Lions deny WP top spot
10 Oct 2009
An inspired Lions defensive effort laid the platform for an upset 27-25 victory over WP on Saturday.
The result means WP will host the Blue Bulls at Newlands next week while the Cheetahs will travel to Durban to play the first-placed Sharks. The Lions denied the Stormers a semi-final spot in the 2008 Super 14 and WP a play-off berth in subsequent domestic competition. With the display at Ellis Park, they’ve now denied the Cape side an easier path to the Currie Cup final.
The visitors enjoyed the best possible start with Juan de Jongh scoring in the second minute. Duane Vermeulen affected the breakdown steal and Ricky Januarie subsequently freed up gliding second rower Andries Bekker. The Springbok lock was brought to ground before offloading to Francois Louw who in turn found De Jongh in support.
To their credit, the Lions picked themselves up, even when another Bekker break sparked a Joe Pietersen try in the 21st minute. Pietersen, who converted both tries, nailed two penalties to give WP a commanding 17-3 lead after half an hour.
The Lions bumbled several opportunities through shocking handling, but winger Dusty Noble caused the WP defence plenty of problems. After a sustained period on attack, Doppies la Grange slipped through for an important try, and added another on the stroke of half-time to reduce the deficit to 20-17.
It was another WP defensive error that allowed Lions No 8 Willem Alberts to barge through, and only a desperate scramble prevented the colossal loosie from going all the way. The Lions wisely kept it tight, and La Grange’s low body position proved unstoppable.
Bone-jarring defence culled plenty of Province momentum, while a fierce breakdown effort punished the soft clean out attempts of the visitors. The visitors blew a great chance to score their third try early in the second half, the Lions making the defensive hit and then the inevitable turnover.
The defensive pressure forced WP into more attacking errors, as the coughed up possession in promising field positions. Their scrum was also heavily penalised by referee Marius Jonker. Province may have been on a roll in the last few weeks, but up against one of the traditional big-five teams, they looked limited.
The momentum of the game swung with this stonewall display, and when the Lions received another opportunity, they brought their long-suffering supporters to their feet. Noble finished and Herkie Kruger kicked a great conversion to edge the Lions into a 24-20 lead.
WP booted a penalty in the corner in the 67th minute, and they were always going to aim for Bekker and initiate the rolling maul. The hosts did well to sack the first drive, but a powerful pick up from the ruck allowed Francois Louw to reclaim the advantage for WP.
An infringement allowed Chris Jonck to slot a penalty for the Lions, and the home team began to kick for the corners in attempt to force WP to run from their own line. They succeeded in keeping possession and slowing the tempo, and even though WP enjoyed one final crack in the dying seconds, the scoreline remain unchanged.
WP coach Allister Coetzee’s disappointment will be doubled when he realises just how poor Province were in key areas. The Lions have their minor victory, and the defeat has highlighted some concerns ahead of a semi-final clash with a Bulls side that will include plenty of Boks.
By Jon Cardinelli

906 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 19 » Show All
10 Oct 2009, 19:38 pm
Before the Winning Ways blokes take credit here for a fantastic victory, they must be reminded that this is the 3rd time the Lions have denied Province/Stormers something.
I have spoken for 2 years now that these players play their best rugby when aiming for a negative goal. They have proven that theory again tonight. For their sake, I hope they can build on this performance.
To my Province team: well, a bit of choking there I guess but perhaps the best thing that could have happened going into next week’s game. Realistically they dont have a chance: too much experience, composure and class in Bulls side.
But they must now adopt almost a smart approach which will be to try and disrupt the Bulls from building momentum and confidence. They must do unusual things, surprise the Bulls and hopefully frustrate them.
10 Oct 2009, 19:40 pm
#401 Sheriff:
come on now sheriff, do you really expect the lions to rollover?
its competitive sport, with carreers on the line.
10 Oct 2009, 19:40 pm
Jinxie!
nah just wondering whether the lions have a semi next week
10 Oct 2009, 19:41 pm
At least it means that Alistair will stay with WP. Who wants to employ the coach of the team you’ve just beaten?
10 Oct 2009, 19:42 pm
I’m cheating on my girlfriend – with rugby. I just can’t help it, I love rugby more than her…
#403 Slappes:
#399 skopskiet:
Been smoking some good stuff again, have you…
Anyway, going out for dinner, will swing by here later tonight.
Been a good day’s rugby.
10 Oct 2009, 19:43 pm
#405 WP Till I Die:
you have your priorities right, now you just need to learn to keep them to yourself, tho your honesty is commenable and brave.
10 Oct 2009, 19:45 pm
Cab, mon ami, je croix que la verite est le plus belle chose du mond…
10 Oct 2009, 19:45 pm
My last word is, again, well done to the real lions supporters.
But to the Sharks and Bulls supporters, I wouldnt start celebrating too soon hey! You’re sides have bloody tough games next week.
Dont be suprised if it’s a WP-Cheetahs final either.
10 Oct 2009, 19:47 pm
#409 WP Till I Die:
wattehel se jy?
totsiens, wish i could have seen the damn thing, sounds like willem alberts was huge.
10 Oct 2009, 19:47 pm
lmao sneaky try from Geraghty
10 Oct 2009, 19:48 pm
Cab, sorry, thought you were a fellow francophone… I said I believe truth to be the most beautiful thing on earth.
10 Oct 2009, 19:49 pm
#387 grant10: It’s not just the teams belief that died today, mine did too. To win the cup we must beat the Bulls and the Sharks in consecutive weeks. Man that’s a tough ask. No, we blew it today, just like we have done in the past against the Lions. I’m heartbroken.
10 Oct 2009, 19:49 pm
#401 Sheriff:
a ‘negative goal’ WTH is that? a win is a win mate get it?
Is it the fault of my Winning Way Lions that the WP have not won anything of note this century?
No it is the fault of the ladies wearing hoop jerseys and their less than average coaching staff who will never measure up to our Winning Way coaches.
10 Oct 2009, 19:50 pm
#413 WP Till I Die:
je sais
i dont mind the frenchies, but we must just beat them in toulouse.
thats going to be a helluva game.
10 Oct 2009, 19:51 pm
Been a good day’s rugby. Lions played with heart and commitment deserving a win that Jonker once blinded them a blind side against Waratah’s. But Wp were done at the damn breakdown every time Lions stole over the ball. Double standard reffing. January butchered two perfect opportunities when we were turned over in their 22.
Negative rugby stole the show. Noble had a fantastic game. So did De Jongh and F. Louw and Alberts and Jonk. January cost us early on. Pietersen missed a sitter of a conversion.
But never mind next week we show Bulletkies who’s boss.
10 Oct 2009, 19:51 pm
#411 cab:
Rassie tried to buy him a couple of seasons ago, to replace AJ as a 7/4.
10 Oct 2009, 19:53 pm
Als WP-Unterstuetzer sind wir ja immer enttaeuscht…
10 Oct 2009, 19:54 pm
#402 cab:
I think Province can be proud of their season already.
Definitely a good 20-30% improvement from 2008. I spoke about the danger of hype and I think their most recent result will assist to remind them how quickly it can slip away.
They know that the 2 top teams are Bulls and Sharks, hence the desperation to play the Cheetahs. But this must be seen as an opportunity to go and measure themselves against the best in the country, much in the same way the Lions did tonight.
They will have to back themselves to surprise us all next week. I think there is enough positivity in the camp to go all out anyway.
10 Oct 2009, 19:54 pm
#418 David:
i like alot of rassie thinking tho the disco lights were unusual, its a good place to use him, there no-one after bakkies, pk getting a bit long in the tooth, alberts will also get good go-forward in NH conditions.
10 Oct 2009, 19:55 pm
Ach, Scheisse, es gibt immer Bier. Mehr trinken…vielleicht vergesse Ich dann
10 Oct 2009, 19:55 pm
#417 skopskiet: Ja Skoppie there were a few calls i didn’t agree with today but the Plonker didn’t costs us today. The Lions were up to the task and we just fell short, it happens sometimes but I felt from about 50 mins we weren’t going to do enough. The Bulls or Sharks would have found a way to get the bonus point, we just lack that little bit of extra that you need at this level. Looking forward to the semis though, lets fill Newlands with PROVINCE fans and intimidate these okes.
10 Oct 2009, 19:56 pm
#420 Sheriff:
yes i think you right, there is def an improvement, i have no doubt this team could pull off a win at home, but the Bulls with Boks back very hard to beat obviously. If Bakkies plays, i think WP will struggle to compete, there is no-one like him currently in SA rugby.
10 Oct 2009, 19:57 pm
Good post, johnnymain. You are a boon to Province fans everywhere
10 Oct 2009, 19:58 pm
#419 WP Till I Die:
now i;m truly clueless, are the germans invading?
10 Oct 2009, 19:58 pm
Lions are a changed side attitude-wise.
10 Oct 2009, 19:59 pm
#415 RedLion:
Let me explain: positive goal is to go and win the Currie Cup, 3N, RWC etc.
A negative goal is to deny another team something.
It was good to see them perform at their peak for a change, but psychologically there is something wrong with your team.
Let’s not forget that Province at least advance to the next level, having earned that right.
Not so for the Lions. They are a “next year” team; next year we will show you. And so it goes on and on.
Bulls are 95% sure of a final spot, let’s see if they can get there indeed.
10 Oct 2009, 19:59 pm
actually dare i say it, but imo you need to pick someone like schalk and telling him to get stuck into bakkies a bit, but that is not a lekker task to be assigned.
10 Oct 2009, 20:00 pm
#424 cab: Bulls plus Boks will be a tough proposition, but we can do it alright. Newlands packed and some luck, why not!?
Cab, I said as WP fans we are always disappointed, but there is next week. cunning linguists, we are
Ey Redlion mate. 2001 WAS this century mate!
You’re team is the one that hasnt anything meaningful this century. But congrats on today’s game. You’re side played bloody well. I trust you’ll be supporting WP in the semi’s
10 Oct 2009, 20:02 pm
#430 jonnymain:
yes definitely should be a close game, i do believe burger would make a difference, but its probably the best loosetrio in the comp at the moment.
#431 WP Till I Die:
10 Oct 2009, 20:03 pm
Spring, era djavlar! Fi fahn!
10 Oct 2009, 20:04 pm
#429 cab: yes they need some real steel and guts for the Bulls assignment
10 Oct 2009, 20:04 pm
Lets look on the bright side. If the cup is to come home we need to:
a) Hope Vrystaat beat the Sharks
b) Beat the Bulls at the home of SA rugby
I just can’t see us beating the Bulls next week and then going to Durbs to beat a full-strength Natal – they looked impressive today.
10 Oct 2009, 20:05 pm
Geraghty creates another one
But at least we pick up our dogs’ ****, unlike les Parisiennes…
#435 Big Hit:
yes the bulls normally rough them up a bit.
10 Oct 2009, 20:06 pm
#428 Sheriff:
Negative goal?
You assume denying WePee top spot was even a goal of the Lions.
The Lions wanted to win, thats all.
Every side wants to beat another top side.
Its a compliment to WePee that they valued a win so highly
Congrats to the Lions.
10 Oct 2009, 20:07 pm
#428 Sheriff:
“A negative goal is to deny another team something.”
LOL, this is professional sport and the aim of the game is to win, not throw matches. What you are proposing is called match fixing which dissapeared from SA when Hansie went down.
I think you summed it up nicley when you said that the WP are scared of of the Bulls andthe Sharks and were desperate to avoind them in the semi’s. And now that the worst case scenario has happended to blame another team for winning.
Rather do what other people do and blame the ref, it is not as pathetic as blaming the opposition.
10 Oct 2009, 20:08 pm
Shane Geraghty’s some player!
10 Oct 2009, 20:08 pm
#438 WP Till I Die:
its like a bladdy minefield, couple of years ago they reported 600 cases of ppl slipping on the merde and breaking a bone. its a pandemic, they dont care less, yesterday this granny let her dog fire away outside our doorstep and she did not even blink an eye in trying to pick it up.
10 Oct 2009, 20:09 pm
WP to be semi losers, but a good season after all, I would say
10 Oct 2009, 20:11 pm
Cab, you have a French Dilemma: whether to stop or whether to arrete…
10 Oct 2009, 20:11 pm
#442 jonnymain: Not better than many others, he is average
10 Oct 2009, 20:12 pm
#444 JL1: it is a negative goal for the Bulls to beat the WP in front of their home crowd – just ask the sherrif.
10 Oct 2009, 20:12 pm
#442 jonnymain: yeah electric tonight, Wilkinson/Geraghty 10/12 in the Autumn
10 Oct 2009, 20:13 pm
#446 JL1: Disagree. He’s got a touch of the X factor about him, a bit like Ruan Pienaar.
10 Oct 2009, 20:13 pm
#399 skopskiet:
Conspiracy theories? You reckon the refs have it in for WePee? And are pro Sharks?
It was a very even game. Possession, territory, tackles, everything.
The Lions shaded it. Well done to them.
That’s all
Oh and to the Lions …. thanks.
I don’t take beating the Cheetahs for granted (they are after all a bogey side for the Sharks) but the idea of facing the Bulls and WePee two weeks in a row – thats tough.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 19 » Show All