Selections highlight flawed system
1 Nov 2009
Several tour selections reiterate a sad truth that Peter de Villiers and the Currie Cup coaches aren’t on the same wavelength.
De Villiers has defended the selection of Earl Rose time and again, choosing to ignore the player’s inconsistent offerings in the Super 14 and Currie Cup. He’s rather blamed the Lions’ coaching staff for not giving Rose more opportunities at flyhalf, where De Villiers feels Rose is best.
Chiliboy Ralepelle will tour with the Springboks this November despite playing understudy – when he was fit – to Derick Kuun for the better part of 2009. Bandise Maku is one behind Ralepelle in the Bulls’ hooker queue, but bizarrely has also made De Villiers’ 37-man touring party.
Adriaan Strauss and Tiaan Liebenberg have enjoyed fantastic seasons for the Cheetahs and WP respectively, and have also been involved with the Boks before. It would have made more sense to take these players on tour, as they wouldn’t let the Boks down if Bismarck du Plessis succumbed to injury.
For De Villiers to say Maku has made the touring squad on merit is an interesting statement, as it suggests neither form nor game time in the domestic and Super 14 tournaments are pre-requisites for national selection. Maku is talented and deserves to play at Super 14 and Currie Cup level, but what has he done in those tournaments to deserve elevation to the national squad?
Maku’s selection may be justified if there weren’t other players performing, but that just isn’t the case. It could be justified if Liebenberg (27) and Strauss (23) were on the wrong side of 30, but that isn’t the case either.
Rose is the classic example of a De Villiers favourite keeping a more deserving candidate out of the national set-up. There are other backline players that deserved to tour, WP’s Peter Grant as well as the Cheetahs’ Lionel Mapoe just two that come to mind. In the case of Grant, the tour would provide an alternative flyhalf the opportunity to gain game time so that if Morne Steyn broke down, he would slot in seamlessly. In the case of Mapoe, it would provide an up-and-coming youngster the opportunity to take the next step. Unlike Maku and Rose, Mapoe has earned the right to be there through his consistent performances in the Currie Cup.
There are other players that will feel frustrated. WP flanks Duane Vermeulen and Francois Louw have been outstanding this season, as has Province loosehead Wicus Blaauw. The young flankers would have benefited immensely from a tour experience, but instead De Villiers has opted for Griquas’ Davon Raubenheimer. Instead of Blaauw or other impressive young props like WP Nel and Coenie Oosthuizen, De Villiers has gone for Gurthro Steenkamp, a player that was embarrassed at scrum time in the Currie Cup final.
The decision to take a perfectly good loosehead in Heinke van der Merwe and switch him to tighthead is also ludicrous. Why not give this promising player from the Cheetahs a go? If Os du Randt feels Nel is national prospect, why aren’t the national selectors taking that suggestion to heart?
It’s hard to have faith in De Villiers’ masterplan to defend the Boks’ world title when it’s clear his view differs from that of the Currie Cup coaches. When Ruan Pienaar went back to the Sharks, they played him at No 9, even though De Villiers wants him to get game time at 10 and 15. The Lions prefer to use Rose at fullback or off the bench, while Ralepelle and Maku are regular bench warmers at the Bulls. One way or another, it’s not a healthy situation for Springbok rugby.
De Villiers and the respective coaches need to iron out their communication problems and work toward a common goal. It’s no use to the Boks if a South African side wins the Super 14 or Currie Cup without the starting players De Villiers plans to utilise at Test level.
By Jon Cardinelli

503 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All
1 Nov 2009, 19:12 pm
#300 grant10:
Tough calls re the bigger picture will need to be made !!
1 Nov 2009, 19:15 pm
#298 justrugby: Hear hear!!
Select a full strength team for every test and blow away the opposition. Build a winning character.
And then let the guys only play 50% of the S14 matches and perhaps no CC matches.
End of story.
1 Nov 2009, 19:19 pm
#302 Boerboel:
Agree Boerboel, these are the decisions that have to be made to keep the Boks the No1 side in world rugby !!!
History has shown that common sense does not always prevail…….let’s learn from history and not repeat it !!!
1 Nov 2009, 19:19 pm
#294 grant10: Cesc is magical, i enjoy watching him play, i wish the arsenal cats would just give the ball to all the time, he is a genius!
1 Nov 2009, 19:21 pm
#301 justrugby: yes….see you at about 10 am tomorrow boet?
Will confirm in the morning?
1 Nov 2009, 19:22 pm
#302 Boerboel: HI Boerboel….how is the leg??
Rather rest them in the CC…
That super 14 is like the Holy Grail…
1 Nov 2009, 19:23 pm
#305 grant10:
Cool !!
1 Nov 2009, 19:23 pm
How disappointing.
Jannie Poep vs WP Nel (Heinke retreaded? Why?)
Earl Rose vs Lionel Mapoe (No Burton Francis?)
Maku vs Liebenberg & Strauss
Hargreaves?
No Peter Grant.
One could go on.
1 Nov 2009, 19:24 pm
#304 Transformation: Ja….that oke…Messi…Ronaldo….priviliege to watch them…geniuses at work.
1 Nov 2009, 19:24 pm
#306 grant10:
But in the year prior to WC……takes back seat big time ….imho !!!
1 Nov 2009, 19:25 pm
#308 SodaJoe: Lions being messed around now….see they talking about moving Buys to hooker to accomodate Heinke at 3…..
This has a knock on effect…and all because of accomodation selection.
1 Nov 2009, 19:26 pm
#310 justrugby: absolutely….then its all about Bill…
1 Nov 2009, 19:29 pm
#310 justrugby:
In fact if money was mot the driving force I would like to see the S14 alteranted with the 3N’s, ie one year S14, next year 3N’s (or 4N’s), to have both in same year plus Cc is what is killing the players !!
1 Nov 2009, 19:29 pm
#311 grant10: Ridiculous.
Buys Maku Heinke. That would be a terrifying front row.
What really irritates me is the lying, not even obfuscation. They make themselves look stupid.
Maku has more potential than Chili, but needs to play. At least Burton Francis has the balls to put his hand up to say I am good enough to be first choice in the S14. Unlike Heini Adams or Chiliboy.
1 Nov 2009, 19:30 pm
#313 justrugby: The are playing too much rugby. For me the bigger issue is the November tours vs S14 & CC.
1 Nov 2009, 19:31 pm
#313 justrugby: ja…great idea that!!
1 Nov 2009, 19:32 pm
#314 SodaJoe: erxactly…pis ses me off…anyway…till later gents….
1 Nov 2009, 19:33 pm
The Australian s14 rules need to be more flexible to take in South Africans, Argentinians, Georgians, Islanders, etc.
Kockott
Vermulen
Liebenberg
Sykes
WP Nel
Wian du Preez
Coenie Ooosthuizen
Joe Pietersen
If I was these guys I would get on a plane. They are all international standard.
2 years to qualify for Aussie citizenship.
1 Nov 2009, 19:33 pm
#302 Boerboel: Agree always play our best for the Boks.
Think we should in the S14 too. That is where we are building our strength from.
Bok players in the S14 should be rested for the CC.
1 Nov 2009, 19:37 pm
#315 SodaJoe:
The Nov tours are important from a brand perspective……unless it’s a grand slam it usually only 3 games and the travel schedule is not that hectic……the S14 and 3N”s are killers with the intesity plus the travel……having said that, money dictates !!
1 Nov 2009, 19:37 pm
Victor 32
John Smit 31
Bakkies 30
CJ 29
Juan Smit 28
Gurthro 28
JdV 28
FdP 27
Schalk 26
Habana 26
Jacques Fourie 26
Bismarck 25
Morne Steyn 25
Kirchener 25
Heinke 24
Spies 24
Joe Pietersen 24
Brussouw 23
JP 23
Frans 22
Hougaard 21
De Jong 21
Mapoe 21
young uncapped props:
WP Nel 23 (112 kg)
Kevin Buys 23 (120 kg)
Wickus Blaauw 23 (125 kg)
Coenie Oosthuizen 21 (126kg)
Thats a young squad still with a very good balance of ages.
1 Nov 2009, 19:39 pm
France will be there at Wc 2011 with Nz. We be fortunate to get past semi’s. If we go to final again will be a huge achievement with a bunch of overused over traded jaded jockeys jostling for position. I reckon this time France will get to finals, they’re due a big one. In fact they should have been in 95 final because Bevan disallowed the Benazzi try in the rain under the posts in the semi’s. They were robbed and we got the spoils instead.
1 Nov 2009, 19:39 pm
#319 Puma: I disagree, look at the players who come through through the testing ground of the last rounds of CC.
November tours should be like what NH do to us in June – C teams. Rest the big guns then.
Great game yesterday.
Our talent is now so good we could win the WC again. But we are doos’.
WP Nel is by far the best tight head in the country.
1 Nov 2009, 19:41 pm
#306 grant10: Hi Grant, leg is almost out of the brace now, now the op is on the horizon!
1 Nov 2009, 19:41 pm
#321 cab: There are a lot of permutations that could be picked on merit that would be better than what was chosen, and still fulfill transformation AMBITIONS.
1 Nov 2009, 19:42 pm
Naand manne, hoop dit gan goed.
1 Nov 2009, 19:42 pm
#320 justrugby: Why boet they do it to us in June. In their national jerseys. England is the worst.
Rest the guys.
Our C team is talented enough to win.
1 Nov 2009, 19:43 pm
#326 WilladieLeeu: Hello boet. Still irritated.
1 Nov 2009, 19:45 pm
#322 skopskiet: They will be there.
2011 is a way to go. The Big guns will all have a good shout: NZ, SA, Aus, France, Ireland, Wales, England.
The ones who will drop down will be Argentina. There golden age needs to be resuscitated.
1 Nov 2009, 19:45 pm
hoop die been herstel goed boerboel
1 Nov 2009, 19:46 pm
#328 SodaJoe:
With what Soda?
1 Nov 2009, 19:46 pm
#327 SodaJoe:
Lol…..I want to hold on to that No1 spot !!!
1 Nov 2009, 19:47 pm
#330 skopskiet: Thanks Skop
1 Nov 2009, 19:49 pm
#331 WilladieLeeu: 2 things – some of the Bok team selections, but more the blatant lying about the selections.
I am really disappointed for soem of these young men, who put everything on the line, give everything to have a shot at playing for the Springboks, and then get shafted.
1 Nov 2009, 19:51 pm
#332 justrugby: Lets just win 3N and World Cup then worry about #1.
Our C team should play in June & November with a few B team okes.
1 Nov 2009, 19:52 pm
#324 Boerboel: Boerie Roll, what’s up with your leg?
1 Nov 2009, 19:53 pm
#325 SodaJoe:
ja there are, but still perhaps the wee maestro conjuring?
#326 WilladieLeeu:
lol, naand willa.
1 Nov 2009, 19:53 pm
#336 SodaJoe: I played rugby with my grandson and broke the fibbia! Done the ligaments as well. Damn, I’m not 25 anymore!
1 Nov 2009, 19:57 pm
France tend to play equally as good away as they do at home. They always been good on the road. Took Nz to the wire in 87 Wc, have beaten Nz and Sa away a few times. Cleaned us up in 65 I think it was in Springs Pam Brink Stadium I was there my first test match live. And cleaned up Jakes team 3 times with a draw. Jake never beat France once. They might be temperamental but when on song like that 99 semi when they ran Nz ragged from behind second half they are something else once the belief kicks in.
1 Nov 2009, 19:57 pm
#338 Boerboel:
were you trying the crashball Boerboel?
1 Nov 2009, 19:58 pm
#334 SodaJoe:
If these guys are our futute when our A team retires….were screwed.
You know SARU, they think the SA rugby public are total idiots.
1 Nov 2009, 19:58 pm
#334 SodaJoe:
As I said to Robzim, read my post 171 for my take on the reasons behind those selections.
BTW, it’s a 3 year residency period in Oz, not two, and the current ARU rules don’t allow for that many foreign players in the S14. 1 marquee (international) and 1 development player, or 2 development players if no marquee. They must also be approved by the ARU. Most of the players mentioned would be too old to qualify.
1 Nov 2009, 19:59 pm
#337 cab: Cab there are good guys in that squad. Make no mistake.
But I really resent the destroying of a young man’s dreams for the wrong reasons.
WP Nel – breaks my heart. No reason for Jannie Poep to be in that team.
One can go on, but it’s all been said already.
1 Nov 2009, 19:59 pm
#337 cab:
Hallo Cab, hoe voel dit om n Leeu te wees op hierdie great Sondag-aand? Nou weet n ander span ook hoe dit voel om al die trofees moontlik in een jaar te wen.
1 Nov 2009, 20:01 pm
#342 David: Dave, as I said- they should change their rules, especially if Melbourne get the 15′th team.
But hey – I suppose it may be an illustrative point.
1 Nov 2009, 20:02 pm
#340 cab: No, tried to kick a ball 10 million miles!
I’m out for a while, see you guys later, maybe..
1 Nov 2009, 20:03 pm
#343 SodaJoe:
deysel, vermeulen, alberts, potgieter – also all under 25
there is too much depth coming thru, its a south african era coming and its only going to get stronger with more black talent coming thru. Bokke will be back at No1 permanently.
#340 cab: I think he had on his Bakkies Botha #4 Bok jersey and “hit” a ruck. But the ruck hit back.
#346 Boerboel:
ha ha … night
1 Nov 2009, 20:05 pm
#344 WilladieLeeu:
hehe, ja bulle het skoongemaak, nou moet ons hulle bietjie les leer.
het jy gehoor dat miskien kom justin harrison na leeus?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All