Matfield up for second row rumble

Victor Matfield is preparing for a stern test of his ability when he faces Cheetahs locks Nico Breedt and David de Villiers in the Currie Cup final on Saturday.

Matfield has been a dominant lineout force at Super Rugby and Test level in 2009, and his performances, coupled with those of his long time second row partner, Bakkies Botha, have been central to the Bulls and Springboks’ success.

However, in Breedt and De Villiers, Matfield is bracing for a sustained threat to that dominance. The duo coped well against the Matfield and co in their last meeting at Loftus in September (the Bulls won 30-27), although it has to be noted that Botha was absent through injury.

A repeat performance will put Naka Drotske’s charges in a good position to cause an upset, and Matfield was acutely aware that they would be fiercely determined not to be outdone.

‘Both of them are very good players,’ Matfield told keo.co.za.

‘Nico is a big mate of my. We played together at Toulon, so I’ve seen first hand how good he really is. I think he’s been their star this season. His ball carries have been so strong, and his work rate is very high.

‘David has been impressive for them at the lineouts, and he’ll be difficult to get the better of. But we’re doing everything to prepare for them and hopefully we can put them under pressure.’

The Bulls have played in seven Currie Cup finals and two Super Rugby finals since 2002. In addition, six of their starting 15 are World Cup winners. However, despite the team’s familiarity with the big stage, Matfield insists that complacency is not a factor.

‘It’s easy to keep the guys focussed despite the amount of success they’ve enjoyed in the last couple of years,’ he said.

‘We’re just looking to build on that success. All the guys are desperate to win, and for someone like Bryan [Habana] it means a lot. He came here to win a Currie Cup and he hasn’t yet, of this is an awesome opportunity for him and for us to finish on a high.’

Asked whether the week break had further galvanised the squad, many of who had played without much rest in 2009, Matfield said, ‘It has its benefits and disadvantages.

‘In some ways it would have been nice to have played immediately after the semi-final because we would have taken the momentum from the win against Province into the final.

‘Then again, a lot of the guys have played a lot of rugby this year, and the week off certainly helped refresh the body and mind.

‘So I can’t say precisely which would have been better, we’ll only know after the final whistle on Saturday.’

Coach Frans Ludeke was more certain about the benefits, although he stressed that physical freshness was just one element needed to succeed.

‘You saw it [the benefits] on Monday. The guys were absolutely flying in practice. But we’re not relying on the break or past success for confidence. There must be a desire to be successful on the day,’ he said.

‘We also need character because finals are won through character. It’s important that we stay calm because in the game momentum sways, and when it sways in your favour you need to be ready to take advantage.

‘We back ourselves and our systems and we’re ready to give everything on Saturday.’

178 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.grant10: Reply to this comment

#98 justrugby: thanks boet…will need to pop through if ok…as well as the bok midweek games…..

• 102.carol: Reply to this comment

Hiya JR and G10,
    Spill the beans, what have you done on Superbru for the weekend’s fixture?
    Is ist 3pm your time btw?

• 103.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hey sharkgirl. Jose was the reason i was fond of chelski too, anyone that can stick it to AF is a champ in my book, he dresses fly too, witty & a tactical genius to boot!

Are you referring to berlusconi re rosso & neri?

Girladino has been saving the Old Lady’s bacon lately…what do u think of Iaquinta & Trezegeit (sp)? Is Del Piero injured or retired?

• 104.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

Grant between Tswane and Umhlanga Rocks its an easy choice its not always about the money its also the way of life Habana said as much about his move

• 105.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

good evening everyone

hiyas grant mate if what you say is true the sharks are going for the trophies no doubt

they bought very little the past few years so of course they want action and results

i personally dont believe we need another 3 or prop we are good there and with mostert 120 lock and alberts being large fellas the weight in scrums will be so much more

my problem i believe is at 12 and 13 , the sharks mad a huge mistake losing steyn , they need a quality replacement

• 106.carol: Reply to this comment

#103 Sharksgirl: Are you telling me Pretoria is ‘dull’?

• 107.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#100 grant10:

Always a pleasure !!!

• 108.carol: Reply to this comment

#104 sharks_lover: Well good evening Sharky!!
    Are you a happy man with the latest news?
    Puma will be extatic!!

• 109.grant10: Reply to this comment

#101 carol: hi…Bulls by 5 my side Carol

• 110.grant10: Reply to this comment

#103 Sharksgirl: For sure….but the money helps too!!!

Habana is getting both!!

As is J Fourie.

• 111.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

hiyas sweety miss carol and yes happy but not that happy yet till its official

its a proven fact sharks are the wealthiest union , and they have not spent much the past few years , si i guess they knew results are needed so time to splash out

• 112.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#101 carol: Hi Carol

I have the Bulls by 15 !!

• 113.grant10: Reply to this comment

#104 sharks_lover: ja…3 is an issue…you know how i feel about the bok front row….best 3 in Durbs is Cilliers!!

Agree re the centres…

• 114.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

grant how certain are you about brussow??

• 115.grant10: Reply to this comment

#110 sharks_lover: always best to see the ink dry…but it appears a done deal…

• 116.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

The very one! My uncle presided on his original trial. I really like Iaquinta good striker but seems out of sorts trezgunet is past his best imo

• 117.carol: Reply to this comment

#108 grant10:
    #111 justrugby:
    I was sort of veering towards 10, smack bang in the middle of you two…..
    Wondering if I will be able to watch on Justin TV this time, have not managed to pick up many Currie Cup Matches so far, Super 14 seemed better covered.

So, WP resting only the EOYT’s now to disect….Hey, I am wondering if I should go to London to see Boks v Saracens, WRS being boring and won’t come with me tho! 4man has stepped up to the plate and may go with me!

• 118.grant10: Reply to this comment

#113 sharks_lover: very certain SL….mate spoke to me like its done…and he has never been wrong yet…

• 119.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#112 grant10: i spoke to th a little earlier and he too was telling me ludick and alberts are a done deal

its a matter official press releases still

butch was enquireing about comming back to the sharks , not sure with his latest injury though

he still has 8 months to go before he can play again

• 120.carol: Reply to this comment

#110 sharks_lover: Must be great being the ‘Head Hunter’ for rugby players….I would love that job!!

• 121.grant10: Reply to this comment

#116 carol: 22 players for that game announced sat…wait till then and then decide?

• 122.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#116 carol:

The Bok /Saracens match will be a great game, mostly 2nd stringers but will be worth the trip , you should go !!

• 123.carol: Reply to this comment

#118 sharks_lover: Butch has not played for Bath yet this season has he?

• 124.grant10: Reply to this comment

#118 sharks_lover: Butch is ready January already….i reckon he will go to Lions….watch this space

• 125.grant10: Reply to this comment

BJ reckons he is happy to play for any SA province in 2011 as he wants to make the WC squad….a lot of saffas gonna want to come home ….i would love to be an agent now…

• 126.grant10: Reply to this comment

Been a long day….need a sleep….

Outta here…

• 127.carol: Reply to this comment

#120 grant10: Good plan, night – regards to Blonde!

• 128.carol: Reply to this comment

#121 justrugby: If Saturday is decision day I may just wait and see who may run out!

• 129.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#122 carol: he did play carol and got injured first game back

his knee again

• 130.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#116 Sharksgirl: that can’t be good for ur uncle’s wellbeing…i don’t know if’i'd be brave enough to sentence those fellas…

Are you blogging from a blackberry? :D

Buffon was also outstanding in the last CL match…You must be happy about all these “reported” developments re the sharks, all you need now is to fire plumtree & get a coach that knows something!

• 131.carol: Reply to this comment

#128 sharks_lover: That knee held up quite well last season, shame it sounds a bit knackered now!!

• 132.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#128 sharks_lover: he hasn’t played since May, they were overplaying him to be honest. I read he was keen on returning to Sharks but Bath won’t want to lose him either.

• 133.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

If all the reports are true and the sharks get these players , things could be interesting next year

i believe though the sharks still need another star center , or the ones we have to to wake up and regain form

props
    smitty
    carstens
    jannie
    beast
    cillier

hookers
    bissy
    burden
    and take into account smitty can cover hooker as well

locks
    muller
    sykes
    mostert
    hargreaves
    albert

loose forwards
    deysel
    brussow
    kanko
    alberts
    botes
    daniel
    rhodes
    downey

scrummies
    pienaar
    cockott
    mccleod
    ross cronje

flyhalves
    hernandez
    monty
    guy cronje

centers
    adi
    murray
    swannepoel
    vulindlu

wings
    jpp
    odwa
    jordaan
    mvovo

full backs
    stefan
    ludick
    lambie

thats 38 players

take into account smitty can cover hooker and prop
    pienaar can cover 9 and 10
    lambie full back and wing
    vulindlu center and wing
    murray center and wing
    hernandez , center fullback and flyhalf

recognised kickers in the team

hernandez
    pienaar
    cockott
    lambie
    stefan
    monty
    guy and ross cronje

not sure if ludick kicks for poles too???

• 134.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#130 carol: yeah pity he a very good player

#131 Big Hit: hiyas BH how ru doing mate?? pity they over play him , he a great player

why you never come say hi to us at talk-rugby as well??
    pop in now and then mate we enjoy ur input

and i aint asking you to leave here , just like i come say hi to friends here too

• 135.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i wonder if ludick can play 13??? anyone know?

• 136.carol: Reply to this comment

#133 sharks_lover: Do you think he is doing his R&R in Bath or back in S.A?
    I still want to see him and Luke both run out for Bath, I may have to cover the match for R.T.!! Camera in hand!

• 137.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#135 carol: lol not sure carol

he prolly in pietermarizburg with his folks taking a break

but not sure to be honest

• 138.charo: Reply to this comment

butch would only come back to sharks.
    his girlfriend is my doctor’s daughter – a hottie of note.
    would love to see

ruan,
    butch
    hernandez
    adi
    jpp
    mvovo
    ludick

potent bru

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

charo have you seen my sharks squad??

according to grant its basically a done deal and brussow heading sharks way

eish we will have loose trio’s of note

alberts
    deysel
    brussow
    or
    kanko
    deysel
    brussow
    or
    alberts
    kanko
    brussow

weaker teams that we play add other loosies to the mix lol

• 140.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

you might laugh at me charo but i wonder if keegan danielo can play 13 ??

he has the speed and power

• 141.carol: Reply to this comment

#136 sharks_lover: May have to google Pietermarizburg, have no idea where that is!
    You could only take so much of Bath and the West Country if you had a bad knee, I would be outta there too!

#137 charo: Hi Charo, can’t imagine Butch with a ‘plain Jane’….Doctors Daughter, hope she can get his some premier treatment for his knee then!

• 142.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#140 carol: carol pmb is the capital of natal , 90km’s from durban

if you driving to durban from pretoria for example you have to pass through pmb to get to durban

• 143.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#140 carol: i know butuch and his parents personally
    his dad mike james played for mariutzburg football club in pmb where i was born and raised too

mike also played soccer for south africa

i was involved in the soccer for many years too

nice people , mike loves his golf now

• 144.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

butch

• 145.charo: Reply to this comment

#139 sharks_lover:

doubt it – too mental. mind you burden went from centre/wing to hooker 8)

#140 carol: her mom is from paarl(near cpt) i think – also a looker

#142 sharks_lover:
    my son was at college with butch (and that chop kp)

• 146.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#144 charo: yeah i know boet i am an old maritzbueg college boy lol

mike and i played club soccer in pmb and played a lot of golf together

he was club golf capt at maritzburg golf club

his brother buddy james worked at natalia with my mom for about 18 years lol

• 147.charo: Reply to this comment

#145 sharks_lover:

you probably similar vintage to me then.
    about a decade younger than david 8)

and about a decade older than grant and justrugby :lol:

• 148.carol: Reply to this comment

#141 sharks_lover: You are well connected!! ;-)
    Is PMB a nice place?

#146 charo: Two decades older than Rangerman, possibly four decades older than Springbok Sarah!! Eeekkkk… :shock:

• 149.knormoer: Reply to this comment

Transformation

I was wondering…

Who, of all the S14 franchises in SA, have the best transformation stats?

Not just this year, going back a few.

Answer that, and stay fashionable.

Otherwise, STFU.

• 150.knormoer: Reply to this comment

Come to think of it, just disregard that comment.

The jig is up. Maybe you’ll join us enlightened folks one day.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.