Spies to miss Bok tour
3 Nov 2009
Pierre Spies has undergone a finger operation and will miss the Springboks’ three-Test tour of Europe.
Spies sustained the injury in Monday’s training session in Johannesburg. He will be replaced by Jean Deysel in the touring squad, but his No 8 position is likely to go to Ryan Kankowski.
This news may open the door for Heinrich Brussow, whose inclusion in the midweek side to face Leicester suggested he would not play in the Test against France. But with Spies ruled out, Brussow may join Schalk Burger and Kankowski in the starting back row.

142 Comments
2 Nov 2009, 21:51 pm
What a blessing.
Have a good rest Pierre. It’s also time to get Deysel in the engine.
2 Nov 2009, 21:52 pm
Now we just need Earl Rose to twist his ankle in his high heels and be replaced by Mapoe
2 Nov 2009, 21:54 pm
So will it be Kanko or Roussouw to 8. Think I’d go Brussow, Deysel Burger with Potgieter off bench but wont happen. Kanko or Roussouw will go to 8. Pity.
Who knows maybe Johnson gets catapulted to instant stardom.
2 Nov 2009, 21:57 pm
#3 skopskiet: Fok, just not Dinosaurus!!!
2 Nov 2009, 22:01 pm
#3 skopskiet:
I really hope that they don’t burn Johnson on this tour. I think that he will be great some day. If he gets exposed to some of the clever and ever sneaky Frogs or Paddys, he might never recover.
I think that Brussouw, Burger and Kankowski will be a great combination. A fetcher, a grunter and a flasher. Kankowski needs to grab this with both hands.
I would still like to see Deysel converted into a lock ala Bakkies. We have some good jumping locks as backup but just not enough roff okes like Bakkies and Deysel.
2 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
It’s better this way. Now he can rest out for the Bulls S14 campaign.
This is a nothing tour in any case.
2 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
Not really bad news he needs a rest anways. His defense was performance in the Final was poor barring one good run. His last tour up North was nothing short of abysmal too.
Still, in terms of potential he has more than anyone on the planet. Kankowski is going to have to really impress…
2 Nov 2009, 22:06 pm
I see my sentance made no sense. His defence was poor and his overall performance was flat. Much like some other Boks.
2 Nov 2009, 22:06 pm
Watch, Deysel and Kanko are gonna play really well and everyone gonna say “PDV is amazing for finding them! like he did with Brussow, Morne, and Frans at fullback”, never mind the fact that Brussow didn’t make the squad until Burger got injured and PDV got pressured into putting him in. Just like when he realised that he was wrong and Pienaar sucks at Flyhalf he got pressured in putting Morne at flyhalf. Same thing with Frans Steyn at fullback, he wanted Jantjies but Jantjies is injured so he just threw in Steyn and again looked like the hero. And he wanted Jacobs to start over Fourie until Adi got injured,and Alas! Fourie dominated the Lions. Now Deysel and Kanko gonna play well, again getting their chances because of injury (Kanko wasn’t even put in the starting 22 and Deysel not in the squad) and everyone will say he’s made another great find. Wake up people! He’s a really lucky *******!
2 Nov 2009, 22:07 pm
Hahahaha!!!
2 Nov 2009, 22:12 pm
Danie Rossouw at eight up North!
2 Nov 2009, 22:13 pm
lucky jean deysel…go and do ur magic dude…
2 Nov 2009, 22:16 pm
Feel for Spies. Get well soon.
It is about time too that Deysel gets a chance. Not in this way but pleased it was him that got selected to go.
Good luck Deysel. It has been long, long over due you deserve a place in the Bok squad.
2 Nov 2009, 22:17 pm
Rossouw at 8 in NH always works well – he did brilliant at 6 vs england last year too. Suprised Hilton lobberts or Kabamba floors havent been drafted in
2 Nov 2009, 22:18 pm
POO!
Should have been Vermeulen.
2 Nov 2009, 22:18 pm
This is bad news for FdP
Spies took a lot of pressure off him by taking up the bad ball from the back of our retreating scrums and turning it into go-forward ball
Our frontrow will actually need to scrum now
Now the doubters will see what we had in Pierre Spear
2 Nov 2009, 22:20 pm
Haha! Said the same thing yesterday regarding Lobberts and Floors.
Could well have been Jon Mokuena too…
2 Nov 2009, 22:25 pm
#14 liefling:
Shh, you might give Snor ideas. Next thing Isma-Eel Dollie will be pulled out of nowhere!
2 Nov 2009, 22:27 pm
#17 WP_:
I would have shuddered less at Mokuena than Maku, Viljoen and Raubenwhatshisnamer.
2 Nov 2009, 22:28 pm
#3 skopskiet: #4 Boerboel:
I saw Danie in France and also in England at Twickers, he is an excellent player in these conditions – he will perform like he has always done in the NH
2 Nov 2009, 22:30 pm
#20 JL1: He DID perform, he is now older and MUCH slower, even too slow for the heavy conditions. Life is going on!!!
2 Nov 2009, 22:35 pm
if a broken finger can sideline the giant spies then i’m hoping schalla can do SArugby a faour and break earl rose uring training
2 Nov 2009, 22:36 pm
Poor Brussow always slips in through the back door when he should have been selected for the Tests to start with. Just like he only got a place in the Lions series cause Burger was injured and what a chance he had. Took it with both hands and the rest is history. Should always start for the Boks. Play Burger at 7
Pleased that Deysel finally gets a call up too. Not at the expense of Spies but it is long over due for him to get selected.
2 Nov 2009, 22:37 pm
#16 The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine:
You kidding right??
Spies is useless with backfoot ball!!
He is not a true #8
He attacks well at the base, but defence and picking up behind a retreating pack is poor tp acg for am international #8. Tiechman, Big Joe and Skinstad were all better 8 than Spies.
Agree attacking there is no one better, but that is only half his game
2 Nov 2009, 22:40 pm
#9 rugbywriter: You are right you know
2 Nov 2009, 22:47 pm
#24 Cereal Killa 77:
I admit his defense is awkward at times but he’s only getting better.
I hope YOU ARE kidding with this :
“Spies is useless with backfoot ball!!”
He is unmatched in that department….none of those 8′s you mention had a retreating scrum like Spies has to deal with every damn weekend at CC, S14 AND national level
2 Nov 2009, 22:51 pm
#23 Puma:
I don’t understand really, Puma. People speculate about the test team and you take it as truth. So even if PdV announce his test side with HB in it, you now will not believe him if he says HB was always going to start.
2 Nov 2009, 22:57 pm
“This news may open the door for Heinrich Brussow, whose inclusion in the midweek side to face Leicester suggested he would not play in the Test against France.”
Whata lot of **** stirring K@k!
WHo said he wasnt included in the squad. We have 15 men back in SA with these 22 so claled dirt trackers… so are we going into teh French test with only 15 players? obviously not. So 7 of these players will play against France too. Maybe he´ll start with Schalk and Sub Brussouw but there is no way Brussouw isnt going to play.
Sensationalists!
Sad for Pierre cos he is coming along very nicely but glad that will give Deysel a chance to step on Davon´s toes in training.
The squad selections dont look like trasnformation choices or merit choices to me, but certainly smack of De Villiersation.
Oh they played for me in teh U19 squad so now I´ll show everyone what vision I had back then by bringing them all into the squad now at the expense of players who are putting their hands up. The real quota selections in the current squad are Jannie du Plessis, Odwa Ndungane, Chilliboy Ralepelle because they dont really deserve their spots in the squad. Rest are all De Villiers´ maatjies from school days.
how obvious can you get?
2 Nov 2009, 22:58 pm
#19 Yomama
Agreed, Mokuena has had a great season.
2 Nov 2009, 23:02 pm
#28 Slumtown:
“Whata lot of **** stirring K@k!”
Yep, the media plays the public like a string puppet.
Joe Public should start cutting the little strings rising up from its shoulders
2 Nov 2009, 23:06 pm
Boerboel did you call Ashley Johnson the name Dinosaurus? Because if you did indeed call him that, then i want to know how you look like. I just got a funny feeling that you might actually look like a dinosaurus yourself. Get a life man. Stop calling people names. You are no better looking. Get that chip of your shoulder d@#$s!!!!
2 Nov 2009, 23:10 pm
#31 Vaste6: ermmm I think thats in reference to Danie Rossouw mate the Daniesaur.. its meant to be funny.
2 Nov 2009, 23:14 pm
#30 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:
What irks me is that some keep on dancing to the tune.
2 Nov 2009, 23:18 pm
#33 nama1: man when that catchy tune is stuck in your head all you can do is keep nodding your head and tapping your toes
2 Nov 2009, 23:32 pm
#31 Vaste6: Hel ou, ek sien nou eers die post van jou. Jy is ernstig aan die slaap hier!
2 Nov 2009, 23:36 pm
#35 Boerboel: Hy klink soos ‘n sy, geen logika nie ehehehehe!
2 Nov 2009, 23:39 pm
With our poofter front row, the Bok 8 always looks vulnerable as he receives the ball with the scrum disintegrating in front of him. Pierre would be reliefed to be staying home. The day of reckoning has come for Smit and the (so-called) Beast.
2 Nov 2009, 23:39 pm
#32 Slumtown: Thanks Slumtown, the guy must have been here tonight for the first time, Daniesauer is as old as the mountains on this site.
#36 JL1:
2 Nov 2009, 23:43 pm
#37 kwas: Exactly who will do their number
Ireland? They have not front rankers, that is why CJ, BJ and now Strauss are there, maybe Italy but so what that is all they have.
France, nothing in the cupboard either
2 Nov 2009, 23:50 pm
#31 Vaste6:
catch a wake up boet.
you need to get with the program – boerboel was referring to danie – not ashley.
or are you new here?
2 Nov 2009, 23:50 pm
#40 charo: Vaste 6 says it all
2 Nov 2009, 23:52 pm
#40 charo:
oops – see i’ve repeated what everybody else has said.
no matter..
2 Nov 2009, 23:54 pm
#41 JL1:
howzit mate – any views on the vrystaat front row not making the squad?
can’t be that js told pdv to leave them out to avoid embarrassing practices?
just stirring.
3 Nov 2009, 00:04 am
#41 JL1:
see the **** is a looook fan as well – says it all.
anyway..time to push a few zzzzz’s
3 Nov 2009, 00:05 am
howzit
unfortunately i havent seen a single game of CC and have no idea how good Ashley Johnson is?
can anyone drop an opinion of him down here please?
btw. congrats to the Bulls!
3 Nov 2009, 00:11 am
Who gave Spies the finger?
3 Nov 2009, 00:15 am
Charo you can go call your father a **** you hear me. I’m a Luke Fan and it has got f$#@kall to do with you. Your name also says it all…
3 Nov 2009, 00:17 am
#27 nama1: oh come now nama. Are you still suprised by puma? He second guesses & calls peter de villiers out of depth all the time only to turn around and offer lukewarm praise.
This time last year heinrich was in this same “team” and only got a couple of minutes. It was the same peter de villiers who had selected him.
The coach is working on depth and combinations looking past 2010/11 but some people on this blog reckon they know better. Allow the man to build his own team, jake had carte blanche to do the same.
3 Nov 2009, 01:48 am
#45 Tomsta: johnson, played in paarl, eventual understudy to spies at u21 wordcup (they were initially rotated, but final went to spies), spent his formative years twiddling his thumbs first at the southern spears franchise, then at cheetaland, where he was loaned to a lesser province after getting no game time. this year he twiddled his thumbs as naka wanted to turn him into a hooker (he is short and stocky 185cm/110kg) which as we know would have put him far down the quality hooker lineup in freestate.
then came a couple injuries, johnson got his chance at 8, and impressed with barging runs and high workrate. but he isn’t a lineout option, being at best a lifter for back lineouts.
just makes you wonder where he would have been if wp developed him as much as bulls did to spies…
3 Nov 2009, 01:54 am
I dont know what people have against big Danie, he has never let the green and gold down, especially up north!
Sure, Spies does make the odd defensive blunder but cover defense is his strong point. Kanko sometimes has a bad tackling technique and then slips off the ball carrier. I’d play Pakslae at 8!
3 Nov 2009, 04:44 am
Pity Spies. Danie will be a good replacement. Has always doe very well in NH.
What’s up with this Vaste6 kerel?
3 Nov 2009, 04:45 am
Doe=done
3 Nov 2009, 05:20 am
Deysel deserved to be in the squad from the start, so his call up makes more than sense.
3 Nov 2009, 06:45 am
#51 Amerifikaner:
Danie is there as backup to Bakkies. He’s the only other 4 in the whole squad.
#53 wooden spoon:
I’m surprised that he’s replaced an 8th man with a specialist 7. I would have thought that someone like Alberts or Vermeulen would have been the logical replacement unless PdeV was seriously looking at Spies as the blindside option.
3 Nov 2009, 06:51 am
no Alberts, the form 8 and best 8 in the land. Hell that no name brand Johnson was lucky to get his place but to lose out to Deysel is just sick.
3 Nov 2009, 07:04 am
the no-name brand is making an impact whether you like it or not. It will be up to him if he can step up to Test level status. With the amount of opportunities Spies has been offered (@ s14 & Test level) and i don’t get why people begrudge or rubbish the selection of other players who came through the same age group teams as their favourites. This is south africa after all.
3 Nov 2009, 07:30 am
shame man… but at least we have many talented loose forwards so we should be fine
3 Nov 2009, 07:37 am
#5 YoMama:
Isn’t Jean Deysels little to short to play lock?
3 Nov 2009, 07:39 am
tough one Spies…
congratulations to Deysel. Although he is a big tough ball carrier, his skills are as mediocre as Spies’…
Let’s hope Kankowski takes his opportunity like Brussow did.
3 Nov 2009, 07:46 am
Brussow playing in the dirt trackers makes sense now. There is know way they would be able to organise a visa in time for deysel.
3 Nov 2009, 07:47 am
#60 Sonito:
good point…!
3 Nov 2009, 07:59 am
Big fan of Deyzel… but he’s behind Vermeulen at 7/8… (unless he’s injured of course)…
3 Nov 2009, 08:03 am
Kanko’s time to shine…
Stoked for Deysel, Vermeulen still very unlucky.
I watched the Emerging Boks play the British & Irish Lions at Newlands. The loose trio of Potgieter, Deysel and Vermeulen were a class above the rest of the guys.
I didn’t think it possible, but Earl Rose was even worse in real life.
3 Nov 2009, 08:06 am
#62 bryce_in_oz:
far as i know Vermeulen is fit…
he would’ve made a better choice for me…
3 Nov 2009, 08:16 am
#30 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Agreed, Gold confirmed on Twitter that HB was always going to be part of the test squad.
3 Nov 2009, 08:27 am
Spies not impressive in Europe, not during Nov Dec anyway.
He is lucky in a way, Harinordoquy, Picamoles and Chabal are known to hit hard with thier bites, nails and heels the opposition loose forwards.
Hope PdV will send Floor and Ashly Johnson against them, will do a great service for the Springboks!
3 Nov 2009, 08:27 am
#9 rugbywriter: Ag hou jou bek jou negative idiot , give credit where its due , the coach still have to pick teh guys , so you saying all teh guys that did well this year and got picked for the boks is because of luck ?? I guess John Smit and Victor coaches the team as well ???
Joost is this you ?
3 Nov 2009, 08:29 am
All year long people have been telling Spies to quit the show pony stuff and start pulling finger. Well, I hope you’re all happy now.
3 Nov 2009, 08:34 am
#55 RedLion: That no name johnson outplayed and destroyed almost everyone on his path to the CC finals , Only in the Finals did the Bulls quiet him down a bit. Alberts better ? LOL , Even Luke Watson is better than Alberts.
I agree Deysel is next best though I dont fully believe the hype around him. There are already 2 8th men in the squad , adding another one would be silly , although someone like WP Vermeluen would have been a good replacement as well as he can cover both 7 and 8. I am happy with Deysel though.
3 Nov 2009, 08:35 am
#68 katman: Bwaa haa haa , if there is a chirp of the year awards at Keo then I would nominate this !!! Lekka Katman !!
3 Nov 2009, 08:38 am
Spies not playing cause of a broken figure – sounds suspicious ??????
3 Nov 2009, 08:39 am
#67 sparticus:
you are right, Smit, Matfield and FdP managed the team in 2009, the rugby press figured it out long ago!
At least 3 Springboks admitted as much to foreign rugby journalists during and after the Lions series, where have you been dud?
3 Nov 2009, 09:00 am
#72 Hondo: Must have been in my shell. I see though they admitted to foreign journalist , thats the problem !!! I cannot speak foreign !!
3 Nov 2009, 09:01 am
I like it,Kanko,HB and Incredible.Kanko must nw make ths jersey his.If Kanko injured,incredible to 8 and deysel to run at them hard the whole day!
3 Nov 2009, 09:03 am
#64 ufo:
Agree ,his versatility provides the side with more options than Deysel.
3 Nov 2009, 09:08 am
#65 Sharksgirl: so you’re following gary gold on twitter? Hello sharkie
3 Nov 2009, 09:09 am
#9 rugbywriter:
Yes…I do sense he has some sort of Selection angel saving his *** every time. Willem Alberts should have been called up instaed of Deysel thou. Best 8th man in the CC.
3 Nov 2009, 09:11 am
#59 ufo:
Kanko has had a couple of opportunities…….
3 Nov 2009, 09:14 am
#74 usualsuspect:
Kanko only performs when the game is loose. Has been exposed before playing for the Boks.
3 Nov 2009, 09:21 am
Read between the lines, Spies needs another roids course.
3 Nov 2009, 09:22 am
#79 Bokpoot:
But I think he brings more to the table than spies,and spies has been knwn to be quite in tyt games!I think Spies is rather a bit overated,dnt get me wrong,he is a good player,but he doesnt offer anything I hav nt seen before!
If Kanko’s forwards have got the edge,the game does not hav to b loose,he can create something out of nothing (something I mus say is rather scarce with Spies)!Kanko has been the inform num 8 since 2007,but has not been given the same amount of opportunities.
The only reason Spies has the upper hand,is bcause he is huge,and can play the game tht suits the boks,physical and direct!
3 Nov 2009, 09:22 am
#79 Bokpoot: Especially in a tight game – but we mustnt forget the excellent display he produced against Wales last year – if it is wet play Danie , dry play Kanko
3 Nov 2009, 09:29 am
#82 stew:
Danie not a loose forward any more,play him at lock!
3 Nov 2009, 09:38 am
#5 YoMama: Come on guys Deysel and Alberts are both to short to move to lock!!!
We need to develop Sykes, Flip vd Merwe or Anton van Zyl!!
Alberts 191 cm and Deysel 190 cm!!
Surely way too short for an international 4
3 Nov 2009, 09:56 am
#81 usualsuspect:
You’re right Spies has been knowen to go quite in tight games, in seasons past. But he has proven this season behind a struggling scrum that he can play the tight ones as well. Kanko has struggled everytime it has gone tight. That is why the sharks lost against the cheetahs everytime it mattered. The cheetahs played it tight and the sharks loosies was nowhere.
3 Nov 2009, 09:59 am
#82 stew:
I actually rate Danie highly on 8thman. Remember the 2007 world cup. He’s the right player for the NHS.
3 Nov 2009, 10:18 am
With Spies I’m always concerned that the blood clot/steroid problem might make a return. He is fantastic, and I am very happy that he is a Bull, but…..
3 Nov 2009, 10:26 am
#87 Beast: Amazimg how many people write comme4nts without actually knowing anything.
Kanko is onloy good when the game really gets loose, that only happens in 7′s and Barbarian Rugby.
Spies has proven himself over and over in tight and loose games. Spies is not a finished product he’s only 24.
Even the Sharkies bought Willem Alberts cause they feel he brings more to them than Kanko does.
Spies was a star last year in England in the Nh.
3 Nov 2009, 10:27 am
#85 Bokpoot:
For example even though Spies played his valuable part in the boks BIL tour and Tri nations win,I think tht is all he did!
he just played his part,and he did the basics well,and that is all he bought to the table,did nothing more than tht!
3 Nov 2009, 10:27 am
#80 Oubaas2009: Jy is ‘n idioot
3 Nov 2009, 10:31 am
#88 capebull: I don’t think that is what Beast was meaning. I also cringe every time Spies gets tackled! If those were genetic blood clots one tackle could set them off again and then its Bey Bey Spies! We are not talking of a sore head here!
3 Nov 2009, 10:33 am
#91 Sharksgirl: Spies is fine he has recovered fully.
Every time any one gets tackled ther’s a risk , thats Rugby.
3 Nov 2009, 10:36 am
#88 capebull: Spies is great, but I can’t help but wonder. I saw him play as a schoolboy for Affies, and he had his dad’s build. I watched him as a U21 and he was tall and skiny. All of a sudden he developes into this moving mountain, in less than 3 years. All I’m saying is that he worries me. I’ve been through this with Andries Truscott before.
3 Nov 2009, 10:36 am
I just get upset if people comment on things they have perseptions of, not facts
Like everyone that phoned in on All out Rugby said that Richard Strauss should not have been sent off for pulling Stegman over the line after the ref has blown his wistle, they say he could not hear, they say that he wanted the ball..
3 Nov 2009, 10:38 am
Deysel in, oh yes
huge opportunity for him, and deserved really.
3 Nov 2009, 10:42 am
#94 capebull: they “say” the Bulls are the best on the planet!
3 Nov 2009, 10:43 am
#93 Beast: They all use kreatien and protien , you buy the stuff at any Chemist products USN. The USN challenge is to convert any vaal Jannie into a Spiertier in 12 weeks.
3 Nov 2009, 10:44 am
#96 Staal: Fact is that they won S14 and cc to prove that statement….
3 Nov 2009, 10:44 am
It’s all Brusouw this year….. but watch out for Steggies……………. daai mannetjie is n monster.
Hy’sie vêr agter Brussouw nie … imo.
3 Nov 2009, 10:45 am
#98 capebull: Verseker!
3 Nov 2009, 10:48 am
#93 Beast: All i can say to you is: Stop worrying
Know him personally for years….. know exacktly what the problem was…….
So stop worrying……. but honestly if it worries you so much…. go and ask Ouboet!.
3 Nov 2009, 10:49 am
#90 capebull: Excellent comeback.
3 Nov 2009, 10:49 am
I hope he is really injured this time and that its not another drug issue being covered up
3 Nov 2009, 10:50 am
#97 capebull: Wonder what the stuff can do once a six-pack has been replaced with a keg?!
3 Nov 2009, 10:51 am
#103 XhosaKid: another drug issue?
Sorry but i missed that – please tell me more…
3 Nov 2009, 10:52 am
#104 Beast: the six-pack becomes a vaatjie!
3 Nov 2009, 10:53 am
Ok – cheers. I’m out for the day.
Gaan GROOT!
3 Nov 2009, 11:04 am
#103 XhosaKid:
haha!bazokhala abahlali,bamthanda lawey lamajita uSpies!
3 Nov 2009, 11:04 am
#105 Staal: The fact that he was clearly injected with horse steroids since the age of 18months.
3 Nov 2009, 11:10 am
#108 usualsuspect: hayi suka la lighty was on roids siyayazi lonto leyo! asizikungayithethi into xa siyikrokrela, khona yiminwe etheni le…side effects?
3 Nov 2009, 11:10 am
#105 Staal: There is an “open secret” that there was no real problem with his bloody in 2007, the Bok and BB management were protecting Spies from a positive roids test.
They took him out of rugby so that he wasn’t tested independently, his mysterious life threatening disease disappeared 6 months later, miracle cure was found
3 Nov 2009, 11:11 am
#111 XhosaKid: You try convincing them. Good luck mate.
3 Nov 2009, 11:12 am
#112 Bagel: Although one only had to look at the size of the boy at 21 and it was pretty obvious. Unfortunately the fact that he calls his elders ‘oom’ and is God-fearing rules out any possibility of steroids use in the minds of the Blue Crew.
3 Nov 2009, 11:13 am
#112 Bagel: Not to worry, with every Tom, **** and Harry publishing biographys galore its going to come out.
Blood disease my ***
3 Nov 2009, 11:14 am
#112 Bagel: #111 XhosaKid: i see you share a passion for conspiracy theories!
…how is varsity Bagel?
3 Nov 2009, 11:18 am
#110 Transformation:
Mxim andiyivumi nam la lighty,uziqonda andiyi verstani y bayigqina kangaka latsosti!Mna u8 wam ngu kankowski,yena uyakwazi udlala umboxo nt lanto kaSpies!
andinokothuka ukuba ikhona lento bayityisa le unguSpies coz iske yankulu lawey as compared 2 2007!
3 Nov 2009, 11:20 am
#114 XhosaKid:
nw it all makes sense!
3 Nov 2009, 11:21 am
I hope pierre spies’ lawyer doesn’t read this…
3 Nov 2009, 11:23 am
#115 Transformation: I’m writing the hardest Maths Course at U.C.T at 5 today and I didn’t even need to do it for my course… And no I don’t feel like studying right now.
Otherwise first year has been pretty outrageous, I’m covering covering the Tigers next year for Varsity Cup which sould be interesting, but oh my, how I’m going to punish my body after exams… The holidays are an OUTRAGEOUS 8 weeks!
Bliss
3 Nov 2009, 11:26 am
#119 Bagel:
Is Tiger Bax Still wit u guys?
3 Nov 2009, 11:28 am
#120 usualsuspect: Depends whether he makes the Stormers squad. I know Muller has left for that reason.
3 Nov 2009, 11:46 am
#84 Cheetah 4 Eva: Not that I’m arguing for Alberts or Deysel to become locks, but I feel I must point out some player stats to you.
Willem Alberts is 1.92m tall and weighs 116kg
Anton van Zyl is 1.93m tall and weights 111kg
Not an awful lot in that, but you feel van Zyl is perfect for a lock and Alberts is too short?
3 Nov 2009, 11:49 am
#122 katman: Alberts is fat? So so fat. His conditioning is quite rediculous actually. Besides that he’s a good player in a bad team. Much like Wepenaar was.
3 Nov 2009, 12:00 pm
#123 Bagel: No, he’s just big. Like Wycliff Palu. Or that previous Wallabie no.8 with the flappy jowls (forgot his name). They’re just big guys. Their hips are broad, their legs are solid, their shoulders are big. They’re not the lean Spies/Kankowski type players. Doesn’t mean they’re unfit. Alberts has never struggled to keep up with the game.
3 Nov 2009, 12:09 pm
#124 katman: I’ll just agree that he is a quality player. Stilla fatty though.
3 Nov 2009, 12:33 pm
#124 katman:
Are you refering to Radike Samo…..?
Big blindside flanker,also played for ACT brumbies?
3 Nov 2009, 12:36 pm
#126 usualsuspect: No, I’ve just remembered the guy’s name. David Lyons.
3 Nov 2009, 12:44 pm
#127 katman: Good player.
3 Nov 2009, 12:53 pm
#127 katman:
The Ausies hav had some legendary players,remember Toutai kefu,Brilliant loose forward!
3 Nov 2009, 13:15 pm
#127 katman:
Youre joking, surely. ?! Lyons was a big dumb useless slow piece of overhyped NSW putty. Didnt play for the Brumbies. Maybe youre confused with Owen Finnegan Beginagain. Now that guy could play.
Aus have been bereft at no8 since the Legend Toutai Kefu retired. Saw him in the stands at Tokyo on Saturday and he still looks fit enough to lace on the boots. He’s been in Japan since leaving Intl rugby.
3 Nov 2009, 13:45 pm
#103 XhosaKid:
At least he stays a gentleman even if on Roids as you are insinuating.
Percy and Mujati, both WP players assaults the ref and then Percy fcuks up his missus. just like Earl, another WP boytjie. They must be mixing the roids with the tik innie Kaap.
3 Nov 2009, 14:06 pm
#131 Xkreni-WP: If you dont shout for Wp then kindly leave us alone !! LOL , besides all 3 those players did those things after leaving province !!
Who do you shout for by the way ? Bulls ? Maybe we should mention Andries Truscot the murderer ??
3 Nov 2009, 14:10 pm
Oh and I forgot Mr hole in the socks druggie Doos Van Der Westhuizen !!! haa haa haa
3 Nov 2009, 14:21 pm
#130 WakaNathan: I didn’t say he was good. I said he was big.
3 Nov 2009, 14:44 pm
#134 katman:
It seems that should have been directed at Bagel which considering we’re talking a large lump of dough with a hole in its head, in Lyons, seems entirely appropriate.
3 Nov 2009, 14:54 pm
#135 WakaNathan: Uh, okay. Whatever.
3 Nov 2009, 15:48 pm
So is Deysel actually going on tour now? Bloody great news if that’s true. Feel for Spies though but he needs a rest and it gives other players like Johnson and Kanko to prove themselves. A loose trio of Deysel, Brussouw and Kanko could work very well. Deysel brings that grunt to the pack which would is missing without Juan there plus Deysel has got a taste for running over little Irishmen! Would love to see Deysel recreate his steamrolling of O’Gara! I agree that Vermuelen would do just as well there but Deysel’s hands and linking skills have come a long way over the past year plus he pilfers the ball now and then so along with Bissie and Brussouw we essentially have 3 fetchers on the field. I hate to say this but this could well be a godsend in terms of the development of the team. Unfortunately I’ll miss most of the matches as I’ll be in SA at the time!
3 Nov 2009, 17:12 pm
alberts, loaki, palu, waldrom – they not skinny but you try bring down those rampaging buffalos, there’s a reason they there.
3 Nov 2009, 18:10 pm
#132 sparticus: Did Andries Truscott kill someone as well?, **** I know he tested positive for drugs in 93/94. The only mudering Blue Bull that I know is Henry Tromp.
3 Nov 2009, 20:27 pm
#130 WakaNathan: Big Canoe are you back in play? Back in Aukland? Just been too irritated to talk to us? Or busy buying a new bucket for your head?
You have an ally who’s name is GrantsBatty – battleship deluxe.
4 Nov 2009, 12:58 pm
Pity, I was looking forwad to Heaslip smashing him again.
4 Nov 2009, 12:58 pm