Building a dynasty

If Peter de Villiers wants the Springboks to build on their recent success he’ll need to develop a quality second-string contingent.

A year ago, South Africans had to endure Kiwi taunts about how the Boks’ 2007 World Cup win was a fluke. The Boks bombed out of the 2008 Tri-Nations when they diverted from a more structured approach, and the All Blacks finished the year top of the IRB rankings. The Boks finished that tournament last when they should have finished first.

2009 has been the year 2008 should have been. Superior personnel, superior tactics and just reward. The new Bok management should have built on what worked during Jake White’s tenure, and fortunately for the sake of Springbok rugby, they’ve learned their lesson.

The result is a win over the British & Irish Lions and a Tri-Nations title. In terms of ambition, it doesn’t have to end there. As long as these players are fit and available, the Boks are well capable of an unprecedented world title defence come 2011.

Peter de Villiers was humble following Saturday’s victory, and he and his assistant coaches will know they have plenty to do in the next two years. The Boks are blessed with a gifted match 22, but as the head coach himself admitted after defeat in the third Lions Test, they are a bit thin on depth.

The 31-year-old John Smit is yet to decide whether he will continue with the Boks. If he does commit to SA Rugby, he will command a larger leadership group that includes Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Juan Smith and Fourie du Preez.

That list of players inspires confidence, but to win big tournaments you need to have quality in reserve. To build a dynasty and sustain success, the management need to look at the alternatives and start giving them opportunities.

The Jean de Villiers move is a classic example.The Bok centre made a massive contribution to the Tri-Nations victory and will be sorely missed when he heads to Irish club Munster. He may yet return in time for the World Cup, but alternatives need to be identified, alternatives that can perform a similar role.

De Villiers’s World Cup dream was shattered when he tore his bicep in the first 2007 pool game against Samoa. Frans Steyn stepped in at No 12 and proved a great replacement.

Steyn won’t be available in the forseeable future so what are the other options at No 12? Wynand Olivier had a fantastic Super 14 and would complement Jaque Fourie well in midfield. Playing Adi Jacobs at inside centre would alter the Bok attacking dynamic as he’s a completely different player to De Villiers. Because of Jacobs’s suspect defence, the Bok midfield would also become a target.

This is just but one example. Who is going to replace Fourie du Preez if he gets injured? Ruan Pienaar is the second best scrumhalf in South Africa and would be the logical choice, while a player like Jano Vermaak must be close to joining the wider squad. Du Preez’s a class apart, but Pienaar and Vermaak have the kicking game to ensure the Bok gameplan wouldn’t suffer in Du Preez’s absence. There’s no longer a place for Ricky Januarie as long as the current tactics hold sway.

Pienaar has enjoyed mixed success at flyhalf, and is currently the alternative to Morne Steyn. Apart form his obvious goal-kicking attributes, Steyn’s all-round game has improved immensely since he played his first Test this June. He’s always been a good flyhalf when his pack is going forward, but he’s also learned to perform when his forwards are under pressure.

Pienaar’s opportunities have been limited by injuries, but time is running out. He needs to be afforded an extended run at Test level, and in two years the Boks may be in a rare position when they possess two great and experienced pivots.

There are players like Odwa Ndungane who can fill a gap, but the Bok management needs to seek out players who can offer as much as a Bryan Habana and a JP Pietersen. Pienaar has been mentioned as a fullback option, but what if he were to get injured? Conrad Jantjes will be back in 2010, but there needs to be a drive to develop an understudy. Zane Kirchner is one that springs to mind.

Peter de Villiers told the press on Saturday that ‘Players make coaches’. If De Villiers can keep a group of 30 players together in the build up to the 2011 World Cup, they might just make him the greatest coach ever. In developing that elite group, however, he’ll need to start cutting the dead weight and identifying the men to support players that have quickly become legends.

By Jon Cardinelli

154 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#46 stew:

Spite? Why do you say that Stew, what spiteful reason could Peter have for excluding Steyn? It was purely tactical

• 52.Wukong: Reply to this comment

#42 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Vermaak over Kocket because somewhere along the line Kocket lost his one and only marble and is now prone to brain farts occasionaly, who knows maybe he will find his marble one day when he grows up and realises that he is supposed to be a professional rugby player (ps i do like him, his brain farts not so much)

• 53.stew: Reply to this comment

#51 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Yes we all know Pienaar was a tactical choice – come on !

• 54.Staal: Reply to this comment

#51 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter:

Spite? Why do you say that Stew, what spiteful reason could Peter have for excluding Steyn? It was purely tactical” …..

Honestly … not the best tactical move ever….. :lol:

• 55.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#48 DonutDunning:

Damn, Digby looked really good this past S14. I would have him at 13 though, he’ll be wasted on the wing

• 56.Staal: Reply to this comment

Well i got to go…. can i just say it again….

Ruan Woods is a 9

• 57.kesbok: Reply to this comment

46 Stew – Fully agree with you there.

At 22 years old Frans Steyn has already played 36 tests and scored 86 points. He weighs in at 100kg. Given that he is not a main line kicker this is remarkable. He has also scored 5 tries. For some bizzare reason he has as many starts as he has had coming of the bench. It is quite remarkalbe how Steyn has been treated rather than being nutured. One of the issues has been where to put Steyn given his ability to play any position in the backline other than no.9. In my opinion he stands to be one the great Boks if injuries aside they let him settle at 15. This is seriously one of the most gifted players I have seen in a long time. I think his move to France will only improve him and he should be back in the Bok jumper soon. Hopefully PDV has realised that he is the only no 15 for 2011!

• 58.Wukong: Reply to this comment

#56 Staal: lol and where is Earl Woods gonna play?

• 59.Wukong: Reply to this comment

#57 kesbok: i agree, he has huge bmt kicking those penalties in the TriNations final, what a gem, he had me off my chair on Saturday and watching the kiwi faces as he slotted them priceless

• 60.stew: Reply to this comment

#57 kesbok: I am hoping he is not playing for the Boks in 2011 – by then he will be able to kick from his own 22 !!! He he …. Amazing

• 61.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#52 Wukong:

Please man Kockett is solid, granted he’s fiery, but solid nonetheless.

He can kick for poles, and is a better tactical kicker than Vermaak. Actually Vermaaks only better than him with regards to passing and if thats the sole criteria you are choosing to look at then I’d rather have Charl McLeod (sp?) in there.

#53 stew:

Lets not go on heresay Stew, Pienaar has all the attributes of a good 15 so why not give him a try in a position that is rather up for grabs (rememeber Steyn only started there this year too). It was an experiment that failed but you cannot be successful all the time. Tactical.

#54 Staal:

Agreed

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

E O Y T now apparently 5 matches with 2 midweek games….France and Ireland will be helleva tough….even Italy have a formidable pack so no gimmees…..Certainly Leicester will also pose a challenge.

Will be interesting to see who is affored rest opportunities…..of course being a WP fan i would hope the Bulls and Sharks rest there Boks but realistically dont see that happening….

With a view to the future i would like to see a 30 man squad as follows….

15….Kirchner…J Pietersen

14…JPP….L Mapoe

11 Habana….O Ndugane

12 W Olivier…P Grant

13 J Fourie….J De Jongh

10 M Steyn… B Francis

9 J Fourie….R Pienaar

8 P Spies….R Kankowski

7 J Smith….S Burger

6 H Brussouw….D Potgieter

5 V Matfield….J Muller

4 B Botha….S Sykes

3 J Smit…W Kruger

2 Bismarck….Chilliboy

1 Beast….W Blaauw

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

9 is FDP

• 64.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#57 kesbok:

PDV was the best thing that could have happened to Frans – pity it happened a year too late for him.

He needed the right management to get the best out of him.

• 65.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#56 Staal:

I disagree, play him at 10 and leave him there

• 66.MightyQuin: Reply to this comment

Congratulations **** Muir and Gary Gold. YOU are the unsung heroes of ALL the Bok victories and achievements this year.

We all know who are the ACTUAL coached in the Bok setup. Just look carefully at the shots of the “Coach Box” during the game. Also look at **** Muir;s bodylanguage and looks of dismay/disgust when PdV starts celebrating 20 minutes early.

It is unfortuante that **** and Gary is ignored when the accolades start flooding in…without them the Bokke would be nowhere.

• 67.kesbok: Reply to this comment

64 – let’s hope so and let’s hope PDV selects him notwithstanding his French commitments. That will be a real boost for the player and the team

• 68.Wukong: Reply to this comment

#61 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: why in the bok squad would he kick for poles? ever? you have Morne point machine there for that, his fieryness as you call it has the potential to cost you a test match, if he sorts this out we on the same page if not then we will not agree on this, also would like to see Vermaak in a winning team, if he can shine for the Lions what would he do for the boks under P Divvy tuition?

• 69.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#66 MightyQuin:

Mangement TEAM.

• 70.grant10: Reply to this comment

Why doesent someone just ask Ruan where he wants to play ? Players have preferences….and Ruan has always maintained he is a 9 that can play elsewhere.

Ruan wants to play 9….always was a reluctant utility player.

• 71.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#62 grant10:

Also a fan of J Pitersen but he wont cut it at international level and you cannot not include Deysel. Stegmann should be backup for Brussouw. Rather Swanepoel over Grant at 12 behind Wynand. Bjorn Basson should also be included somewhere there.

• 72.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I hate Marius Jonker and I hate penalty tries and I hate teams that don’t play for 80 minutes.

• 73.MightyQuin: Reply to this comment

#69 PissAnt: Hu? What’s your point? Then PdV should be lauded as the Manager of the Year…not coach. Why are the rest of the “Team” then ignored? I think it’s time that terms like “coach” get revisited. IS PdV a coach? What is a coach? etc etc

• 74.grant10: Reply to this comment

#71 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Ja….its tough hey!! Deysel, D Vermeulen, Steggmann, Dewalt…hell i am glad i am not a selector!

• 75.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#73 MightyQuin:

Coach is nothing without his players, and players are nothing without their coach.

• 76.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#68 Wukong:

Not saying he would, just saying he can. Like I said I think Vermaaks only beats Kockett when its comes to the pass and Kockett has looked selfish of late but when on song there is no scrummy in SA better than Kockett (barring FdP)

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

PDV is the man….no question about it….detractors eating loads of humble pie…like i have over J Smit at 3….

What more must PDV do….cmon…the mans a LEGEND.

Check the scoreboard.

• 78.gunther: Reply to this comment

#66 MightyQuin:

he was celebrating a penalty at a crucial point not a win…numbnuts…

• 79.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#66 MightyQuin:

Is it cos he’s black?

• 80.grant10: Reply to this comment

#62 grant10: A Jacobs at 12 in place of p Grant…messed up there.

• 81.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#73 MightyQuin:

I am actually to afraid to explain the point to you.

The article reads the ‘management’ (inclusive) and does not single out any one person in particular.

Any international setup has a head coach, with assistant coaches who forms part of the management team, or coaching team.

Otherwise there would be no point in appointing them don’t you think?

If anyone thinks the success is only down to ONE man he or she is dellusional. Same as the success of a rugby team never coming down to ONE person alone even if he kicks 60 meter penalties.

Having to thank EACH individual involved in the setup individually seems a bit insecure to me if that is what you want. Simply because this TEAM and its management are always first to acknowledge each other and not the individual.

Lastly, if we have to ‘coach’ players at this level we are in serious ****. At test level you manage processes as management and leaders (captains) which include strategies, game plans and selections.

• 82.Martin: Reply to this comment

#75 Dawn: i agree, i have immense repect for pdv. HE is the man!!!!!.

• 83.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#75 Dawn:

Some comments dont need a reply, its clear MightyQuin is just looking for trouble. Ignore him and he’ll soon go away.

#74 grant10:

Now imagine waht Plum must be going through;

Where to play Ruan? 9, 10, 15?

9: We have Kockett and McLeod (who should be our first choice scrummy at this point) who are both quality

10: Ruan surely wants to play 9 but he can play 10 then we have JMH and Monty who can play there

15: Stefan is irreplaceable at the back imo

12: Swanepoel adds a lovely crashball alternative, JMH can add flair, horses for courses

13: Adi, Murray, Strauss, Vulindlu (in that order)

Wings: Mvovo looks exciting indeed, pace galore. Jordaan also pretty good. Odwa and JPP.

Eish, but we have a surplus of options

• 84.gunther: Reply to this comment

#77 grant10:

how does it taste…

• 85.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#82 Martin:

Naah. Please attend to the Mighty Quin!!!!

“All kudos to Gary Gold and **** Muir the unsung heroes of all our victories!!!!!!!!”

• 86.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jeez I hate Marius Jonker and I hate penalty tries and I hate teams that don’t play for 80 minutes.

And I hate the weather.

• 87.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#85 Dawn:

Stop being so bitter. Be happy…for a change.

• 88.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#80 grant10:

Why would you play jacobs at 12? Then he comes back and plays 13 for the Sharks. Do you “other franchise supporters” enjoy making our players play out of position? :lol:

Smit from 2 to 3
    Beast from 8 to 1
    Ruan from 9 to 10 to 15
    JPP from 14 to 15 (as was being touted earlier in the year)
    Adi from 13 to wing to 12
    Steyn (not ours anymore though) from 12 to wing to 10 to 15
    Kankowski from 8 to 7

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And who the heck are Nick and Norah!!!!!!!!!!!

• 90.Martin: Reply to this comment

#85 Dawn: its not worth the energy…really….and it will spoil my positive karma for this week.

• 91.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#87 Predawn:

Broer, I’m very happy.

• 92.gunther: Reply to this comment

#79 Dawn:

Pete de Villiers is black….I thought he was afrikaans, I thought that Luke was talking about him when he said dutchmen were running rugby in sa?

• 93.grant10: Reply to this comment

#83 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Ja…..horses for courses the way to go…That Jordaan winger impressed me a lot Sat, as well as Pat cilliers.

• 94.Dawn: Reply to this comment

It’s just I have a beef with my team(s) who only played for 40 minutes this weekend.

Valid, I think.

• 95.grant10: Reply to this comment

#88 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: I always thought Adi was better suited to 12….but …you 100% right, best not to play players out of position.

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#92 gunther:

Course he is.

What’s your problem.

• 97.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where’s bloody Keo.

Tipping Australia for Tri-Nations.

Come out and eat crow.

• 98.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#26 Breakdown Boy: hello breakdown boy, no, pdv hasn’t “proved us all wrong” he has proved YOU & the likes of mark keohane, gavin “you’re not close enough to the team” rich, some rent-a-quote former springboks who wrote about “seven lean years” wrong! some of us have been behind him through the “moerse lot of k@k” that the south african media put him through…welcome to the pdv supporters club, note, all new applications have to be approved by the current president, the honorable Saffa Guy. :D

• 99.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

#62 grant10: I would like to see the following players “groomed” into this GREAT BOK TEAM and mentored by the Matfields, Bakkie’s, Smits, Juans, Du Preez’s, Fourie’s, Habana’s, etc….

Props – C. Oosthiuizen / W. Blaaw / W. Du Preez / WP Nel / F. Kirsten

Hookers – T. Liebenberg / A. Strauss

Locks – J. Kruger (come back to SA) / M. Muller / S. Sykes / W. Steenkamp /

Flanks – J. Deysel / D. Vermuelen / F. Louw / J. Van Deventer / D. Stegmann

No. 8′s – N. Koster / CJ Stander / D. Potgieter

Scrumhalves – J. Vermaak / C. Hoffmann / R. Kockett / F. Hougaard

Flyhalves – B. Francis / F. Brummer / L. Cronje

Centres – J. de Jongh / R. Ebersohn / P. Snyman

Wings – L. Mapoe / JJ Engelbrecht / G. Van Den Heerver

Fullbacks – L. Ludick / W. Pieterson

• 100.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#66 MightyQuin: thank you to Allister Coetzee & Gert Smal for the Rwc 07 win, without them we wouldn’t have won the cup, goodness knows where would’ve been without them, seeing that we entered the competition as no.4 in the world! the journalists on this site should include “world cup winning coach” every time they write a story about allister & his WP team in the currie cup!

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.