Gifting Bok blazers
2 Nov 2009
Token black players continue to be selected for the national squad, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.
A domestic final with an inevitable script and a Springbok touring squad so predictable that every newspaper got it 100% correct ahead of the announcement.
The Bok squad leaks to the media were to soften blows about selections such as those of Earl Rose and the Griquas duo of Riaan Viljoen and Davon Raubenheimer. Bandise Maku and Chiliboy Ralepelle were also Springbok tour inclusions, even though they were never the first-choice hookers in the Bulls’ victorious Currie Cup campaign.
South African Rugby Union president Oregan Hoskins felt the urge to put it on record that this was a touring squad selected on merit. The fact that he felt compelled to tell us this was a squad selected on playing ability alone, means it was not.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers, as with his predecessors, is entitled to his own opinion on players, and he will argue that those selected are the best in their positions. Anyone with half a brain knows it is nonsense and the squad of 37 is bloated by black numbers, with very few of those players possibilities for the three Test matches.
The message it sends to the players left behind is that very little has changed within South African rugby and, despite the quality of black players, there are still black players gifted a free blazer and tracksuit at national level. Political pawns have walked the same path, only to be cast away afterwards.
Pity the black player who deserves to be there on ability because there are a few who aren’t good enough who continue to be selected.
There is no argument that can be made to justify Rose’s inclusion. Currently he does not deserve to be a Springbok. Given the need to find greater black representation, the biggest shock is the omission of Cheetahs wing Lionel Mapoe. Outside of Bryan Habana, Mapoe has been the form wing of the Currie Cup and there is no explanation that will convince me he was not good enough to go. When you get a player like Mapoe, you pick him and give him an overseas tour to settle into the Springbok dynamic.
With Mapoe the selectors missed a trick. With a few others they’ve played a trick on what it takes to be a Springbok.
The selectors and bosses at South African rugby have also ignored the advice of sports science specialist Dr Tim Noakes, who suggested that the senior Boks had to be rested this month if they were to make it to the 2011 World Cup. All of them were picked and all those who starred against the British & Irish Lions and in the Tri-Nations will play another month of rugby. As Noakes warned, the damage is already being done, but the extent of that damage will only be seen in a year.
The Bulls Springboks, in particular Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez, were instrumental in the Bulls 36-24 Currie Cup final win against the Cheetahs, but they looked like two great players tapping into their last reserves. They were monumental in the final, but they were also tired.
Do the duo, the best lock and scrumhalf in the world, have two more Test matches in them this season? And what will the long- term consequence be of playing them against France and Ireland? Emotionally they must be drained.
Too much is being asked of the senior players on this tour, that should have been used to strengthen the depth of the squad. The results should have been secondary to the 2011 World Cup planning, but the fact that De Villiers has picked his strongest starting Test XV, excluding overseas-based players, means this is a tour that will be defined by results.
The attitude towards the tour short-changes the Boks, just as the selections short-changed some of those players who were outstanding in Saturday’s final.
That the Bulls deserved to win is not in question. No team wins easily against the Bulls in Pretoria, but to gift them a 24-point start after 20 minutes ended the contest before it had even started.
The Cheetahs were brave. Some may even say they were heroic. But with a 24-point cushion the Bulls were always two scores to the good. It was a quality final, but the identity of the Springbok squad unfortunately said more about South African rugby than the climax to the domestic season.

114 Comments
2 Nov 2009, 13:43 pm
#45 puff:
Good on you. If most supporters would be able to show that kind of attitude, I may agree and say, let’s take that route.
But as you know, we’re SA’s and demand/expect the Bok team to win every match they play in. Just think back to the reaction of the people after the experimentation in the 3rd test vs B&I lions. I don’t think PdV will want to set himself up like that again as he also hate losing.
2 Nov 2009, 13:43 pm
#21 usualsuspect: Derick must feel the same way Chilli feels at the Union. As I’ve said it before and I think someone else here has said it. If PdV was coaching the Bulls, Chilli would be the 1st choice hooker and Derick 2nd.
That being said, being 1st choice or 2nd choice depends on the head coaches preferance…I would like to say it should be mainly on playing ability.
2 Nov 2009, 13:45 pm
#50 rugbygenius: Earl Rose is a Fiat Multipla in purple with suspiciously high mileage and no service history.
2 Nov 2009, 13:50 pm
#53 katman: At the end of the day – Earl is catching the plane to Europe. Instead of insulting him us Bokke fans must do like how the Aussies do and GET BEHIND HIM ! You do not hear Australians insulting the selection of James O’ Connor yes ?
Lets back Earl with all our hearts and souls !
Lets start an Earl fan club – make some Earl t-shirts and coffee mugs etc . Lets get our kids some Earl posters and encourage them to play rugby. Let Earl know we love him and hold him high !
Earl is OUR player ! We must back him against our opponents yes ?
2 Nov 2009, 13:53 pm
ha ha ha ha you can feel as you read the words how amped up keo must’ve been when penning this opus and dying to email it to peter bruce by yesterday afternoon. Cry all you want keo, an article about tokens and players not deserving and no mention of allistair hargreaves, meyer bosman, heinke (@ tighthead), farcical!
Show them up pdv, the provincial coaches have carte blanche to select whoever they want & have been abdicating from further exploring with black players in their teams. Let them eat cake.
2 Nov 2009, 13:57 pm
#54 rugbygenius: He’s still a light purple code 3 Fiat Multipla with shot rings and a Vin number that doesn’t match the chassis number. I’d strongly recommend staying away.
2 Nov 2009, 13:59 pm
#54 rugbygenius: you cannot seriously compare Earl Rose to James O’Connor. O’Connor has more talent at the end of his little toe than Earl Rose will ever have. O’Connor is in the team based on talent alone.
Rose was a decent junior player but he isn’t good enough for senior rugby. He makes the wrong decision too many times and doesn’t seem to be able to cut it at the top.
Rose does not deserve to be there. End of story.
2 Nov 2009, 14:05 pm
#56 katman: I can see I can’t covince you Sir. Fair enough.
#57 fish out of water: As a South African I can only believe Earl is better over some Aussie.
The point with Earl is that he NEEDS SOME OPPORTUNITY ! AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE. Even if he fails to perform – he needs consistent selection. Again and again and again . Eventually he will show the world what he is capable of. He needs top flight rugby on a very regular basis. He also has plenty potential ‘star power’ . Attracting young people to the stadiums etc . He would sell many t-shirts etc for SA rugby . he could be a very successful brand .
2 Nov 2009, 14:10 pm
#53 katman: that is funny bru.
2 Nov 2009, 14:11 pm
#58 rugbygenius: As a South African I believe Earl Rose is seriously over rated. He has been given every opportunity under the sun and he hasn’t been able to make it. The only thing he has been capable of is to show that he is not good enough.
Your nickname is a walking contradiction.
2 Nov 2009, 14:12 pm
#6 Bouts: what about Mapoe?
He’s been awesome.
2 Nov 2009, 14:13 pm
#56 katman: Bwahahahaha….very funny
2 Nov 2009, 14:13 pm
#12 siener: with rose it’s not quota, he’s just k*k.
2 Nov 2009, 14:14 pm
#60 fish out of water: We will have to agree to disagree on that one Sir. I’m sorry but Earl has not received anything like a fair chance. He needs much, MUCH more. But you have a right to your opinion. I just say we must unite behind the Bokke on Friday .
2 Nov 2009, 14:18 pm
since john smit, vic matfield & fdp are coaching the side, they must stage a “protest” against all these quotas by not initiating them like the ostracized luke. That will send a message to pdv & his manne that they as the “senior” players are not happy with springbok tracksuits being handed out williy nilly. How many tracksuits does chilli have now? yho he probably could open his own bok spaza now.
2 Nov 2009, 14:20 pm
The best position for Earl “The Pearl” would be carrying the oranges into the change room at half time…
but then again, he might make the incorrect decision and drop the bag…
2 Nov 2009, 14:20 pm
#51 nama1:
Ah yes, well, I can’t speak for anyone but myself.
But, as far as the 3rd B&I Lions test goes, I too would’ve played more of a first-choice line-up to try and ensure a 3-nil drubbing.
This end-of-year tour though – different story.
Although, now that I think about it, I wouldn’t want the Irish to beat us.
They’ve beaten us over there too often lately and Ronan O Gara deserves to be on the losing end again after he arrogantly refused to shake Dewald Potgieter’s hand at the toss-up before the Emerging Boks/B&I Lions game.
Plus the record should be set straight as O Gara blatantly cheated when he took that quick tap while John Smit went to go speak to his players during the White era. Some may call it opportunism and say you shouldn’t blame O Gara, it was the ref’s fault. But still.
Also it’s been a while since we beat France in France, so…
Hmmm…
It seems there’s much to play for on this tour after all.
2 Nov 2009, 14:57 pm
do u really feel chilli boy or maku should be boks
to all those who r mocking keo for this article at least he can tell the truth
or earl rose they r not good enough full stop
and only there for window dressing i am all for black boks
but they must earn it like everyone one else
like adi jacobs or habana they have proven there worth
2 Nov 2009, 15:02 pm
why didnt waylon murray make the bok squad he should have
2 Nov 2009, 16:41 pm
#67 puff:
Yes, much to play for and yet people want our first team Boks to rest and sacrifice the matches against France and Ireland.
Also remember that Italy gave the AB’s a real run for their money earlier in the year. They are not the pushover people make them out to be, especially at home.
2 Nov 2009, 17:02 pm
#68 klippies101: Yes, I think Maku should be the Bulls’ first choice hooker. Kuun is mediocre and Chilli is a sick-note.
None of them is as good as Strauss though. The touring hookers should be Bismarck, Strauss and Maku.
It was a good move to call up Hargreaves. Call it succession planning. The guy has all the physical attributes to be a Test-quality lock – more than 2m tall and more than 110kg. Not many of our young up-and-coming locks actually have the physical stats required of the modern Test lock.
Johann Muller cannot feel hard done by, since he is ****.
Ndungane and Nokwe ahead of Mapoe? WTF???
Meyer Bosman is awesome and thoroughly deserves his call up.
Heinke??? Give me a break. He’s been injured since forever and he isn’t even a tighthead. Having experimented and failed miserably with one loosehead as a back-up tighthead (Deon Carstens), PdV remains adamant that playing a loosehead out of position is the way to go.
2 Nov 2009, 17:21 pm
Cummon guys,
PdV has always wanted to play this open style of fast running rugbyand now he’ll get to do it against the Tigers if his tight five can win some decent ball. I mean- look at the team, guys!
1. Guthro loves to carry and mix it in the tight loose.
2. Chilli likes to carry and drive as well.
3. Jannie Dup has to do little more than anker the scrum.
4. Pakslae is always good for a couple of meters on the front foot.
5. Bekker loves to beat opposition centres on the outside and could probably outsprint Odwa if he really has to.
6. Brussow is already a legend in his time.
7. Dewald is the crown prince of loosies.
8. Ashley is the lucky packet.
9. Heini is mister accurate service.
10.Ruan has all the right moves at FH
11.Jongi can motor
12.WO is sublime this year
13.Juan de Jongh will be the find of the tour.
14. Odwa knows the tryline.
15. Earl, in spite of all his detractors, has the X factor.
So, imho, if this side clicks, we are in for some spectacular running rugby and support play. I would just have liked to see Dewald as captain. Chilli is a little rusted and game-time-shy and will need to focus his full attention on his own game.
2 Nov 2009, 17:37 pm
Ek wens die Boere van SA wil oor hulself kom. Hulle dink hulle het rugby uitgevind en vervolmaak. Hulle arrogansie ken geen perke nie en hul sal selfs hul landgenote slegmaak in hul soeke na daai 1 ding wat van hulle af weggevat is nl. WIT BAASSKAP. Hulle kan dit nie hanteer as dinge nie hul way gaan nie. Maar omdat hulle die media nog beheer, sal hulle ons vertel hoe swak bruin/swart/indier spelers is en hoe BJA BJA goed wit spelers is. Mark Keohane kan die grootste klomp K#@$%K skryf en hy sal nog altyd WIT mense kry wat met hom saamstem. KRY DIT IN JULLE F%&*%N DIK KOPPE. Dis nie net witmense wat kan rugby speel nie. Keo tell me just 1 thing plz. WHAT IS YOUR TAKE ON THE TOKEN WHITE PLAYERS IN THE CURRENT BOK TEAM????
2 Nov 2009, 17:47 pm
#73 Vaste6: Die boere maak die Bok span ongelukkig………….
Victor
Brussouw
Schalk
Smith
Spies
Du Preez
Morne Steyn
Francios Steyn
De Villiers
Olivier
J. Fourie
so f@#@$#@ aan.
2 Nov 2009, 17:48 pm
The hypocrisy of sa media and certain sections of the public never ceases to amaze me somehow its handing out jerseys to select black players on potential but selecting white guys on potential is ok?
Its almost assumed that when a white guy is selected its on merit and the reverse is assumed to be true so because Maku and chilli aren’t first choice hookersr at their province its assumed they are quotas but somehow Hargreaves also a bench warmer is a merit selection thats blatant double standards. As is often suggested about black players why doesnt Hargreaves turn down his bok blazer because he knows he doesnt deserver selection on merit ?
Don’t get me wrong I disagree with some of the selections but why do we need to single out black players when there are a number of white players who are fortunate to be there as well.
Riaan Viljoens form fell away badly towards the end of the cc
Heinke van der Merwe is very talented but it was a huge issue when ashwin willemse was selected coming back from injury now its fine i mean the guy hasn’t played in 6 months
Francois Hougaard like maku is very talented but third choice at the bulls not settled in the bulls line-up and only got selected on the wing due to injuries
The above selections haven’t even been questioned its blatant double standards. Udue pressure is placed on the black players while guys like Heinke , Hargreaves, Hougaard are allowed to comfortably developer at their and slowly settle into the international scene then we wonder why the black players arent making it at the higher level
2 Nov 2009, 17:48 pm
Ek wil eers die Bulle gelukwens met hulle fantastiese uitslae hierdie jaar!
Ek dink daar is geen twyfel dat hulle die beste in die land is nie.
2 Nov 2009, 17:49 pm
I really don’t understand all the hysteria over the youngsters picked for the midweek games against weakened club sides.
PdeVs looking beyond 2011 and has picked talented young players who probably won’t get much exposure during the S14, that’s all.
Keo has deliberately chosen to ignore the itinerary in order to write a controversial article, instead of applying his mind to analyse the possible reason for the selections.
2 Nov 2009, 17:51 pm
Nallie hoekom verdwyn jy nie net uit SA uit nie. Ons sal jou nie eens mis nie. Dis in elk geval nie jou land nie. Maar julle boere wil die meeste se en net die ander rasse afkraak. So f*&^kof man. Jy en jou wit gespuis.
2 Nov 2009, 17:55 pm
#73 Vaste6:
#78 Vaste6:
2 Nov 2009, 18:03 pm
Jozi just by calling me broer tells me you might be with me on this one. I get very annoyed by this white people, that, when they open their mouths it’s always how bad the rugby players of other races are- read quotas. But yet they are not willing to see when a white player is not chosen on merit. Why must our people from other races always just sit and watch how this BOERE will try to break us down? Our players are also our pride and somehow some people should start standing up for them. They will call us the K$%^KEST of names, yet we must just chill. That’s bullsh%$#t. I’m not chilling anymore. Die boere plus Mark Keohane moet ‘n slag vertel word.
2 Nov 2009, 18:14 pm
The best part for me is that Mark Keohane was more honest this year.
2 Nov 2009, 18:17 pm
Like I said in post 41, Keo, this kind of article does not generate the kind of hits that you would hope for any more. Most bloggers on here try to debate with their brains and leave the emotion out of it. Obviously, as with anything in life, there are exceptions.
Give us informative/analytical articles if you want the hits. Bring the players closer to the bloggers. Where is the Q & A sessions you used to organised with the Bok players? Bring it back.
2 Nov 2009, 18:19 pm
There’s nothing new with some of these selections mind you Keo… JW continued to select the likes of Shimange, Rose (at a time) and even had Wacko at FH at some stage – he also thought that fetcher’s is a make-believe fairytale persona, who’s sometimes good to get a cold bruskie… Likewise, Rudolph selected one of the most sh!test centre’s to have ever braced a Bok jersey in Jorrie. Coaches tend to select favourites (the token quota) etc., what’s important for me is that the starting 22 on the day do reflect our (almost) best test combinations.
On a different note, Harry “$” Viljoen flirted with the idea of kicks being gradually phased out of a rugby contest….
That’s not to say that Mapoe, Vermeulen, Stegman, A. Strauss should not feel disappointed because these dudes played their socks of and richly deserve a spot somewhere in that 37-man squad.
All I’m saying is that this selection disease is a chronic one; PDV won’t be the last to suffer from this. DAMN Sure the chap who wrote “Winning Ways” wasn’t either!
2 Nov 2009, 18:45 pm
#75 Redox: You are 100% correct. This article by keo smacks of racism. Sure, Ndungane, Nokwe, Adi, Rose and Chilli are questionable selections. But so are Hougaard, Viljoen, Kanko, Heinke (I mean seriously, WTF???) and Jannie. Why pick on the black guys, keo?
2 Nov 2009, 18:49 pm
#83 Pot Blou Gevaar:
Good post.
The problem is that everyone regards himself as a super selector and the coach of the team as stupid. In saying that I’m not only referring to PdV as the coach but to any coach, whether at local, provincial or national level.
2 Nov 2009, 18:53 pm
#84 pierre:
To start a fight amongst bloggers and get as much hits as possible.
2 Nov 2009, 19:22 pm
shame..doesnt seem like people are falling for Keo’s tirade judging by the number of comments
thank goodness
2 Nov 2009, 19:52 pm
To all those who respond to this article by speaking of “white quota players”, spare us your idiocy. Dubious selections who happen to be white (Hargreaves, Vd Merwe, Viljoen) cannot be considered quota players, because there is no pro-white quota. So why raise the issue of their race?
On the other hand, dubious black selections are quite obviously race-based. Their race is pertinent because this is what got them selected. That is the point of Keo’s article. Surely you have the mental capacity to understand that?
2 Nov 2009, 19:54 pm
There are no Bok blazers any more, surely? They’ve been replaced with Protea blazers.
2 Nov 2009, 20:28 pm
#78 Vaste6: If the moderator on this site does not have the balls to tell you, I will. Take your rassist rhetoric somewhere else please, and take Nallie with you. This is a rugby blog, and if we express our opinions as rugby fans here it has nothing to do with race. What every White oke, and every black/coloured/indian fan wants, is merit. Current white rugby fans were not respnsible for apartheid- we inherited by being born into it just like you, and just like you we could not choose the colour of our skin. Yes, there are major pricks amongst us, as there are amongst you guys, but by now I’m hoping they are dwindling in numbers. Your outbursts here are just a sad reminder of how deeply rooted racism is in this country. But I continue live in hope !
2 Nov 2009, 20:32 pm
#85 nama1:
Good on you, Pierre
2 Nov 2009, 20:52 pm
I say YES
to Mapoe, Maku, Juan de Jongh, Heini Adams, Zane Kirchner, Davon Raubenheimer, Lwazi Mvovo, Bazooka Vulindlu, Jongi Nokwe, because they all have some degree of merit.
I say NO to Chilliboy, Heinke, and the like because they are there currently , and are having their paths smoothed over at the expense of others- they are there on reputation only. They come back from injury and where I come from, I expect a man to prove his worth. They have not, although they might have potential, they are injury prone and there is nothing anyone can tell me that will change my mind.
The only way for me is if they prove it by playing between the four lines as fully fit players at a level which is at least comparable to other contenders in their position. They don’t have to necesarily be the best now, but show potential to become the best at some point in the near future through talent and application.
If there are no other contenders, then fine, but they cannot be advanced in the face of other serious talent.
2 Nov 2009, 21:26 pm
Typical quota 2nd Xv!! Bannana Republic, bannana 2nd XV! It all matches.
2 Nov 2009, 21:36 pm
Have not read the thread so I am sure somebody must have posted this already. But Hey, I want to say it and I will: Noakes must be brain dead to propose that the Boks must be rested for a BOK GAME OR TEST!!! Rest them during the S14 or CC ffs they are BOKS!!!!!
2 Nov 2009, 21:39 pm
#92 catleya: Heinke not injury prone…that was the 1 st major time out heinke has had??
But i agree with the sentiment…Heinke should have proven fitness first…especially as the switch to 3 is a huge one…
2 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
#95 grant10: My prediction: you put on dry pants as Heinke is going to kak at TH!!!
2 Nov 2009, 21:58 pm
#96 Boerboel: Fancy seeing you here!!
Are all the Keoites at the Awards at the moment?
Tumble weed blowing through here!
2 Nov 2009, 22:54 pm
#95 grant10:
Your sentiment about the change to three is exactly my point about Heinke. Even the best and fittest loosehead will require a lot of gametime to make the switch. How can they expect him to do it after such a major op and lay-off. It is crazy.
3 Nov 2009, 01:18 am
It’s sickening, really. Why leave out good players of colour like Mapoe…
Only guys deserving to be there are Habana, Pietersen, Beast, Ndungane and maybe Kirchner.
Bench boy Chili leading the Springboks (even if it is a zed grade side) puts a sour taste in my mouth.
3 Nov 2009, 02:04 am
Obviously some dubious choices. PDV has his views and he is a stubborn old stick. However, the Bok team is winning and all the players who tour contribute. So why not have some questionable choices. Why should a provincial coach infulence the Nok coach. One must assume that PDV has seen enought to ensure that his choice is solid.
Its all very well giving someone the job but then complaining how he does it even when he doing well at his job. This is South Africa where not too much always makes sense