Steyn sinks gutsy WP

A 78th minute penalty by Morne Steyn secured the Bulls a 21-19 victory over WP as well as a home final.

The shot was from more than 50m out near the right-hand touchline, possibly the most difficult kick for a right-footed player. But the Springbok flyhalf, who bagged all of the Bulls’ 21 points, struck it as true as the penalty that clinched the British & Irish Lions series earlier this year.

The earlier defeats for the WP U19 and U21 teams were overshadowed by the Cheetahs’ victory in Durban. The upset meant a win over the Bulls would see Province hosting the Currie Cup final for the first time since 2001.

The significance of the Kings Park result wasn’t lost on the Newlands faithful as they cheered the stadium big screen. By kick off, there was a fair amount of powder blue amongst the crowd, but the blue and white hoops were in the majority, a fact that was confirmed through their collective clamour.

The home side received another boost when Bulls lock Bakkies Botha was sent to the sin bin in the first minute for foul play. Everything seemed to be in WP’s favour, but in a nervy opening quarter they only succeeded in spurning every advantage.

First Joe Pietersen missed the ensuing penalty kick for touch, the first of several poor kicks by Province. The Bulls were typically dominant in this respect, and at times, Steyn seemed to have the ball on a string. He goaled four penalties in the first half without much fuss, but his tactical kicking put the visitors into some promising positions.

The Bulls’ defence placed WP under massive pressure, forcing the home side into errors and transgressions at the breakdown. The Province scrum also failed to dominate, but fortunately the Bulls lineout blew hot and cold – Victor Matfield stealing several WP feeds but Derick Kuun’s wayward throwing handing them back possession.

The Bulls scored six points in Botha’s absence and seemed to grow in confidence as the half progressed. The WP defence weren’t having it, however, and some determined tackling on their own line and timely steals on the ground robbed the Bulls of two try-scoring opportunities.

The WP backline battled to gel with flyhalf Peter Grant and inside centre Paul Bosch failing as a combination. After a superb build-up in the dying seconds where the WP forwards hammered the Bulls back, Bosch tried to step his man instead of using the overlap. Pietersen did goal the subsequent penalty, but that seven points would have seen the hosts trailing by a mere 12-10 at the break.

WP withstood a mass onslaught early in the second period, but their gallantry was aided by the Bulls’ lack of precision. The Pretoria side were far from accurate at ruck time, and although they enjoyed territorial dominance up to this point, the secondary kickers handed WP too many easy marks.

The hosts took heart from this showing, and the next time they were in the Bulls’ half, they walked away with the points. Hooker Tiaan Liebenberg, who had broken tackles all evening, gave them the initial go-forward before the Bulls conceded a penalty that Pietersen duly slotted.

A lineout win by replacement Schalk Burger in the 58th minute set the platform for a wide strike, Frikkie Welsh kicking ahead before being smashed by the cover defence. The Bulls chased the rolling ball but the diminutive form of Gio Aplon beat everyone to score a momentum-shifting try. Pietersen kicked a fantastic conversion, and with 20 minutes to play, WP had the lead.

Steyn kicked another penalty to edge the Bulls in front, and the visitors looked to open it up when in possession. Fourie du Preez received an untimely pass before being absolutely obliterated by Burger, a hit that brought the 48 000-strong crowd to its feet. The Springbok flanker received a series of backslaps and high fives before raising his arms to the spectators as if to say, ‘This game is ours’.

The belief translated into momentum and with 13 minutes remaining, Pietersen sank an important penalty. Steyn attempted a drop-goal moments later that went horribly wide, and it appeared WP would finish this game as they started – with good fortune.

Pulses raced and the crowds cheers turned to shrieks as the the drama intensified. You got the sense that if this game was at Loftus Versfeld, the locals would’ve been willing their side to victory just as the Capetonians were lending their team radical support.

The deciding moment arrived when replacement winger Sireli Naqelevuki was penalised for a coat-hanger of a tackle. Steyn pointed to the posts and the noise dissipated. Those that had sensed a upset WP victory now sensed a less favourable yet predictable result with Steyn lining up the kick.

The win means the Bulls will host the Cheetahs in the 31 October final. Free State did well to beat the Sharks in Durban, but should be no match for this star-studded Bulls outfit.

By Jon Cardinelli

401 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#349 Wanderer: When you can boast a team that can make the semis then come back to me. Otherwise keep it shut.

• 352.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Anyway, your little province had it’s final last weekend against WP. Congratulations on that.

• 353.WP_: Reply to this comment

Well done to the Bulls fans. congrats boys.

To the decent Sharks fans, hard luck fella’s. I know how you feel.

To the arrogant Sharks fans (ie. Sharks Lover, Crouching Tiger) – suck it! Hope this teaches you a lesson in humility. And just in general suck eggs you stupid plonkers I hope you feel like absolute ****.

Sorry to the rest of you, but those f*ckers have been pricks to WP fans all week. :lol:

Oh and I picked the Cheetahs win all week, not going to deny it. :grin:

I’m upset with my WP boys, to have come so close after being so far behind. We should have won this. Oh well, well done Bulls. Was a fantastic game. The true rivalry of SA rugby.

Send Naqelevuki on a one way ticket back to Fiji PLEASE! That lazy, high tackle was so painful to watch, and SO typical of him.

• 354.Porto: Reply to this comment

Teacher to class
    ‘What does your dad do at weekends?’
    Little Johnny’He’s a dancer in a *** bar and sometimes if the
    money’s right, he lets punters bang him’.
    Teacher pulls him to one side and says ‘Johnny, is that true?’
    ‘No Miss, he goes to watch WP but
    I’m too embarrassed to say that’.

• 355.The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Reply to this comment

If this game was on Loftus and the Bulls started with 15 men vs 14 it would have been a slaughter.
    Sorry skopskoot and others, you were brave (that says it all doesn’t it) but the inferior team.
    Stop blaming the ref (penalty count was almost even)…and should refs not penalize high tackles anymore?

WP have very promising youngsters but comments like those from Skopskoot during and after the game reminds me why I can never support WP.

• 356.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#280 skopskiet: Cheetahs won the last game against WP, wouldn’t have been a banker by any means, just as it isn’t for the Bulls in the final although you’d have to favour them.

• 357.WP_: Reply to this comment

Porto

Dont be jealous now… :grin:

• 358.Porto: Reply to this comment

#357 WP_: :lol:

• 359.kwas: Reply to this comment

Tough luck, WP. Maybe if you save your money (instead of wasting it on players past their prime) you may one day be able to buy yourselves a Currie Cup.

And our Springbok front row yet again got demolished by the Free State no-names. Smit and Beast, jul twee haaie is goed verneder vandag.

Lionel Mapoe, you are a star in the making.

• 360.Steve4p: Reply to this comment

If the GREEDY Sharks administrators did not set their ticket prices so high they could have filled the stadium today. But no,
    it’s a take it or leave one price fits all. My family would have loved to be there today to shout our support, but the ticket prices were far to high. I hope the Sharks management will WAKE UP next season and have a decent ticket pricing system. We need prices to cater for all income groups. Sitting behind the poles costs the same as sitting on the half way line! You will never fill the stadium with exhorbitant ticket prices. YOU ARE JUST TOO GREEDY !!

• 361.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Mapoe is class if Rassie knew wtf he was doing he would have bought Mapoe and not Fourie or Habana.

• 362.Porto: Reply to this comment

#360 Steve4p: I agree, they are simply exploiting a loyal fan base.

• 363.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#363 skopskiet: those two aren’t bad options either to be fair

• 364.Puma: Reply to this comment

#360 Steve4p: Not sure what you talking about. R130 that is not a lot of money. Well to me it is cheap.

Also they let in the first 1000 kids free. You should have gone at that price.

Agree if you are sitting on the try line or behind the poles maybe those tickets should have been cheaper.

Mostly season ticket holders have the best seats. So really if you want to go and support the team get a season ticket. Then you know where your seat is for the year.

• 365.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#361 skopskiet: Fourie and Habana are box-office players bought for the S14. We should have gone for Francois Hougaard, he’s the future!

Shocking to hear about the Sharks admin – I wondered why Kings Park was half-empty. Disgraceful.

• 366.WP_: Reply to this comment

How much were the Sharks tickets for today boys?

• 367.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Slappes is still heartbroken.

• 368.Puma: Reply to this comment

#360 Steve4p: There was also rain forecast for the game. A lot of the season ticket holders just don’t go when there is rain forecast. As you know there in Durbs when it rains it just comes down for the whole game. Not like a thunderstorm up in the highveld that comes on for 20 min then gone again.

I for one wont go if there is rain. Will get a season ticket for next year though.

• 369.Puma: Reply to this comment

#365 jonnymain: Tickets went for R130 Do you think that is expensive? Damn I think its cheap really.

• 370.Puma: Reply to this comment

#360 Steve4p: I paid R1450 to see the Lions/Boks at the tank and sat right on the try line.

Every cent was worth it.

Compare that to R130 So that is where I am coming from. R130 is very cheap.

• 371.Puma: Reply to this comment

#370 Puma: Sorry paid R1140 for the Lions ticket to the Tank.

• 372.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

248. skopskiet
    WP lost and their best was not good enough.The Bulls did
    not fire on all cylinders as was the case with the Boks
    in the Sharks team they looked a bit jaded.
    The Lions tour and Tri-nations may well be taking its toll.
    I am the Bulls will put in a better performance in 2-weeks
    time.

• 373.Croc: Reply to this comment

And, to all those who abused Keo for his predictions, an apology would be in order…

• 374.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ek’s ook hartseer maar die ouens het goed gespeel met volle harte amper gewen maar amper is glad nie a sigar nie.

Bulle het amper gechoke nes die Guppies, maar dit was daai dom skoppery wat ons hekos het op dioe ou end, toe ons teen hulle gehardloop was hulle heeltemaal op die agter voet, dis hoe ons terug in die game gekom vanaf 12-0 af tot op 19-18 voor. Dit was daai doos denkende skoppery op die ou end wat die donnerse game ons verloor het. Net n bietjie composure om bal in hand te hou en Bulle sou huis toe gery sonder niks.

Amper maar net nie genoeg, die laaste 3 minute skoppery het die ding oor gegee. Misluk.

• 375.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Slappes is warming up to the cheetahs! :-) but tonight I remain heartbroken. Have never seen Newlands like it was today.

• 376.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Great game Slappes, you still in the stadium?

Close, damn close but no cigar, very close, and too close for comfort for FdP, and V. Matfield and his cronies. Just the way it goes, Luke did well to galvanize this team from nowhere to an almost final, let the others say what they will, in another time in another country the dude would have been a hero, here he’s a victim of ideological circumstance.

• 377.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#369 Puma: That is cheap Puma – apologies to the Sharks for presuming they were profiteering. R130 is nothing, I’d actually say it was very good value for a semi final. Your point about rain is valid, although that just marks Durbanites down as softies :-)

• 378.Puma: Reply to this comment

#377 jonnymain: Yip, Big softies…hahaha. We don’t like the rain here but get a lot this time of the year.

Think it was the rain that was forecast that kept supporters away. Not so much the ticket prices.

• 379.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers jonnymain.

Out of here now.

• 380.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#379 Puma: Cheers man

• 381.charo: Reply to this comment

#346 grant10:

hi speedoman,

maybe your mate should stop worrying about sharks wannabees, neverhasbeens and chokers…..
    and start wondering when weepee gonna win anything!!!!

• 382.charo: Reply to this comment

maybe this will be a fairytale season for vrystaat.
    written off as no hopers at the start of the season and now in the final.
    the two most hyped teams failed today – go cheetahs

• 383.panniepeet: Reply to this comment

And it’s good night nurse once again to all Problems fans… Eiiiissssshhhhhh ANOTHER season without any silverware, but only idiots like skopskiet a.k.a ‘kopskoot bakkiebouer’ could’ve expected more… Well done to the Cheetahs and the Bulls!

• 384.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#348 grant10: Sharks are current champions, hardly evidence of choking :)

Anyway grant hard luck to your boys. Luke has a job and a half at Bath the way they’re playing at the moment.

• 385.k.camron: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the bovine fans but you have to feel a great era is in its twilight years to be pushed so far by youngsters! Worrying for the boks is both our potential twelves were nt that great today Wynand couldnt get the bulls backs moving and the less said about Adi the better.
    Can somebody explain to me what a scrum half gains in terms of development by being played on the wing?

• 386.k.camron: Reply to this comment

Players who stood up to be counted for springbok colours today mapoe (pure class but should spend some time in the gym) de jongh what a player really is the next big before thing also needs time in the gym,both wp and free state front rows were immense
    Today johnson was good as well

• 387.k.camron: Reply to this comment

Why cant Peter Grant kick further than thirty metres!

• 388.David: Reply to this comment

#387 k.camron:
    It’s in his contract.

• 389.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

The Incredible Schalk!

youtube.com/watch?v=39hmHKvCJkY

• 390.grant10: Reply to this comment

#389 Big Hit: Big Hit

Did you get to see any of CJ or Bj yesterday….if so…your report card please.

• 391.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#393 grant10: yes CJ came on, and immediately scored, well he thought he had, called back for a forward pass :) he looks in good nick. Keep an eye out for the Leinster games, and you should see more. It’ll probably take him a while to get his match fitness up.

• 392.grant10: Reply to this comment

#391 Big Hit: great…thanks

• 393.jaimie: Reply to this comment

Only 1 try scored – and yet the most enjoyable game of rugby I have seen all year!

• 394.Shakes: Reply to this comment

We had ou chances to close out the game and decision making (not passing with major overlaps on outside) cost us the game. I don’t want to blame Lawrence but hell Wicus Blaauw got penalised for shoving Kruger up his arse only to be penalised, ditto also for putting his hand on the ground. Gurthro did the same and nothing.
    Luke is a great captain that SA will miss post JS. The way he rallied the troups at 12-0 says alot about him. Why is SA so obsessed with playing rugby without the ball. We just needed to keep hold of the ball for 3 minutes. Herein lies the message for the bigger picture towards 2011. Yesterday’s game also perhaps gave an indication that come 2011 alot of the Bulls’ stalwarts in the Bok setup will most probably be past their best. I fear PDV will hold on to these players too long and that will cost us the 2011 crown. Spies had a great game for the Bulls but he must now learn to create for opportunity for those around him. Morne showed why he is indispensable to our cause for 2011 with the boot. Duane Vermeulen and de Jongh must get callups for the EOYT. Generally the main Bok squad must be invigorated with some young guns.
    Bring Watson back to captain Boks for 2011 cos JS won’t make it that far. No other captain stands out.

• 395.Jeffers: Reply to this comment

Can someone please arrange either a “HIT” or a one-way ticket for that useless, lazy. idiot of a Fijian! All he does is cost WP games, nothing else. The game at Loftus & again today stand out like sore thumbs.

Also, why Januarie never mad an entrance at half time only the coach knows. Duvenhage was out of his league & sould have been replaced at half time. The end of the game where he jumped into Steyn’s arms (was suppose to be a tackle of sorts) summed it up best…..a boy playing against men.

Anyways….well done Province for a good season….don’t know how many seasons it will take WP to get this close again.

• 396.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the Blue Bulls and Morne “make them pay” Steyn.

• 397.iamyourfather: Reply to this comment

#386 k.camron:
    de jongh wont get bigger in the gym. he’s already bulging out of his frame. in time as he ages he’ll get a bit bigger but not much. can’t believe how mapoe runs through okes as if he’s hiding an extra 20kg somewhere!

• 398.iamyourfather: Reply to this comment

#394 Shakes:
    watson bok captain? never!!!!!

• 399.SexyTime: Reply to this comment

If you have Schalk available and you don’t play him, you SHOULD lose, because your a moron…

• 400.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#402 SexyTime: tend to agree, not playing a big game player like Schalk in a knockout game like that was an error.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.