Testing our next best
28 Sep 2009
Peter de Villiers has one more tour to expose his second tier players to the international stage, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.
This time next year will be a fine-tuning process for the World Cup campaign, so when it comes to developing the depth of the squad, it has to start in November in Europe, with the Italian one-off the obvious target for those who must provide cover in New Zealand in 2011.
The view that the Springboks are the best team in the world is unanimous, but equally emphatic is that the second tier is not as imposing.
What if there is no John Smit, Victor Matfield, Fourie du Preez and Jean de Villiers at the next World Cup? This is a leadership quartet unrivalled in the world order at present and one that has been central to the Springboks’ success since 2004.
Matfield and Du Preez would be the obvious captaincy replacements if Smit was injured or rested, while De Villiers has international leadership capabilities.
De Villiers and Frans Steyn won’t be selected for the end of season tour because they are playing club rugby in France and Ireland respectively. But it would be outrageous not to consider them in 2011 provided they are fit and in form. Where they play rugby in 2011 should be irrelevant, as De Villiers owes it to South African supporters to select the best available South Africans for New Zealand 2011.
De Villiers also has to use the November tour to advance transformation because no new South African-born black players have been developed since De Villiers became national coach in 2008. The only new non-white Springbok De Villiers has picked in two years is Bulls fullback Zane Kirchner, and he played in the dead rubber against the British & Irish Lions.
Jongi Nokwe, Adrian Jacobs, the Ndungane twins, Ricky Januarie and Chiliboy Ralepelle have all been in the national system for some time.
Fortunately for De Villiers there has been the emergence of exciting new talent, and even more fortunate is that he should be able to add a black forward to the abundance of black backline talent available.
Griquas loose-forward Jonathan Mokuena and Cheetahs loose-forward Ashley Johnson have made an impact in the Currie Cup and Cheetahs winger Lionel Mapoe is the best new wing talent, regardless of colour. That’s already three new faces De Villiers could add, while Western Province centre Juan de Jongh appears to have the X-factor.
De Villiers’s biggest challenge will be the management of his best players and the integration of the good young ones into a selection that provides balance and comfort and shows a coach can build, transform and win at the same time.
When you compare the standard of New Zealand’s domestic competition with the Currie Cup, you can see why South Africa currently has the edge over the Kiwis. At the moment South African rugby is blessed and we need to maximize this advantage because it can change very quickly.
The biggest question mark over the Springboks is whether they can be as potent without Matfield in the lineout or Smit’s leadership, and the tour allows De Villiers to play the one without the other. I’d still take both on tour, with the French Test in Toulouse as tough as the visit to Dublin.
What makes the Dublin showdown intriguing is former Bok forward coach Gert Smal’s presence in the Irish set-up. Smal knows the Bok lineout even better than Matfield and Bakkies Botha.
And currently it is the Bok lineout that defines the team’s supremacy, as they are guaranteed a first-phase platform and the contesting skills of Matfield and company means no opponent can take lineout ball as a given.
Everyone knows how good Matfield is, but I don’t think everyone appreciates just how significant he is to the woes of the opposition.
Equally, who is the replacement for Du Preez, should he be injured? Januarie plays a different game and his strengths ensure an alternative, yet less potent, approach. Bulls scrumhalf-turned winger Francois Hougaard is the Du Preez clone, but will De Villiers be bold enough to pick Hougaard as the back up to Du Preez?
With (Jean) de Villiers also not selected will Wynand Olivier be given the No 12 jersey or will Jacobs be the go to man?
Rarely has Currie Cup form been so relevant in asking questions of national squad importance because rarely in the last decade has the Currie Cup consistently been of such a good standard.

246 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
28 Sep 2009, 20:11 pm
#149 David: Done and dusted!!LOL
Seriously though….thats the problem….too divided…..screw this Afrikaaner, Zulu, Soutie, XHOSA, ….Thats the bloody problem.
As the great Justrugby once said……the line that was my Damascus Road…..
‘WHEN IS JUST BEING A SAFFA GOING TO BE ENOUGH?’
Damn…..a lifetime in politics and Justrugby nails it in a one liner!!!
28 Sep 2009, 20:12 pm
#150 Sheriff: cheers
28 Sep 2009, 20:15 pm
#152 grant10:
Cheers Grant; catch up with you guys later this week hopefully; a bit concerned about my pc right now
28 Sep 2009, 20:20 pm
#153 Sheriff: look forward to that….hope PC okay!
28 Sep 2009, 20:25 pm
wezwp….please dont put in breaking news as a joke unless it is true boet….
I saw the 2 posts and thought wp had signed Lote Tuquiri and CJ…called a mate all excited and now see its nonsense….
You owe me a beer boet!
28 Sep 2009, 20:41 pm
Grant_ didn’t mean making you look like a fool buddy. What You should get excited about is the local talent at our disposal.
28 Sep 2009, 20:43 pm
Like Conrad Hoffman and F. Louw.
28 Sep 2009, 20:43 pm
Grant, you also posted something earlier but no details? WP comings and goings- come on mate give names!
28 Sep 2009, 20:44 pm
Whatever happened to nic koster??
28 Sep 2009, 20:45 pm
yeah spill the beans buddy.
28 Sep 2009, 20:46 pm
Wewp – Koster is going to the Force.
28 Sep 2009, 20:48 pm
#126 Wezwp: Now I’m Lost…
28 Sep 2009, 20:49 pm
#156 Wezwp: Ja….agreed…phoned mate to complain about Lote….and rejoice about CJ….!
I drink Windhoek Lager by the way!
This blog was quite volatile and serene this past wknd. Skop and Crouchy had an Orah moment I see.
#158 Slappes: Sworn to secrecy mate….seriously….hand on the heart stuff…
28 Sep 2009, 20:50 pm
#150 Sheriff: disclosure means responsibility. We’ve seen how anoniminity has been abused by some on this very blog.
28 Sep 2009, 20:50 pm
#164 Slappes: who is Orah?
28 Sep 2009, 20:51 pm
#161 Slappes: Not you 2 slappes!!
28 Sep 2009, 20:53 pm
#159 Wezwp: He wants to specialise at wing ….with Habana coming across as well one of the reasons Chavangha leaving.
28 Sep 2009, 20:54 pm
164 meant Oprah. Grant – k@k man! hand on heart my ***, you owe it to us or i will mail you?
28 Sep 2009, 20:54 pm
Not to many people interested in the icc trophy i see. Victor Matfield even expressed his disappointment on twitter.
28 Sep 2009, 20:55 pm
#170 Slappes: Cant boet…..
28 Sep 2009, 20:56 pm
#171 Wezwp: We can slice and dice it all we like …our cricketers choke….
#164 Slappes: don’t even mention that spat, crouchy was uber tender this weekend.
Pearl Rose, do you like wearing knee-length boots?
28 Sep 2009, 20:57 pm
#170 Slappes: How come you never join WPTID and Dawn and i for that beer a few weeks ago?
28 Sep 2009, 20:58 pm
it was a soap opera of note!
28 Sep 2009, 21:03 pm
Grant, i did let you know i couldnt make it, wife, in-laws and my wknd was ruined
. Dont worry I will make your next meeting – when? semi?
With all these rumours of wp signings, lets rather just wait till the super squads are announced, as far as im concerned only habana is a certain.
#177 grant10: hello grant, i’m back from the choekie? Paid the cost to be tha boss!
28 Sep 2009, 21:05 pm
Pearl , not to worry its just i think we have spoken here before. Was just wondering.
28 Sep 2009, 21:07 pm
Transief, howd you get out?- paid the warden with a happy meal?
28 Sep 2009, 21:12 pm
#178 Slappes: I am sure we will put something together for semi….will let you know…cool…i remember now…#180 Transformation: Bloody hell its great you back !! Hi boet….you have been missed!
28 Sep 2009, 21:13 pm
Transie…now you back…have to mention it….i see my boys back where they belong….top the Premier League!!
28 Sep 2009, 21:14 pm
Funny this whole proteas thing. What does the term ‘chockers’ refer to. To me its dominating cricket and being ranked no.1 only to crash out of big events….repeatedly. This is what happend and yet in the media they saying they didnt choke but rather was beaten by a better side on the day. Strange that. One word springs to mind…Denial. I think they should just embrace the term like the All backs have and move on. Go back to the drawing board, if theres still space left on that damn thing, and work harder.
28 Sep 2009, 21:17 pm
#185 Mustard: Agree….okes have a bloody mental block or something….
I watched till the end last nite….they were never really in it …bowled poorly and too much pressure….
But every time they do this….and in SA they seem to choke even more violently….as will the All Blacks in 2011….
28 Sep 2009, 21:21 pm
Grant -Cool. Biff and the boys have become expert chokers. I will now start supporting the Pakis!
28 Sep 2009, 21:23 pm
#184 grant10:that’s what you get when the ref add an extra minute & a half to the game to the FOUR signalled by the fourth official.
#183 grant10:thanks man, the choekie wasn’t nice…but what doesn’t kill you can only make you stronger.
#182 Slappes: i served my time and paid my debt to society slaptjips…
28 Sep 2009, 21:24 pm
#187 Slappes: Ja….me as well boet….anyone except the Aussies,Kiwis and the Poms….Pakis,Indians and Sri Lankans…dont seem the windies have a prayer!
28 Sep 2009, 21:28 pm
#188 Transformation: Was shocked at the Chelsea result…pleasantly shocked that is….
Dont get to see much of the games so cant comment …but agree Man U tend to get the refs favor at Old Trafford….much like Bulls at Loftus….
Now avoid the chookie in future Transie my man…bite the tongue and count to 100 before pushing the send button!!
28 Sep 2009, 21:31 pm
Just read that Gary Botha may even play in the CC still with Chilliboy out!!
28 Sep 2009, 21:35 pm
#186 grant10:
Watched a Shane Warne feature on cricket legends over the weekend. That fellow was out of this world.
Matter of fact, the current talent cannot be compared to Viv Richards, Ian Botham, in terms of real super star and match winning abilities. The closest is probably Sachin Tendulkar.
Why does sport in general no longer have real super stars that really make you sit up like Ali, Michael Jordan , Magic Johnson, Zinzan Brooke to mention a few. Are players over coached into walking robots where talent is stiffled? No instinct at all!! Very sad.
28 Sep 2009, 21:37 pm
Grant, Gary the chipmunk will always start ahead of Chilli. Thats how the bools roll. Chilli shouldve gone to the lions. Andre bekker just facebooked he will be playing sat.
28 Sep 2009, 21:38 pm
#188 Transformation:
Choekie??
28 Sep 2009, 21:39 pm
@ 191 grant, may i ask where you read that, sum of these rumours u just cant believe
28 Sep 2009, 21:39 pm
#192 Peter Mkata: Ja….the Bjrn Borgs, Maradonas, Bob Skinstads…..
I reckon the more professional the more the individual flair gets drilled out of players ….regretfully!
Well…we still have Giteau……Aplon, Joe Pietersen…..
Warne was simply THE MAN….along with Muri the greatest of all time.
28 Sep 2009, 21:40 pm
#188 Transformation:
if city hadn’t wasted so much time celebrating their 3rd goal, they might have got away with a draw.
but as one english paper put it, the extra time also gave city the chance to win – and they never took it.
sorry-oh…….as my lagos friends like to say.
#189 grant10:
not those arrogant pakis….please god. better india or, my favourites, sri lanka
28 Sep 2009, 21:40 pm
#193 Slappes: A Bekker the next door neighbour of the chap i got some info from today…
28 Sep 2009, 21:41 pm
Peter , very true. No superstars left, everyones equally good. I think its a generation thing also.
28 Sep 2009, 21:41 pm
I’m keen for a drink sometime, Grant and Slappes. I’m under new management, though, so might have to clear it with the missus first
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All