Pleasing the politicians

Colour remains an issue when it comes to national rugby team selections, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.

In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine Springbok coach Peter de Villiers defends his stance towards transformation. De Villiers says he will not play a numbers game because it will do players more harm than good.

De Villiers, in defending why he only picked two non-white wingers and a Zimbabwean-born prop in his Springbok team that won the Tri-Nations, argues his team has been transformed because the colour of a player’s skin does not matter any more.

If you believe merit selection is the only way, it gets even better because De Villiers tells his critics, among them the Transformation Committee, to get lost, asking what contribution have they made.

But it is one thing to talk a good game and quite another to play it, and the playing of this transformation game will come with the Springbok squad selection for the five-match tour of Europe.

De Villiers will take 37 players for the three-Tests and two midweek matches, but already indications are that despite his bullish stance on only seeing players and not colour, the colour of a player’s skin will indeed dictate certain selections.

De Villiers will take three hookers and three scrumhalves, yet two players who have been bits and pieces selections in this year’s Currie Cup are certainties to tour. Chiliboy Ralepelle, at hooker, and Ricky Januarie, at scrumhalf, will be selected, despite not being the premier provincial selections in their respective positions.

De Villiers could argue that if he was selecting those provincial sides he would be picking them and that is why he is doing it now, but in the case of hookers the whispers are that not only will he select Ralepelle, but the Bulls’ third choice hooker Bandise Maku is also going to make the trip.

Where does this leave the Bulls’ first choice hooker Derick Kuun or the very impressive Western Province hooker Tiaan Liebenberg? Would the selection of Maku ahead of either send out the wrong message that Springbok touring squads are still a black numbers game, designed to bluff the public and appease the politicians.

When picking a squad of 37 there is always room for calling a black player bluff, as we’ve seen so many times in the past. You only have to ask what happened to Solly Tyibilika, Hilton Lobberts, Kabamba Floors and Hanyani Shimange’s Test careers. And let’s not even go further back to other players who are victims of black player politicking.

This tour should be about winning Tests and developing the next tier of player that can go beyond the 2011 World Cup. It should also be a tour that defines there has been a shift towards merit selection at a Bok level.

I doubt it will be, though, and another selection that will ask more questions than it gives answers is if De Villiers picks Earl Rose ahead of Western Province’s Joe Pietersen or the Sharks’ Stefan Terblanche, with the latter two being the best fullbacks in the Currie Cup.

Rose has been poor all season and while De Villiers has invested in him at a national level for the last year, he still has not picked Rose to play in a Test match. Currently there are players more deserving of wearing green and gold.

Juan de Jongh, the outstanding Western Province midfielder, is a tour prospect, but he is a player very much in the mould of Adi Jacobs and selecting both is a luxury. In an ideal sporting world, it should be one or the other, but as we know South African rugby is never ideal and it certainly is not a sporting world.

Politics will sadly play a part with the Bok squad selection and despite what De Villiers may publicly say colour is an issue when it comes to national rugby team selections. It is sad because there are so many good players deserving of selection, simply because they are good players.

There are fine black and coloured players in this country, with many of them the best in their positions. Pick those players because they deserve to be there.

The midweek Bok side would on merit include several black and coloured players. The Test side, on merit, totals less than a handful. That is the reality and when De Villiers picked two non-white wingers and a Zimbabwean prop he was picking the best available black talent.

He needs to remain true to this view, however unpopular it is in the Portfolio Committee, because it only needs one obvious non-merit selection to undermine every black merit selection.

Saturday’s squad selection could be monumental for who isn’t picked, but something tells me it will be all too familiar and all too political.

554 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 1.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Transformation Dragons!

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

when is just being a Saffa going to be enough…..in the great words of Justrugby…..

• 3.Borderboy: Reply to this comment

They are going to destroy Chilli and Bandise’s careers. These okes have what it takes they just need time and exposure at this critical level.

• 4.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I must say I like the fact that Saffas spell ‘colour’ in the normal way and not the bastardised yank version ‘color’

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

how many non-merit selections does it take to nullify every white selection keo?

• 6.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

I hope not we going to lose some of our youngsters that’s been standing out this season. We have so much tallent and we have to keep these guys in south africa. Hope all the 37 players who’s going on tour will get game time.

• 7.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

This is an average article.

Chiliboy will be in the mix if he is not injured we all know that by now. He is a young talent that is being developed. Therefore I dont understand why Bandise Maku’s name is mentioned. Come on Pieter De Villiers’s selections and results have been good enough, Haven’t they ? Give the oke a break. Look at how well Brussouw and Steyn have done this year.

Its the IDEAL oppurtunity to blood a few new players.
    And as much as a I dont like Earl Rose , he might feature. But hey ,we won a F*cking world cup with Ashwin Willemse in the squad. I know Earl wont feature in the tests , so im not really too fazed.

• 8.cab: Reply to this comment

lol, keo you have almost completely changed your tune, a few years ago it was all transformation. I think the coach is doing fine, he is picking the best, but also identifying potential talent to go thru.

Maku over Liebenberg and Rose over Pietersen would be a bit crazy tho.

• 9.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Isma-eel Dollie and Morgan Newman have been selected for training squads. But neither ever played for the Boks.

Catch my drift.

Keo’s paranoid…

• 10.WP_: Reply to this comment

How sad.

Hopefully PdV picks a good squad which deserves to be there.

If he picks Maku it will be a joke, same with Ricky.

Adi’s form this year, especially in the latter stages of the CC doesnt warrant a place in the squad imo. I’d take de Jongh instead.

• 11.Julius: Reply to this comment

Bok team for the 2011 WC :

Beast
    Chilliboy (cpt)
    Guthro
    Matfield
    Lobberts
    N Blignaut
    Brussouw/Burger
    Ashley Johnston
    Fourie/Heini
    Francis
    de Jongh
    Adi
    Habana
    JPP
    Jantjies

unbeatable

• 12.charo: Reply to this comment

1000 hits coming

• 13.Julius: Reply to this comment

Reserves :

John Smit
    Bismarck
    Spies
    Morne Steyn
    J Fourie
    Earl Rose

• 14.toughnrumble: Reply to this comment

We are now 15 years into the New South Africa, and yet there is still this completely misguided school of thought from politically connected groups that transformation in sports occurs at national team level. How ridiculous! These politicians should take a trip to a school like Grey College and watch the under 13s being trained. They should then go and look at the U14s, 15s, etc, and finally the first team. Here they will see the foundations being laid for a young player to develop into a professional rugby player. They should then go and put structures in place either to duplicate this kind of environment for hundred of the most talented black players, or they should find talented black youngsters and assist them to attend the strong rugby schools where they will be developed.

Most of our best black rugby players have already come through these channels, so the message is clear; expose more talented young black players to world class coaching and development when they are in their early teens, and you’ll find a good percentage of them making their way as professionals a few years later.

Bottom line – there is virtually nothing De Villiers or any other Springbok coach can do to develop genuine, merit Springboks. This needs to be done far earlier. A ‘quota’, however unofficial, on a Springbok team is political plastering over deficiencies in true development, and has nothing to do with real transformation.

• 15.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

#11 Julius: i dont do small talk. Ur a silly P*es. its that simple.

• 16.cab: Reply to this comment

#14 toughnrumble:
    good post, the national side should be the best, but surely the coach is allowed to take along 1 or 2 players he feels has potential. always worked like that, even outside SA.

• 17.Julius: Reply to this comment

Ismael Eal Tollie = k@kkest flyhalf ever to play CC rugby

• 18.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Dollie het n klein tollie. What you talking about man this oke is the new lomu

• 19.katman: Reply to this comment

De Jongh is a better prospect than Jacobs, in the humble opinion of the katman, as he tackles like a pitbull, whereas Jacobs does little more than get in the way. Also, Div has to take Lionel Mapoe along and give him some game time. This won’t be making up the political numbers -it will be recognising a real rising star. Not convinced about Chilli or Maku though.

• 20.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Look I will be happy with De Villiers if he selects in people he believes in. That is what any coach will do.

Some however will read whatever they want into it.

And because we sit in SA, it will come down to race more often than not.

I believe De Villiers to be an honest oke however. So if he picks Rose it will be for the exact same reason Jorrie Muller and Gus Theron was picked in the past.

I would hate it, but accept it.

• 21.Jozi: Reply to this comment

They ought to give us a smiley for a big yawn.
    #12 charo: Naaah the bloggers who were catalysts for that are gone.

• 22.toughnrumble: Reply to this comment

#16 cab: Absolutely. Excellent young players (of any colour) who may not be quite there yet as far as test rugby is concerned, but have the goods to get there soon, should be involved in the mid-week games. In my opinion, this should include players like Juan de Jongh, Lwazi Mvovo, Lionel Mapoe, Ashley Johnson as well as guys like WP Nel, Jean Deysel and Dewald Potgieter.

All of these guys are talented, young and have already broken through into the starting line-ups of their provincial unions. Some of them are already putting pressure on incumbent Springboks, whilst others are going to be doing so in the next year. My point is there’s a big difference between guys like these, and guys like Earl Rose and Bandise Maku who have never yet been established first-choice provincial players. Or a guy like Ricky Januarie, who is hardly a development prospect at this stage in his career, and is 2nd choice at WP (and probably behind at least 5 players in the country in his position right now). Picking these guys is purely making up the numbers and does no real good.

• 23.stephen: Reply to this comment

Colour remains an issue when it comes to : Keo trying to lure hits to his website.

• 24.cab: Reply to this comment

#22 toughnrumble:
    yes i think those 7 players you specifically pick out are merit selections, with mvovo a bit more risky.

Januarie is a tough one, even WP prefer to select the other scrummies because his service is not firstrate, yet he brings other things to the role and scored that magnificent try in new zealand. i like ricky’s pluckiness, but agree there are far better scrumhalves in SA at present imo.

• 25.Borderboy: Reply to this comment

#23 stephen: HAHAHA, I like

• 26.Sonito: Reply to this comment

YAWN!!!

• 27.klippies101: Reply to this comment

i feel sorry for derrick kuun as he deserves to be a bok
    but i think chilli boy is as kak as u can get and shouldnt be anywhere near a bok jersey

i would like to see Kabamba Floors back in the boks he was really good a few years back and ricky is still a great player
    just out of form dont give up on him just yet
    would be crazy to leave out Stefan Terblanche also

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

#23 stephen:

Keo.Dot.Co………SA Rugby Magazine……..Business Day………

The lines Journalistic Overlapping are becomeing clouded to a Antipidean No Brainer like me.

Sell, sell, sell……..

• 29.Sonito: Reply to this comment

#27 klippies101:

Glad you not selecting the squad.

• 30.David: Reply to this comment

#22 toughnrumble:
    If he wasn’t playing 7s I’d have added Paul Delport to that list.
    The one problem is going to be Ashley, as Naka is busy converting him to hooker.

• 31.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#27 klippies101: You’ve got to be joking. Oom Stef must sit on his bank stoel and smoke his pyp whilst reminiscing about the days when men used to be men. We have youngsters who show real promise who can fill in that role.

• 32.cane: Reply to this comment

#24 cab:

“that magnificent try in new zealand”.

Lucky Bounce Enrico we call Him……………..I prefer Bolla myself. However SA is Blessed with depth in the halves………and the Loosies…..and the locks…..
    and for what it’s worth cab………….Did you ever see me spell SA with a small s and a.

• 33.katman: Reply to this comment

#28 cane: Okay, here’s something closer to home for you. And a little more in line with your expectations of “credible journalism”:

Auckland – An Auckland rugby team celebration involving Viagra-laced beer features in All Blacks lock Ali Williams’ new book.

Williams recounts how the Graham Henry-coached Auckland team’s 2002 celebration of their National Provincial Championship (NPC) win went slightly awry in an excerpt published in New Zealand Sunday newspapers.

The Auckland team, which won the final after a string of upsets, was celebrating the victory when a nameless player, who had agreed to source some Viagra as the result of a bet, distributed the pills, used to treat erectile dysfunction.

Williams said at least half a dozen of the pills were emptied “on the sly” into the beer-filled NPC trophy, which was doing the rounds of the celebrating team, including Henry.

All Blacks coach Henry did not want to comment on the incident following the book’s release.

• 34.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Smith, Smit, FdP, Bakkies, Victor and Brian should not be considered for the end of year tour. With this in mind my choice would be:

1. Beast Du Preez
    2. Bissie Tiann
    3. Jannie WP nel
    4. Danie Van Zyl
    5. Bekker Muller (c)
    6. Ratel Stegman
    7. Schalk (c) Deysel
    8. Spies Kanko

9. Ricky Duvenhage
    10. Morne Grant
    11. JPP Nokwe
    12. Wynand Rian Swanepoel
    13. Fourie Adi
    14. Ndugane Mapoe
    15. Pienaar Kirchner

Obviously players like Vermuelen, Chilli and others should also tour.

• 35.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Sorry B-team didn’t come up for some reason?:

1. Du Preez
    2. Tiann
    3. WP nel
    4. Van Zyl
    5. Muller (c)
    6. Stegman
    7. Deysel
    8. Kanko

9. Duvenhage
    10. Grant
    11. Nokwe
    12. Rian Swanepoel
    13. Adi
    14. Mapoe
    15. Kirchner

Obviously players like Vermuelen, Chilli and others should also tour.

• 36.David: Reply to this comment

#35 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
    If anyone’s in doubt about your provincial allegiances, that team should help them, :grin:

• 37.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

#36 David: 5 Sharks, 4 WP, 4 FS, 2 Bulls. Seems an even split when looking at the CC and considering the Bulls were terrible before the return of Boks. Muller may be a dodgy call, but who else to captain it?

• 38.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

I have no problem with any of the black players he’s chosen as long as he’s keeping the politicians in their place.

Transformation committee can go to hell!!

• 39.cab: Reply to this comment

#32 cane:
    lol, apologies New Zealand.

• 40.David: Reply to this comment

#37 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
    I’d have Potgieter in as captain at either 6, 7 or 8. I genuinely think he’d make a great 6 in the same way that Wickus did when he moved there. I really don’t think Kanko is still a realistic option at test level, as exciting as he is with ball in hand.

• 41.grant10: Reply to this comment

#37 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Ruan Pienaar at 15…..there we go again…ref flag to this Bull….

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

#40 David: Kanko i feel sorry for…he is going backwards and then nailed as he doesent shine…thats the problem when a team scrums poorly.

I want to see a dominamt Bok scrum…then watch the kankos and spies boys deliver.

• 43.grant10: Reply to this comment

#41 grant10: and if justrugby sees that…ooooh fok…oorlog i tell you!

• 44.Dumb Supporter: Reply to this comment

Can some of our black bloggers comment on whether you would want to be included for political reasons?

The problem I suppose is that no-one will officially say who is there as a quota and who not.

• 45.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

Peter de Villiers has certainly changed his tune on transformation. It seems he has realised that being the Springboks afrigter is no child’s play with all the emotional symbolism that gets attached to the team. Unlike when he was U21 coach, everyone pores over his comments about selection, let alone the actual selections. Here is a glimpse at how Peter thought things had progressed in our rugby refelected in his own selections.

Baby Boks to fry French

SA U21 coach Peter de Villiers has picked his strongest side to play hosts France in Issoire on Saturday.

“I am confident that the best team has been selected to play against France,” said de Villiers. “They are really a strong outfit and have won both of their matches comprehensively.”

The team shows five changes to the starting line-up that thrashed the Georgians 102-17 in round two of the IRB World Championship.

A wholesale change has been made in the front row, with Heinke van der Merwe, captain Chiliboy Ralepele and Sangoni Mxoli all making a return.

Bulls Super 14 flanker Pierre Spies starts at No 8 in place of Ashley Johnson, while vice-captain Marius Delport is back on the left wing.

De Villiers’s side have been impressive in the first two games, but the real test will be on Saturday when they play one of the tournament’s best sides.

“They are a proud nation and on home soil even prouder. We are also a very proud team and nation. We have prepared well and look forward to the challenge.”

“We are well aware that only a win will guarantee us a spot in the semis. We will do our best to make our country proud’, said captain Chiliboy Ralepelle.

Kick-off is at 18.00 and the match will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

SA U21: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Marius Delport, 10 Isma-eel Dollie, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Hilton Lobberts, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Wilheim Steenkamp, 4 Nikolai Blignaut, 3 Sangoni Mxoli, 2 Chiliboy Ralepele, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
    Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Werner Kruger, 18, Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Adriaan Strauss, 20 Warren Malgas, 21 Morgan Newman, 22 Cedric Mkhize

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 3:39 pm and is filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

« Boks to bruise ScotsVan Rooyen barred from Saru »

37 Responses to “Baby Boks to fry French”
    1. ebay addict :
    June 15th, 2006 at 3:41 pm
    good team, they should do well, seems like alot of these guys have had s14 experience

2. saffa_guy :
    June 15th, 2006 at 3:43 pm
    Good to see Dollie in the 10 jersey. Tut, tut, how could the idiots choose Peter “The Dud” Grant above this guy. Another WP talent lost …

3. handbagslasher :
    June 15th, 2006 at 3:50 pm
    Go Chilli!!

4. Redox :
    June 15th, 2006 at 3:52 pm
    I think this side has good balance , i like the fact that he hasnt sacrificed the attacking skills of dollie at 10 just because he isnt the worlds best goal kicker which is what most sa team usually do. Would have preferred JP at full back but with spedding at 15 he can provide cover in the goal kicking dept.

5. seamus :
    June 15th, 2006 at 3:57 pm
    Saffa,

Where is Dollie plying his trade?

6. Jurgens :
    June 15th, 2006 at 3:58 pm
    pierre spies is going to be a legend..new bok captain of the future

7. oxfordshark :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:03 pm
    It would be great if this side could stick together and in a few years time become an aweome Bok side

8. Blou_Bok :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:09 pm
    Very good team, gonna be a awesome game – i believe Boks will take this one, but not by much!

Al Hargreaves and Cedric Mkhize should not be on the bench!!

9. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:10 pm
    Where is Meyer Bosman??? That would have added an even more solid look to this talented side.

10. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:14 pm
    And hopefully SARU will stick with the winning succession plan they stumbled onto when Jake was appointed (granted, by accident…).

Allow Pieter de Villiers to coach these talented future stars this year, then make him an assistant or technical analyst for RWC2007 and then appoint him bok coach in 2008.

That way he will have an existing bond with the older and up-and-coming stars for 2011 – and will already know which of these players will be his nucleus for 2011.

11. banana boy :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:14 pm
    Dollie will play 10 for the boks next season!

12. LoveJoy :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:15 pm
    blou,
    I think Mkhize is just coming back from injury.. might be wrong tho…

awesome side tho… and a real shame that bosman was withdrawn!

13. banana boy :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:16 pm
    sounds good Mongril, lets hope they think of it or not as the case may be!

14. shai :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:19 pm
    Dollie is with the Spears

15. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:20 pm
    Banana Boy – I’ve got real hope with Regan Hoskins in the chair.

He is a quiet man, but when he speaks he makes sense.

Unfortunately most of his time thus far has been spent sorting out van Ruin’s egotistical f-ups.

16. banana boy :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:23 pm
    Sounds good, lets wait any see…. so far things are looking a bit brighter than they were.

There is hope!

17. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:26 pm
    Yes, it’s all we could do for so many years now…

I’d love to see PdV with Rassie (forwards) and Eugene Eloff (Backs) as the team to take over from JW one day.

18. big g :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:31 pm
    what a good team…

cedrik was injured but id keep him on the bench anyway, delport and pieterson much better!!
    spies and chilly will have to fight it out for the bok captaincy one day…

19. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:33 pm
    Yes Big G – but if you moved Pietersen to 15 and slot Mkhize in at 14, you’ve got a REALLY dangerous backline!

20. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:34 pm
    Would have been great if Bosman was at least on the bench to cover 10 and 12 as well.

21. greenbok :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:37 pm
    Oh my sack…

I cannot believe the line-up on Saturday…
    AB’s v Ire.
    Aus v Eng.
    Sa v Sco.
    Sa v Fra.

Goodbye wife.
    Hello strife.
    Joy.

22. big g :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:39 pm
    and take out spedding?! look im a shark supporter, but i saw what mkize could(n’t) do to my dismay… went to loftus and he missed 6 tackles in 21min!!!
    i agree bosman shoulda bn there, looks like a strong player…
    Players to watch tho: Barrit, spies and keegan!!!

23. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:42 pm
    And Chilliboy, Pietersen and Delport.

At least bok legends to come from this group by 2011.

24. Mongril :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:42 pm
    Sorry – should be “at least 6 bok legends”.

25. Ig :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:44 pm
    Greenbok…you left out the Wales v Argie game to take it to 10:30

Sheeesh that would be a decent Super 14 side….Agree re the legends to come from this team.

26. BokinOzzie :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:55 pm
    The last ecuador goal was bloody good.

27. BokinOzzie :
    June 15th, 2006 at 4:56 pm
    Maybe the baby boks will get inspiraion from that goal and go on to beat the frogs.

28. BokinOzzie :
    June 15th, 2006 at 5:04 pm
    inspiraion = inspiration

29. Jason :
    June 15th, 2006 at 5:38 pm
    go boys!! good luck

30. capeflatsboy :
    June 15th, 2006 at 8:53 pm
    Dollie is joining the Lions after this tournament. I have reliabily been informed that Eloff his u19 coach negotiated a release for him from the Spears.
    So true, the WP talent spotters or shall I rather say Mr Mallett believed he was too small.

31. xsaffa :
    June 16th, 2006 at 2:48 am
    chester will be the next coach and barritt will be the magician that makes him look good

32. QC :
    June 16th, 2006 at 8:21 am
    Great team… Go boys go… Make S.A proud.

33. St.Petersburgbok :
    June 16th, 2006 at 11:57 am
    And herein lies one of the major problems really…….

Chilli was made Captain and starting hooker.

Adriaan Strauss is ahead of him in the pecking order at his union…is more experienced, is stronger and is currently a better player.

It’s all fine and well for the national coaches to ***** about the franchise coaches not assisting them…but then when they show blatant disregard for the franchises structures and pecking orders….?

No sympathy from me for the national coaches…?
    They make their own beds.

34. Anvil :
    June 16th, 2006 at 2:07 pm
    Ja, Great side.Pretty strong all around.

Go Babes !

35. Stan :
    June 16th, 2006 at 2:16 pm
    Spies and Delport to be the players of the tournament.

36. Harlequin :
    June 16th, 2006 at 3:47 pm
    this team is so good its scary

37. DonBilly :
    June 16th, 2006 at 5:57 pm
    What about the French side? How good are they?

• 46.katman: Reply to this comment

#45 Pearl Rose: This post requires editing.

• 47.mozez22: Reply to this comment

Keo and his sources again. Just when I thought, “At last, a pro-PdV post!” But alas…

• 48.mozez22: Reply to this comment

#42 grant10: You’re like a dog with a bone, just won’t let go. Which pack do you see coming up tops on Saturday?

• 49.Sghibha: Reply to this comment

#44 Dumb Supporter:
    Guys. It’s important to note that the intention of affirmative action/quotas/tranformation was that merit had to be a factor of selection. Selecting for colour was never meant to be at the expense of quality. Black players had to be either arguably as good as their white competition or display the ability to develop into the number one merit selection in that position regardless of colour. If these criteria are applied, I see no reason for black players or their white teammates to feel aggrieved by their selection.

We have seen examples of this forward thinking method of selection even between white players: Frans Steyn at the beginning of this season was not a popular selection with Bok supporters because it was (rightly) felt that Stefan Terblanche was the country’s form fullback; Ruan Pienaar was picked at flyhalf on potential despite the likes of Morne Steyn having had outstanding seasons at flyhalf for his union. Other players who’s careers were launched in a similar way where coaches backed their potential and didn’t base their selection purely on the level of the player at that moment are Joe Van Niekerk, Victor Matfield, Gaffie Du Toit, and many others. A similar move looked likely for the late Francois Swart RIP.

Players like De Jong, Burton Francis, Chilliboy, Mbiyozo, Ashleigh Johnson, Mthunzi “Fudge” Mabetha, that gigantic Eagles lock who’s name I forget, and many others may not be at that level just yet but they can grow to become the merit players in their positions. The provincial unions are not coming to the party. I understand the financial imperitives and pressures on the coaches and CEOs at the Unions but we have got to develop a culture of celebrating the development of black talent.

I wonder whether anyone remembers how the Ndungane twins were the first time we were exposed to them. Sub-par would have been a complement, but they were worked on and their selection for the Boks is now never disputed because we all know that they will not let the side down as they are merit selections. Makhaya Ntini has been the default example of how well carefully managed transformation decisions based on the correct criteria can work. He is not a special case. Those results can be reproduced regularly but it must start in the provinces.

• 50.jci: Reply to this comment

Don’t really get the message from this article, Keo and I also disagree on most comments, notably :
    1) How can you compare Floors Bok performances with those of
    Tybilika, Lobberts & Shimange ? Floors was EXCELLENT in the only test he played at Twickenham in the season where he was voted best Currie Cup player of the year (or joint best player or something like that, I seem to recall).
    2) Yes, to select Maku ahead of Kuun would be diabolical, but you’re telling me you would select Kuun ? He won’t be playing hooker even in his team next year !
    3) “Juan de Jongh is a player of the mould of Adi Jakobs” ? So what ? It is going to be a 37-player touring squad, so why not select both of them ?
    And, let’s face it, PDV HAS TO MAKE some selections to please politicians for the fringe touring players.
    Let’s wait which ones he’s going to make before criticize him, please.
    With his selections and the players we are blessed to have we are number one in the Ranking as well as Tri-nations Champs, with a very remarkable 5 out of 6, don’t forget it.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.