler sings?
arghh, it’s raining.
Hier gat ons!
12 Sep 2009, 09:36 am
#118 gunther:
neither
Let the fun begins
#107 BULLET: I certainly think so, Boks will be on fire ans do will be the ABs. Bring it on.
12 Sep 2009, 09:37 am
WTF, penalty already?!? ***** ******.
3-0 should be in the 1st min
Smit pinged, see no mauling today.
12 Sep 2009, 09:38 am
crikey that’s a harsh penalty…
12 Sep 2009, 09:39 am
What the heck was that penalty for? Ag no man that was rubbish from the ref.
12 Sep 2009, 09:39 am
Johns Smith is such a ^&%^ he’s always in the way. Clear penalty – obstruction …. JS plays his best tests when he’s not involved in the game
12 Sep 2009, 09:40 am
john smit … typo! Soweto keyboard
12 Sep 2009, 09:41 am
Don’t know what Sivivatu thought he was doing there.
12 Sep 2009, 09:42 am
big hit I reckon he sings the new Zealand one and the Afrikaans part of ours…the refs going to play a big part of this game…. Classic
this can’t be over …. it just can’t!
Whatta kick !!!!!!!!
moer …… brilliant!!! massive!!
61 metres!!!
f steyn is a monster, geez, what a kicker.
12 Sep 2009, 09:43 am
Brilliant by Frans Steyn.
12 Sep 2009, 09:44 am
nice kick there from steyn hey transie ..
12 Sep 2009, 09:46 am
Nice one Napoleon Dynamite. Good kick girly.
Burger smashed his captain’s nose.
Steyn you beaut!!!
#135 XhosasKid: You are a fcuken arsehole
Jacque Fourie is a wing, first opportunity to feed the wing, he tucks the ball under his arm and goes like a wing
someone needs to remind Steyn this is not a highveld.
#141 Nils: these things happen
12 Sep 2009, 09:47 am
Steyn is really *REALLY* putting up a big sign saying “pick me” for RWC 2011
Again, nice fairy boy.
that should be a yellow
#145 Big Hit: I know. there was not a trace of irony.
12 Sep 2009, 09:48 am
trans steyn what a player…. watch the all blacks push for a rule change no attempts on goal from your own half !
12 Sep 2009, 09:50 am
Told you okes, ref having a shocker.
SCRUM!
Now Wtf were they thinking playing Pienaar ahead of F. Steyn the last 2 games at Fb
This is the correct combo of Burger and Brussow blind and open J. Smith to cover off bench who can also cover lock later on.
12 Sep 2009, 09:51 am
#151 BlueBlood: because he happens to penalize Boks sometimes? shocker, indeed.
12 Sep 2009, 09:52 am
#154 Nils: Should have been yellow. ABs lucky.
6-6 here…
bye bye John Smith ….. we wont like to see you again
12 Sep 2009, 09:53 am
#155 BlueBlood: Maybe you are right, I honestly did not see that, was absent for a drink. It happens.
12 Sep 2009, 09:53 am
Anybody else struggling with the TV signal?
12 Sep 2009, 09:54 am
Frans Steyn 6 – John Smit 6
12 Sep 2009, 09:55 am
What a boitjie!!!
12 Sep 2009, 09:55 am
9-6 good droppie
12 Sep 2009, 09:56 am
#160 XhosasKid: Morne conceded 2nd penalty for holding on
12 Sep 2009, 09:56 am
kick these f’ckers to death Steyn and Steyn double barrel shot guns.
12 Sep 2009, 09:57 am
try???
12 Sep 2009, 09:57 am
well, Roko was tackled in the air.
12 Sep 2009, 09:58 am
Bok’s coming home with the cup tonight
#165 Big Hit: TRY!
#164 skopskiet: that’s the spirit skop
12 Sep 2009, 09:59 am
16-6 need to keep it up
#167 skopskiet:
amen to that..
Early days yet lads, calm heads till 80th minute.
12 Sep 2009, 10:01 am
Spies shouldn’t have been penalised.
12 Sep 2009, 10:01 am
Boks +14. Fat lady has not arrived yet, be patient, folks.
12 Sep 2009, 10:02 am
only issue is Js at Th, schalk put a head butt into his own captain earlier, so if Smit can hold out till late 2nd half before Jannie or Gurthro have to take up the front row duties we should be able to close this out.
12 Sep 2009, 10:02 am
ABs will be fitter, they tend to finish the halves strong.
12 Sep 2009, 10:03 am
beautiful from the welshtard penalised for hands in the ruck, coming in from the side and going of our feet ….. when you are not sure what to blow why not blow it all…
First time I’ve seen Ndungane make a defensive tackle!
NZ pulled the maul down
12 Sep 2009, 10:04 am
Ref having a shocking game.
12 Sep 2009, 10:05 am
#174 Nils:
are you still pretending to be latvian?
3 massive kicks f steyn
19-9 SA
Donald better have an escort back to the hotel tonight. He’ll be the scapegoat if he doesn’t turn this into a MotM performance.
No. 3 Percy been showing Frans how to kick straight.
12 Sep 2009, 10:06 am
#181 gunther: No. I am. Do you have any problems with that?
ok, I’m playing big ears listening to the radio (TV signal not coming through)
Clever play du Preez
wtf it’s a Boks throw
12 Sep 2009, 10:07 am
wow, ABs lineout is complete shambles comparing to the Matfield and Co.
12 Sep 2009, 10:07 am
Ja, old girly steyn is finally making a contribution.
12 Sep 2009, 10:08 am
TV is back…well done MNET!
12 Sep 2009, 10:08 am
great turnover
12 Sep 2009, 10:09 am
steyn was thinking of a 70 m dropkick
12 Sep 2009, 10:11 am
#194 Nils: no he wasn’t stop being bitter
Wow, Barnes in NZ. He will do damage, surely
Good – penalty to us.
good man Barnes!!!
12 Sep 2009, 10:12 am
Barnes is attempting to redeem himself here perhaps? :p
12 Sep 2009, 10:13 am
Wayne Barns better get on the first flight home tonight Kiwi’s going to want his head
woo 22-9
Keep it up Boks – don’t take your foot off their throat!
12 Sep 2009, 10:14 am
Owens is giving NZ a 3rd gift pen
12 Sep 2009, 10:15 am
9 points to the ref
12 Sep 2009, 10:16 am
#203 Big Hit: no he isn’t stop being bitter
12 Sep 2009, 10:17 am
#186 Nils:
no new zealand in you then? no mate I am happy as long as you are happy….
Penalty my a$$
Smit scrummed Franks out of the scrum
12 Sep 2009, 10:18 am
Shocking reffing.
12 Sep 2009, 10:19 am
#206 gunther: I am glad you are happy mate. the more happy people the life better.
btw – why you think only Kiwis or people being in NZ can support the ABs? I know some people who support Boks not being Saffas or in SA.
Steyn (F) is playing very well tonight.
what was that from Carter?
#200 skopskiet:
it was a fair call though….not going to make the fans feel any better..
12 Sep 2009, 10:20 am
the score would be 22-3 in a neutral venue
12 Sep 2009, 10:22 am
Geez, I wish our commentators would stop whinging about the ref. Leave the emotional stuff up to the fans, just call the game.
Great half of rugby Bok’s coming home with the 3N tonight. 5 out of 6 some pedigree this team has if we get it right this second half
#214 Big Hit:
This is absolutely spot on.
I try my best not to moan about referees being one-sided because every fan is partisan. However, I think any neutral observer would be astonished by these calls tonight.
OFFSIDES? How can you call guys for being in front of the kicker when he hasn’t even had 2 seconds to put them on side yet, after he hoofed the ball 60m downfield? That may be one of THE worst calls I’ve ever seen an international ref make. EVER.
I’m seething right now. Thank goodness the guys on the field have more composure than I do.
Boks too good, simple as that. Theyre even better at all the shirt-pulling.
12 Sep 2009, 10:23 am
Abs need 4 tries in 2nd half and need to win 2nd half by 21 tough call
#205 Nils: He is too, the first two penalties were totally ridiculous!!
Xmas is early for the AB’s, but despite the best efforts, by the ref, the Boks are affirming their status as the top team…
Even though the AB’s had a lot to say about the Boks!!!
Go Boks!!!
this from the Times in the UK you HAVE to love our government who are not embarrassing at all
South African minister threatens ‘world war’ if Caster Semenya is banned
The South African Sports Minister threatened a “third world war” if Caster Semenya, the athlete whose gender has been called into question, were banned from competing.
Speaking at a press conference yesterday Makhenkesi Stofile responded angrily to reports in which a source close to the inquiry into the athlete claimed that tests had suggested she was a hermaphrodite. Asked how South Africa would react were the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) to say
that Semenya could no longer compete against women, he said: “I think it will be the third world war.
special
#215 Some Bloke:
I’ll agree with that too. Have to say the NZ commentators have impressed me so far tonight.
12 Sep 2009, 10:24 am
bloody ref pedantic….hurting us and keeping kiwis in game….dubious penaliies to them kiwis
Boks look like they’ve turned up for this one. Fitness could be an issue though in the last 20 mins. The ABs will fancy their chances to run a couple of tries in then. ABs also seem to come out firing in 2nd halves, not sure what GH says to them.
#217 MaraudingJ:
****, there were 5+ men offside there. clearly the kicker didnt move.
even when youre 10pts up yr moaning about the ref. poor winners, poor losers.
One last note before I run back to it. Right now, McCaw and Carter are keeping NZ in this game. Carter, particularly. They better hope he keeps firing, because he’ll be the difference tonight.
12 Sep 2009, 10:25 am
#218 WakaNathan: Ha ha, we learn quick to play ur game, almost as good as the AB’s doing high tackles, and shoulder charges….
So it’s a bit rich !!!
kiwis lineout piss poor!
It’s an aberration of the game that players and fans of all teams and countries are subjected to officiating errors that influence matches to such a high degree.
This is not because referees are bad, its that they are given and they accept a job they cannot possibly do. There’s too much to cover by one person.
NZ have been gifted 9 points.
2 shocking attacks on Habana….how is it possible that no yellow cards have come out? This is cynical bulls**t against our top attacker. Open season on SA players as usual, as per the whole season….let me hear one kiwi talking about dirty SA players again!
12 Sep 2009, 10:26 am
cocksucking ref, what a rubbish joke of a official!
well done boys, keep it up
#220 Cheetah 4 Eva: First one was good, Smit may blame himself. Do not know about the second.
You guys have habit to complain about the penalties you receive and in the meantime all penalties opposition receive are spot on.
#224 WakaNathan: Hey – don’t tar us all with the same brush!
focus for 80….long way to go…F Steyn 1 st kick best i have ever seen …ever…we gonna miss him R P Dont compare to F Steyn at 15
ref has given NZ a chance, would be a travesty if they came back from here.
Well, there it is for the whole world to see – Paddy O’Brien and his thieves. It will come out one day that certain refs were under the direct instructions of the arse-hole dwalf to nail the Boks!
12 Sep 2009, 10:27 am
kiwis getting the ref calls….fact!
#224 WakaNathan: when have you ever seen an offside called when the ball has been kicked to the opposition 22?
#224 WakaNathan: Come on man, try and be objective, any true rugby supporter must say the 1st two penalties were highly questionable!!
But we can understand the frustrations you are feeling, the AB’s were talking up their game in the week, especially Cowan, and Franks, the Boks chose to do their talking on the field !!
12 Sep 2009, 10:28 am
#224 WakaNathan: seperate issue waka, not about supporting the ref when winning or slating him when losing….habana being targeted blatantly and no protection from ref. Which happens to be his job. Will it take a broken shoulder or neck for you to see that?
#217 MaraudingJ: You are offside chasing a kick if you don’t hold your position until the kicker or another player who was onside when the kick was made plays you on – in this case the Boks who were ahead of Spies advanced instead of holding their position so technically they were offside. A strange one to blow given you see it every single week about 5 times in a game, but technically correct nevertheless!
Nigel Owens is by far the most pedantic ref on the IRB list, I’ve never liked his school-teacher manner much either!
#224 WakaNathan:
Mate, I suggest you go check it again. Spies is running forward, hard, after the kick. All the guys in front of him slow down to a trot. Seriously. I’ve watched it four times now. It’s a terrible call.
And don’t tell me I moan about refs. It is extremely rare that I come on here and say a ref is blowing to the clear advantage of one team over another. It’s happening tonight, though.
Keep the blinders on if you’d like, though. I’d probably do the same if the game were in South Africa.
#234 Big Hit: agree…well done barnes on that shoulder charge by read!
THIS IS LEKKER!!!!
#227 grant10:
hey, its not THAT good !
#231 Nils: Don’t ****** generalise ‘mate’ all sides and ther fans do that
12 Sep 2009, 10:29 am
far from over, especially with the ref!
#236 grant10: Ja. Just as well good old Wayne is there to set him straight LOL!
#244 WakaNathan: LOL…Enjoy 2nd half waka
12 Sep 2009, 10:30 am
#240 jonnymain:
“Holding your position” is, by decree of the IRB, open to interpretation. So “technically” my arse. It’s a terrible call, plain and simple.
#224 WakaNathan: It doesn’t serve any of us to overlook errors. Do you want another WC2007?
#246 grant10: agreed, ABs will come out firing.
bring on the 2nd half! Whoop!!
Ruan is a laugh compared to Fransie at 15. Frans jou doring!!!
Snor spend your entire budget to keep Frans in SA
12 Sep 2009, 10:32 am
#236 grant10:
not all of them. Bismarck holding Mils back from the play when FdP scored. Burger off his feet at every breakdown.
Seriously the Boks are playing awesomely but there are infringements unseen both ways. Stop yr moaning, its relentless.
#245 Atreides: tell this to your own Kamaraden, ok “mate”?
ffs, should’ve been the game.
That should’ve been the ball game right there! What did the ref call in the end? Is a Springbok maul now illegal according to the IRB??
#253 Dwarslat: Thats what he needs to do otherwise still select him at FB no matter even if he plays in the NH.
12 Sep 2009, 10:33 am
221. gunther : Your comment is awaiting moderation.
September 12th, 2009 at 10:23 am
this from the Times in the UK you HAVE to love our government who are not embarrassing at all
The South African Sports Minister threatened a “third world war” if Caster Semenya, the athlete whose gender has been called into question, were banned from competing.
Speaking at a press conference yesterday Makhenkesi Stofile responded angrily to reports in which a source close to the inquiry into the athlete claimed that tests had suggested she was a her m aph rodi te. Asked how South Africa would react were the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) to say
that Semenya could no longer compete against women, he said: “I think it will be the third world war.
special
12 Sep 2009, 10:33 am
#229 Atreides:
the Thug has also been warned, getting involved in an incident again. Oh, forgot that one ?
12 Sep 2009, 10:34 am
Smit nailing Franks at scrum time.
12 Sep 2009, 10:34 am
Near miss but it would have been kick of the year.
12 Sep 2009, 10:35 am
September 12th, 2009 at 10:33 am
221. gunther : Your comment is awaiting moderation.
September 12th, 2009 at 10:23 am
Speaking at a press conference yesterday Makhenkesi Stofile responded angrily to reports in which a source close to the inquiry into the athlete claimed that tests had suggested she was a (CANT SAY THE WORD WITOUT BEING MODERATED). Asked how South Africa would react were the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) to say
special
12 Sep 2009, 10:35 am
Jeez that AB lineout sucks! Don’t they practice?
12 Sep 2009, 10:36 am
#259 WakaNathan: Pretty harmless that.
12 Sep 2009, 10:37 am
good play, Ndugane
12 Sep 2009, 10:38 am
So much for all those sideline commentators crowing about the Bok scrum
#262 WakaNathan:
thorne is a poor man’s Bakkies almost as nasty almost as good….don’t come and play high and mighty about who is dirty….almost all the off the ball **** has come from your boys…
their lineout is k@k!!!!!
Grant did you see that last scrum?!
12 Sep 2009, 10:39 am
Spies not controlling at the base well at all.
12 Sep 2009, 10:39 am
Smit can’t be nailing Franks in the scrums. They’re both THs.
12 Sep 2009, 10:40 am
huge hit Smit
Smit on Thorne… Howzit! Remember me?!?
whooo on Thorn too, revenge
Ja, let’s drop John Smit [s]
12 Sep 2009, 10:41 am
Pwnd!
12 Sep 2009, 10:41 am
i wonder who got the biggest fright … jS or Thorne
12 Sep 2009, 10:42 am
Boks must slow the game down and keep it structured
12 Sep 2009, 10:42 am
Franks subbed. Smit +1
12 Sep 2009, 10:43 am
Hahaha Try the intercept KING!
yahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahaha
JDV on his last Boks appearance
WO!O!O!@#$%^(@#*(#_&*(# EXTREME!!!!
Suck it AB.
29 – 3
12 Sep 2009, 10:44 am
Yeeehah Jean!!!!!
12 Sep 2009, 10:44 am
#282 sglazer: precisely.
12 Sep 2009, 10:45 am
#277 Big Hit: Smit is scrumming against Woodcock, not Franks. Smit and Franks are both Tightheads.
Yes the intercept king puts them out their misery. 3N is coming home thank you for coming ladies and gent’s
Another wrong call. His foot was in.
JdV you beauty…………..Go Bokke.
bad call Barnes
12 Sep 2009, 10:46 am
This should not be happening with such regularity at test level.
12 Sep 2009, 10:46 am
PDV going wild
12 Sep 2009, 10:47 am
We must score big now. Bury AB rugby for a few years.
#271 Transformation:
lol…
Fukkit they’ve got a soft one. Wake up boys it’s not finished yet!
forward pass
Gifted try. From the touch-judge this time.
12 Sep 2009, 10:48 am
Time for Kankow to replace Spies.
pierre spies’ hands!
Forward pass allowed by W barnes was it? Oh the irony!
10 point game
12 Sep 2009, 10:49 am
Ndugane…fcking hopeless!
12 Sep 2009, 10:49 am
Toeava bringing them back in the game
12 Sep 2009, 10:50 am
ooooops focus boys….
12 Sep 2009, 10:51 am
Boks must wake up
#295 Big Hit: Yip thought it was forward.
Kanko needs to come on for Spies.
huge hit Steyn, SA in real trouble now, looking tired.
12 Sep 2009, 10:52 am
It’s ridiculous that the game is even close
Spies needs to hold on to the ball!!!
Final 20 mins, Boks will be tiring.
ABs creeping back into the game.
12 Sep 2009, 10:53 am
the ref kept NZ in it in the first half.
We’re still a 60 min team eish!
#301 Dwarslat:
spies making some big tackles not sure kanko s up for that…
Please boss piet no silly subs
huge scrum Boks
Definitely, we must drop John Smit
HUUUGE scrum from us
12 Sep 2009, 10:54 am
Horrific reffing. The stuff of nightmares. H.P.Lovecraft would be proud. It would scare Stephen King himself.
So much for the idea that the Boks can’t scrum…
Good scrum Smitty!
12 Sep 2009, 10:55 am
monster scrum from smit I think he will dedicate that to g10 the scrum coach….
12 Sep 2009, 10:55 am
The worst example of advantage I’ve ever seen played by a ref!
12 Sep 2009, 10:56 am
It is the Boks game to lose from here.
12 Sep 2009, 10:56 am
That scrum was for you grant10
12 Sep 2009, 10:57 am
AB scrum will be better with Williams (and Jack?) and C Hayman back in it. New lock is too lightweight for a good shove I suspect. 21 yr old TH prop is a bit ridiculous as well.
that wasn’t a penalty, Bakkies came from the backfoot
Owens is doing a great job for his mate Paddy tonight. Shocking decisions all over the park
12 Sep 2009, 10:58 am
Geeze it sucks to be at Work at a time like this.
How is the scrum doing ???? are we surviving ???
The score looks promising , lets hope we can see it through. Tri Nations 2009 here we come. This current squad sure is special…
12 Sep 2009, 10:59 am
#326 Big Hit: do ever Boks transgress? I read your posts and it seems they always are unfairly pinged. Always refs conspiracy.
12 Sep 2009, 10:59 am
#328 wp_boytjie: it’s not looking promising, tbh it feels like NZ are going to win if they get ball.
12 Sep 2009, 11:00 am
#328 wp_boytjie: watch online
http://www.justin.tv/allblacksboy
Sh*t , 7 points dif 18min to go . Come on bokke bokke bokke
#329 Nils: what did you think? the ball was out.
12 Sep 2009, 11:01 am
Kanko better stand up not my idea of a test match player, now they get space around the field with Burger off
What’s happened to the hot bok physio? Havent seen her tonight.
Kanko go bos boetie well played schalla the blacks finished with all 30 eyes
12 Sep 2009, 11:02 am
ref is all over SA
There he goes again to save the ABs under pressure on their goal-line! *** off Owens
Ahh there she is. Mmm-mm.
#333 Big Hit: I mean you are today always complaining about the ref, every time he penalizes Boks, it’s unfair. Every time he penalizes ABs you are muted as a fish.
12 Sep 2009, 11:03 am
The ref waits ten minutes before awarding a penalty for holding on [!]
12 Sep 2009, 11:03 am
huge turnover Smit, G10 I hope you’re watching this
12 Sep 2009, 11:04 am
#340 Nils: fair enough, but did you just see him miss the huge knock on?
#341 sglazer: cmon, guys, do not get ridiculous.
Boks, score a try now
wish kanko would go to 8 and spies to 7….
12 Sep 2009, 11:05 am
big kick Odwa
12 Sep 2009, 11:05 am
bokke, bokke wp habs
12 Sep 2009, 11:06 am
#345 sglazer:
you could sense that he didn’t want to give it…. but common sense dictated otherwise…
12 Sep 2009, 11:07 am
The AB’s playing well, but they should be playing from 32 – 3
12 Sep 2009, 11:08 am
ok Nils that should’ve been a penalty to NZ for a dangerous off the ball tackle on nonu, can’t say I’m not fair
Game set and match. Thanks for coming folks. Bok’s true champ’s of the 3n. This crouching twat can go sing his anti Ndungane sentiments somewhere else.
This team has evolved from a 60min team to an 80min team tonight.
Fourie should have been penalized there
12 Sep 2009, 11:09 am
#343 Big Hit: BH, when Roko was tackled in the air and Mils was blocked thereafter and FDP scored you were quiet.
I do not recall a single time in the game when you complained about any ABs penalty. So I presume you think they all were fair. For some strange reason I see you complaining about all bar one or two Boks penalties.
#351 Big Hit: I am saying you are very selective. That’s all.
Congratulations SA. Deserved title. Am not home so posting by my phone.
12 Sep 2009, 11:11 am
Bok scrum not the same without Botha, Januarie on?? not a good substitution.
12 Sep 2009, 11:12 am
Our bench sucks
5min. Is the game in the bag guys ???? Sounds like it…
F*ck Yeah
!!!!!!!!!
Pakslae isse moffie …
12 Sep 2009, 11:13 am
#360 kwaailight: Pakslae is hardehout
12 Sep 2009, 11:14 am
#354 Nils: that was a 50/50 and justice anyway because Rok clearly took habana in the first half
12 Sep 2009, 11:14 am
#359 wp_boytjie: no NZ just scored 2/3 minutes left
12 Sep 2009, 11:15 am
Well we have a try against us thnx to him losing a ball where we were in total control. And it happens often with him. He’s a moffie!
12 Sep 2009, 11:16 am
This is like watching a pantomime
12 Sep 2009, 11:16 am
why are we brining these guys on with the game in the balance wtf…
12 Sep 2009, 11:17 am
Anyway, no doubt South Africa have won the title and have done a huge job. Congratulations, they deserve the title for sure and top spot as well. They confirmed today that they this year are the best team in the world, while NZ have long way to go to regain their top status.
Luckily there always the next year. So folks, enjoy the well earned glory while it lasts.
On the positive note, even deep crisis state ABs have never dropped below 2nd spot and never have lost by 19 or more. That’s something.
Meanwhile, congratulations the mighty South Africa!
yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa whoooo hooo Boks win
F*ck come on Bokke see it thru
BOOOOOOOKKKKKKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!
Phew!! BOOOOOOOOKKKKKKEEEEEE!!!!! John Smit / Bismarck HUGE!!
Bokke rule. the ABS must eff off and never play rugby again. Rubbish country, rubbish people.
12 Sep 2009, 11:18 am
WHOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!! BOKKE!!!!!!!!
ves so who says Pdv don’t know what he’s doing. Best bok win in Nz yet in the pro era
we won!!!
That’s a series whitewash!
Awesome game. Wait for the outraged kiwi screams now of “WHY NO DROPPIE???”
Scoreline flatters the ABs!
#369 wp_boytjie: you must watch this WP
JOHN SMIT MAN OF THE MATCH – HAS TO BE!!!
IRB, you’re devaluing the game. Sort the officiating out.
It’s easy: add a ref on the field and give each team several appeals.
CONGRATULATIONS, SOUTH AFRICA. GOOD JOB EVEN I SUPPORT THE OTHER TEAM. YOU ARE DESERVED WINNERS.
Can’t wait next S14 and 3N to set the record straight though. Let’s wait a bit. Revenge is the best when served cold.
Cheers everyone.
12 Sep 2009, 11:19 am
#372 BlueBlood: chill down, pal. when your wheels will come off you will receive the same compliments.
12 Sep 2009, 11:20 am
#381 Nils: cheers nils
12 Sep 2009, 11:20 am
Bokke!!!!
12 Sep 2009, 11:21 am
Man what a win, team of the year coach of the year, fourie possibl player of the year and for the first time undisputed world no 1. No doubts, no suzie, no we didnt play the blacks or aussies no fokkoll just the best in the world.
12 Sep 2009, 11:22 am
the first 4 penalties to NZ was extremely dicey as well
#383 Big Hit: cheers Big Hit. Even though we are are “foes” here. enjoy the moment.
So NZ might still finish bottom of the table!!
bwahahahahaha
#372 BlueBlood:
“Bokke rule. the ABS must eff off and never play rugby again. Rubbish country, rubbish people.”
Rubbish remark.
#384 XhosaKid: Not dissing Smit now are you?
WOOHOO! TAKE 3-0 ALL BLACKS . HAHAHA. well done boys
12 Sep 2009, 11:23 am
crouching tiger must chocking on his words! PDV has delivered!!!!
#387 Nils: not real foes bud, have a good weekend
#379 Big Hit:
Agree. Awesome player.
#388 wpw: in any cae ABs will have the place for years kept warm by the Boks.
12 Sep 2009, 11:24 am
What a difference between McCaw and Smit.
McCaw never gave any credit to the Boks.
Smit gave all credit to how tough it is to beat the All Blacks.
Class wins.
I just hope PDV’s detractors will own up and realise they were wrong about him all along!!!
#393 Big Hit: no, not real. If I were in England some day (have never been there) we could have a frendly banter in the pub, no doubt.
#397 wpw: PDV a genius
Also, Smit’s finest hour.
12 Sep 2009, 11:25 am
Blueblood. Your graciousness in winning is to be commended. Spoken like a true rascist!!!!
#390 Esoteric: that was not me it was some idiot called XhosaSkid
Does that bonus point NZ won mean Aus can’t sneak into 2nd place?
take a bow john smit peter de villiers what a team…
12 Sep 2009, 11:26 am
#400 poppa69: just ignore him, dickheads are everywhere.
#354 Nils: Eh don’t think so mate. FdP was COMPETING for the ball in the air which is perfectly legal, or maybe in NZ it was a penalty – you seem to want to change the laws to suit yourselves. Suck it up princess. You lost.
boks have never won in Hamilton! That one gone! Hamilton “there’s nothing there”
Where the hell is their prime minister now?!!??!!
At least the stadium organizers are playing SA music through the PA.
That’s class.
12 Sep 2009, 11:27 am
#372 Blueblood:
Mate, grow up. Kiwi’s, apologies on his behalf. Totally uncalled for after such a fabulous game.
12 Sep 2009, 11:28 am
World Cup
Tri-Nations
7′s Champs
Super 14 Champs
No 1 Cricket Test Team
No 1 Cricket One-Day Team
Impressive. Never been done before.
12 Sep 2009, 11:28 am
#409 sglazer: Good work, every reason to be proud!
12 Sep 2009, 11:29 am
Congrats to the Boks. Awesome performances all year, much better than the sh*tty ABs for starters. Enjoy the moment. Hope yr supporters can show as much grace as yr Capt.
Frans Steyn won it for you in the end, him and that intercept genius.
Smit gives the middle finger to all those scrummaging doubters, good for him.
Anyone who goes on about hometown refs may care to pause for a minute and recall the clear & cynical offside by FdP when ABs hot on attack because he was your best player before AND after that YC offence. They wouldnt have won if Owens had given him his due.
12 Sep 2009, 11:29 am
A well deserved 3N win for John Smit and his ‘Boks… very close game though – the Kiwis, as always, did not lie down and play dead – they came at us and if there had been more time on the clock, the score might well have been different.
I think du Preez, Fourie and Steyn (F) and (M) have really shown the selectors would class exists in the Springbok unit and must *surely* make a case for overseas player selection?
12 Sep 2009, 11:31 am
#410 Nils: Thank you. All the best to you and your team.
12 Sep 2009, 11:32 am
Itsbeen a glorious year for SA. Totally deserved. Every team will be gunning foryou guys right through to 11. For my ABs. Kia kaha boys never laid down and fought till the end. Proud of the boys.
#411 WakaNathan: I think that sh*tty ABs team still could beat every other team. So it’s not all that bad, they are 2nd after the Boks. Which is no shame in itself, of course, and subject to revision in the future.
Bokke won, now WP, Liverpool, and Sundowns, then I’m over the moon, **** it!!, the Boks have made my day, we haven’t beaten the All Blacks three times in one year since 1949!!!!!
PDV!!!! PDV!!!PDV!!!!
what ever happened to ThamesideBokfan??
12 Sep 2009, 11:33 am
#411 WakaNathan:
For a second there you almost seemed to be gracious yourself, then you **** it up like a good sore loser.
Even the NZ commentators were confused about most of the penalties given against the Boks.
I wonder if there will be any investigation into the blatant plan to rough Bryan Habana up.
Three off the ball acts of violence. Clearly premeditated.
#411 WakaNathan: good man waka
What makes this even more impressive is that NZ and Australia have a significant travel advantage, as they have had for more than ten years now.
Oh yes brother!!!!!!!!!!!!
Let freedom reign, let freedom reign. Big ups to Pdv I believe it is your belief that the ABs are not invincible and that we can beat them that has lifted this team. It doesnt matter what people think of you as long as you believe and they do. They did not go there just to compete they went to win and that is just what they did.
12 Sep 2009, 11:34 am
#411 WakaNathan: Waka – magnanimous in defeat. Credit to the All Blacks for coming back so strongly in the second half – more tries were imminent had there been more time left on the clock I feel.
#402 SJonesIsAGit:
no 9 points to NZ, 7 to Aussie
#413 sglazer: And to you, too.
No matter that I am the ABs fan and thus feel disappointed a bit (not that much because in reality ABs are currently weaker than Boks), that disappointment is eased a bit by feeling thet we were beaten by the better team. We have time to learn and catch up.
12 Sep 2009, 11:35 am
So glad for Jean he could score one of his signature tries in his last game before going north.
12 Sep 2009, 11:35 am
#411 WakaNathan: thank you waka….you’re a sport mate!
12 Sep 2009, 11:36 am
#424 Nils: The skills, heart and will are there. It’s just a matter of time.
12 Sep 2009, 11:36 am
Last year we lost two home games…
This year we won two away games…
Awesome change from last year….and it come with a title…
3N Champs!!!!
12 Sep 2009, 11:37 am
#411 WakaNathan:
fairly gracious until the last paragraph
insincere in my view
12 Sep 2009, 11:39 am
We must make hay while the sun is shining: three more wins against the AB’s next year.
12 Sep 2009, 11:40 am
And PdV has shown he can coach a team to be consistent…
12 Sep 2009, 11:41 am
#411 WakaNathan: I just hope that you can go back and read all your abuse against SA and the Boks over the last couple of months and realise that you should have been blogging on www dot ISUCKCANALWATER dot com
12 Sep 2009, 11:41 am
#429 charo: Charo, you can not polish a ****
12 Sep 2009, 11:43 am
#396 YoMama: he did give credit to the Boks, that you cant make mistakes with a player like Frans around.
12 Sep 2009, 11:44 am
#429 charo:
True. What did you expect? Most of the Kiwi fans on here are knowledgeable and good sports, but Waka’s shown time and again he’s not amongst their number.
12 Sep 2009, 11:44 am
#433 JL1:
old waka typed the first part of his post through clenched teeth.
then….his true emotions burst out.
12 Sep 2009, 11:46 am
#436 charo: The humble pie is not easy to digest I guess
12 Sep 2009, 11:47 am
#429 charo:
well, theres no pleasing some.
12 Sep 2009, 11:48 am
#416 XhosaKid: lilith is with you on the Liverpool!!!
12 Sep 2009, 11:53 am
The thing that gets me. When ABs were no.1 the chorus from SA was wecheat. Never did you guys pay us the dues. Chokers prime example. Now. When we act like many SA fans. It’s bad sports but just looking over this thread shows me the true SA supporter. And it’s not a good look
12 Sep 2009, 11:53 am
Great win by the bokke and makes up for many of those close games that the bokke should have closed out in the past (Christchurch 2004 and Dunedin 2005 for example) but the kick/pass/run stats are very sobering. Amazing that we won despite this.
Kicks from hand Bokke 37 AB 33
Passes Bokke 39 AB 120
Runs Bokke 39 AB 95
Metres run with ball Bokke 151 AB 467
stats from scum.com
I hope to see a better return in the future against the AB’s. 3 away wins in 15 years is still well short of where we should be.
12 Sep 2009, 11:58 am
#441 bay_bok:
to me the worrying part of this game was that the ab’s are so much more accurate at the breakdown. the boks have a long way to go to match them.
but, an absorbing test between 2 great teams playing different versions of rugby union.
i lost on superbru but just happy that pdv, js and the boys pulled it off.
12 Sep 2009, 11:59 am
#427 sglazer: sure. meanwhile enjoy the summit scenery. Like certain Hillary.
12 Sep 2009, 12:01 pm
#436 charo: don’t be a sore winner, please, You are better than that.
12 Sep 2009, 12:03 pm
#406 Transformation:
We have? in ’98 when we won the 3N we won there as well….sure of it…
12 Sep 2009, 12:04 pm
Congrats to the Boks, deserved the win and deserved the tournament. Great rugby played here today, and the scrum really stood up. JdV’s intercept try was the moment of the match for me. Now make sure you hammer those NH nations.
12 Sep 2009, 12:05 pm
#444 Nils:
nothing sore about me nils – just not into insincerity
12 Sep 2009, 12:06 pm
I demand to hear what pap-broek Andre Watson has to say about this SHOCKING and INEPT refereeing performance.
Keo – Please contact the man and start a movement to get the standards up – otherwise- 2011 is going to be bad for the Bokke.
Rugby is too good a game to have it stuffed up by Paddy’s puppets.
12 Sep 2009, 12:11 pm
#440 poppa69:
They bring out they worst for you cozz they know it gets to you…
With the decent NZ’ers their mannerism is actually quite exemplary….
12 Sep 2009, 12:13 pm
I don’t want to sound like a sore winner but I thought the reffing was shocking tonight and very much in NZ’s favour.
Was last week too.
12 Sep 2009, 12:14 pm
*BLACKWASH*
12 Sep 2009, 12:16 pm
#445 Hmmm: #445 Hmmm: i’m sure i head skinstad saying we’ve never won there…but whatever i’m just getting drunk now!!!!!!
12 Sep 2009, 12:18 pm
#445. HmmmReply to this comment
We have? in ‘98 when we won the 3N we won there as well….sure of it…
1998 win was in Wellington
12 Sep 2009, 12:19 pm
Who was the official MoM?
12 Sep 2009, 12:19 pm
#445 Hmmm: #452 Transformation: It was actually at Wellington in 1998 that the boks won 13-3
12 Sep 2009, 12:21 pm
Slaptjips scored the only try of the game (Wellington 1998).
12 Sep 2009, 12:28 pm
Amazing game. Big up to the All Blacks as well. They’re the one team that never ever gives up. They always play for 80 mminutes. That’s how they won their two games against the Aussies and they came very close again today. There is no bigger contest in world rugby than NZ v SA.
I am in seventh heaven…
BOKKE!!!
12 Sep 2009, 12:29 pm
Welling ton…Hamil ton
One of the ton’s..
LoL
My bad…
12 Sep 2009, 12:30 pm
#447 charo: do you have detector or something? Why if we congratulate your team it sounds insincere for you? I hope not because of perception.
12 Sep 2009, 12:32 pm
#451 Harder-Faster: Yes, this year it is true. Blackwash. This is your year.
12 Sep 2009, 12:32 pm
#452 Transformation:
Well Bob is not very bright…so I’d rather wait for confirmation from someone else…LoL
12 Sep 2009, 12:34 pm
#435 MaraudingJ:
So even when I predicted the Boks would take the Trophy before the match, praised Smit for his scrumming, Frans kicking, that the Boks were awesome and deserved, that is supposedly ‘insincere’.
I dont say things to please morons like you and JL1. Im surprised at Charo, he’s usually fair albeit a cou[ple of wires missing. But all I got from my Safa mates during game was sms’s saying Owen was a ‘cheat’. FFS, you guys should grow up. Is there not enough for you to be happy about ?!
If the Blacks had won, which they could have (and would have if FdP had, rightfully, got a YC) then it would have been an undeserved steal in anyones books, not least mine. They were ****, the Boks werent.
Frankly, if even BH is big (hit) enough to say my summary was fair, then I dont give a sh*t about imbeciles like you.
Check out Blueblood at 372 and go away and feel proud about yourself. The Boks were clapped from the field by the Hicksville natives. Good winners, good losers.
12 Sep 2009, 12:34 pm
#455 OutWide: #456 OutWide: thanks outwide! Go bokke
12 Sep 2009, 12:41 pm
Well done Bokke. Feel awesome today.
12 Sep 2009, 12:41 pm
#462 WakaNathan: come on waka mate…stop being pedantic…thanks for your sportsmanship…dudes are probably drunk…don’t take it personal…
12 Sep 2009, 12:42 pm
Now hope that the ABs go and smash the Aussies next week.
12 Sep 2009, 12:51 pm
#465 Transformation: #464 Puma: congratulations to you, too. Have a nice day!
12 Sep 2009, 12:52 pm
#462 WakaNathan: “But all I got from my Safa mates during game was sms’s saying Owen was a ‘cheat’”.
Not sure what sort of Safa mates you have there but sounds like they don’t know their rugby. Franks was a non-entity in tonight’s game.
12 Sep 2009, 12:57 pm
PdV said he can take the WC winning team and add 30-40% to it, well that he has done, no questions asked, this team at least 30-40% more totally complete than any Bok team before for some time, Mallet’s ’98 team the last true dominating Bok team.
PdV and coaches and all concerned have taken a good team and made it great. I’m stll looking for all those doubters who less than a year ago said ’07 was the end of Bok rugby and we were going to spiral into dismal nonentity with PdV at the helm. Where are all these nay sayers now?
12 Sep 2009, 13:02 pm
Carter’s kick in the 78th was very good, gave NZ a converted try.
12 Sep 2009, 13:03 pm
I knew it. I was saying Boks by 2-4 the whole week, i’m quite proud of that!
well done john, well done boys, good job PdV for picking the best players
12 Sep 2009, 13:06 pm
#459 Nils:
nils, you are being finicky.
go read waka’s post congratulating the boks ….. then ending it with a gripe about a single incident concerning fdp.
came across as insincere …… apologies if i was wrong.
btw, had a quick sqizz at silverfern blog……kiwis were generally very fair in their assessment of the game. most blamed duck and their lame lineout. my views as well
12 Sep 2009, 13:07 pm
The last time South Africa beat New Zealand three in a row, was in 1949.
Well done P dV, John Smit and all the Bok team.
12 Sep 2009, 13:08 pm
#469 skopskiet:
not so sure about this team being “great”.
they played with a lot of heart and kicked accurately but were monstered at the breakdown.
we were a bit lucky that duck had no imagination and nonu had butterfingers
12 Sep 2009, 13:11 pm
#462 WakaNathan: #467 Nils: Gnashing of teeth? Smit basically hinted the boks were good enough to beat 16 men and they proved that today!
12 Sep 2009, 13:14 pm
That’s the doifference Charo. We generally are fair. But you cone here and all you ever hear is ABs cheat. Refs in thier pocket blah blah blah. Can guarantee if NZ had beat SA we would never see so many SAs congratulate the better team. Most kiwis give credit where it’s due. As waka did. But straight away because he had what I think was a fair gripe. You ignore the majority of his comment. How nany SAs were conspicuous by their absence after your loss last week. And the majority blamed barnes for it
poor sports if you ask me. Some of the comments 373 I think. And SAs wonder why they have the rep they do
12 Sep 2009, 13:20 pm
#474 charo:
A win in Dunedin ’08 and another this year in Hamilton.. now how many times did JW get this right in how many starts, and we still unable to recognize some greatness when it comes around. We noways perfect, that goes without saying, still made some stupid decisions especially when less than 5 mts from the try line we couldn’t convert, everytime the option taken through Spies or FdP is still wrong. If we would trust our outside backs like NZ do, when we got them on the rack we would have wiped the floor with them today. So if we get that part right in time, we will dominate like never before.
Still 5 from 6 in the 3N, a totally dominant performance, and outright 3N victory, when all the HM and JW disciples were lamenting the demise of Springbok rugby less than a year ago, where are they now, crouching and hiding like hidden dragons on some other rugby site, or where?
12 Sep 2009, 13:23 pm
#476 poppa69:
assume you are not including me in the
“But you cone here and all you ever hear is ABs cheat. Refs in thier pocket blah blah blah”
that would be a serious case of generalising
12 Sep 2009, 13:28 pm
#476 poppa69: one does have to ask the question though, where are hurricane, cane and co this week? they were all over the place last week and their team wasn’t even playing
12 Sep 2009, 13:29 pm
No not at all. You have a Polynesian problem. I remember it well.
12 Sep 2009, 13:34 pm
Yeah fair enough big hit. But those that have come on have given praise. Charo accuses nils of being finicky yet he is finicky with wakas post. Focussing on one raised concern and ignoring the majority of his post. Looking for malice that wasn’t there.
12 Sep 2009, 13:37 pm
#477 skopskiet: My God, you are boring.
12 Sep 2009, 13:39 pm
Firstly, let me get the obligatory pleasantries in place.
Congratulations SA, on a fine Test Match Win, and on winning the 3N.
Both deserved.
In fact, every match in this years 3N, has been won, by and large by the most deserving Team.
Now let me roll my sleeves up….and take off my spectacles…
12 Sep 2009, 13:41 pm
#462 WakaNathan: Waka, we lost last week cause we weren’t up for it and the Aussies were. However the ref was bad, but he was not the difference. If we had lost this week it would have been because of the ref. He was terrible. What was the penalty count. Your 1st 12 points were sketchy to say the least. Something needs to be done. If you can’t whine about the ref when you lose, surely the right time to whine is when you win? Great game, I just feel refs don’t protect us like they protected other great sides, like the NZs and England. Habanna gets fouled at least once a test match, if he was DC or Johnny you’d see a lot of opposition teams playing large portions of the game with 14 men.
12 Sep 2009, 13:41 pm
#480 poppa69:
it was a little joke that had you lot jumping…lol
#481 poppa69:
i said i apologise if i got the gist wrong – don’t think i did though
12 Sep 2009, 13:42 pm
#483 cane: ah cane, speak of the devil and what do you ya know!
Just kidding, good post. Well played to your boys, 80 minute team.
12 Sep 2009, 13:43 pm
#482 stormer in a teacup: wtf has God got to do with it
those are the truths, Pdv done what others couldn’t and we still play wrong options at the breakdown 5 mts out, nearly every game this series we could have cleaned up instead of slowing the tempo down and getting turned over nearly every single time within 5 mts from oppo line.
12 Sep 2009, 13:43 pm
#479 Big Titty:
I’m here Biggie….don’t fret.
And I’m very proud of my Team. At least they gave it a shot.
As for the Ref……………I loved him……….when was the last time you heard a SAFFA say that?
12 Sep 2009, 13:45 pm
#486 Big Hit:
“Just Kidding”………….I don’t think so Titty…
12 Sep 2009, 13:48 pm
Aussies beat us fair and square. Deans knew he could run us ragged if he got dominant possession and his double whammy 1st and 2nd fly half axis swing the ball all around the advantage line, we had no answers for Robinson at front row, nor the Smith, Elsom, Pocock combination. Last week Deans out foxed PdV, this week PdV and Smit and co. outfoxed and out played GH amd McCaw and Carter, who nearly swung it back at the death, one more those cross kick wing finders would have found its mark we could have been done today.
Frans Steyn’s kicks and his defence and JdV’s intercept, and the rest of the teams all out focussed belief and guts, the difference between today in Hamilton and last week in Brisbane.
12 Sep 2009, 13:48 pm
#488 cane: Ya great effort by the boys in Black. True never say die attitude. A great test. As for your comment about the ref, I’m sure you loved him, when we start getting the decisions going our way like that, then you’ll here some Saffas loving it too!
P.S. Need a lineout
Sorry couldn’t resist! Time to give Ross the boot?!?
12 Sep 2009, 13:50 pm
#487 skopskiet: Ya, why do we do that still? Some of Jake’s habits are hard to break!!!
12 Sep 2009, 13:50 pm
#488 cane:
Yeah you should be proud.
Other teams would have gone to bits after the JDV intercept and that lead.
Next week’s game is gonna be all kinds of awesomeness.
12 Sep 2009, 13:51 pm
#490 skopskiet:
Sometimes it works………Sometimes it don’t.
Such is life.
12 Sep 2009, 13:52 pm
#477 skopskiet: The only constant on this site win or lose is your spiteful vitriol of JW thank God for that wonderful desciptive Afrikaans word “doos” because without it we would have no way of describing you.
12 Sep 2009, 13:52 pm
#490 skopskiet: Yup, I agree. We didn’t bring the intensity last match.
12 Sep 2009, 13:53 pm
#492 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Yep some habit patterns definitely difficult to break, still comes down to self belief, we think we should keep it close and tight when less than 5 out when that is actually the time to spin it fast and catch them cold scrambling in defence, we always give them time to regroup and could be maybe 10 times this series we got turned over with less than 5 away from dotting a try.
12 Sep 2009, 13:53 pm
Also……….. before I get too ugly………..I think the last two 3N Test Matches have been magnificent games.
12 Sep 2009, 13:54 pm
#492 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Are you being ironic?
12 Sep 2009, 13:55 pm
#497 skopskiet: I know, its not even a safe option, cause we mess it up so much, might as well go for the speculative!! What did Owens reckon we did wrong there anyway????
12 Sep 2009, 13:56 pm
#495 4moreyears: You another one that can’t suck up the truth that PdV just proving he’s probably light years ahead of JW in terms of true coaching acumen… suck it up boyo, it’s about time .. for you too .. Doos.
12 Sep 2009, 13:56 pm
How prophetic were Bob Skinstads words before the game ‘OUR SCRUMS MAY BE SHAKY BUT THEY ARE KNOWHERE NEAR THE MESS THAT THE ABs LINEOUTS ARE” NEVER A TRUER WORD SPOKEN.
12 Sep 2009, 13:59 pm
#498 cane:
Yip true rugby spectacles both of them, great test matches out the absolute top draw, both last week and this week supreme tests of rugby tenacity and skill.
12 Sep 2009, 14:01 pm
#489 cane: come now, you I don’t think you are the devil himself, perhaps beelzebub?
What did you make of Barnesy’s calls today? I thought he did a stellar job and even provided a gift call to Roko. Can’t say fairer than that
I knew you’d enjoy Owens today, he didn’t half give you guys a leg up.
12 Sep 2009, 14:02 pm
#501 skopskiet:I dont and never have had aproblem with PDV I think he is a fantastic coach I just also give credit where credit is due ala JW.
But carry on no matter how many times you spout bull **** it aint gonna change the fact JW won the WC so once again I thank the Afrikaanse language for that word,Skopskiet is a doos now hasnt that got a nice ring to it.
12 Sep 2009, 14:03 pm
#491 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Ross is only 21 (or close to it). I’m happy to have him hang about for a year or two.
So even when you win, you Okes can’t suppress a whine about the Ref……FFS.
You pricks are beyond therapy.
P.S.
Just the same Ratel….Thank You, for you kind words (sincerely).
Cane.
12 Sep 2009, 14:04 pm
#504 Big Hit: Read some of your comments on the French coach thread,man that was sage like predicting very impressive.
12 Sep 2009, 14:05 pm
Well if you guys are honest the two biggest plays tonight were both by Dan Carter. Unfortunately for us they cost us. The intercept was crucial , as was his poor pass when he had roko outside unmarked. Fir a team with a fair few new players. To run the number 1 side so close is a big positive…
This AB side can get much better.
Well done SA. Long time between drinks. Out of here blogging by phone isn’t the best
just know
we will be back next year
Kia kaha ABs
Kia kaha Boks
#493 The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine:
And you also Meany……….Thanks.
#500 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): he called an accidental offside, he was a pedant in the extreme towards the Boks today, they had to beat him and the ABs.
Paddy O’Brien is putting a lot of pressure on these guys though to make certain calls especially with regard to the maul and chasing which were previously two key Bok strengths which he’s trying to attack. Henry and Hansen have his ear imo.
12 Sep 2009, 14:08 pm
#505 4moreyears: say it as often as you like don’t change the fact that most on here, (may have and may not have included you) were wanting PdV’s head on a plate not too long ago. PdV did what JW never could, taken NZ (twice) and in this weeks News report JW was saying its unlikely we win today, so who proved who WRONG, yet again. HM or JW taken this team forward from 2007, they’d been nowhere near as profficient and competitive or combative as you saw today.
So ‘doos’ all you like Pdv taken this team to heights JW couldn’t dream of, and whats more he’s done it with his own support staff he chose, he didn’t need an Eddy Jones to carry him most the way.
12 Sep 2009, 14:09 pm
#495 4moreyears:
Well perhaps 4more, Skoppie is only trying to give the site some ballance!
When was the last Article here on Keo, that gave Peter De “Hamilton is a dive” Villiers any Kudos?
12 Sep 2009, 14:10 pm
Congraculations to PdV and his captain. What a milestone! I have not watched the match yet- problems at work! When is the game re-televised today? Just seen some highlights on 200!
Can’t wait for tomorrow morning repeats.
#508 poppa69: The Boks have a long history of getting caught out by those cross field kicks dont know why it wasnt employed sooner in this 3n.
The All Blacks were bloody awesome…!!
The Boks were bloody-minded…!! on defence and sticking to their game plan.
This was like Ali and Foreman duking it out… Very evenly matched but each with a different set of skills…
I’m very pleased that today ours prevailed… I know it sounds hollow… but… the ABs have nothing to be ashamed of… They had us on the edge of our seats and out of them right up to the final whistle…
Well done to them…
But weller done to the Boks… the players and the coaches…!!
12 Sep 2009, 14:11 pm
#505 4moreyears: Exactly. Give credit where it is due and don’t try to skew the facts to demonise one coach and deify the other. To claim that all the good work is the result of this coach, but all the bad habits are leftover from JW, is to plumb new depths of stupidity and prejudice. Both coaches have their strengths and weaknesses and have achieved good things for SA rugby.Both have also had their failures. This little endless chasing their tail **** is clogging up the site the way pubic hairs clog the bathroom sink.
12 Sep 2009, 14:12 pm
#512 cane: Thats fair enough but what has JW got to do with anything he is history live in the now.
12 Sep 2009, 14:13 pm
Wow even when we lose we have the refs in our pocket big hit. Astounding call mate. Bit too delirious huh
12 Sep 2009, 14:14 pm
#512 cane: lol PDV didn’t say Hamilton is a dive, he merely said that there is nothing for an international rugby team to do there for a week. However, tackler has put us right on that score, apparently there is a lake there where you can go and feed ducks. If only PDV had thought of that.
12 Sep 2009, 14:15 pm
#504 Big Hit:
I had no problems with any officials today Biggies.
I rarely do.
On some odd occasion yes. Today No.
I see they are giving Barnsey a couple of NPC matches……..8)
12 Sep 2009, 14:22 pm
#511 skopskiet:
You are not easily intimidated. Tell them Skopie!!!
12 Sep 2009, 14:22 pm
#518 poppa69: I’m not blaming NZ here and it was only in the first half, he was better in the second. Come on you have to admit, some of those calls…
1st – maul forms, Smit pinged for obstruction, not correct
2nd – Smit slips – fair enough, although some refs might’ve allowed a re-set
3rd – Spies penalised for coming in the side, replay shows otherwise
4th – Spies boots the ball 60m downfield, ref immediately penalises for offside, wtf?
12 points just like that, and to my mind only one was correct.
12 Sep 2009, 14:23 pm
#521 Peter Mkata: Because only the closed mind is certain.
12 Sep 2009, 14:24 pm
#472 charo: alright, Charo, as I said, this is your year. I hope you will be equally nice and fair when Blacks will be on top again. Cheers, have a nice weekend and enjoy deserved celebrations
12 Sep 2009, 14:24 pm
#520 cane: about time, I’m just happy to hear he got out alive
perhaps Wellington will be fortunate enough to have a game reffed by his greatness.
12 Sep 2009, 14:27 pm
Mate. There are instances where one could say that the boks should have been penalized from coming in the side. Just seems sad you have to have a dig about NZ having refs in the pocket rather then concentrate on the spectacle just seen. The standard throughout has been poor and mostly with NH refs.
12 Sep 2009, 14:29 pm
When there’s something strange,
Inda neighbourhood
Whooyugonnacall?
Bok-busters** doo-doo doo dooo-doo**
Today in a small, remote ghost-town where naught care to tread
Large green men ventured- a single end their steely wills a-bendin’:
To seek out 15 dark marauders and a jiggly nancy-pants
An’ dispatch ‘em all over the place like galavanting riders ridin’ on ants.
I felt we were playing 16 men out there today (wakanathan – you’re a madman).
The boys didn’t give a **** – believed – and were THERE mentally.
I repeat, the ref made some decisions that veered somewhere btw laughable and f@*(ing unbelievable. It made the victory all the more titanic. Heros and beauties the lot of ‘em from 1 to 15. hardman bakkies, genius fourie, general smitty, flyin-matfield, jet-boy habsy, cool-hand-steyn, bull-bismarck, schalk the hulk, rocket-boot frans and the names keep comin’ And a special mention for hard grafter juan in absence today.
MOTM -that flawless gem Fourie, who else? Honourable mention for Smitty though who was immense… and Bizzy.
12 Sep 2009, 14:30 pm
off for a drinks, again – congratulations, South Africa and every single Bok fan here, this is your year, well deserved. Enjoy it!
November will come soon enough and then – S14, be ready.
For now, my hat off to South Africa (for the record umpteenth time), well done.
12 Sep 2009, 14:34 pm
#525 Big Hit: “by his greatness”
You know, most Saffas will not agree with you anymore after Brisbane and Bloem. Hard time ahead.
12 Sep 2009, 14:35 pm
#526 poppa69: well poppa, everything that seems to be in the press by certain coaches like reffing of the maul and offside by chasers suddenly seem to be tightened up in the extreme on the field. Imo it’s no coincidence that these are two big Bok strengths which were suddenly more heavily penalised mid-tournament. I don’t think that’s fair.
I do agree the Boks could’ve been penalised more in the second half, they were lucky to get away with an off the ball tackle on Nonu in particular.
12 Sep 2009, 14:36 pm
Man the humble pie is sweet!!! What a win, J Smit you shut me up good and solid!
Tell you what i reckon those kiwis may lose again next weekend as well….dont want to be an ungraciuos winner but The kiwis kept in the game in the 1 st half by some **** reffing!….
If Kiwis lose again i reckon GH may be under threat??
#508 poppa69:
hey pops whats with all this kia kakka bS??
give it to the Skop, thamesidebokfan, crouching-tiger-hidden-doos and all their pdv doubting mates! They must suck it up! The wee maestro (thanks cab) has pervailed and won the tri-nations outright, no help from australia needed.
Are all south african super14 teams going to use pdv’s strategy of how to tour? You don’t have to stay in “nothing towns” where “hotel fatigue” LOL can **** with ur players!
12 Sep 2009, 14:38 pm
Bumped into percy montgomerys wife after game…she missed the last 10 minutes as she went shopping!!!LOL
Very nice lady.
#529 Nils: oh I know, but one day they too will see the light
enjoy your drinks nils
#525 Big Hit:
The day Barnsey gets a game in Wellington.
Is the day, I spit his left testicle down his own throat.
“Choke on this……TTTTh…….you pommie barstaaard.”
12 Sep 2009, 14:39 pm
I reckon a statue of PDV in Main road Pretoria on the cards….what a maestro….2 wins in Kiwiland now…..this one a lot more convincing than Dunedin.
12 Sep 2009, 14:41 pm
Beers are col…sea is blue….fire will be lit at 18h00….braai and a celebration of hopefully what will be a WP and Sharks wins as well…..
12 Sep 2009, 14:41 pm
Big hit, I’ll leave you with some words of wisdom mate. ” where’s cane and them, they were here all week and their team wasn’t involved”. : wink:
Later all
congrats SA. Finally a WC champ living up to the title. Nice change isn’t it lol
12 Sep 2009, 14:42 pm
#538 grant10: Can life get any better???
12 Sep 2009, 14:42 pm
#539 poppa69: great game today Poppa…great game!
12 Sep 2009, 14:45 pm
#536 cane: lmao
#539 poppa69: cheers pops
12 Sep 2009, 14:48 pm
#536 cane: Therapy’s coming along well then.
12 Sep 2009, 14:50 pm
#535 Big Hit: you say it only because you know England will be spared of the luxury of Barnesey reffing.
Not South Africa though.
12 Sep 2009, 14:51 pm
#531 grant10: no he will not. Yet. He will be under fire if he lose to Italy. Or Wales. Or England.
12 Sep 2009, 14:52 pm
cheers folks – enjoy your win.
Off for the sun and cold beer. See you later for CC.
12 Sep 2009, 14:53 pm
grant10 please save a chop for me on that braai of yours!!!!!
12 Sep 2009, 15:43 pm
#506 cane:
no, he’s 24yrs. Still young by tight-fwd standards. He’ll be good with Ali.W back next yr. He still only looks a 3rd lock to me, we really need a tighthead-lock to eventually replace Thorn.
12 Sep 2009, 15:46 pm
#510 Big Hit:
stop blowing smoke BH, thats ridiculous. One minute its SH refs. Next (after Brisbane) its NH refs. Now its SH refs controlling NH refs. Really very pathetic, where will it end ?
12 Sep 2009, 16:12 pm
#527 fouriedavinci:
16 men blah blah. SH refs….blah blah….NH refs blah blah…SH refs controlling NH refs blah blah….
No complaints from Kiwis or ABs when its was all blowing Boks way in Bloem and Durban. Not 1.
Charo will tell you that any praise is ‘insincere’. Despite that, check how many Kiwis here are being ‘insincere’. They appear to, universally, be an insincere lot. Apparently.
When I mentioned all my Safa mates were constantly complaining about ‘cheating’ ref Owens, Esoteric @ 468 said “Not sure what sort of Safa mates you have there but sounds like they don’t know their rugby”. Well, Esoteric, I can tell you 1 thing – NZers cant teach Safas anything about rugby, that much is (sincerely) true. But we most certainly can teach you how to win with grace and lose with grace. Because just go over this thread and see how many references there are to ’16men’. Actually, the exception is easier to pick up for their rarity.
To all those Safa bloggers here who I truly respect as being fair, 2-eyed, but no less passionate (ps – Im not, sincerely, asking for it back btw. Im sure I p*ss them off too) – but to Puma, Soda, Sheriff, WPUID, Skoppie, David, Mshiniwami, Atriedes, Gunther (Im sure Ive missed a couple) – I really hope you enjoy basking in the sun. Your team played v.well, your Capt was gracious, you have some amazing players (Bismarck, Matfield, Brussow, FdP, JdV, Frans and my favourite, Habana); you should be rightly proud of them. What a team !
To all the other whinging chip-on-yr-shoulder ungracious apologists, you will never ever truly be happy so there is nothing I can say, or want to, to help you on yr way to the ***-ylum. Find peace, some where, some how if not for your own sake but to those around you.
12 Sep 2009, 16:16 pm
#550 WakaNathan: I’m not with the anti-ref brigade but here were plenty of whinges from the kiwi boys after Bloem and Durban. Poppa for one, almost had to be carried off in a straightjacket.
12 Sep 2009, 16:18 pm
#440 poppa69: Oh please. Once again you focus ONLY on the poor examples of sprtsmanship by SOME SA’s….like no-one in NZ is ever a bad sport.
Give it a rest, and rather focus on the many gracious SA fans (in victory and defeat). If you choose only to look for the negative, you will always find it.
12 Sep 2009, 16:20 pm
#462 WakaNathan: I really don’t think this is a sh***y AB team at all….they’ve beaten the aussies twice, and gave me several coronaries in the sseond half, as usual….
12 Sep 2009, 16:23 pm
#372 BlueBlood: Nice. Very nice. Real class there. Wow, you make me proud to be a Saffa, thanks!
12 Sep 2009, 16:27 pm
#554 Atreides: Yeah. There is stupid and then there is this ****.
12 Sep 2009, 16:28 pm
#472 charo: That’s stupid, they blame Donald for everything form losing to global warming!!! I thought he’s come on well this season, and he’s nowhere near as **** as they say he is…look at Mr Big Shot wannabe-be-a-hardass-but-can’t Nonu…he was garbage the whole match!
12 Sep 2009, 16:32 pm
#476 poppa69: Change your nic to Captain Generalisation. Liek I aid before, you see what you expect to see. I saw a lot of guys on this blog conceding that Aus were by far superior, the ref was not to blame for the loss, and that we had to get our house in order before today. But you, as usual, latch onto the idiots, and then have the gall to come on here with your one eye pontificating about how all of us are like that.
12 Sep 2009, 16:37 pm
what an epic game and to win the tri-nations vs new zealand in new zealand against an al black team that didn’t know the meaningof surrender (do they ever?)somehow it just means so much more well done boks and coaches….legend all…
12 Sep 2009, 16:40 pm
#552 Atreides:
No, Poppa is no less sincere in his praise of the Boks. Even when the Boks whupped the Blacks in Bloem & Durban, where the penalty count was OTT for SA (apparently down to, you guessed it ABs “cheating”), even then the ref was a cheat. Even in Perth, the ref was a cheat. Of course he was, he’s a ref. It was SH Australasian conspiracies. It was Barnes next, he’s a Pom. Then, as always, its Paddy. So what id Owen ? a cheat for calling offside or just naive for letting off a clear cynical foul by FdP ? perhaps, really, you just want it both ways ?
Unfort its not just the fans is it. PdV hasnt stopped complaining. Smit leading out the Boks with JUSTICE armbands, refusing to accept a ruling, suggesting that the Citing process was a cheat. It just never ever stops. Its relentless, win or lose. And even praise is now ‘insincere’.
Besides, Atriedes, are you not wanting the best of both Worlds when I read yr comment @
#554 Atreides: ?
Yep, there is stupid and then there IS cr@p, Stormer. **** **** ****.
#555 stormer in a teacup:
12 Sep 2009, 16:48 pm
Yea it was an awesome match to watch my heart!! Congrats to the AB’s on there usual 80 minute effort
I didn’t have too many problems with the ref today, those 50/50 calls go both ways, sometimes we benefit and sometimes we don’t. I did however get upset at his inability/unwillingness to protect Habana. The guy is one of the brightest lights in world rugby, and if the refs are true professionals they CAN NOT allow those types of career threatening attacks to continue unpunished. If you think I’m being melodramatic, perhaps…but the tackles on players in the air (FdP and Habana) have to stop. As dangerous as a spear tackle IMO, and isn’t it supposed to carry an immediate YC? As I recall, other sides get pretty tetchy when Carter, Wilkinson, Giteau etc get targeted like that. Other than that, me happy!!!
Oh, and a shout out to our kiwi mates, thanks for the congratulations and graciousness guys, we’ll enjoy this one, but there’s always next year! You can’t enjoy winning if you never lose I guess.
12 Sep 2009, 16:49 pm
#559 WakaNathan: I was being somewhat sarcastic in my reply to that numbnuts Blueblood
12 Sep 2009, 16:54 pm
#561 Atreides:
that was 100% obvious old boy.
Altho, Im told sarcasm aint allowed around these here parts. I certainly dont mind it.
12 Sep 2009, 16:56 pm
#559 WakaNathan: Perhaps I am, Waka….I just think that if you don’t feed trolls, they die. Like weeds.
12 Sep 2009, 16:57 pm
#562 WakaNathan: Lol good, your question mark had me worried there for a sec!
12 Sep 2009, 17:02 pm
#563 Atreides:
because yr pts at
#552 Atreides:
and
#554 Atreides:
seem to contradict each other somewhat. Maybe you have a problem with Poppa that is skewering yr judgement there. No worries, Im sure Ive pissed u off too in the past. It aint a popularity contest after all, aye Big Hit ?
12 Sep 2009, 17:11 pm
#550 WakaNathan: 3 – 0….did you read that 3 – 0…stop complaining ffs!
12 Sep 2009, 17:23 pm
#559 WakaNathan: poppa knows how he reacted, you don’t have to come here & be his advocate…he has apologised for it…now you’re coming off as abit of a doos! The whole day people have been gracious for your sportsmanship & congratulations for the boks, but no, you want everyone to acknowledge you…grow the **** up!
12 Sep 2009, 17:37 pm
oh yipee, Bluebloods youngest brother has turned up. Outta here.
12 Sep 2009, 18:45 pm
#559 WakaNathan: You just grapes cause you loss, take your **** commets somewhere else – go such eggs with teh Aussie.
12 Sep 2009, 18:47 pm
#567 Transformation: He got a chip on his shoulder cause his might AB team has just been flattened for the 3 time in a row by the Bokke.
12 Sep 2009, 18:49 pm
#569 Rugbystud:
Go learn english with the other chimps.
12 Sep 2009, 18:58 pm
#559 WakaNathan: I don’t know about Northern and Southern hemisphere refs – I’ve never distinguished btw them.
I’m commenting particularly on today’s reffing performance in isolation. (Though for the record I think reffing standards have been generally poor for most of the 3 nations)
I’ve had a growing sense of uneasiness about the direction that rugby officiating has been moving in. The fact is that, as things stand at present, there is awfully little uniformity in refereeing calls from week to week.
Its gotten to the stage that the influence of the referee in any rugby game is huge – where are the days when you could say at the end of a match that the referee was anonymous in a game(and therefore good)? The truth is that any given game would be refereed very differently by a different ref. This is clearly bad for the game.
Any seasoned rugby fan worth his salt would have said WTF about the first 4 pens against the boks in the first half. The first penalty – at the very first touch of the ball by the boks after KO, set the alarm bells ringin from the start: A perfectly legit textbook take by Matfield followed by support and drive from the forwards. BANG – ‘obstruction.’ Unprecedented in my 25 years of watchin rugby. And on several other occasions throughout the game Owen was spotting ‘obstruction’ where the identical move in earlier matches were deemed fine by all and sundry. Is it right that so many decisions are made by refs that leave knowledgeble rugby fans mystified? I think it discredits our great game. I think the refs and the IRB need to get their act together. They don’t seem to have a clue and have allowed rugby laws to become a bit of a shambles – at the breakdown, mauls and scrum-time particularly.
It would be very interesting to take a video of a game, ask various refs how they would call it, then compare the results…
And to those going on about ‘ungracious winners’ and ‘saffa whingers’ what would they be saying if we mentioned it after a loss!? Where there’s smoke there’s fire buddy and these reffing (and sighting) performances are making it mighty hard not to become a conspiracy theorist!
FFS has anyone ever seen a pen given in front of the posts for off-side by chasers straight after the ball’s been belted to the other end of the field, as befell the boks today?!
As long as the grey area of rugby’s technicalities remain this murky and vast ‘whinging’ about refs aint going away. It makes football’s rulings seem pristine and transparent as spring water in comparison. And this ambiguity in the laws opens the game up to all kinds of unseemly practices – what price on a 250-1 Scotland winning the next World Cup?
There aint nearly enough monitoring or avenues of query available whereby officials are obliged to account for their dubious calls. In fact there aint any… All we get is Watson’s bland platitude that he’s ‘very satisfied’ with the reffing. We aint convinced. Go into specifics! If the rugby fans don’t call the suckers to account who will?
Wakanathan- instead of whining like a broken record about poor sportmanship, go into specifics about some of those calls – the 4 resulting in NZ’s first 12 points for instance.
I don’t know which FDP ‘YC offence’ you’re harping about. Was it more YCable than the late barge on habana?
Incidentally, I’m enjoying this victory very much and this aint complaining – it’s the rumbling of a rugby fan who senses something rotten in Denmark. I was overjoyed about today’s victory for the bokke – all the sweeter for coming on foreign soil … and despite refereeing decisions going overwhelmingly All-Blacks way.
This victory’s greater than the one at Dunedin – up in our top 3 since re-admission. We arrived as champs, we played like champs and we leave as undisputed heavyweight CHAMPS of the world. Amen
12 Sep 2009, 19:13 pm
#572 fouriedavinci: Well said bud. It’s what I’ve been on about for years now – not just this years 3N’s.
PdV is the only SARU official to have had the balls to stand up to the pathetic Paddy O’ Brian – Andre Watson WILL NEVER do it – he has absolutely no spine.
Things will need to be sorted out because it will destroy rugby if it does not – and not just for the Boks!
12 Sep 2009, 19:36 pm
#572 fouriedavinci:
#573 raven:
Go look on silverfern (NZ), rugbyheaven (Aus), ScrumV (BBC/UK), L’Equipe (Fr) – and see if theyre as obsessive about ‘cheating’ rugby referees as Safas are. Theyre not. They criticise their players, teams and coaches. Thats it. So maybe youre right and everyone else is wrong.
Or maybe not.
Looks like you believe Safas are trying to ‘save rugby’ from itself. I suppose that would be true Justice if they did.
12 Sep 2009, 19:45 pm
#565 WakaNathan: How so?
I didn’t like Blueblood’s post for obvious reasons
I also take exception to the way Poppa paints us all with the same brush, based on the cooments of people like Blueblood. When Pops had the decency to apologise for his meltdown, how many SA posters a: told him to p**S off and never come back, or b: assured him it was fine, no hard feelings, happens to everyone, we enjoy your posts, don’t be to hard on yourself??
Now suddenly, because of a moronic minority (and lets face it, every blog has them) we’re a nation of bad losers? I don’t think so mate.
12 Sep 2009, 20:06 pm
#575 Atreides:
To be fair, Ive already listed the ones who I think are ‘fair, 2-eyed, no less passionate’. Its reasonably long.
Its not just bloggers is it tho. PdV cant help himself – so Bryce was OK in Lions 1st Test but suddenly poor in Perth ? And Smit leading out the team with the armbands and refusing to apologise no matter what ? 1 penalised toughly (Bakkies), 1 penalised lightly (Burger) in the same week ? ignore 1, protest the other ? Sorry, but theres no consistency there, but solely vested self-interest with blinkers on.
Of course NOONE here is saying ‘ALL Safas’. Im certainly not. But to be perfectly honest, Ive got tons of rugby-obsessive mates (yes, ladies, I do have some) and none of them do. I still like my Safa mates that whinge about refs tho (all of them bar 1 does) but Ive stopped talking rugby with them, its down right scary, I thought they were joking at 1st. They werent.
Enough already. Your team was awesome today. To the victor the spoils. Next year cant come around soon enough.
13 Sep 2009, 00:59 am
#576 WakaNathan:
WAKA …. I am sorry, I am in complete agreement with the guys above. I also ahve to point out that the way the KIwis went on after their World Cup exit about Barnes decisions ….. was perhaps the BIGGEST reffing whinging fest of all time. Surprised the guy was even let into the country.
It seems you are nit picking here for the sake of nit picking …. The Saffa’s have a legitimate point, with facts to prove. I think they are more worried about the GAME than anything else.
13 Sep 2009, 02:58 am
#577 The Analyst:
Yes. But the ‘Barnes Game’ was but one game. Yes, the Kiwis whinged. Later. GH complained 7 months later, because he was contractually obliged by his employers. Before that the French, themselves, gave GH an International Fair Play Awrad for NOT whinging.
But the Boks Management & Capt have whinged, bleakly, 2-3 games this season alone. After 1st Lions Test. After the 3rd too. After Perth. After Brisbane. Crickey, thats 4 matches. Recorded, complained to authorities, arm-banded protests, simple plain old whinges.
In 1 season.
You keep bringing up Barnes in Cardiff. 2 yrs ago. Well, he’s just been 1 box ticked for you boys this year. Just 1 more ‘refs a cheat’ roadkill.
One box.
Ticked.
13 Sep 2009, 04:17 am
#352 skopskiet: Listen you little cnt if you honestly think Ndungane was doing a good job tonight then you don’t deserve to comment on the Boks performance on this forum! His hopeless attempt at tackling Sivivatu gifted a try to the ABs and got them back into the game…I’m a Sharks fan but I’m not so blinded to see that he is not up to international standard so take your hostile bullshit and fck off!
13 Sep 2009, 04:24 am
#392 Transformation: Choking on my words?! I’m bloody happy you doos! I got pissed off with PdV for his comments about Schalk Burger during the Lions series but he really is evolving into an astute coach! Yet I’m being labelled as an anti-PdV supporter because I don’t rate Ndungane? Eish you okes are absolutely pathetic! We pulled off a brilliant win today and should be celebrating but you bitter and twisted **** can’t stand it when everyone is getting along…honestly do us real rugby fans a favour and fck off! Sick and tired of all this political bullkak!
13 Sep 2009, 04:27 am
#469 skopskiet: Oh just give it a rest…you’re as boring as fck!!
13 Sep 2009, 08:08 am
Hey you crouching f’ckwit twat you already f’ckd off long ago *** hole. We still here u twat *** punk moron.
13 Sep 2009, 08:48 am
#572 fouriedavinci:
A faaa king men dude, well said…….waka waka “da ***** slapper” is just a doos. Ignor the sour grapes wan ker
13 Sep 2009, 09:12 am
#581 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Yip, stuck record. I heard he and PdV have a thing going………
13 Sep 2009, 09:21 am
#582 skopskiet:
Get in there Skoppie !
oooh, I love it when you talk dirty.
When youve finished your main course, Ive left you a little moist Whatever Sponge for dessert. Its slightly bittersweet, but also light and fluffy.
Bon appetit.
13 Sep 2009, 10:34 am
#578 WakaNathan:
SUre … pity the New Zealand supporters ticked that box long ago ….
13 Sep 2009, 10:54 am
#578 WakaNathan:
ANd WHY does Jaque Fourie get suspended for four weeks, for supposed ‘spear tackle’ on Nonu?? And NOTHING happens to Reed (blatant shoulder charge, should have been yellow, AND cited) and Rokokoco for taking out Habana in the air????
Please explain???
MAYBE this will make you understand why we ‘whinge’ about refs and officials ….
Compare what Fourie did to what Thorne did to Smit last year …. he gets ONE week.
All we are asking for is that the same ‘/rules’ apply to others ….
Is that such a bad thing?
13 Sep 2009, 13:12 pm
#587 The Analyst: Aaaah, in fact Wakanathan’s reasoning/argument skills are the equivalent of a peanut in an ashtray.
He’s a waste of time. Let him ‘tick his boxes’ to his hearts content.
What needs to happen is a SARU official with balls and brains needs to somehow wangle himself into the office where the faceless twits that call the shots sit down for their cake and gravy. Cos SA sure as hell don’t seem to have anyone fighting their corner at present…’cept papbroek Watson who has a massive phobia for making waves…maybe cos his job depends on it? And PdV who gets routinely laughed out before he’s finished a sentence.
The IRB are screwin with us IMO no doubt.
13 Sep 2009, 13:37 pm
#582 skopskiet: Wow this is like being back in the school yard again…a bit rich being called a fckwit when its coming from the world’s biggest dooooos! Everyone else is celebrating an amazing Tri-Nations victory yet you still choose to pick fights with bloggers for absolutely no reason just because they were disappointed with the piss poor defence of a player that happens to be black! You’re one pathetic bitter little prck you know that and a disgrace to the South African nation!
13 Sep 2009, 13:55 pm
#579 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: he was wrong-footed, Burger’s lack of test match fitness caused that try.
13 Sep 2009, 14:16 pm
crouching f’ckwit, don’t come talk your highfalutin bunch of prat nosed punk *** sanctimonious delinquency here, where you posting from you prat arsed d!ckhead, from out the bosom of Her Majesty’s hidy hole? Wtf you schmuck *** punk eyed idiots doing posting about SA rugby and its conditions for from over there?
You like whatever, like the other denial driven delinquent grandiose colonialist chicken ***** such as Tackler et al, have one feeble condition in common, you go hob nob and shelter your arse licking debauched racist delinquency and highfalutin arrogance from somewhere else, you hide beneath the stately protectionism of your new found colonialist havens like that muddy island or the other one, and then you second grade punk *** hypocrites come chuck your self delusional delinquency across your oceans of your self made discontent.
I say to you go to hell, and stay there, for as long as it takes to rid yourself of that prat nosed highfalutin arrogant racial delinquency that you punk *** pr!cks were bred on, you catch my drift, punky prat, you and your hob nob self righteous colonialist funky faced buddies.. or still not yet?
13 Sep 2009, 14:27 pm
#591 skopskiet: and a wonderfully good afternoon to you too Skop.
I can hear you giggling from way down the railway track near the stadion
13 Sep 2009, 14:39 pm
Howdy Tassies, great test match out the top drawer, no? In spite some these prat nosed d!ckheads that still firmly believe it is John Smit, Victor Matfield and JdV fully responsible for coaching the team, and some our wings are only there to fulfill second grade quota based portfolio’s.
punks like these take the gloss off a great and composite win, something no other ‘White’ coach got right in all his 4 years of trying.
13 Sep 2009, 14:47 pm
#589 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: I didn’t think he had a bad game Crouch. Nothing spectacular tho but certainly was solid under the high ball and gave little away. The Boks missed many tackles in the dying moments. They were buggered by this stage of the contest. Ricky missed four I think.
13 Sep 2009, 14:54 pm
#593 skopskiet: Great win. One of the best I’ve ever seen. And I’ve watched plenty. That was a team effort. A serious team effort. Sure JS led the team well, played brilliantly and Matfield and Fourie Dup were their usual best. But the others, all of them, contributed to the whole. I liked the Scalla/Brussouw/Spies combo. The 2 x Steyns are something else. Habs’ work rate and skills are at an alltime high. I got nervous when all the replacements came on. This was vindicated. Nearly blew it. That was an extremely bad move. Looked like the coach was doing them a favour at the risk of gifting the game. Was mighty close. What if Carter’s kick had found his man? Then what? PdV might have had to return to SA in disguise.
13 Sep 2009, 15:06 pm
#595 TASSIES: Correct they all played out their socks, one for all and all for one, a great team effort of immense proportions, and orchestrated by no other than PdV and his assistants and his combined ‘team’ of players, coaches and support staff.
Double whammy Steyn’s something else, JS rising to the big game occasion, Matfield, FdP, Habana, JdV, Fourie, and the Schalk, Brussow combo working well in tandem (apart from SB’s headbutt on JS). Thought Spies still has some way to go to be a truly pioneering No.8 off the back, and FdP must still learn when to whip it out and when to grind it up, we lost plenty opportunities this year through sheer lack of vision when camped on oppo try lines through sheer negligence of getting the ball to backs when we less than 5mt out, how many times this ingrained habitual pattern sets in and we come away with a turnover or penalty against instead?
Still like you say a magnificent performance all told.
I’m not so concerned with the wholesale replacement issue 2 minutes out, I thought we weren’t going to lose it from there. This is something one should perhaps develop some faith in, after all PdV himself has sufficient faith in his players as is pretty much prevalent from the results which talk for themselves this year, its more a case of the so called ‘supporters’ who have next to zero faith in the wee ‘puppet’ maestro instead.
13 Sep 2009, 15:20 pm
#596 skopskiet: sure. all true. But I disagree on the replacements. That was a huge gamble which nearly backfired. How close to the Kiwi No 5′s fingers was that kick. If it stuck and he fell over the line, the coach would have been crucif(r)ied. I would have been mortified had we lost. Ricky slipped four tackles in as many minutes. Nope. That was daft in my extremely humble opinion.
13 Sep 2009, 15:44 pm
#587 The Analyst: Mate, you’re just going to get jeered, told you’re a conspiracy theorist and paranoid. I am the least paranoid guy I know (lol does that even make sense) and I despise the conspiracy theory attitude about refs, but my god, this past season has had some seriously glaring irregularities….
Ok kiwi friends, engage me on this without resorting to mockery, just bear with me; (oh and a rider, I do not think our players are a bunch of sweeet-cheeked choirgirls for one second, just in case you think I’m saying they’re always innocent)
Ok so Jacues F ha been banned for 4 weeks. I haven’t seen the replays, but if he’s guilty, good. Thought he was **** yesterday anyway lol.
Just this season though, we’ve had Habana almost decapitated by Lauaki – no censure. Sheehan hospitalises Barrett – no censure. Giteau takes FdP out in mid-air, could have broken his neck – no censure. Habana taken out in mid-air, could easily have done his shoulder – no censure. Habana shoulder charged after the whistle- ok fair enough, not a citing offence, but a yellow at least – nothing. (mmm do I detect a pattern emerging here Brian?) Thorne dumps Smit in front of the ref after the whistle, injuring him nogal – no censure. Drew Mitchell spear tackle (RWC) – no censure. Umaga and Mealamu spear tackle on BoD – no censure. Nonu dropping on Giteau with the express intent of hurting him – acceptable? I thought the rules state that you may not drive a player downwards with force?
But the Great Beast, the Antichrist and Eater of Children Botha drops his forearm on Waugh’s face from about 2 cm away – banned. Cleans out Jones – Banned. Schalk collides with a guy in mid-air (RWC), competing for the ball (um did Rockocoko even jump????) – Banned 8 weeks reduced to 4. Stegmann reckless challenge – banned.
Now before you start frothing, I’m sure there have been incidents our guys have got away with, but how many as blatant and dangerous as the ones I mentioned?? Now I’m NOT saying this is any kind of conspiracy, or lets-get-the-japies, or refs ganging up on us….what it is, is simply unacceptable inconsistencies within the officiating structures in dealing with illegal & dangerous on the playing field.
Now you can carry on all you like about us moaning when winning or losing, dear friends, but the very fact that there are no clear and effective channels to address these incidents (and please don’t tell me that Paddy o’ Brien is an effective anything), makes it all too easy to sweep these things under the carpet and denounce those complaining as paranoid or obsessive. And leads to stupid, ill-advised but borne-from-frustration incidents like the moronic armband thing. Will it take a headline reporting Habana with a career ending shoulder break or a flyhalf with a broken neck after being tackled in the air, before anyone takes these complaints seriously?
I have tried to put my point across as clearly as possible without sounding like whingeing or making accusations of a hemispehere wide conspiracy. I hope it has come across as such.
I am really concerned that we’re going to see a serious injury soon unless the rules that were drafted by the IRB to prevent those very injuries from occuring, are strictly and evenly enforced on everyone. I love the hard and physical nature of rugby, and enforcing these rules strictly will in no way diminish the nature of the game.
13 Sep 2009, 15:45 pm
#578 WakaNathan: I don’t like the way the Bok management have dealt with the media this week either….
13 Sep 2009, 16:00 pm
#598 Atreides: No you didn’t. Made perfect sense to me. Well weighted and presented arguement. Now post it to the IRB please. ;(
13 Sep 2009, 17:54 pm
#588 fouriedavinci: My comments looked unpleasant at second viewing – apologies Wakanathan – uncalled for. Allowed my frustration to boil over…
I’m a little mystified that any straight-seeing fellar can’t see ( doesn’t want to see?) what to me is blindingly obvious – shocking and unremitting double-standards with citings and officiating.
I just watched the game again, focussing on the decisions and specially the break-down area (with assistance of pause and rewind button)… and it looked worse the second time round!
It left me thinking a friggin inquest is in order.
I don’t have time to list all of them here but regarding the Fourie ‘spear’, when it happened it was with play (not off-the-ball) , near the ref who did nothing not even a penalty. The kiwi commentators, not afraid of voicing their thoughts, said not a word about it. And it passed me by too – made no impression. Within the context of the game, of all pens given against the boks it would probably have been one of the most legitimate pen calls of them all though…
Which brings me back again to the overall performance of Owen. I put it somewhere between hapless and abysmal. There really are grounds for this guy to be given a little break from the game after that showing. At best it was incompetent and puzzling, at worst a scandal and a disgrace. By the end he’d lost all control at the break-downs and the players picked up on it as he repeatedly allowed ABs to join from the side, dive over the top or allow mauls to be pulled down, not to mention those bizarre ‘obstruction’ calls. It had descended into an almost law-free zone by the last 15 as some boks then started infringing too (like FdPs coming from the side which happened straight after AB nr 8 Read had blatantly gone over the top of the ruck off his feet, which even the Kiwi commentators mentioned). Incidentally, Owen missed DdP’s infringement but incorrectly pinged Bakkies instead!
Should also mention the dubious performance of touch judge Barnes. Without exception every close call (some not that close) went ABs way, including his missing the second late charge on Habana that happened 1 foot away from him.
And then there’s this strange occurrence: Owen calling for the 4th official to confirm FdP’s rather clear try that happened about 6 feet away from him, and awarding Sivivatu’s try with indecent haste when he was totally unsighted, behind play. As it happens the try was just about good, but there was a thin whisker between the ball being grounded and held up.
These points are in addition to the plain bizarre and inexplicable calls at the start of the game that I mentioned in a previous post and have been noted by several other fans.
On a brighter note, the second viewing brought the following observations:
Bismarck was Immense, FdP played like a prince, Bakkies was peerless in his general play and commitment, Smit put in probably the best performance I’ve seen from him for the boks, the Steyn duo were masterful -Frans’ contribution to breaking the spirit of the ABs with those monster kicks shouldn’t be underestimated, and flyin’ Vic had the ABs totally spooked at the lineout.
In short, had the boys been playing on a level playing field they would have blasted the ABs by 20 points or more. They were on fire and nothing those dodgy officials pulled could stop ‘em.
13 Sep 2009, 19:38 pm
#601 fouriedavinci:
So youve listed all the incidents involving the Boks as victims. Thanks.
So what youre saying is that the ref, the 2 touchies and the citing officers ONLY missed incidents where the Boks were hard done by ? And they got all the ones where ABs/Aussies/Lions were victims ?
So all refs are now ‘dodgy’. Not just Kiwi ones. Not just Australasian ones. Not just SH ones. Not just NH ones.
No. All refs.
And they ONLY miss incidents where Boks are victims. Where Boks are the perpetrators, they get all of those.
Is that what youre saying ?
13 Sep 2009, 19:53 pm
#602 WakaNathan: I think his post is well structured and motivated, you can agree or disagree, that’s your right. But you wouldn’t know how to do it properly, you can just make opinionated re,arks.
13 Sep 2009, 20:29 pm
#602 WakaNathan: YES!
13 Sep 2009, 20:31 pm
#603 Boerboel: Boerboel Wankermarathon is always out to impress some pond life with his derogatory remarks about SA
13 Sep 2009, 20:36 pm
#603 Boerboel:
don’t take too much notice of waka – he likes to harp on about his pet hates but forever manages to ignore the facts.
seems a belligerent type – would rather fight with saffas than post on a kiwi website – too boring, nobody to fight with.
13 Sep 2009, 20:40 pm
#606 charo: I totally agree Charo, he has been showing his true colours for a long time
13 Sep 2009, 21:34 pm
#603 Boerboel:
Actually, I asked a question. His reply was most certainly ‘well structured’. I do think its interesting that he can be ‘motivated’ – which is OK. But Im ‘opinionated’, and thats not OK.
DaVincis post ONLY mentions incidents missed involving Boks as victims. Are they the only ones missed ?
13 Sep 2009, 21:40 pm
#604 JL1:
Thanks for making that clear. So youre saying refs and officials are turning a blind eye to all incidents where Boks are victims and catching all incidents where they are the perpetrators. Presumably you mean every match, and not just from Hamilton ?
How come Parisse got banned for eye-gouging this season ? How come Shaw got banned ? How come Isaac Ross got a YC ?
Let me guess. Because every official had agreed beforehand (commonly called a ‘conspiracy’) to make it LOOK ok, so noone noticed. That must be why, that would make sense.
13 Sep 2009, 21:45 pm
#606 charo:
13 Sep 2009, 21:47 pm
#605 JL1: That makes him a …..
13 Sep 2009, 21:52 pm
#609 WakaNathan: Most games the Boks have to be 30-405 better on the day than the opposition to win, in close games the refs tend to help the opposition
Thorn=2 weeks suspension???
Gits= no citing at all
Rockococo= no citing
Toby Flood= no citing at the RWC 2007
Schalk Burger= 4 weeks banned for a rubbish incident and if Rupert did not get the best solicitors in the world it would have remained 4 weeks
Did you actually see the 12 gifted points the ABs recieved from the pirate?
Pathetic
How come we get refs and after 9 games we have still not won a game when they were the ref?????????????????
13 Sep 2009, 21:55 pm
#611 Boerboel: …poepol!
13 Sep 2009, 22:06 pm
#612 JL1:
So when ABs/opposition get penalties/points, they are ‘gifted’ ? But when they were handed out to SA in the 1st Lions Test, and vs ABs in Bloem & Durban they were not ?
Why did the whole of SA laud Beast after the Lions Test when Bryce gave 6 consecutive penalties, 9pts ? But when the same ref penalised SA in Perth, then PdV complained to the ref and the IRBs Head Ref ?
so its OK when youre getting them, but when they go against you theyre ‘gifted’ ?
Why did Wayne Barnes only get criticised after pinging SA in Brisbane, but before that it was ‘SH refs’ that had it in for the Boks ? Why was he excellent in the RWC Qter when the ABs lose controversially, but so bad in Brisbane that PdV complained, for the 2nd consecutive week ? Didnt Smit say excuses were “for losers” ?
Its obvious that instead of believing SA need ‘to win by 30-40′ pts, that you actually believe they are 1. not infringing at all and 2. should be winning by scores of 50-60pts.
Poor winners, poor losers.
13 Sep 2009, 22:26 pm
Barnes was and is useless.
If the Kiwi and Aussie refs were so good how come there are only one from each country on the top 10 panel
Even this Craig Joubert from SA is rather pathetic
14 Sep 2009, 01:53 am
#591 skopskiet: ***** you’re a bigger racist than most AWB members?! How exactly does being born in SA with an afrikaans name make me a colonialist?! How do you know what colour I am for fcks sake?! You’re an opinionated, bigotted judgemental like prk with a chip the size of India on your shoulder! You think you’re such a patriot but really you’re a bitter racist deep down and you love nothing more than rail against the “whites” whenever you get the chance.
Unlike you I don’t hate my fellow south africans and I consider all races in SA as my countryman – I think that makes me a more genuine patriot than you. A celler dwelling piece of kak like you doesn’t deserve to be called south african in fact I refuse to acknowledge we’re from the same country because you are far too repellent to have been spawned from such beautiful shores! I make no apology for saying that SA would be a far better country if we could rid it of racist bigots (of all colours) like you. When is Keo going to wake up and ban such an abhorrent hate spreading psychotic! This blog would be so much more pleasent and stable without your hate filled negativity…must be a very dark world you inhabit.
14 Sep 2009, 02:20 am
#579 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Ndungane was my only concern for the Boks and as I predicted he was hopeless. What can ya do.
14 Sep 2009, 14:41 pm
Sorry I was wrong, it wasn’t Sivivatu it was Toaeva (sp?) the Iceman who he fell off. I just got annoyed because that was a really soft try we let in there. Carter’s cross-kick was phenomenal and they’re very hard to defend against but the Sivi try should’ve been stopped in my opinion. The scoreline really flattered the ABs. My god Du Preez was on fire in that match. His hit on Rokococo leading to our first try was a sight to behold.
Glad to see someone else agreeing with me about Odwa. If a player performs badly then I’m going to comment, I don’t care what colour our players are, they should be there on merit and commitment. Did you see the disgusting backlash I got for criticising him and accussations that I suddenly hate PdV? Couldn’t be further from the truth. I’ve never ever said I was anti-PdV. I was very disappointed by his conduct during the Lions tour but I’ve since forgiven him for that as he seems to have learnt from that experience. I’m very impressed what he has done with this team. His next big test will be negotiating the void left by Jdv and FS. If we can keep our win ratio and blood some new players during the AI eish it will have been the best ever year for the Boks (perhaps barring RWC 07)!
Going back to Odwa he’s always been a bit shaky but he was much better for the Sharks a few years ago. He had a pretty poor S14 this year and I felt some of his mistakes really let us (Sharks) down on occassions. I just don’t think he’s in great form at the moment. It’s a real shame JPP got injured when he did. Having seen highlights of the CC last week and my despair of our depth at wing was aleviated somewhat. Two players stood out for me the Leopards no.11 and Bjorn Basson. I’d like to see Basson blooded on the EOYT I think he’s got that killer instinct. His hack and chase against the Leopards was very impressive and I felt he troubled the B&I Lions on attack during the E Boks game. Problem is at the lower level these players can look impressive so we need to see how they perform against the tougher teams in the CC. I’d also like to see more of the Sharks new winger Mvovo. He seems to have the skillset but whether he can replicate good performances under pressure. I hope Plum selects him for the S14 squad next year provided he has a good S14.