Joost given the boot
2 Nov 2009
SuperSport have fired Joost van der Westhuizen as a presenter/commentator after his confessions he made in his biography.
In the book Joost: The Man in the Mirror, the former Springbok scrumhalf admitted that he snorted drugs and featured in a sex video after denying it earlier this year.
SuperSport International spokesperson Clinton van der Berg said they have held meetings with Van der Westhuizen with regards to the matter and the two parties have agreed to part ways.
‘SuperSport has perused extracts from Joost van der Westhuizen’s biography and held discussions with him,’ said Van der Berg. ‘Following those discussions, SuperSport and Joost have mutually agreed to terminate the freelance agreement between them, forthwith.
‘SuperSport thanks Joost for his contributions as a commentator and presenter and wishes him all the best for the future. SuperSport shall make no further comment on this matter.’
Meanwhile, Van der Westhuizen has made a public apology in a recent interview with the Rapport.
‘I am very, very sorry that I lied. Please forgive me,’ he said.

218 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
2 Nov 2009, 13:09 pm
#198 katman: Had a buddy out from Aus for a couple of days.
2 Nov 2009, 13:13 pm
#197 Ig: Joost is basically a Huisgenoot-friendly Robert Du Preez.
2 Nov 2009, 13:30 pm
Well, I came upon a child of God
He was walking along the road
And I asked him, Joost …..Tell me, where are you going?
This he told me
Said, I’m going down to Yasgur’s Farm,
Gonna join in a rock and roll band.
Got to get back to the land and set my soul free.
We are stardust, we are golden,
We are billion year old carbon,
And we got to get ourselves back to the garden.
By the time we got to Woodstock……………,
We were half a million strong …………,
CSN.
2 Nov 2009, 13:33 pm
#201 Ig:
You know, you white people.
Organise goeters on your own, when we organise stuff, you “can’t make it” cos you are “doing pilates”. Or whatever.
2 Nov 2009, 13:35 pm
#204 Dawn: Pilates?
Of the Calibbean?
2 Nov 2009, 13:38 pm
#205 katman:
Dit ook.
Or you have to trim your bonsai trees or go to the weightwatchers meeting or the anxiety support group meeting or whatever.
ANYTHING not to come to drinks.
2 Nov 2009, 13:44 pm
#206 Dawn: I’ve been out for drinks with cullerts before.
You take your eyes off your lager for 3 seconds and next thing you know it’s Sunday and you’re waking up behind an Athlone bus stop without your credit card, your nokia and your lekker new pumas.
2 Nov 2009, 13:47 pm
#184 skopskiet:
Suite Judy Blue Eyes definitely Judy Collins…
2c…
2 Nov 2009, 13:51 pm
Evenin’ ladies, been a while !
Joostie ? well well well.
Personally I reckon we shouldnt fudge the lines between what players do in their own private lives and their professional lives. They are ‘role models’ only in a sporting context as far as Im concerned, otherwise theyre just flesh’n'blood like you and me.
Also, I make a massive distinction between social drugs and performance drugs. I wont think any less of Agassi, for eg, for his dabbling (albeit that meth is a complete home-wrecker) but would have if it became known he was doing roids or EPO etc. Now those guys I dont respect 1 iota. I still think Matt Stevens had the book thrown at him way OTT, altho presumably tests showed he may have been doing it during matches ? I dunno, seemed grossly unfair to me.
Joost ? well, he will always be 1 of the alltime Great no9′s as far as Im concerned, competitive to the core. G.Edwards was faster, FdP has a better kicking game, Marshall was tougher, Sid Going less predictable…..but Joost, well he didnt have many weaknesses.
And the EYEs !
2 Nov 2009, 13:53 pm
#204 Dawn: Sheeesh time for a new battery the current one smells likes it been pissed on alll Monday
farking smilies
2 Nov 2009, 14:05 pm
#209 WakaNathan:
mate I think in the context of the situation the drugs joost were using were performance enhancing….
2 Nov 2009, 14:58 pm
#203 cane:
I see I started something. You also a Ms Collins fan?
2 Nov 2009, 18:03 pm
Neva been Joost biggest fan the man used to make me swear at the tv esp when he was complaining like a ou aunty about the selection of jonghi nokwe for the bokke haha but this is bad nobody deserves this he made a hellse mistake and while its easy for us to judge the ou i think we need to remember that he is a celeb and those okes get tempted/tested so much more than your average joe i would like to think i wouldnt make the same mistakes that he did but i dont know so i cant judge. I just wish he can get over this everything works out for the best for the man and his family.
2 Nov 2009, 18:51 pm
#141 Dawn: thats cos no one is home
2 Nov 2009, 21:20 pm
Welcome Home Waka
Ok yeah Ufo, Suite Judy Blue Eyes definitely Ms Collins, I mean how could Joni be called Judy, just don’t fit.
Yeah Cane those were the days my friend, them were the days when souls roamed free, no more no mas, its all about which stock is rising on the FTSE or Wall Str now, and legal eagles in pin striped suits and bowler hats chewing on fat cigars and each others bank bonds and mortgages.
Its been a long time coming, gonna be a long time gone.
But you know the darkest hour, is always just before the dawn. CSN.
2 Nov 2009, 22:37 pm
#205 katman: LOL!!!
#207 katman: LOL!!!
3 Nov 2009, 00:53 am
#215 skopskiet:
Cheers Skoppie
actually, the longer Im away from ‘home’ the more this feels like home. It only takes a couple of Big Hits entries and a S.Jones article about the Haka to remind me that such thought process is surely madness.
Whats been happenin around here in my absence ?
Hey, those CC Semis were absolute crackers, the Final slightly less so. The good people of NZ dont seem to be turning up the stadia in their droves any more to NPC but, funnily, everyone is watching and talking about them tho. The dimwits at NZRFU seem to have lost touch with what the man on the street thinks, @ssh*les.
3 Nov 2009, 01:55 am
all these pious attitudes on this blog -as if they have never transgressed. Joost is wrong and human – humans make mistakes. Let’s not get on our high horse too quickly
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All