Steyn sinks gutsy WP
17 Oct 2009
A 78th minute penalty by Morne Steyn secured the Bulls a 21-19 victory over WP as well as a home final.
The shot was from more than 50m out near the right-hand touchline, possibly the most difficult kick for a right-footed player. But the Springbok flyhalf, who bagged all of the Bulls’ 21 points, struck it as true as the penalty that clinched the British & Irish Lions series earlier this year.
The earlier defeats for the WP U19 and U21 teams were overshadowed by the Cheetahs’ victory in Durban. The upset meant a win over the Bulls would see Province hosting the Currie Cup final for the first time since 2001.
The significance of the Kings Park result wasn’t lost on the Newlands faithful as they cheered the stadium big screen. By kick off, there was a fair amount of powder blue amongst the crowd, but the blue and white hoops were in the majority, a fact that was confirmed through their collective clamour.
The home side received another boost when Bulls lock Bakkies Botha was sent to the sin bin in the first minute for foul play. Everything seemed to be in WP’s favour, but in a nervy opening quarter they only succeeded in spurning every advantage.
First Joe Pietersen missed the ensuing penalty kick for touch, the first of several poor kicks by Province. The Bulls were typically dominant in this respect, and at times, Steyn seemed to have the ball on a string. He goaled four penalties in the first half without much fuss, but his tactical kicking put the visitors into some promising positions.
The Bulls’ defence placed WP under massive pressure, forcing the home side into errors and transgressions at the breakdown. The Province scrum also failed to dominate, but fortunately the Bulls lineout blew hot and cold – Victor Matfield stealing several WP feeds but Derick Kuun’s wayward throwing handing them back possession.
The Bulls scored six points in Botha’s absence and seemed to grow in confidence as the half progressed. The WP defence weren’t having it, however, and some determined tackling on their own line and timely steals on the ground robbed the Bulls of two try-scoring opportunities.
The WP backline battled to gel with flyhalf Peter Grant and inside centre Paul Bosch failing as a combination. After a superb build-up in the dying seconds where the WP forwards hammered the Bulls back, Bosch tried to step his man instead of using the overlap. Pietersen did goal the subsequent penalty, but that seven points would have seen the hosts trailing by a mere 12-10 at the break.
WP withstood a mass onslaught early in the second period, but their gallantry was aided by the Bulls’ lack of precision. The Pretoria side were far from accurate at ruck time, and although they enjoyed territorial dominance up to this point, the secondary kickers handed WP too many easy marks.
The hosts took heart from this showing, and the next time they were in the Bulls’ half, they walked away with the points. Hooker Tiaan Liebenberg, who had broken tackles all evening, gave them the initial go-forward before the Bulls conceded a penalty that Pietersen duly slotted.
A lineout win by replacement Schalk Burger in the 58th minute set the platform for a wide strike, Frikkie Welsh kicking ahead before being smashed by the cover defence. The Bulls chased the rolling ball but the diminutive form of Gio Aplon beat everyone to score a momentum-shifting try. Pietersen kicked a fantastic conversion, and with 20 minutes to play, WP had the lead.
Steyn kicked another penalty to edge the Bulls in front, and the visitors looked to open it up when in possession. Fourie du Preez received an untimely pass before being absolutely obliterated by Burger, a hit that brought the 48 000-strong crowd to its feet. The Springbok flanker received a series of backslaps and high fives before raising his arms to the spectators as if to say, ‘This game is ours’.
The belief translated into momentum and with 13 minutes remaining, Pietersen sank an important penalty. Steyn attempted a drop-goal moments later that went horribly wide, and it appeared WP would finish this game as they started – with good fortune.
Pulses raced and the crowds cheers turned to shrieks as the the drama intensified. You got the sense that if this game was at Loftus Versfeld, the locals would’ve been willing their side to victory just as the Capetonians were lending their team radical support.
The deciding moment arrived when replacement winger Sireli Naqelevuki was penalised for a coat-hanger of a tackle. Steyn pointed to the posts and the noise dissipated. Those that had sensed a upset WP victory now sensed a less favourable yet predictable result with Steyn lining up the kick.
The win means the Bulls will host the Cheetahs in the 31 October final. Free State did well to beat the Sharks in Durban, but should be no match for this star-studded Bulls outfit.
By Jon Cardinelli

401 Comments
17 Oct 2009, 15:19 pm
Clash of the old archrivals. Going to be one gigantic match. No favourites.
17 Oct 2009, 15:23 pm
Bulls by 30+
Bye bye Lulu
17 Oct 2009, 15:26 pm
This match will be tighter than most think.
#2 Xkreni-WP:
How about changing your tune. It is rather boring! Did Watson personally hurt you?
Hope Habana score some tries against his new employer.
17 Oct 2009, 15:32 pm
Evening gents.
Shame Toomua not starting today, would have been a great place for him to build some BMT going into next year’s S14.
Granted he is only meant to be there as cover, and it wouldn’t be too fair on the SA players who have dreamed of getting WP into the finals.
How long until kickoff?
17 Oct 2009, 15:35 pm
#6 Donutdunning: about an hour to go. Go WP!!!
17 Oct 2009, 15:48 pm
BB 72 WP 3.
Bye bye Puke. Don’t come back. Ever.
17 Oct 2009, 15:49 pm
#6 DonutDunning: 1 hour 13 minutes.
17 Oct 2009, 15:53 pm
#9 BlueBlood: Ok it turns out Fox Sports is playing the game here, but it will be 2am by the time it starts.
So I might just tape it and watch in the morning.
Im backing Province purely because there’s a Brumby playing for them
Good luck!
17 Oct 2009, 15:57 pm
#10 DonutDunning: hey, I have a friend who knows someone, who read an article about Australia some time ago – so you should support the Bulls.
17 Oct 2009, 16:00 pm
#11 Senga: Hmm, a compelling argument, perhaps I have been approaching this all wrong…
17 Oct 2009, 16:03 pm
#12 DonutDunning: Glad I could make you see the light. Now hop off to the store and acquire your Bulls supporters shirt right away.
17 Oct 2009, 16:30 pm
Curtain raiser is over. Bring on the main match!
17 Oct 2009, 16:36 pm
Can’t believe I’m saying this but go WP!!!!
Can’t stomach another Cheetah/Bull final…
Then again if WP win it’s going to be **** living here in Slaapstad….
17 Oct 2009, 16:42 pm
Cobras win a portent of things to come?
17 Oct 2009, 16:44 pm
#4 Peter Mkata:
I detest quota’s, but a white quota is the pits.
The day you get over apartheid, I will get over Lulu, deal?
17 Oct 2009, 16:54 pm
Province!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:56 pm
Hallo all you happy okes!…bloody hell, why don’t we all just take a deep breath and scream:
Proooooooviiiiince,
and if does not help just repeat the above until you pass out, great tonic!!!
17 Oct 2009, 16:58 pm
#19 Redrover: Tried shouting province – but then I choked – no good.
17 Oct 2009, 16:59 pm
#18 WP Till I Die: WP mot die ding seal voor laaste 10 anders is dit over en out!
17 Oct 2009, 17:00 pm
#20 Senga: its th nose ring!….lol
17 Oct 2009, 17:01 pm
I think Bulls will take it, though!
17 Oct 2009, 17:04 pm
#17 Xkreni-WP:
Were you as consistent during the dark days of discrimination?
#23 WP Till I Die: ….neee man, se liewer later jy het so gedink….nou is dit WP WP WP om te wen.
Come on BB, hurt them good.
17 Oct 2009, 17:05 pm
Brilliant Bakkies!
17 Oct 2009, 17:06 pm
OK outjies lekker kyk….ons praat later WTID
17 Oct 2009, 17:08 pm
Come on, that was nothing, Ref having a shocker.
17 Oct 2009, 17:08 pm
#23 WP Till I Die: how can you make a statement like that and still stroll into the Firemans with head held high????
17 Oct 2009, 17:10 pm
#19 Redrover: I’ll join you there Mr Rover. Keep me posted on the score please. Can’t see notin from here mate.
17 Oct 2009, 17:11 pm
#29 BlueBlood: what shocker? Please elaborate.
17 Oct 2009, 17:12 pm
Has anyone seen Luke Watson? Did you withdraw before the game?
17 Oct 2009, 17:15 pm
#31 TASSIES: 6/0 to Bulls who are playing with only 14 men. Bakkies out with a yellow.
17 Oct 2009, 17:17 pm
#31 TASSIES: 3-0 Bulle….Bakkies in the sin bin…elbow in the face.
17 Oct 2009, 17:18 pm
WP illegal scrumming, shocking.
17 Oct 2009, 17:18 pm
#34 Puma: Sorry Puma, Tassies you should rather listen to the “informed one”.
Kan nie onthou wie jy support nie PUMA?
17 Oct 2009, 17:19 pm
slow poison
17 Oct 2009, 17:21 pm
9/0 to Bulls. Bulls looking just too good for WP at the moment.
17 Oct 2009, 17:21 pm
“handbags” – LoL
17 Oct 2009, 17:22 pm
#37 Redrover: Sharks boet.
#38 SodaJoe: Yep, that boot of Steyn is deadly my son.
#35 Redrover: thanks boet. What the F is going on? Are we(WP) playing like a buch of tools. 14 v 15 and down 9. WTF?
17 Oct 2009, 17:23 pm
Another penalty to Bulls. Going to be 12/0
17 Oct 2009, 17:23 pm
#42 BlueBlood: afraid so. AB’s punishment revisited.
17 Oct 2009, 17:24 pm
#42 BlueBlood: Actually right now might be quick poison.
17 Oct 2009, 17:24 pm
#43 TASSIES: Sorry Tassies, its now 12/0
17 Oct 2009, 17:25 pm
spies having a big game… how long before some bright spark says he has “disappeared”?
17 Oct 2009, 17:25 pm
Enjoy the game guys.
Out of here now.
17 Oct 2009, 17:26 pm
#44 Puma: this is all sounding pretty kak from where I’m sitting. Very kak indeed.
17 Oct 2009, 17:28 pm
PROVINCE missing `Schalk , believe me
this is going to ba a big score…i’m sorry province…
#48 gunther: agreed and that pick up behind a retreating pack excellent. No one better.
17 Oct 2009, 17:29 pm
#46 SodaJoe: howzit Soda. you watching this over your post toasties? Miles from home so we’re in the same boat today.
17 Oct 2009, 17:29 pm
#53 SodaJoe: Shunter thought you were in a box?
17 Oct 2009, 17:30 pm
#50 TASSIES: Not as bad as it seems, just some iffie penalties in our own half….and we all know Morne Steyn….All is not lost.
17 Oct 2009, 17:31 pm
#53 SodaJoe: Bulls getting nailed in the scrums and still slaughtering us?
matt to’omua welcome to south africa
#54 TASSIES: where are you boet? I have had brekkie – boiled eggs on toast with Worcestershire Sauce.
17 Oct 2009, 17:32 pm
soda: shunter is all talk & no walk…
17 Oct 2009, 17:33 pm
#56 Redrover: geez is the boy pumping over 50m plus bombs again, while Bakkies is off the park. But he must be back on by now???
17 Oct 2009, 17:34 pm
#57 TASSIES: aye
17 Oct 2009, 17:36 pm
#61 TASSIES: just easy peasies bud. WP dof mistakes.
Penalty WP.
#55 SodaJoe:
I had to cancel yesterday my wife is very unwell..
WP on the board.
17 Oct 2009, 17:37 pm
#64 gunther: sorry boet is she ok?
17 Oct 2009, 17:37 pm
#59 SodaJoe: flied egg on noodles with bamboo shoots for brekkie all washed down with some coloured warm water slightly discoloured to a shade close to colour of piss.
17 Oct 2009, 17:38 pm
#61 TASSIES: Bulls completely calm and collected.
17 Oct 2009, 17:38 pm
#61 TASSIES: Bakkies back..nou 12-3 Bulls…not as one sided…Bulls are batling in the lineouts…even with Bakkies.
17 Oct 2009, 17:39 pm
Good captaincy. getting his team together breaking momentum.
17 Oct 2009, 17:40 pm
#65 SodaJoe: This is in fact good news. At least its not gonna be a whitey. Now for a backlash much like what the Cheats did to the Sharkies.
17 Oct 2009, 17:40 pm
Spies & Botha suck in 4 tacklers every single time.
17 Oct 2009, 17:42 pm
#70 SodaJoe: you mean Province is gaining some momentum. If so. At last.
17 Oct 2009, 17:43 pm
#66 SodaJoe:
pneumonia…honestly who gets that anymore?
that was good defence from WP
#72 SodaJoe: what’s happening in the contest between the back three? That part interests me. I had LW to shade PS. Seems other way round or what?
17 Oct 2009, 17:44 pm
Great defense Province.
But hangin on.
17 Oct 2009, 17:44 pm
#73 TASSIES: Bulls attack and attack, but the wall stands….still 12/3.
17 Oct 2009, 17:45 pm
#74 gunther: that is not good. Sorry to hear that. And good evening to you.
17 Oct 2009, 17:45 pm
#74 gunther: Both myself and my sister in law were hospitalised with it this year.
17 Oct 2009, 17:46 pm
#77 SodaJoe: Bulls hangin on a bit now
17 Oct 2009, 17:47 pm
#76 TASSIES: Province going to have to bring on Schalk soon.
Province superb attacking for about 8 phases. Then knock on.
17 Oct 2009, 17:48 pm
#74 gunther: Much more common than you think. Sneaky fkn virus that one.
#79 TASSIES
thanks man
: #80 David:
you could have knocked me down with a feather when they toldme but appparently it’s doing the rounds… hope you both got better…
#78 Redrover: do we look like we have a chance of winning this one or we just playing for time?
17 Oct 2009, 17:49 pm
#81 Big Hit: Yeah, Province will go in feeling better.
Liebenberg playing like a demented Tasmanian Devil. Everywhere, and scrumming like mad.
17 Oct 2009, 17:50 pm
#82 SodaJoe: you kidding? Are we getting nailed? Who will Schalk replace?
#83 SodaJoe:
yep and the anti biotics seem to be struggling with …. never mind I am wearing my nurse’s uniform….every cloud has its silver lining…now if we can just put these province boys away…
#85 TASSIES: Last 8 minutes all Province. But had to defend like their lives depended on it, and did.
Still Bulls game though bud, but looking better for you right now.
Where are you?
17 Oct 2009, 17:51 pm
#87 TASSIES: Bakkies & Spies are too powerful for Luke & Louw – creating too much space. Schalk will replace Louw.
17 Oct 2009, 17:52 pm
#81 Big Hit: Hey BH..hope you are well.
17 Oct 2009, 17:53 pm
#88 gunther: Stay warm in bed. Take mutie. That’s about all. But be careful. STAY in bed, even tomorrow.
17 Oct 2009, 17:54 pm
Bulls will take this, I’m afraid.
#87 TASSIES: This game is far from done and the way WP are playing its evens stevens
okay chaps, so whats the summary? Bit frustrating getting bits and pieces. 12-6 down is not a train-smash but it depends on who’s doing what to whom. No one’s mentioned a backline move since the game started. Are these guys on holiday or are we into 10 man BB do-or-die rugby this pm?
17 Oct 2009, 17:55 pm
#84 gunther:
We’re still alive. It just takes a lot out of you and is a bit frightening at first. Luckily mine happened during the S14, so I was able to watch all the games in hospital, without any interference from my wife. Even the Friday and Saturday morning games.
Your wife should be OK in about 3 to 4 weeks once the antibiotics have done their job. Takes about 6 weeks to clear entirely.
Flo is nowhere today – Schalk to come on soon.
#92 SodaJoe:
she is off work for two weeks… sleeping now and I have monopolised the tv…
17 Oct 2009, 17:56 pm
#76 TASSIES: Oom Tass – Spies is too big, too strong, too fast for any #8 in the world, let alone Luke.
Great hands at the moment, and the scary thing is he gets better every game.
Luke is playing well but not extraordinarily so.
#92 SodaJoe:
It’s pneumonia, not flu.
#90 SodaJoe: I see. Bakkies vs Skalla is a tantalising thought in the Newlands cauldron. Wonder who’ll win that one? My money shall remain in my pocket.
17 Oct 2009, 17:57 pm
This game just shows how that in SA rugby we don’t look to use the players in space and how that the supporting players don’t put themselves into space to receive the ball. As long as the ball carrier is going to hit it up all the time the supporting players are never going to feel the need to run into space. Its ridiculous
17 Oct 2009, 17:57 pm
#93 WP Till I Die:
I dunno province just look so dangerous with ball in hand if they could just string some plays together… as a bulls supporter I am happy burger is on the bench…
17 Oct 2009, 17:58 pm
Tassies, some promising backline moves from both sides but absolutely amazing defense on both sides, some sore bodies out there. Gio is one brave little oke!
#98 gunther: She will be happy with her new bikini bod.
There’s always a silver lining.
Tough to eat, but she must. Unless she wants to join Grant on Clifton with the Brazilian Girls.
Funny to see Slap Tjips “playing” for the Bulls.
17 Oct 2009, 17:59 pm
#101 TASSIES: lets just say Skalla wont take a step back i believe.
#104 WP Till I Die: agree with you on Gio.
#96 David: never knew this David. Did you recover fully? Know absolutely zip about the condition.
Unforced errors killing Province.
17 Oct 2009, 18:00 pm
Kuun having a shocker, ref too.
17 Oct 2009, 18:00 pm
#90 SodaJoe:
That’s the area that worried me before the game. Apart from Vermeulen, Luke and Flo are a bit lightweight as a combo. I’d have preferred Vermeulen at 8, Schalk 7 and Luke 6.
17 Oct 2009, 18:01 pm
Schalk to create history today?
17 Oct 2009, 18:02 pm
#104 WP Till I Die: hundred percent. Watched the little bugger against Griekwas a few weeks back and he certainly doesn’t hold back. Got nailed by the G’s captain eventually in a tackle he made on the oke twice his size. Very impressive.
17 Oct 2009, 18:03 pm
#113 WP Till I Die: we live in hope.
17 Oct 2009, 18:03 pm
#105 SodaJoe:
unlike me she has no meat to lose…. you know those joburg girls..
17 Oct 2009, 18:04 pm
Tassies, only to die in disappointment?
17 Oct 2009, 18:04 pm
#102 bananaboy:
Ive been boring everyone silly with the same comment for years. It drives me mad. Look at how BOD made Roberts by always running support lines into space compared to Fourie.
17 Oct 2009, 18:05 pm
#112 David: I thought they’s be okay. But I agree in hindsight. We need the grunt this time out.
17 Oct 2009, 18:06 pm
#117 WP Till I Die: now Weepee any more statements like that and you’ll be buying all the drinks at Firemans if I ever make it there.
17 Oct 2009, 18:07 pm
They should have subbed Lulu for Burger – early send off to Europe – Whoo Hoo!!!
Lawrence having a very poor game.
Schalk already making a difference.
17 Oct 2009, 18:08 pm
#109 TASSIES:
Yes. It’s OK if they catch it in time. The X-rays show up as a broken glass effect in the lungs.
17 Oct 2009, 18:09 pm
#122 BlueBlood: why?
17 Oct 2009, 18:10 pm
#118 David: and JdV never put Adie away? My memory must be playing games with me. BOD is outstanding. Buy JdV is not far behind if he is indeed behind. But that is a moot point.
17 Oct 2009, 18:11 pm
Hoops coming back. Only 3 points now.
Tass – RugbyZone.com – you can pay match by match.
#122 BlueBlood: oh?
k@k pass by fdp
17 Oct 2009, 18:12 pm
#127 SodaJoe: how much(USD)?
17 Oct 2009, 18:13 pm
Joe fantastic under the high ball.
17 Oct 2009, 18:14 pm
#130 TASSIES: $5
17 Oct 2009, 18:15 pm
#126 TASSIES:
I’m talking about BOD as outside centre. It’s fine for the 12 to break or half break, but he needs his 13 to be running the right support line to take advantage.
17 Oct 2009, 18:15 pm
12-9. Is Schalk making a difference? Certainly sounds like it. He’s one mightly mean bugger when he’s motivated. Feel sorry for the Bulls. No. Delete that last comment. Donner them Schalk. Then you can enjoy that beer with them after the game.
17 Oct 2009, 18:17 pm
#133 David: sorry David. I’ve always thought that’s exactly what Adie did so well(at 13). But with JdV putting him away from his usual 12 position.
17 Oct 2009, 18:18 pm
GIOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Well deserved for the bravest guy on the field.
17 Oct 2009, 18:19 pm
#132 SodaJoe: wish I had known. Too late now. Home next week. So meantime I’ll rely on you guys.
17 Oct 2009, 18:20 pm
suck it up blou bullekies you not taking anything home with you today Province taking this thing today.
Smallest player on the field sticking it to you all you big magas.
17 Oct 2009, 18:20 pm
Gotta be. Too close to call. Benefit of the doubt.
17 Oct 2009, 18:21 pm
#135 TASSIES:
Yes, Adi does, Jaques doesn’t.
We have a game on our hands.
Tass you better buy it – gonna be a cracker.
#136 SodaJoe: I thought Bulls put some points up? 15-9.
Game on!
17 Oct 2009, 18:23 pm
#140 David: agreed. Fourie is a different player. That’s why I like them both in the mix.
17 Oct 2009, 18:24 pm
Ref having an absolute shocker, WP should have been carded already.
#138 skopskiet: Eish, why jinx it.
#143 WP Till I Die:
You wasted your breath being generous to Puma. He’s shouting for the Bulls on RT.
Tough call on Province. Should have gone the other way.
We knew it all along. Today is vindication day.
Dynamite comes in small packages as Gio Aplon and Joe Pietersen is showing these groot kop big breekers
Lawrence doing his damndest to keep Bulls in the game. Must have money on them.
17 Oct 2009, 18:25 pm
#141 SodaJoe: next time. Speed effing slow here in China. But sounds like you right.
17 Oct 2009, 18:25 pm
big mistake by lawrence there. The tighthead pulled his head out which allowed the walk around
17 Oct 2009, 18:26 pm
David – did I expect anything less?
#138 skopskiet: Hold your breath big boy – even stevens at the moment.
schalk is in the building!
17 Oct 2009, 18:27 pm
#154 Transformation: hehe, he loved every second of that!!
Holy fk. WHAT a tackle by Burger.
#149 skopskiet: hullo Skoppie. Why are you not at the game with Grant and the boys, you old d00s?
yes nail the big breek fckrs.
Bulls going home with fokol today.
17 Oct 2009, 18:28 pm
Go Schalk!!!
17 Oct 2009, 18:28 pm
#152 WP Till I Die: Puma now playing in the girl’s camp? Oh boy?
17 Oct 2009, 18:29 pm
Tass this is a dynamite game. Province really going for it.
17 Oct 2009, 18:29 pm
Very bad call – that was a knock by SB
17 Oct 2009, 18:30 pm
#156 SodaJoe: on who?
Skoppie, chill out. You giving the rest of us WP supporters a bad name!
#162 Polar Lion: went back and then hit his leg
so if province win it was deserved and if the bullswin it was the ref… what a sad sack you are…
17 Oct 2009, 18:31 pm
Penalty Province to go ahead
Worked today Tassies came in now just before half time. I could sense at 12-6 down this game is ours for the taking. I knew it all week we gonna nail these big bok breekers.
#161 SodaJoe: I’m in tears trust me.
What a game! Nobody deserves to lose this one.
17 Oct 2009, 18:32 pm
#163 TASSIES: Of all people Fourie Du Preez who will still feel it on Xmas day.
Province ahead.
17 Oct 2009, 18:33 pm
#168 skopskiet: carefull Skop. Those chickens get restless against comments like that. Don’t put the mockers on us please boet.
17 Oct 2009, 18:33 pm
What a class crowd – typical!
17 Oct 2009, 18:34 pm
A ball hair call.
17 Oct 2009, 18:34 pm
#171 SodaJoe: shame. Enjoy the boy. Would have enjoyed it more were it someone else.
17 Oct 2009, 18:35 pm
please WPTID. What kind of good name you trying to protect.
This is war of attrition stuff, these bully breekers thought they just have to pitch up to take this game. And we taking it come hell or high water. You think I got apologies to be making for my conviction. Think again.
17 Oct 2009, 18:36 pm
Province has the Bulls worried …
HUGE Province t/over.
#174 SodaJoe: this be nerve-racking stuff. Can feel it from here like a blind man.
17 Oct 2009, 18:37 pm
Ag please not the Fat Fijian. Bosch played very well.
17 Oct 2009, 18:37 pm
#173 Polar Lion: Nothing wrong with this crowd boet
17 Oct 2009, 18:38 pm
even if wp lose…mad respect!!!
Round about now, I can see Slappes ribbing Grant 10 about his Schalk comments.
#176 skopskiet: Skop just don’t count them chickens is all. I had us to win, before the game. But it was more heart than head. Well, just a bit of head. what’s happening boys? Pleeze.
Oi vey. Province pressure all afternoon.
Horrific reffing.
17 Oct 2009, 18:39 pm
for ALL THE banter by sharks and bulls fans looks like we are in S…t
17 Oct 2009, 18:39 pm
Goeie game
17 Oct 2009, 18:40 pm
#186 BlueBlood: aaag please!
6 to go guys. what’s happening?
Die Kaap is weer Hollands!
#186 BlueBlood:
Just what the WP supporters are saying.
17 Oct 2009, 18:41 pm
6 minutes is feeling like 60 minutes.
Matfield just schooled Bekker.
#191 TASSIES: scrum in Bulls half, Bulls side going down
#192 allamapstieks: echte hollands
17 Oct 2009, 18:42 pm
Welsh puts Kirchner into touch
hey man, give us some dope on the game guys. Ag pleeze man.
Blauw is dondering Kruger.
4 minutes
Fijian gives away a pen, high tackle. Steyn pen
17 Oct 2009, 18:43 pm
This could decide the game, this kick.
17 Oct 2009, 18:43 pm
#195 Big Hit: thanks BH. You’re a real gent. I’ll forgive you for being English.
17 Oct 2009, 18:44 pm
High tackle by the Fijian.
Steyn. 5m in 8m from halfway line.
Kicking the ball away is costing us every time this up n under sh’t don’t work. Keep the ball in hand and we win. Now we just gave them another 3 points for nothing.
This is a long kick
#201 Big Hit: and then what happens?
Fijian just lost the game for Province.
17 Oct 2009, 18:45 pm
tassies, if you’re on a computer
justin.tv/twomint
Wow!
The crowd goes quiet – where’s the Boo now?
All over, I’m afraid.
Well done Bulls.
It’s over me thinks, geluk Bulle.
gave the damn game away with the damn up n under and the high tackle. All they had to do was hold it in hand damn it.
Steyn unbelievable.
17 Oct 2009, 18:46 pm
bulls running clock down in WP half
Another boring win!
Bulls win, hard luck WP good effort.
The Bulls have this nack of not panicking.
17 Oct 2009, 18:47 pm
Aaagh damn! Good game anyway … well done boys … took them to the wire! Well done Bulls!
17 Oct 2009, 18:47 pm
Why the hell was that useless Fijian on the field????
17 Oct 2009, 18:48 pm
what a game that is why morne steyn is the bok ten …. kudos to province …. epic…
#205 skopskiet: those chickens have come home to roost Skop. Let this be a lesson. I’m pissed now. Off to bed with a broken heart and no more scotch in the bottle to drown in.
Ouch that hurt.
One silly mistake from a useless player.
Well done Bulls.
I am bloody thankful Morne Steyn is South African.
Baie geluk bulle…maar al julle gatte is rou geskraap…..Love you WP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
what a stupid penalty to give away with a 1 point lead and a few minutes to go.
Cheers Luke D**S! The Dutchmen klapped you yet again!
Ok, not by 30+. Bulls underdone at the moment but I will take the win.
Bulle!!!!!!!
Now for a Rocky Horror party so see you tomorrow.
Bye bye Lulu you little cnut!
Morne Steyn is THE iceman. Sjoe – die man het senuwees van staal.
Difficult to believe we won the game, Lawrence was all out to make us lose.
well done blue bulls!
17 Oct 2009, 18:49 pm
#223 gunther: well done Gunther. Good luck for the final. Off to kip now boys. cheers.
Bad luck Province.
Well done Bulls.
Again, hard luck WP, sore way to lose. Millions of B&I Lions fans know how you feel trust me, Steyn is just a match-winner.
Congrats Bulls and Cheetahs, will be a great final the last game was a cracker.
Very bad game. Congrats to the Bulls tho! Bulls front row and Potgieter weren’t good! Luke had a quiet game.
bulls were lucky. The stupid up n under and Fijian high tackle gifted them this damn game.
If Province would have run every ball instead of hoof it in the damn air we would have won.
Lucky Bulls. All their points from Steyn penalties.
17 Oct 2009, 18:50 pm
Steyn – world class!
17 Oct 2009, 18:50 pm
Can every1 now see why Morne Steyn is currently the number 1 flyhalf in World Rugby? This guy doesn’t understand the word nerves. Shite
17 Oct 2009, 18:51 pm
Experience cost province this game. If only Bosch and Pieterse had passed the ball to the unmarked guys, we would talk about something else. All the great province and especially to you LUKE!!!!!
#237 skopskiet:
ag nee man Skoppie – give credit where its due, don’t be such a d%%s.
#237 skopskiet: What a great game, and what a great result.Life is good and the Cape fairies are out again! good send off for Puke too
17 Oct 2009, 18:52 pm
#237 skopskiet:
The better you play the more ‘luck’ you get.
Lucky se gat.
If WP didnt play Nacqalamakiekakkie you wouldve barely won, on you homeground.
Regardless, I thought WP played exceptionally well – so you can be proud of your team. Next year you will certainly be a force to be reckoned with.
As for my beloved Bulls, congrats! Morne, jou YSTER!
#237 skopskiet: Yes, all our points from Steyn penalties, WHICH WERE CONCEDED BY WP.
17 Oct 2009, 18:53 pm
#237 skopskiet: Difference between world class no9 and a good one….good for the Boks, but ai! my hart is seer…really thought this was our year.!
Province for ever…
Rover over … and out!
17 Oct 2009, 18:54 pm
No point complaining about penalties, sounds like the Aussies, it’s not synchronised swimming after all no marks for aesthetics. Credit where it is due, Bulls came away from home and won, they’re a great team.
17 Oct 2009, 18:54 pm
Lawrence gave you the damn game blueblood how many points you get from penalties. Do the penalty count. You got given this game on a plate. You damn lucky you won a game by Steyn’s boot and Lawrence’s whistle.
Province made the mistake of not running every ball. If we wouldn’t have kicked those useless up n unders no way you Bullekies would have been in it.
You got lucky thats it. Thank Lawrence for your gifted final at Loftus.
17 Oct 2009, 18:56 pm
#229 Xkreni-WP: #228 Polar Lion:
Thank you for your gracious remarks. As they say, the character of a man can seen in how he accepts victory.
17 Oct 2009, 18:56 pm
Skoppie, het jy al klaar te diep in daai bottel gekyk?
17 Oct 2009, 18:57 pm
Congratulions, Bulls. Well deserved win.
17 Oct 2009, 18:57 pm
#248 skopskiet: What? Lawrence was 100% against us. Why did WP not get a yellow card for all of their infringements on the ground? They were proffesionally fouling all day long. Should have gotten at least 1 yellow, maybe 2.
We won despite the ref. There was no luck involved.
17 Oct 2009, 19:01 pm
#248 skopskiet: Its a pleasure to see WP getting beat with the bunch of dickheads that they have as supporters. Morne Steyns’ reply to the boos from the clowns was superb. 7 from 7.
17 Oct 2009, 19:01 pm
Hopefully that was fiji’s last game in the streeptrui. Province can be proud but it always hurts when you lose a game you should have won. Too many penalties cost us. I’m drunk and about to get drunker. The cup was there for the taking and naqelevuki blew it. Bye bye you useless doos
17 Oct 2009, 19:02 pm
#252 BlueBlood: BB dont think the ref was in favour of WP at all , fair gvame by him and good win by the Bulls , congrats, the moment nakakakaka KAK KAK KAK KAK came on I said gvame ovger for us !!! Ma se &*((*&& !!!
Province were all over them every time we ran at them. Also running head on into players without passing to unmarked men in space. Too much frantic head on running and up n under kicking. Steyn’s composure pulled them through. But Province kept them out from every phase attack, and when we had ball in hand they were scrambling. Pity so many useless up n unders. That last one cost us the damn game. And why they sent the Fijian on in that winning situation to gift the last 3 points. Destiny only knows. Idiots.
I’m sad, but proud.
17 Oct 2009, 19:05 pm
Well done, Cheetahs and Bulls!
17 Oct 2009, 19:05 pm
Oh and thank you bakkies for reminding us all why we hate the bulls. If there is any justice he will miss the final and the eoyt for his predictibly mindless thuggery
17 Oct 2009, 19:08 pm
#257 WP Till I Die:
rightly so…
I have three comments:
1. Bakkies’ yellow card was a ridiculous call.
2. Province played very well.
3. You can’t buy BMT.
Wptid you are a better man than me. I can’t bring myself to congratulate such a boring, negative one dimensional bunch. Common vrystaat!
# 259 JONNYMAIN
Look at the scoreboard – put it in your pipe and then smoke it. All you needed to end that post off is a customary BOO – jis dis lekka innie Kaap eksê!
#249 David:
Add Porto to that.
A pity some of the Bulls fans aren’t up to the quality of the Bulls rugby.
Well done Bulls, this was a classic Bulls/WP encounter.
17 Oct 2009, 19:09 pm
Only bad thing about the ref I could say is that I thought Blaauw has the upper hand in the scrums and was wronly penalised. My 2 cents , great game , kak result , NakaKAKKAKKAKKAKKAKKAKAKAKAK must never wear a rugby jersey
17 Oct 2009, 19:10 pm
Yeah tac a ref with balls would have shown him red.
17 Oct 2009, 19:11 pm
Now i can finally sat WP`S SE GAT as i have said for a while wp are a 2nd rate province and they proved it.To puke(previously disadvantaged)watson isay VOETSEK and good riddance you were a disgrace to a springbok jersey,go and play with the poms that is all you are good for.To all you wp sad sacks who are probably crying in your beer now one team had to loose and as the scoreboard shows wp19 BLUE BULLS21 YOU 2ND RATERS LOST.BULLS FOREVER MEI BLOED IS BLOU.
17 Oct 2009, 19:12 pm
Well done Bulls. Also WP. That was heart stopping stuff. Cracker of a game.
Good luck both to Bulls and Cheetahs in the final.
sad that some people can be so sour …. you do injustice to your team’s efforts..
#261 Tacitus: Kak , Bakkies yellow was justified , he should be cited as well. One thing i will agree though it was a great game. Well played both sides and I am especially gutted for Luke , he deserves more but alas its not to be.
The youngsters of WP are looking good and Gio Aplon is yster !!!
17 Oct 2009, 19:13 pm
#266 jonnymain:
If I can congratulate WP on playing a great game, maybe you can get rid of your sour grapes, no?
#267 blueboy: Fark u , u sad puss !! get a life doos !!
i have watched that useless Sireli ngukeveliea loiter on the wing for the stormers and province for far too long – he is fecking uselss, slow, pointless waste of rugby space (I’m sure he’s a nice guy); but now I am hoping that is the nail in his coffin and they shunt him back to oblivion where he belongs…and if somebody was to ask me who was going to cost province a home final (and a win against the bully boys) his name would be at the top of the list. Time for vodka
17 Oct 2009, 19:14 pm
Blueboy weren’t you one of those poephols who predicted a 30 pt win? Enough said about your intelligence.
17 Oct 2009, 19:15 pm
Lastly as I see guys are just being idiots , congrats to a great team , the bulls !! Good luck against the cheetahs. I hope FDP is ok , I could feel that tackle here in my lounge
#264 David: My team lost today!
#267 blueboy: without steyn you would be a bunch of neutered bulls running around a paddock. But well done on your win.
17 Oct 2009, 19:16 pm
Bulls class carried them through. Province should have closed out at 77 min instead of gifting them possession . . again with another stupid up n under for them to counter with. And then the idiot Fijian handing it on a plate to Steyn to slot good.
Bulls know they got lucky, all we had to do was hold the ball in hand at 19-18 up with 3 min to go instead of giving it air and it was ours. Poor decision in that last 3 minutes cost us. And Bosch should have passed before half time with a 2 man overlap. Bulls got lucky but their class pulled them through.
Pity cos a final down here against Cheetah’s would have been a cake walk.
17 Oct 2009, 19:17 pm
#259 jonnymain:
There is nothing soooo lekker as hearing opposition sour grapes. Take your hiding like a man!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 19:19 pm
#278 skopskiet:
Matfield stole a crucial line out from Bekker around the 75th minute and that got us back into the WP half, from where Steyn got his penalty.
Class came through today.
The only disappointment was Du Preez, who I thought had his poorest game of the year.
17 Oct 2009, 19:21 pm
#279 ZA1: Hiding? What hiding? You okes were giving out about a 30+ point thrashing and in the end you had to rely on Morne “skop skop skop die bal” Steyn.
17 Oct 2009, 19:21 pm
Good bye Puke Watson. Eff off and don’t come back. Twat.
17 Oct 2009, 19:22 pm
Well even though I’m extremely disappointed about not winning this match, congratulations to the bulls.
I knew that they should have left Naquelavuki on the bench, the guys is a liability, we don’t need him in WP anymore.
Anywat best of luck to the bulls in the final, but all I can say is GO CHEETAHS!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 19:23 pm
#281 jonnymain:
My friend, I know it hurts, but you will have to accept the result eventually.
17 Oct 2009, 19:24 pm
#271 Tacitus: Tac from reading your posts I know you are a gentleman and also a real rugby man so I congratulate you on your win. Just curious though, what complaint do you have about Bakkies yellow? It was a clear act of thuggery no?
17 Oct 2009, 19:25 pm
#282 BlueBlood: Did Luke turn you down once? Is that why you are so obsessed with the man?
17 Oct 2009, 19:26 pm
Despite comments from some extremist Bulls fans, I am one WP supporter who will show you how a real man takes defeat. Well done Bulls, you were the better team, and deserved winners.
#285 jonnymain:
Firstly, many would not agree with your description of me, but thanks anyway.
Secondly, I don’t think “leading with the elbow” warrants a yellow card, if said elbow just pushes and scrapes against the opposition. A SWINGING ELBOW, on the other hand, is a different matter.
Anyway, that didn’t affect the end result, as the Bulls actually scored most of their points when Bakkies was off the field, at the start and at the end.
#280 Tacitus: Yes you are right. We had the game on a platter and the extra class in the Bulls team got you back in field position to launch an attack. It’s unfair to blame only Naqelevuki but my god I am right now!
17 Oct 2009, 19:27 pm
Yes Tacitus if it wasn’t for that Matfield steal I reckon another try was on the cards for us cv that stage. But the thing that actually cost us was Kirchner or Fdp had hoisted it down to our 22 at 77 minutes and it was either Grant or Toomua that put yet another useless up n under into the air for Fdp to send Kuun or Hougaard down the touch line for the Nakadikiki to high tackle and gift you the win. It was that up n under that didn’t work all game that cost us. Every time we ran it you were in trouble yet when you attacked our line we held you out time and again.
17 Oct 2009, 19:28 pm
Bakkies will be cited and deserves to be, I don’t care about him playing for the boks.
If he isn’t cited it will be a travesty, rugby must be played hard but fair, Bakkies Neanderthal type doesn’t belong in the game anymore.
Then after the game he thanks “the lord” for giving him the strength to be a thug!!
What a hypocrite!!
17 Oct 2009, 19:30 pm
#287 WP Till I Die:
Thanks, man.
I would reply to your statement by saying that while the Bulls are man for man by far the better team, on the day the teams were pretty much even.
Morne Steyn was the difference in the end. It was MUCH closer than I expected. I owe Staal an apology. When he comes down from his geyser, I’ll give it to him personally.
Still, like the S14 final of 2007, the Bulls showed that a great team can win important games away from home, even when they are not playing to their full potential.
#267 blueboy: Your blood may be blue but your spelling is atrocious. The word is “lose”, you idiot.
#288 Tacitus: Well I thought he smashed his forearm into the player intentionally (I think it was Louw) who was lying prone on the deck – clear intent and clearly should be cited and banned.
As for my description of you, well I call it as I see it. I agree with most of the things you post and enjoy reading it! The fact you are a Bulls fan means nothing, I like reading what you have to say!
17 Oct 2009, 19:32 pm
Okay. I logged in just to get some stuff off my chest. First of all, well done WP. You gave us a hell of a go. Secondly, don’t come moaning about “skop skop” Steyn if you guys cheered him on in the Lons series and the Tri Nations. WP should never have given the ball up in those last minutes. And even though we got the penalty by your so called “luck”, Steyn still had nerves of steel to slot it. Anybody agree?
I know I said earlier in the week that the Bulls will win this one with ease. I for one think that the Bulls was very lucky to win this game. Looking forward to the final.
Tacitus, enjoy your team’s win – well done – now show mercy to a very disappointed Province fan
17 Oct 2009, 19:34 pm
#295 WiliamJHB: Sorry mate, there was no luck in the penalty, it was obviously a high tackle – my problem is that the player shouldn’t have been stupid enough to concede it in the first place. Only 1 team tried to play rugby today, and I know I’ll be crucified by some guys for saying it, but it wasn’t the team in light blue.
17 Oct 2009, 19:35 pm
Tacitus is an astute and clear headed Bulls supporter. Wish the rest of them were like him.
Province got themselves to blame. They had that game in the bag and gifted it back after clawing back from 12-0 down to go up after Aplon’s try and should have held out from there. You can say that frantic kicking cost us that game. Should have simply held it in hand and it was all over rover for Matfield and his boys. They got a game and a half thrown at then. And just a little more composure by WP backs and it could have been the upset of the year.
17 Oct 2009, 19:36 pm
Ya, the bulls fans were kakking themselves at the end there, WP are on their way back to the top of the SA pile, you bulls supporters better enjoy this while it lasts, a hopelessly inexperienced WP side pushed you to the limit.
The bulls didn’t look like the legends they think they are.
17 Oct 2009, 19:36 pm
Natural order of the universe has been restored. The one team that DOES NOT fear the bulls – anywhere, anytime — is the CHEETAHS!!
17 Oct 2009, 19:37 pm
So, WP….
Questions, comments?
17 Oct 2009, 19:37 pm
#297 WP Till I Die: I personally thought, although the Bulls were no where close to their best, the WP were very very good, and are a team on the up.
The one thing I would worry about if I was a Province supporter, is the huge loss that Luke Watson is going to be. He appears to be the heart and soul of the Province team, and without him, they might struggle. It is a really bad time for them to lose de Villiers and Watson-just when province appear to be on the up again.
17 Oct 2009, 19:38 pm
#276 Porto:
I feel sorry for the Sharks, but can suggest a good therapist for you.
17 Oct 2009, 19:38 pm
JonnyMain. I agree. But Somewhere Province should have realized that by running the ball the game was theirs? They did great to claw back, why didn’t they put away their back three more often. And one thing is sure, my team needs to get working if they want any chance against the Cheetahs in the scrums
17 Oct 2009, 19:39 pm
another thing. I can’t help feeling we signed the wrong Bulls winger. Francois Hougaard is a future Bok and no mistake!
I will remember this game for that hit on Du Preez by Burger.
Pearler..
#298 jonnymain: Only one team tried to play rugby (that was Province) and only one team succeeded in playing rugby (the Bulls).
17 Oct 2009, 19:40 pm
Well done Bulls. It hurts as that game was for the taking for WP. But its a 80 min game and not a 78 min game.
When Paul Bosch knocked the ball on before the half time whistle on the Bulls line with 4 WP guys outside of him I thought…it that an eina that sinks us? He got such white line fever and prematurely shot his load.
Anyway…Bulls are a class team.
Also lekker for the Cheetahs. I’ll be going for them in the final.
Morne Steyn is a monster. Brilliant!
Loved Schalla’s tackle on FdP. Fourie saw stars for a few seconds.
Tacitus, thanks. Always enjoy your posts, even if I don’t always agree. This current Bulls side has clasd, but don’t forget that these Province youngsters are hungry!
#293 David: You are quite supercilious and presumptious. I suspect that you are a WP supporter?
17 Oct 2009, 19:42 pm
#299 skopskiet: I thought Duvenhage had a really poor game today. His box-kicking was erratic and his service was poor. His worst game for WP???
17 Oct 2009, 19:44 pm
#292 Tacitus: C’mon, how the heck can you say there was no malice in what Bakkies did to a helpless player on the ground, he landed with his body weight on Louw’s throat, if that’s what you call “leading with the elbow” then you are delusional!!
This just proves what a liberty taker Bakkies is, he’s a phucking bully!!
17 Oct 2009, 19:45 pm
#304 David: Wank wank wank wank wank
17 Oct 2009, 19:45 pm
Huge wake up call for the Bulls. Ludeke and french fries, kick some guts into these coneheads b4 the final please.
17 Oct 2009, 19:47 pm
#314 Porto: How long did it take to look up the word ‘supercilious’ in the dictionary?
17 Oct 2009, 19:49 pm
#303 WOLFMAN21: Great isn’t it?
17 Oct 2009, 19:49 pm
#293 David: Maybe Blueboy is more in need of a therapist? Or is that a veterinarian?
17 Oct 2009, 19:50 pm
#316 jonnymain: Didn’t you time it?
17 Oct 2009, 19:51 pm
#315 Senga: I really fancy the Bulls strongly for the final. 1 its at Loftus, 2 the Cheetahs celebrated today like they’d already won the thing and 3 the best team are already out
17 Oct 2009, 19:51 pm
#316 jonnymain: Gettitrightupyeyadiddy!
17 Oct 2009, 19:52 pm
#319 Porto: No, I’m not that pedantic
17 Oct 2009, 19:52 pm
WP played above themselves and defended very well – good contest.
The Bulls tried to play too loose and nearly payed the price.
Hope the Bulls play more structured in the final!!
17 Oct 2009, 19:53 pm
#321 Porto: Were you born in Glasgow?
17 Oct 2009, 19:54 pm
#323 Brink_015: Too loose? More structured? If the Bulls play any more “structured” they will only need to run out with 10 men in 2 weeks time
17 Oct 2009, 19:54 pm
#322 jonnymain: Never mind, at least now you know what it means
17 Oct 2009, 19:55 pm
#324 jonnymain: Greenock
17 Oct 2009, 19:57 pm
fok fok ek mag seker so een keer vloek op Keo.co.za , so amper wen ons die bokke !!!! maar nou ja , dis ‘n begin van herstel. Vlg jaar mag dit beter gaan , wie weet. GELUK BULLE en ChEETHAP’S
17 Oct 2009, 19:58 pm
#327 Porto: Same thing. Knew it!
17 Oct 2009, 19:59 pm
#312 jonnymain:
yes jonnymain in fact earlier this week I was saying this would have possibly been the one game I would have played January today. Grant also disappointed me because he kicked up n under’s far too much which is not his natural game. Every time we ran at them like that 10 minute spell before half time looked like we could take them on and cause major concerns. If we would have continued that and not hoofed it in the air second half once we got ahead I reckon the game was there for the taking.
I’m also one to be concerned with our buying pattern, we buying players on the wane like Fourie and Habana where we should be looking at players on the up that are hungry and eager, not guys who have not all that much to strive for any more.
That Hougaard is a class act. I’d not have spent a whole lot of money on Habana and Fourie if I were Rassie, someone like Mapoe or Hougard far better purchase at this stage of proceedings.
17 Oct 2009, 19:59 pm
#325 jonnymain: I think you need to watch the game again when you are over your anger with the Fidjian:-)
17 Oct 2009, 20:02 pm
#329 jonnymain: And you would only have picked that up if you were of similar lineage?
17 Oct 2009, 20:02 pm
#331 Brink_015: That will take a long time my friend! Beer might also have a bearing on my perception of how the game went
17 Oct 2009, 20:03 pm
#332 Porto: Naw pal, I’m fae Aberdeen so not similar in any way shape or form!
#314 Porto:
I wonder you can find it. It must be a lonely experience.
Well,I would like to drag up Skopskiet’s about WP winning comments before the game, but I can’t, because WP played a brilliant game. It was 50/50, and the Bulls were lucky enough to be leading when the final whistle blew. I don’t like Luke Watson, but he had a brilliant game and season as player and captain of WP, so well done to him. Sorry WP fans, but you can hold your heads high!
Well The right thing for the stormers is to make way for the Kings in the Super 14, CHOKERS …… HAHAHAHAHA……WEEPEE to play premiership league… CHOKERS… HAHAHAHA. LIONS FOR EVER!
17 Oct 2009, 20:04 pm
Slappes is still at newlands, heartbroken. WP u made me proud today, luke thanks you newlands legend. Thnks schalla for taking out fourie
WP for life! ps Go Cheetahs!
17 Oct 2009, 20:05 pm
#334 jonnymain: Naebody’s perfect! Good to meet a compatriot on here.
17 Oct 2009, 20:05 pm
the bull played really badly and still won, wp were lucky they were not in the same zone as when they played the chiefs – total class
17 Oct 2009, 20:06 pm
#330 skopskiet: Yes we have bought big names in Habana and hopefully Fourie. I didn’t even see Habana for 30 minutes today – he must be relishing the chance to actually touch the ball for a change next year!
17 Oct 2009, 20:06 pm
#335 David: That was funny, well done!
17 Oct 2009, 20:07 pm
#337 Wanderer: How did the Lions do today then?
17 Oct 2009, 20:08 pm
#339 Porto: Likewise
17 Oct 2009, 20:08 pm
#176 skopskiet:
RAAI WIE VOEL NOU SOOS N POEPHOL
17 Oct 2009, 20:09 pm
just home rom Newlands….gutted, bleeding, soul destroted….what a heart break….heart to describe…..
Just rugby asked me to please give a message to sharks famn….he said Sharks are not only wannabees, pretenders but now also chokers!!!!
Anyway, well done Bulls, Cheetahs…..
Wp …brave…and we are proud….Luke …you leave Newlands a legend…come home soon…..
17 Oct 2009, 20:12 pm
Grant im still in a box
17 Oct 2009, 20:12 pm
#346 grant10: How was the Jan Pickard today G10? Couldn’t hear the atmos in the pub but it looked special! Anyway, I’m outta here. Have a bottle of Chivas Regal in front of me and I need to drown sorrows!
17 Oct 2009, 20:13 pm
OH JMAN They did it last week get used to being in the semi only once in every 8 years…. hahaha, I heard enough from the arrogant province supporters about the Lions so take the loss and a number and shove it!
17 Oct 2009, 20:15 pm
#341 jonnymain: Yes, Habana must be ecstatic about touching the ball next year. Just a pity he won’t touch the silverware ever again.
17 Oct 2009, 20:16 pm
#349 Wanderer: When you can boast a team that can make the semis then come back to me. Otherwise keep it shut.
17 Oct 2009, 20:19 pm
Anyway, your little province had it’s final last weekend against WP. Congratulations on that.
17 Oct 2009, 20:22 pm
Well done to the Bulls fans. congrats boys.
To the decent Sharks fans, hard luck fella’s. I know how you feel.
To the arrogant Sharks fans (ie. Sharks Lover, Crouching Tiger) – suck it! Hope this teaches you a lesson in humility. And just in general suck eggs you stupid plonkers I hope you feel like absolute ****.
Sorry to the rest of you, but those f*ckers have been pricks to WP fans all week.
Oh and I picked the Cheetahs win all week, not going to deny it.
I’m upset with my WP boys, to have come so close after being so far behind. We should have won this. Oh well, well done Bulls. Was a fantastic game. The true rivalry of SA rugby.
Send Naqelevuki on a one way ticket back to Fiji PLEASE! That lazy, high tackle was so painful to watch, and SO typical of him.
17 Oct 2009, 20:25 pm
Teacher to class
‘What does your dad do at weekends?’
Little Johnny’He’s a dancer in a *** bar and sometimes if the
money’s right, he lets punters bang him’.
Teacher pulls him to one side and says ‘Johnny, is that true?’
‘No Miss, he goes to watch WP but
I’m too embarrassed to say that’.
17 Oct 2009, 20:27 pm
If this game was on Loftus and the Bulls started with 15 men vs 14 it would have been a slaughter.
Sorry skopskoot and others, you were brave (that says it all doesn’t it) but the inferior team.
Stop blaming the ref (penalty count was almost even)…and should refs not penalize high tackles anymore?
WP have very promising youngsters but comments like those from Skopskoot during and after the game reminds me why I can never support WP.
17 Oct 2009, 20:28 pm
#280 skopskiet: Cheetahs won the last game against WP, wouldn’t have been a banker by any means, just as it isn’t for the Bulls in the final although you’d have to favour them.
17 Oct 2009, 20:28 pm
Porto
Dont be jealous now…
17 Oct 2009, 20:31 pm
#357 WP_:
17 Oct 2009, 20:34 pm
Tough luck, WP. Maybe if you save your money (instead of wasting it on players past their prime) you may one day be able to buy yourselves a Currie Cup.
And our Springbok front row yet again got demolished by the Free State no-names. Smit and Beast, jul twee haaie is goed verneder vandag.
Lionel Mapoe, you are a star in the making.
17 Oct 2009, 20:37 pm
If the GREEDY Sharks administrators did not set their ticket prices so high they could have filled the stadium today. But no,
it’s a take it or leave one price fits all. My family would have loved to be there today to shout our support, but the ticket prices were far to high. I hope the Sharks management will WAKE UP next season and have a decent ticket pricing system. We need prices to cater for all income groups. Sitting behind the poles costs the same as sitting on the half way line! You will never fill the stadium with exhorbitant ticket prices. YOU ARE JUST TOO GREEDY !!
17 Oct 2009, 20:39 pm
Mapoe is class if Rassie knew wtf he was doing he would have bought Mapoe and not Fourie or Habana.
17 Oct 2009, 20:40 pm
#360 Steve4p: I agree, they are simply exploiting a loyal fan base.
17 Oct 2009, 20:43 pm
#363 skopskiet: those two aren’t bad options either to be fair
17 Oct 2009, 20:44 pm
#360 Steve4p: Not sure what you talking about. R130 that is not a lot of money. Well to me it is cheap.
Also they let in the first 1000 kids free. You should have gone at that price.
Agree if you are sitting on the try line or behind the poles maybe those tickets should have been cheaper.
Mostly season ticket holders have the best seats. So really if you want to go and support the team get a season ticket. Then you know where your seat is for the year.
#361 skopskiet: Fourie and Habana are box-office players bought for the S14. We should have gone for Francois Hougaard, he’s the future!
Shocking to hear about the Sharks admin – I wondered why Kings Park was half-empty. Disgraceful.
How much were the Sharks tickets for today boys?
17 Oct 2009, 20:45 pm
Slappes is still heartbroken.
17 Oct 2009, 20:46 pm
#360 Steve4p: There was also rain forecast for the game. A lot of the season ticket holders just don’t go when there is rain forecast. As you know there in Durbs when it rains it just comes down for the whole game. Not like a thunderstorm up in the highveld that comes on for 20 min then gone again.
I for one wont go if there is rain. Will get a season ticket for next year though.
17 Oct 2009, 20:48 pm
#365 jonnymain: Tickets went for R130 Do you think that is expensive? Damn I think its cheap really.
17 Oct 2009, 20:50 pm
#360 Steve4p: I paid R1450 to see the Lions/Boks at the tank and sat right on the try line.
Every cent was worth it.
Compare that to R130 So that is where I am coming from. R130 is very cheap.
17 Oct 2009, 20:51 pm
#370 Puma: Sorry paid R1140 for the Lions ticket to the Tank.
17 Oct 2009, 20:53 pm
248. skopskiet
WP lost and their best was not good enough.The Bulls did
not fire on all cylinders as was the case with the Boks
in the Sharks team they looked a bit jaded.
The Lions tour and Tri-nations may well be taking its toll.
I am the Bulls will put in a better performance in 2-weeks
time.
17 Oct 2009, 20:58 pm
And, to all those who abused Keo for his predictions, an apology would be in order…
17 Oct 2009, 21:00 pm
Ek’s ook hartseer maar die ouens het goed gespeel met volle harte amper gewen maar amper is glad nie a sigar nie.
Bulle het amper gechoke nes die Guppies, maar dit was daai dom skoppery wat ons hekos het op dioe ou end, toe ons teen hulle gehardloop was hulle heeltemaal op die agter voet, dis hoe ons terug in die game gekom vanaf 12-0 af tot op 19-18 voor. Dit was daai doos denkende skoppery op die ou end wat die donnerse game ons verloor het. Net n bietjie composure om bal in hand te hou en Bulle sou huis toe gery sonder niks.
Amper maar net nie genoeg, die laaste 3 minute skoppery het die ding oor gegee. Misluk.
17 Oct 2009, 21:05 pm
Slappes is warming up to the cheetahs!
but tonight I remain heartbroken. Have never seen Newlands like it was today.
17 Oct 2009, 21:11 pm
Great game Slappes, you still in the stadium?
Close, damn close but no cigar, very close, and too close for comfort for FdP, and V. Matfield and his cronies. Just the way it goes, Luke did well to galvanize this team from nowhere to an almost final, let the others say what they will, in another time in another country the dude would have been a hero, here he’s a victim of ideological circumstance.
17 Oct 2009, 21:11 pm
#369 Puma: That is cheap Puma – apologies to the Sharks for presuming they were profiteering. R130 is nothing, I’d actually say it was very good value for a semi final. Your point about rain is valid, although that just marks Durbanites down as softies
17 Oct 2009, 21:15 pm
#377 jonnymain: Yip, Big softies…hahaha. We don’t like the rain here but get a lot this time of the year.
Think it was the rain that was forecast that kept supporters away. Not so much the ticket prices.
17 Oct 2009, 21:20 pm
Cheers jonnymain.
Out of here now.
17 Oct 2009, 21:27 pm
#379 Puma: Cheers man
17 Oct 2009, 22:31 pm
#346 grant10:
hi speedoman,
maybe your mate should stop worrying about sharks wannabees, neverhasbeens and chokers…..
and start wondering when weepee gonna win anything!!!!
17 Oct 2009, 22:33 pm
maybe this will be a fairytale season for vrystaat.
written off as no hopers at the start of the season and now in the final.
the two most hyped teams failed today – go cheetahs
17 Oct 2009, 22:45 pm
And it’s good night nurse once again to all Problems fans… Eiiiissssshhhhhh ANOTHER season without any silverware, but only idiots like skopskiet a.k.a ‘kopskoot bakkiebouer’ could’ve expected more… Well done to the Cheetahs and the Bulls!
17 Oct 2009, 23:04 pm
#348 grant10: Sharks are current champions, hardly evidence of choking
Anyway grant hard luck to your boys. Luke has a job and a half at Bath the way they’re playing at the moment.
18 Oct 2009, 02:41 am
Congratulations to the bovine fans but you have to feel a great era is in its twilight years to be pushed so far by youngsters! Worrying for the boks is both our potential twelves were nt that great today Wynand couldnt get the bulls backs moving and the less said about Adi the better.
Can somebody explain to me what a scrum half gains in terms of development by being played on the wing?
18 Oct 2009, 02:49 am
Players who stood up to be counted for springbok colours today mapoe (pure class but should spend some time in the gym) de jongh what a player really is the next big before thing also needs time in the gym,both wp and free state front rows were immense
Today johnson was good as well
18 Oct 2009, 02:53 am
Why cant Peter Grant kick further than thirty metres!
18 Oct 2009, 05:47 am
#387 k.camron:
It’s in his contract.
18 Oct 2009, 08:28 am
The Incredible Schalk!
youtube.com/watch?v=39hmHKvCJkY
18 Oct 2009, 08:39 am
#389 Big Hit: Big Hit
Did you get to see any of CJ or Bj yesterday….if so…your report card please.
18 Oct 2009, 08:42 am
#393 grant10: yes CJ came on, and immediately scored, well he thought he had, called back for a forward pass
he looks in good nick. Keep an eye out for the Leinster games, and you should see more. It’ll probably take him a while to get his match fitness up.
18 Oct 2009, 08:54 am
#391 Big Hit: great…thanks
18 Oct 2009, 11:01 am
Only 1 try scored – and yet the most enjoyable game of rugby I have seen all year!
18 Oct 2009, 11:26 am
We had ou chances to close out the game and decision making (not passing with major overlaps on outside) cost us the game. I don’t want to blame Lawrence but hell Wicus Blaauw got penalised for shoving Kruger up his arse only to be penalised, ditto also for putting his hand on the ground. Gurthro did the same and nothing.
Luke is a great captain that SA will miss post JS. The way he rallied the troups at 12-0 says alot about him. Why is SA so obsessed with playing rugby without the ball. We just needed to keep hold of the ball for 3 minutes. Herein lies the message for the bigger picture towards 2011. Yesterday’s game also perhaps gave an indication that come 2011 alot of the Bulls’ stalwarts in the Bok setup will most probably be past their best. I fear PDV will hold on to these players too long and that will cost us the 2011 crown. Spies had a great game for the Bulls but he must now learn to create for opportunity for those around him. Morne showed why he is indispensable to our cause for 2011 with the boot. Duane Vermeulen and de Jongh must get callups for the EOYT. Generally the main Bok squad must be invigorated with some young guns.
Bring Watson back to captain Boks for 2011 cos JS won’t make it that far. No other captain stands out.
18 Oct 2009, 14:12 pm
Can someone please arrange either a “HIT” or a one-way ticket for that useless, lazy. idiot of a Fijian! All he does is cost WP games, nothing else. The game at Loftus & again today stand out like sore thumbs.
Also, why Januarie never mad an entrance at half time only the coach knows. Duvenhage was out of his league & sould have been replaced at half time. The end of the game where he jumped into Steyn’s arms (was suppose to be a tackle of sorts) summed it up best…..a boy playing against men.
Anyways….well done Province for a good season….don’t know how many seasons it will take WP to get this close again.
18 Oct 2009, 18:39 pm
Congratulations to the Blue Bulls and Morne “make them pay” Steyn.
18 Oct 2009, 23:04 pm
#386 k.camron:
de jongh wont get bigger in the gym. he’s already bulging out of his frame. in time as he ages he’ll get a bit bigger but not much. can’t believe how mapoe runs through okes as if he’s hiding an extra 20kg somewhere!
18 Oct 2009, 23:15 pm
#394 Shakes:
watson bok captain? never!!!!!
18 Oct 2009, 23:35 pm
If you have Schalk available and you don’t play him, you SHOULD lose, because your a moron…
19 Oct 2009, 00:07 am
#402 SexyTime: tend to agree, not playing a big game player like Schalk in a knockout game like that was an error.
19 Oct 2009, 12:28 pm
watson to captain boks ?
if you look at the huddles, vermeulen or bekker or burger were doing all the talking, while watson was still and silent. and would you like him to captain boks ? he’s not even a good eightman !