Lions deny WP top spot
10 Oct 2009
An inspired Lions defensive effort laid the platform for an upset 27-25 victory over WP on Saturday.
The result means WP will host the Blue Bulls at Newlands next week while the Cheetahs will travel to Durban to play the first-placed Sharks. The Lions denied the Stormers a semi-final spot in the 2008 Super 14 and WP a play-off berth in subsequent domestic competition. With the display at Ellis Park, they’ve now denied the Cape side an easier path to the Currie Cup final.
The visitors enjoyed the best possible start with Juan de Jongh scoring in the second minute. Duane Vermeulen affected the breakdown steal and Ricky Januarie subsequently freed up gliding second rower Andries Bekker. The Springbok lock was brought to ground before offloading to Francois Louw who in turn found De Jongh in support.
To their credit, the Lions picked themselves up, even when another Bekker break sparked a Joe Pietersen try in the 21st minute. Pietersen, who converted both tries, nailed two penalties to give WP a commanding 17-3 lead after half an hour.
The Lions bumbled several opportunities through shocking handling, but winger Dusty Noble caused the WP defence plenty of problems. After a sustained period on attack, Doppies la Grange slipped through for an important try, and added another on the stroke of half-time to reduce the deficit to 20-17.
It was another WP defensive error that allowed Lions No 8 Willem Alberts to barge through, and only a desperate scramble prevented the colossal loosie from going all the way. The Lions wisely kept it tight, and La Grange’s low body position proved unstoppable.
Bone-jarring defence culled plenty of Province momentum, while a fierce breakdown effort punished the soft clean out attempts of the visitors. The visitors blew a great chance to score their third try early in the second half, the Lions making the defensive hit and then the inevitable turnover.
The defensive pressure forced WP into more attacking errors, as the coughed up possession in promising field positions. Their scrum was also heavily penalised by referee Marius Jonker. Province may have been on a roll in the last few weeks, but up against one of the traditional big-five teams, they looked limited.
The momentum of the game swung with this stonewall display, and when the Lions received another opportunity, they brought their long-suffering supporters to their feet. Noble finished and Herkie Kruger kicked a great conversion to edge the Lions into a 24-20 lead.
WP booted a penalty in the corner in the 67th minute, and they were always going to aim for Bekker and initiate the rolling maul. The hosts did well to sack the first drive, but a powerful pick up from the ruck allowed Francois Louw to reclaim the advantage for WP.
An infringement allowed Chris Jonck to slot a penalty for the Lions, and the home team began to kick for the corners in attempt to force WP to run from their own line. They succeeded in keeping possession and slowing the tempo, and even though WP enjoyed one final crack in the dying seconds, the scoreline remain unchanged.
WP coach Allister Coetzee’s disappointment will be doubled when he realises just how poor Province were in key areas. The Lions have their minor victory, and the defeat has highlighted some concerns ahead of a semi-final clash with a Bulls side that will include plenty of Boks.
By Jon Cardinelli

906 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All
11 Oct 2009, 12:15 pm
#846 SpringbokSarah:
I haven’t got a clue. As talented as Luke is, I’ve always been rather nervous about playing him at 8 against a big backrow.
11 Oct 2009, 12:18 pm
Lekke game Lions,now go play like that in the Super 14.
Ja not gonna get any easier this weekend,but at least im sure Newlands will give the Bulls a nice warm reception…
No sorry guys Delarey is not a big hit over here , you won’t hear that sh!te at Newlands.
Steve Hofmeyer is not considered a hero down here , he is often compared to Chuck Norris.
Your army of brandy and coke powered inbreds are shhhhhhhtuck in Pretoria,the game’s in Cape Town. Enjoy the telly and the continuous growth of your belly.
Im gonna organize for posters in the bulls changeroom of Gio Aplon and Bolla Conradie.
Bring it on Bullsh*ts
11 Oct 2009, 12:18 pm
#850 David: nice little wake up call for them all… he’s confident… the rest look like they’re about to pass out from nerves
11 Oct 2009, 12:19 pm
I almost feel bad… everybody is so confident and I feel like digging myself a hole and hiding until it’s all over
11 Oct 2009, 12:24 pm
#852 SpringbokSarah:
I’d be very tempted to move Luke to 6, Vermeulen 8 and Flo at 7 against the Bulls. The problem though, would be that it disrupts the side. Besides I’m not the coach.
11 Oct 2009, 12:27 pm
#854 David: THAT’S WHAT I SAID! And Rassie said he can’t tell the difference between 6, 7 and 8… so whatever makes the coaches happy I guess
11 Oct 2009, 12:29 pm
Does anyone know if an appointment has been made for DOC at GLRU? I thought an announcement was going to be made by this last Friday 9th.
11 Oct 2009, 12:53 pm
To go to Ellis Park and try come away with a 4 try win under the trying circumstances of playing against a committed set of players with a new lease of belief, as well as having to negotiate around a ref with a definite mandate to allow the winning ways pay master team some favorable spoiling agendas, is like swimming dead against the prevailing tide.
The fact that Bekker almost set up the counter insurgency to the orchestrated setup by the collaborating partners in crime with his 3 incisive breaks down the middle of the coke tin park almost upset the apple cart.
However now that the easier prerogative is no longer on the cards we’ll simply have to go about achieving the almost impossible the hard way round, take care of Bulls and Sharks in subsequent weekends. No sweat, we’ve taken care of both of them already this season so nothing is out our league here, just a little adjustment of sight setting and we good to go. Subdue and overcome the overrated grandiose preconceiving enemy(s).
11 Oct 2009, 13:08 pm
#856 Cochybundu:
Apparently the shortlist goes to the board on Monday for a decision by the end of the week.
11 Oct 2009, 13:11 pm
#857 skopskiet: quit your f’kcadilly feeble excuse making skopskiet! Jake outsmarted his erstwhile assistant allister with no-name brand players. Acknowledge the brilliance of the man, better yet stay bitter & delusional. Winning Ways For Life.
11 Oct 2009, 13:56 pm
#854 David:
They will bring Burger back to 6!
WP must stop that quota numbers game, January, Chavanga, Aplon and De Jongh must be out, the Bulls give no quarters and Morne Styen knows how to kick to the corners and to turn back adventurous back line!
11 Oct 2009, 13:59 pm
#859 Pearl Rose:
Talking being delusinal?
Coetzee was a Nominal back line coach on JW’s staff, came the 2007 RWC time and JW openly appointed the able Eddie Jones for the position
11 Oct 2009, 14:02 pm
#859 David: Thank you.
11 Oct 2009, 14:33 pm
Really sorry for WP…
Really wanted Sharks to end 2nd on log, beat the Bulls, travel to Newlands and watch (live) the Sharks decimate WP at home.. Sigh, now WP will lose to the Bulls, and it will be a Bulls Sharks final in Durban, *yawn*
Sharks to defend cup!!
11 Oct 2009, 14:40 pm
I’d stop yawning if i were you. If you think it’ll be a Sharks Bulls final there will be a surprise for you mate.
You’ll be lucky if your side makes the final.
11 Oct 2009, 14:47 pm
#864 WP_: agreed, not the Sharks this year!
11 Oct 2009, 14:57 pm
#864 WP_: We’ll be lucky? Last time I looked at the log Sharks were at no.1…the arrogance WP supporters knows no bounds.
11 Oct 2009, 15:04 pm
Alister Coetsee is no top two inches coach unfortunately, not a patch on Pdv, yet Wp get saddled with the guy that the holy WC winning emperor himself was promoting for the Bok coaching job after he ditched and ducked the guillotine of his own making, even though when push came to shove and he was staring down the barrel of a toothless WC campaign in 2007 this self serving emperor of self righteous delusion goes and up stages his own assistants by promoting a foreigner Australian coach over their heads.
So in clinical cold light of day assessment it is no great surprise whatsoever that this win waxing wannabee up stages his erstwhile assistant once again, seeing as he was his erstwhile master of deceptive fate back in the fallacious hey day. Like taking candy from a baby really. Just wish he’d wrap his prodigious disciple up and ship him off to his castle of win way delusion so that we can get a proper coach down here already.
11 Oct 2009, 15:20 pm
it is certainly not a given that sharks and bulls will meet in the final.
any of the four semifinalists have the strength (and will) to win next saturday.
the first choice for sa would be to have the two powerhouses of rugby meet in the final…but it could also be weepee and cheetahs.
very interesting cc this season.
11 Oct 2009, 15:27 pm
No. Not arrogance. Just the Cheetahs are a very good side, being underestimated by the majority of the Sharks mob.
That’s arrogance.
Plus havent looked too flash lately…
Hence you’ll be lucky to play in the final this year and dont be surprised if you dont.
11 Oct 2009, 15:39 pm
#864 WP_:
I am more confident of my team beating an inform Cheetah’s team then Province beating a 3rd string Bulls team. So yes, I do predict a Bulls Sharks final in Durban. WP are good, just not champion material – 2010 will be a different picture what with the crazy spending spree going on, but we are still in 2009 and while WP have made huge leaps, I dont beleive this is your year…
11 Oct 2009, 15:47 pm
Cheetahs have always been a thorn in the Sharks side, I will hold onto my comment until after that match. Depth will be an issue, we have most of the FS squad in DBN
That being said, the cheetahs have the players to cause an upset, and if this is so, I hope that the Cheetahs go on to win the Cup, anyone but the Bulls (you have enough silverware) or WP…
11 Oct 2009, 16:00 pm
Id love to see a WP Cheetahs final.
11 Oct 2009, 16:29 pm
#872 you may just get your wish. I reckon can very well happen. In fact I’m counting on it.
11 Oct 2009, 16:57 pm
VRYSTAAT for the CUP
11 Oct 2009, 16:57 pm
the simole reality is that the sharks have been the best side this season.
in fact, they have 12 wins, more than any other team.
the closest is wp with 10 wins.
thats right ladies and gentlemen, the “overrated, arrogant, poaching” sharkies DESERVE to be top of the log.
the others sides dont.
but playoffs are a completely different scenario.
my gut feel is bulls will murder a committed province and then head to the tank.
we will sing and laugh and drink together as we have these last few years.
and it will be a close fought affair with the game turning on a few moments…..like frenchies ankle tap on habs last year or a crucial steal in the dying moments by a bulls yster.
respect the bulls i do.
they have defo been our biggest competition lately.
11 Oct 2009, 17:47 pm
#870 TS
I appreciate your comments. Those of a sensible Sharks fan, unlike crouching…
Well I accept your statements you can never tell what happens will happen in finals rugby.
So it’ll be a very interesting weekend’s rugby. Good luck to all 3 sides (except the Bulls)
Ok, maybe them too…
11 Oct 2009, 20:03 pm
What ever happens from here, is it not incredible that South Africa can field teams of such calibre every single week? My hope is that the smaller unions start holding onto their elite players, whilst building towards the future – look at Griquas this year, absolutely amazing work!! If they can keep some personel, whilst bringing in some Varsity cup players, they really could go for the cup in 2010.
Rugby, how its meant to be played, on a field with politics nowhere to be seen!!!
Good luck to all the teams involved in the fianl 4!
Its a race!!!
11 Oct 2009, 20:20 pm
#869 WP_: yes they will be coming into the game underdogs and i suspect it will be a tough game,however it isnt the sharks that will be lucky to make the finals, it will be wp …and cheetahs respectively …ure coments are so condesending towards sharks ,jealousy ?? -the sharks will be lucky -home game against one of the teams with the fewest springboks who had a shakey start and who frankly have filled there team with so so players like juries -the sharks have problem in the midfield only …and the cheetahs wont be able to strike that …im sure the sharks will take the bull by the horns this weekend and give them hell…no easy feat for anyteam to come down to durbs and beat us -lol xcept wp cc 09 pre semis ha ha ha
11 Oct 2009, 21:37 pm
Well Done Lions!!!!!!!!! for beating WP. Pukey nearly vomited on his wp jersey. Now its for the bulls to slaughter pukey and co. and for the true champions finale Bulls vs Sharks. Lions snatching victory from pukey arrogance was the sweetest. Well Done Lions!!!
11 Oct 2009, 22:20 pm
#876 WP_: Excuse me where exactly where my comments haven’t been ‘sensible’? Kindly explain why you have chosen to single me out because I certainly haven’t done that to you or are you simply spoiling for a fight?!
11 Oct 2009, 22:27 pm
#859 Pearl Rose: LOL!!! Beautiful!!
You have to admit that the leakiest defence in the S14 has now become something to be feared under the winnning Ways. You can say a lot about the Boks under JWhite, but that they had a leaky defence was not one of them (the 49-0 anomaly aside).
As a Bulls supporter that lived in Jhb for a long time, I am bloody loving this!! The Lions have always had a soft spot in my heart – it is great to see this team get some pride and direction. About time!! And maybe they will not be automatic 5 pipointers next S14 as well. This will help the Bulls.
12 Oct 2009, 00:44 am
#880 Crouching
Go read the comment you wrote buddy. I’m just calling what I see.
Why do you always play the victim, people are always after you, arent they? Get a grip.
I’m not suprised skop had problems with you a few weeks back.
12 Oct 2009, 00:58 am
#882 WP_: come on be gentle. Crouchy is a sensitive soul that feels comfortable within a mob of sharks fans or the anti-pdv brigade. So when you call him out of the mob, he feels vulnerable hence the knee-jerk “victim mentality” wailings.
12 Oct 2009, 01:22 am
#883 Pearl Rose: Anti-pdv brigade?! For fcks sake what have I ever said that puts me in the anti-pdv camp?! Are we not allowed to ever criticise our coach? Is he beyond any form of reproach?
Get it straight Pearl, I DO NOT HAVE A PROBLEM WITH PDV! I AM VERY HAPPY FOR HIM TO BE OUR COACH AND I HOPE THINGS CARRY ON GOING WELL FOR HIM!
I don’t what I’ve said that puts me in that camp but that is some bs peddled by Skop and I’m not gonna stand for you doing the same. Looks like you want to stir up some more animosity, well bring it on because I will not back down from defending myself!
12 Oct 2009, 01:26 am
#882 WP_: Which comment are you referring to? I’ve made numerous comments on this thread. Not playing the victim but it is an undisputable fact that you singled me out for no good reason and naturally I’m going to respond to that.
Skop deliberately stirred up trouble with me when he insulted me on a thread I was nowhere near at the time. I was simply standing up for myself.
12 Oct 2009, 02:42 am
Ffs what’s up with this crouchy character?is he some kinda demented soul or what?
12 Oct 2009, 05:00 am
Province are going to be crunched by the Cows.
12 Oct 2009, 07:55 am
#883 Pearl Rose: #886 Valkyrie: I agree, he is a sensitive, clearly with some underlying issues there. Always seeming to feel the need to ‘stand up’ for himself. I’m not sure why he always plays the victim card but I dont really care to be honest. Maybe he has something to prove.
12 Oct 2009, 08:05 am
Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Why are you singling me out? Why do you personally attack me? Mommy, mommy all the other boys hate me, they pick on me.
12 Oct 2009, 11:07 am
I think that a big hand of applause needs to go to the Lions for their spirited display that was shown on the weekend
12 Oct 2009, 12:03 pm
Congratulations to the Lions, you beat us.
12 Oct 2009, 12:35 pm
Again, Well done to the Lions. Hope you guys support us on Saturday!
12 Oct 2009, 14:55 pm
#889 WP_: You’re such a doos. Still waiting for your reason as to why you called me out but it sounds like you were just throwing your toys out of the pram because your beloved flowers wilted on Saturday.
12 Oct 2009, 14:57 pm
#886 Valkyrie: Whats your problem? Wanna join in the attack? Bring it on fcker!
12 Oct 2009, 17:04 pm
Crouching tosser
You have issues you doos. I’m no longer going to waste my time engaging in idiotic conversation with someone with such a small brain capacity such as yourself. You just bring people down to your low level of brian function. Always singling out people and playing the victim.
Enough now. Good bye and good riddance. oh and good luck to your sharks on saturday.
13 Oct 2009, 01:26 am
#895 WP_: Not exactly redeeming yourself either WP, I’ve not seen you write one intelligent thing on this whole thread but hey what more can you expect from a WP supporter!
Good riddance to your stinking hide too. Oh and good luck to Flowers for saturday.
13 Oct 2009, 08:02 am
#896 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: You wouldnt know intelligent if it smacked you in the face, so I’m not too phased about what you spew.
13 Oct 2009, 08:16 am
#896 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: #897 WP_: yOU boys got a crush on each other??
13 Oct 2009, 08:22 am
#898 grant10: Howzit Grant.
Some people hey, wow.
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All