Ricky axed

Ricky Januarie has been left out of the 37-man Springbok squad to tour Europe with the Bulls’ Heini Adams viewed as a better alternative to Fourie du Preez.

Coach Peter de Villiers has also failed to select Bok regulars Jean de Villiers and Frans Steyn, sticking to his policy of favouring locally-based players. De Villiers is currently playing for Munster in Ireland while Steyn is turning out for Paris-based Racing Metro.

The Bok selectors will take nine new caps on tour. Apart from Francois Hougaard, who has been used as a wing in the latter stages of the Bulls’ Currie Cup campaign, Adams will also head to Europe. WP centre Juan de Jongh and Bulls’ flank Dewald Potgieter are two players who’ve shown great promise. After a good season at No 8 for the Cheetahs, Ashley Johnson is also rewarded with a call-up.

Sharks lock Allistair Hargreaves is one of four shock selections, as De Villiers has also opted to include Griquas pair Davon Raubenheimer and Riaan Viljoen, as well as the Bulls’ third-choice hooker Bandise Maku.

Meyer Bosman gets a recall as does Zane Kirchner, who made his debut against the British & Irish Lions earlier this year. Lions loosehead Heinke van der Merwe is a good selection.

De Villiers has also persisted with Earl Rose despite the Lions fullback’s indifferent form.

Cheetahs blindside Juan Smith hasn’t been considered because of injury.

The midweek side will play the first tour fixture against Leicester next Saturday before the Test side line up against France on 13 November. The dirt-trackers take on Saracens the following week while the senior side will face Italy and Ireland on consecutive Saturdays.

Springbok squad:
Forwards: John Smit (c), Victor Matfield (v/c), Beast Mtawarira, Gurthro Steenkamp, Heinke van der Merwe, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bandise Maku, Jannie du Plessis, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Allistair Hargreaves, Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger, Davon Raubenheimer, Heinrich Brussow, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Dewald Potgieter, Ashley Johnson.

Backs: Fourie du Preez, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Adi Jacobs, Jaque Fourie, JP Pietersen, Bryan Habana, Odwa Ndungane, Wynand Olivier, Earl Rose, Heini Adams, Meyer Bosman, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchner, Jongi Nokwe, Riaan Viljoen.

208 Comments

• 1.RedLion: Reply to this comment

LIONS

• 2.Troedels: Reply to this comment

Earl Rose???? What the Eff?

• 3.sglazer: Reply to this comment

JC, the headline is heartless. Remember when you’ve been down? How would you like a headline like this?

• 4.RedLion: Reply to this comment

yes fat boy Ricky got the chop … but so did Francois Steyn and JdV.

• 5.RedLion: Reply to this comment

and that the face mugger Burger is in too how very sad for Alberts.

• 6.cityshark: Reply to this comment

They do not select overseas based players Redlion (you no that, so stupid comment about F Steyn and JdV)

• 7.David: Reply to this comment

Nokwe instead of Mapoe? No FS or WP props?

• 8.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#5 RedLion: get over it JEEEEZ schallas a great player !!!!

• 9.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

no jean deysel ???????

• 10.rugbyfan007: Reply to this comment

stupid law our guys go overseas to learn better skills and get penalised for it………… steyn and jdv….. not axed…

• 11.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Redlion is a known alcoholic. Congrats to the bulls, Dewalt and Heini! Sorry Flo and Duane.

• 12.puff: Reply to this comment

Heinke Van Der Merwe in without having played all year.
    No Wikus Blaauw, Wian Du Preez or WP Nel.
    Maku in but no Adrian Strauss or Tiaan Liebenberg
    Raubenheimer in but no Jean Deyzel, Francois Louw, Duane Vermeulen or Willem Alberts.
    No Sarel Pretorius.
    Earl Rose instead of Burton Francis.
    Riaan Viljoen and Odwa Ndungane in, but no Lionel Mapoe.
    Hargreaves in but no Anton Van Zyl, David De Villiers or Stephen Sykes.

Very strange indeed.

• 13.RedLion: Reply to this comment

#7 David:
    not selected = chopped = axed = speared = shot = ignored = disposed = has been = dropped = bye-bye = klaar = verby!

• 14.Mustard: Reply to this comment

No mapoe? wtf? the guy is twice the player nokwe is, he can actualy defend aswel

• 15.cityshark: Reply to this comment

Unlucky: Sykes, Mapoe, WP Nel, Liebenberg, Du Preez, Jean Deysel, Vermaak

Lucky: Rose, Hargreaves, Bosman

• 16.The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Reply to this comment

#3 sglazer:
    What a kak comment
    nothing wrong with that headline
    However, if it said said “Fat Pie-eater not picked because he will be in jail in November” ….that would be kicking him while he’s down

• 17.tarryn: Reply to this comment

I cannot physically believe that our idiot of a coach has picked Earl Rose, who hardly knows what a rugby ball is, over Frans Steyn and Jean de Villiers. PdV wake up and realise that your policies are pathetic.

• 18.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

No Deysel, no Mapoe or Mvovo or Basson, no Vermuelen?! EIIISSSSH!!! Earl Rose?! Ag come on man!

• 19.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Adriaan Strauss unlucky

• 20.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@ 12, agree puff, its as if they didnt even watch the currie cup at all

• 21.WP_: Reply to this comment

What a poor squad this is!

PdV showing what a pathetic judge of talent he is!

Earl Rose AGAIN? WTF!

Maku ahead of Kuun, Strauss and Liebenberg?

Nokwe ahead of Mapoe?

Hargreaves ahead of Sykes, van Zyl, David de Villiers?

No WP Nel or Wikus Blaauw but Jannie du Plessis instead?

Riaan Viljoen ahead of Joe Pieterson?

That is a very average squad.

• 22.puff: Reply to this comment

In fact Riaan Viljoen over Joe Pieterson is questionable.

• 23.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

I can see us losing to Ireland with this squad. Deysel, Vermuelen and Mapoe should’ve been in there.

• 24.David: Reply to this comment

We’ve got a problem at TH and we get the two girls from the Sharks. JS I can understand, but the gynecologist? Do we think that the NH front rows are all c*nts?

• 25.cab: Reply to this comment

Sykes, WP Nel, Deysel and Mapoe should have been shoe-ins.

• 26.cityshark: Reply to this comment

Can someone tell me how many of the Emerging Boks that played against the B&I Lions actually got selected?

There should be some sort of continuity with a couple of bolters!!

• 27.puff: Reply to this comment

Ah yes, Jano Vermaak.
    Is he injured?

• 28.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#18 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:cumon guyz we all know earl rose is a ok talisman ,he doesnt even have to play his presence inspires others

• 29.tarryn: Reply to this comment

PdV you owe me a new TV when I smash mine after Earl Rose makes a stuff up on this tour.. Yet another racial decision.. I cant take this kak anymore..

• 30.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#16 The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine:

The guy’s down. Why focus on him? It’s vindictive. This is the dark side of journalism. Dance on someone’s Soul for an extra buck

• 31.coherence: Reply to this comment

It’s not so bad. Some of PDV’s favorites are in there, but there are also players of form. Riaan Viljoen, Ashley Johnson, Juan de Jongh, and Dewald Potgieter are actually form players.

• 32.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

Whilst some may be unhappy with the decision, I would like to express my overwhelming joy at the selection of Earl Rose.
    This tour Earl will show the world why he is the most under rated player out there !
    I am so delighted for him !
    Earl ! Earl ! Eaaaaarl !

• 33.Puma: Reply to this comment

Don’t want to be nasty but how did Rose make the squad? Also I do rate H. Adams from the Bulls but he is 29 and maybe has turned 30 already. Why not a younster there?

Mapoe (spelling) thought he would have made it easy. Not there either. Vermeulen from WP not there as well.

Some were lucky to make that squad and some very, very unlucky that really should have been there.

At least the main Boks are there.

• 34.Mr-T: Reply to this comment

#27 puff:
    12, 27

Heinke played S14, and the staff know what a powerful scrummer he is, he was injured before the CC but is again fit and as strong as ever. Do feel sorry for that Cheetahs front row guys, WP Nel, etc.Wickus Blaauw, sorri he got hammered against the Lions and Cheetahs, and is over rated,

Jano – is injured, will only be back with the S14.

• 35.The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Reply to this comment

#30 sglazer:

It’s a good headline
    As far as I can see he is the highest profile (or only even) Bok that is left out of the squad.

• 36.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

I am also offerings my happiness and handshakes to John Smit for regaining the captaincy.

• 37.cityshark: Reply to this comment

we are going to miss Juan Smith on those soft heavy grounds, as he is often MOM on the EOYT.

Deysel or Vermeulen or F Viljoen would have been options,

Test back three will be Brussow, Burger, Spies. (bench Danie)

Dirt trackers. Potgieter, Johnson, Kanko.

Missing a big ball demolisher!!

• 38.cab: Reply to this comment

Should be

Bok XV
    1. Beast 2. Bismarck 3. Smit 4. Bakkies 5. Matfield 6. Brussow 7. Burger 8. Spies 9. FdP 10. Morne 11. Habana 12. WO 13. Fourie 14. JP 15. Kirchener

Back-up XV
    1. Guthro (Heinke) 2. Liebenberg 3. WP Nel 4. Sykes 5. Becker 6. Potgieter 7. Deysel 8. Alberts 9. Hougaart 10. Pienaar (Grant) 11. Mapoe 12. De Jong 13. Jacobs 14. Nokwe 15. Joe Pietersen

• 39.puff: Reply to this comment

Mtawarira
    Du Plessis
    Smit
    Botha
    Matfield
    Brussow
    Burger
    Spies
    Du Preez
    Steyn
    Habana
    Jacobs
    Fourie
    Pieterson
    Pienaar

Ralepelle
    Du Plessis
    Rossouw
    Kankowski
    Adams/Hougaard
    Bosman/Olivier
    Kirchner

• 40.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

The selectors have obviously noticed Chilliboy is too injury prone to be the future Bok captain so they have turned to Al Hargreaves, he needs an extra 10kg though!

• 41.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

#29 tarryn: You need to lay of the steroids.Jeezaz relax.

• 42.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#33 Puma: Earl is needing to use this platform constructively . Give him a chance. He hasn’t had much chances.

Heini is a class act. But I hear you about his advanced age.

• 43.Mr-T: Reply to this comment

But, I have to agree, feel sorri for a lot of other guys,
    Alberts,
    Vermeulen
    F Louw
    S Pretorius
    J Pieterson,
    A v Zyl.
    Mapoe
    Strauss

to mention a few

• 44.Klinchkie: Reply to this comment

A few surprises – although some comments on the squad,
    Januarie axing overdue. Although a few years ago he was great and earned his jersey, especially against all blacks while under White – he hasn’t deserved to be there the last few years.
    Glad to see Ashley Johnson – brave call that might turn out to be a great call. Heinke for Northern fields should have been there a while ago – feel sorry for Wian Du Preez. Still not convinced of Jannie Du Plessis, although i guess he is solid enough. Heinie Adams, decent busy player, glad to see him there although sorry for Vermaak. Maku ahead of Strauss a strange call, although the one most of us probably have a problem with is Earl Rose. He definitely has a something – but most times ends up being a problem rather than an advantage. I get the feeling he is one of those talents that only realise it mentally when they are too old and physically unable. Would have – as much as i am not a fan – chosen Joe Pietersen because as much as he looks like he is too small – proves me wrong over and over with excellent performances.

• 45.Puma: Reply to this comment

#36 rugbygenius: Me too.

#43 Mr-T: Agree, After Frans left for France really thought that J. Pietersen may make the squad for FB. Is it going to be Zane? Who played well part of the S14 but playing for the Boks was just not up to it? We need the best there.

• 46.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Without Frans & Jean our backs are looking very inexperienced!! Awesome forwards though. We will miss our hardman Juan though!

• 47.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#26 cityshark: Exactly, we need to be building for the future, especially with players who’ve already had a bit of experienced against seasoned professionals.

At the E Boks loose trio (Deysel, Potgieter, Vermuelen) should’ve been selected.

• 48.cab: Reply to this comment

#44 Klinchkie:
    good comment

• 49.RedLion: Reply to this comment

Forwards: John Smit (c), Victor Matfield (v/c), Beast Mtawarira, Gurthro Steenkamp, Heinke van der Merwe, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bandise Maku, Jannie du Plessis, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Allistair Hargreaves, Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger, Davon Raubenheimer, Heinrich Brussow, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Dewald Potgieter, Ashley Johnson

In general I agree, yes Hargreaves is one for the future and is a better prospect than Sykes or Muller his so called seniors.

Then we have Maku who is no. 4 at the Bulls but in reality is better than that sick note of note Chiliboi!

Jannie Dup should be dropped pronto for Buys (a real Lion) who totally humiliated the Beast just a few weeks ago.

The face mugger is there and that is all I am saying but who the heck is this Ashley Johnson character? Is Alberts injured or what or did Hoskins make a mistake when he was reading out the squad?

• 50.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Very conservative selection, however the coaches have just one a Lions series and a Tri Nations so the armchair experts should really back them. Rose played v.good rugby in the CC at 15 towards the end.

• 51.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Unfortunately for Little Joe his size was always against him. I kept on seeing the clip of Mapoe running over him this evening.

• 52.puff: Reply to this comment

Ruan Pienaar will be first choice fullback with Kirchner as his back-up.
    If Morne Steyn is injured, Ruan will move to 10 and Zane will slot in at 15.

• 53.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#50 Big Hit: *just won

• 54.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

I would rather have Ricky Januarie there than Earl Rose… Earl Rose, can someone tell me why there is ANY hype about this guy? He’s not even mediocre at Provincial level.

• 55.Klinchkie: Reply to this comment

Just a comment on the “overseas” issue.
    Why don’t they have the option of choosing a set number per squad from overseas. e.g. Three per squad if they feel there is no one able to fill the role as well in SA. (trying to avoid the word quota as I know how it gets some people worked up ;-)
    This would let them be able to choose JDV and Steyn, and an other IF NEEDED. This should also limit an exodus as only three may be chosen IF NEEDED – determined by the coach of course. Just feel they limit their options and strength by being adamant on NOT choosing…
    What does the forum think?

• 56.Puma: Reply to this comment

#42 rugbygenius: I always give Earl a chance but he never comes up with the goods.

H. Adams on the other hand I think does deserve a spot great player but the age is against him. Think he has turned 30 already. Damn what I would have done to look like that at 30. Always thought he was about 21. He looks so young.

J. Pietersen from WP SHOULD have made the squad with Frans leaving for France. No ifs. He is tiny but a great player in a small body. I would have selected him without thinking really.

Like I said some are very lucky and some really, really unlucky. Where is Mapoe? Think this guy has huge talent. Sorry if I spelt the name wrong. Also like Mvovo from the Sharks another one to look out for next year. Great player for me better than Odwa. Huge speed.

• 57.puff: Reply to this comment

PDV reckons Adi Jacobs is the best centre in SA.
    So Jacobs will defs make the run-on side.
    I doubt Jacques Fourie will be dropped, so it should be Jacobs at 12 and Fourie at 13.
    Of course, Olivier should be at 12, especially with his provincial 9 and 10 alongside him.

• 58.Puma: Reply to this comment

#55 Klinchkie: Yes agree 100%. Said that earlier. Maybe only select 2. Then we don’t have about 50 leaving tomorrow for the NH clubs.

Frans Steyn should have been selected without even a blink. Huge loss that.

JdV will be back before the world cup. Think he is back next June so no problems there. Frans has signed a 3 year contract. Crazy.

• 59.Klinchkie: Reply to this comment

#49 RedLion: Ashley Johnsons is the dude from Cheetahs who looks like he’s from the Pacific Islands. Plays 8th man, but very versatile…..

• 60.The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine: Reply to this comment

What position does Raubenheimer play?

• 61.cab: Reply to this comment

wonder who they’ll select for leicester next sat and if a players like potgieter or johnson will play straight after their efforts today?

• 62.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#55 Klinchkie: JDV wouldn’t make the side on form and Frans Steyn has been injured.

• 63.cab: Reply to this comment

i actually have no idea why mapoe is not there, he is the hungriest winger we have seen in ages. what are we sticking with these other deadbeats for?

• 64.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Dankie tog ek is gesuip ma daai man moet gaan rus

• 65.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#54 Kietzphat: earl rose is not mediocre ,he is beyond mediocrity he’s in previously uncharted territory when it comes to his crapness BUT he happens to be PDVs favourite player in the world so……..

• 66.David: Reply to this comment

#60 The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine:

• 67.Puma: Reply to this comment

#52 puff: Not so sure. Think Ruan going to be messed about like Frans Steyn. Ruan going to cover 15, 10 and 9. Crazy. Think H. Adams will cover scrummie.

Zane I think will be the FB. Not so sure about that now as I was before the Lions tour.

After the CC I would have selected J. Pietersen from WP for FB now that Frans has left. Probably if it was me I would have selected Frans Steyn even if he is based overseas. Without a blink I would have.

• 68.Klinchkie: Reply to this comment

#56 Puma: Agree with the Earl issue – hopefully this is his last chance – although would be very happy of he turns out after this tour to become one of the greatest flyhalves/ fullbacks in our history. Funnier things have happened – just look at Larkhams career in the beginning……But they must have a sell by date some time….
    Mapoe – also very unlucky I feel…Alberts – great last few seasons and also defies odds – always think he looks too big and slow – but ends up being everwhere. . . .

• 69.puff: Reply to this comment

#63 cab:

Agreed.
    I rate Odwa, but he hasn’t taken his chances this year.
    Mapoe in for Odwa seems like a no-brainer.

• 70.Puma: Reply to this comment

#63 cab: 100% correct Cabbie. Just shaking my head here. Not sure why he is not there.

Another one to watch out for next year is Mvovo from the Sharks. For me he is better than Odwa. Young and hungry too.

• 71.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

QUOTa QUOTA QUOTA:

Keo predicted this. I thought it would not happen.

Bandise Make – ahead of A.Strauus/T.Liebenberg what a joke

Earl Rose – Not even going there

Heini Adams – S.Pretorius , J.Vermaak , Kockott

Davon Raubenheimer & Ashley Johnson – not as good as J.Deysel , D Vermeulen

Hougaard, Potgieter and Juan De Jongh. Deserved.

Disappointing squad

• 72.cab: Reply to this comment

#67 Puma:
    only problem is if you select frans, can they bring their hospital bed onto the field?

• 73.David: Reply to this comment

Neither JdeV or Frans would be released by their clubs, so it isn’t just a matter of what the SA policy is about selecting overseas players.

• 74.RedLion: Reply to this comment

#51 Lions_Soutie:

here is the order in which I rate backline players and how I go about choosing them.

A Grade players – like BOD, Mortlock, Gits, FDP and Habana

B Grade Players – like Pietersen, Meisie and Adi

C Grade Players – like the two Ndungane twins

D Pygmy Players – Like Joe Pietersen and Aplon

E **** Players – Like Rose

so in summary I will pick a pygmy (Pietersen) before a **** player (Rose)

• 75.Puma: Reply to this comment

#71 wp_boytjie: Vermeulen and Deysel very, very unlucky. We will lose these players to overseas. They have not played for the Boks. E. Boks means nothing. They can still turn out for another country.

Our selectors need a wake up call.

• 76.Klinchkie: Reply to this comment

#62 Big Hit: Already? Didnt take the Frenchies too long. Even off form JDV still remains solid and forms such a good partnership with Fourie. Hard to leave him out . . . And think Steynj would have grown into – and hope will still – one of our greatest fullbacks. Terrible at Flyhalf, but championed him at FB since he came on as a winger against Oz. When he has time to think, he makes the right decision. Otherwise…..

• 77.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Shame how did Solly & Shimange not make the team.

• 78.Puma: Reply to this comment

#72 cab: :lol: I would for them…..hehe.

#73 David: Pity David. Somehow I heard and it can be a rumour that Frans has a deal with the club if selected for the Boks he can be released. Not sure about it as there are so many rumours that fly around here.

• 79.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#73 David: yeah they would, they have to be released as it’s an IRB test window

• 80.BASH!: Reply to this comment

I can’t handle this kak anymore. What is Div thinking? was the man thinking at all. I’m not even going to mention the players who should and should be in that squad because everyone has said it already. I’m losing my mind here. I can already see myself developing stress related ilnesses and a bad drinking problem by the time the second game comes.

• 81.cab: Reply to this comment

ashley johnson looks and plays like the lovechild of colin charvis and schalk burger, pretty cool parentage.

• 82.Puma: Reply to this comment

#76 Klinchkie: Pity Frans left at the age of 22 only. Think if left to play FB until WC 2011 he would have been our greatest. That should have been where he played for the Boks from the start. Not a FH ever but a FB now he is something else. That monster kick against NZ this year was brilliant. Well 3 of those monster kicks.

How we let him go is just crazy.

• 83.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#73 David: yer i watched frans steyn bullying toulouse today , beautiful to watch

• 84.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Viljoen is a good call, next best to F1 Steyn at back, better than Kirchner.

I’m ok with Johnson but not with Kanko, Vermeulen or Alberts should have gone or both and not Hargreaves and Raubenheimer.

Mapoe should definitely be in. Most exciting talent to emerge yet at wing the next Habana yet they take Rose and Hougaard. At least Hougaard can cover 9 as well as wing maybe thats behind their thinking after dropping January.

Joe Pietersen would be far better call than Ndungane at utility back.

Thankfully Muller not there but so should Kanko have been out and another hard loosie in like Vermeulen or Alberts.

• 85.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#80 BASH!:

should and shouldnt

My anger is making me unable to spell or use proper grammer

• 86.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Just when I thought the Springbok ship could not be sailing any smoother this happens. Geeze this sucks

• 87.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

HYPOCRITES !

How can we be making shouting at Pdv when he has had such a brilliant season.

People were being angry with him prior to Lions series.
    People were being angry with his selections prior to Tri Nations .

And look what happened !

Rose , Maku , Johnson are Bokke kings in the making !

• 88.cab: Reply to this comment

#80 BASH!:
    lol, perhaps the maestro has it all planned…

• 89.Puma: Reply to this comment

#80 BASH!: Accept it Bash we are always going to have these problems with selections. It drives me crazy too. Should always be on merit. The players want to be selected on merit too.

Just pleased that the bulk that will play the tests will be the best (almost best) players. Think we going to miss JdV and Frans Steyn.

• 90.Klinchkie: Reply to this comment

Well guys, at least we can look forward to Springbok rugby on the weekends again. Have to do a runner – so enjoy the rest of the evening debate…..French game I feel is going to be huge…….ciao

• 91.David: Reply to this comment

#79 Big Hit:
    Aren’t you confusing the IRB with the agreement that the English clubs have with the RFU?

• 92.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#83 mbaxman93: so he’s back, that’s a good win for Metro

• 93.Puma: Reply to this comment

Have to say very pleased that D. Potgieter got seleted. Deserves a place. Great player and leader.

• 94.cab: Reply to this comment

If rose is a bokke king in the making, then we in deep ****, and mcgeechan was perhaps right about our lack of depth.

• 95.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

#87 rugbygenius: Quota is Quota is Quota.

• 96.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#71 wp_boytjie:

I hate this squad as much as anyone, but Ashley Johson has actually played alot better than Jean Deysal in the Currie Cup. Time will tell as to whether he is actually a better player but he was the form player between the two.

But ja, once again, WHAT A KAK SQUAD

• 97.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#94 cab: And I suppose you also think Demas is an ‘average’ wing, Spies needs to ‘bulk up’ and Brussow must ‘work on his turnovers’.

• 98.cab: Reply to this comment

#97 rugbygenius:
    demas is an averfage wing, spies played well today, johnson’s good too and brussow is outstanding and must forget about his kicking duties at scrumhalf since he is brilliant otherwise.

• 99.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#95 wp_boytjie: No friend. Rose is there because he has brilliant, brilliant skills and vision.

• 100.Puma: Reply to this comment

Just wish we were playing Italy first for a warm up game then France.

Playing France first in the tests going to be huge. Boks could be rusty and the Bulls Boks could be very tired. Going to a huge game.

• 101.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

#96 BASH!: Deysel is the 2nd best No.7 after J.Smith. Just my opinion. Johnson hasnt been bad , but Alberts , Kanko , Spies & Vermeulen ahead of him in my no.8 line.

• 102.David: Reply to this comment

#96 BASH!:
    The main problem with Ashley is that he’s busy converting to a hooker. So who’s the backup for Brussow, apart from Schalk?

• 103.Puma: Reply to this comment

#94 cab: :lol:

• 104.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#98 rugbygenius:

So where and when has he displayed this brilliance then?

• 105.cab: Reply to this comment

#97 rugbygenius:
    demas is an average wing who could be alot better if he had heart like mapoe, spies played well today, johnson’s good too, brussow is outstanding and must forget about his kicking duties at scrumhalf since he is brilliant otherwise.

• 106.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#91 David: IRB regulation 9 states the players must be released 5 days before a test in an international window. Wales are having trouble getting Peel released because the Wales/NZ test falls outside the test window.

JDV and Steyn could play but it’s pointless talking about it as PDV isn’t going to select them.

• 107.henno: Reply to this comment

The SS commentators tonight mentioned that Mapoe has a sevens contract with SARU, so that’s probably why he’s not in the squad. Could do him well to play there for a season and then come to the fifteens Bok setup with improved skills.

• 108.puff: Reply to this comment

I think the Boks might just play their first choice lineup in the first game to prepare for France.
    Then the new kids will play the mid week against Saracens.
    Then a mixture of new and old against Italy.
    And a full strength against Ireland.

• 109.cab: Reply to this comment

#99 rugbygenius:
    all the oppo need to do, is hit rose hard once early on and that will be it, balls spilled, kicking, etc.

• 110.David: Reply to this comment

#97 rugbygenius:
    With your nic, I suggest you think before you speak.

• 111.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#100 wp_boytjie:

Definitley think Alberts should have been there but Kanko isn’t suited to the NH or our current style of rugby. Duanes a great player too, but Johnsons bigger and more physical. Deysel confuses me because I know he’s a great player but he hasn’t done well enough to be selected this season.

• 112.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#103 BASH!: I felt that his outing against the B&I lions proved it ? And significant numbers of games at CC levels.

He gave us an idea of what he is CAPABLE of producing . Like a small piece of cake before you are given a full slice. We have only just had a taste of Earl Roses’s genius.

#108 cab: Contrary to what many think , I feel that Earl is ox-like in the strength department. It’s just he gets caught off-guard at at times. And who doesn’t ? Earl will prove to the world he is king.

• 113.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#101 David:

Yeah I get that but maybe his form will convince the Cheetahs coaching staff to leave him at 8. MNO idea, Maybe Dewald Potgieter?

• 114.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#109 David: Friend – I don’t see why Earl deserves so much criticism. He has what it takes. He just needs oppurtunities to show it. Nobody shouts when Frans Steyn takes 200 drop kicks and only scores 3 of them . Yet Rose has better foot work but that goes unnoticed.

• 115.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#111 rugbygenius:

Uhm, Yeah, I respectfully disagree. Even when he’s at his best he’s not quite up to the standard of alot of players who missed out on selection for this squad.

• 116.puff: Reply to this comment

This is who the youngsters going on tour should be playing against in the midweek games.

1. CJ Van Der Linde
    2. Schalk Britz
    3. BJ Botha
    4. Juandre Kruger
    5. Gerrie Britz
    6. Luke Watson
    7. Wikus Van Heerden
    8. Joe Van Niekerk
    9. Neil De Kock
    10. Butch James
    11. Brent Russell
    12. Jean De Villiers
    13. Marius Joubert
    14. Philip Burger
    15. Frans Steyn

16. Daan Human
    17. Danie Coetzee
    18. Ross Skeate
    19. Shaun Sowerby
    20. Michael Claasens
    21. Derick Hougaard
    22. Ronnie Cooke

That should give us a good indication of how healthy SA rugby is.

• 117.cab: Reply to this comment

#112 rugbygenius:
    lol, ox-like, i like your positive spin on things, what is your drug of choice?

• 118.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#114 BASH!: Yes we will have to disagree on that point. But we need Earl Rose. World rugby needs him. For if he is not playing at a global level – we shall be infintely poorer. Earl Rose is the future.

• 119.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#116 cab:

BWAHAHAHAHAH

• 120.puff: Reply to this comment

And when they come back they should also play against:

1. Wian Du Preez
    2. Adrian Strauss
    3. WP Nel
    4. Stephen Sykes
    5. Anton Van Zyl
    6. Francois Louw
    7. Duane Vermeulen
    8. Willem Alberts
    9. Jano Vermaak
    10. Burton Francis
    11. Gio Aplon
    12. Peter Grant
    13. Waylon Murray
    14. Lionel Mapoe
    15. Joe Pieterson

16. Wicus Blaauw
    17. Tiaan Liebenberg
    18. David De Villiers
    19. Jean Deyzel
    20. Rory Kockott
    21. Jacques Louis Potgieter
    22. Luziko Vulindlu

• 121.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#116 cab: No drugs only sober rugby vision. My comments unsettle peoples because they are true. And sometimes the truth is hurting. Earl is not having to make big tackles every game. His job is not like that of Brussow. He is a point scoring machine not a big smasher !

• 122.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

:mrgreen: Juan de Jongh :mrgreen:

• 123.cab: Reply to this comment

#121 rugbygenius:
    fair enough, they are very unsettling, but please continue.

• 124.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#119 puff: what’s this team?

• 125.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Rose and Adams aren’t good enough, end of story. Mapoe is very unlucky not to be included. Earl Rose FFS!? Is he PDVs lovechild?

• 126.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#117 rugbygenius:

Let’s put it this way, even if Earl Rose was some sort of diamond in the ruff, future Christian Cullen or something, he still hasn’t played well enough to be selected. Son’t you think players should be selcted on form as well as promise? Don’t you think there are other players who have also shown promise but also played alot better?

• 127.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#122 cab: Yes- you can see what I’m saying. It is my hope to coach the Bokke some day.

• 128.puff: Reply to this comment

#123 SpringbokSarah:

It’s the team the new caps going on tour should come back and play against.

• 129.puff: Reply to this comment

And 115 is a team they should play against on the end of year tour.

• 130.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#121 SpringbokSarah: I’m a Province fan but I think Mapoe deserves it more than De Jongh. Rather give the oke a season in SuperRugby then bring him into international rugby if he makes the grade. Mapoe has the X factor, make no mistake.

• 131.ad_oz: Reply to this comment

#125 BASH!: You pick Earl Rose for the same reason you pick someone like Bob Skinstad; on the basis of what he might do, not necessarily what he will do.

• 132.SimiJan: Reply to this comment

Chuffed for Hargreaves, disappointed for Deysel and Nel. Mapoe has a contract with SA 7′s, giving him another year to hone his skills is a good move. He’ll be a Bok in time. It’s not a bad side…

• 133.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#125 BASH!: But they HAVE been selected on form – Ashley Johnson for example. Our countries answer to Jerry Collins yes ?
    Wynand ?
    Maku ?
    Only doubtful selection choice is Raubenheimer.
    PDv has made a good mixture of form and classy potential.
    To make a cake you must mix eggs (classy potential) and sugar (form).
    You can’t just put too many sugars ? Even if its tempting . You need the eggs.

• 134.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#127 puff: we’re doing that?

#129 jonnymain: He’s talented no denying that. He’s also young. But so was Frans Steyn and he has a world cup on his CV

• 135.cab: Reply to this comment

#133 rugbygenius:
    “To make a cake you must mix eggs and sugar. You can’t just put too many sugars ? Even if its tempting. You need the eggs.”

Coach de Villiers is that you?

• 136.David: Reply to this comment

#119 puff:
    You need David de Villiers at 5, not van Zyl. He should compete against Sykes for the 4 spot.

• 137.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#130 ad_oz:

That just doesn’t cut it though. Bob was a much better player then Earl Rose. I’m not going to lie an say that I have seen flashes of good play from im when he’s at ten but the negatives far outway the possitives. The guy is a liability.

• 138.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#134 cab: :)

• 139.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#134 cab: Thanks for the compliment but Pdv is more of a genius at our sport than I will ever be .

• 140.cab: Reply to this comment

#138 rugbygenius:
    look forward to seeing your selections pay dividends, rose has his moments, but he;s a bietjie bang.

• 141.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#134 cab:

BWAHAHAHHAHA ROFL, OMG that was funny, I’m in tears

• 142.David: Reply to this comment

#140 BASH!:
    Calm down, lad.

• 143.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Aaah, his Greatness has made some interesting and dare i say, visionary, selections indeed
    His Greatness will create yet another piece of history by delivery consecutive 100% EOYT’s
    Keep that moustache trimmed and those shoes shiny old PdV, for you need to look your best when collecting IRB Coach Of The Year Award
    All Praise To The Great One! :-)

• 144.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

Where is Mapoe?

For f*cks sake why Earl Rose. I can safely say that he’s the worst player on that list.

I’ve never said this about any player in my entire life but he’s as close as you can get to a “quota” player.

PdV should know better!

• 145.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#142 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Preach my brother !

• 146.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#132 rugbygenius:

I totaly understand he Ashley Johnson selecttion (even if he was a little anonymous tonight). Bandisa Maku (spelling) is another player who is very talented and has shown it when he was given the oppurtunity (for the Emerging Boks vs The Lions for example). But Earl hasn’t been on form and if he has then he is one of the worst rugby players in the country. Honestly, he wouldnt even make the Boland first 15 if I

• 147.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#145 BASH!:
    If was coaching them

• 148.cab: Reply to this comment

#143 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:
    lol, the president arrives, you may say visionary, tho some folk are scratching their heads at the hargreaves one for sure.

• 149.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#139 cab: When Earl sidesteps Rougerie to score the match winner . The World will know the name Earl and he shall be revered and given the respect he deserves.

• 150.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

Whilst teeth are knashed over the interesting selections I see a squad more than capable of delivering a full set of victories
    The all conquering 22 for the big tests and a mid week squad with enough talent to see off them club sides

• 151.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#131 SimiJan: A fellow DHS Old Boy made it.

• 152.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#145 BASH!: Earl has never reached his full potential . The reason for his selection has been to allow him a platform to develop. How good would Helgaard Muller have been if the same policy was applied back then ?
    Even if Earl doesn’t play on the trip. Or if he plays badly. He must still be selected CONSISTENTLY until he shows us his stuff. The diamond is there – it just needs to be exposed.

• 153.cab: Reply to this comment

perhaps it is best not too question the great one while he is at work.
    he’s in the kitchen at the stove cooking up a storm.

• 154.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#148 rugbygenius: No he won’t. He’s more likely gonna f*ck it up like he did for his provincial side on countless occasions.

• 155.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#153 Ezee-23: Yes – but even is he is making a few slips and slides IT DOESN’T MATTER. He is learning. He just needs consistent selection. So what if he loses us a game or two ? We need to develop his potential. Sooner rather than later he will set the world alight like ol Cullen or Jason Robinson.

• 156.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#147 cab:

Do understand, scratching me head at old Earl …
    Share your sentiments at post 25
    That said, reckon this squad can deliver a full set of victories
    The test 22 speak for themselves
    As for the midweekers, Leicester are not at their best and doubt whether Sarries are going to put out their best 22 (in doing this, risk upsetting the best start they’ve had to a Premiership season in several years)

• 157.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#148 rugbygenius:

I really hope that both you and Div are truelly genius’ and that some of the surprize selections in this squad peform very well. It would be wonderfull for S.A. rugby. Oh and as much as it pains me to say it, Well done Bulls. Cheers people.

• 158.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#151 rugbygenius:

Believe strongly in every coach having the luxury of 1 or 2 personal selections
    Earl kinda feels like Jacque Cronje (bless his butterfingers)
    Faith from the headcoach whilst not much delivery from the player

• 159.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Repost: “there is a warrant out for his arrest after drinking under the influence of alcohol – didn’t influence selection.” – Ricky is hard. Anybody who drinks while under the influence of alcohol is plain crazy. Thank God he didn’t try drive…..

• 160.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#156 BASH!: Thank you bash . Cheers .

• 161.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#157 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Earl is there strictly on merit.

• 162.cab: Reply to this comment

#156 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:
    yes maybe you right, still some guys must feel a bit hard done by, i think thats always the problems with these big sqaud selections. lets hope the back-up talent dont leave egg all over the face and the omelette is not underdone.

• 163.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#154 rugbygenius: “So what if he loses us a game or two?” Are you kidding? Peoples jobs are on the line as well as players’ reputation.

If PdV takes our best side and manages to lose because of an Earl Rose mistake Earl won’t be the one who has to answer to SARU it’ll be PdV and the captain.

You don’t learn on the job, you should arrive having amassed the right credentials and then from there you build on your experience.

• 164.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#162 Ezee-23: The Earl situation is different. Earl is special.

• 165.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#160 rugbygenius:

As I believe was jacque
    The respective coache’s believe in them
    Me point was rather, despite Jakey’s continual polishing of Jacque, the diamond never shone
    IMO, Earl seems similiar

• 166.liefling: Reply to this comment

a matter of time until derick kuun joins cj and bj in a what could be a quality bok pack! 1st choice hooker overlooked by 2nd and 3rd team. Nokwe is a joke of a selection, Mapoe is an all round player and not just a burst of speed!

• 167.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#161 cab:

True
    There are broader issues at play
    It would be silly to deny this
    Its where we are as a reborn nation right now
    With time, do believe the longer term strategic objectives will be achieved with these broaders then playing less of an influence

• 168.David: Reply to this comment

BTW, what’s this sh*t about the Blue Bulls being the first side to win the S14 and CC in the same season? The Vodacom Bulls won the S14 and the Vodacom Blue Bulls won the CC. If the FS Cheetahs won the CC it wouldn’t be the same as the Vodacom Cheetahs S14 side or the difference between WP and the Stormers.

• 169.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

I missed this.. are Boland and Leopards still in?

• 170.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#167 David: … who cares?

• 171.cab: Reply to this comment

#167 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:
    yip, but he;s gotta keep half an eye on the ball – be very sad to undo all that has been achieved this year.

• 172.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Has anybody checked to see how Ricky is handling this? Do me a favour, check all the local pubs

• 173.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

Some interesting choices here!

Happy Riaan Viljoen is being given an opporunity, as well as Ashley Johnson (better than Kankowski as back-up for Spies), Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard and Dewald Potgieter.
    Glad to see Allistair Hargreaves coming through the ranks. Future Bok captain right there.
    Very interesting to see Davon Raubenheimer chosen. Don’t know if he’ll ever be international quality. Same goes for Ndungane – would rather have seen Mapoe or even Bjorn Basson in there. Heini Adams, Earl Rose, Bandise Maku and Jongi Nokwe make me wonder if it’s just merit selections though…

Altogether, I’m sad to say, this won’t be enough to defeat France on their home turf. And the Irish will be a close game.

• 174.David: Reply to this comment

#169 SpringbokSarah:
    WP could never win the S14, so I do, as well as every other WP supporter should. The media is creating a legend about the Bulls out of ignorance that needs to be stopped now.
    It’s like the story that the 2 oceans meet at Cape Point.

• 175.David: Reply to this comment

#168 SpringbokSarah:
    Boland’s out.

• 176.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#173 David: WE’RE THE SAME PEOPLE!

Vodacom Bulls and Blue Bulls
    Vodacom Cheetahs and FS Cheetahs
    Vodacom Stormers and Vodacom Western Province
    Auto and General Lions and Golden Lions

We are represented by the same players, same fans, same stadium and the same security guards outside the stadium.

• 177.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#174 David: agh shame our poor neighbors…

• 178.David: Reply to this comment

#175 SpringbokSarah:
    Vodacom Cheetahs include Griquas.
    Stormers includes Boland.

• 179.David: Reply to this comment

#175 SpringbokSarah:
    And please don’t tell me that you also believe the marketing hype that the Indian and Atlantic meet at Cape Point, when they actually meet at Cape Aghulas, the southern most tip of Africa?

• 180.nama1: Reply to this comment

#4 RedLion: They did not get the cop. They decided to go and play overseas knowing the PdV’s policy of not choosing foreign based players. Get it?

• 181.nama1: Reply to this comment

Why don’t we just take every player who played CC or Super rugby this season on tour?

Some of you guys are just crazy. There’s only 37 spots open for the tour. I would like it if you guys would also suggest who YOU think should be left out in place of the player that YOU think should have gone on tour.

• 182.JUSM: Reply to this comment

how bizarre

no mapoe

wat de fok my ou?

waar is mapoe

so bizarre

• 183.nama1: Reply to this comment

#7 David:
    They’ll be there come 2012-2018 and they’ll destroy all trying to take then on. Mark my words. WP is nie verniet van Loeriesfontein nie. Die enigste plek in SA met ‘n windpomp museum.

• 184.nama1: Reply to this comment

then =them

• 185.nama1: Reply to this comment

#12 puff:
    “No Sarel Pretorius.”
    Now that is a sentiment I agree with. What di this guy have to do to get higher honours? Play for the Bull’s, Wp or the Sharks? If you are good, then your good, no matter where you play. THIS GUY IS GOOD.

• 186.nama1: Reply to this comment

#17 tarryn:
    “our idiot of a coach’
    Here we go again. I knew the honeymoon wouldn’t last. Not with SA’s fickle fans. You’re so predictable.

#29 tarryn:
    You don’t have to, you know?

• 187.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#151 rugbygenius: Earl Rose was selected consistently for the Lions thios season and he didn’t do anything! He doesn’t desrve to be there!

PdV has to justify his selection of Rose and pick him as his number 1 fullback on this tour. Let us judge him then, but he probably will only feature in the week games. If Rose is this amazing talent – a confidence player – why wasn’t he picked at fullback for the Boks when Jantjies got injured? He is being named in the same league as Ruan (and this is not a racial thing!, PdV seems to have the same high regards for both players if you read his statements), but why did did he feature in 3N?

I have nothing against Rose, I just hate it when coaches (all coaches) make these absurd statements and want us to swollowthem!

• 188.fsjakes: Reply to this comment

#185 nama1: You know, people have a problem when their intellegence get insulted. That is exactly what PdV and Hoskins did with their statements. Do you honestly believe that all the players there are picked on merit?

• 189.nama1: Reply to this comment

No, I don’t,

Do you honestly believe that all Bok teams in the past were selected on merit. Example, Adrian Richter ahead of Tiaan Strauss in 1995 WC squad?

• 190.nama1: Reply to this comment

#187 fsjakes:
    I do however believe that it is the prerogative of the coach to select whoever he thinks will suite his game plan/long term vision or any other reason he sees fit.

My role as a supporter is exactly that: support the coach in his decisions as I am not privvie to all the behind the scenes stuff. I am not going to wait to see how many games he win before I decide to support him, like so many did since his appointment. I’ll rather support him until he starts losing regularly before I jump on him.

• 191.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

Eish I see Hollywood are at it again with Invictus:

Morgan Freeman’s accent is pretty bad for a so-called method actor – he pronounces Francois with an american accent! And Matt Damon just looks too boyish to be Francois Pienaar, he does do a better job with the accent than Di Caprio ala Blood Diamond – god that was a kak attempt!

I suppose its good that it will give rugby exposure and SA is being presented in a more positive light for a change but the whole thing is ruined for me by actors like Freeman and Damon acting like they usually do.

I have to say that in District 9 and Tsotsi were revelations of South African films being purely South African made and featuring homegrown actors not so self obsessed Hollywood types pretending to be South Africans.

• 192.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#191 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: I see you cant post links on here…just go to youtube and you can find a link to the trailer there or at rugby dump.

• 193.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#186 fsjakes:

Earl Rose is nothing more/ nothing less than Snor’s nephew-in-law!

He’s hond-kak…

• 194.Hondo: Reply to this comment

It will be nice to see JS leads a ‘Boks’ team with Rose, Steenkamp. Chiliboy, Johnson, Nokwe, Ndungane and Jacobs,,,,
    Gee, Mrconet, Maas and Swesrsky scruming down against Steenkamp and Chiliboy and The Beast
    The Boks will have to rush Shimanga as a replacement

• 195.rugbywriter: Reply to this comment

Tremendously dissapointing team. So much more young talent that could have made the cut

• 196.Jeffers: Reply to this comment

What…..Raubenheimer of Griquas ahead of Francois Louw, Duane Vermeulen, Frans Viljoen, Willem Alberts & Deon Stegman??? This cannot be true! Also, no Wicas Blauw, Wian du Preez & WP Nel…this is a traversty! Earl Rose ahead of Joe Pietersen, Hennie Daniller as well as Peter Grant & J-L Potgieter?

The selections for this tour must rank as one of the wierdest, non-sensical selections since Straueli was in charge!

• 197.Jeffers: Reply to this comment

Then not to mention Chilliboy & Maku or whateva his name is as back hookers…..gee wizz….Liebenberg is the stand out hooker of the Currie Cup….not to mention Adriaan Strauss….how on earth does a 3rd rate hooker get selected into a Bok team ahead of worthy candidates???

• 198.Papoose: Reply to this comment

#12 puff:
    Heargreaves is a former sa U/21 captain, Huge potential,
    whats the point of recognising talent early on and forgetting abt them, look what happened to Rathbone, better to keep them in the system and the best place to show the faith that was already passed on is an EOYT
    Mapoe very unlucky i must say,but thats the problem in SA
    too many blacks on the wing
    Odwa was in the team that beat NZ in NZ this year and there’s no reason he should now be axed,
    Nokwe on the otherhand i wouldnt have been sad to see dropped but he does have international experience. its a toughie
    ont compare Riaan Viljoen, Odwa Ndungane and Mapoe. Latter 2 r wings, Viljoen is a fullback with a HUGE boot
    thats how we breed them in Kimberley, look out for another boot in the form of Francois Steyn

• 199.Papoose: Reply to this comment

#17 tarryn: i hate to say this but this sounds like a comment from a girl

• 200.Papoose: Reply to this comment

#44 Klinchkie: I guess the greatvthing abt SA rugby is we can have such debates
    i dont rate Rose either..but i think PdV has earned the right to have 1 or 2 “coaches pick” in a squad of 37

with that said..can every1 leave the earl Rose debate to bed now

• 201.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

#74 RedLion: LoL! Yip, young Earl is an enigma to us all

• 202.Jozi: Reply to this comment

PDV’S persistence with Earl is perplexing to say the least.
    He’s actually doing more harm to Earl than he realises.
    Every time Earl plays he’ll be under pressure to vindicate the coach’s faith in him.
    He was already getting booed at Ellis park every time he made a mistake in the Lions jersey.
    Not ideal if you’re a youngster trying to establish yourself in the national team.
    Good luck Earl may you prove us all wrong but if I feel for you.

• 203.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

#154 rugbygenius: how many chances do you want to give Rose?? He might have been a good junior player but junior talent doesn’t always equate to making it bigger in the senior teams. He has been given countless chances and still manages to bugger up consistently.

His only consistency is the consistency to consistently lose games or put his team on the back foot and under pressure.

• 204.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

#195 Jeffers: div has a few more screws loose than straueli

• 205.Dunx: Reply to this comment

some good selections but again it shows how PdV is blind to the talent and form that is on in the CC how did Adams and Maku get in they dont deserve to be there, strauss should be there and then scrumhalves there are others as well, sharks and lions have gr8 scrummies

• 206.siener: Reply to this comment

#203 fish out of water: Div moves in mysterious ways, but as long as he keeps breaking winning records left, right and centre it’s hard to criticize him.

The comparison with Straeuli is completely misplaced. Straeuli selected a different team every week – he thought that coaching was just selecting the right players and that’s it. His relationship with his players was very poor and there was no sense of camaraderie or trust in his squad. He has the worst winning percentage of any Bok coach ever and he suffered record defeats against just about every team he faced.

In each one of those instances Div is the exact opposite of Straeuli.

I often disagree with Div’s choices, but at ther end of the day the scoreboard doesn’t lie.

• 207.siener: Reply to this comment

The inclusion of Rose is still the most perplexing choice. No matter how talented he is, he has shown time and again that he does not step up to the plate in the big games when it really counts.

Time and again he has been thrown in at the deep end with the hope that he will swim and time and again he has failed.

If he is to have a future in SA rugby I would say that he rather has to drop down to a smaller union like Griekwas where the pressure is less and he can build some confidence.

Heinke is also a weird choice. He hasn’t played any rugby since April and according to reports here on Keo, he was only going to start playing again in next year’s S14. Even weirder is the fact that JC calls Heinke a “good selection”. In my mind there are many props who played well in the CC and deserved a call-up ahead of him.

Isn’t it about time we give someone else a chance ahead of the Ndungane brothers? They have served SA well as solid second stringers, but there is so much exciting young talent on the wing to choose from.

The one glaring omission is Adriaan Strauss. When he got his chance in a Bok jersey last year through the injury of the top three or four hookers he grabbed it with both hands. Since then he played brilliantly for the Cheetahs and has shown himself as a great leader as well.

• 208.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#204 Dunx:
    Dunx, Look at the positive aspects:
    Lobbert and Shimanga were not selected
    It is what it is, and we all will have fun if PdV will pick a Boks lineup comprised of mostly of darkyes
    Part of the blame must fall on the senior players who prop up this farce, John Smit already has won it all, he can step down in dignity without making any confrontations, a thundering silence travels far.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.