Raubenheimer in for Tigers tussle
3 Nov 2009
Davon Raubenheimer has been promoted to the starting XV for the Springboks XV’s match against Leicester at Welford Road on Friday.
The Griquas flank replaces Heinrich Brüssow in the starting line-up. The switch follows Pierre Spies’ withdrawal from the tour squad as a result of a broken finger.
Raubenheimer will pack down at blindside flank, with Dewald Potgieter operating at openside. Ashley Johnson completes the loose trio.
Brüssow will now join the group of 15 players that will travel to France next Tuesday, although it is still unclear whether he’ll start against France on 13 November or play off the wood. Jean Deysel has been called up to replace Spies, and has been included on the bench for this Friday’s match.
‘Losing Pierre is a blow for us and a disappointment for him but we are fortunate to have strong back-up players in the squad who are familiar with how we want to play,’ said Springbok coach Peter de Villiers.
‘I am also confident that the change will not disrupt our preparations for the important tour opener on Friday [versus Leicester],’ he said.
Revised Springbok team - 1 Gurthro Steenkamp, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 3 Jannie du Plessis, 4 Danie Rossouw, 5 Andries Bekker, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 8 Ashley Johnson, 9 Heini Adams, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 12 Wynand Olivier, 13 Juan de Jongh, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 15 Earl Rose.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

234 Comments
3 Nov 2009, 14:09 pm
Avon dragon!
3 Nov 2009, 14:09 pm
BOKKE
3 Nov 2009, 14:11 pm
Interesting , with Wynand playing this game does that mean that Jacobs is first choice against France ?
3 Nov 2009, 14:12 pm
Sounds like a good loose trio. Lets see if Devon can make the step up in quality. He’ll have to find a new province to play Super 14 for though. Johnson, Brussouw, Juan Smith and Kabamba are all probably ahead of him in line at the Cheetahs.
3 Nov 2009, 14:13 pm
now we’ll see if grant10′s raving about dewalt’s fetching abilities were warranted or he is as always hot for blondes!
3 Nov 2009, 14:13 pm
#3 sparticus:
Looks like it. I think that’s why PDV withdrew Jean de Villiers at times during the Lions series to replace him with Jacobs at 12.
3 Nov 2009, 14:14 pm
Jacobs at inside centre is on the cards for quite some time. No surprise there.
3 Nov 2009, 14:20 pm
Good decision to have Rosouw at 4 and Bekker at 5.
Also good to have Pienaar at 10 for this game.
Olivier at 12 suggests that Jacobs is going to be at 12 for the test. Not a good decision if this happens. The test 12 and 13 should be Olivier and Fourie.
Geez that back three (Ndungane, Nokwe & Rose) are light. Our flanks are likely to be exposed. Hopefully this will be the first and last time De Villiers tries this. He’s been itching to do it. Immature in my opnion.
3 Nov 2009, 14:20 pm
So this confirms that Brussouw wasn’t going to play against France. And it also confirms that our coaches have totally lost it.
3 Nov 2009, 14:23 pm
tour opener isnt against on friday! It’s against the Tigers. Little mistake in the article…
Lets see if Davon has what it takes… Will be very interesting. Somehow I doubt it
3 Nov 2009, 14:25 pm
#9 Pirlet BEL:
I was thinking about that and I concluded that they probably have a ‘horses for courses’ mentality. They anticipate a physical assault from the northern hemisphere packs so the thinking is that the Bok loosies should be bruisers. Remember that we won the World Cup with a loose trio of Schalk, Juan and the Danisaur.
3 Nov 2009, 14:31 pm
This team is what it is. Bless them. And I can live with that. But then I get to “15. Earl Rose” and I just about have to click to another thread. Seeing him in a green and gold jersey that he didn’t pay for is not right. Even if it’s the midweek madness team.
3 Nov 2009, 14:31 pm
Yes but Brussow, despite his size is twice the player (in ALL compartements) that Burger, Kankowski and Rossouw are. Brussow makes plenty of metres with ball in hand (unlike schalk who just gets hammered backwards these days), can offload brilliantly and at rucks he has no equal in the world. At the moment Brussow is the best loose forward in the world. It’s as simple as that.
When they asked the B&I lions who they thought was the best loose forward? They all said Brussow…
Against the slower NH forwards he is even more effective than he usualy he is… anyway I’m sure he’s going to make the coaches look stupid next Friday against France with another great performance
3 Nov 2009, 14:42 pm
This has got to be one of the worst Springbok Teams of all time.
Why don’t they rather call it the Emerging Boks or something like that.
This is definately not the second best team possible.
What a joke!
3 Nov 2009, 14:46 pm
wouldn’t call him the best loosie in the world, its just that his exploits are particularly photogenic. his workrate is also not as high as many people believe.
nonetheless its good that he’s back where he belongs in the test squad. he gets another get-outta-jail-free card with the spies injury, and its scary to think that all his contribtuions to the bok jersey this year have all come down to injuries of other loosies.
3 Nov 2009, 14:46 pm
surely this means that div never had brussouw down to start against france?
earl rose at 15 I need to gargle…
3 Nov 2009, 14:52 pm
Not a bad team although there are a few question marks. I’m just affraid that there were not enough preparation time for these guys to have any structure. Going to be tough.
3 Nov 2009, 14:57 pm
#5 Transformation: bwaaaaaaaaaahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa transie thats classic
3 Nov 2009, 15:07 pm
earl is such the guy for the big occasion. I can’t wait to see him & ruan on the same pitch, the two tiger woods’ of rugby interchanging between fullback & flyhalf. Leicester will not know what hit them. After this expect northern hemisphere teams to be running to earl with lucrative contracts.
3 Nov 2009, 15:08 pm
Leicester will miss 10 players since they will play without all internationals English. Samoan,Scots plus the injuries……very soft Leicester and Rose might be the star…: )))))
3 Nov 2009, 15:08 pm
#5 Transformation: LOL…Classic….
Transie Dewalt will be a capable fetcher….a magic 7 ….but the best 8 in rugby!!!!
Mark them words my man….
That was bloody funny! A Katman like special….
3 Nov 2009, 15:20 pm
#21 grant10:hey brotherman…LOL…i’m glad you still have your sense of humour, i’m really amped to see this loose trio, i don’t remember seeing davon play even though i watched a couple griekwas games this season (shows me that pdv looks more in depth than us average fans)
#18 sharks_lover: lmao…look @ you sharkie….
3 Nov 2009, 15:20 pm
#9 Pirlet BEL:
Agree 100%. Dont know what they were thinking.
3 Nov 2009, 15:23 pm
#21 grant10: grant what worries me is now brussow is released , does that mean he seriously was not going to play brussow in the main team ????
this is shocking if true
3 Nov 2009, 15:27 pm
relax man, pdv was always going to play heinrich…
3 Nov 2009, 15:29 pm
I have nothing major against Heini Adams, but I would feel a lot more comfortable if Hougaard was starting at scrumhalf – it would give Ruan a bit more go-forward as he is not a great attacking flyhalf.
All I can say is, I hope Earl Rose, for what little credibility he has left, puts in a solid performance given the unique opportunity he has been afforded.
If he does not put in a good performance then that is it, there can be no more romanticising about what he is capable of.
3 Nov 2009, 15:30 pm
trans i am not so sure about that
i was one telling people that yestreday , that we shouldnt worry
but seeing the change now because of an injury made me rethink
one can only hope its mind games to mess the french around or something
3 Nov 2009, 15:30 pm
#26 Yetirat: ruan is not an attacking flyhalf???
3 Nov 2009, 15:31 pm
he is the best attacking flyhalf in the country
where he lacks is kicking consistency to poles
3 Nov 2009, 15:33 pm
#29 sharks_lover: Uhm…, on the strength of what do you base your comment that Ruan is the best attacking flyhalf in the country?
3 Nov 2009, 15:35 pm
#30 pietskeade: go watch the games , gees comenow the only thing that cost him his bok place is kicking to poles
most in here will tell you that too
he stands flatter then the other flyhalves too , meaning attack is the option first
3 Nov 2009, 15:36 pm
One question…
On what basis is Danie selected at lock and why is it okay or a good choice?
3 Nov 2009, 15:39 pm
#32 PissAnt: lol gd morne ,
look he is a good player , but me personally , i think sykes or van zyl or de villiers should have gotten a chance as they are full time locks and specialize
according to rugby 365 and their weekely summaries of players one would find sykes to be the most consistant
but i also believe rossouw would never let a team down
3 Nov 2009, 15:40 pm
#32 PissAnt: morne a question for you
most are saying deysel should not have been sent , your thoughts??
and also is it right for kanko to get his chance now or like most saying he shouldnt be there at all ??
3 Nov 2009, 15:43 pm
#31 sharks_lover: Ruan has never had an extended run at flyhalf in any team to prove that he is the best attacking anything in SA.
You are right in that he stands flatter and always looks for the attacking option first which proves that he is an attack minded player but to make a statement that he is the best attacking flyhalf in the country you’ll need more than that…
Based on the CC and the way the teams have played you could say that JL Potgieter is the best attacking flyhalf in the country aheaqd of Ruan because you’ll be able to justify it with some sort of track record.
3 Nov 2009, 15:43 pm
if div was always going to ply H.B. against france then why has he changed his mind about playing him in this game…
3 Nov 2009, 15:46 pm
#32 PissAnt: Danie could be a Bakkies sort of player. He’s a bruiser and can take line out ball. If Bakkies is a lock, Danie can be.
Mind I’m saying “can” alot in that sentence.
3 Nov 2009, 15:47 pm
good luck to davon…
go and show everyone who and what you are!
3 Nov 2009, 15:47 pm
because he CAN! Next question
3 Nov 2009, 15:48 pm
#28 sharks_lover:
Not really. He WAS an attacking scrumhalf. He tends to run laterally before passing the ball to his centre when playing flyhalf. He’s a creator more than an attacker in my opinion.
3 Nov 2009, 15:48 pm
#35 pietskeade: piet ruam played scrumhalf in the currie cup
go look at the stats in the games ruan played flyhalf and see how little he kicked
to me jlp is the 2nd best and a player actually that has made huge strides
he was not always a running flyhalf , but time at the cheetahs have made him so
go back to the bok games and see where ruan was flyhalf how much more the ball was spread
in saying that morne steyn has also improved immensly in running the ball , although depending on the game plan still kicks a lot ,as per the final , but those could be orders like i said
grant is also very attacking but seldom plays flyhalf ,
3 Nov 2009, 15:49 pm
#34 sharks_lover:
I think it comes down to how you see the roles of a 7 and an 8.
In my mind, Deysel is replacing a player of similar skill and ability.
So I have no problem with that.
As for Kanko, he has a whole tour now (if selected) to prove his worth…
It is in his hands now.
3 Nov 2009, 15:49 pm
to the coaching panel, schalk is still the incumbent. but now we can look forward to how the schalk/brussow combo works, unless brussouw’s promotion is confined to the bench.
3 Nov 2009, 15:50 pm
#37 pietskeade:
Danie has been a wornderful servant of the game for the Bulls and Boks and remains to be so.
But this goes against the theme of the tour not so?
Building for the future?
Selecting guys on form?
I mean in all honesty, Danie plays second fiddle to the incumbent locks at the Bulls?
3 Nov 2009, 15:52 pm
#19 Pearl Rose: I hope they make him an offer to go play in NH, because at the moment eish… Maybe he will be like (this may sound weird)Percy and improve 500%. No offence intended with the comment, but if you like the way the guy plays rugby that’s your opinion and fair enough, I have my favourites too. Just saying it might do him some good to play there.
3 Nov 2009, 15:53 pm
danie is a token player!
3 Nov 2009, 15:56 pm
On the Brussow issue…
Let me get this right…
So Brussow was dropped from a test team yet to be announced only playing next week Saturday?
Now Brussow has been recalled to a test team that is yet to be announced (next week)?
All in a matter of 2 days?
Have I got this right?
3 Nov 2009, 15:57 pm
#46 Transformation: HAHAHAHA
3 Nov 2009, 15:58 pm
#44 PissAnt: I agree. It is a fact about Danie that I never quite understood, but he has consistantly been selected by different Bok coaches in different roles for years now.
I think I’ve figured it out though. Danie is the ultimate stop gap. Need a lock, need a loose forward, line out jumper, bruiser, somebody that add bulk, somebody to hit the rucks? Danie is the guy you take on tour that will give you any of the above if you run out of specialists.
And importantly, he’s never seen as a surprise or controversial selection.
3 Nov 2009, 15:58 pm
The back three are very small okes, is there not a giant of a Samoan on the wing for Tigers called “Tuilgi” who is basically the biggest wing in world rugby? If he still plays for the Tigers then I hope it is on Ndungane’s side as Nokwe is a pushover in regards to defence and power.
3 Nov 2009, 16:01 pm
Saw this coming. There was no way Rossouw wasn’t going to play against the French.
Lets see what you got Devon. Good luck out there.
Those of you not backing Devon have probably not seen him play more than 2 games. If he’s been picked, the kid can play, simple as that so shut up and watch.
3 Nov 2009, 16:02 pm
#47 PissAnt: You have to keep your finger on the mouse button here cause you never really know what’s going to happen next, and afterwards you can’t tell if anything happened at all.
fact is we don’t know who’s going to play until the boys take the field.
#49 pietskeade: Danie is a legend and would have been the first choice #4 lock in any country, he is unlucky to be in the same generation as Bakies ‘the smiling assasin’ Botha! As the only lock that comes close to Bakkies class is Martin Johnson, Frik Du Preez or Willie John McBride!
#49 pietskeade:
The ultimate benchwarmer!
3 Nov 2009, 16:04 pm
#51 Oubaas2009: It’s funny that Makoena gets all the attention regarding the Griquas success but then Devon and Riaan gets chosen for bok selection, really funny. I think it is a case of PDV choosing old u/21 players, JW did a similair deal.
3 Nov 2009, 16:07 pm
I’m glad the two tiger woods gets a chance.
earl should be able to handle them with his classy ease.
just hope it do not rain
3 Nov 2009, 16:07 pm
#41 sharks_lover: I take your point about the attack mindedness of Ruan at flyhalf. Or at scrumhalf for that matter.
Ruan being an attacking player is not in dispute here, only that I don’t think you can judge his ability to be the best in the country until somebody gives him an extended run at flyhalf and he proves to be so.
Him passing the ball around in ten matches in different competitions over five years does not tell be he’s the best at anything.
3 Nov 2009, 16:09 pm
Pienaar would have been the perfect guy to get the WP backline going
3 Nov 2009, 16:11 pm
#54 PissAnt: #53 Breakdown Boy: The ultimate plane seat warmer, tackle bag holder, bench warmer, infill squad sheet name, replacement lock/back row, lemoendraer, world cup winner.
Guys a legend.
3 Nov 2009, 16:14 pm
#56 BOD: Earl Rose is too light. It’s a cliche at this stage, but it’s true.
Unless he goes to WP and asks Gio to teach him the big bloke tackle technique Rose will always be a liability on defence.
Also, what’s the bloody story with the gloves?
3 Nov 2009, 16:16 pm
#48 JA-JA:
#47 PissAnt: you got it right pissant, and i can tell you grant10 started the whole paranoia yesrterday & keo & his lackeys latched on to it like flies…
3 Nov 2009, 16:19 pm
Aplon was also considered too light for years.
I agree needs to put more effort in tackling.
but joe pietersen can’t tackle be we want him in the sa team.
3 Nov 2009, 16:19 pm
#55 Breakdown Boy: your last sentence: is that the same as quotas & tokenism or is it “favouritism”
3 Nov 2009, 16:21 pm
I like Pakslae he is and always will be a legend he is the only player I can think of that can cover 4,5,6,7,8 and who knows maybe he can be the awnser for 12 hehehe. Danie jou legend!!!
3 Nov 2009, 16:22 pm
Some are saying Adi at 12 others Olivier, I say give Danie a chance.
3 Nov 2009, 16:26 pm
#56 BOD: Two Tigers in one team. Is there a rugby stadium in the world that is built to withstand this kind of awesomeness?
3 Nov 2009, 16:35 pm
#62 BOD: Who wants him in the SA team?
Joe’s good but he’s a Brent Russel kind of player. He’ll always be on the fringes but will never crack the big time. Fact of life. Maybe if he converts to wing… Size matters at fullback. Maybe it shouldn’t but it does. Name one small statured world class fullback?
3 Nov 2009, 16:38 pm
#65 JA-JA: Twincle toe Danie… The Ali of the midfield, floats like a boat, stings like a bulldozer…
3 Nov 2009, 16:38 pm
#68 pietskeade: Twinkle.
3 Nov 2009, 16:39 pm
#66 katman: Don’t forget the entire opposition is Tigers as well… Tis a jungle out there.
3 Nov 2009, 16:41 pm
#62 BOD:
Are you kidding, Joe’s defense has been as good as any fb in the cc!! His attacking is better than any other fb in cc
3 Nov 2009, 16:42 pm
#67 pietskeade:
Jason Robinson – Eng
3 Nov 2009, 16:49 pm
#67 pietskeade: cullen – NZ
3 Nov 2009, 16:51 pm
#67 pietskeade: and chris paterson – Scotland
3 Nov 2009, 16:51 pm
#60 pietskeade:hey bra, if you lack style it’s not earl’s problem, don’t be a hater!
#56 BOD: yes me too i’m so excited for earl, peter was right earl was the reason the lions had a good finish to their currie cup. And jake rated him & endorsed him in his final report to the board. Jake is great.
3 Nov 2009, 16:53 pm
#73 ali: Oh now I understand why you said Brussow is not the best at the moment. But I must say Cullen was an excellent player, does he have the record for the most tries for AB?
3 Nov 2009, 17:01 pm
#76 JA-JA: unfortunately not, his record was surpassed by doug howlett last year i think.
with regards to brussouw, although he upstaged mccaw at the breakdown this year with regards to turnovers, his contribution outside this realm is a little bit limited. of course he still deserves his spot though, we have the likes of burger and juan to do the workhorse stuff with regards to cleaning out the rucks, plus a mobile front row (and bakkies).
3 Nov 2009, 17:02 pm
some reasonable players we have here but some shocking ones at the same time
3 Nov 2009, 17:08 pm
#67 pietskeade: Christian Cullen – quite possibly one of the greatest fullbacks of all time. The two of them could have been twins.
3 Nov 2009, 17:18 pm
#79 ARK: Serge Blanco was also a great player
3 Nov 2009, 17:19 pm
*player and FB
3 Nov 2009, 18:29 pm
I know this is way off topic, but does anyone know what the score is with Jaque Fourie’s provincial team? Is he definately going to province?
3 Nov 2009, 18:42 pm
reminder to all the naysayers: Supercoach-Supreme Jake White (according this blog) failed to secure a single away win against Ireland or France during his time as coach. lets all wait and see how PDV does…
3 Nov 2009, 18:56 pm
I could select a team right now that would totally distroy this token team!
1) Wiam Du Preez
Willem Alberts
2) Adriaan Strauss
3) WP Nel
4) Flip van der Merwe
5) Ross Skeate
6) Deon Stegmann
7) Duanne Vermeulen
9) Sarel Pretorius
10) Peter Grant
11) Lionel Mapoe
12) Bradly Barrit
13) Corne Uys
14) Ronnie Cooke
15) Joe Pietersen
16) Tiaan Liebenberg
17) Wickus Blaauw
18) David De Villiers
19) Francios Louw
20) Rory Cockett
21) Marius Joubert
22) Stefan Terblanche
3 Nov 2009, 19:00 pm
PdV is stepping out of Jake’s shadow with his latest team selections. We will now see how wise he is after the Leicester game. Wish you luck Peter – hope you don’t need it!
3 Nov 2009, 19:07 pm
#16 gunther: Gunther that is what I think as well. Brussow was never going to play in the tests until Spies got hurt. He was going to fly out with the Dirt Trackers and play openside in that team. Only now with Spies getting injured is Brussow in the Test team and will train with them and leave with the test side next week.
How can our best fetcher have not been selected to play in the test side in the first place? Only a injury once again gets him into the Boks side. Probably wont start either may only be on the bench. What were the selectors thinking leaving him out? Pleased he is there now.
I would start with probably: Kanko 8 – Burger 7 – Brussow 6
Lets see what happens. I think Danie may start at 8 then who will stand in for Bakkies? So maybe the loose trio will look like the one I have above. But before the Spies injury our best fetcher was only going to play in the Dirt Tracker side. Damn daft to have even thought of leaving him out.
3 Nov 2009, 19:11 pm
#86 Puma: perhaps it was all smoke and mirrors ahead of the big game in Toulouse…
3 Nov 2009, 19:12 pm
#83 AndrewBK: He never took his best Bok squad on the eoyt tours that is why.
PdV test side is the best besides JdV and Frans Steyn that are now playing in France. Well almost the the best. Some could have been in that team after performing well in the CC.
For now at least I am pleased the test squad looks fine. He almost left out Brussow too? How daft was that? Only a injury to Spies has allowed Brussow back into the test team. Will he start? or be on the bench? The best fetcher in world rugby was going to play in the Dirt Tracker team…bloody stupid if you ask me.
3 Nov 2009, 19:16 pm
#87 AndrewBK: So serious he was going to play only in the Dirt Tracker team. The test squad was to arrive next week two days before the game. Brussow would never have played in that team. The test squad is here all training together. If he wanted Brussow to play in the test to start with no way would he have gone and played in the Dirt Tracker team.
Especially after such a long season. Playing non stop since the S14 until last Sat in the CC final. He needed a rest. Like some have got after the CC final. Once again he only sneaks into the team because of some player getting injured. He is the best fetcher in world rugby. You don’t leave out a player like that.
Deysel is now on the Dirt Tracker bench and Potgieter is going to play openside. Brussow is only now going to leave with the test side next week and is training with them. Only because of the injury to Spies.
3 Nov 2009, 19:17 pm
So meant No.
3 Nov 2009, 19:27 pm
#88 Puma: ya sure, but what i’m also saying is that PDV has brought along some green players to play the midweek games and at least had the sense to include the full squad for games against the big sides. good going if you ask me, considering we haven’t beated France away since 1997. long over due.
3 Nov 2009, 19:27 pm
#91 AndrewBK: erm, “beaten” i mean
3 Nov 2009, 19:29 pm
#86 Puma: oh my goodness you guys are like grumpy old men, moaning about all sort of inane stuff…who said brussouw wasn’t going to play in the tests? has it been confirmed by anyone? huh?
3 Nov 2009, 19:31 pm
#91 AndrewBK: Agree, pleased we have our best test side to play the tests. Still wish that JdV and Frans Steyn was in that team. Then it would have been the team that won the Lions Series and TNations.
Still have the bulk of them there and yes, very pleased he went with the best Bok side and not selecting youngsters to play the tests. That I give him credit for. Only the Brusso story got me a bit upset. He is just too good a player to leave out. I know that Burger is a great player but without Juan there it was simple he play 7. Think that is where he will play his best rugby anyway.
3 Nov 2009, 19:32 pm
#72 Cereal Killa 77: #73 ali: #74 ali:
Guys, guys
Paul Roos was a world class player in his days as well but you’re not going to compare him with players currently in the game are you?
3 Nov 2009, 19:34 pm
#93 Transformation: Never was Transie. Test side was going to train here next week and only arrive two days before the test. He was never going to train with them playing in the Dirt Tracker side. Also needed rest like most that played in the CC final. He was due to fly out today with Dirt Trackers and only that Spies got injured had that all changed. Now am happy that he is in the side once again. Should have been first choice anyway and not because another player got injured.
3 Nov 2009, 19:37 pm
#96 Puma: will danie rossouw & janie dup & chili also not feature in the Test Team because they’re playing on friday?
3 Nov 2009, 19:39 pm
#93 Transformation: Read rugby 365 and Superrugby yesterday and they all say Brussow was dropped to only play in the Dirt Tracker side until Spies got injured. Read sport24 and they say the same. The papers today say the same. Most of us think the same.
Now the best fetcher is right here training with the squad like he should have been. I am pleased but feel for Spies too.
Also pleased that Deysel has finally got a chance even if he is to play in the Dirt Tracker side. He is only on the bench. Potgieter is taking Brussows place at openside in that side.
3 Nov 2009, 19:43 pm
#97 Transformation: They all will. Was Chili playing all season and JdP? They have been resting the last two weeks. Chili has been injured for the last 5 weeks. Danie probably be on the bench.
Brussow has played non stop since the S14 until last Saturday. You don’t play your best fetcher in the Dirt Tracker side if you are serious to start him. He may have got injured there. There are others that will start ahead of Chili, Danie and JdP in the test squad. Brussow should always be first choice. Danie, Chili and JdP are not first choice. They probably be on the bench.
3 Nov 2009, 19:49 pm
#98 Puma: A loose trio of Deysel, Potgieter and Johnson ain’t too shabby. Glad he’s finally getting his chance. Hope he puts in another big performance. If he does well in this match and against the Sarries who knows he might get into the Italy side. I say if Deysel does well he should be on the bench against France or Ireland as an insurance policy.
3 Nov 2009, 19:54 pm
#99 Puma:
The selection is a combination of free loaders and crowscares; in most of the players selected case, both are applied
I watched Leicester’s 2nd team beat Northampton comfortably on Saturday, I wonder if they select their 3rd team/reserve combination to meet Rose and Raubenheimer,
3 Nov 2009, 19:55 pm
#100 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Hello Crouch.
Ja, so pleased that Deysel has got a chance finally. He is only on the bench for the Dirt Trackers but that is a start.
Just remember him playing in the E. Boks with Vermeulen, Deysel and Potgieter. They all were awesome great, great loose trio that 3.
Hope he stays behind and plays in the tests. Not sure though just hoping. Most of the Dirt Trackers will come home after. Not all a few will stay behind and tour with the test squad as there could be injuries.
Deysel must be one very excited man today. They leave for England tonight.
3 Nov 2009, 19:56 pm
#102 Puma: That game with the E. Boks. Deysel also got mom. He is a awesome player.
3 Nov 2009, 19:58 pm
#101 Hondo: Hope they select their best so we can play the best they have. Not our best Dirt Tracker side but what the heck. Some of the players there are great. Just a few selections that boggle the mind there.
3 Nov 2009, 20:00 pm
#104 Puma:
There will always be a few selections that boggles the mind.
My dirt tracker 22 and test 22 will differ greatly from the current one and arguably yours!
3 Nov 2009, 20:10 pm
#105 PissAnt: Agree, but some really should have made the Dirt Tracker side and probably the test side that maybe we all thought might have.
Ag, they are all there now so going to support them 100%
Dirt Trackers don’t have much time to train. So hope they gel quick.
3 Nov 2009, 20:15 pm
Yeah, once again injury makes our team stronger!! Ratel should have always started and Kanko for Spies is like for like! Shame Spies has come on a lot this year, but should be an oppertunity for Kanko to improve his tight play.
3 Nov 2009, 20:23 pm
Well if a team wearing Springbok green & gold can’t beat the Leicester Tigers it says a lot about our depth and talent selection.
Of course we should beat club rugby teams.
3 Nov 2009, 20:32 pm
Side and ages for 2015 WC in Japan:
1. Beast 30
2. Bissie 31
3. WP Nel 29
4. Smith 33
5. Bekker 31
6. Brussow 29
7. Vermuelen 29
8. Spies/Kanko 30
9. Pienaar 31
10. Morne 31
11. Mapoe 27
12. Wynand 31
13. Fourie 32
14. JPP 29
15. Francois 28
I know this squad will be quite old come 2015, but considering some new talent will come through and guys like Deysel and Alberts aren’t considered, I think this side would be awesome in 2015.
3 Nov 2009, 20:34 pm
#109 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): By the way Juan Smith at 4 is the captain!!
3 Nov 2009, 20:35 pm
#109 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): What does MSIUR stand for. Excuse my ignorance.
Long way to go. in 6 years we will likely see some very good guys come up in to contention.
3 Nov 2009, 20:39 pm
#111 SodaJoe: Old nic, Morne Steyn is under-rated. Had supported him for years, but the nic is no longer true, although he should have got SA rugby player of the year and also should get IRB award, but won’t. Ya I know it is early days to be picking a side, but comforting to know we have the players already, to be pretty competitive!
3 Nov 2009, 20:58 pm
#3 sparticus: That is terrible news. Everybody with half a brain on them will know that Olivier is the best 12 in SA.. I cannot see why PDV wants to play games against a good French side.. SA will lose these test matches to France and Ireland.. I do not want to end the year that way as an SA fan..
3 Nov 2009, 21:08 pm
#112 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Ok. I was a Morne under-rater – “pedestrian” would have been my most common description. Guy made me eat my words with Tabasco.
I thought your nick was My Sausage Is Under Rated. Something like that.
3 Nov 2009, 21:11 pm
#109 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): I like it.
It’s still amazing that Frans Steyn will be 28 when he plays his third World Cup!!
3 Nov 2009, 21:21 pm
#113 Tbozknows: i rate WO aswell let him come down to the sharkies and learn some inteligent rugby imo
3 Nov 2009, 21:32 pm
#116 80srovers:
The last great 12 the Sharkies did not screw up was **** Muir himself.
Barritt could have been the next, but they lost the plot.
3 Nov 2009, 21:45 pm
#114 SodaJoe: I remember. I suggested Morne Steyn should go on the EOYT last year and you said he was average and not Bok material. I thought he was a very consistent player.
3 Nov 2009, 21:47 pm
#113 Tbozknows: i don’t get all this raving about meisiekind over one season of s14. How many seasons has this guy played and he’s been rubbish? Now all of a sudden he must be afforded unlimited caps to still “prove” he is international material…give us a break!
3 Nov 2009, 21:50 pm
#104 Puma:
It has been like that the last 10 years started in 1999
Who remembers today stalwarts such as McNiel Hendricks, Tando Manana etc?
Leichester will not field their best, they are heavily involved in 3 major competitions where they are in contention, some are called up for England squad like Croft, Hippkis, Moody and Deacon.
For Leichester it must be an irelevant, 3rd stringers match
3 Nov 2009, 21:58 pm
#105 PissAnt:
Make an intellectual excercise
Take the no names in the Boks’ EOYT squads last 5-10 years and check:
How many passangers were there in total?
How many of those passangers actually featured consistantly over the years at the CC and the Super12/14 competitions, let alone at the Test level?
Meyer Bosman, Michael Classens and Habana were picked in 2004 and they are still around, but how many players of color ARE NOT?
3 Nov 2009, 22:00 pm
#117 PissAnt: such hatred towards durban -i think the waylon murray article was a token sharks article just to keep us quite grr
3 Nov 2009, 22:02 pm
There is no way that brussow would have started against the french..at best he would have been on the bench. I don’t know why pdv does not select brussow to start every test.everytime pdv has been forced to pick brussow only after injuries or suspension.the boks get nailed everytime without a true fetcher,and brussow is a machine.maybe pdv also has a problem with size etc for loosies
3 Nov 2009, 22:05 pm
watch Pdv show all you bunch of second grade supporters what it is to blood some youth and get some commitment going in the proper transformation stakes, not all this sham window dressing you been so happy to oblige yourselves with since Danie Craven reluctantly reviewed his stance on coloured springbok’s in the early 80′s and turned a blind eye to ‘allow’ Errol Tobias to play in the green and gold. Watch Raubenheimer, Johnson, Adams and even Viljoen, Van der Merwe, and Hargreaves turn up the heat and show you doubtful denying Thomases why this coach got conviction you still too chicken to adopt.
Watch these second stringer’s make short work of Tigers and then our test team trounce France and Ireland. Then lets see which one of you got so much to say about how out his depth he is. So far he made you eat your hat every time you been opening you denying debilitated minds and mouths. Just a few more weeks to go for the next round of aghast dumb *** gaping mouths hanging on the floor not quite knowing what exactly they just witnessed.
3 Nov 2009, 22:06 pm
Davon is a good player though and deserves his place
3 Nov 2009, 22:15 pm
#124 skopskiet:
Good players of color are poached today in no time from their minor unions
Not too sure who poached Raubenheimer?
3 Nov 2009, 22:18 pm
and like Pdv I too would start Adi Jacobs every time at inside centre ahead of W. Olivier. At international level Olivier is a nobody, Jacobs always producing when it counts. I would have included Le Grange or Grant in this squad as well as Mapoe and Joe Pietersen ahead of Bosman, Ndungane or Nokwe and Rose
3 Nov 2009, 22:21 pm
#118 Big Hit: My friend you know that it’s not unusual for me to be wrong or talk rubbish.
3 Nov 2009, 22:28 pm
#125 ruggalover: I was impressed with the one Griquas game I watched. But I only watched one, and although good he was not blindingly talented.
3 Nov 2009, 22:30 pm
problem with Sa CC franchise coaches is they simply too chicken to develop these players because they didn’t come through the higher echelon school systems with all the pedigree and pomp that goes with it. So Raubenheimer like Paulse, Tobias, Williams, Andrews, january, Willemse before him will have to go the extra mile just to prove his salt and his worth to the doubting Thomas denial debilitated holy esteemed Grey College and Paul Roos echelons of astute dignity before they given their rubber stamp approval. But given enough support by the national coach in spite of the Cc coaches back tracking denial, they may just show these high pedigree pelletjies of perfection a little thing or two.
3 Nov 2009, 22:30 pm
#127 skopskiet:
The Boks’ matches against leichester and Saris are not even on the rugby schedule!!!! (check the Daily Telegraph on line in “Rugby-Union-Fixtures-and-Results”)
For instance, Leichester play Leeds on Sunday, Nov 8th, whom do you think they will field against the mighty Rose, Raubenheimer and company on Friday 6th?
Let’s take jokes as jokes
3 Nov 2009, 22:31 pm
#127 skopskiet: I like Adi. Frankly I think he makes an important defensive channel frail.
Wynand Olivier is a better 12 simply because very few of us have seen Adi even play 12, and WO through s14 & CC has been outstanding. In a green jersey he has been, dare I say it, “pedestrian”, less than stellar. But he is the best 12 on form playing in SA today.
3 Nov 2009, 22:33 pm
#131 Hondo: Come on boet. Support New Zealand then.
3 Nov 2009, 22:34 pm
I got no clue who Leicester or Sarries will be fielding against us and whether they taking these fixtures seriously or not. Whatever the situation its still a good opportunity to blood some youth and expose some latent and previously hidden or perhaps unrecognized talents.
3 Nov 2009, 22:35 pm
#129 SodaJoe: #129 SodaJoe: hey sodajoe,i watched a few games and he has a very good work rate.seems to read the game well and make a few steals.i think he will do well playing with some stronger players..only time will tell
3 Nov 2009, 22:35 pm
#127 skopskiet:
Here are also better props and hookers that he could have selected while you wont find many (or even any) people that would have selected select Raubenheimer,Johnson and Hargreaves ahead of players like Vermeulen,Alberts and Sykes.
The fact is that the second stringers is not a merit side but more a developing side and they should have said so instead of Hoskins telling us that the side was selected with merit as the only criterion.
It will be no big deal for this team to beat the Tigers and Sarries as they will probably not play their best teams. It will be easy to pick at least 2 sides from the players that are left behind to beat them as well.
3 Nov 2009, 22:36 pm
#126 Hondo: Lets wait and see if the Lions have any kop and don’t poach him. Still a way to go, so imo I would be surprised if he was not playing S14 next year.
3 Nov 2009, 22:36 pm
#133 SodaJoe:
Why?
3 Nov 2009, 22:38 pm
#135 ruggalover: I agree – covers lot’s of ground, makes big important tackles.
The guy will do well in a bigger team, so let’s see what happens in S14. Wish him well. He looks like he cares too, no make-weight, trying to live his dream.
I think Jannie Poep is a bigger issue than Davon Raubenheimer. I would take Maku before Chili.
I would take Alberts/Vermulen before Kankowski.
Coach’s team, not mine.
3 Nov 2009, 22:40 pm
#138 Hondo: You just seem so bitter, that it doesn’t seem to be your team, and if it makes you so angry you may want to support someone else. For your healf and well bein’.
3 Nov 2009, 22:40 pm
at International level unless carrying injury I play Jacobs ahead of WO everytime 100 times out of a hundred at 12 or at 13. I think Jacobs actually makes a better 12 than a 13 and was it not Jacobs at 12 that made all those magic breaks to put Ettiene Botha away early in his career?
3 Nov 2009, 22:48 pm
#128 SodaJoe: nor me my man, nor me.
3 Nov 2009, 22:48 pm
#134 skopskiet:
It’s no secret, read The Telegraph or The Times on line to see the schedule.
Like I said, 5 players of Leichester are in England squad, then there is a match against Leeds on Sunday 8/11, whom do you think Richard Cockerill will pick for Friday match against the ‘Springboks’?
And why a match against a worthless, third stringers opposition is a good opportunity to blood new Boks that no Big Union snatched so far?
3 Nov 2009, 22:50 pm
#142 Big Hit: hey big hit,do u know what the aus game score is by any chance?
3 Nov 2009, 22:53 pm
#140 SodaJoe:
Not really
It’s a fact that against the Lions and TriNations there were starngly no passangers except Jacobs who was removed at half time of the second Lion Test.
So Jun-Aug Boks was my team while the Nov. Boks is YOUR team?
Interesting
3 Nov 2009, 22:54 pm
#141 skopskiet: Good player, no one is arguing. But the 12 position is a crucial defensive channel now, and this is not Adi’s strength, you need a good physical Jamie Roberts in there.
Even if he was in there – his career will be shortened as he is already taking big hits to a dodgy shoulder – and that’s at 13.
The best 12 we have is JdV, the next best is Francois Steyn, then WO. Doppies is getting there actually.
3 Nov 2009, 22:55 pm
#145 Hondo: It’s always my team. How is that “interesting”?
3 Nov 2009, 22:55 pm
nothing wrong with taking the plunge and developing players especially if they got potential and are being overlooked and sidestepped by Cc coaches. If national coach don’t do it who the hell will? Chuck them in the deep end and sink or swim.
What you gonna say if Raubenheimer, Hargreaves, Viljoen and Johnson all turn out to be master stroke selections the likes that Habana or other pioneering decisions were. I got no problem with Adams, Raubenheimer, Johnson, Viljoen, don’t know enough about Hargreaves but he captained Pdv’s youth side to a WC triumph so he can’t be all that poor. Those I do have problems with is Jannie Dup, Earl Rose and perhaps Ndungane or Nokwe and Chili. I reckon Maku probably better equip than Chili at cauldron of coal face rugby. Kirchner isn’t such great shakes at Fb either, neither is Ruan Pienaar. I reckon push come to shove and Viljoen far better overall than all of them and so too Joe Pietersen. Pienaar must play 10. And only 10.
3 Nov 2009, 22:57 pm
#143 Hondo: Personally I believe that we put too much store by the November tours.
We should send our emerging talent over, in the same way they do, and be don with the rest.
Unless the deal is reciprocated.
3 Nov 2009, 22:58 pm
It was 17-5 to Aus at HT, Cross got one of the tries, not sure what the latest score is.
3 Nov 2009, 22:59 pm
#148 skopskiet: I am not against a development tour, just flag it up front as such.
I agree with your second paragraph.
3 Nov 2009, 23:00 pm
#145 Hondo: Jacobs provided Fourie with the scoring pass in the 2nd Lions test.
3 Nov 2009, 23:01 pm
#150 Big Hit: tks.pls let us know if u have any other updates!
3 Nov 2009, 23:04 pm
Who’s Aus playing when?
3 Nov 2009, 23:05 pm
#154 skopskiet: I had the same question.
3 Nov 2009, 23:06 pm
#148 skopskiet:
It is a pity that there is no opportunity to send a emerging or developing team on a proper overseas tour in order to “try these players out”. I am not disputing their potential class or talent but doubt whether we are going to learn much in 2 one-off games against depleted England club sides.
3 Nov 2009, 23:06 pm
#154 skopskiet: Gloucester at Kingsholm as we speak.
3 Nov 2009, 23:08 pm
#154 skopskiet: they playing gloucester.was interested to see how carlos spencer played.saw a bit of him the other day.had some usual tricks but seemed a bit rusty
3 Nov 2009, 23:12 pm
#156 Robzim: aye
3 Nov 2009, 23:13 pm
#152 Big Hit:
I’ll check!
Thanks
3 Nov 2009, 23:14 pm
#158 ruggalover: not rusty, just old
3 Nov 2009, 23:16 pm
Yes. He looked clean cut back in the day. Now he looks like a bum who sits in the corner of a pub. The dangers of english club rugby
3 Nov 2009, 23:17 pm
we are really going to find out on this tour how valuable juan smith really is.
our loose trio is going to be a very unsettled combination, and the experience and workrate of juan is going to be crystal clear. just hope whatever the test trio is that the guys work off each other and cover each others roles.
the french team is pretty established now, and their loose trio is really dynamic. its got a great look to it, and they are effective in every facet. they will be great trio when it comes to the WC 2011.
3 Nov 2009, 23:18 pm
#154 skopskiet: aussie play england this saturday. not sure of the rest of their tour schedule, but they are on grand slam.
3 Nov 2009, 23:18 pm
#161 Big Hit: lol.i was also shocked when i saw him.he seems to have aged so much recently..he also seems more aggressive in his old age.not sure if he was just pumped up to be playing again
3 Nov 2009, 23:19 pm
Thanks for the info so Aus doing Gloucester over. Carlos Spencer must be in a wheel chair already been at it since around 98 in the Percy, Terblanche vintage and still plying his trade.
3 Nov 2009, 23:21 pm
#165 ruggalover: grumpy old man now, says something for his talent that he still gets games at 34 years old.
3 Nov 2009, 23:23 pm
Glos 5-24 Aus L
3 Nov 2009, 23:24 pm
Speculative fact for coming 48 hours
The incompetent PdV has thus far achieved success only by following the lead of his Supreme Predecessor The Oracle Of Rugby Union Jake White
With Jake White out of SMS range back in South Africa, PdV is now looking to that other Supreme South African Rugby Guru and European based former Bok coach, Nick Mallet for direction
With Nick Mallet having played outstanding flanker Mauro Bergamasco at scrumhalf in the recent Six Nations, PdV now intends to follow Mallet’s innovative lead, and do the same with outstanding South African Flank and former World Player Year, Schalk Burger for the French Test
(This blogger further factually speculates, that post the initial 48 hour period of factual speculation by the SA rugby public, it would further be factually speculated that current world best player and scrumhalf Fourie Du Preez shall raise an internal protest supported by player coaches John Smit and Victor Matfield, restoring Du Preez’s starting berth at scrumhalf for the French test.
Once again, it can be factually speculated the flaky Bok coaches’ incompetence is saved only by good fortune)
3 Nov 2009, 23:25 pm
#167 Big Hit:
He must be about the same age as Nicky Little who still seems to do well for Bath (although Bath is not doing well)
They will soon improve though…….
3 Nov 2009, 23:25 pm
#163 Tomsta: Brussow, Schalk Burger, Kankowski – not bad – Kankowski does impact it though. Spies does plenty hard yards. Ryan does not.
3 Nov 2009, 23:27 pm
#168 Big Hit: Is that it, phew I thought Gloucester were going to be humiliated a little more than that!!!
3 Nov 2009, 23:28 pm
#169 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: I use to wonder at Mallet’s Bergamasco call, then I saw the regular Italy scrum-half play against Oz, he was even worse. Thankfully for them they tried a new young scrum-half against NZ and he can actually pass as opposed to the other one who preferred to roll the ball along the ground to his 10.
I Reckon France gonna do us in Toulouse with all our A team players. We on the way down, they on the way up. And I reckon Wc 2011 they going to be primed just right. I reckon it’ll be a France-Ab shoot out. Sa Eng Ire Aus Wales bringing up the rear. Saying that we can still pull it out if we make the necessary calls early enough.
We should have blooded younger hungry players before now already I hope we haven’t left it too late. Maybe not, might just sneak onto the bus in time. (for 2011)
#170 Robzim:
#171 SodaJoe:
Evening Chaps, why is Keo SO serious these days?
I rely on you two for frivolity and nonsense!!
3 Nov 2009, 23:29 pm
#169 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: You left out the quote “scrumhalves are good for dive-passing my beers”.
Talk of frivolity and Skop appears!!
#171 SodaJoe:
What about Oom Danie at no 8 for the first 45 minutes or so?
#175 carol: You can dive-pass a beer to me any time you want to.
3 Nov 2009, 23:30 pm
Grant hardly ever mentions the beach these days!!
It’s like everything is different……..
Where is Sheriff, he would have a theory!
3 Nov 2009, 23:30 pm
#152 Big Hit:
It was Bekker to Pietersen to Brussow to Fourie, Jacobs was loitering somewher earlier.
I am still to see a outside touch line camera review of Fourie and Brussow at the try, for whatever reason it was never shown, only the inside, the rear and a front camera views were shown at the time.
3 Nov 2009, 23:31 pm
#178 Robzim: He would be fine, better than Ryan.
Those big NH bruisers are going to have Ryan running sideways so fast he will out-sprint Wil.E Coyote.
3 Nov 2009, 23:31 pm
#179 SodaJoe: You will have to make do with a Hook Norton Bitter…..room temperature of course!!
3 Nov 2009, 23:32 pm
#175 carol:
During the week we work on our reputations as solid citizens only to destroy it during the weekends in outbursts of rage after losses by teams like the Lions and Stormers.
How are u?
3 Nov 2009, 23:32 pm
#180 carol: The Speedomeister is on the beach now, not looking at the beach. He is training teh Brazilian Women’s Beach Volley Ball team.
3 Nov 2009, 23:33 pm
#174 skopskiet: Boks beaten by the Frogs, Nahhhhh, won’t happen………
3 Nov 2009, 23:33 pm
you want frivolty go to Rt where the latest koeksuster recipe is hot on the menu. Here we talk ernstig rugby debat where only the big issues and big questions are discussed. (Like how many holes did Joost’s underpants have in the video.)
3 Nov 2009, 23:34 pm
#183 carol: Yugh. I really never ever got a to grips with English beer, and I did work at it.
There was a pub in Burnham Beeches that claimed to have the greatest variety of different English beer in the whole country.
All of them lousy imho.
#187 skopskiet:
lol – zigackly ou doos.
#168 Big Hit: Is that the final score Bit Hit?
3 Nov 2009, 23:35 pm
#184 Robzim: I really can’t imagine a hippy like you being remotley worrried about your reputation!! Heheheh…….
I am very good thanks, looking forward to seeing the Wales play the All Blacks on Saturday. Cardiff always buzzes!
3 Nov 2009, 23:37 pm
#185 SodaJoe: Will Grants blood pressure take the excitement, those girls are ‘hot’ by all accounts!!
Wonder what his training programme involves?
3 Nov 2009, 23:38 pm
#182 SodaJoe: Kanko has ability, this is his chance.
#172 carol: yeah I expected them to get wiped as they put out a weak team but they seem to be doing ok score-wise
#174 skopskiet: It’s very tight to call. France usually do SA though.
3 Nov 2009, 23:39 pm
hiya cabbes never fear when the cavalry is near
3 Nov 2009, 23:39 pm
#191 carol:
Don’t know where u got the hippy idea from, I missed that era, being far too young
AB’s/Wales should be great. You got decent tickets?
3 Nov 2009, 23:40 pm
#181 Hondo: my bad, you’re right it was Brussow. Learn something every day. I don’t think Adi is that bad though, just not in the form of last year, neither was JDV.
3 Nov 2009, 23:40 pm
#187 skopskiet: Sorry I have just wrecked the in depth and earnest rugby debate (Not)!!
Faarrkkk as you Safffas say!!
Stop the RT slagging off as well, it is not cool!!
3 Nov 2009, 23:41 pm
Glos 5-36 Aus FT
3 Nov 2009, 23:42 pm
#190 Puma: Puma, Hi there, up late tonight!!
3 Nov 2009, 23:43 pm
#193 Big Hit: Did the ground look very full?
3 Nov 2009, 23:44 pm
#198 Big Hit: tks big hit.cheers all..need my beauty sleep!
3 Nov 2009, 23:45 pm
#188 SodaJoe: Remind me of your poison if British Beer does not do it for you?
Thanks for giving it a fair try though!!
3 Nov 2009, 23:46 pm
#200 carol: wasn’t televised but I read it was sold out.
3 Nov 2009, 23:47 pm
#194 skopskiet:
hehe, see u got Brian hopping around about ‘specialness’, most amusing.
3 Nov 2009, 23:47 pm
#195 Robzim: I know you were far too young to be a hippy but South Africa being a bit behind the times fashion wise, probably meant you were burning joss sticks and doing ‘sing-a-long Cat Stevens’ whilst we were playing with rubic cubes!!
3 Nov 2009, 23:48 pm
Long as Kanko avoids getting steam rolled by two or even less big bruiser locks. I reckon he learned a valuable lesson that fine day. Somebody told him in his head that he could just bust through these 2 towering Iti giants, you know, superior Sa brawn and muscle and gees and bravado and all that. Next he knew he was counting sheep in the Cotswold’s. I doubt he tries that stunt in a hurry, ever since then he sees some big brawny locks or forwards bearing down on him he changes tack up wind and goes the diagonal route.
3 Nov 2009, 23:50 pm
#206 skopskiet: lol you’re all heart skops
3 Nov 2009, 23:51 pm
#192 carol: Lots of press ups.
3 Nov 2009, 23:53 pm
#199 carol: Was waiting for a call from a friend in Denver. Time zones!!!!!!! Reading a book too.
Just logged on to see the score with Oz. We never got the game.
If that is the final score. GBS spot on…hehehe.
Cheers Carol off to bed now. Was late up blogging here last night too.
3 Nov 2009, 23:54 pm
#193 Big Hit: France is a good team, and they love giving us a go. I think we will do very very well to beat Ireland & France.
I am not convinced we will.
3 Nov 2009, 23:55 pm
I’ve had it…..Night Chaps, just thought I would say ‘Hi’.
Back to Brussow and Kanko for you now……..xx
Rob, you will have mail in 3 minutes!! Unless I fall asleep….
#204 ag arme ou Brian poor fella still thinks he’s so superiorly special trying to work it all out in his special delivery specially educated specially groomed and specially evaluated special spanking new sputnik he’s trying to divise on how to discover his specially formulated universe.
He’s gonna find out sooner or later he’s hardly any more special than any one else at all. Whump!
#202 carol: Pilsners, Cider, Wine, Whiskey, Bourbon, and assorted frivolities.
3 Nov 2009, 23:57 pm
#206 skopskiet: “ever since then he sees some big brawny locks or forwards bearing down on him he changes tack up wind and goes the diagonal route”.
Fok boet, a sense of humor? We better take your temperature.
3 Nov 2009, 23:58 pm
#210 SodaJoe: you’ll beat Ireland, embarrassing if you don’t. Would be 3 consecutive losses over there.
4 Nov 2009, 00:00 am
#207 Big Hit:
England squad:
Forwards: Duncan Bell (Bath), Steve Borthwick (Saracens, capt), Jordan Crane (Leicester), Tom Croft (Leicester), Louis Deacon (Leicester), Dylan Hartley (Northampton), James Haskell (Stade Francais), Courtney Lawes (Northampton), Lewis Moody (Leicester), Tim Payne (Wasps), Steve Thompson (Brive), David Wilson (Bath).
Backs: Matt Banahan (Bath), Danny Care (Harlequins), Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), Ayoola Erinle (Biarritz), Shane Geraghty (Northampton), Andy Goode (Brive), Dan Hipkiss (Leicester), Paul Hodgson (London Irish), Ugo Monye (Harlequins), Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon).
Some big calls there. Never heard of 3/4 of them. What’s the front row like?
How do you think you will do on Saturday & against the All Blacks?
4 Nov 2009, 00:01 am
#215 Big Hit: I’ve walked that road.
They like to beat us, and they will be fiercely pumped up after the Lions tour and Schalk’s yellow card.
4 Nov 2009, 00:04 am
#216 SodaJoe: team will likely be,
1. Payne (Wasps)
2. Thompson (Brive)
3. Wilson (Bath)
4. Borthwick (Saracens)
5. Deacon (Leicester)
6. Croft (Leicester)
7. Moody (Leicester)
8. Crane (Leicester)
9. Care (Harlequins)
10. Wilkinson (Toulon)
11. Banahan (Bath)
12. Geraghty (Saints)
13. Hipkiss (Leicester)
14. Cueto (Sale)
15. Monye (Harlequins)
16. Hartley (Saints)
17. Bell (Bath)
18. Lawes (Saints)
19. Haskell (Stade Francais)
20. Hodgson (London Irish)
21. Goode (Brive)
22. Erinle (Biarritz)
we will lose to Australia and NZ, perhaps heavily.
4 Nov 2009, 00:06 am
#217 SodaJoe: yeah it will be personal for them, they’ll be vicious but I expect the Bok forwards to batter the door down eventually.
4 Nov 2009, 00:10 am
#219 Big Hit:
I am not so sure, out forwards are tired, overplayed and in the front row also overrated.
At this stage I would say Ireland will be in with one hell of a good chance.
4 Nov 2009, 00:18 am
#215 Big Hit: gosh, we better beat ireland. i struggle to understand how we cant dominate them, when the ABs simply show up and win against them.
our boys will have to be at top of their game to beat france in france. game of the tour by a long way.
think england will take it against aussie. australia are damaged goods right now. gits not playing like a test quality 10 anymore.
4 Nov 2009, 00:23 am
#221 Tomsta: it’s not that easy for the ABs if you check some close scores against them especially in NZ. The two wins they have over SA were when SA took an understrength team, NZ don’t bring understrength teams on tour. We have too many injuries to beat Aus. Only 4 left uninjured from our 6N team.
4 Nov 2009, 00:43 am
#222 Big Hit: i expect england to man up and deliver against aussie. rare for an english team to lie down and take it when at twicks. aussie dont seem capable of asserting a gameplan over their oppositions intentions. if jonny’s radar is working it will be de ja vu.
know what you mean about close games for irish vs Abs. its just the impression i get from Ab camp, they expect to win against ireland regardless. and that confidence seems to pull them through time and again.
yep boks dont always tour full strength, and then there is the honiss balls up that cost one of those losses.
what does the irish tight 5 look like this year. ive missed a lot of rugby and up to speed. would they be on the decline or still progressing.
4 Nov 2009, 00:45 am
#220 Robzim: #219 Big Hit: I agree with Robbie.
4 Nov 2009, 00:46 am
Guys I am out of here. See you through the window.
4 Nov 2009, 01:52 am
#196 Big Hit:
Jacobs is a decent centre, he is not bad at all, he looks very good compared to Bobo, Wayne Julies or Murray
But, there are better centres than him: Fourie, Waynad Olivier, Brad Baritt, Meyer Bosman, the most impressive, young one is Paul Bosch from WP who offers more already.
Teams like the BILs and the Cheetahs, specifically targeted Adi and collected a nice return, it’s not just his defence, he also turns the ball over more than any other centre except W. Murray
4 Nov 2009, 02:00 am
#124 skopskiet: this is an awesome post and everyone should read it
4 Nov 2009, 05:00 am
#223 Tomsta: Hope you’re right about the Twickenham game.
Irish tight five aren’t going that well, Paul O’Connell has a Lions hangover, John Hayes has been banned for kicking a player in the face, Jerry Flannery at hooker has been injured, Best the sub-hooker is injured and Munster are struggling generally. I don’t think Smit will have a problem if that’s what you’re worried about.
#226 Hondo: fair comment
4 Nov 2009, 06:24 am
#127 skopskiet: Joe Pietersen would have afforded a useful kicking backup if Ruan Pienaar starts having anxiety attacks…
4 Nov 2009, 06:39 am
#226 Hondo: only in your convoluted head can meyer bosman & paul bosch be better than adi. Either way, whether you like it or not the man will play in the Tests.
So by your analysis no players of colour that were “bloodied” in previous end of the year tours are still playing or ever made it as international players? And habana doesn’t count because he is not of colour! Ha ha ha ha
4 Nov 2009, 10:18 am
lyk my al hoe my laaitie eendag ‘n bok sal word is as ek met ‘n swart vrou trou …. al sit hy op die bank vir Griekwas of speel vir Bulle se vodacom, het hy altyd ‘n kans. Lekker lekker
4 Nov 2009, 10:35 am
#230 Transformation:
Truth hurts?
For their own sake I hope that village fool will not pick those ‘up and coming’ crowscares against the Frogs, there is enough one of Tim Dlulani.
4 Nov 2009, 12:59 pm
No problem with Bok A side, apart from possible fatigue, otherwise they’d beat France and Ireland, and i still think they going to do it, even after this garganturan year.
There is a massive gap in talent between the first XV and there incumbents, always has been.
4 Nov 2009, 17:04 pm
What is Chilli going to do?
Can he even still play rugby?
Professional bench warmer