Joost given the boot

SuperSport have fired Joost van der Westhuizen as a presenter/commentator after his confessions he made in his biography.

In the book Joost: The Man in the Mirror, the former Springbok scrumhalf admitted that he snorted drugs and featured in a sex video after denying it earlier this year.

SuperSport International spokesperson Clinton van der Berg said they have held meetings with Van der Westhuizen with regards to the matter and the two parties have agreed to part ways.

‘SuperSport has perused extracts from Joost van der Westhuizen’s biography and held discussions with him,’ said Van der Berg. ‘Following those discussions, SuperSport and Joost have mutually agreed to terminate the freelance agreement between them, forthwith.

‘SuperSport thanks Joost for his contributions as a commentator and presenter and wishes him all the best for the future. SuperSport shall make no further comment on this matter.’

Meanwhile, Van der Westhuizen has made a public apology in a recent interview with the Rapport.

‘I am very, very sorry that I lied. Please forgive me,’ he said.

218 Comments

• 1.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

sis man, some role model

• 2.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

Screw up, then write a book about it and make some money. A bit like Corne Krige.

• 3.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Foek, did you read the sunday times yesterday?

• 4.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dead, dead shark-like eyes.

No feeling.

Never trusted him.

• 5.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#3 Provincejoulekkading: no… what happened?

• 6.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#2 CharlieBrown:

Fool.

You can’t compare the two.

• 7.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#2 CharlieBrown: :-(

• 8.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#6 Dawn: He captained the Springboks on his test debut in a 101-0 victory over Italy in Durban :mrgreen:

• 9.Staal: Reply to this comment

Honestly say that i am glad that he has eventually told the truth.

He will struggle to forgive himself….. Hansie did.

But then again – he has done some stupid things in life and some good things…… like i did.

It’s gonna be a uphill struggle ….. but like NIKE says on their posters………

There is no shortcut to a comeback!

Ek gaanie die ou met klippe gooi nie!

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#8 SpringbokSarah:

I mean in terms of transgressions.

• 11.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

Firing him is ridiculous. Whoever said sportsmen are supposed to be saints? Regarding sportsmen and women as role models is stupid to begin with. Aside from having a career path that is in the limelight they are no different to the rest of us.

• 12.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

#5 SpringbokSarah: The dude(joost) talk talks about his wifes explosive diarrhea, thats not farking cool.

• 13.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#10 Dawn: shame man… poor captain

#12 Provincejoulekkading: sis man

• 14.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

#2 CharlieBrown:
    I suspect Joost released the book because of how desperate his financial situation is now (well from what I’ve read).

• 15.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#11 Cyborg:

So you think lying around with prostitutes and taking drugs while you have a family at home and are an ex Springbok rugby player is the thing to do.

• 16.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m now gonna go out and start ******** everything in sight, take some illegal substances, and wake up in the gutter.

Who cares.

• 17.Ig: Reply to this comment

Personally i feel this is a case of karma coming back to bite the man.

What i want to know is why hasn’t he been arrested for drug use? Last time i checked it was illegal.

• 18.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

those days anything went

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#17 Ig:

Morning babes.

• 20.Ig: Reply to this comment

#19 Dawn: Hey Dawn – how goes it….

• 21.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

“Man in The Mirror”? ‘Scuse me for being a cynic but is this not cashing in on the Michael jackson…thing? A movie about the pop icon with the exact phrasing was released 5 years ago…

• 22.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#20 Ig:

OK I suppose.

I don’t do Mondays.

• 23.Ig: Reply to this comment

#22 Dawn: No-one should have to do Mondays.

• 24.katman: Reply to this comment

SuperSport fired him first and foremost because he’s a really poor commentator. This shnarfing bj video was just more bullets in the SuperSport gun.

Now I wish I can uncover Bros and Stransky’s video’d indiscretions, although I shudder to think what those would entail.

• 25.David: Reply to this comment

#11 Cyborg:
    Yes you’re right, we all make mistakes. The only problem is that he was hired because he’s an ex Bok and a high profile figure. Most of the fuss had died down until the idiot went public in his book.
    Super Sport had no choice but to fire him, then.
    BTW, when his kids grow up, how do you think they’ll feel knowing there’s a book out there from their father, with all the sordid details?

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#24 katman:

Moeilik.

• 27.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#25 David:

That Cyborg comment is the stupidest I’ve ever seen.

No-one is thinking about the kids.

• 28.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#24 katman:

Historical Currie Cup final stats between the Bulls and Cheetahs are now about 9-1 in favour of the Bulls.

Just thought I’d mention it to you, you being such a stats fundi and all.

• 29.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#23 Ig:

Wanna join me for full house breakfast in Camps Bay?

• 30.ad_oz: Reply to this comment

Good stuff. Now if SuperSport could only find an excuse to get rid of more the rubbish..

• 31.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The most unprofessional commentating job I’ve had the misfortune to experience, was Bob Skinstad during the Bulls/WP semi final.

He was so biased it was embarrassing to listen to. Every call by the referee against WP was questioned, and the emotion in his voice when WP did something good was a dead giveaway.

Luckily, Matthew Pierce – despite not being a Bulls fan – was professional enough to try and give a neutral account of the game.

To hear Skinstad’s grudging admission when Pearce pointed out the unsporting behaviour of the Newlands crowd was sickening, really.

He really pissed me off throughout that match.

• 32.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#31 Tacitus:

Blah blah you hate WP and everything remotely associated with it except the stupid Blue Bulls supporting cullarts.

• 33.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#32 Dawn:

Why so angry, Dawnie? Bulls spoil your weekend?

• 34.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#33 Tacitus:

No.

I didn’t get laid.

• 35.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#34 Dawn:

That’s more info than I needed to hear.

• 36.David: Reply to this comment

#34 Dawn:
    You should have given Jooste a call. :)

• 37.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Good luck to Joost and his family.

• 38.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#36 David:

Gimme credit for some taste.

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#35 Tacitus:

I have ways to shut you up effectively.

• 40.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

My initial reaction was that a persons private life shouldn’t have an affect on their career.
    Then again why should Supersport’s reputation be smeared by an employee’s behaviour?
    Joost was a freelance commentator for Supersport that pretty much means that they could discontinue his employment at anytime for any reason.

Joost showed his maturity levels when he stated “A beautiful woman is making sexual advances and you have a pregnant wife at home what would you do?” Well Joost I would have gone home to my pregnant wife only an immature self obsessed *** would have opted to snort drugs and get a quick gobble.

• 41.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#36 David:

Where do you get off making a comment like this anyway.

• 42.Jozi: Reply to this comment

I never liked Joost’s commentating style anyway but to fire him because of what has emerged here is a bit unfair if you ask me.
    None of us know what Clinton Vd Berg does to titillate himself and neither should we because it’s his personal business but why be so judgemental on Joost?

• 43.katman: Reply to this comment

#31 Tacitus: Well I can clearly hear the emotion in your voice as you type your passionate criticism of Skinstad. You’re positively quivering.

But well done to your team anyway. They were pretty good on the day and deserved the victory.

• 44.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#42 Jozi:

Am I missing something here?

In the testosterone laden Moftus blue-air is this type of behaviour acceptable?

• 45.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#43 katman:

You’re very perceptive indeed. And there I thought I was hiding my feelings pretty well.

Thanks for the congratulations. As I mentioned earlier, my 15 point winning margin prediction wasn’t too far off the mark, in the end.

Although after 20 minutes I was really hoping for another Chiefs result.

• 46.katman: Reply to this comment

#40 DEE DAH: I didn’t get that bit either. Was he implying that having a pregnant wife at home was a mitigating circumstance for his behaviour? Because I thought it was the other way round – that having your wife carry your child made you fiercely loyal and protective of your family. Maybe I’m just old fashioned.

• 47.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#44 Dawn:

Let me venture into this Joost discussion by saying that I still admire him for his rugby skills, but my respect for him as a human being has plummeted.

Frankly, I don’t believe him when he says this was the only time he stepped over the line.

But, I hope he can turn his life around an become a good father and husband.

That’s all I have to say on the matter.

• 48.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#47 Tacitus:

As all rugby players should be discussed, what happens between the 4 white lines. This is afterall a rugby website, I am sure You or Huisgenoot has a blog on celebrities and their lifestyles.

He f-ed up, he has to own up – good luck to him.

• 49.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#44 Dawn: I’m not saying it is but what has that got to do with him and his ability to comment on the game that he played for so many years and a game which he obviously knows very well.

His private life is his private life. I agree what he did was wrong but is the criteria for being a freelance journo with supersport a pastor like reputation?

• 50.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

a mans weakness is a mans weakness even US presidents mostly come short, not to mention South African ones. Jfk and Marilynne, Bill Clinton and Monica, JZ and his house guest. Joost and the pro. Role models, ha, such things you only find in fairy tales. When it comes down to brass farthing’s its usually the hormones that have the last laugh.

• 51.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#48 PissAnt:

Indeed. However, I would be dishonest if I said my antipathy towards some other rugby players sprouted purely from their performances on the field.

The tattooed WP captain comes to mind, for example, and a few others.

So what’s good for the goose, must be good for the gander.

• 52.katman: Reply to this comment

#49 Jozi: If his ability to commentate was the main criteria, he would have been kicked out after his first SuperSport gig. Let’s face it, he got by on his celebrity status alone. As do a bunch of others.

• 53.Transformation: Reply to this comment

all the best joost, how were you supposed to know that the woman was taping the bloody thing? Lol…eish!!!

• 54.David: Reply to this comment

#41 Dawn:
    I was just trying to be helpfull.

#42 Jozi:
    We don’t know what Clinton does because he’s not stupid or self centred enough to write a book about it. :roll:

• 55.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#51 Tacitus:

The WP captain is no longer a problem.

He’s gone.

• 56.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#52 katman: Hahahahaha….ok on that one you’re right.

• 57.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#51 Tacitus:

Yes, indeed.

• 58.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#54 David:

Your version of helpful borders on offensive.

• 59.CharlieBrown: Reply to this comment

#6 Dawn: True, Joost was a far better player. He was a better captain too, never knocked his own player out and never disgraced the Boks whilest playing, which is more than can be said for ‘Staaldraad’ Krige.

What they do personally though i don’t care about.

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bunch of poncies here today.

“Indeeding” all over the place.

• 61.David: Reply to this comment

#58 Dawn:
    And your revelations about your weekends disappointment was the height of good taste. :lol:

• 62.Slappes: Reply to this comment

60 Dawn, not for long……

• 63.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#60 Dawn:

I have registered that word as my personal trademark.

I was using it long before anyone else, and will continue to do so!

• 64.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#50 skopskiet: I think sporting role models can exist, I can’t imagine Bryan Habana for example, getting involved in something like that off the field, many others too. Not judging JVdW tho, cast no stones and all that

• 65.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#59 CharlieBrown:

Fine.

Let’s petition the Vatican for Joost’s beatification.

• 66.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#61 David:

I deal in facts.

Who said anything about good taste.

• 67.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Joost at least yourre still loved in your hometown Danville.

• 68.katman: Reply to this comment

#64 Big Hit: That’s only if you live in a glass house. Is there something you’d like to get off your chest?

• 69.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#64 Big Hit: You see BH it’s that sort of thinking that made some people hysterical when Hansie admitted to his indescretions. It’s not wise to put these sports people on a pedestal they are human after all.

for all we know Habs may have already done the dirty with some poppie in bloem. To be honest I don’t care about such things all I want to see is a sportman perform to the best of his abilities on the field of play.

• 70.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#68 katman: it’s a biblical quote as opposed to the glass house one, “let he who is without sin, cast the first stone”.

• 71.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#69 Jozi:

Well I DO care, and I will continue to put these guys on a pedestal, and hold them to the high standards I have for myself.

And if they disappoint me one by one, well, so be it.

But my view of how people SHOULD live their lives, will never change.

• 72.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Supersport should’ve fired him a while back. Not because of the *** scandal but because he is a really **** commentator

• 73.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Red undies with holes, white socks and a few lines of white powder. All boxes ticked for a good ol Danville ho-down.

• 74.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#73 Slappes:

I sense a lot of hate there, mate.

• 75.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#74 Tacitus:

I sense a lot of hate when you talk about WP.

What’s different.

• 76.justrugby: Reply to this comment

The *** part of the scandal is one thing, Joos only answers to Amore for that, the drug taking is another issue though.

he has admitted that if it was available he would use it.

we all know the Joos was projected and perceived by most Afrikaans people as the golden boy with the clean cut, God serving image.

That is what has been tarnished and a whole lot of dad’s now need to explain to their kids why their hero did what he did.

But he has apologised and more than that he cannot do, I doubt whether he will save his marriage, but good luck to all of them, hope in the end it works out for all of them !!

• 77.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#75 Dawn:

Good question. Let me think about it a bit in order to formulate a good reply.

At the moment, you’ve pretty much got me.

• 78.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

what a doos. always has been and always will be. supersport should have booted him ages ago.

i am not sure who outside of pretoria would want to read his book

• 79.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#69 Jozi: personally I don’t think the idea that sportsmen can or should be role models should be entirely thrown out because of a few wayward individuals. I do take your point however.

• 80.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#71 Tacitus: I understand what you’re saying but these are sports people Tac not Religious leaders or presidents/prime ministers.

My moral convictions are mine alone, I cannot go around trying to force them on other people. I don’t drink alocohol for example and I get asked why my response is; I don’t like the taste of it and I also don’t like how people behave once they’re drunk but I cannot expect everyone around me to be like that.

• 81.gunther: Reply to this comment

#73 Slappes:

was it not the socks that had holes in them….I think you are letting your imagination run riot….

• 82.Staal: Reply to this comment

Die Blou Bul vreetie vannie vloer affie! :lol: :lol:

• 83.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

I don’t agree with what he did, and it’s none of my business.

But the fact that he didn’t have the balls to come clean when caught with his pants down, now that leaves a bad taste in the mouth and will make it damn near impossible to regain and credibility he might have had.

But good luck to his wife and kids.

• 84.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

#76 justrugby: if amor had any sense she would have given him the boot

• 85.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

what i dont read anywhere is a well done to the ref ???

amazing how many were saying kaplan is kak and would end up favouring one of the teams

he did neither and made for a great spectacle

WELL DONE MR KAPLAN you are the worlds no 1 ref

• 86.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Maybe a few full colour ‘action shots’ of his off the field activities might help shift a few more copies of his book. :mrgreen:

• 87.gunther: Reply to this comment

#76 justrugby:

I think Amore needs Joost….she is a very expensive girl…mind you I believe the U boat commander’s finances are dwindling…so who knows…

• 88.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

#76 justrugby: I agree. I attended a meeting where he spoke about his faith. I am also sure he has been on the front of Huisgenoot with Amor, looking like the perfect family man. In this situation he created a persona for himself that obviously benefited him. When he contradicts that, he must pay the price.

• 89.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Do punters even listen to RSA scribes after the bulshite Snor and Hoskins have fed them>

• 90.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

When the Bokke toured NZ in 94′ this guy was shagging my girlfriends sister, he was a w*nker then and it would seem he still is.

• 91.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#88 WOLFMAN21: people firstly lets not judge as we all make mistakes in life

but fact is yes joost has dissapointed many fans , young and old

• 92.ufo: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the Bulls on their Currie Cup triumph!!

Well done to the Cheetahs for making a close game of it… Put’s into perspective the Bulls S14 win and the state of SA rugby!

On topic…

Never been a big Joost fan but have to acknowldge his rugby achievements…

However, I think this whole thing has been blown way OTT by the media… Like everyone here I condemn cheating on your spouse… but heck… if they had to fire every rugby player, business exec, politician or priest who has done the same there’d be very few Chiefs and a helluva lot of Indians…

• 93.gunther: Reply to this comment

#83 Dantalian:

jeez you think you have a bad taste in your mouth?

what about the poppy in the video?

I suspect she is still gargling listerine as we speak…

• 94.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

#91 sharks_lover: Dude, like I said, I am not judging Joost, I am just stating that he portrayed himself as a God-fearing family man, which played a role in his popularity. If he contradicts that, he should pay the price, such as being fired from Supersport.

• 95.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

SO he admits it was him with the holes in the underwear?

• 96.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#92 ufo: true ufo

look at steve stof suier

nasty botha etc

they all have dark little secrets and i am sure many more

naas lied about his child and said not his till it was proven medically it is his child

and now a new child in the cape maybe???

anyhows like i said i aint gonna sit in here and judge anyone

• 97.David: Reply to this comment

#90 NZINCHINA:
    He was probably just trying to improve the rugby gene pool in NZ. :grin:

• 98.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#94 WOLFMAN21: woah never said you judged boet
    we re-iterating what you said

• 99.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

wolfie sorry mate i just read back how i stated it no wonder ya thought i was saying you were judging :lol:

• 100.gunther: Reply to this comment

#97 David:

lord knows its been a while since they’ve had a decent scrumhalf…

• 101.Slappes: Reply to this comment

NZinCH, mate thats not true, he in fact was shagging both sisters.

• 102.Staal: Reply to this comment

Heard John Robbie says Joost wasn’t only the best scrummie ever….

he says he was one of the 5 best rugby players ever in the world and maybe the best….

• 103.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

well maybe some here got the highest standards of human morality going as their compass of life. Perhaps some these good men follow the good book to the letter and woe betide the next. Its these self made pedestals that are the bane of a poor red blooded males conscience because only they know deep down what thoughts pervade their secret thinking. Now tell me which sportsman or president or pastor or politician or principled prince of fortune passes the true test. I know for a fact I don’t. I guess all you are saying is its relative to how principled and how morally upright you set your bar of morality. If you asking a human sports person to become a god, you practically begging him to fail and more often than not they’ll oblige your expectation.

• 104.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#101 Slappes: :lol:

• 105.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

#17 Ig:
    You need proof.

• 106.David: Reply to this comment

#102 Staal:
    This from a man who lives forever in the shadow of Gareth Edwards as a B&IL scrumhalf.

• 107.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Joost, Percy, Hansie, Dalton, Mulder, Small, wie nog ookal?

You looking for role models then sportsmen should perhaps be last on your list, like everyone else, they only human.

• 108.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

#93 gunther: :twisted:

• 109.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

#99 sharks_lover: No worries dude!

• 110.GrantsBatty: Reply to this comment

#102 Staal:

sounds like John Robbie must have been ‘hangin’ with Joost too.

• 111.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#107 skopskiet: Dead right Skop but the Media knows that there are people out there who love their heroes hence they build them up then destroy them. It’s been happening for as long as I can remember.

• 112.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

congrats to the bulls

• 113.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

How did they come up with the title of the book?

• 114.nama1: Reply to this comment

#21 BishopsOD:
    The title refers to a poem by Dale Wimbrow called, The guy in the glass. It has nothing to do with MJ.

Kitch Christie gave the 1995 WC squad the poem to read as part of their preparation. The message being that after all is said and done, you still have to answer to the man in the mirror, YOU.

• 115.Staal: Reply to this comment

#106 David: hehehehehehe – but he has seen a few…..

• 116.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#107 skopskiet:

You forgot to add Henry Tromp to your list, he’s right up there with Hansie.

• 117.David: Reply to this comment

#115 Staal:
    Yes, but through the bottom of the glass. :grin:

• 118.gunther: Reply to this comment

#113 Dantalian:

joost wanted to take advantage of the current michael jackson hysteria…

• 119.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#107 skopskiet: Whilst nobody is perfect, I don’t agree that a sportsman cannot also be a role model. Your Bryan Habanas, Richie McCaws, Os Du Randts, why shouldn’t kids look up to them and want to follow the example they set both on with their play and off the field with their manners, humility and good grace.

• 120.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#114 nama1:

He should’ve called it The Guy In The Glass, then.

All comparisons with MJ wouldn’t have happened.

• 121.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#114 nama1:

But then everyone would’ve thought Joost was Alkolis Anoniem.

• 122.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

#118 gunther: I see.

• 123.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

#119 Big Hit:
    it’s all good and well to be looked up to but would you like to live your life always looking over your shoulder hoping someone is’nt watching you

• 124.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

He should have called it ‘Hoereer en bekeer… en doen dit weer’.

• 125.ufo: Reply to this comment

#120 Dawn:

Hey Dawn…

Surely he should’ve called it…

“The Guy in the Video…!!”

farking smilies…

• 126.katman: Reply to this comment

#113 Dantalian: The name came to him as he bent forward over, rolled up 50 in hand.

• 127.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

#124 Dantalian: lol

• 128.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

#126 katman: Makes a lot of sense. :grin:

• 129.nama1: Reply to this comment

I think it’s a good title given the circumstances around his personal life. At the end of the day, he does have to explain anything to any of us but himself and his family.

In any case, Joost is much bigger in Pretoria than MJ. His supporters have probably never heard a song by MJ with that name! I mean, anybody who listens to Liefling, come on …

• 130.gunther: Reply to this comment

#126 katman:

indeed …. rolled up fifties are for second hand car salesman on the west rand and washed-up sports …personally I would never go below a leopard on the basis that they have been handled by fewer people…

• 131.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

BH until just recently Percy was part of that top echelon list of role model do gooders, then something slipped between cup and lip and down the spiral of morality we tumble.

Maybe some people are born with the good grace to be perfect role models, maybe something in their upbringing or inherent human psyche is above the pitfalls that beset others faced with temptation or their own human weakness and are able to stand up tall and not succumb. I wouldn’t start such immeasurable expectations on anyone, obviously there are degrees to righteousness and morality but even kings and prophets have been found wanting when push came to shove.

Who said but for the grace of who go I. Fame and fortune can be a bugger especially to someone not conditioned adequately to handle it.

Everyone makes their own bed and circumstance, but the mind is such it don’t take much to lose ones footing if you scrambling close to the edge of super stardom. Individuals are who they are, being a sportsman or woman hardly comes into the reckoning when it comes to determining morality or lack of it.

• 132.nama1: Reply to this comment

#129 nama1:
    Thinking about it, Liefling is probably playing day and night in the Joost household.
    “Liefling, kan ons nie maar vergeet en vergewe…”

How apt.

• 133.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Joost and Amor has until very recently been branded as South Africa’s own Beckhams. It is in the light of this aborted initiative that I suggest they call the next print run of the book: From Beckhams to Bokkoms.

• 134.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

…or ‘Van hoer tot in my moer’

• 135.katman: Reply to this comment

Personally I would have given the book a black cover with a curved, swoosh like line of white powder running across it. Beneath would be the words: Joost did it.

• 136.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Katman, Dantalion :lol: farkin funny!

• 137.gunther: Reply to this comment

or three stripes on the cover

with an acronym for All Day I Dream About ***..

• 138.cane: Reply to this comment

Well well…………………

Great Rugby player. Maybe the most instinctive halfback ever.

Always looked dodgy though.
    Those beady eyes were too close together. He looked like a grave robber from some 1950′s horror flick.

Let he who has no guilt, cast the first stone.

Mind you ……..a good old fashioned stoning, brings us all together.

• 139.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#138 cane:

Ja.

Amazing what coke does for your instincts.

• 140.katman: Reply to this comment

#138 cane: As Robert Zimmerman famously said, Everybody Must Get Stoned.

• 141.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#138 cane:

His eyes aren’t too close together.

They are dead. Lifeless.

No spark.

Nothing there.

• 142.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

i don’t blame joost.what else can you do in a rubbish dump like pretoria, but to screw everything moving on two or four legs.

• 143.cane: Reply to this comment

#139 Dawn:
    #140 katman:

All else aside, this Man was one of the greatest Boks EVER. One of the Top 3 halfbacks ever.

The Coke doesn’t surprise me. Young men with time on their hands, and a bucket full of cash will usually get into some kind of mischief.

But the *** video!

On a personal Note………Welcome back Dawn. I havn’t seen you about for a while. I’m glad we didn’t lose you.

• 144.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

John Robbie weren’t far wrong. Joost possibly the ultimate of go forward scrum halves ever. I reckon in my all time team he’d be there way ahead of Fdp.
    But then sporting prowess got sweet f’all to do with morality and human conscience.

There’s a great 60′s folk song written by Phil Oches and made famous by Joan Baez would go down well as the moralists compass for all high rolling sporting celebrities, politicians, princes and popes alike. Goes like this. Am sure bro cane would likely appreciate the content.

Show me the prison, show me the jail, show me the prisoner who’s life has gone stale, and I’ll show you young man with so many reasons why, there but for fortune, go you or I.
    Show me the alley, show me the drain, show me the hobo who sleeps out in the rain, and I’ll show you young man with so many reasons why, there but for fortune go you or I.
    Show me the whisky stains on the floor, show me the drunkard as he stumbles through the door, and I’ll show you young man with so many reasons why, there but for fortune go you or I.
    Show me the country where the bombs had to fall, show me the ruins of those buildings once so tall, yes n I’ll show you young man with so many reasons why, there but for fortune go you or I. You and I.

• 145.David: Reply to this comment

#144 skopskiet:
    Wow, that takes me back. I prefered Judy Collins though, when it came to folk, rather than Joan Baez and her “songs for swinging virgins” voice.

• 146.Ig: Reply to this comment

#76 justrugby: Buts thats the reality – pray to ****** – but its all just a sham to keep the likes of Tacci interested and swooning over their heroes – the reality is i suspect plenty of these – ‘i thanks god for my good play’ are just as hypocritical and dodge as Joost was.

• 147.Durban Poison: Reply to this comment

#125 ufo: “The man in camera” or “Video Referee” are my suggestions.

• 148.cane: Reply to this comment

#141 Dawn:

That is a better description………..see we need you here to help us illiterates express ourselves.

If Joost was a Rock Star he would be……….Nick Cave.
    If Joost was a Movie Star he would be……Lee Van Cleef.
    If Joost was a Politician………**** Cheney.
    If Joost was an Artist…….he would be a sick *******.

But Joost was a Rugby player………….and a fookin great one.

• 149.David: Reply to this comment

#148 cane:

If Joost was a Rock Star he would be……….Nick Cave.

Jooste is ***?

• 150.Ig: Reply to this comment

#148 cane: Joost was a good rugby player – but in light of the force thet Fourie Du Preez has become – Joost is a pale shade of good compared to a true great.

• 151.katman: Reply to this comment

#149 David: Nick Cave isn’t ***.

• 152.cab: Reply to this comment

#103 skopskiet:
    thats too weak, there are many that control their hormones.
    ppl’s trust is at stake, and depending on what sort of person you dealing with, broken trust is more painful than anything else. the cheating husband, dont have anyone else to answer to but himself, i understand it, but you cop the blame. not the hormones fault, but your own.

• 153.katman: Reply to this comment

Just ask PJ Harvey.

• 154.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

na David Joan Baez the queen of folk and traditional song from Spanish to English folk songs. She had or still has a voice of an angel. Loved Bob Dylan more than he knew what to do with, she actually put him on the map. Judy Collins, Joni Mitchell, Buffy Saint Marie, all great, but none in Joan’s class for me. Greatest tho was an unknown black ghetto singer by name of Odetta she power punched her soul full voice through the tin shanty walls and onto the Carnegie Hall stage.

• 155.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#146 Ig:

Would you like to join me for full house breakfast in Camps Bay?

• 156.Ig: Reply to this comment

#149 David:

If Joost was a rock Star he would be Celine Dion
    If Joost was a movie star he would be….Person4 run over by truck
    If Joost was a Politician………W – the stupidity factor is to hard to miss.
    If Joost was an Artist…….he would be living back in Danville with Stan.

• 157.Ig: Reply to this comment

#155 Dawn: No can do – slaving at the behest of a coporate.

• 158.David: Reply to this comment

#154 skopskiet:
    Odetta wasn’t that unknown, but I agree a great voice. For me, Baez’ voice was almost too pure for some of the songs she sang compared to Collins and Buffy.

• 159.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

ok cab, so its power of conscience and moral conviction over hormones. Of course the power of rational discrimination says follow the moral law, not the instinctual animal driving fetish. That is of course the model of civilization, yet who amongst us is perfectly civilized, not I said the Walrus to the knave.
    Not looking for a cop out, just suggesting look within for perfection, it don’t exist in pedestal platitude parading sports personalities.

• 160.cane: Reply to this comment

#150 Ig:

Joost shone in the Greatest Era of 3N Halfbacks. Against the Great Justin and Immortal George.

FdeP does not have this kind of benchmark to judge against.

• 161.katman: Reply to this comment

#158 David: I can dig that whole era of folk music and what Joan Baez stood for, but she’s just to shrill and trilly for my liking.

• 162.cab: Reply to this comment

#159 skopskiet:
    i dont see how anyone needs to look within or be a saint to realise that cheating on your most nearest and dearest, esp if they worship you, is wrong and one of the nastiest selfish things one person can do to another.

• 163.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

anyway gotta go do some work, and battery getting low. See you around.

• 164.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#157 Ig:

So am I.

But … that wasn’t the question.

Breakfast or not?

• 165.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Judy Collins kom nie naby Joan Baez’s se hakskene nie.

• 166.cab: Reply to this comment

their are consquences to our actions, forgetting about the divinity aspect, morality has grown up as guide to ppl’s happiness, they sow the seeds of their own destruction by doing negative actions and have no-one else to blame but themself.

what i cant understand with these okes is why they simply dont come to some sort of arrangement with their wife that they want to pomp others.

• 167.Ig: Reply to this comment

#160 cane: Thats a matter of opinion….Justin was trash of the highest order – one only needs to look at the stamping on Kellehers hand at the time he was threatening Justin on his jersey for the AB’s….Gregan on the other hand was a gentleman both on and off the field and by far the better of all three. Joost lost all credability when he went back on his contract with Cardiff (i think) – it was a clear indication that his word meant shite.

• 168.katman: Reply to this comment

#160 cane: Yep, Piri Weepu and Richard Wigglesworth don’t quite carry the same aura.

• 169.Dawn: Reply to this comment

You young people know nuttin.

• 170.Ig: Reply to this comment

#160 cane: You would be hard pressed to find a better srummie in the game in the last 20 years than Fourie Du Preez

• 171.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

anyone who thinks Joan Baez is shrill aint heard her sing. She done gigs with Mercedes Sosa on live stage and more than held her own. Voice of a lark or nightingale, one in a billion.
    So long, out.

You win cab, no cop out for a cheating husband, none whatsoever.

• 172.cane: Reply to this comment

#154 skopskiet:

Chestnut brown canary
    Ruby throated sparrow
    Sing the song don’t be long
    Thrill me to the marrow.

Voices of the angels, ring around the moonlight
    Asking me, said she’s so free
    How can you catch the sparrow?

Lacy, lilting, lyric, losing love, lamenting
    Change my life, make it right
    Be my lady.

.Suite: Judy Blue Eyes.

By Crosby Stills and Nash.

The Judy is none other the Ms Collins.

• 173.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#168 katman:

Wigglesworth!

I see your point.

• 174.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#160 cane: Mike Phillips gave him a good run for his money.

• 175.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#172 cane:

Ja.

Joan was too classy to sleep with them all.

• 176.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Dawnie ken haar musiek, luister na haar.

• 177.Ig: Reply to this comment

#168 katman: You playing in the new league?

• 178.cane: Reply to this comment

#156 Ig:

I’m beginning to get the picture here Igster.

• 179.superba: Reply to this comment

#50 . So is Monica Lewinski still going out with her South African boyfriend, Sakkie de Kok?

• 180.katman: Reply to this comment

#173 Dawn: Sounds like one of the Harry Potter clans. It’s almost as bad as the England bowler, Ryan Sidebottom.

I don’t want to even think of the origin of that surname.

• 181.cab: Reply to this comment

#179 superba:

• 182.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Joost prefers Judy Boucher.

• 183.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#177 Ig:

Would you like to share Cane’s couch with me?

• 184.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

yep cane Suite Judy Blue Eyes well for all I knew it was Ms Mitchell not Ms Collins. After all was her that wrote theme song for Woodstock not ms Collins.

• 185.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#180 katman:

Wigglesworth and Sidebottom.

Attorneys at Large.

• 186.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#184 skopskiet:

Joni Mitchell?

• 187.Ig: Reply to this comment

#183 Dawn: Sounds like plan – my fiancee might be a little jealous

• 188.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#185 Dawn:

Wigglesworth Sidebottom and Weepu.

• 189.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe HM Keo has just rehashed his old “token black player selection” thread.

All he did was change the names from last year.

I ain’t going there.

• 190.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#187 Ig:

OK

This is how you play it.

We share the couch.

Months later, you blame the devil, crystal meth, and write a book.

• 191.katman: Reply to this comment

#177 Ig: I don’t think I’m quite there yet. The pick-up games expose me. What day is league?

• 192.Ig: Reply to this comment

#190 Dawn: Got ya….i will start working on some holey underwear for the tabloids.

• 193.Ig: Reply to this comment

#191 katman: Tonight – its a whole mix up league – designed to get new folks playing – so all the experienced players are spread out and bunched with newbies – good league to play in to get up to speed – starts tonight.

• 194.cane: Reply to this comment

#184 skopskiet:

Joni Mitchell.
    Judy Collins.

But by the time we got to Woodstock…….Who new the difference……….

For you Younger readers out there.
    Oh……..forget it.

Fook me………… Joni was a beautiful woman.

• 195.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Joos jou D**s :lol:

• 196.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Joost and Honibal perhaps best attacking half back pairing ever. You go a long way to beat that. Doubt Fdp and MS come anywhere remotely close.

Divan or Wright and Naas or M. Du Plessis almost there, or Farr Jones and Lynagh, Gregan and Larkham, De Villiers and Visagie, Edwards and John. But Joost and Honibal when they cooked the oppo were scrambling all over the place.

• 197.Ig: Reply to this comment

#196 skopskiet: You honestly expect me to believe that Joost is better than Fourie ? Sorry Skop – and don’t get me wrong – Joost was a good player but he is miles behind Fourie when it comes to being a scrummie.

And tacking on a flyhalf – doesn’t change that equation.

• 198.katman: Reply to this comment

#193 Ig: I’ll be there tonight. Where were you last Monday?

• 199.cane: Reply to this comment

#190 Dawn:

Share the Couch by all means.

But don’t keep my family awake into the wee small hours of the morning.!

And you still have to pay for the tent site.

• 200.cane: Reply to this comment

#196 skopskiet:

You got that right Skoppie.

• 201.Ig: Reply to this comment

#198 katman: Had a buddy out from Aus for a couple of days.

• 202.katman: Reply to this comment

#197 Ig: Joost is basically a Huisgenoot-friendly Robert Du Preez.

• 203.cane: Reply to this comment

Well, I came upon a child of God
    He was walking along the road
    And I asked him, Joost …..Tell me, where are you going?
    This he told me

Said, I’m going down to Yasgur’s Farm,
    Gonna join in a rock and roll band.
    Got to get back to the land and set my soul free.

We are stardust, we are golden,
    We are billion year old carbon,
    And we got to get ourselves back to the garden.

By the time we got to Woodstock……………,
    We were half a million strong …………,

CSN.

• 204.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#201 Ig:

You know, you white people.

Organise goeters on your own, when we organise stuff, you “can’t make it” cos you are “doing pilates”. Or whatever.

• 205.katman: Reply to this comment

#204 Dawn: Pilates?

Of the Calibbean?

• 206.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#205 katman:

Dit ook.

Or you have to trim your bonsai trees or go to the weightwatchers meeting or the anxiety support group meeting or whatever.

ANYTHING not to come to drinks.

• 207.katman: Reply to this comment

#206 Dawn: I’ve been out for drinks with cullerts before.

You take your eyes off your lager for 3 seconds and next thing you know it’s Sunday and you’re waking up behind an Athlone bus stop without your credit card, your nokia and your lekker new pumas.

• 208.ufo: Reply to this comment

#184 skopskiet:

Suite Judy Blue Eyes definitely Judy Collins…

2c…

• 209.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

Evenin’ ladies, been a while !

Joostie ? well well well.

Personally I reckon we shouldnt fudge the lines between what players do in their own private lives and their professional lives. They are ‘role models’ only in a sporting context as far as Im concerned, otherwise theyre just flesh’n'blood like you and me.

Also, I make a massive distinction between social drugs and performance drugs. I wont think any less of Agassi, for eg, for his dabbling (albeit that meth is a complete home-wrecker) but would have if it became known he was doing roids or EPO etc. Now those guys I dont respect 1 iota. I still think Matt Stevens had the book thrown at him way OTT, altho presumably tests showed he may have been doing it during matches ? I dunno, seemed grossly unfair to me.

Joost ? well, he will always be 1 of the alltime Great no9′s as far as Im concerned, competitive to the core. G.Edwards was faster, FdP has a better kicking game, Marshall was tougher, Sid Going less predictable…..but Joost, well he didnt have many weaknesses.

And the EYEs !

• 210.Ig: Reply to this comment

#204 Dawn: Sheeesh time for a new battery the current one smells likes it been pissed on alll Monday :lol:

farking smilies

• 211.gunther: Reply to this comment

#209 WakaNathan:

mate I think in the context of the situation the drugs joost were using were performance enhancing….

• 212.David: Reply to this comment

#203 cane:
    I see I started something. You also a Ms Collins fan?

• 213.Redox: Reply to this comment

Neva been Joost biggest fan the man used to make me swear at the tv esp when he was complaining like a ou aunty about the selection of jonghi nokwe for the bokke haha but this is bad nobody deserves this he made a hellse mistake and while its easy for us to judge the ou i think we need to remember that he is a celeb and those okes get tempted/tested so much more than your average joe i would like to think i wouldnt make the same mistakes that he did but i dont know so i cant judge. I just wish he can get over this everything works out for the best for the man and his family.

• 214.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

#141 Dawn: thats cos no one is home

• 215.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Welcome Home Waka

Ok yeah Ufo, Suite Judy Blue Eyes definitely Ms Collins, I mean how could Joni be called Judy, just don’t fit.

Yeah Cane those were the days my friend, them were the days when souls roamed free, no more no mas, its all about which stock is rising on the FTSE or Wall Str now, and legal eagles in pin striped suits and bowler hats chewing on fat cigars and each others bank bonds and mortgages.

Its been a long time coming, gonna be a long time gone.
    But you know the darkest hour, is always just before the dawn. CSN.

• 216.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#205 katman: LOL!!!

#207 katman: LOL!!!

• 217.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#215 skopskiet:

Cheers Skoppie

actually, the longer Im away from ‘home’ the more this feels like home. It only takes a couple of Big Hits entries and a S.Jones article about the Haka to remind me that such thought process is surely madness.

Whats been happenin around here in my absence ?

Hey, those CC Semis were absolute crackers, the Final slightly less so. The good people of NZ dont seem to be turning up the stadia in their droves any more to NPC but, funnily, everyone is watching and talking about them tho. The dimwits at NZRFU seem to have lost touch with what the man on the street thinks, @ssh*les.

• 218.kesbok: Reply to this comment

all these pious attitudes on this blog -as if they have never transgressed. Joost is wrong and human – humans make mistakes. Let’s not get on our high horse too quickly

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.