Lions quash Chiliboy rumours
The Lions have denied they are trying to get Chiliboy Ralepelle to move to Johannesburg next year.
Reports stated that Ralepelle’s lawyers were trying to find loopholes in his contract so he could play in the Super 14 for the Lions in 2010. Lions CEO Manie Reyneke said this was not likely.
‘I haven’t spoken to Chiliboy myself, but his lawyer phoned and asked if we would be interested in signing him,’ Reyneke told keo.co.za. ‘We were, and once the agent came to me with an offer, I then phoned [Blue Bulls Company] CEO Barend van Graan to see if he was out of contract.
‘Chiliboy isn’t, so we didn’t pursue the matter further.’
The deal seems set to fall through as earlier this year Ralepelle re-signed with the Bulls until 2011, but for both the Lions and Ralepelle it would have been ideal. The Lions have Hans van Dyk and Derek Harwood as the pair vying for the No 2 jersey, while the Bulls have three Bok hookers.
After returning from Harlequins earlier this year, Gary Botha’s contract began on Monday, meaning Ralepelle would not be the automatic first-choice. Derick Kuun will revert to flank next year, but Botha’s arrival means Ralepelle will have to fight with the former Bok hooker and Bandise Maku for the starting spot in the Super 14.
Meanwhile, Griquas lock Jacques Lombaard has been named in both the Lions and Cheetahs’ training squads for the Super 14. Reyneke said who he will play for hasn’t been finalised, but second row is another area where the Lions are in need of quality players.
‘He’s not contracted to us, but we are in talks with Sarpa [The South African Rugby Players' Association]. The kid is not happy in Kimberley, his family is up here and he wants to play for us, so he has been training with us since Monday.’
By Grant Ball

November 4th, 2009 at 12:14 pm
Run Chilli Run…lol
November 4th, 2009 at 12:19 pm
A win win situation for everyone.
Chilliboy gets to start at the Lions, Gary Botha gets to start at the Bulls, and Bandise Maku get’s a regular call up into the match 22.
In my view, Maku is better than Chilliboy. And less injury prone too.
I think the Bulls have shown admirable patience with Chilli, considering all his injuries. Whenever he’s been fit, he’s bin in the mix.
November 4th, 2009 at 12:19 pm
So that would make 2 teams, and potentially a 3rd, where Chili will be the No2 No2 ? How long can this charade continue ?
November 4th, 2009 at 12:23 pm
hahaha what a joke ……
November 4th, 2009 at 12:24 pm
Chilliboy just needs game time.
November 4th, 2009 at 12:30 pm
#3 WakaNathan:
Only 1 charade here, and that’s him captaining the Boks midweek team.
November 4th, 2009 at 12:42 pm
he should get in touch with hanyani shimange, see if he has any disused gameboy games for chiliboy to play.
November 4th, 2009 at 12:42 pm
ja chilli boy as bok captain that is a joke
November 4th, 2009 at 12:46 pm
#2 Tacitus: Agree on Maku being better.
The Lions should also recruit Heini Adams, Kabamba Floors, Maku and any other Bok players not getting game time
November 4th, 2009 at 12:48 pm
I think Kabamba has the potential to be the Bok back-up option for Heinrich!
November 4th, 2009 at 12:52 pm
Chille played in every S14 game for the Bulls and started in a number of them. When he came off the bench it was for at least 20 min – even in the semi and final.
During the CC he was either injured or with the Boks. He cannot complain about how he was treated. If the Lions want him, they can pay a transfer fee.
November 4th, 2009 at 12:59 pm
#11 Beertjie: He didn’t complsin about treatment but think he is saying that the signing of Botha means the coach is looking anywhere but at him to start for the Bulls. He just looking out for himself as the Bulls are by getting GB
November 4th, 2009 at 1:07 pm
#6 Tacitus:
Well, that would be the one Im referring to.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:07 pm
#12 Kritik: I am just getting pd-off with players that wants to become free agents when ever it suits them (read Jaque Fourie as well). Chille has a contract until 2011. If he wants to leave, fine but then the Lions need to pay a transfer fee. In his specific case, he was injured quite often and his developement (in my opinion)was well managed. Now instead of forcing his way into the side he just wants to move. I say again, he can move if he wants to, but then get the Lions to buy out his contract as well.
Why sign a contract in the first place?
November 4th, 2009 at 1:10 pm
#9 Bok fan:
Adams ahead of Jano?
Floors ahead of Minnie, Mokeuana, Baywatch, Clever?
Maku, yes.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:22 pm
#14 Beertjie: well put.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:23 pm
To be honest I rate Adams very highly and Jano is out for a about 3 months and who knows with long injuries like that…
As for Floors I think he has had a raw deal. I will never forget the Currie Cup final a few years ago when he made guys like Spies look weak. He outplayed all the Bulls loosies that day and played a lot like Brussouw is playing now and I feel that if given the traditional fetcher role (Not 8th man) and some belief from a coach, he could excel again.
#9 Bok fan: Keen on Solly Tyibilka as well?
It will be better for the Bulls that Chilliboy leaves and Maku stay.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:28 pm
#17 Bok fan: Spies was about 20 then but I take your point.
He’s not much of fetcher though, more of a linking, creative loosies more suited to an 8 I think…
He should go back and play 7’s if he doesnt get an oppurtnunity there.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:28 pm
If you’re a Lions player looking for a loophole I can see the logic – Fourie got out of his and so did AJ Venter many years ago.
If you’re a Bulls player, the Bakkies Botha case may serve as proper notice that the union know how to draw up contracts. Looking for loopholes could be a waste of time and money.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:39 pm
Don’t want to be funny, but the Lions is really the only team he could possibly start for.
I doubt he’d start for Province at the moment and he sure as hell won’t start at the Cheetahs or the Sharks.
Come to think of it, he ain’t starting at the Bulls either.
That’s the problem when you start creating unrealistic expectations with this fast tracking cr*p.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:40 pm
it could be a career threatening or career moving…be wise chilli
November 4th, 2009 at 1:45 pm
#2 Tacitus:
I agree. It seems as if Chilli is subscribing to this culture of entitlement thing that is so rife in our country. Just because you are there isn’t a guarantee to be picked. you have to be fit, injury free and the best in the selectors opinion. If any other team is prepared to offer him better terms at equal money he should grab it. His Springbok bench stint and injuries have deprived him gametime at the Bulls which has impacted on his readiness to play at whatever level.
\He would’ve been better served to withdraw from the Boks and play for a club side to build up his strength an d skill levels before making a return. In stead, he opted for the easy money and now he wants to blame the Bulls.
November 4th, 2009 at 1:46 pm
#20 WP_: Nope Solly can go jump. I think Floors is a lot like Brussouw who is also very good at linking. Floors hasnt played the traditional fetcher role in a while and that is where he is most lethal. The same goes for Luke Watson.
The best SA fetchers in my opinion are:
1. Brussouw
2. Watson
3. Floors
4. Stegman
Its crucial you have one of these guys with the number 6 jersey on in order to secure your ball and slow down/steal the oppositions.
The Sharks will continue struggling until they have one. Botes is not good enough
Anyone know the latest on the Brussouw/ Sharks rumour?
November 4th, 2009 at 1:49 pm
#21 ratel: Interesting point. The Lions really need to re-look their contracts template
November 4th, 2009 at 1:54 pm
I was wondering who Victor was referring to when he said in his post match speech after the WP game how Morne Steyn was a good example of patience being rewarded. He said Steyn’s opportunity eventually came, and it was a lesson to others who might be impatient for a starting spot.
Guess he must have been speaking to Chillie, amongst others.
November 4th, 2009 at 2:07 pm
6. Tacitus
Only 1 charade here, and that’s him captaining the Boks midweek team
Used as a political pawn by the Bok management…
November 4th, 2009 at 2:10 pm
I heard Boland were looking for a second hooker in the VC?
November 4th, 2009 at 2:19 pm
the real issue here is that chilli has been badly managed, he was a star at age group level but that doesn’t help you once you get to senior rugby…rushing a youngster at hooker on the international scene gives the guy no time to learn his craft nd every mistake he makes is under the glare of an unforgiving media spotlight. Chilli has had a horrific run of injuries …. i hope he makes a decent fist of it at the lions….
November 4th, 2009 at 2:22 pm
That wouldn’t be a bad move. Can’t be a bench warmer forever.
He also won’t be a “youngster” forever, at some point something had to give.
November 4th, 2009 at 2:26 pm
reportedly Maku is upset and now wants to moveback to the Bulls cause he won’t get gametime with the Bok captain moving to the Lions..
But….
reportedly (wat n woord) Bulls seems to be so glad to get rid of him – Maku will have to stay at the Lions and play for Pirates 2′nds….
life is tough……
ask me – i played for pofadders 3′rds — and i reportedly had talent.
November 4th, 2009 at 2:30 pm
#32 Staal:
Has Maku moved to the Lions?
November 4th, 2009 at 2:33 pm
#33 Tacitus: yip. in process..
November 4th, 2009 at 2:35 pm
#34 Staal:
So wie is nou ons hakers?
Gary en?
November 4th, 2009 at 2:38 pm
Huidiglik – Gary en Chilli.
November 4th, 2009 at 2:38 pm
in daai volgorde
November 4th, 2009 at 2:41 pm
#37 Staal:
Gelukkig het ons vir Kuun as ‘n backup.
Persoonlik verkies ek vir Danie Coetzee bo almal van hulle. Was ‘n sterk bliksem daai. Was hy nie omtrent Gary se ouderdom nie?
Sal hom enige tyd terugvat. Dan het ons sommer weer ‘n sterk skrum ook.
November 4th, 2009 at 2:48 pm
After all the Lion’s supporters and management and KEO’s indignation with Jaques Fourie escaping his contract because of a loophole…
they’re now having Chili’s agents tring to find a loophole in his contract so that he can join the Lion’s…?
Is it only me who finds this hypocracy disgusting…???
All the high-and-mighty fans and Manie Reynekes and Kevin De Klerks who were gonna fight to retain Fourie to the “bitter end” who all crucified JF and WP… where are you now…? Surely you should be crucifying your team and management for doing the same…
Where’s Keo and his cronies talking about integrity…??
Seems encouraging a player to break a contract is only lacking in integrity when it’s WP doing the buying…? When it’s any other team it’s called making a good deal!
Absolute hyprocites…the lot of them!!
November 4th, 2009 at 2:48 pm
#38 Tacitus: daai man (Danie) is so hard soos n klip. speel vrek goed ook op die oomblik.
November 4th, 2009 at 2:55 pm
#39 ufo: Good point….seems its open season….kill or be killed….crazy stuff.
November 4th, 2009 at 2:56 pm
#39 ufo:
@^&*#(&%$
Absolute hypocrites…the lot of them!!
November 4th, 2009 at 2:59 pm
I See Kiwis are pulling out all the stops to get Carl Hayman back….want all aspirant WC 2011 kiwis back home by June 2010….probably be same with Boks….
Bulls…go get a proper 3…BJ AND CJ??
Stormers…a lock…Juandre Kruger….F Rautenbach…Skeate?
Lions…J OE VAN NIEKERK…M JOUBERT…R COOKE…B James?..W Van Heerden…
Cheetahs…M Claasens…Gerrie Britz….M Wentzel…
November 4th, 2009 at 3:08 pm
#43 grant10:
and getting our national players out of their European contracts is called “pulling out all the stops”…
seems our indignation finds it’s way into our pockets pretty quickly when OUR team benefits…!!
November 4th, 2009 at 3:12 pm
all this contractual nonsense can be avoided if saru had a single contract system and not a sa contract and provisional contract, as with the current system the players best interest cant be achieved. For eg like with the Chilli case, hes not getin game time at the bulls, saru could have freely moved him to the lions to get game, no hassles no fuss, Chilli gets game time, good for the bokke
November 4th, 2009 at 3:18 pm
@ 43 grant, thats wishful thinking, those players are thriving abroad, they wont come back with the ‘possibility’ of making the wc team
November 4th, 2009 at 3:19 pm
I suggest that the Lions buy him out of his contract.
Then the Bulls can boost their bank balance even further.
November 4th, 2009 at 3:25 pm
#43 grant10: I don’t think the Boks management is going to do anything to get South African players back from Europe. No need to. (They have the option to pick them anyway unlike NZ where the rules forbid it.) There are enough prospects in SA already and only 1 or 2 of the Saffas in the NH will make the Boks team in any case.
If all the Saffas in Europe has to return then many of them will become bench warmers for the S14 teams in SA. But at least the Kings could have better options to chose from.
November 4th, 2009 at 3:41 pm
#24 catleya: no 1 is talking abt entitlement but when u’re young and up n coming and looking to improve urself with game time and the coach brings in some1 like botha..what signal is that to faith in u as a player
to me it shows ambition for him looking to move and not being contempt to warm the bench
imagine if at beginning of the year, after Hougaard left and Morne was to get the nod of approval as Pivot, the Bulls signed??? Butch James? so much for fighting it out, wot abt showing faith in ur development structures?
its simple the bulls dont have faith in him and thats y he should look for a move, rightly or wrongly
November 4th, 2009 at 3:49 pm
#27 Tacitus: yeah but there’s a difference in being patient behind derick hougaard, learning, then getting and taking your opportunities as well,like Steyn and Bulls bringin in Botha when faith was needed to be shown in the development structures bulls had to produce Maku and Chilli
as much as i rate francois hougaard , wot disappointed me so much was the sudden talk in the middle of the currie cup abt grooming him to take over from Fourie Du preez, WTF, i thought thats wot Adams was there for, evidently nt