Players praise Bulls pair
16 Oct 2009
Fourie du Preez, Morné Steyn, Heinrich Brüssow, Sarel Pretorius and Stefan Terblanche have been nominated for the coveted SA Players’ Player of the Year award.
Nominations for this prestigious accolade are made by the 452 members of Sarpa which include all the Springboks and professional players of the 14 provincial unions. In 2008, the award was won by Jean de Villiers, who also walked away with the SA Player of the Year prize.
CEO of Sarpa Piet Heymans said selection for the Players’ Player of the Year will differ from previous years in that there will be two rounds of casting votes.
‘Whereas in the past the player who had received the most nominations from the members of Sarpa automatically received the award, this year all the members have been requested to vote again for these five nominees only in a second round of voting, which closes on midnight, Sunday October 18,’ he said.
‘The nominations are a true and fair reflection of the performances in the Currie Cup as well as at international level. To be nominated by a player you have played against is a great honour and confirms that such a player is respected by his peers. I am sure that whatever the result, any one of these nominees will be a worthy winner of the Sarpa Players’ Player of the Year award.’
The winner will be announced at Saru’s annual award banquet on 2 November.

95 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
16 Oct 2009, 14:16 pm
#48 wpw: couldnt agree more.
PDivvy is the man for sure.
16 Oct 2009, 14:17 pm
#49 ufo:
Hey!! I thought you a WP supporter!!
(good one though)
16 Oct 2009, 14:17 pm
gotta be PdViva!!!
16 Oct 2009, 14:21 pm
Whats Stefan ‘im still waiting for 2 oscars for jp nel and lions 8th man’ terreblanche doing there? He is a disgrace to the game, acting up like that just to get a player carded.
He must f@#k off.
16 Oct 2009, 14:21 pm
#52 wpw:
I am…
That was supposed to be a compliment… The force being with Luke and him being the top try scorer and all…
must be lost in translation…
after all… human is not my mother-tongue…
16 Oct 2009, 14:22 pm
#54 BlueBlood:
Referee of the Year: Jonathan Kaplan
16 Oct 2009, 14:23 pm
No doubt PDivvy is the man – but to me it was a tough choice between him, Theron and Treu. Treu snuck it in the end for me because he has been working so hard for so long to achieve this feat.
Having said that, if it goes to one of the others I will not be disappointed.
16 Oct 2009, 14:23 pm
#54 BlueBlood: no, you f’#ck off blueballs.
stop being such a tinkebelle anyways. you sound like a teenage girl screaming for/agaisnt someone at the idols competition.
16 Oct 2009, 14:26 pm
#56 WP Till I Die:
16 Oct 2009, 14:26 pm
#58 rangerman:
Whoa, rangerman, never seen you react like that
16 Oct 2009, 14:27 pm
#58 rangerman: Howzit Ranger,
Ignore that fool. Only here to stir as usual.
This time tomorrow the game will just about begin. Very excited now.
16 Oct 2009, 14:28 pm
#58 rangerman: Don’t give him the time of day Ranger have you ever heard of “trailer trash?’ well what ever colour he wears that is how I view this particular blogger ignore and go on! His posts are nothing but a good laugh anyway!
16 Oct 2009, 14:29 pm
#54 BlueBlood: Go and stand in the corner for making an embarrassingly stupid comment.
16 Oct 2009, 14:30 pm
#63 Kerneels:
16 Oct 2009, 14:31 pm
blueblood is mental man , hy het nooit n goeie woord vir eenige ander span nie
16 Oct 2009, 14:32 pm
#63 Kerneels: sadly boet he supports your team you have our sympathies
16 Oct 2009, 14:35 pm
#66 sharks_lover:
Hey dude!!!
16 Oct 2009, 14:36 pm
#60 WP Till I Die: ag, i am just revving him
came across a bit strong i think.
blueballs, just kidding eh mate?
#61 Puma: unbelievable man. i cant wait!
16 Oct 2009, 14:37 pm
#62 Sharksgirl: hey sharksgirl!
we are going to dominate!
#58 rangerman:
jeez bru you just made my laptop restart…
#35 wpw: Huh? Brussow only played one game against those teams that Luke scored those tries against, and in his 40minutes on the field he also scored 2 tries. And he also scored more tries for the boks than Luke. Check your stats first.
#68 rangerman: Yip, Think its going to be closer than we think. Should be a cracker both semi finals.
16 Oct 2009, 14:39 pm
#68 rangerman:
Don’t worry, it’s punishment enough already for him that Kaplan is reffing the final!
16 Oct 2009, 14:40 pm
#71 Bouts:
How many games did Luke START for the Boks???
Did Brussow not play in the S14?? How many tries did he score then??
16 Oct 2009, 14:43 pm
#66 sharks_lover: That is OK – I support the Bulls, not the Bulls fans…
Anyway, we all have that uncle in jail we don’t like to talk about… I’m not sure if you ever had the distinct displeasure of meeting Felonke (cheetahs). He made BlueBlood and Tac look like Ghandi and Mother Theresa respectively. He was actually convinced that Phillip Burger is a better player than Habana…
16 Oct 2009, 14:47 pm
#70 gunther: #73 WP Till I Die: #72 Puma:
man i love the sharp end of the cc.
so much tension. i am wound so tight at the moment that i am limiting my caffeine intake to prevent any outbursts.
didnt help blueblood.
16 Oct 2009, 14:48 pm
OK Guys I’m heading home.
I’ll be at the tank tomorrow…don’t know who I am supporting yet! If the Sharks win the final is in Durbs, but if the Cheaters win there is a chance of a Loftus final. It is like Sophie’s choice!
Good luck to all your respective teams. Monday we will hand out some pie…just don’t know to who yet!
16 Oct 2009, 14:49 pm
#74 wpw: whilst luke was playing cc, brussouw was beating the aussies and kiwis, home and away.
lets stay focussed please.
16 Oct 2009, 14:51 pm
#76 rangerman: Ja, this is the time it heats up. Probably the time I enjoy the CC the most too.
We win tomorrow then we have another final at the Tank. Hoping. It could go anyway only one point will make a difference from either side. I never underestimate the Cheetahs, especially after the S14 this year when they thumped us good and solid.
Just hope that extra point is on the Sharks side tomorrow.
16 Oct 2009, 14:53 pm
#78 rangerman: Yip, well said Ranger.
16 Oct 2009, 14:58 pm
#79 Puma: ja, the cheetahs will be dangerous.
i really hope we dont lose but more than that, i want entertaining rugby tomorrow!
16 Oct 2009, 15:00 pm
#81 rangerman: Think we all want entertaining rugby, but if there is rain really don’t think we will see much of that.
Still looking forward to it. Rain or no rain.
16 Oct 2009, 15:03 pm
#76 rangerman:
I know what you mean thats why pilates andthe music of neil diamond become so important to me at this time of year they provide an outlet for my tension as well as a way of channeling positive energy… poor blueballs the guy will now be sobbing into his chocolate milk….
16 Oct 2009, 15:04 pm
#82 Puma: ja, but an attritional game is just as entertaining as a free flowing running game (psst…dont tell the australasians).
#69 rangerman: That we will!!! Just hugely relieved that Bissie and Deysel are available, should go a long way in keeping Brussow in a little check!
#26 John Galt:
now you’re being nasty… how could any team expect cohesion when losing so many key players to the bokke. if anything the sharks look like a team that win despite the apparent lack of structure (read coaching). every time they spread the ball nobody seems to know what to do with it. they only ever score from loose ball. and they do play the ugliest brand of rugby in the country.
if winning trophies means good coaching then i say frans ludeke, if not then i say naka drotski (spelling?). just my humble (low IQ) opinion.
may the farce be with you…
16 Oct 2009, 15:06 pm
Honestly….. i don’t want to be natting the Chaeters parade but i can’t see them pulling this one off.
In the other semi the Bulls has actually got a chance (imo)but nada – not the Cheaters.
Sorry for all concerned.
16 Oct 2009, 15:08 pm
#83 gunther: ah, pilates and neil diamond.
i go for beer and fast food.
to each their own.
#85 Sharksgirl: go sharks!!!!!!!!!!
16 Oct 2009, 15:08 pm
#84 rangerman: Well for tomorrow mate, I don’t care how we play it, as long as we end up with one more point than the Cheetahs.
16 Oct 2009, 15:13 pm
#89 Puma: too true puma.
anyways mates, gotta go. have a good one and may the sharks dominate the cheetahs thoroughly.
the wp/bulls?
bring them on.
16 Oct 2009, 15:29 pm
#90 rangerman: Cheers Ranger,
Enjoy the game tomorrow.
16 Oct 2009, 15:33 pm
#56 WP Till I Die: Nope. Marius Jonker.
16 Oct 2009, 18:06 pm
#40 katman: Liar. You hid in the bathroom with flat Coke and a bag of Tomato Sauce chips.
I hate it when you try and boost your ego with cheap chirps.
16 Oct 2009, 18:11 pm
#54 BlueBlood: The Lions 8 took him in mid-air and should’ve been carded. Nel played like a thug, SA rugby is better off without him. Terblanche is a credit to the game.
16 Oct 2009, 18:12 pm
On a more serious note. This must be, from a players point of view, be the pinnacle of recognition. And in my opinion these are the best players of the year, Victor might feel unlucky.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All