Selections highlight flawed system

Several tour selections reiterate a sad truth that Peter de Villiers and the Currie Cup coaches aren’t on the same wavelength.

De Villiers has defended the selection of Earl Rose time and again, choosing to ignore the player’s inconsistent offerings in the Super 14 and Currie Cup. He’s rather blamed the Lions’ coaching staff for not giving Rose more opportunities at flyhalf, where De Villiers feels Rose is best.

Chiliboy Ralepelle will tour with the Springboks this November despite playing understudy – when he was fit – to Derick Kuun for the better part of 2009. Bandise Maku is one behind Ralepelle in the Bulls’ hooker queue, but bizarrely has also made De Villiers’ 37-man touring party.

Adriaan Strauss and Tiaan Liebenberg have enjoyed fantastic seasons for the Cheetahs and WP respectively, and have also been involved with the Boks before. It would have made more sense to take these players on tour, as they wouldn’t let the Boks down if Bismarck du Plessis succumbed to injury.

For De Villiers to say Maku has made the touring squad on merit is an interesting statement, as it suggests neither form nor game time in the domestic and Super 14 tournaments are pre-requisites for national selection. Maku is talented and deserves to play at Super 14 and Currie Cup level, but what has he done in those tournaments to deserve elevation to the national squad?

Maku’s selection may be justified if there weren’t other players performing, but that just isn’t the case. It could be justified if Liebenberg (27) and Strauss (23) were on the wrong side of 30, but that isn’t the case either.

Rose is the classic example of a De Villiers favourite keeping a more deserving candidate out of the national set-up. There are other backline players that deserved to tour, WP’s Peter Grant as well as the Cheetahs’ Lionel Mapoe just two that come to mind. In the case of Grant, the tour would provide an alternative flyhalf the opportunity to gain game time so that if Morne Steyn broke down, he would slot in seamlessly. In the case of Mapoe, it would provide an up-and-coming youngster the opportunity to take the next step. Unlike Maku and Rose, Mapoe has earned the right to be there through his consistent performances in the Currie Cup.

There are other players that will feel frustrated. WP flanks Duane Vermeulen and Francois Louw have been outstanding this season, as has Province loosehead Wicus Blaauw. The young flankers would have benefited immensely from a tour experience, but instead De Villiers has opted for Griquas’ Davon Raubenheimer. Instead of Blaauw or other impressive young props like WP Nel and Coenie Oosthuizen, De Villiers has gone for Gurthro Steenkamp, a player that was embarrassed at scrum time in the Currie Cup final.

The decision to take a perfectly good loosehead in Heinke van der Merwe and switch him to tighthead is also ludicrous. Why not give this promising player from the Cheetahs a go? If Os du Randt feels Nel is national prospect, why aren’t the national selectors taking that suggestion to heart?

It’s hard to have faith in De Villiers’ masterplan to defend the Boks’ world title when it’s clear his view differs from that of the Currie Cup coaches. When Ruan Pienaar went back to the Sharks, they played him at No 9, even though De Villiers wants him to get game time at 10 and 15. The Lions prefer to use Rose at fullback or off the bench, while Ralepelle and Maku are regular bench warmers at the Bulls. One way or another, it’s not a healthy situation for Springbok rugby.

De Villiers and the respective coaches need to iron out their communication problems and work toward a common goal. It’s no use to the Boks if a South African side wins the Super 14 or Currie Cup without the starting players De Villiers plans to utilise at Test level.

By Jon Cardinelli

503 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 251.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#250 Robzim: ‘NZ will become champs in their own country’

doubt it, lot of contenders in 2011, the French team will be maturing nicely

• 252.grant10: Reply to this comment

#250 Robzim: Hi Rob

Cant see Smit seeing it through….i just for the life of me cant see another 2 years of retreating boik scrums….Heinke…Buys…WP NEL…CJ and Bj will bring the heat….

If we go in prepared to come off 2 nd best boks will be beaten.

• 253.grant10: Reply to this comment

BH…How is Cj….BJ …doing over there???

• 254.grant10: Reply to this comment

Robzim….whats your take on the squad??

Did you watch the final or grab a wave yesterday?

• 255.grant10: Reply to this comment

Rob….check out that Coenie Oosthuisen oke from cheetahs ….bloody hell…,that okes a mmean monster tighthead/Loosehead….wouldnt mind him getting an opportunity down the line.

• 256.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#251 Big Hit:

Sure, the French will be in with a chance, they always are, but as u know they are very inconsistent – on their day they can beat anyone but the next week they might lose against Scotland or Somoa. That is why I doubt whether they will ever win the wc.

I think SA might have peaked too soon while the AB’s and Aussies are both building up quite nicely.

By picking fourth and fifth choice players as back ups for the end of the year tour the selectors are also not doing us any favours.

• 257.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#254 grant10:

I watched the game. The Cheetahs lost it within the first 20 minutes – after that they were only playing catch up.

I think it is a terrible squad – some of the choices just do not make sense.

We all know that picking a rugby team is not an exact science – we all have our favourites and we are all biased to a certain degree – but some of the choices are just plain ridiculous imo.

I mean Chilli AND Maku ahead of Strauss or Liebenbergh?
    Who is Hargreave?

To me it just does not make sense.

• 258.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#256 Robzim: Yes – beware the French. The ‘new breed’ have managed to shake the tag of ‘unpredictable’ probably as a result of proffesionalism.
    France will be in the semi-finals of the next world cup. Guarenteed.

However ….

Keep an eye on

1.) Welsh
    2.) Australians.

Both have some superb talent and are building depth that will cause a few surprises next world cup.

• 259.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#255 grant10: Yes – you are right he is imposing. He is no Mujati or Hayman but he is talented.

• 260.grant10: Reply to this comment

#257 Robzim: I sensed your ‘outrage’….

At the end of the day i am pleased for some but of course it is not neccessary a 2nd bok team ….for sure there are better players being left at home…

Transformation is a driver….that much needs to be accepted as part and parcel of the reality. I think your offence is more at Hoskins saying merit is theonly driver….clearly it is not so.

ADriaan Strauss was superb yesterday…..

The Heinke move is a clear indication that PDV believes there is a dearth of 3 s in SA….WP Nel will be dissapointed.

• 261.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#257 Robzim: Chilli is a rare talent – he deserves his place. He has leadership skills like that of Sean Fitzpatrick.

Maku is still to earn his stripes – a good future prospect. But Strauss deserved a tour.

• 262.grant10: Reply to this comment

#259 rugbygenius: I know little of him except Os rates him highly…..after seeing him come on yesterday i understand why!

• 263.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#258 rugbygenius:

Yip, I forgot about the Welsh, they are indeed picking up nicely and also have an excellent coaching staff.

The 6 nations next year will give us a good indication.

• 264.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#258 rugbygenius: keep your eye on England bud, all these injuries are allowing us to build depth, we’ll be a force in 2011.

• 265.grant10: Reply to this comment

Great opportunity for the dirttrackers to go play some attractive rugby and make a name for themselves….

Wonder when the team for Fri nite game will be announced??

• 266.grant10: Reply to this comment

#264 Big Hit: any news on CJ…BJ…?

How are they doing BH??

• 267.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#260 grant10:

Yip, Hoskins pissed me off with his bullsh@t lying talk.

If I was Duanne for example I would have gone overseas without even having second thoughts.

Hopefully these guys are more patriotic then me.

• 268.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#263 Robzim:

Yes – can you imagine Lee Byrne, Jamie Roberts, Mike Phillips, Alun Wyn Jones etc on the rampage AND in their prime ? They could destroy anything put in front of them . Even the Bokke or All Blacks.

I see the Welsh easily scooping the 6 nations. Only Ireland can match them from the home nations. The English seem to think the return of Wilko will be a major turning point for them.

• 269.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#266 grant10: Van der Linde started at tighthead for Leinster, they hammered Cardiff. I only caught the last 5 minutes of Munster/Ulster but the Ulster scrum looked surprisingly good against what is essentially the Irish pack. JDV scored again.

• 270.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#264 Big Hit: Potentially. But as it stands, a 1/4 final place is probably what Johnson and Co should be aiming for .

• 271.grant10: Reply to this comment

#267 Robzim: LOL…well i hope so Rob…Stormers need all the help they can get!!

• 272.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#268 rugbygenius: lol come now, Wales won’t win the 6N. It will be France or England, check the way the fixtures fall. Wales have a lot of talent but they lack power in the forwards, bit like NZ this year.

• 273.grant10: Reply to this comment

#269 Big Hit: Thanks BH….i owe you a couple of cold beers you ever in Cape Town for the updates….both will be back prior to 2011…BJ confirmed as much….

• 274.cab: Reply to this comment

Bokke going to win in 2011, bank on it.
    i knew they;d win in 95 and 07, mind u i thought they;d do it in 99 too, but did;nt count on the great honiball being dropped.

• 275.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#272 Big Hit: France are definite contenders. Man for Man Wales are a better team in my opinion. Name one English player who is better than their Welsh counterpart ? Vickery is the only one I can think of .

• 276.grant10: Reply to this comment

#274 cab: yeah…i also reckon we will win it in 2011……we all know kiwis will choke , especially with the added home pressure….

• 277.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#270 rugbygenius: that’s what they said last time :) We’re the 3rd most successful World Cup team and there will be fewer injuries with no club rugby during the summer before the RWC.

• 278.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#276 grant10: They are incapable of choking a home . All Blacks HAVE to win this one.

• 279.grant10: Reply to this comment

Are the poms gonna be able to field a half decent team….seems every day they lose a player to injury….bizarre!

• 280.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#260 grant10: no i’m not a driver! Can you believe this guy? He says i’m a golf club?

• 281.grant10: Reply to this comment

#278 rugbygenius: no chance…kiwis will choke as night follows day….will never handle the heat….

Boks will be a far better outfit in 2011 as 2007….

• 282.cab: Reply to this comment

#276 grant10:
    kiwis wont choke, they be in final with boks if in the other segment, but boks be too settled. i’m pretty certain we looking good, just gotta find a new 4 for test level to back-up bakkies – not sure how he is going to hold out the next 2 years, already struggling to get up from rucks.

• 283.David: Reply to this comment

#267 Robzim:
    Check my post 171 for my take on the selections and tell me what you think.
    I think we’re reading far too much into the fact that certain players were excluded.

• 284.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#275 rugbygenius: There are quite a few when everyone is fit, but look out for a few new names like Matt Banahan, Courtney Lawes, Shane Geraghty and many more to come back from injury. Keeping our guys fit is the biggest challenge.

• 285.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#268 rugbygenius:

Yeah well if Jonny can stay fit he might make a difference – brilliant player.

I doubt whether he will be enough though. They do not seem to have enough quality and depth to back him up.

Last time they won the wc they had at least 4-5 world class players – at the moment they are not a long way from that?

• 286.grant10: Reply to this comment

#280 Transformation: LOL…how you my man?
    Man u doing the business again!!

• 287.grant10: Reply to this comment

#282 cab: they will choke in final….no…not true….they will get beaten by Boks in semis…i think thats the draw!

• 288.grant10: Reply to this comment

#282 cab: Bakkies looking MOEG!!!!

• 289.grant10: Reply to this comment

I wont easy bet against a team with Jonny Wilkinson in it….

He is the real deal ….class.

• 290.cab: Reply to this comment

#287 grant10:
    oh ****, semis, i dunno if that is a big enough game for them to choke, that is probably the ideal draw, cos they wont be expecting to win v Boks, whereas in the final the expectation will be overwhelming.

Bokke going to peak next year, but will have enough to carry it thru with the senior players being young enough to do an england 2003 and sneak in. the big difference is brussow and a worldclass flyhalf in morne steyn, who is the new naas botha, machine=like BMT.

oh yes, its ours, i will start composing songs already…

• 291.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#286 grant10: i’m doing great chap, how are you doing? I saw that, berbatov scoring some top drawer goals, damn!

Chelsea running rampant, ‘Pool back to “Losing Ways”…

I see pdv’s squad has ruffled some feathers…can’t wait for Keo’s ramblings tomorrow in the Business Day…

• 292.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#283 David:

David, if that is what they want to do and if that is the message that they have communicated to the “obvious real second choice” players I have no problem with it.

Unfortunately Hoskins came up with his statement that they have only selected on merit.

It is confusing to say the least and if I was a player like Vermeulen or Strauss I would have gone for the Euro’s.

• 293.grant10: Reply to this comment

#290 cab: Easy peasy….kiwis will be petrified of us…..

But we mustnt play our okes into the ground…my big concern is 2009 has been a killer season ….best ever i reckon….but the toll it has taken on some of our veterans may come back to haunt us…..

• 294.grant10: Reply to this comment

#291 Transformation:Ja…but PDV has delivered more in 2009 than could of ever been expected….so its in PDV we trust!

Yes…L Pool are such a strange team ….so inconsistent…..but always seem to raise it ahainst Man u….watched some of the spurs Arsenal game yesterday….now that Fabregas is very special….

• 295.grant10: Reply to this comment

#292 Robzim: I do hope the communication with the players is 1 st class…or else frustration will inevitavly result in Euro and even Aussie deflections….

• 296.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#293 grant10:

LoL, we cannot denied the kiwi’s of the ultimate glory for ever.
    My guess is that they will take it in 2011.

We will be moeg, depending on an ageing captain and will probably be home after the semi’s with lots of excuses.

And Pieter will then be fired and become a gospel singer in the Paarl.

• 297.grant10: Reply to this comment

#296 Robzim: LOL….no Rob….those Kiwis just kak themselves when the heats on….at home it will be 10 times worse….

I am concerned at the aging nature of the pack though….some okes look out on there feet….will really have to nurse the J Smiths , Bakkies..J Smit and V Matfield in particular….putting them through this eoyt is a major ask….

• 298.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#297 grant10:

Rest/rotate the buggers during the S14 and CC, never at the expense of the Boks !!, still plenty of time for them to be well rested come 2011 !!

• 299.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#297 grant10:

LoL, John should not be nursed, he should be fired before he cause any further damage to an already dodge scrum.

I am taking my unfit body for a run now.
    If the wind does not blow me away we can discuss the issue a bit later.

See u.

• 300.grant10: Reply to this comment

#299 Robzim: cheers boet…
    #298 justrugby: Ja…problem is the franchises just as bad!!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.