Cheetahs shock Sharks
17 Oct 2009
Jacques-Louis Potgieter slotted a last minute drop to knock the Sharks out of the Currie Cup at Kings Park.
The Cheetahs have come back from the dead in the league stages in the competition, and did the same in this semi as they trailed 18-3 early in the second half. But a remarkable comeback, aided by the Cheetahs flyhalf scoring 18 points, secured one of the great upsets in the competition as they won 23-21.
The Cheetahs were expected to trouble the Sharks at the scrum, breakdown and with their attack. They did just that, and throughout the opening 40 minutes they produced most of the play. Looking at the scoreboard however, it wouldn’t have told. The Sharks led 15-3 at the break, 10 of those points coming in the final 10 minutes, but for the visitors it was a half of lost opportunities.
No 8 Ashley Johnson was held up inches from the tryline, while Potgieter’s goal-kicking problems were initially exposed. He missed nine points off the boot from two penalties and a drop, and playing with the wind, trailing by 12 points was far from Naka Drotske’s plans.
Heinrich Brussow – who was easily the best player on the park on the day – delivered yet another masterclass at the breakdown, but when the Sharks did force turnovers they made it count. Stefan Terblanche opened the scoring from a long range effort from their 22 after 10 minutes. Ruan Pienaar also slotted a penalty from another Sharks counter, while the scrumhalf’s try on the half-time hooter came from JP Pietersen’s break in their own territory, the Bok winger brushing off tackles and linking brilliantly.
The Sharks had little possession and territory, while their scrum was a shambles. The Sharks attempted to win the territorial battle largely via the educated boot of Juan Hernandez and his array of different kicks, but they had little ball to do it with. The Cheetahs conversely looked to run as much as possible, but couldn’t convert their pressure into points.
They were also winning a number of the personal battles, especially at the scrum and breakdown, with referee Marius Jonker rewarding them with many penalties. Both sides’ lineouts struggled and as a result, neither side constructed much play.
The visitors’ hopes of an upset were also hampered after half-time when Richardt Strauss had to be substituted. They had no specialist hooker cover and Johnson had to move into the front row, further curbing their plans to attack the Sharks’ set-pieces.
Early in the second stanza, the story of the opening stages was clearly exemplified. As soon as the defending champs got into opposition territory, Hernandez put over a drop to extend the lead. Corne Uys then had a chance to score from a chip, but failed to hold on. Potgieter slotted a penalty and cancelled out the Argentinean’s effort, but yet again the Cheetahs would have felt they should have gained more from their work.
Finally the underdogs made it count. Impressive tighthead WP Nel carried a number of defenders on his back to surge over the line and put his side back into it at 18-13 after 52 minutes. When Frans Viljoen looked to have dotted down four minutes later, the Cheetahs should have been in the lead. Somehow Jonker referred with his assistant ref and they ruled a forward pass, but it wouldn’t matter in the end.
Just two minutes later they wouldn’t have worried about that when Potgieter ran 50m to score. A shocking pass from Pienaar was lapped up by the flyhalf, putting the visitors in front for the first time since the opening five minutes.
Pienaar reclaimed the lead, and while the Sharks dominated territory in the last quarter, they failed to close out the match. Decision-making was poor as Hernandez, Terblanche and Adi Jacobs all went for drops when they had the visitors on the ropes. Ironically, it was Potgieter who was the one who dropped into the pocket to seal the result.
By Grant Ball

323 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All
17 Oct 2009, 16:35 pm
#197 David: I agree. It’ll be interesting to see if that’s a factor in the Bulls game
17 Oct 2009, 16:35 pm
PdV MUST get Os du Rand to assist in Bok frontrow coaching.
17 Oct 2009, 16:36 pm
#197 David: No excuse, these are professional sportmen, being paid a fortune to do something they love – Being tired is BS, if this is the case then be a man and let the player who took us to the semis play and not be a glory boy – this is a team effort, nothing else will win games.
17 Oct 2009, 16:38 pm
#197 David: To be honest, if that’s the case they shouldn’t start and their respective coaches are shite for not seeing and realising that. End of. Great stuff Cheetahs! You’ve silenced all the big mouthed bunch of prima donnas and also their loud-mouthed fans! Sharks close to overtake All Blacks as chokers of note…
I just have one thing to say:
Heinrich Brussow is the best flanker in the world… Incredible player
#200 bananaboy:
That’s why I have my doubts about Spies and Kanko as the Bok 8th men. Spies doesn’t seem to fully engage and Kanko’s too lightweight.
17 Oct 2009, 16:39 pm
#197 David:
All the reason that the best team must take the field. Competition keeps you on your toes!! People are in Sharks team purely on reputation!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:39 pm
#204 panniepeet: Not exactly gracious are you?
17 Oct 2009, 16:40 pm
#145 Travelling Shark: BWAHAAAHHHAAAAHHHAAAAAAAA! I bet you screamed when you saw THAT last one…!
#205 Pirlet BEL: Agreed. How much do you want for him?
“To be honest, I think some of the Boks are having difficulty raising their game after an emotional and physically exhausting season.”
I agree.
A case in point is Heinrich Brussow. Clearly fatigue is getting the better of him.
17 Oct 2009, 16:41 pm
#203 Travelling Shark:
For my money, I’d prefer to see the CC contested without the returning Boks for the reasons you mentioned. The Lions tour this year was probably the difference to other years.
17 Oct 2009, 16:41 pm
#191 Big Hit: Thank you BH, I am over the moon, and feel sorry for my Sharks buddies, there was always a chance of an upset!!
But what a cracking game, Sharks can feel proud, but the players weren’t as cohesive, especilly in the scrums!!
Too many players rushed back from injury!! Muller, Botes,Deysel, Strauss, and Beast!!
What a game though!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:42 pm
#208 bananaboy: You obviously weren’t here the last week when all you sardine-fans were bigging everything up were you…? Gracious my backside. Stick to surfing or something – today we ripped you a new one. End of. Lekker STTTAAAAAAAATTTTT!!!!
@ Big Hit…not when you’re dominating & have four-man overlaps on the outside…no ways big hit! When has adi ever dropped?
#206 David: David, fully agree with you. The best scrummaging teams engage from the back in modern day rugby. The problem with the front row is you have to engage with your feet back and do so means you cannot propel yourself forward therefore the locks and 8th man have to do that for you. Nico Breedt and Dawie deVilliers were awesome today.
#209 panniepeet: At work, almost ripped the TV off the wall! Hang on, something in my throat *cough cough*. Can you F-ing believe this? Not even a hint of BMT
17 Oct 2009, 16:43 pm
#212 David:
You would have preferred to see this game without Heinrich Brussow? Do you think the Bulls would prefer to be without their Springboks in the next game?
You should make more logical comments.
17 Oct 2009, 16:43 pm
#204 panniepeet: Can even overtake the Proteas cricket team – sorry that just slipped out.
17 Oct 2009, 16:45 pm
#214 panniepeet: I was panniepeet and it wasn’t only the Sharks fans, in most cases they were responding to other posts. But never mind what goes around comes around as they see and the ability to take your loss on the chin is what makes you a big man, not the manner in which you celebrate your victory. The Cheetahs deserved it and played with heart so my hats off to them, but as for comments like yours well you already know what I think about it.
17 Oct 2009, 16:46 pm
#211 coherence:
The kid is still young and this is all a new experience for him. Besides, it was a generalisation. There’s always exceptions.
17 Oct 2009, 16:46 pm
#217 Travelling Shark: As big a fan as I am of Bismarck – he lost the game for you guys today… That quick throw-in on 76 mins was caarrraazzzyyyy…!WTF??? You guys could’ve seen the game out from there. Eishhhh.
17 Oct 2009, 16:47 pm
#212 David: We can look for problems all night, the fact is – We chocked, again. The players that took us so far in the CC should have been assured of their place in the team – ie Mvovo, Burden, etc, it is these players I feel sorry for – pushed aside to make way for “superstars” that cant string a couple passes together in 40min (talking about the 2nd half, not the 1st).
17 Oct 2009, 16:47 pm
nice work Cheetahs …. those okes like the Currie Cup
17 Oct 2009, 16:48 pm
#212 David:
No way David. There are Springboks that are playing well. Do not devalue the competition. Drop those who arrogantly think they would walk into any tean because they are Springboks!!
#220 bananaboy: Suck it up buddy. Go and drown your sorrows. Well done Cheetahs!
#220 bananaboy: should be “say” and not see.
17 Oct 2009, 16:49 pm
#211 coherence: He’s a lot younger than the ones who are taking strain
17 Oct 2009, 16:49 pm
#226 panniepeet: No sorrows here mate.
therefore nothing to drown.
17 Oct 2009, 16:50 pm
Cobras win by 8 wickets.
17 Oct 2009, 16:50 pm
#229 bananaboy: Well, seeing that it was States A v States B, I guess you’re right…
17 Oct 2009, 16:51 pm
Hallooooooo almal….lank laas hier geblog, maar moes net gou se: Proooooovince!!!!
#221 David:
Clearly there are examples of Springboks not performing their best because of end-of-season fatigue, but that doesn’t mean that you should take all of them out of the competition.
However, I tend to agree with what you’re saying to some extent. For instance, I believe form players must be selected for the EOYT, because I’m tired of seeing players with reputations underperform because of fatigue.
#225 Peter Mkata: Well said.
17 Oct 2009, 16:52 pm
#220 bananaboy: How much does today suck?
#222 panniepeet: The decision making was by far the worst part of watching this game – everyone played a part – Dumond from 53m was always the wrong option. Adi makes my blood boil – is he really Bok material?
17 Oct 2009, 16:53 pm
#225 Peter Mkata:
How would it devalue the competition when the teams that made the Semis are there primarily because of the players that played the whole season?
17 Oct 2009, 16:54 pm
#225 Peter Mkata: Agreed, players on skill and form – if Burger can start on the bench anyone can.
#235 Travelling Shark: Maybe it’s a good thing those Boks like Bismarck and Adi had their brain-farts today and not in Bok games hey…!! I’m happy double-time!
#235 Travelling Shark: Yip, that was a stupid move by Adi to try that drop. If he kept the ball in hand. Well who knows.
Anyhow Cheetahs deserve their win today.
Think it will be a Bulls/Cheetahs final at loftus. Then this too is a knock out and it could go anyway, just think Bulls have a great pack.
Thank you, Adi Jacobs, for giving away the penalty that set up the lineout that led to the drop goal that put the Sharks out of the CC. You are a class liability, boy.
17 Oct 2009, 16:55 pm
#225 Peter Mkata:
It was the coaches that put them in, not the players themselves.
17 Oct 2009, 16:57 pm
#230 David: Good had them to win on SuperBru but not by 8 wickets. They doing well in that tourney.
#236 David:
Someone asked earlier on whether you did not appreciate Brussouw’s artistry today? If you did not then I understand you point of argument.
#237 Travelling Shark:
So Adi Jacobs makes your blood boil, but apparently you think Ruan Pienaar’s decision making is okay.
Let’s just say, hypothetically, Ruan Pienaar throws a pass that leads to a Jacques-Louis Potgieter intercept try, would that make him Bok material?
17 Oct 2009, 16:59 pm
Matfield,nearly did not shake Luke’s hand on live tv and probably international audience. Probably because of pressure!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:59 pm
#239 Puma:
#240 kwas:
At school, if the centre, wing, prop anyone tried kuk like that, you ran until you puked. I cant remember the exact number of defender, but he definitely had players on the outside. Get this pretender to the Jacques Fourie throne out.
#240 kwas:
17 Oct 2009, 17:00 pm
oh i see puma is here…sorry puma may man, i know how passionate you are about the sharks, i hope the braai is still tasteful there by UMHLANGA… Tough luck boet…:D
17 Oct 2009, 17:01 pm
Well done Cheetahs. I am sure most of the Sharks supporters will cheer for you in the final. Sharks lost the game because of the unfortunate poor pass of Pienaar which led to the intercepted try by Potgieter. Also the relatively unknown and inexperienced linesmen who were on duty were of no help to Jonker. Several forward passes by the Cheetahs were missed by Jonker. The spectators tried to advise Jonker about Cheetah infringements when the useless linesmen did nothing. I hope the Bulls wipe the WP from the park. I am looking forward to a Bulls Cheetah final.
17 Oct 2009, 17:03 pm
#243 Peter Mkata:
Of course I did. I just feel that with the S14, the coaches need to re-evaluate the role that the CC plays in the overall scheme of things.
17 Oct 2009, 17:05 pm
#244 coherence: Ruan is a confidence player we all know that, Adi (IMO) is kuk. Yes that was a shocker pass, and yes it was the difference between a win and a loss, but I would pick Pienaar over Adi everytime.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All