Lions quash Chiliboy rumours

The Lions have denied they are trying to get Chiliboy Ralepelle to move to Johannesburg next year.

Reports stated that Ralepelle’s lawyers were trying to find loopholes in his contract so he could play in the Super 14 for the Lions in 2010. Lions CEO Manie Reyneke said this was not likely.

‘I haven’t spoken to Chiliboy myself, but his lawyer phoned and asked if we would be interested in signing him,’ Reyneke told keo.co.za. ‘We were, and once the agent came to me with an offer, I then phoned [Blue Bulls Company] CEO Barend van Graan to see if he was out of contract.

‘Chiliboy isn’t, so we didn’t pursue the matter further.’

The deal seems set to fall through as earlier this year Ralepelle re-signed with the Bulls until 2011, but for both the Lions and Ralepelle it would have been ideal. The Lions have Hans van Dyk and Derek Harwood as the pair vying for the No 2 jersey, while the Bulls have three Bok hookers.

After returning from Harlequins earlier this year, Gary Botha’s contract began on Monday, meaning Ralepelle would not be the automatic first-choice. Derick Kuun will revert to flank next year, but Botha’s arrival means Ralepelle will have to fight with the former Bok hooker and Bandise Maku for the starting spot in the Super 14.

Meanwhile, Griquas lock Jacques Lombaard has been named in both the Lions and Cheetahs’ training squads for the Super 14. Reyneke said who he will play for hasn’t been finalised, but second row is another area where the Lions are in need of quality players.

‘He’s not contracted to us, but we are in talks with Sarpa [The South African Rugby Players' Association]. The kid is not happy in Kimberley, his family is up here and he wants to play for us, so he has been training with us since Monday.’

By Grant Ball

288 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#147 carol: Nothing more attractive than a tight fitting blue rugby jersey over a beer belly.

• 152.JL1: Reply to this comment

#113 skopskiet: Botha was not crying, he was offered a contract

FDP- The best scrumhalf and rugby player in the world, rated by rugby players and journos who know and understand rugby better than a blogger spewing vitriol all the time

• 153.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#114 fsjakes:
    Let’s get a reality check:
    I find it strange that convicted murderers are released because of cell shortage and that on a ‘first in first out basis’
    What makes you thinking that the Pro sport here is better than the judicial system in this country?

• 154.JL1: Reply to this comment

#153 Hondo: …were most ministers not also released early?

• 155.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#148 Hondo: In biblical times a talant was equal to 6000 drachma or denarii which was day’s wage.

Wouldn’t buy too many professional rugby players.

Perhaps a few un-talented ones.

• 156.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

hey slappes you sure have one big mouth online

grow some balls coward

• 157.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#137 Wezwp:
    Alas,
    Maku already made it there, so what next?

• 158.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Skop, :lol: Elvis the pelvis. Nah Ill get the Robbie Wessels cd, the red wine and my special moves while pouring the wine. Haar kniee sal lam raak en ek styf. :lol:

• 159.carol: Reply to this comment

#150 skopskiet: Skop – “Are You Lonesome Tonight” you “Hound Dog” ??

Grant doesn’t really wear Old Spice any more btw!! I would have noticed, as it is an old mans smell!!

• 160.gunther: Reply to this comment

#131 Slappes:

???????????

bru I live in cape town how many safari suits have you ever seen in cape town…even behind the boerewors curtain…

as for bulls one dimensional rugby looks like somebody missed the super 14 final…

• 161.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

good evening skoppie grant , carol, gunther

• 162.carol: Reply to this comment

#151 SodaJoe: Hi Soda, yep it is VERY manly…!! I am developing a taste for ‘chunky’ men!!

I thought you were the vital ingredient misssing in this conversation btw!!

• 163.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#141 grant10:
    Come on Grant
    you should know better? don’t you
    He playes, he gets injured a simple equiation
    A 73 kg wing recently knocked him out for 6 weeks!

• 164.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

GE hondo , jli and soda

• 165.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Gunther, :lol: go check in kraaifontein.

• 166.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#160 gunther: It’s underneath your normal clothes you are in disguise.

• 167.carol: Reply to this comment

#156 sharks_lover: Hiya Sharkie, bet you don’t have a Safari Suit!! :lol:

• 168.gunther: Reply to this comment

#162 carol:
    ahhh a chubby chaser…

• 169.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#162 carol: carol?? dear uhm you developed the taste for men period a long time ago lol

• 170.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#161 sharks_lover: #162 carol: Hello Sharky, wee Duck.

• 171.gunther: Reply to this comment

#165 Slappes:

I try not to venture north of the airport…

• 172.carol: Reply to this comment

#154 JL1: Very sensible tonight!!
    Do you have a safari suit in your wardrobe?

• 173.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#162 carol: There is a God.

• 174.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#167 carol: carol i aint even seen a safari suite in 30 years plus
    dont even know if they still make them lol

• 175.carol: Reply to this comment

#168 gunther: This condition appears to have crept up on me, I used only to like skinny blokes…..then along came Percy!!
    He only has skinny legs, the rest is quite chunky!!

• 176.gunther: Reply to this comment

#161 sharks_lover:

go easy on slappes he has got enough problems with minki on his plate… I remember sitting opposite to her and her now ex on the way to the super 14 final at the tank … I thought at the time that she required more club than he had in his bag…

• 177.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#172 carol: Surrey Safari Suits are all the rage on the train.

• 178.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#175 carol: you sure its his legs you were looking at carol??

• 179.carol: Reply to this comment

#169 sharks_lover: ;-) lol

• 180.gunther: Reply to this comment

#175 carol:

percy is especially chunky between the ears…

• 181.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#176 gunther: The true story of man & woman as a reliable whole.

• 182.carol: Reply to this comment

#173 SodaJoe: Oh good does this mean you are over 80kgs? ;-)

• 183.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#176 gunther: lol gunt

• 184.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

these people calling rugby players the best in the world, like since when. In 2008 Fdp was halfway to nowhere, was between him and best fh in the world Butchie boy James that practically cost us our tri nations tournament single handed. Little Heinie Adams would have been a far better call in 2008 under new Elv’s, after all it was Heinie that got the Bulls off their asses when they needed it to get through the Reds and Crusaders to their first S14 title in 2007. If it were left to Fdp they’d never have made it to the final.

• 185.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#152 JL1:
    See my #105 thread to Skop, it etails your sentiments
    On the general note, the ‘Brain Drain’ hits this blog badly last 12 months, it lost many knowledgable, educated guys while the new commers are mostly political & racial motivated wanabees rather than truly rugby followers
    It’s no better elsewhere though

• 186.carol: Reply to this comment

#177 SodaJoe: Do you think JL1 wears shorts and long socks to the office in London during the warm spells?
    Very colonial!

• 187.gunther: Reply to this comment

#166 SodaJoe:

safari suits are very 90′s for the bulls supporter…the current trend is jean pant and shoes…

• 188.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Gunther, I was in kraaifontein for about an hour, and counted bout 15 guys wearing eye-patches. Some scary **** going down there.

• 189.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#187 gunther: :lol:

• 190.carol: Reply to this comment

#178 sharks_lover: Soda tells me the Percy always wore very tight shorts, however I did not notice this……I was watching his presence and the way he directed a match from the back line.

• 191.Puma: Reply to this comment

#183 sharks_lover: Sharky see on the otherside a thread posted from News24. Brussow not coming to the Sharks. So think G10′s friend never got it right this time.

Like we all knew he has a contract with Cheetahs until 2010 and probably cant get out of it.

• 192.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#182 carol: Reliably chunky. But not quite a heffer style Blue Bulls look.

Handsome Devils age with grace, wisdom, wit and wiles.

• 193.carol: Reply to this comment

#180 gunther: Actually I have heard this and refuse to believe it!! OK Percy would probably not make it to Mastermind I grant you!

• 194.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#184 skopskiet:
    More than few would argue your point but you are certainly entitled for it
    btw: FdP was injured most of the 2008 season, Adams probably would have done better job than January but January won us the Test in NZ first time after 10 years

• 195.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#186 carol: Under his pin-stripe suit in disguise. He rips it off like Super-Saffa as he enters the front door, bellowing Biltong! Beer! Yes dear.

• 196.gunther: Reply to this comment

#191 Puma:
    is this the same friend who booked tickets to wath the cc final at newlands…

• 197.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#187 gunther: Shoes. wow. Things change so fast and deep. Hard to keep up.

• 198.carol: Reply to this comment

#191 Puma: Hi Puma, did you give up too? :-)

Have you ever worn a safari suit btw? Should it be worn with sandals or shoes?

• 199.gunther: Reply to this comment

#192 SodaJoe:

reliably chunky ….. like a hilux bakkie….

• 200.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#190 carol: Especially when he kicked badly for touch. Cramped his goolies and then they went 22m and never out.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.