Sharks knock out Griquas
10 Oct 2009
Griquas’ dream run in the Currie Cup ended in Kimberley when they were defeated 45-30 by the Sharks.
The Sharks had achieved their goal of claiming five points out of the Big Hole after just 25 minutes, but the result wasn’t secured until after the hour-mark. Meanwhile Griquas, after being in the top four for the entire season, drop out at the time it matters most as the Cheetahs edge ahead of them on points difference.
If Griquas were to have any chance of reaching the play-offs for the first time in 11 years, they would had to have taken all their opportunities. But twice in the opening half they dropped the ball over the line, and while you have to feel sorry for them, they would not have been competitive in a play-off away from home. They made too many elementary errors, missed many tackles, and their discipline was again too poor to be semi-final contenders.
Fullback Riaan Viljoen opened the scoring with a 55m drop, but that would set a trend in the opening 25 minutes where the hosts would allow the Sharks straight back into the game after scoring. Their work at the kick-offs was sub-standard and this set up the first try as Stefan Terblanche finished.
Sharks coach John Plumtree would have been very happy with the variation in their play compared to last week. Their kicking game, led by Ruan Pienaar and Juan Hernandez, was much improved from the Lions encounter, while they also weren’t afraid to counter attack from deep when the opportunity arose. Pienaar’s 70m try was started from an attack sparked by his halfback partner, with the scrumhalf clutching onto a grubber ahead from Adi Jacobs.
The Sharks continued to play off the hosts’ many mistakes, and the visitors dominated territory as a result. JP Pietersen finished from another Jacobs chip, while Bismarck du Plessis claimed the fourth as he dived over from the back of a rolling maul.
The Sharks had achieved their goal, but worryingly the remainder of the first half didn’t go to plan as Du Plessis and Beast Mtawarira both had to go off due to rib and shoulder injuries respectively.
Griquas had their opportunities, but in the second minute Naas Olivier fumbled over the line after a Sarel Pretorius break, while two minutes before half-time team-mates Trompie Nontshinga and Jacques Lombard bumped into each other with an open line.
The Sharks would have been content with their lead at the break, and when reserve hooker Craig Burden dived over a 22-point lead should have meant the result was not in doubt.
But the defending champions again failed to close out the match, they didn’t have as much possession in the second stanza, and worryingly fell off numerous tackles (23 were missed throughout). Griquas centre Barry Geel finished off his hat-trick, and as the hosts allowed the game to become loose, Griquas thrived.
The Sharks’ lack of ball came from their ailing lineout as Burden failed to find his jumpers, while both sides repeatedly turned over ball at the breakdowns. Burden’s general play was better, and he grabbed his brace from another counter-attack, but when Pretorius claimed the hosts’ bonus point try, their semi-final dream was still alive. However, they couldn’t manage to claim the second bonus point that would have seen them claim fourth spot.
The champions may have got the intended result, but they will realise if they are to repeat last year’s feat only a much more clinical showing will suffice in the knock-out fixtures.
By Grant Ball

216 Comments
10 Oct 2009, 14:02 pm
Good luck Sharks.
10 Oct 2009, 14:04 pm
Give them brandy and coke griquas!
10 Oct 2009, 14:11 pm
Come on griquas!glory is beckoning.their pack is overrated and the have a few dodgy characters in the backline
10 Oct 2009, 14:12 pm
uncle bushys boys to put a cat amongst the piegons??
Cant see it …sharks by a load !
10 Oct 2009, 14:13 pm
#3 Valkyrie: LOL
10 Oct 2009, 14:18 pm
I better tone down.don’t wanna upset puma too much.he is a bit of a sensitive soul nowadays
10 Oct 2009, 14:20 pm
#6 Valkyrie: Ja….but its never ill intentioned…all good fun….but you make me laufg….’dodgy players in the backline ‘ a classic play on words!!
10 Oct 2009, 14:24 pm
The one prop in particular is also fairly dodgy
Griquas must not throw it all away today – all the hard work for nothing.
Bushy’s heart might not survive
10 Oct 2009, 14:26 pm
#6 Valkyrie:
10 Oct 2009, 14:27 pm
#8 Robzim: LOL…Hi Rob….gonna be a emotional roller coaster today…never mind uncle Bushy…i hope i survive it!!
10 Oct 2009, 14:29 pm
#9 Puma: best of luck puma…tough day for us fans today!!
10 Oct 2009, 14:33 pm
#10 grant10:
Same here, especially from 17h00 onwards it is going to be hectic – I’m very edgy – The Windhoek’s will hopefully help with the nerves.
10 Oct 2009, 14:37 pm
Good luck puma.i hope you taped last weeks game,that might be the last time you have seen the sharks win in the currie cup
10 Oct 2009, 14:37 pm
#12 Robzim: I got a case of cold hansas lined up….gonna need the beers to numb any prospective pain…..
But its destiny i reckon….that CC coming home!!
10 Oct 2009, 14:38 pm
Puma still giving me the cold shoulder….
10 Oct 2009, 14:44 pm
May the best team win!
10 Oct 2009, 14:45 pm
The day of the “underdogs” I hope! Sharks should win, but…..
Lions to upset WP. Lions 25 WP 20.
10 Oct 2009, 14:45 pm
What a day’s rugby we have!
10 Oct 2009, 14:51 pm
ere we go, ere we go, ere we go
shaaaaaaaaaaarkiesss!!!!!!!
10 Oct 2009, 14:56 pm
Good ton by puttick…just to break the tension a bit.hopefully it will be a good day for the cape allround
10 Oct 2009, 14:58 pm
Go LIOOOOOOONS!
10 Oct 2009, 15:08 pm
Trying to watch the 1st half on Streamtorrent before heading to the pub for the Province game – Blades in slow-motion sounds more coherent than at normal speed!
10 Oct 2009, 15:09 pm
Try number one SHARKS… Well done Stefan.
10 Oct 2009, 15:10 pm
#14 grant10: Hope they’ve got some Hansa down at the pub here in Dubai – they’ve definitely got Windhoek so it won’t be a total disaster.
Go the ‘Kwas!
10 Oct 2009, 15:14 pm
HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA TRY NUMBER TWO SHARKS……GO SHARKIES.
10 Oct 2009, 15:15 pm
Not a bad finish by Ruan. Good setup by Adi.
10 Oct 2009, 15:15 pm
2 tries already! Sharkies showing their class. Province better make plans for 4 tries today.
10 Oct 2009, 15:16 pm
Damn! Thought this was on at 17.00! Anyone have a live feed for me?
10 Oct 2009, 15:17 pm
good play by the Sharkies so far…
10 Oct 2009, 15:18 pm
#28 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Check out the link on myp2p.eu and install StreamTorrent, if you’ve got enough bandwidth. I don’t so I’m about to down this whisky and head for the pub.
10 Oct 2009, 15:23 pm
Hi guys, anyone know why Grant has posted the Lions team instead of the Sharks for this game?
10 Oct 2009, 15:26 pm
Third try.
I #31 David:
I was about to ask that….
TRY NUMBER 3 YES!!!!!!!!!! Just one more Sharkies.
10 Oct 2009, 15:27 pm
#32 WP Till I Die:
Who scored WP? Wish I was watching
10 Oct 2009, 15:27 pm
#35 c4:
JP Pietersen.
10 Oct 2009, 15:28 pm
Try Griquas! Beautiful try!
10 Oct 2009, 15:29 pm
#36 WP Till I Die:
Thanks WP Good of you to watch the enemy play keeping your foes close
10 Oct 2009, 15:30 pm
Sharks just got the bonus point.
10 Oct 2009, 15:30 pm
UTF has happened to Griquas? Have they been **** or are sharks just too good?
10 Oct 2009, 15:31 pm
TRY NUMBER 4 BONUS POINT
10 Oct 2009, 15:32 pm
#39 WP Till I Die:
Woohoo!!
Got to go guys. WP enjoy your day and good luck to your team.
10 Oct 2009, 15:33 pm
That should’ve been wtf. Damn autocorrect. Anyone know how to reply to blogger comments on the mobile version?
10 Oct 2009, 15:33 pm
Sharks are on fire, I expected a reaction after last weekend.
10 Oct 2009, 15:34 pm
Cape Cobras just beat Otago to progress into next round.
10 Oct 2009, 15:37 pm
Damn, the Sharks should have stuck to their game plan. Bashford promised they’d keep it tight and establish a platform first, before going for the bonus point. The lying, sneaky *******.
10 Oct 2009, 15:37 pm
Wow, and to think… skoppie and the rest of the anti-Sharks crew were writing off the defending champions just last week. Spunked too soon boys, way too soon.
10 Oct 2009, 15:38 pm
#43 jonnymain:
No idea, I encounter the same problem.
10 Oct 2009, 15:41 pm
#47 wooden spoon:
The same way you wrote off Peter de Villiers?
10 Oct 2009, 15:45 pm
Yippeeee so far the Cheetah’s have it sown up, now I just need the Sharkies to deny them any bonus points!!
Under any under circumstances, I would be rooting for our S14 partners, but hey!! my 1st loyalty is to the Cheetah’s
Go Sharks lol !! Go Cheetah’s !!
10 Oct 2009, 15:46 pm
Nontshinga loses the ball with an open goal line…
10 Oct 2009, 15:46 pm
Cheetahs suck. Come on Griquas. Beat those human trash sharks.
10 Oct 2009, 15:51 pm
#52 BlueBlood:
That’s a bit harsh, don’t you think?
10 Oct 2009, 15:52 pm
Is this still a rugby site?
10 Oct 2009, 15:53 pm
#54 AB Bullsbok: AB! Waar is julle almal?
10 Oct 2009, 15:54 pm
#49 WP Till I Die: A coach can change. De Villiers has shown that. That’s so old news, it’s Currie Cup time now anyway.
Must be worried for your darling Province boys huh?
10 Oct 2009, 15:55 pm
Looks like Problems v Cheetah and Sardine v Flou Nulle semi’s…
10 Oct 2009, 15:56 pm
#55 Real Deal: rugby-talkdotcom
#52 BlueBlood: You’re really pathetic you know that?
#56 wooden spoon: How you spooner? Enjoying your travels?
Our team doing the business here but we could have some injuries. Looks like Bissie may have hurt a rib.
#49 WP Till I Die: PS…the same way you wrote off Jake White, our beloved RWC Provider?
10 Oct 2009, 15:57 pm
#57 panniepeet: NO, Sharks vs Cheetahs, WP vs Bulle.
#56 wooden spoon: Spooner dude. Where are you?
#58 AB Bullsbok: Sal kom kuier!
10 Oct 2009, 15:58 pm
#59 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Those are the okes I completely ignore. Not worth even speaking to them.
Sharks looking good so far. Think Bissie may have hurt a rib. Hope its not broken takes 3 weeks to heal.
#61 wooden spoon: Eish, some things never change.
#56 wooden spoon:
Not at all.
#60 Puma: Howdy Puma, things are great thanks. Hows things been on here lately, judging from old skoppie’s comments on another previous thread (just glanced quickly) it seems as though I missed Judgment Day/The Exodus, etc?
10 Oct 2009, 15:59 pm
#63 SodaJoe: Howzit Joe, You getting the game?
Hope the Lions have a great game later.
10 Oct 2009, 16:00 pm
#63 SodaJoe: Hey Soda. In Chiang Mai, north Thailand. A big world out there… this one’s hot and humid and full of mosquitoes. How are you?
#66 SodaJoe:
10 Oct 2009, 16:00 pm
#61 wooden spoon:
I never wrote off Jake White. Why are you so aggressive? You’re the one who came in here busting down the door…
10 Oct 2009, 16:01 pm
#69 Puma: I am actually watching my first CC game.
Visiting with my friends.
I think Spooner has a Singha watching the game whilst taking in a novel Thai darts/ping pong contest.
10 Oct 2009, 16:01 pm
#68 wooden spoon: Things are great Spooner.
Are you speaking about the other blog? Not sure.
Sharks get try NUMBER 5.
10 Oct 2009, 16:02 pm
Wow Sharks muscled that one like the Kwas were a high school team.
10 Oct 2009, 16:03 pm
The Sharks are looking very good, I must say.
Give the kicking to Hernandez PLEASE……..
#68 wooden spoon: Soem things don’t change as I said. The E in KEo stands for existential philosophy 1.01.
10 Oct 2009, 16:04 pm
#74 SodaJoe:
10 Oct 2009, 16:04 pm
#66 SodaJoe:
got your lions jersey on?
10 Oct 2009, 16:05 pm
Try Griquas!
10 Oct 2009, 16:05 pm
#72 SodaJoe: Well hope you enjoying the the game. The next one should be better with Lions giving it to WP
10 Oct 2009, 16:06 pm
#72 SodaJoe:
thai ping pong is very amusing as long as you don’t touch the balls…
10 Oct 2009, 16:07 pm
Nice try. JPP poor attempt.
Adi stood up nicely in the early tackle though. Having a good game, back to his deft self.
10 Oct 2009, 16:08 pm
Griquas just might start believing in themselves.
10 Oct 2009, 16:08 pm
No Hans, no windhoek. Only castle!
10 Oct 2009, 16:09 pm
#82 gunther: Pure spectator sport, absolutely. The darts skills are something to behold. Put those tubby Tennent’s poms to shame.
I can see the Cheetahs fans getting a little nervous if Griquas score another try.
Third try for the Griquas!
#71 WP Till I Die: Ah, relax dude, always soooo sensitive. I hope we get Province in the final. Dream final. Hope it works out that way.
#72 SodaJoe: Hahaha, “peeng pong show, peeng pong show” you hear that a lot in Bangkok. Singha’s a great beer too. Nice place, but boy, more touristy than I thought. How’s things your side?
#73 Puma: Good to hear Puma. So, Currie Cup final for Durbs? Eish, not too long ago the Sharks were branded chokers!
10 Oct 2009, 16:10 pm
#65 Puma: Ja I know its just a game but some okes just take too far…we’re all south african at the end of the day, why cant we just enjoy a bit of banter without reverting to school yard behaviour!
Damn wish I could see this match right now, four tries already its looking good but we’ll be in trouble if we lose Bismarck! How is Rhodes doing?
Griquas right back into this game…
Fok. The Sharks are fast asleep.
#89 wooden spoon:
Agreed
Not sensitive at all, mate.
Your Sharks looked very sharp in the first half, hope for your sake they’re not going to sit down now!
10 Oct 2009, 16:11 pm
#81 Puma: Be interesting. But Hoops should take it without too much stress.
10 Oct 2009, 16:12 pm
Nice break by Wilkins…dammit! Ball lost forward!
10 Oct 2009, 16:12 pm
Another try Sharks! Amazing run by Craig Burden.
10 Oct 2009, 16:13 pm
#77 SodaJoe:
Hi Soda, it’s amazing how a few glasses of good Cape red can provide insight into the universe.
#90 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Bit of banter is good. Problem is that MOST bloggers take it too far. Jokes are funny, as long as it is not directed at your own team….? I suppose it all depends on wich side of the fence you are on.
#93 WP Till I Die: Ja, the Sharks have a very annoying habit – they showed it in the last CC game I watched – Sharks vs Leopard. Racked up 4 tries in the 1st half then pressed the brakes. Frustrating.
And it shows on the log. Sharks have won and extra game over WP yet it’s WP at the top of the log due to bonus points. Perennial Sharks problem
#89 wooden spoon: Things are good, but fkn ******* weather is already here, in October, snowed last night, totally depressing.
Making friends with jungle elephants.
Man Pienaar & Hernandez looked great there. Burden’s speed is wonderful.
pienaar’s pace is so deceptive, like Andre Joubert.
10 Oct 2009, 16:14 pm
Running commentary anyone – mate just text me and said Kwas scored 3rd try..????
10 Oct 2009, 16:14 pm
Griquas almost, almost getting their fourth try!
10 Oct 2009, 16:15 pm
Another try sharks. Sharks need to stay focused now.
I can see Barry Geel getting a phone call from Jake tomorrow.
#97 David is Carl Jung’s long lost son/a>: Too true boet.
10 Oct 2009, 16:16 pm
Dammit! Why do I have to miss this game?!!
Fourth try Griquas by Sarel Pretorius!
#100 SodaJoe: Here its summer and too hot already
Damn tough to live in Africa
10 Oct 2009, 16:17 pm
Well deserved try for what looks like a very good scrummie.
10 Oct 2009, 16:17 pm
A lot of Cheetah fans are sh!tting themselves now.
10 Oct 2009, 16:18 pm
40-32.
#108 Puma: Don’t you start so bloody early in the season! Let me wallow in my misery by myself.
#110 WP Till I Die: Jip, I’m one of them…..
Oops, 40-30.
10 Oct 2009, 16:19 pm
Sharks need to wake up! Griquas scoring tries far too easily!
10 Oct 2009, 16:19 pm
#108 Puma: Gonna be in Durban in November boet, how hot should I expect it to be by then?
10 Oct 2009, 16:21 pm
#100 SodaJoe:
snow in october sweet lord time to put in for that transfer to california….the twin cities are no place to grow old…
So what do the Cheetahs need to get through?
Cheetah b*stards have screwed the Sharks up enough times in the past for me to be rather sentimental towards the Griquas, lol… [big slice of "not serious" served with that one in case any Cheetah fans are reading]
Ahhh, silly mistake by Wilkins.
kwas almost there looking for one more try to get 2nd bonus point then Cheetah’s out.
Sharks defence sounds quite shite to me – does not bode well for semi’s and by the look of the try-scorers for Kwas it’s in the midfield where the Sharks are leaking…?
10 Oct 2009, 16:22 pm
If you got half points for hitting the bar/post Pienaar would be the all time points leader.
10 Oct 2009, 16:22 pm
#118 wooden spoon:
They just need two points from this match, so they just need to finish within 7 of the Sharks and they’re through at the expense of the Cheetahs.
10 Oct 2009, 16:23 pm
Another try for the Sharks.
Sharks might just give the Griquas 2 points from this game. Then they meet them again, this time in Durbs.
Sexy hands by all 3 of them.
Poor trompie! Lol
10 Oct 2009, 16:24 pm
#117 gunther: No ****. But don’t even breathe a word to my wife. It’s hard enough as it is.
#126 SodaJoe: Sexy hands? LOL
#123 WP Till I Die: Hmmm, they may just win this game yet too by the sounds of things.
Barry Geel is looking set to be man of the match at this rate.
10 Oct 2009, 16:25 pm
looks like Sharks might just keep sufficient daylight to keep Griquas out the semi’s
10 Oct 2009, 16:26 pm
#130 wooden spoon:
Doubt it, though. They’re making some fundamental errors – you can see the passion and commitment is there from the Griquas, though.
10 Oct 2009, 16:26 pm
#128 SodaJoe: Soda, prob going to visit Seattle too now. Ever been? Starbucks, home of grunge, Microsoft, Boeing, Frasier, anything else I should look out for?
10 Oct 2009, 16:28 pm
Still 12 minutes left.
10 Oct 2009, 16:28 pm
I thought it was Sharks vs Griquas, now I see it is actually Griquas vs Lions? Wake up keo! No wonder this site is going DOOOOWN!
10 Oct 2009, 16:29 pm
#133 WP Till I Die: What about points difference between WP and Sharks for top of the log? Keo’s log doesn’t show PD… What does WP need to do, other than 5 tries of course?
10 Oct 2009, 16:30 pm
#134 wooden spoon: Spoons – when are you in Seattle. I am actually going over in November.
Seattle is just great. Might be a bit grey now though.
Very good walking city – easy to get around.
The Music Experience/Science Fiction Museum are great. Take the ferry to one of the islands, great food & bars all in Belltown. The Art Museum is world class.
World class city actually.
10 Oct 2009, 16:31 pm
#137 wooden spoon: LOSE THE GAME.
10 Oct 2009, 16:31 pm
#112 SodaJoe:
10 Oct 2009, 16:32 pm
Ok – going to get some stuff done before die Leeus.
See you through the window.
#137 wooden spoon:
WP currently has about 30 or 40 points over the Sharks on PD.
Sarel Pretorius best scrummy in country at moment incl Fdp. Pretorius, Geel and Kwas FB should all get a look in next years S14. Wouldn’t be surprised all 3 of them join Mokuena at Lions next.
10 Oct 2009, 16:33 pm
#137 wooden spoon: Well think with us letting Griquas getting that score against us. Think the point difference still favours WP.
Then Lions may beat WP
10 Oct 2009, 16:33 pm
#138 SodaJoe: First week of April 2010. Looking forward to it, be great to meet up if we can.
10 Oct 2009, 16:34 pm
#143 skopskiet: Sounds like more hype ala vermaak to me.
#142 WP Till I Die: Eish.
#143 skopskiet: You could be right Skop. Think they may go to Lions. Huge pity for Griquas they build a nice team just to lose it to a bigger franchise.
Then Lions my 2nd team so it will be fine by me
10 Oct 2009, 16:36 pm
#148 Puma: 2nd team? What **** is that? You have only ONE team and that’s it no….?
#116 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: HOT. Its the rainy months in Durban then so you never know but still humid.
Sharks must stay focused now.
#149 panniepeet: lol
10 Oct 2009, 16:37 pm
This Viljoen Kwas FB is the real deal. Great replacement for F. Steyn. Get him into the bok squad pronto.
10 Oct 2009, 16:37 pm
Update anyone? Is the Sharks going to keep Kwas from a 2nd bonuspoint?
10 Oct 2009, 16:39 pm
#152 skopskiet: Yep lets select really inexperienced players and throw them in the high pressure cauldron of a test match, I’m sure they’ll do just fine, I mean just look at Kirchner…
10 Oct 2009, 16:39 pm
#153 panniepeet:
Looks like your Cheetahs are safe, yes.
10 Oct 2009, 16:40 pm
45-30 with 3 min to go
MacCleod also better scrummy than Pienaar
10 Oct 2009, 16:40 pm
#152 skopskiet: He’ll have to get past Rose first!
10 Oct 2009, 16:41 pm
#149 panniepeet: Ja, but there is a excuse of me you see. I live in two cities…..hehehe. 7 months in Umhlanga and 5 months in Joburg.
Ag, look have supported Natal/Sharks since 1981 and will always be my 1st team to support always.
This year thought I will have a 2nd team and thats the Lions.
10 Oct 2009, 16:41 pm
Poor Griquas. At least the Cheetahs will give WP a sterner semi final (provided WP beat the Lions of course).
Sharks will snaffle the Bulls easily.
Sharks v Cheetahs final. Kings Park.
Lol.
10 Oct 2009, 16:42 pm
#155 WP Till I Die: Cheers WPTID – by looking at the scoreboard here I think the Cheetahs must fancy a semi against the Sardines…
Another try, Griquas?
#154 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Like Frans at the WC.
Pienaar is the 2nd best scrumhalf in the country. And to think he hasn’t played there in ages.
#156 skopskiet: I suppose Pienaar scoring a try counts for nothing in your book?
crotchety crutchwit still too big for his boots.
How experienced was F. Steyn when he became a bok, or Habana or Jdv.
Viljoen far better FB than Kirchner in current form.
10 Oct 2009, 16:43 pm
#153 panniepeet: Looks like it.
#160 panniepeet:
All depends on whether WP beats the Lions – and if they do win, whether they can do it with a bonus point.
What’s been happening here?
I’ve missed the game
10 Oct 2009, 16:44 pm
#163 wooden spoon: I know and he is getting it together again. Needs a bit more time and he will be back to where he was before he got messed about.
Too little too late. Too bad Kwas always next year.
#159 wooden spoon: Yeah right!
10 Oct 2009, 16:45 pm
#168 WP_:
You sound surprised.
10 Oct 2009, 16:46 pm
Pienaar must play FH. Far too many good scrummy’s as good or better than him. He’s a natural play maker but better at Fh than Sh.
10 Oct 2009, 16:46 pm
WELL DONE SHARKS. Win and win it with a bonus point too
Now my 2nd team must keep WP from getting the bonus. GO LIONS
10 Oct 2009, 16:47 pm
#165 skopskiet: crutchwit? ha ha ha! This is currie cup level Skop – Frans is a freak of nature and at he had S14 experience. If you plucked FS straight out of the CC he would struggle. You need BMT and that is something which comes through experience. Though I admit not all players have the sufficient BMT, it also comes down to mental toughness.
Will be interesting to see the quality of Wp’s game today – will give us an idea of where they are…Win convincingly and it will be a close semi against the Cheetahs – if they lose today the Bulls will slaughter them in the semi. Just my opinion. Go well guys.
#159 wooden spoon: Think it could be a Bulls/Sharks final at the tank if WP don’t get the bonus today
Well let’s all hope Jake has worked his magic in Jhb.
10 Oct 2009, 16:49 pm
OK, WP has to get the bonus point. Should be a good match!
#174 Puma: That’s a great result, better than I expected! Just hope we can stay on top of the log. But if we go down to 2nd we should still get a home-semi?
Eish!! Maybe I am paranoid, but itlooked for all the moneyas if the Sharks tried to help the Griquas get within 7, they certainly weren’t playing to close the Griquas out!!
Never mind, my thanks to the the Sharkies for keeping the heetah’s in the hunt!!
Now who do we play???
10 Oct 2009, 16:51 pm
#181 Cheetah 4 Eva: Nope, I just think the Sharkies are a bit overrated to be honest – leaking so many tries…? And we have been their bogey-team for so long – bring on a Shark v Cheetah semi I say!
10 Oct 2009, 16:53 pm
Steyn was 19 so was Schalk and Jdv. They went straight from juniors to senior bok’s. Nothing wrong with this Viljoen’s Fb game. Big kick nice runner into space, fearless tackler. I’d definitely look at promoting him into the big league before all that natural talent gets wasted. Geel and Pretorius the same.
10 Oct 2009, 16:56 pm
#183 skopskiet: I must say that I agree with you there. Maybe give him/them some time in the 7′s game first to hone his/their attacking skills…
10 Oct 2009, 16:58 pm
#178 wooden spoon:
Hoping too….hahaha
10 Oct 2009, 16:59 pm
I don’t really mind who WP meets at Newlands. Bulls or Cheetah’s same diffs. Either or make little change to final outcome. I reckon Sharks should have ensured its not Cheetah’s or Bulls, they should have let Griquas through now they probably choke out in the semi.
10 Oct 2009, 17:01 pm
#182 panniepeet: Think we were also trying to pick up our score rate. So probably not focused in the tackles there today. Next week no pressure for the bonus just to win it.
Will be at the Tank too so should be a great game who ever we face.
10 Oct 2009, 17:01 pm
#186 skopskiet: no chance
10 Oct 2009, 17:02 pm
#177 Puma: Puma based on what i saw in the second half the Sharks will struggle against the Cheetahs. I honestly cannot believe how we cannot build phases and are scoring at the moment only from broken play. A side that doesn’t make mistakes and matches us upfront will beat us. The 2nd half lineouts were terrible as well as the scrums. Albert cannot scrum at all and I’m not sure about what he brings to the lineouts judging by the second half display.
I’m hanging in there with hope at the moment. Tell me something about this side that will cheer me up for the semi’s
Sad ending to season full of promise for Griquas.Hope they can hang on to theirs stars,before they are gobbled up by the bigger Unions.
Free State should be able to field a good Super 14 team with
so many talented players available for selection.
No bonus for WP today and they have to face Bulls next week. Its goodbye WP. Bulls will slaughter them even at Newlands
10 Oct 2009, 17:04 pm
#187 Puma: We’ll have to wait and see, but you might be right. Semis and finals are one offs so you never know…
10 Oct 2009, 17:05 pm
David
Thought the Griquas could do it.
10 Oct 2009, 17:05 pm
#189 bananaboy: Think we wanted a huge score today plus the bonus. If WP get the bonus then it goes on points difference. Think we were just not focusing too much today.
It will be different next week at the Tank. Don’t need the bonus just to win. We will play it tighter. I think.
Hope Muller is back then too. That will make a difference. Only hoping now that Bissie does not have a broken rib. It looked like that it could be. That would be a really huge, huge blow if he is out.
10 Oct 2009, 17:07 pm
What did I tell you guys yesterday?
Now for WP to show what staff they’re made off.
10 Oct 2009, 17:08 pm
#192 panniepeet: Pannie I am not really serious there, just winding the WP boys up there
Having a bit of fun mate.
Not sure who will win next week who ever they face. It will be tough in both semi finals.
#195 nama1: Staff? Like Moses’s staff parting the sea?
#194 Puma: I hope so Puma. There’s always JS at hooker as well to bolster front row.
10 Oct 2009, 17:09 pm
#193 WP_:
So did I. Not win, but get the 2 bonus points. Kimberly has seen a number of high scoring close games this year.
From the looks of it, Dawie will have to do more rebuilding next year.
10 Oct 2009, 17:09 pm
Okay off to watch the next game. Back later.
10 Oct 2009, 17:10 pm
#198 bananaboy: Yes I have thought of that. John will then have to play the full 80min which is not a bad thing.
Back later going to watch the Lions/WP game now. No tv in my study.
10 Oct 2009, 17:10 pm
#196 Puma: Ha ha, I actually agree with you – you guys just had to get 5 points today – could have made it much more difficult for yourself so maybe they were just pacing themselves but the Lions v WP game should be interesting – I think the Lions might well be up for it today…
10 Oct 2009, 17:11 pm
Try to WP after 50 sec. They mean business out there
#197 panniepeet:
Trying to be funny. Don’t think you’ll be laughing come 19H00.
#202 panniepeet: WP have a try already.
10 Oct 2009, 17:13 pm
Thanks Sharkies…
Think it will be Bulls vs Cheetahs Final…At Loftus…
Maybe a repeat of 2005?
A man can dream can’t he?
10 Oct 2009, 17:33 pm
#206 ThaiCheetah: Indeed a man can Thai, in 2005 we were also fortunate to sneak into the semi’s and then went all the way!!
Go Cheetah’s!!
10 Oct 2009, 17:36 pm
#204 nama1: I’m laughing already mate – my team is in the semi’s and we’re happy to play the Sardines OR Problems regardless…
10 Oct 2009, 20:50 pm
KUDO’S TO THE LIONS ………….
AND CONGRATS TO ALL THEIR SUPPORTERS
I said this last week after so many in here was laughing and saying Sharks blah blah blah
The Lions didnt just lose to the Sharks because we were so kak, but because this lions team is now starting to play with passion and pride
10 Oct 2009, 20:53 pm
#208 panniepeet: and we just as happy to play the slap pap vreeters
11 Oct 2009, 08:13 am
So it all worked out well for the Sharks, but the defence is in tatters guys, huge wholes.
Jacobs on defence does not drift, heck glaciers drift faster than he does.
If we want to beat any of the other 3 we better wake up. Also IMO our Boks wings are SLOW… Mvovo is better than both of them, and as fast as lighting.
Burden to start please, Bismark either needs glasses or to get into gym as he either can’t see the balls he drops or he isn’t strong enough to hold on. As for his brother, there are a few blobs of butter around his waist, the fat hangs…
Pray Deysel is fit too.
goyougoodthingsSharks!
11 Oct 2009, 08:14 am
solid effort GWK…was good to watch. This was a season to remember. From a WP supporter.
11 Oct 2009, 10:17 am
I wonder if Jacobs will be banned for kicking Mokuena in the face. Heck, I wonder if he’ll even be cited.
11 Oct 2009, 10:31 am
Jammer Griekwas,so naby en tog so ver.Die Sharks moet hul
sokkies optrek want die Cheetahs loop oor van selfvertroue.
As die Griekwas 4 driee kan druk,dan kan die Cheetahs
ook en nog meer.
11 Oct 2009, 10:44 am
The annual auction of players is taking place right now and I wonder how many players will turn out for the Cheetahs and Griquas next season.
I reckon Barry Geel,Sarel Pretorius and Riaan Viljoen
must feature high on the shopping list of the Sharks,Bulls and WP.
Lionel Mapoe from the Cheetahs could prove to be a good
replacement for Bryan Habana.
Anyway loyalty is only pocket deep nowadays.
12 Oct 2009, 04:49 am
The great White Sharks from Kings Park vs The Cows final boys.