Boks the undisputed best
A hard-fought 32-29 victory in Hamilton allowed John Smit’s Springboks to add the Tri-Nations crown to their impressive list of achievements.
The Kiwis whinged after the 2007 World Cup win. They believed the Boks weren’t the best in the world and thus undeserving of the world title. By weight of 2008 results, they had a point as the All Blacks retained the Tri-Nations.
At the Waikato Stadium this Saturday, however, their superiority was confirmed.
This All Blacks have been average to mediocre for some time, and even superboy Dan Carter failed to lift their performance. The result marks New Zealand’s third defeat to South Africa in 2009. There should be no question about whom has the wood on whom.
The two changes to the Springbok side made a world of difference. Awarded a penalty 65m out, Smit handed the ball to a supremely confident Frans Steyn. It seemed an impossible task, but the young fullback’s outrageous attempt cleared the crossbar by millimetres.
Steyn proved this was no fluke when he sunk another from inside his own half to claim a 6-3 lead for the Boks, and a further 53-m monster after 26 minutes when the visitors shot to a 19-9 advantage.
Schalk Burger, in for Juan Smith after the blindside failed a late fitness test, worked hard in tandem with Heinrich Brussow. The Boks effected a number of turnovers when the All Blacks were on attack, a massive improvement on their showing in Brisbane. Although the Boks conceded a few penalties of their own, they clearly emerged victors in this department.
The scrum continues to be a worry and Smit struggled in his one-on-one with loosehead Tony Woodcock. Fortunately the All Blacks’ eight rarely applied pressure as a unit.
The hosts were hopeless at the lineout, Andrew Hore having a nightmare with his feeds. Victor Matfield pinched three of the All Blacks’ throws, one which led to the try of Fourie du Preez.
Du Preez was back to his best, those little probes and big high-bombs always finding their mark. It was the garryowen following Matfield’s steal that created sufficient pressure on recipient Joe Rokocoko.
Du Preez chased his own kick to force the error, and in providing support, Mils Muliaina only succeeded in knocking the ball towards Bakkies Botha. The big lock surged before being brought to turf, and in the next phase, Du Preez sniped and scored.
Halfback partner Morne Steyn also had a memorable night, slotting a great drop goal and converting each penalty and conversion opportunity. His line kicking was equally superb, and he made good on his promise to clear even when his pack were under pressure.
Opposite number Carter battled behind a losing pack. He kicked all seven goalable opportunities to surpass 900 points in Tests, but never made the desired impact whether kicking for territory or feeding the backs. He was better in the second half, but by then, the hosts were playing catch up.
The Boks started the second half well while the All Blacks grew more desperate. They attempted to shift the ball after a rare lineout win, but Jean de Villiers read the play beautifully to intercept and score under the posts.
The hosts cancelled this score seven minutes later when replacement Isaia Toeava stepped the Bok defence and freed up Sitiveni Sivivatu. Carter kicked the conversion to leave the All Blacks just 10 points shy with 23 minutes to play.
South Africa began to show signs of fatigue in the latter stages, and fortunately for the visitors the All Blacks’ botched several opportunities. Carter threw a forward pass to an unmarked support player and Ma’a Nonu knocked on from a subsequent attack.
The Boks also turned over a prime opportunity for the All Blacks when Smit won a penalty at the scrum. Richie McCaw’s decision to pass up a kick for goal had backfired.
Carter was handed another chance to close the gap and this time McCaw pointed to the posts. Somehow the All Blacks had fought back to see the score at 29-22.
Burger left the field with what looked a serious shoulder injury, but the defence continued to scramble madly. When South Africa did receive possession they hacked the ball deep into New Zealand territory, and eventually this pressure produced a kickable penalty.
Morne Steyn kept his cool and bisected the posts from a difficult angle. In the remaining eight minutes, the hosts threw everything they had at the Bok defence, and a cross-kick by Carter found McCaw unmarked. The All Blacks’ flyhalf slotted the conversion to make for a dramatic final minute of play.
Carter attempted another cross-kick after the hosts had done well to play themselves into a favourable position. The ball drifted into touch and the visitors held on to secure their third Tri-Nations title and second win in New Zealand in 11 years.
By Jon Cardinelli

September 12th, 2009 at 1:03 pm
#96 Kobus Kitty:
You always know when a politician is lying – his lips move
September 12th, 2009 at 1:04 pm
#97 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): This year is your year for sure. It will go down in history as the finest for the Boks in the professional era, superceding the Mallet world record equalling run in 97/98.
September 12th, 2009 at 1:07 pm
#98 stodders:
Thats right PdV promised 30-40% improvement on the dour style prior to 2007 and he’s delivered, hook line and sinker, this team is ten fold more complete than the one dimensional one that won the WC.. no two ways about it. PdV is actually the man.. and don’t any these nay sayers around here forget it.
He’s done what no other coach could dream of since readmission, won the 3N without default 5 out 6 games, only one loss and a true undisputed No.1 ranking.
The spirit and comitted camaraderie in this side possbetter now than its ever been for some time yet. True ‘winning ways’ rugby of the highest complete calibre indeed.
September 12th, 2009 at 1:10 pm
#102 skopskiet: Can’t diasgree with you there Skop, although, I still think there are areas of their game that the Boks will know they can improve on, especially their fitness in the last 20 mins.
The Boks are currently the most ruthless team in world rugby. And there’s no bigger compliment that can be given to them IMO.
September 12th, 2009 at 1:14 pm
We really can say we are the best! No brag – just fact!! It’s great!
So that must make PdV the best coach!! He beat the Majestic McGeechan, Brilliant Deans and Honourable Henry…!!
Pieter MUST get the IRB Coach of the Year! The Boks the Team of the Year! FdP the Player of the Year! And Brussow the Newcomer of the Year!
Lekker lekker lekker!!!
September 12th, 2009 at 1:16 pm
#104 ufo: Without a doubt. PdV is a shoe in for coach of the year.
Unless you agree with Keo and his cribes? If you do, John Smit will be collecting it on behalf of his coach
September 12th, 2009 at 1:18 pm
#103 stodders:
Thing is… that’s just what they are saying themselves… there’s lots of room for improvement! Awesome thought!!
September 12th, 2009 at 1:20 pm
#105 stodders:
:LOL: …
Yeah… right…!!
September 12th, 2009 at 1:24 pm
farking smilies
September 12th, 2009 at 1:24 pm
#105 stodders:
Shoo in
Yup, those who said PdV had won nothing yet will now have to come out and say well done. He’s won all the trophies on offer this year
September 12th, 2009 at 1:30 pm
Awesome game and result. Well done bokke!!! We never doubted you.
Fitness is our biggest issue atm and has been the reason for the close finishing games as well as last weeks defeat … it is because of the extra intensity of the first 60, but it needs to be a 80min intense game for 2011 … actually they need to be fit enough for a 100 min game and that should be the target. We cannot try “hang on” for the last 20 … opposition knows this and changes their gameplan to target it.
It’s awesome to know we can still improve!
Brilliant game to capt – making early digs eat their own pie, and the entire team really.
Kudo’s to PdV for fielding Frans against pressure, and thank goodness Ruan was FINALLY taken off ! … see the difference?!!!
The difference is this : Ruan on today and Frans off = AB win. Same as last week (Ruan = Aus win) … we cannot afford to “carry” a half-baked player. End of Story.
Total Rugby domination:
RWC Champions
Lions Tour
Tri-Nations
Super 14
Super 7’s World Champions
That’s never been done before
AMAZING GUYS !!!
September 12th, 2009 at 1:35 pm
Definitely no losers there today (AB fans may disagree tho)
All Blacks = awesome
Springboks = awesome
Test match = bloody great viewing
There IS something to do in Hamilton. They play great rugby there.
September 12th, 2009 at 1:45 pm
#110 TheBoksAreBack: Really cant see a place for RP in the team he is not the best in any of the positions he plays and does not look commited to the cause I also think he is actually a bit scared of the phisicality.
September 12th, 2009 at 2:06 pm
Great win by the Boks! well done to the whole team and a great year of rugby so far! lets hope the end of year tour can continie with this enthusiasim
Skoppie…give it a rest mate, you are bordering on arrogant, yes the coach deserves the accolades for the results achieved so far, but remember it’s the team that deserves the most praise, indivual players who have believed in themselves, persevered and focused on playing better rugby…how about some praise for Du preez, bakkies, bizmark, habana, beast and the rest???
September 12th, 2009 at 2:08 pm
#101 stodders: still a bit early for that, yes world champions etc, but compared to the opposition faced by the 97/98 team, still a way to go..
September 12th, 2009 at 2:14 pm
#114 BuckT: Fair enough mate. Prob went a bit overboard. But this Bok team has won more trophies than the 97/98 team did. As to which team is better, that is entirely subjective. In terms of which team is more successful, this team wins hands down.
September 12th, 2009 at 2:16 pm
#104 ufo: Not a chance the Boks will clean house at the IRB awards. Not if the stiffs at the IRB have something to say about it. But the Boks do deserve all those accolades. They are, without a doubt, the best there is…
September 12th, 2009 at 2:23 pm
Geluk Pieter, ironies die stadion wat ons amper 30jaar gewag het om in te speel, oor “APARTHEID” en my ******** maaitjies bring ons apartheids vlag saam stadion toe.
September 12th, 2009 at 2:25 pm
#111 The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine:
Now, now Greeny……………don’t go trying to make me like You………..I already do…
September 12th, 2009 at 2:53 pm
My favourite thing about this team is Bakkies!
Even though I like all the players in the team, the best part for me is having him in the team. As the camera shot moves on with the game and bakkies is maybe not in picture, you have this satisfying comfort that somewhere on that field he is searching for people’s fears.
I don’t think one can fully appreciate his game on a television. The best is to be at a stadium to check up on him when he is not in picture. What a bliksem!
I hope the management take Flip van der Merwe with on the EOYT. He is the next man in line in the bakkies mould imo.
September 12th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
The Greatest!
September 12th, 2009 at 7:27 pm
#117 cane:
*embarrassed*
You’re going to lose next week though.
In my humble objective opinion
September 12th, 2009 at 7:52 pm
Salute to the AB’s – what a rugby nation! – for the entire match I did’nt once think we were safe. And so it came to pass – well, almost.
September 12th, 2009 at 7:55 pm
#116 mozez22:
Best supportng act at the IRB Oscars will be – Paddy “the silent assassin” O’ Brian.
September 12th, 2009 at 7:58 pm
Well done the Springboks,
Seemed like the only chance of the ABs to get parity now is to bring back the followings; Olo Brown, Dowd, Hayman, Fitz, Ian Jones, Gary Wheatton, Buck Shelford, Kronfeld, the Brooks Bros, Jerry Collins, Marshall, Bunce and Little, Cullen, Kirwan, Jeff Wilson or their clones, nothing else will work!
This Polinesian imports kill the ABs, simple, number of fumbles and dropped balls yesterday by Sivivatu, Nonu and Rocococo combined – all Polinesian imports – was 14!!!
Those guys dance the war dance all right but are crapping in their shorts seeing a hit comes at them while carry the ball!
September 12th, 2009 at 8:05 pm
#113 BuckT:
Anybody could see AGAIN yesterday the PdV is not connected to the wires, only Muir and Gold
The reality is that the odds those two Ex Rohdesians understand PdV high pitch bastardized English during a Test’s excitement is pretty slim
So who calls the shots then?
September 12th, 2009 at 8:24 pm
Well done Boks what else to say, top team in the world that’s confirmed again. For All Blacks back to the drawing board.
There is always the next year just remember, folks.
Until then enjoy deserved celebrations.
September 12th, 2009 at 8:47 pm
#110 TheBoksAreBack: A WEE BIT HARSH ON ruan, he is a scrummie, asked to play at flyhalf, asked to play at fullback, for the honour to play for your country he would proberly havew played at prop if asked, but how well ? Dont blame him foe being chosen out of position!!!
September 12th, 2009 at 10:44 pm
I wish I had a cigar
September 13th, 2009 at 3:00 am
Finally, Finally a game of rugby that was real and everything we expect from two of the best teams we have on this planet.
The Boks have proven their mettle, undisputed Lords of the Paddock this year and one of the most deserving performances to finish on..brillant, tactically superior, courageous and one minded. Congratulations to the Boks and great effort All Blacks for one of the best games i have had the pleasure to watch. I couldnt have been happier with the outcome( outside of the AB’s winning), as I have always said I like to see a great fair game all round.
The reffing for the most part was fair but as much as I hate to admit it Kieran Read should have been yellow carded for that shoulder hit on Habana, that is the sort of **** which does cost games.
A great year for the Boks- you guys stood tall when it counted the most. You’re number one and deservedly so.
September 13th, 2009 at 4:33 am
#113 BuckT: I think Skop-poep is secretly in love with Pdv…perhaps he is his love-child…could Skop-poep in fact be Earl Rose in disguise?!
September 13th, 2009 at 4:24 pm
Congratulations South Africa. I don’t usually post on Keo but feel compelled to acknowledge the achievement of the Springboks in winning the game and the Tri Nations. No doubting that currently the Boks are the best side in the world.
Big ups also (with a few exceptions!!) to the Bok supporters for being such sporting winners. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy…
We’ll be back next year and hopefully do better, but for now, it’s your time in the sun.
WELL DONE!!
September 13th, 2009 at 4:29 pm
#128 captain fantail: wooden spoon for Henry’s ABs next week?
September 13th, 2009 at 9:00 pm
#131 Big Hit: Yes you would like that!! All Blacks will deal to the Wallabies and aim for four zip in Bledisloe. Watch this space……
September 15th, 2009 at 3:29 am
#131 Big Hit: No
September 15th, 2009 at 5:02 am
#131 Big Hit: still living vicariously through other teams beating the ABs BH
that you take so much delight in another countries team beating us is really a sad reflection mate, be nice if your team stood up to the challenge occasionally..
should be a cracker against the Wobblies, and a loss may help us get rid of GH, though I have been calling for that since 07…