Matfield up for second row rumble
Victor Matfield is preparing for a stern test of his ability when he faces Cheetahs locks Nico Breedt and David de Villiers in the Currie Cup final on Saturday.
Matfield has been a dominant lineout force at Super Rugby and Test level in 2009, and his performances, coupled with those of his long time second row partner, Bakkies Botha, have been central to the Bulls and Springboks’ success.
However, in Breedt and De Villiers, Matfield is bracing for a sustained threat to that dominance. The duo coped well against the Matfield and co in their last meeting at Loftus in September (the Bulls won 30-27), although it has to be noted that Botha was absent through injury.
A repeat performance will put Naka Drotske’s charges in a good position to cause an upset, and Matfield was acutely aware that they would be fiercely determined not to be outdone.
‘Both of them are very good players,’ Matfield told keo.co.za.
‘Nico is a big mate of my. We played together at Toulon, so I’ve seen first hand how good he really is. I think he’s been their star this season. His ball carries have been so strong, and his work rate is very high.
‘David has been impressive for them at the lineouts, and he’ll be difficult to get the better of. But we’re doing everything to prepare for them and hopefully we can put them under pressure.’
The Bulls have played in seven Currie Cup finals and two Super Rugby finals since 2002. In addition, six of their starting 15 are World Cup winners. However, despite the team’s familiarity with the big stage, Matfield insists that complacency is not a factor.
‘It’s easy to keep the guys focussed despite the amount of success they’ve enjoyed in the last couple of years,’ he said.
‘We’re just looking to build on that success. All the guys are desperate to win, and for someone like Bryan [Habana] it means a lot. He came here to win a Currie Cup and he hasn’t yet, of this is an awesome opportunity for him and for us to finish on a high.’
Asked whether the week break had further galvanised the squad, many of who had played without much rest in 2009, Matfield said, ‘It has its benefits and disadvantages.
‘In some ways it would have been nice to have played immediately after the semi-final because we would have taken the momentum from the win against Province into the final.
‘Then again, a lot of the guys have played a lot of rugby this year, and the week off certainly helped refresh the body and mind.
‘So I can’t say precisely which would have been better, we’ll only know after the final whistle on Saturday.’
Coach Frans Ludeke was more certain about the benefits, although he stressed that physical freshness was just one element needed to succeed.
‘You saw it [the benefits] on Monday. The guys were absolutely flying in practice. But we’re not relying on the break or past success for confidence. There must be a desire to be successful on the day,’ he said.
‘We also need character because finals are won through character. It’s important that we stay calm because in the game momentum sways, and when it sways in your favour you need to be ready to take advantage.
‘We back ourselves and our systems and we’re ready to give everything on Saturday.’

October 29th, 2009 at 11:38 pm
#147 carol:
you’re as old as you feel.
i am a late maturer (is there such a word?)
only very recently grew up and put long pants on to go out.
us durbs guys live for our boardshorts and slops – ask jinx
October 30th, 2009 at 12:00 am
#150 charo: I will subscribe to that.
I am a late maturer too!
October 30th, 2009 at 12:02 am
As I’m at the top of the thread-
“COME ON THE BLUE BULLS”
October 30th, 2009 at 4:09 am
#149 knormoer: lol..you think i’m the bean counter here? Go back to the wooden pile you crept out of. I have no desire to be “fashionable” especially to you. now GTFOH.
October 30th, 2009 at 4:27 am
#135 carol: last I heard he was still in Bath doing work with local schools and other stuff, re-hab apparently progressing well. I’m a huge fan of the player and he seems like a good guy off the field too.
#133 sharks_lover: hi sl, appreciate the offer, some great bloggers left to move to the other site but I reckon one site is my limit, I already spend enough time blogging. I understand why so many of the guys left as the moderation here fell apart but maybe everything will come together again one day, I hope so.
October 30th, 2009 at 8:49 am
#105 carol: Oops sorry Carol at night I blog on my cell, and don’t see all the posts. Tshwane is dull!!!! All there is to do is go to malls
Durbs has the sea, Malls, Aquariums; and the Berg, many game reserves, midlands meander and wild coast within easy distance. Not as exciting as Cape Town though, but the sea is MUCH warmer. The life style is also more relaxed then in Gauteng, you don’t try and commit murder or suicide just going to work or back home from work cause of the traffic. Its an easier life then up North!
October 30th, 2009 at 8:52 am
#114 grant10: Gee I hate news like this a day before a CC final, but it’s one of the realities of being an ardent Cheetah’s supporter!!
If true it will be a huge loss for the Cheetahs, but we have lost so many super players before, and somehow manage to just churn out new stars!!
That Johan Wessells looked good in brussows absence, and even though he isn’t Brussow, we will get there!! Faaark this is that depressing time of the year again!!
The list grows of stars we lose!!!
CJ, Toks, Daan Human, Ruben Kruger, Pieter Muller, Honiball, Jouba, Vermeulen, Jannie dup, Bissie, de Waal, Claasens!!! Eish too many to remember!!
October 30th, 2009 at 8:52 am
#155 Sharksgirl: what makes CT more exciting sharksgirl?
October 30th, 2009 at 8:53 am
#157 Big Hit: nothing , cape town is like a baby ” if its not wet its full of winds ”
October 30th, 2009 at 8:54 am
#157 Big Hit: Clifton….
#156 Cheetah 4 Eva: Ja….very sad…feel for you okes…
October 30th, 2009 at 8:55 am
#155 Sharksgirl: Nah, I have the ultimate place!! half hour max, and I am in the Kruger Park!!! 3 – 6 hours and I am at the coast in Mozambique, and all the “joys” of Gangsters Paradise with 4 hrs!!
A wonderful climate to boot, and relative city comforts, without the hum drum!! Nelspruit rocks!!
October 30th, 2009 at 8:56 am
cheers guys… next lesson!
October 30th, 2009 at 8:56 am
#156 Cheetah 4 Eva: don’t forget your boys played well without him, not just about individuals, team spirit and playing style impt. too
October 30th, 2009 at 8:57 am
#158 sharks_lover: 2 days at my spot in Clifton and you wont go home…got loads of mates that ‘camp’ here in summer….really magic….no wind here….behind mountain and sea….best place on the planet…seriously!
October 30th, 2009 at 9:01 am
#129 Transformation: Transformation yes in the evening I blog from my cell Samsumn J70 or something. So it takes me ages and sometimes I just give up.
Fortunately my uncle has now retired and practices only as consultant in various EU committees. But during that time he was surrounded 24/7 with body guards and couldn’t plan a trip. If he was visiting us he would literraly phone us from the plane to come and pick him up at the airport, not even plane or time of arrival. My aunt was a nervous wreck, but he took it all in his stride.
Buffon is my ABSOLUTE favorite player of all time he has replace Roberto Baggio and Paolo Maldini! The loyalty he demonstrated in 2006 when all his peers were jumping ship, when he was offered no small fortune to move to England, and he refused saying he had never played in Serie B and it would be a welcome challenge to take Juventus back to Serie A which of course they did within a year, and now all those who abandoned like Cannavaro and Zambrotta are coming back
October 30th, 2009 at 9:03 am
#162 Big Hit: Jip, agreed BH, but hell it’s really demoralising to have to go through this year after year!!! Can’t we just have 2 years without losing our stalwarts, man the Cheetahs will then cream the opposition!!
October 30th, 2009 at 9:03 am
#160 Cheetah 4 Eva: Agreed with you, went there a few years ago, and loved it. The city is also very pretty and I also remember it very clean.
Cheetah are you nervous? I am all in orange today, and have even bought a Cheetah shirt! Go CHeetahs!!!!!!!!!!!
I have a real feeling that the Cheetahs will pull the upset of the year!
October 30th, 2009 at 9:09 am
#157 Big Hit: Big Hit, Cape Town has everything on its door step, hardly have to drive far for anything. It has both oceans, Good surf, lovely beaches with white sand, the big city, big events, the Forrests, botanical gardens; Mountains. for a young country like SA it also holds plenty of History, so it even caters for a historian like myself. Basically there is lots to do and the city is really attractive and kept very well.
October 30th, 2009 at 9:13 am
#167 Sharksgirl: yes…i like you!!!
Very well put….i spend at least an hour a day walking the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches…blessed i tell you…luv it…takes my btreath away…yesterday at 6 watching dolphins frolick…and a whale!!
Cheers…outta here
October 30th, 2009 at 9:16 am
#167 Sharksgirl:
technically cpt has only one ocean – atlantic.
but somebody thought up the two oceans slogan and it has worked well as a marketing tool.
October 30th, 2009 at 9:18 am
#166 Sharksgirl: I am nervous, but surprisingly quietly confident, I remember feeling the same in the ‘03 WC semi between France and NZ!!
Logic indicated a comfortable AB victory, but I told my wife, watch the French upset the odds…. result 40 – 22 win for the Frogs!!
I have this same gut feel about tomorow..
Everybody is saying the Bulls scrum will front up, I don’t see the “improved performance” Balie refers to, and I read he now questions the commitment of the Sharks forwards in the semi to substantiate that. Believe the Cheetahs will dominate the scrums, and hold their won in the lineouts… Think the Cheetahs are peaking at the right time!!
Go Cheetahs!!!!!
October 30th, 2009 at 9:29 am
#169 charo: Oh dear so I bought into the whole marketing thing? But I went and saw where the “oceans” meet
October 30th, 2009 at 9:38 am
#171 Sharksgirl:
don’t worry – millions get sucked into it.
what you saw at cape point is where two currents meet.
cape agulhas is the accepted dividing point between indian and atlantic oceans but it is a mere technical point.
the romantic version is better
October 30th, 2009 at 9:44 am
#172 charo: Thank you, you see you learn something everyday!
October 30th, 2009 at 10:53 am
#165 Sharksgirl: wow…having a busy morning getting drawings finished, plotted & sent to the QS & engineers… so can’t really chat, will log on later in the day…:D
October 30th, 2009 at 10:59 am
#174 Transformation: Look forward to that
October 30th, 2009 at 11:31 am
#172 charo:
Yeah, it’s those fairies in the ad agencies who are managing to dumb down the population with their own ignorance.
October 31st, 2009 at 11:42 am
This is certainly going to be unforgiving hard physical rugby being played at Loftus with no prisoners taken by either of the two competing teams.
The Bulls will probably have the upper hand in both the lineout’s and rumbling the ball up with a good kicker to convert and capitalizing on any errors form the Cheetahs. The Bulls will have to be patient in their buildup and going through the phases. Regardless of the score there should not be a letup during the last twenty minutes of the match. It was during this time that the Cheetahs have normally caught up with their opponents in the past seven matches.
The Cheetahs will probably have the upper hand in the scrums and has shown in the past few weeks of the Currie Cup that they have a formidable pack upsetting the springbok front row in the semi finals. Then there is also Brussouw that will probably get some turnovers or win penalties with his phenomenal speed and quick recovery, putting pressure on the opponents. Then there is Potgieter that can also slot some testing kicks.
It will certainly be a tight game. Good luck to both teams but we would like to see a winner and not a draw.