Cheetahs shock Sharks
17 Oct 2009
Jacques-Louis Potgieter slotted a last minute drop to knock the Sharks out of the Currie Cup at Kings Park.
The Cheetahs have come back from the dead in the league stages in the competition, and did the same in this semi as they trailed 18-3 early in the second half. But a remarkable comeback, aided by the Cheetahs flyhalf scoring 18 points, secured one of the great upsets in the competition as they won 23-21.
The Cheetahs were expected to trouble the Sharks at the scrum, breakdown and with their attack. They did just that, and throughout the opening 40 minutes they produced most of the play. Looking at the scoreboard however, it wouldn’t have told. The Sharks led 15-3 at the break, 10 of those points coming in the final 10 minutes, but for the visitors it was a half of lost opportunities.
No 8 Ashley Johnson was held up inches from the tryline, while Potgieter’s goal-kicking problems were initially exposed. He missed nine points off the boot from two penalties and a drop, and playing with the wind, trailing by 12 points was far from Naka Drotske’s plans.
Heinrich Brussow – who was easily the best player on the park on the day – delivered yet another masterclass at the breakdown, but when the Sharks did force turnovers they made it count. Stefan Terblanche opened the scoring from a long range effort from their 22 after 10 minutes. Ruan Pienaar also slotted a penalty from another Sharks counter, while the scrumhalf’s try on the half-time hooter came from JP Pietersen’s break in their own territory, the Bok winger brushing off tackles and linking brilliantly.
The Sharks had little possession and territory, while their scrum was a shambles. The Sharks attempted to win the territorial battle largely via the educated boot of Juan Hernandez and his array of different kicks, but they had little ball to do it with. The Cheetahs conversely looked to run as much as possible, but couldn’t convert their pressure into points.
They were also winning a number of the personal battles, especially at the scrum and breakdown, with referee Marius Jonker rewarding them with many penalties. Both sides’ lineouts struggled and as a result, neither side constructed much play.
The visitors’ hopes of an upset were also hampered after half-time when Richardt Strauss had to be substituted. They had no specialist hooker cover and Johnson had to move into the front row, further curbing their plans to attack the Sharks’ set-pieces.
Early in the second stanza, the story of the opening stages was clearly exemplified. As soon as the defending champs got into opposition territory, Hernandez put over a drop to extend the lead. Corne Uys then had a chance to score from a chip, but failed to hold on. Potgieter slotted a penalty and cancelled out the Argentinean’s effort, but yet again the Cheetahs would have felt they should have gained more from their work.
Finally the underdogs made it count. Impressive tighthead WP Nel carried a number of defenders on his back to surge over the line and put his side back into it at 18-13 after 52 minutes. When Frans Viljoen looked to have dotted down four minutes later, the Cheetahs should have been in the lead. Somehow Jonker referred with his assistant ref and they ruled a forward pass, but it wouldn’t matter in the end.
Just two minutes later they wouldn’t have worried about that when Potgieter ran 50m to score. A shocking pass from Pienaar was lapped up by the flyhalf, putting the visitors in front for the first time since the opening five minutes.
Pienaar reclaimed the lead, and while the Sharks dominated territory in the last quarter, they failed to close out the match. Decision-making was poor as Hernandez, Terblanche and Adi Jacobs all went for drops when they had the visitors on the ropes. Ironically, it was Potgieter who was the one who dropped into the pocket to seal the result.
By Grant Ball

323 Comments
17 Oct 2009, 13:35 pm
Table Top Dragons Vs Veldite Dragons.
May the best Okes win.
17 Oct 2009, 13:36 pm
lets get dangerous!
17 Oct 2009, 13:38 pm
Both these teams are rubbish. Only reason I want the Cheetahs to win is so we can have a Loftus final.
17 Oct 2009, 13:40 pm
Ops…………
My humble apologizes to The Cheats and Sharkies. may the best predator win.
17 Oct 2009, 13:41 pm
#3 BlueBlood: Haven’t you got homework or something to do?
17 Oct 2009, 13:49 pm
Sharks in the water!
17 Oct 2009, 13:50 pm
yoh yoh yoh, some good rugby today.
17 Oct 2009, 13:50 pm
Who are the refs today?
17 Oct 2009, 13:52 pm
#5 jonnymain: No, Im going to be here for both games to rub the BB victory in tinkerbelle’s faces.
17 Oct 2009, 13:53 pm
#8 MG: jonker has this game
Marius Jonker this game and Mark Lawrence in CT
#6 Big Hit: Big ***, its more like guppies my son.
#4 cane:
I don’t understand the South African competition. There are 6 teams in the 1st devision and 2 teams in the 2nd devision but they display them all in the same table?
Seriously though, the NZRU would be having wet dreams about their up and coming relegation decision being on the Curry Cup and not AirNZ Cup.
17 Oct 2009, 13:56 pm
Thank goodness. Jonker the biggest bulls fan. Free State has a good chance today. I am glad he does not have the second game.
17 Oct 2009, 14:19 pm
#13 chch – welcome back Laulala: Howzit chch. You taking about the CC mate? We have 8 teams there.
17 Oct 2009, 14:19 pm
GO SHARRRRRRRRRKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
17 Oct 2009, 14:27 pm
#16 Puma: You sound nervous there Puma
17 Oct 2009, 14:28 pm
Does any one know where i can get alive feed for this game…desperate…LONDON
17 Oct 2009, 14:31 pm
is anyone watching this through rugbyzone? they only have the useless 500k flash feed?? what the heck is up with that?!
17 Oct 2009, 14:32 pm
Juries gonna pose problems in the final 30…
Come on Sharks!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 14:34 pm
#17 bananaboy: I am flipping nervous… been upset to many times to write off the cheetahs
17 Oct 2009, 14:35 pm
Come on cheetahs, you’re rubbish but I want a Loftus final.
17 Oct 2009, 14:41 pm
go cheetahs
Brusssow steal, then great break. Lovely rugby.
HAK VRYSTAAT!!!!!!
Bismark you Bus
17 Oct 2009, 14:42 pm
Well done Biz.
17 Oct 2009, 14:42 pm
where can I watch the games online from the UK??
17 Oct 2009, 14:43 pm
THATS IT BOYS!!!!!!!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 14:44 pm
Wow what a counter attack. Superb.
17 Oct 2009, 14:44 pm
Cheetahs playing some solid rugby – very good counterattack by the Sharks, but was it grounded properly?
17 Oct 2009, 14:47 pm
Yip, Solid
17 Oct 2009, 14:48 pm
Really good rugby being played by both sides here.
17 Oct 2009, 14:48 pm
Does any one know where i can get alive feed for this game…desperate…LONDON
WAKA
If you have sky press the red button there is a choice of 4 games 3 HC Munster Treviso,Biarritz Gloucester,Viadana Leicester, and Sharks Cheetahs
17 Oct 2009, 14:50 pm
yes! against the bokke frontrow!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 14:51 pm
Honestly our Springbok front row is getting moered. Nel is first class.
17 Oct 2009, 14:53 pm
Mapoe – great feet.
17 Oct 2009, 14:56 pm
#37 SodaJoe:
Fetishist?
Duck
tell you what, Cheaters can win this.
17 Oct 2009, 14:57 pm
#38 David: rugby players only.
17 Oct 2009, 14:57 pm
#41 SodaJoe: ok that’s a lie.
17 Oct 2009, 14:58 pm
Eina. He’s done. He mustn’t be dof.
17 Oct 2009, 14:59 pm
i see juan smith didn’t go chill at the beach while his teammates are playing
17 Oct 2009, 15:00 pm
#36 SodaJoe:
to be fair they are held together by elastoplast at the moment…
17 Oct 2009, 15:02 pm
#45 gunther:
Yeah, elastobok front row.
17 Oct 2009, 15:02 pm
the bulls made a good signing in jlp…tacitus thinks he is better than burton francis…what hogwash!
17 Oct 2009, 15:03 pm
What a game – Cheetahs want this one.
Sitting next to Robzim, justrugby, dawn, grant in cubanas. Grant wearing a speedo. Disgusting
#45 gunther: Nel is destroying Beast. Who might need a plaster-cast after this.
Odwa shouldnt have been in the starting 15, not with Mvovo playing like he has, not we have to start chopping and changing at 25 mins… fantastic!! Dumond you got to play outa your skin!!!
17 Oct 2009, 15:05 pm
heinrich is SA Player of the Year hands down!
17 Oct 2009, 15:05 pm
Gusy a fkn genius. The Diamond.
17 Oct 2009, 15:08 pm
why wouldn’t they put the reserve prop at hooker?
Brussow is superb. Sharks scrum is struggling.
#49 Slappes:
And please don’t tell us where he keeps his ticket.
Jus, the bok front row looks ordinary without Bakkies
17 Oct 2009, 15:09 pm
sharks scrum is PAP
17 Oct 2009, 15:11 pm
#50 SodaJoe: told you Nel was good.
17 Oct 2009, 15:11 pm
#58 Transformation: You’re being too kind.
17 Oct 2009, 15:12 pm
#57 Travelling Shark:
I’ve been warning about that for while. That’s the problem the WP front row will have.
17 Oct 2009, 15:13 pm
#59 Big Hit: Very strong, some good tackles too.
17 Oct 2009, 15:14 pm
We look good with ball in hand and some space, need more possesion and some territory wouldnt help.
Cheetahs playing really good rugby
NICE PIENAAR!!!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 15:14 pm
Sharks counterattacks this and last week were outstanding.
17 Oct 2009, 15:16 pm
Jpp playing really well, looking for work. Adi also playing well, including defense.
17 Oct 2009, 15:17 pm
Win or lose, I can see some more players being made an offer to cross the Drakensberg after this match.
17 Oct 2009, 15:18 pm
that’s some shiner on the Cheetahs hooker
17 Oct 2009, 15:18 pm
SHARKIES!!!!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 15:19 pm
Geez again.
17 Oct 2009, 15:21 pm
Some brilliant counterattacks from the Sharks!
17 Oct 2009, 15:21 pm
trrrrrrrrrrrrry!!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 15:22 pm
#70 WP Till I Die: so much for Stransky’s view that they couldn’t attack
I think manny pacquiao plays for the sharks!
Very important for Pienaar to score there – he’s a confidence player.
17 Oct 2009, 15:26 pm
Long way to go in this one.
17 Oct 2009, 15:28 pm
Cheetahs suck! There goes our Loftus final.
17 Oct 2009, 15:29 pm
Champion sides take the pressure and then turn it around! Sharks looking good. Impressed with JP
17 Oct 2009, 15:29 pm
#73 Transformation: Dont be stupid
17 Oct 2009, 15:30 pm
So far so good Sharks. Wind will be on our backs in the 2nd half that will be a relief for the players.
Go Sharks.
17 Oct 2009, 15:30 pm
Look for an early drop from Hernandez!
17 Oct 2009, 15:31 pm
#69 SodaJoe: Howzit Joe, You getting the game boet?
17 Oct 2009, 15:32 pm
#68 Travelling Shark:
17 Oct 2009, 15:32 pm
#78 Porto: stupid as you are…
17 Oct 2009, 15:34 pm
Hernandez drop goal. Go Sharks. Hernandez having a brilliant game so far.
17 Oct 2009, 15:34 pm
#80 Nightwalker: Good one!
17 Oct 2009, 15:35 pm
This one is all over. Why don’t they play Coenie at 2? No logic there.
What did I say
Nice start to the final 40.
The cheetahs need Juries on the field.#66 David: We will gladly include Kockott in the deal
17 Oct 2009, 15:36 pm
Bwahahahaha, that will make your ears ring!!
17 Oct 2009, 15:37 pm
18-6
17 Oct 2009, 15:38 pm
Roll on Bulls in the final. Another year without the funny little people from the Cape in the final. WP rugby is dead – even with all the welathy backers they cant get it right. Hahaha
17 Oct 2009, 15:40 pm
what the heck, no forward passes in this game i see
very flat pass from bosman
Cheaters need to take their points.
17 Oct 2009, 15:42 pm
#93 Transformation: Do you know anything about rugby? your comments are stupid
17 Oct 2009, 15:44 pm
noooooooo try Cheetahs
17 Oct 2009, 15:45 pm
Try Cheetahs. Cheetahs right back in this game.
Good play from the Cheetahs.
Dont be too quick in saying this game is over – far from it… Sharks cant afford to become lethargic…
Strong as an ox.
But now Wian off. I just don’t get Naka. Even if Wian is injured.
#91 Porto: Yeah, but its a shame that we can’t have a Loftus final. Now we have to go to that horrid city and crush the Sharks like empty beer cans.
17 Oct 2009, 15:46 pm
#95 Porto:
Isn’t there a nursery school that you can go and stir in?
17 Oct 2009, 15:47 pm
#101 BlueBlood: like last year?
#95 Porto: #78 Porto: i know you’re a doos!
Sharks aren’t going to the final. Its going to be in Cape Town FS vs WP
And they wonder why Bulls fans are described as boorish…
17 Oct 2009, 15:48 pm
Adi the destroyer.
17 Oct 2009, 15:48 pm
#102 David: Best not to answer people that David. It just gives them more attention. Ignore him.
17 Oct 2009, 15:49 pm
Duck a duck
straight through?? didn’t touch anything at all?
What a game…
17 Oct 2009, 15:50 pm
very very unlucky
17 Oct 2009, 15:50 pm
Might be a card here.
17 Oct 2009, 15:52 pm
Good Work Swannie!! Dont take any kuk from these farmers.
17 Oct 2009, 15:52 pm
Hang on,whats this then hey? Come on Cheetahs, I wanna go to Loftus.
17 Oct 2009, 15:54 pm
#102 David: That wouldn’t be as much fun. I like to get under the skin of the racists on this blog, they are so predictable
Another try Cheetahs. Looks like Cheetahs could win this.
Thats better you rubbish cheetahs.
Told you Sharks are choking again as we speak. Its a Cheetah’s – WP final next week.
CHEETAHS!!!!!!!
SHOCKING!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 15:55 pm
#104 Transformation: What does doos mean, is it a good thing?
17 Oct 2009, 15:57 pm
Sharks lucky to have 15 on the field at the mo.
17 Oct 2009, 15:58 pm
Sharks with all their national players are really useless!!!
Cheeters should have been 20+ by now if they made use of the opportunities they had in 1st half. Please keep the lead. Cannot take these glory boys from the kingdom of Kwa Zulu.
17 Oct 2009, 15:59 pm
Back in the lead!! Now no more stupid mistakes
come on sharks
#124 Peter Mkata: Card that guppie.
17 Oct 2009, 16:00 pm
Ruan gets the kick over. Sharks ahead by a point.
Hang in there Sharks. One point ahead is enough to win. Just keep focused now.
17 Oct 2009, 16:00 pm
#122 Porto: Good reply –
17 Oct 2009, 16:03 pm
unlucky juan
17 Oct 2009, 16:04 pm
#124 Peter Mkata:hey mhlekazi kunjani?
What a game! Oops, stupid knock by the Staat. Btw, Puma, see how gracious us WP fans are?
Ruined a really great take. Johnson has had a great game.
17 Oct 2009, 16:05 pm
Brussouw player of the year
17 Oct 2009, 16:06 pm
heinrich is THE man!
Come you rubbish cheetahs, do something.
The Diamond.
17 Oct 2009, 16:07 pm
#132 WP Till I Die:
At least until the next game.
17 Oct 2009, 16:07 pm
Brussow is exceptional.
17 Oct 2009, 16:08 pm
Awesome defence! Come on Sharks!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:09 pm
#129 Senga:
David, at least we’re not revelling in every Cheetah score like they were in the Lions WP match
Chelsea lose 1-2 at Villa.
FFS, ADI WTF ARE YOU THINKING???
17 Oct 2009, 16:10 pm
If I see one more drop goal attempt I am going to scream!!
trying drop kicks every time shows just how much they fear the big choke again. A team that believes in their ability goes for tries not drop kicks.
#142 WP Till I Die: WP fans brought that on themselves by cheering for the Lions the week before
17 Oct 2009, 16:11 pm
#142 WP Till I Die:
Aren’t we?
17 Oct 2009, 16:11 pm
the sharks like stransky said can’t string any backline moves for **** all these missed drop kicks.
17 Oct 2009, 16:12 pm
#146 skopskiet: to be fair Hernandez tries drop-kicks all the time anyway, he does it for Argentina and SF too. He’s pretty good at them.
#131 Transformation:
Mqabaqaba okwegqabi levinika. Ndiyathembe nakuwe kukwanjalo.
Can’t wait for the next game. Will even be great if province win. Fitting send for Cheeky’s litey!
#144 Travelling Shark: adi wasn’t thinking crikey his attempt was the worst of the game
#145 Travelling Shark:
The instruction must come from Plum or John.
17 Oct 2009, 16:14 pm
#147 Big Hit:
Isn’t there some Heineken matches you should be watching?
17 Oct 2009, 16:15 pm
#154 David: I’ve got them on too. JDV having a marginally better time of it this week.
17 Oct 2009, 16:16 pm
Mapoe is class makes something out of nothing everytime he gets hold of the ball. New Habana in the making and maybe even more.
Cobras looking good at the moment. 40 runs needed from 42 balls and 8 wickets in hand.
Come on man, I want to go to Loftus.
17 Oct 2009, 16:17 pm
Yes!
Don’t you just love rugby!!!
Wow.
17 Oct 2009, 16:18 pm
CHEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTAAAAAAAHHHHHS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:18 pm
Is this the same Cheetahs that payed in the S14?
17 Oct 2009, 16:19 pm
Arrogancy shown up again. Man I like it. Now province must show up the bullies!!!!!
Congratulations, Cheetahs. Hard luck Sharks.
Big Choke. Yep Sharks second name the great white choker’s.
And I said it was on the cards all week.
Now for WP to complete the equation.
WP’s cup this year. Suck it up.
bloody sharks are out of it!!!!? ******* hell….HAK VRYSTAAT!!!!!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:20 pm
Book that Loftus Box so long for me there son.
Puma, sharks_lover, hard luck. Better luck next year.
JLP will get MoM, but Ashley Johnson showed incredible bravery and skill.
17 Oct 2009, 16:21 pm
Good game guys. Well done both teams.
17 Oct 2009, 16:21 pm
Well done Cheetahs
17 Oct 2009, 16:22 pm
I will ask the question again: for how long will John Smit take the humiliation? Should he not leave before huge damage is done to his good name?
17 Oct 2009, 16:22 pm
Agreed, SodaJoe, Johnson had a great game, as did Brussow.
17 Oct 2009, 16:23 pm
Oh dear, the Sharks have been buying the wrong Cheetahs.
#166 skopskiet: Quite right, I was supporting them Skarks for this one but wtf…. they must be the chokers of SA teams.
#164 Peter Mkata: you seem rather arrogant yourself…
#173 Peter Mkata: why target Smit when Beast was just as outplayed, the scrum is an 8 man effort.
Well done Cheetahs , you played your hearts out boys and the Sharks were not good enough to close it out. Doesn’t meant the Sharks chocked as some are suggesting, it shows more how well you played and deserved it.
17 Oct 2009, 16:24 pm
#172 Big Hit:
Why so glum, they’re not Sale.
Hahahahaha, Sharks have been lacklustre all year. In the Super 14 they flaked badly and now this. These boys need to wake up. Their backline is letting them down.
Well done Free State!! Will be great if WP win the next one.
Mapoe and Juries must be in end of year squad, likewise with Johnson and WP Nel
only 1 union can win it , the Blue Bulls.
17 Oct 2009, 16:25 pm
WELL DONE CHEETAHS. Cheetahs deserved this win.
Good luck in the final.
17 Oct 2009, 16:25 pm
Well done, bananaboy, very gracious in defeat. I feel sorry for you true Sharks supporters!
17 Oct 2009, 16:26 pm
Congrats to both teams for a great game. Now, with a few Kwas to bolster the side, the Cheetahs should have no excuses in the S14, next year.
peter de Villier’s better start opening both eyes soon, if he continues with this Sharks front row as his starting vanguard he’s asking for big trouble. He better catch a wake up and smell the coffee before he gets a huge awakening catching him cold.
#181 Slumtown: Also lots of stupid drop goals. Daft should have kept the ball in hand. Especially the one by Adi crazy stuff that.
Cheetahs were the better team. They deserved the win.
17 Oct 2009, 16:27 pm
Whooohoooo!!! no nails left!! What a cracker!! Commiserations to the Sharksfor great match…
As I predicted, the scrums were a dominnt platform for the Cheeth’s an despite some shocking handling by Uys and bosman, their fighting spirit saw them home!!
The Cheetah’s will have o find a replacement for JL Potgieter!!
The Cheetah success story in CC continues!!
Thank you Sharks for a well fought contest!!
and Thank you Cheetah’s for answering the critics in the best way possible….. on the field of battle!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:28 pm
#182 bananaboy:
You also said there were only two who could, before today.
17 Oct 2009, 16:29 pm
#178 Big Hit:
Cause he is old and is being humiliated by up and coming young stars. Beast was useless as well for sure.
#188 Cheetah 4 Eva: congrats Cheetah, your boys have captured the imagination in recent weeks with their play. They have every chance to win the final no matter who it’s against.
#163 Senga: They’ve really come good at the right time this year. Its always good to see them do well, they consistently play entertaining rugby
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha i told you stransky was right yesteday about the sharks impotent backline! What did they do with all that possession in the cheetahs half? The all attempted drop kicks, stefan, hernandez & even adi!!! Bashford should lose his job!
17 Oct 2009, 16:30 pm
#152 fish out of water:
#153 David:
Stupid decision making allround, Dumod penalty, Adi is kak – full stop. I think the bench had some crazy options – why have Dumond on when you already have two flyhalves?
Cheetahs have played amazing intelligent rugby and deserve the final berth after the comeback (4 losses at start of CC) and never giving up in this semi – the sharks looked average at best in the final 40. Brussouw, Johnson, JLP played incredible games, Good luck for the final Cheetahs!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:31 pm
Well done to the States.
17 Oct 2009, 16:31 pm
#193 Transformation: Yea that second half performance was rubbish. Free state were good though, overall they deserved to win
17 Oct 2009, 16:32 pm
To be honest, I think some of the Boks are having difficulty raising their game after an emotional and physically exhausting season.
Well done to the Cheetahs. They came to win and did so. Plenty of hard work and guts.
#193 Transformation: drop-kicks is what you do if the game is tight, did you notice how the game was won? and it was two tries a piece.
17 Oct 2009, 16:33 pm
#186 skopskiet: Skoppie ,if you know anything about rugby then you would know that scrummaging is about more that your front row. The engage in modern day rugby comes from your 8th man and locks and that is where the dominance is created. Your tighthead has to get you a right shoulder by scrumming out and your loosehead has to prevent this by getting his bind in behind the tighthead. The power though comes from the engine room, which is why you can compensate in your front row with more mobile props who help you contest the breakdown. You cannot put all of the Sharks scrummaging problems down to the front row.
17 Oct 2009, 16:35 pm
#197 David: I agree. It’ll be interesting to see if that’s a factor in the Bulls game
17 Oct 2009, 16:35 pm
PdV MUST get Os du Rand to assist in Bok frontrow coaching.
17 Oct 2009, 16:36 pm
#197 David: No excuse, these are professional sportmen, being paid a fortune to do something they love – Being tired is BS, if this is the case then be a man and let the player who took us to the semis play and not be a glory boy – this is a team effort, nothing else will win games.
17 Oct 2009, 16:38 pm
#197 David: To be honest, if that’s the case they shouldn’t start and their respective coaches are shite for not seeing and realising that. End of. Great stuff Cheetahs! You’ve silenced all the big mouthed bunch of prima donnas and also their loud-mouthed fans! Sharks close to overtake All Blacks as chokers of note…
I just have one thing to say:
Heinrich Brussow is the best flanker in the world… Incredible player
#200 bananaboy:
That’s why I have my doubts about Spies and Kanko as the Bok 8th men. Spies doesn’t seem to fully engage and Kanko’s too lightweight.
17 Oct 2009, 16:39 pm
#197 David:
All the reason that the best team must take the field. Competition keeps you on your toes!! People are in Sharks team purely on reputation!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:39 pm
#204 panniepeet: Not exactly gracious are you?
17 Oct 2009, 16:40 pm
#145 Travelling Shark: BWAHAAAHHHAAAAHHHAAAAAAAA! I bet you screamed when you saw THAT last one…!
#205 Pirlet BEL: Agreed. How much do you want for him?
“To be honest, I think some of the Boks are having difficulty raising their game after an emotional and physically exhausting season.”
I agree.
A case in point is Heinrich Brussow. Clearly fatigue is getting the better of him.
17 Oct 2009, 16:41 pm
#203 Travelling Shark:
For my money, I’d prefer to see the CC contested without the returning Boks for the reasons you mentioned. The Lions tour this year was probably the difference to other years.
17 Oct 2009, 16:41 pm
#191 Big Hit: Thank you BH, I am over the moon, and feel sorry for my Sharks buddies, there was always a chance of an upset!!
But what a cracking game, Sharks can feel proud, but the players weren’t as cohesive, especilly in the scrums!!
Too many players rushed back from injury!! Muller, Botes,Deysel, Strauss, and Beast!!
What a game though!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:42 pm
#208 bananaboy: You obviously weren’t here the last week when all you sardine-fans were bigging everything up were you…? Gracious my backside. Stick to surfing or something – today we ripped you a new one. End of. Lekker STTTAAAAAAAATTTTT!!!!
@ Big Hit…not when you’re dominating & have four-man overlaps on the outside…no ways big hit! When has adi ever dropped?
#206 David: David, fully agree with you. The best scrummaging teams engage from the back in modern day rugby. The problem with the front row is you have to engage with your feet back and do so means you cannot propel yourself forward therefore the locks and 8th man have to do that for you. Nico Breedt and Dawie deVilliers were awesome today.
#209 panniepeet: At work, almost ripped the TV off the wall! Hang on, something in my throat *cough cough*. Can you F-ing believe this? Not even a hint of BMT
17 Oct 2009, 16:43 pm
#212 David:
You would have preferred to see this game without Heinrich Brussow? Do you think the Bulls would prefer to be without their Springboks in the next game?
You should make more logical comments.
17 Oct 2009, 16:43 pm
#204 panniepeet: Can even overtake the Proteas cricket team – sorry that just slipped out.
17 Oct 2009, 16:45 pm
#214 panniepeet: I was panniepeet and it wasn’t only the Sharks fans, in most cases they were responding to other posts. But never mind what goes around comes around as they see and the ability to take your loss on the chin is what makes you a big man, not the manner in which you celebrate your victory. The Cheetahs deserved it and played with heart so my hats off to them, but as for comments like yours well you already know what I think about it.
17 Oct 2009, 16:46 pm
#211 coherence:
The kid is still young and this is all a new experience for him. Besides, it was a generalisation. There’s always exceptions.
17 Oct 2009, 16:46 pm
#217 Travelling Shark: As big a fan as I am of Bismarck – he lost the game for you guys today… That quick throw-in on 76 mins was caarrraazzzyyyy…!WTF??? You guys could’ve seen the game out from there. Eishhhh.
17 Oct 2009, 16:47 pm
#212 David: We can look for problems all night, the fact is – We chocked, again. The players that took us so far in the CC should have been assured of their place in the team – ie Mvovo, Burden, etc, it is these players I feel sorry for – pushed aside to make way for “superstars” that cant string a couple passes together in 40min (talking about the 2nd half, not the 1st).
17 Oct 2009, 16:47 pm
nice work Cheetahs …. those okes like the Currie Cup
17 Oct 2009, 16:48 pm
#212 David:
No way David. There are Springboks that are playing well. Do not devalue the competition. Drop those who arrogantly think they would walk into any tean because they are Springboks!!
#220 bananaboy: Suck it up buddy. Go and drown your sorrows. Well done Cheetahs!
#220 bananaboy: should be “say” and not see.
17 Oct 2009, 16:49 pm
#211 coherence: He’s a lot younger than the ones who are taking strain
17 Oct 2009, 16:49 pm
#226 panniepeet: No sorrows here mate.
therefore nothing to drown.
17 Oct 2009, 16:50 pm
Cobras win by 8 wickets.
17 Oct 2009, 16:50 pm
#229 bananaboy: Well, seeing that it was States A v States B, I guess you’re right…
17 Oct 2009, 16:51 pm
Hallooooooo almal….lank laas hier geblog, maar moes net gou se: Proooooovince!!!!
#221 David:
Clearly there are examples of Springboks not performing their best because of end-of-season fatigue, but that doesn’t mean that you should take all of them out of the competition.
However, I tend to agree with what you’re saying to some extent. For instance, I believe form players must be selected for the EOYT, because I’m tired of seeing players with reputations underperform because of fatigue.
#225 Peter Mkata: Well said.
17 Oct 2009, 16:52 pm
#220 bananaboy: How much does today suck?
#222 panniepeet: The decision making was by far the worst part of watching this game – everyone played a part – Dumond from 53m was always the wrong option. Adi makes my blood boil – is he really Bok material?
17 Oct 2009, 16:53 pm
#225 Peter Mkata:
How would it devalue the competition when the teams that made the Semis are there primarily because of the players that played the whole season?
17 Oct 2009, 16:54 pm
#225 Peter Mkata: Agreed, players on skill and form – if Burger can start on the bench anyone can.
#235 Travelling Shark: Maybe it’s a good thing those Boks like Bismarck and Adi had their brain-farts today and not in Bok games hey…!! I’m happy double-time!
#235 Travelling Shark: Yip, that was a stupid move by Adi to try that drop. If he kept the ball in hand. Well who knows.
Anyhow Cheetahs deserve their win today.
Think it will be a Bulls/Cheetahs final at loftus. Then this too is a knock out and it could go anyway, just think Bulls have a great pack.
Thank you, Adi Jacobs, for giving away the penalty that set up the lineout that led to the drop goal that put the Sharks out of the CC. You are a class liability, boy.
17 Oct 2009, 16:55 pm
#225 Peter Mkata:
It was the coaches that put them in, not the players themselves.
17 Oct 2009, 16:57 pm
#230 David: Good had them to win on SuperBru but not by 8 wickets. They doing well in that tourney.
#236 David:
Someone asked earlier on whether you did not appreciate Brussouw’s artistry today? If you did not then I understand you point of argument.
#237 Travelling Shark:
So Adi Jacobs makes your blood boil, but apparently you think Ruan Pienaar’s decision making is okay.
Let’s just say, hypothetically, Ruan Pienaar throws a pass that leads to a Jacques-Louis Potgieter intercept try, would that make him Bok material?
17 Oct 2009, 16:59 pm
Matfield,nearly did not shake Luke’s hand on live tv and probably international audience. Probably because of pressure!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:59 pm
#239 Puma:
#240 kwas:
At school, if the centre, wing, prop anyone tried kuk like that, you ran until you puked. I cant remember the exact number of defender, but he definitely had players on the outside. Get this pretender to the Jacques Fourie throne out.
#240 kwas:
17 Oct 2009, 17:00 pm
oh i see puma is here…sorry puma may man, i know how passionate you are about the sharks, i hope the braai is still tasteful there by UMHLANGA… Tough luck boet…:D
17 Oct 2009, 17:01 pm
Well done Cheetahs. I am sure most of the Sharks supporters will cheer for you in the final. Sharks lost the game because of the unfortunate poor pass of Pienaar which led to the intercepted try by Potgieter. Also the relatively unknown and inexperienced linesmen who were on duty were of no help to Jonker. Several forward passes by the Cheetahs were missed by Jonker. The spectators tried to advise Jonker about Cheetah infringements when the useless linesmen did nothing. I hope the Bulls wipe the WP from the park. I am looking forward to a Bulls Cheetah final.
17 Oct 2009, 17:03 pm
#243 Peter Mkata:
Of course I did. I just feel that with the S14, the coaches need to re-evaluate the role that the CC plays in the overall scheme of things.
17 Oct 2009, 17:05 pm
#244 coherence: Ruan is a confidence player we all know that, Adi (IMO) is kuk. Yes that was a shocker pass, and yes it was the difference between a win and a loss, but I would pick Pienaar over Adi everytime.
17 Oct 2009, 17:07 pm
#248 kayzeten: CAnt put the blame squarely on Pienaar – lots of shite decisions from a majority of the players could have been avoided
17 Oct 2009, 17:08 pm
#245 Peter Mkata: Or because Puke is a world class chop
17 Oct 2009, 17:10 pm
White player makes mistakes, white player = confidence player.
Black player makes mistakes, black player = kuk.
17 Oct 2009, 17:10 pm
#246 Travelling Shark: Yes, he is no JF that is for sure. Think Sharks are missing Frans Steyn too.
#247 Transformation: Braai very tasty must say. Nah, Cheetahs were the better side today. They deserve their win. Good luck to them in the final. Good to see a team with no stars playing like that. Only Brussow of course is a Bok.
Okay cheers all out of here now.
17 Oct 2009, 17:14 pm
#253 coherence: You said that, not me, or are you assuming? That comment was uncalled for.
17 Oct 2009, 17:14 pm
#245 Peter Mkata: he didn’t want to shake the hand, lawrence had to get involved…
17 Oct 2009, 17:15 pm
#255 Travelling Shark:
Actually that’s what you said, in this instance.
17 Oct 2009, 17:18 pm
Oh please, where did I mention anything about colour???? Please enlighten me…
17 Oct 2009, 17:18 pm
#256 Transformation:
You say you would pick Pienaar over Jacobs EVERYTIME.
Does that mean, even if you know Pienaar is going to throw an intercept pass, that you would still pick him over Jacobs?
17 Oct 2009, 17:20 pm
Well done Cheetahs, you out played us today!
17 Oct 2009, 17:21 pm
#259 coherence:
You said Pienaar (white player) makes mistakes because he is a confidence player. That is what I observed.
You also said Jacobs (black player) makes mistakes because he is kuk. I also made this observation.
17 Oct 2009, 17:24 pm
Hope the Cheetahs can go all the way now, show the little guys can stand up to the big money … as a Shark I hope you Cheetahs all have a great party and wake up with a hangover from hell
17 Oct 2009, 17:26 pm
#261 coherence: So you are assuming that it was about colour, sorry for you, Its not. There is not a single remark to race in any of my posts, and YOU are the one that made the colour issue.
In my opinion Murray should start ahead of Jacobs, with Jacobs coming on in the final 20 when things loosen up – is this also racist? grow up!
I have been saying Jacons is kuk for years, dont start trying to find issues where there are none. Players should be picked on calibre and calibre alone.
17 Oct 2009, 17:29 pm
#263 Travelling Shark: I agree about Jacobs I rate him but not for 80 min but as an impact player
17 Oct 2009, 17:29 pm
#263 Travelling Shark:
You also said you would pick Ruan Pienaar over Jacobs.
I’m not making colour an issue. You are sensationalizing your own statements. I am repeating your own comments to you, and you are recoiling at your own statements. That’s what makes it fun.
17 Oct 2009, 17:32 pm
I think the Sharks were exposed today because a great domestic player, Botes, has now come to the end of his career, back row is unbalanced. But, if the Bok front row couldn’t smash the cheetahs with Jonhson at 2 I worry. Sheridan or Hayman would have single handedly smashed that makeshift front row!
17 Oct 2009, 17:34 pm
#264 Nightwalker: His defence lets him down all the time, as for his kicking, eish…
17 Oct 2009, 17:38 pm
#266 Nightwalker: Think it shows how valuable a player like Bakkies really is – the power from the Sharks locks is questionable and another Deysel type loosie would help. I hate to say this, but I think Plum needs to do some shopping…
17 Oct 2009, 17:39 pm
#267 Travelling Shark: True but he can really open up a defense when a game becomes loose
17 Oct 2009, 17:40 pm
Smit back to hooker, Bismark could become an awesome loosie, just a thought.
17 Oct 2009, 17:42 pm
#268 Travelling Shark: Funny thing I read was about Bismark can’t remeber who by (playing in England noe) said he wasn’t actually a powerfull scummager too tall, also seems to me that he is too up right when he run. AND I AGREE OPEN THE CHECKBOOK Buy Broussow
17 Oct 2009, 17:43 pm
#270 Travelling Shark: Funny psoted that before yours I agree
17 Oct 2009, 17:44 pm
Hell suddenly developed 12 fingers! After the bottle of J&B
17 Oct 2009, 17:46 pm
We really are the Real Madrid of SA rugby, all the players, cash, coaches, just need the silverware. Was really dissappointed with the attendance at the Tank today, that Durban crowd needs a kick up the *** – your team is top of the log, and not even half of the stadium is full, WTF?
17 Oct 2009, 17:53 pm
Yeh the days were in the 90′s with Joubert, Thomson, Cabos, Muir, Atherton and Co then Kingspark rocked
17 Oct 2009, 17:58 pm
Damn straight – legends!! Think some serious marketing needs to be done, KZNRU must be loosing major cash with empty seats – this is where I wonder, if you know that the stadium is going to be empty, why not bus in kids from the outlying areas? They would love a day at the stadium!!
It is still the best stadium in SA, but geting a little stale…
17 Oct 2009, 18:00 pm
Well done FS.
I for one didn’t give you a chance.
Good luck for the final.
17 Oct 2009, 18:15 pm
Is there anyway the boks can get Os to coach our front row? I’m very worried for what the French can do to our boys. I mean look how Os’s hand was prevalent in Free State’s front row
17 Oct 2009, 18:30 pm
#278 Papoose: With Bakkies and co behind that front row, there shouldnt be many problems, I agree that there is definite room for improvement, Bok front row made to look ordinary at best.
17 Oct 2009, 19:04 pm
Cant say that I didnt pick this all week!
congrats to bulls, cheetahs fans
17 Oct 2009, 19:22 pm
I think it also showed wen Ndungane came off it was very Quiet on the right wing Pieterson tried but cant do it buy himself but im not blaming Monty HE IS NOT A WING………
17 Oct 2009, 19:22 pm
Its strange to me that the Bulls frontrow struggles so much. They essentially won the Super 14 without a scrum. Thats Free States opportunity to win in the final-demolish the Bulls scrum.
17 Oct 2009, 19:43 pm
#281 Fire: Where was Mvovo??
17 Oct 2009, 19:51 pm
Eish, we choked again today. This Cheetahs team had no business beating us at the Tank. My observations:
1. Our front three are useless as a scrummaging unit, I do not blame the locks I blame them.
2. Adi Jacobs had a bad game. Starting to question his quality.
3. We need cover for Deysel and Swanepoel.
4. Ruan should not be playing ahead of either Rory or Charl.
5. How could Plum not use Burden at all?!?!
6. Where were the fans? Did you see Newlands!?!?
Well done Cheetahs, very well played and full value for the win today. Well done Blue Bulls, it was close but you again showed your class which is what a quality outfit should do. Clearly for us even a home final is not enough incentive. WP Nel my MOTM
17 Oct 2009, 19:52 pm
#283 Travelling Shark:
On the wing is not where we lost this
17 Oct 2009, 20:05 pm
#284 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Not to worry – the gate takings at the final will enable us to purchase WP Nel. He should wear blue.
17 Oct 2009, 20:08 pm
#283 Travelling Shark: I was there and what a waste of time getting stuck in endless traffic jams, watching pitiful rugby, even worse refereeing and unfit players trying to imitate Ronaldhino and not play as a team.
Never a season ticket again
17 Oct 2009, 20:12 pm
#283 Travelling Shark:
I agree, just no need for 2 flyhalves on the pitch, 1 on the bench and no cover at wing…
17 Oct 2009, 20:16 pm
#287 posts:
I feel for you, its a depressing day. I feel for the players that put us in the driving seat only to be discarded when the boks came back..
The Tank was not even 50% (TV coverage) its pitiful – is KZNRU trying to make too much money, or is the crowd more comfortable infront of the big screens at home?
17 Oct 2009, 20:57 pm
Who cares if pienaar and jacobs are smurf blue they both played kak again.
17 Oct 2009, 20:59 pm
#256 Transformation:
Transie
Just could not believe that a leader of a top team could be so mean spirited. Will give him a benefit of doubt and say he was maybe under pressure to win the game thus forgetting to greet his counter part. Just hope it’s not hatred.
17 Oct 2009, 21:47 pm
well done the vrystaat.
always been my second team.
wonderful fightback from a horrible start to the season.
hope you guys go all the way and win the cup – you deserve it.
oh….and..coherence, you are a racist ******!!!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 22:05 pm
Sharks pack from 1 to 8 got klapped proper. Burden is our leading try scorer…he never saw the park.
What does is say for the backline when the leading try scorer is your so called “second string hooker” time to start playing form players and not the big names.
17 Oct 2009, 23:07 pm
chEEtahs!
Now to rock up to Roftus!
17 Oct 2009, 23:10 pm
#294 Oranje Orakel: Vanwaar gehasie? Is jy nog in Bloem?
17 Oct 2009, 23:13 pm
#295 Boerboel:
Yip
leKKer games gewEEs!
al vier teams is goed genoeg om Champs te wEEs
nou ja net plek vir twEE iNNie final
17 Oct 2009, 23:15 pm
#296 Oranje Orakel: Jy het jare laas hier geblog! Welkom terug.
17 Oct 2009, 23:16 pm
#297 Boerboel:
thanks
my uithang plek is ‘n spOOkwerf vaNNAAnd.
18 Oct 2009, 00:21 am
A bit of history: I was an Adi Jacobs hater a few seasons ago but thought he was a great addition to the Boks last season. He played well and really impressed me. Plus I thought he handled the presure rearding him in the press really well. But lately he has been going down a bit and I thought its just a lack of game time. But after today….
Pienaar gives a shocker of a pass and its bobbling around. Jacobs doesn’t commit to the ball early, then when he sees JLP about to pounce instead of putting his body on the line he limply dangles his hand out. So fair enough his commitment is questionable and he may possibly be a girl.
However he then procedes to lay and the ground and hold his shoulder like he’s injured?! Think he even added a roll in… WTF?! He should go play soccer!
So Adi I’m sorry bud, you f%#*ed up and you’ve lost a supporter
18 Oct 2009, 05:12 am
I’m not going to be nasty and lambast the Sharks, because I know how it feels to have great team and lose. But what the f%*D were you guys thinking. If s14 tactics fail, fall back to old school bok grinding rugby. Cheetahs came to win a semi and played percentage rugga as would be expected. It helps to have Heinrich “the hustler” Brussouw on your side. This little terrier is absolutely unreal.
18 Oct 2009, 06:40 am
I have said it ad nauseum all year….and been ridiculed,branded a traitor,had lynch mobs and a price on my head….but i will say it again out of a sense of conviction and with no malice at all.
J Smit is not and never will be a tighthead. The sharks will lose more big games than win due to there scrumming being obliterated. One cannot win with a scrum being manhandled….the French are waiting with a pack of mean scrummagers…..
I say it again, perhaps now the Saffas and Sharks fans may be a little more objective…J Smit either needs to move back and challenge for the 2 spot or retire from international rugby.
And the Beast is no powerhouse in the scrums either.
18 Oct 2009, 07:01 am
If Pdv can’t see this then we heading for a hiding of note down the line. Another captain needs to take the reigns and some proper scrummagers like Nel of FS, Blaauw of WP, Buys of Lions and Du Preez of FS should be taken on Eoyt.
If they continue with the same pap setup in the Bok side especially this pap Sharks front row we heading for trouble, big trouble. Jannie Dup, John Smit, Beast are way behind some younger tougher talent in the country, if we persist with this compromise we heading for deep kak.
18 Oct 2009, 07:07 am
#302 skopskiet: Skop….J Smit must do the honarable thing….his book due out soon….he has nothing left to prove or accomplish….he was found wanting again yesterday….now one can blame the locks, mention that with boks Smittie has Bakkies to assist and all that garbage….plain and simple….he is not an international class 3…..!
I simply cannot believe he will stay on….VM can take the reigns till 2011 WC….it is bad enough we are carrying an apprentice in Beast at loosehead….having 2 x weak props a bridge too far….
The young WP Nel can be groomed….he and Wian Du Preez decimated the sharks yesterday. The minute that happened Brussow had a free lunch….
18 Oct 2009, 07:09 am
another point….WP kept the bulls on the back foot….and spies again went quiet…..Dewalt Potgieter again looks streets ahead as a playmaker 8 in my books…
18 Oct 2009, 08:09 am
“Cheetahs shock Sharks”
They didn’t shock me though!
I predicted in a thread here on Friday that the Cheetahs will win, I said no way the Sharks can win a Semi if fielding the Beast, Jacobs and Nedungane all in the same line up.
I surprised the Bookie too, collecting a handsome return by betting against a 1:5 odds!
18 Oct 2009, 08:11 am
#305 Hondo: there weak link is J Smit.
18 Oct 2009, 08:28 am
#306 grant10:
There were few more weaknesses, Sharks front row struggle all afternoon, Bismark was in a visible discomfort, that TH Nel was undermining the Sharks’ scrums by burrowing underneath the Beast at will, and YES, Smit did struggle badly.
Both the Cheetahs and the Lions were under appreciated this year CC, please note that NONE of the two teams carried any passangers except Earl Rose!
18 Oct 2009, 09:27 am
Sorry Banana boys.You were your own worst enemies and
poor team selection led to you demise.You cannot bring
players back after injury and expect them to perform at
their peak.
You should have substituted Pienaar and played Kockett.
You gambled with your front row and paid the price.Beast and Bismarck were clearly uncomfortable and with a lock behind
them just returning from injury,you were looking for
trouble right from the start.
You should have played the guys that carried you during the
competition and put your Boks on the bench as impact players.
So what is this story,that Potgieter,having downed the
Sharks is returning to the Bulls,next year?
18 Oct 2009, 09:33 am
#301 grant10: Again with this?
18 Oct 2009, 09:34 am
#308 Brentie1: Agree 100%. But it still hurts.
18 Oct 2009, 09:47 am
#303 grant10: When will you realise CC is not international rugby. Sharks not up for it. Pathetic display of non-heart. But don’t lose sight. Boks had one of the most dominant years ever. Drop the captain? I suppose you want little Joe in bok 15 (and Aplon on the bench?).
18 Oct 2009, 10:16 am
Shock them maybe, I saw that coming.
My prediction was Cheetahs to beat the Sharks by 3 and Bulls to beat WP by 10…
18 Oct 2009, 13:02 pm
3 losses in the entire campaign; up there with the best throughout the Super 14 … yeah, the Sharks are done, switch the lights off at Kings Park.
If the Cheetahs don’t win, it will be all worth **** … even to their fans. I’d rather watch a team getting results more often than not than a flash in the pan last gasp bonus points campaign. I reckon most Cheetahs fans would exchange results in a flash.
Keep the “big hearts, never give up” BS for Hollywood and american football teams.
Sharks lost, they bummed, we bummed, but i’m sure they’ll be a good SA side to watch next season again.
18 Oct 2009, 13:39 pm
#311 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): boet….you guys wont learn…..if J Smit cant cut it at CC level how long before the wheels come off at int level….as it has done already come scrum time so often. But leave it there…lets see boet…you reckon the sharjs gonna win the super 14 with that front row so be it!!
18 Oct 2009, 17:16 pm
Looking back at the week’s Semi-final match between the Sharks and the Cheetahs it has been clear that the Sharks have been maybe overconfident in their match approach. The Cheetahs has always been a team that finishes strongly in the last 20 minutes of the game and has proved to be the case in the match. The non performance of some of the staunch Springbok players in the Sharks outfit is also a course for concern in the year end tour to England. The front rows for the Sharks have been totally dominated in the scrums by their Cheetah counterparts. I personally think that Os du Rant has done wonders to the cohesion in the front row for the cheetahs and they will still improve into the future. Maybe they can become a force to be contended with in the future and maybe also in the super14 competition. It will be interesting for me to see how the Bulls front row is going to stand up to front row of the Cheetahs in the final. I personally think that the Freestate has got the best front row in the Curry Cup competition.
Read for more opinions on what went wrong
18 Oct 2009, 18:16 pm
#313 kevin w: Sounds like sour grapes to me!! Fact is despite a terrible start to the CC, the Cheetah’s made it when it counted, and I think there results over the last decade, especially the last 6 years is a very impressive one, as far as CC rugby goes!!
10/10 semi finals since 1999, and 5/6 finals since 2004!!! The Cheetah’s are quite happy with their teams perfomance, thank you. We know they have performed admirably, considering, they have on;y a few Boks, and they played without one of the best in Juan Smith!!
We hope to see an improved performance in the 2010 S14, as they look a bit more settled, and have more depth than this year, and their draw is a lot better!!
Go Cheetah’s !! You guys rock!!!
18 Oct 2009, 19:42 pm
The sharks lost the scrums,they lost the game and most shocking is they have lost their desire to win games. I think there are a few players who have had their status go to their heads and no longer give all for the team
18 Oct 2009, 19:42 pm
The Sharks’ rugby is without doubt incredibly hard to describe. With talented players for miles, the best captain in the world and a massive fanbase, the Sharks at first glance seem like optimum rugby team. Yet if you closely watch the Sharks perform, you really can’t help but get a bit concerned. For instance, the Sharks are consistantly the top team with the least amount of bonus points. Be it the Currie Cup or the Super 14, the other top teams always have more bonus points then the Sharks. Time and time again, this factor has cost the Sharks a cup, most noted in the 2009 Super 14 failure. All the talent, yet the Sharks never perform consistently well. You’ll notice that in most tournaments, the Sharks win more games then the other teams. Yet they always seem to battle to over-take these teams. Why? Of course – the elusive bonus point. The Sharks attacking (or lack there of) has been the predominant reason for their woes over the past few seasons. Some also argue that John Plumtree may need to be given the boot. Here are my opinions.
I think Stefan Terblanche is (at the moment) the best fullback in the world. He constantly puts his body on the line and delivers outstanding performances and is one of the few Sharks players who inputs real intelligence to the mix. Most of the Sharks players haven’t a clue when it comes to decision making. In my opinion, without the likes of Smit, Deysel, Kankowski, Pietersen and Terblache, the Sharks would really be battling to remain one of the top four teams. The reason for this – John Plumtree has shown that he can be a smart man, but speaking honestly, he makes too many wrong decisions. The Sharks could have a far better starting XV then what they currently have, yet Plumtree persists in keeping the same team that scrapes 1 or 2 point victories. For instance: Ndungane, Jacobs, Murray, Piennar and Botes should not be in the Sharks starting XV. Replacements are Mvovo, Vulindlu, Swanepoel/Strauss, Kockott/MaCleod and Keegan Daniel respectively. I have to discuss Ruan Pienaar. I can’t find another way to describe him better then over-rated. I agree he maybe does have talent, but the fact is he hasn’t played that well since 2006/2007 and you can’t keep pushing for him at the expense of more talented individuals. When he lost his chance at scrumhalf, he was wanted at flyhalf. When he played badly at flyhalf, he was put back at scrumhalf. He’s playing badly now, and now I’m hearing that he’d make an amazing fullback? I have nothing against Pienaar, but this is simply untrue. He doesn’t have the kicking accuracy or cool-head of a fullback, as was proven in the Australia defeat. Am I missing something or is there a reason why so many people are pushing for this guy to be in the team regardless of form? Either way, I feel Kockott is a better scrumhalf. Also, why does Pienaar take the kicks when we spent so much money on Hernandez?
My Sharks match 22.
1. Beast
2. Smit
3. J. du Plessis
4. Sykes
5. Hargreaves
6. Daniel
7. Deysel
8. Kankowski
9. Kockott
10. Hernandez
11. Pietersen
12. Swanepoel
13. Vulindlu/Strauss
14. Mvovo
15. Terblanche
16. B. du Plessis
17. Cilliers
18. Muller
19. Botes
20. Pienaar
21. Dumond
22. Strauss/Vulindlu
18 Oct 2009, 23:12 pm
#318 rugbywriter:
finally someone who’s sees the light!
the sharks are the most boring team who win despite their coach. take away the brilliant individuals and the sharks would struggle against boland. that’s why i reckon naka drotski must be a special coach. no stars yet look how they can play as a team! if potgieter sunk those four missed penalties imagine how different the scoreboard would have looked. plum should be assistant coach. they need heyneke meyer…
19 Oct 2009, 00:21 am
318. rugbywriter
Dont be too negative about Pienaar.He was playing behind
a losing tight five.The Sharks loosies were never in the
game because the tight five were never able to supply
good front foot ball,because your coach gambled with the
front row.
With two fresh and well performing Bulls locks behind them
they gave the BIL a torrid time.Finals are about winning
and not running rugby.Nobody remembers how the game was
won,just that it was.Winners are remembered,losers soon forgotten.
Why Kockott was left on the bench,beats me,he has shown
that even under difficult circumstances he is able to produce
the odd drop goal and that was all that was all that stood between winning and losing.
19 Oct 2009, 00:59 am
Ruan Pienaar is a closet Cheetahs supporter.
19 Oct 2009, 07:17 am
it was terrible going into a game and not showing up i think is relevant to the fact the majority of the scrum was either carrying injuries or just back from injuries and it disrupted proceeding but if we had won we would have said nothing, we didn’t show up at all
19 Oct 2009, 08:18 am
#318 rugbywriter:
I agree with you on most of your points, heres my Sharks team;
1. Beast
2. Bismarck
3. Jannie
4. Sykes
5. Hargreaves
6. Rhodes
7. Deysel
8. Kanko
9. Kockett/Charl
10. Pienaar/Monty
11. JPP
12. JMH/Swanepoel (depending on who the opposition is)
13. Murray/Vulindlu
14. Mvovo
15. Oom Stef
Smit on the bench with Muller and Botes and Keegan.
Ruan should not play scrumhalf. If he cannot play anywhere else (or doesnt want to) then he needs to go. Tired of these prima donnas losing us crucial matches. Give me a Burden anyday of the week over what I saw from Bismarck on Saturday. Beast did sweet f*all but there is no one else. Muller is just anonymous. Botes probably only good at fetching beer. Adi just not doing it for me anymore, he should have smashed JLP when that intercept happened but he fell to the ground like a punk bit*h.
Also starting to have my doubts about Plum. This team plays no particular style of rugby so when times get tough we have no structures we can revert back to and for that I blame Plum. Selection was rubbish.
Just generally pissed off! Losing to Cheetahs at home..pffft, I spit on this Sharks team.
Alas,
Sharks Forever!