Cheetahs shock Sharks

Jacques-Louis Potgieter slotted a last minute drop to knock the Sharks out of the Currie Cup at Kings Park.

The Cheetahs have come back from the dead in the league stages in the competition, and did the same in this semi as they trailed 18-3 early in the second half. But a remarkable comeback, aided by the Cheetahs flyhalf scoring 18 points, secured one of the great upsets in the competition as they won 23-21.

The Cheetahs were expected to trouble the Sharks at the scrum, breakdown and with their attack. They did just that, and throughout the opening 40 minutes they produced most of the play. Looking at the scoreboard however, it wouldn’t have told. The Sharks led 15-3 at the break, 10 of those points coming in the final 10 minutes, but for the visitors it was a half of lost opportunities.

No 8 Ashley Johnson was held up inches from the tryline, while Potgieter’s goal-kicking problems were initially exposed. He missed nine points off the boot from two penalties and a drop, and playing with the wind, trailing by 12 points was far from Naka Drotske’s plans.

Heinrich Brussow – who was easily the best player on the park on the day – delivered yet another masterclass at the breakdown, but when the Sharks did force turnovers they made it count. Stefan Terblanche opened the scoring from a long range effort from their 22 after 10 minutes. Ruan Pienaar also slotted a penalty from another Sharks counter, while the scrumhalf’s try on the half-time hooter came from JP Pietersen’s break in their own territory, the Bok winger brushing off tackles and linking brilliantly.

The Sharks had little possession and territory, while their scrum was a shambles. The Sharks attempted to win the territorial battle largely via the educated boot of Juan Hernandez and his array of different kicks, but they had little ball to do it with. The Cheetahs conversely looked to run as much as possible, but couldn’t convert their pressure into points.

They were also winning a number of the personal battles, especially at the scrum and breakdown, with referee Marius Jonker rewarding them with many penalties. Both sides’ lineouts struggled and as a result, neither side constructed much play.

The visitors’ hopes of an upset were also hampered after half-time when Richardt Strauss had to be substituted. They had no specialist hooker cover and Johnson had to move into the front row, further curbing their plans to attack the Sharks’ set-pieces.

Early in the second stanza, the story of the opening stages was clearly exemplified. As soon as the defending champs got into opposition territory, Hernandez put over a drop to extend the lead. Corne Uys then had a chance to score from a chip, but failed to hold on. Potgieter slotted a penalty and cancelled out the Argentinean’s effort, but yet again the Cheetahs would have felt they should have gained more from their work.

Finally the underdogs made it count. Impressive tighthead WP Nel carried a number of defenders on his back to surge over the line and put his side back into it at 18-13 after 52 minutes. When Frans Viljoen looked to have dotted down four minutes later, the Cheetahs should have been in the lead. Somehow Jonker referred with his assistant ref and they ruled a forward pass, but it wouldn’t matter in the end.

Just two minutes later they wouldn’t have worried about that when Potgieter ran 50m to score. A shocking pass from Pienaar was lapped up by the flyhalf, putting the visitors in front for the first time since the opening five minutes.

Pienaar reclaimed the lead, and while the Sharks dominated territory in the last quarter, they failed to close out the match. Decision-making was poor as Hernandez, Terblanche and Adi Jacobs all went for drops when they had the visitors on the ropes. Ironically, it was Potgieter who was the one who dropped into the pocket to seal the result.

By Grant Ball

323 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

• 251.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#248 kayzeten: CAnt put the blame squarely on Pienaar – lots of shite decisions from a majority of the players could have been avoided

• 252.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#245 Peter Mkata: Or because Puke is a world class chop

• 253.coherence: Reply to this comment

White player makes mistakes, white player = confidence player.

Black player makes mistakes, black player = kuk.

• 254.Puma: Reply to this comment

#246 Travelling Shark: Yes, he is no JF that is for sure. Think Sharks are missing Frans Steyn too.

#247 Transformation: Braai very tasty must say. Nah, Cheetahs were the better side today. They deserve their win. Good luck to them in the final. Good to see a team with no stars playing like that. Only Brussow of course is a Bok.

Okay cheers all out of here now.

• 255.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#253 coherence: You said that, not me, or are you assuming? That comment was uncalled for.

• 256.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#245 Peter Mkata: he didn’t want to shake the hand, lawrence had to get involved…

• 257.coherence: Reply to this comment

#255 Travelling Shark:

Actually that’s what you said, in this instance.

• 258.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

Oh please, where did I mention anything about colour???? Please enlighten me…

• 259.coherence: Reply to this comment

#256 Transformation:

You say you would pick Pienaar over Jacobs EVERYTIME.

Does that mean, even if you know Pienaar is going to throw an intercept pass, that you would still pick him over Jacobs?

• 260.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

Well done Cheetahs, you out played us today!

• 261.coherence: Reply to this comment

#259 coherence:

You said Pienaar (white player) makes mistakes because he is a confidence player. That is what I observed.

You also said Jacobs (black player) makes mistakes because he is kuk. I also made this observation.

• 262.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

Hope the Cheetahs can go all the way now, show the little guys can stand up to the big money … as a Shark I hope you Cheetahs all have a great party and wake up with a hangover from hell ;-)

• 263.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#261 coherence: So you are assuming that it was about colour, sorry for you, Its not. There is not a single remark to race in any of my posts, and YOU are the one that made the colour issue.
    In my opinion Murray should start ahead of Jacobs, with Jacobs coming on in the final 20 when things loosen up – is this also racist? grow up!

I have been saying Jacons is kuk for years, dont start trying to find issues where there are none. Players should be picked on calibre and calibre alone.

• 264.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

#263 Travelling Shark: I agree about Jacobs I rate him but not for 80 min but as an impact player

• 265.coherence: Reply to this comment

#263 Travelling Shark:

You also said you would pick Ruan Pienaar over Jacobs.

I’m not making colour an issue. You are sensationalizing your own statements. I am repeating your own comments to you, and you are recoiling at your own statements. That’s what makes it fun.

• 266.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

I think the Sharks were exposed today because a great domestic player, Botes, has now come to the end of his career, back row is unbalanced. But, if the Bok front row couldn’t smash the cheetahs with Jonhson at 2 I worry. Sheridan or Hayman would have single handedly smashed that makeshift front row!

• 267.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#264 Nightwalker: His defence lets him down all the time, as for his kicking, eish…

• 268.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#266 Nightwalker: Think it shows how valuable a player like Bakkies really is – the power from the Sharks locks is questionable and another Deysel type loosie would help. I hate to say this, but I think Plum needs to do some shopping…

• 269.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

#267 Travelling Shark: True but he can really open up a defense when a game becomes loose

• 270.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

Smit back to hooker, Bismark could become an awesome loosie, just a thought.

• 271.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

#268 Travelling Shark: Funny thing I read was about Bismark can’t remeber who by (playing in England noe) said he wasn’t actually a powerfull scummager too tall, also seems to me that he is too up right when he run. AND I AGREE OPEN THE CHECKBOOK Buy Broussow

• 272.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

#270 Travelling Shark: Funny psoted that before yours I agree

• 273.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

Hell suddenly developed 12 fingers! After the bottle of J&B

• 274.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

We really are the Real Madrid of SA rugby, all the players, cash, coaches, just need the silverware. Was really dissappointed with the attendance at the Tank today, that Durban crowd needs a kick up the *** – your team is top of the log, and not even half of the stadium is full, WTF?

• 275.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

Yeh the days were in the 90′s with Joubert, Thomson, Cabos, Muir, Atherton and Co then Kingspark rocked

• 276.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

Damn straight – legends!! Think some serious marketing needs to be done, KZNRU must be loosing major cash with empty seats – this is where I wonder, if you know that the stadium is going to be empty, why not bus in kids from the outlying areas? They would love a day at the stadium!!

It is still the best stadium in SA, but geting a little stale…

• 277.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Well done FS.
    I for one didn’t give you a chance.
    Good luck for the final.

• 278.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Is there anyway the boks can get Os to coach our front row? I’m very worried for what the French can do to our boys. I mean look how Os’s hand was prevalent in Free State’s front row

• 279.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#278 Papoose: With Bakkies and co behind that front row, there shouldnt be many problems, I agree that there is definite room for improvement, Bok front row made to look ordinary at best.

• 280.WP_: Reply to this comment

Cant say that I didnt pick this all week! ;)

congrats to bulls, cheetahs fans

• 281.Fire: Reply to this comment

I think it also showed wen Ndungane came off it was very Quiet on the right wing Pieterson tried but cant do it buy himself but im not blaming Monty HE IS NOT A WING………

• 282.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

Its strange to me that the Bulls frontrow struggles so much. They essentially won the Super 14 without a scrum. Thats Free States opportunity to win in the final-demolish the Bulls scrum.

• 283.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#281 Fire: Where was Mvovo??

• 284.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

Eish, we choked again today. This Cheetahs team had no business beating us at the Tank. My observations:

1. Our front three are useless as a scrummaging unit, I do not blame the locks I blame them.

2. Adi Jacobs had a bad game. Starting to question his quality.

3. We need cover for Deysel and Swanepoel.

4. Ruan should not be playing ahead of either Rory or Charl.

5. How could Plum not use Burden at all?!?!

6. Where were the fans? Did you see Newlands!?!?

Well done Cheetahs, very well played and full value for the win today. Well done Blue Bulls, it was close but you again showed your class which is what a quality outfit should do. Clearly for us even a home final is not enough incentive. WP Nel my MOTM

• 285.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

#283 Travelling Shark:

On the wing is not where we lost this

• 286.Senga: Reply to this comment

#284 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Not to worry – the gate takings at the final will enable us to purchase WP Nel. He should wear blue.

• 287.posts: Reply to this comment

#283 Travelling Shark: I was there and what a waste of time getting stuck in endless traffic jams, watching pitiful rugby, even worse refereeing and unfit players trying to imitate Ronaldhino and not play as a team.
    Never a season ticket again

• 288.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#283 Travelling Shark:

I agree, just no need for 2 flyhalves on the pitch, 1 on the bench and no cover at wing…

• 289.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

#287 posts:
    I feel for you, its a depressing day. I feel for the players that put us in the driving seat only to be discarded when the boks came back..
    The Tank was not even 50% (TV coverage) its pitiful – is KZNRU trying to make too much money, or is the crowd more comfortable infront of the big screens at home?

• 290.bunce: Reply to this comment

Who cares if pienaar and jacobs are smurf blue they both played kak again.

• 291.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

#256 Transformation:
    Transie

Just could not believe that a leader of a top team could be so mean spirited. Will give him a benefit of doubt and say he was maybe under pressure to win the game thus forgetting to greet his counter part. Just hope it’s not hatred.

• 292.charo: Reply to this comment

well done the vrystaat.
    always been my second team.
    wonderful fightback from a horrible start to the season.
    hope you guys go all the way and win the cup – you deserve it.

oh….and..coherence, you are a racist ******!!!!!!

• 293.Andre147: Reply to this comment

Sharks pack from 1 to 8 got klapped proper. Burden is our leading try scorer…he never saw the park.
    What does is say for the backline when the leading try scorer is your so called “second string hooker” time to start playing form players and not the big names.

• 294.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

chEEtahs!

Now to rock up to Roftus!

• 295.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

#294 Oranje Orakel: Vanwaar gehasie? Is jy nog in Bloem?

• 296.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

#295 Boerboel:

Yip

leKKer games gewEEs!

al vier teams is goed genoeg om Champs te wEEs

nou ja net plek vir twEE iNNie final

• 297.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

#296 Oranje Orakel: Jy het jare laas hier geblog! Welkom terug.

• 298.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

#297 Boerboel:

thanks

my uithang plek is ‘n spOOkwerf vaNNAAnd.

• 299.I wanna be coach: Reply to this comment

A bit of history: I was an Adi Jacobs hater a few seasons ago but thought he was a great addition to the Boks last season. He played well and really impressed me. Plus I thought he handled the presure rearding him in the press really well. But lately he has been going down a bit and I thought its just a lack of game time. But after today….

Pienaar gives a shocker of a pass and its bobbling around. Jacobs doesn’t commit to the ball early, then when he sees JLP about to pounce instead of putting his body on the line he limply dangles his hand out. So fair enough his commitment is questionable and he may possibly be a girl.

However he then procedes to lay and the ground and hold his shoulder like he’s injured?! Think he even added a roll in… WTF?! He should go play soccer!

So Adi I’m sorry bud, you f%#*ed up and you’ve lost a supporter

• 300.superhero: Reply to this comment

I’m not going to be nasty and lambast the Sharks, because I know how it feels to have great team and lose. But what the f%*D were you guys thinking. If s14 tactics fail, fall back to old school bok grinding rugby. Cheetahs came to win a semi and played percentage rugga as would be expected. It helps to have Heinrich “the hustler” Brussouw on your side. This little terrier is absolutely unreal.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.