Boks the undisputed best

A hard-fought 32-29 victory in Hamilton allowed John Smit’s Springboks to add the Tri-Nations crown to their impressive list of achievements.

The Kiwis whinged after the 2007 World Cup win. They believed the Boks weren’t the best in the world and thus undeserving of the world title. By weight of 2008 results, they had a point as the All Blacks retained the Tri-Nations.

At the Waikato Stadium this Saturday, however, their superiority was confirmed.

This All Blacks have been average to mediocre for some time, and even superboy Dan Carter failed to lift their performance. The result marks New Zealand’s third defeat to South Africa in 2009. There should be no question about whom has the wood on whom.

The two changes to the Springbok side made a world of difference. Awarded a penalty 65m out, Smit handed the ball to a supremely confident Frans Steyn. It seemed an impossible task, but the young fullback’s outrageous attempt cleared the crossbar by millimetres.

Steyn proved this was no fluke when he sunk another from inside his own half to claim a 6-3 lead for the Boks, and a further 53-m monster after 26 minutes when the visitors shot to a 19-9 advantage.

Schalk Burger, in for Juan Smith after the blindside failed a late fitness test, worked hard in tandem with Heinrich Brussow. The Boks effected a number of turnovers when the All Blacks were on attack, a massive improvement on their showing in Brisbane. Although the Boks conceded a few penalties of their own, they clearly emerged victors in this department.

The scrum continues to be a worry and Smit struggled in his one-on-one with loosehead Tony Woodcock. Fortunately the All Blacks’ eight rarely applied pressure as a unit.

The hosts were hopeless at the lineout, Andrew Hore having a nightmare with his feeds. Victor Matfield pinched three of the All Blacks’ throws, one which led to the try of Fourie du Preez.

Du Preez was back to his best, those little probes and big high-bombs always finding their mark. It was the garryowen following Matfield’s steal that created sufficient pressure on recipient Joe Rokocoko.

Du Preez chased his own kick to force the error, and in providing support, Mils Muliaina only succeeded in knocking the ball towards Bakkies Botha. The big lock surged before being brought to turf, and in the next phase, Du Preez sniped and scored.

Halfback partner Morne Steyn also had a memorable night, slotting a great drop goal and converting each penalty and conversion opportunity. His line kicking was equally superb, and he made good on his promise to clear even when his pack were under pressure.

Opposite number Carter battled behind a losing pack. He kicked all seven goalable opportunities to surpass 900 points in Tests, but never made the desired impact whether kicking for territory or feeding the backs. He was better in the second half, but by then, the hosts were playing catch up.

The Boks started the second half well while the All Blacks grew more desperate. They attempted to shift the ball after a rare lineout win, but Jean de Villiers read the play beautifully to intercept and score under the posts.

The hosts cancelled this score seven minutes later when replacement Isaia Toeava stepped the Bok defence and freed up Sitiveni Sivivatu. Carter kicked the conversion to leave the All Blacks just 10 points shy with 23 minutes to play.

South Africa began to show signs of fatigue in the latter stages, and fortunately for the visitors the All Blacks’ botched several opportunities. Carter threw a forward pass to an unmarked support player and Ma’a Nonu knocked on from a subsequent attack.

The Boks also turned over a prime opportunity for the All Blacks when Smit won a penalty at the scrum. Richie McCaw’s decision to pass up a kick for goal had backfired.

Carter was handed another chance to close the gap and this time McCaw pointed to the posts. Somehow the All Blacks had fought back to see the score at 29-22.

Burger left the field with what looked a serious shoulder injury, but the defence continued to scramble madly. When South Africa did receive possession they hacked the ball deep into New Zealand territory, and eventually this pressure produced a kickable penalty.

Morne Steyn kept his cool and bisected the posts from a difficult angle. In the remaining eight minutes, the hosts threw everything they had at the Bok defence, and a cross-kick by Carter found McCaw unmarked. The All Blacks’ flyhalf slotted the conversion to make for a dramatic final minute of play.

Carter attempted another cross-kick after the hosts had done well to play themselves into a favourable position. The ball drifted into touch and the visitors held on to secure their third Tri-Nations title and second win in New Zealand in 11 years.

By Jon Cardinelli

136 Comments

• 51.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

#37 TheTackler: Kudos to you Tackler for being a good sport.

• 52.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#34 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:

The bad news for other nations is that the more successful the Boks are, the more the younger players want to play for the Boks!

What a special moment for Peter de Villiers!

2nd win in NZ against NZ!

Those predictions of yours pretty spot on! Well done mate!

• 53.sglazer: Reply to this comment

The sad thing is that Paddy and the boys will probably reckon the match was a advertisement for rugby, overlooking the obvious weaknesses in the officiating system that gifted the AB’s 16 points and made a close game out of it

• 54.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i really found it hard to name a MOM

as a team the boks were brilliant

i just felt FS was rock solid at the back and defended like a trojan
    and smitty was brilliant and what a hit on the all black lock

• 55.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#11 Another Kiwi in Oz:

Well said mate, thanks!!!

• 56.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I was just hoping and praying that the ref will not influence the outcome.

Thought some of his decisions in 1st half very very shaky.

In the end, rugby was the winner!!!

• 57.mk: Reply to this comment

Respect to you tackler.

• 58.Sonito: Reply to this comment

#55 Sheriff:

Yeah I thought the ref helped keep the AB’s in the game with a couple of very strict calls.

• 59.kevin w: Reply to this comment

#53 sharks_lover: Frans Steyn

• 60.BULLET: Reply to this comment

I hope that the SA media saw the tribute that SKY paid to John Smit after the game.
    Its amazing that he is only really appreciated outside of SA.

• 61.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i also thought so kev…. but who was official MOM??

• 62.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#52 Sheriff:

Yep, we are ripe for growth
    Eagerly await the day we able to pick from 10 million rabid supporters
    Will be fearsome

• 63.mk: Reply to this comment

Pdv will become the greatest bok coach in history.long live king!

• 64.Ian: Reply to this comment

Congratulations. Deserved winners not only of the game, but the Tri Nations. There is no doubt that currently the Boks are the best side in the world.

Hopefully next year we may give you a better fight! But for now, the Boks are supreme.

• 65.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

#59 BULLET: Sorry I missed it as my ‘net feed cut out… can you please describe?

• 66.pompies: Reply to this comment

Has any one seen that big fat chop they call thetackler?Na wont see him for a while. Ha ha what a joke, three in a row what a damn disgrace. First thing is first fire the three wise men.

• 67.husky: Reply to this comment

Boy has the journalism on keow gone backwards. JC, maybe to Wogga Wogga gazette next boet.

Vark what a tight game at the end. Carter’s place kicking was superlative, out of hand less good. Nice cross to McCaw. I wish the Boks would kick for the corners and back their lineout rather than those up and unders. How good for the keow muppet scorned of Schalk Burger, John Smit, even JdV and Frans Steyn to have such a solid game. Whew, how we needed that JdV intercept.

Absolute key was the ref. At this level a very unbalanced penalty count is just unlikely as both teams are so cohesive, good and know the rules so well. When the count is unbalanced the ref has slipped into looking at one team only.

I imagine we won’t see much of Poep69 and WankerNathan for a while. Nice one Tickles, must have been sore to type that.

• 68.rich1: Reply to this comment

Apologies to Burger for doubting him, he did a fine job in Juan’s absence. Great work by John Smit – what a legend!

• 69.saru1983: Reply to this comment

#57 Sonito: he wasnt strict he was skelm.in the past those cheating refs would cost us the game by one or 2 points but now this team is so good even the ref is struggling to make a difference

• 70.montyfan: Reply to this comment

GO BOKKE! I love you all but today I am especially loving Frans, Morne, Jean and John! YAY!!!

• 71.rich1: Reply to this comment

#65 pompies:
    You owe tackles an apology there – he posted earlier in this thread congratulating Boks.
    Good on ya Tackler

• 72.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

#37 TheTackler: I take back what I said then.

• 73.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Mates

Im off to buy some celebratory biltong and droƫ wors!!!

Who knows even a new Bok jumper?!!!!!!!

• 74.kevin w: Reply to this comment

OK what’s next for us … Bafana beats Brazil for the football WC next year!

• 75.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Esoteric,
    They showed a 1 minute clip of his tackles, carries & scrums in this game with the caption “CAPTAIN CORAGEOUS” at the bottom while the commentators were describing him as the heart and soul of the team.

• 76.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#67 rich1: yep Schalk played well for 55/60 minutes, you could see he didn’t have full 80 minute test match fitness yet but against that background it was a pretty effort he put in.

• 77.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#75 Big Hit: *pretty good

• 78.kevin w: Reply to this comment

It was awesome to see how committed every single player was … watching Beast chase down the All Black’s backline players was great!

• 79.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

#74 BULLET: Cheers for that, it is the characteristic I admire most about the Kiwis (been living here for five years) is that they give credit where it’s due. Very good sports I must say.

• 80.pompies: Reply to this comment

#37 Turned to jelly have we? what a pathetic reply to all the garbage you have spewed on this blog over the years and now you come up with the congratulations ****, you are one big joke boet end of story you and that rubbish team of yours, lol.

• 81.thefeather: Reply to this comment

#33 sharks_lover: Ha ha ha ha. Great chirp, that can easily apply to every clown that “writes” for this site.

• 82.OutWide: Reply to this comment

#11 Another Kiwi in Oz: Mate, you sound like a very cool dude. Big up

• 83.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

#73 kevin w:

First the Proteas to win the ICC Champs trophy…

• 84.pompies: Reply to this comment

#70 Yip that’s typical of thetacklers to come out all sweet and apologetic when all has turned against him. An apology my butt. Tackler we will meet again next year boet and it could be the same old story, but hey you never Know your luck.

• 85.OutWide: Reply to this comment

#12 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Nice one dude !!

• 86.OutWide: Reply to this comment

#37 TheTackler: So is it still every 10 years or now an annual event ??

• 87.siener: Reply to this comment

The adrenalin is still pumping through my veins…

Absolutely amazing

• 88.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

Up yours John Key! You eggs smeared all over your face along with a bit of kak!

• 89.OutWide: Reply to this comment

#73 kevin w: Proteas to claim their first ever silverware !!

The ICC Champs Trophy.

They need to make a statement and bury all their previous chokes at silverware.

• 90.pompies: Reply to this comment

#85 The All Blacks have always been a four more years team but it seems to have gone a wee bit pear shaped with the tri nations as well lol.

• 91.siener: Reply to this comment

This year’s IRB awards are going to be interesting. Springboks team of the year and PdV coach of the year must be a done deal. Player of the year? Smit? FdP? M Steyn? Brussow?

It must be a South African as well..

• 92.rich1: Reply to this comment

#90 siener:
    I’d love to be a fly on the wall in IRB headquarters when someone mentions that :)
    There’s no question whatsoever PDV and Boks are the only contenders for coach and team of the year, but will the IRB be big enough to admit it or will they desperately dream up another contender and try to justify the decision?

• 93.thefeather: Reply to this comment

#91 rich1: I’m sure Outer Mongolia were undefeated this season. Their coach SURELY deserves the title?
    Boks should get the Citing Commissioner’s Just The Roll Of The Dice Fair Play Award for the number of infringements against them that have gone disgracefully unpunished this year.

• 94.YoMama: Reply to this comment

“The scrum continues to be a worry and Smit struggled in his one-on-one with loosehead Tony Woodcock.”

What a load of horse excrement.

• 95.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#90 siener: FDP in all likelihood, up against BOD. I’d say FDP has it in the bag.

• 96.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

#93 YoMama: Agree give Smit credit where it is due. All this scrum talk now must surely be exposed. Aussies pulling the wool over everyones eyes at scrum time.

• 97.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Proper National leaders are busy trying to find answers to global warming and War in Iraq, the New Zealand Prime minister is busy dreaming of his useless team “thumping” our World Champions.

John Key, cover your face in shame! I guess you can’t trust politicians, they LIE, and that is what he did, HE LIED… He said the All Blacks would thump us, what a liar… I wouldn’t vote for him in the next election.

The man can’t be trusted, what a liar.

Ja, we will clean sweep the IRB awards.

• 98.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

#94 Big Hit: Please FDPs biggest rivals come from Morne and Ratel. BOD!!! Surely you should realise which hemisphere rugby is played in?

• 99.stodders: Reply to this comment

Good test match and thoroughly enjoyable clash of styles.

Boks thoroughly deserved the win today and with it the Tri Nations title. Yet another win on NZ soil. It’s becoming a habit.

Boks are the currently the clear best team in the SH, and in all likelihood, the world (unless something shocking has happened in NH rugby that idon’t know about).

Well done to John Smit, great captain and a man who just demands respect. Well done the Bok players for a standout year. And well done to the Bok coaches, who really have taken this Bok team to a higher level since the world cup win in 2007.

Commiserations to the ABs and their fans. I thought Henry’s quotes post-match were very sincere and spoke volumes of his respect for this Springbok team.

Enjoy this win and the title Bok fans. your team have earned the right for you.

• 100.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Played, guys. Excellent performance from both teams. Both teams applying and withstanding pressure and some excellent execution as well. A true test match and a great way for the Boks to clinch the trinations. Kudos to the ABs for the the fantastic fightback that took the game itelf down to the wire.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.