digimag-banner

Lions quash Chiliboy rumours

The Lions have denied they are trying to get Chiliboy Ralepelle to move to Johannesburg next year.

Reports stated that Ralepelle’s lawyers were trying to find loopholes in his contract so he could play in the Super 14 for the Lions in 2010. Lions CEO Manie Reyneke said this was not likely.

‘I haven’t spoken to Chiliboy myself, but his lawyer phoned and asked if we would be interested in signing him,’ Reyneke told keo.co.za. ‘We were, and once the agent came to me with an offer, I then phoned [Blue Bulls Company] CEO Barend van Graan to see if he was out of contract.

‘Chiliboy isn’t, so we didn’t pursue the matter further.’

The deal seems set to fall through as earlier this year Ralepelle re-signed with the Bulls until 2011, but for both the Lions and Ralepelle it would have been ideal. The Lions have Hans van Dyk and Derek Harwood as the pair vying for the No 2 jersey, while the Bulls have three Bok hookers.

After returning from Harlequins earlier this year, Gary Botha’s contract began on Monday, meaning Ralepelle would not be the automatic first-choice. Derick Kuun will revert to flank next year, but Botha’s arrival means Ralepelle will have to fight with the former Bok hooker and Bandise Maku for the starting spot in the Super 14.

Meanwhile, Griquas lock Jacques Lombaard has been named in both the Lions and Cheetahs’ training squads for the Super 14. Reyneke said who he will play for hasn’t been finalised, but second row is another area where the Lions are in need of quality players.

‘He’s not contracted to us, but we are in talks with Sarpa [The South African Rugby Players' Association]. The kid is not happy in Kimberley, his family is up here and he wants to play for us, so he has been training with us since Monday.’

By Grant Ball

288 Responses to “Lions quash Chiliboy rumours”

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

#191 Puma: yup bro i saw

i had a feeling it was never going to be more then a rumour , and thats not saying grant or his friend bull chitted us , it is purely to me like you said he had a contract and no way could he get released

now come 2010 and that contract expires , then yes maybe he will still be interested

but the youngster coming to us wessel is very good, obviously not in brussow’s class yet , but i saw him in under 21 game and he stole many balls off us\

so a bright prospect

• 202. PumaReply to this comment :

#196 gunther: LOL. Have no idea at all. Just that G10 said this friend has contacts at the Sharks. So have not a clue really.

Just read that Brussow not going to the Sharks. It is on News24. Then they also said he was coming at first so really don’t know but I don’t think he is coming said it all along. He has a contract with Cheetahs until 2010. Think G10 said this friend said that Sharks were going to buy him out that contract for 2million. Not going to happen it seems.

• 203. carolReply to this comment :

#192 SodaJoe: Yay…. Good News. Shame Keo does not have a Bloggers Gallery.

The RT guys scrub up very well, and yes it has to be said the Lions supporters are all very handsome, strange that, you always told me this was so!! :neutral:

• 204. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#199 gunther: Like a Posrche.

• 205. RobzimReply to this comment :

When I was a little boy
    I used to sit and play with my toys
    Like all the other little boys
    I’d go to school and observe the rules
    But as you get old
    You get to be told
    That you have to uphold
    The power-of the men who wear safari suits

Middle-aged teenagers
    Their combs in their socks
    Their heads in a box

When I was a little boy
    I never believed
    I would be
    A safari suit

- The Safari Suits
    Legendary Cape Town New wave band (1979)

• 206. SlappesReply to this comment :

Gunther, :lol: that ex-hubby looked like he couldve been from Kraaifontein. Poor trashy bliksem.

• 207. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#204 SodaJoe: Porsche for those who can read.

• 208. guntherReply to this comment :

#197 SodaJoe:

don’t worry the tow truck drivers still wear the same…

power takkies

stonewash jeans

iron maiden t shirt

hair…. work at the front weekend at the back…

• 209. guntherReply to this comment :

#204 SodaJoe:

you leave porches ou of this…

• 210. carolReply to this comment :

#195 SodaJoe: JL1 – ‘Super Saffa’, I like that am seeing him in December may have to check!

• 211. skopskietReply to this comment :

the brain drain. Ha like they all skedaddled to that new haven of intelligence enlightenment Valhalla Rt. Where they swap koeksuster recipe’s in unison.

These enlightened rugby fundi’s that honor us racially motivated moegoes with their superior illumined racist drivel about why every dark skinned player unless he was discovered by his highness Jake the Fake is a two bit under graduated quota. You second grade window dresser’s are so transparant with your enlightened aristocrat delirious denial, its like reading the Kkk manifesto for rugby fanatics.

• 212. PumaReply to this comment :

#201 sharks_lover: That is what I said. Was not going to believe it until I saw him in a Sharks jersey.

Maybe G10’s friend was right and Sharks just cant get him out that contract. Who knows. But he is not coming.

After 2010 maybe we have someone there so may not need him then.

Wessel’s is good but he is on loan. Then who knows maybe he stays on at the Sharks. Will have to see as Monty is off to the Cheetahs.

• 213. carolReply to this comment :

#205 Robzim: Hi Rob, how very timely…..fancy there being a song about Safari Suits!

Being very cool I bet you never resorted to kahki!! :lol:

• 214. guntherReply to this comment :

#206 Slappes:

poor farker he looked like he had never been on a plane before when the stewardess asked him red or white he thought she was talking about minki’s broeks…

• 215. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#205 Robzim: 11/10. A+

• 216. PumaReply to this comment :

#198 carol: Never worn a Safari suit in MY LIFE…. Never will. :lol:

• 217. carolReply to this comment :

#211 skopskiet: I much prefer it when you wax lyrical about the ‘Lure of a Minkie’…..

I know you really miss the RT guys!! :roll:

• 218. RobzimReply to this comment :

#213 carol:

Jinx’s friend was the drummer in that band.

Sorry, I got to go, another mini crisis
    I’ll mail later.

• 219. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

#212 Puma: yup they can have monty

he played 2 good games other then that nothing to cheer about

we need centers boet

i am sure alberts and ludick will come as they even fighting to come in arbatration , so that tells you their willingness

but we need a center or 2

• 220. PumaReply to this comment :

#219 sharks_lover: We do. Maybe move Hernandez to centre and move Ruan back to FH, seeing that he has to be back up to M. Steyn at FH for the Boks. At least he will get game time playing there. Play Kockott back at scrumie then.

• 221. PumaReply to this comment :

#219 sharks_lover: Both those Lions players would be great to get. Rate Alberts and Ludick. Stefan getting on now and if we do get Ludick he can play FB.

Jeepers say this all the time but we will miss Fransie next year.

• 222. PumaReply to this comment :

Okay out of here now. Cheers Sharky.

Night all.

• 223. SlappesReply to this comment :

206 Gunther, :lol: he looked way out his league. Poor bliksem got klapped in his own diner too, while Minki watched. Lots of safari suit-denialists here I see.

• 224. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

night puma tc bro catcha 2morrow

• 225. guntherReply to this comment :

#223 Slappes:

mmmm makes you wonder who bought them all…

• 226. skopskietReply to this comment :

#194 Hondo:
    I certainly have no ax to grind with open minded people with open minded views about how this game should progress beyond the straight jacket it has been confined under since pa fell off the bus. Its on its way to that redemption thanks to perhaps some driven commitment by some in the driving seat to get free of the shackles of window dressed evolution from its dark age heritage.

Its a fine balancing act required between blooding diverse potential, breaking stuck in the mud molds of conservative traditions, and maintaining quality and heritages of winning cultures. One either gets motivated to persue excellence as well as encompassing far wider frames of passion and patriotism, or you remain fixed and fettered in the staid old traditions and straight jackets of the past.

I believe this coach is going to go about the business of setting new paradigms and in perhaps not too far down the line some you ancient die hards might even thank him for doing so.

• 227. TransformationReply to this comment :

#194 Hondo: fourie du preez was k@k from the beginning of the year last year, him & habana were the 1st players to moan about the elvs, remember du preez saying “i don’t like playing the elvs and i don’t even like watching them”. He was the captain when the bulls were pomped by 55 points by the Saders @ Moftus.

At one of the after match interviews fdp said after a loss “i’m running out of excuses”. Is the injury you’re referring to the hand injury? Come up with another story boet fdp as much as i admire him couldn’t adapt to the new rules. it was glaringly evident when he kicked out balls on the full @ newlands against the all blacks.

• 228. SlappesReply to this comment :

Gunther, most of the okes here. Just go check all their old sunday school photos. Posing nogal next to the family dog Farkin disgusting.

• 229. carolReply to this comment :

#216 Puma: Do you ever wear a Mr. Price Sharks shirt?

#218 Robzim: That Jinxie is so cool…Hey a mate of mine met Liam Gallagher from Oasis on Monday, she said he was ’short’!!

Sharke, Soda, Skop, Gunther, Slappes – Thanks for some good old fashioned ‘Night Owling’ tonight….makes me quite nostalgic… :cry:

Good Night Boys

• 230. SlappesReply to this comment :

Cheers carol!

• 231. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#221 Puma: #219 sharks_lover: Bugger off you 2.

• 232. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

gn aunty carol lol tc cya 2morrow

• 233. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#229 carol: Night Duck.

• 234. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

Charlize apologises for auctioning Tutu cuddle, Malema dry-hump

Just days after she apologised for auctioning off a meeting with Nelson Mandela without asking his permission, actress Charlize Theron has admitted that she also tried to sell a cuddle with Desmond Tutu and a dry-hump with Julius Malema. Sources confirmed that the highest bid for Malema had been $1.30, from Malema himself.

Breaking news from Hayibo.

• 235. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

#231 SodaJoe: hey now now young man lol you got a good young 8thman from us

warren whitely

• 236. skopskietReply to this comment :

as for Gary Botha they can have him at Bulls with cherries on top. Hasn’t been a much more overrated hooker anywhere lately in my estimation than that poor replica of a James Dalton wannabee. If I were Chili or Maku I’d also want to get the hell away from a hypocritical franchise that talks in circles and forked tongues.

Get outa there Chili boy and Maku you doing yourselves no favor hanging about propping up these ou doos nobody’s, even if it costs you some tom get out and play for a franchise that truly values your input or your patent potential instead of singing you songs of pious brotherly love yet delivering sweet fanny f’all.

• 237. SlappesReply to this comment :

Robzim, the safari suit king. Dont think the surfers will ever speak to him again.

• 238. skopskietReply to this comment :

#235 sorry SL I been bad mannered here you offered me a greeting some way back. I’m confined to a lousy cell phone to keep track of proceedings, so please accept apologies for slow reaction time in greeting you back.

• 239. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#235 sharks_lover: Bugger off. I am not talking to you, stealing my okes.

Who the hell is he?

• 240. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

#238 skopskiet: np skoppie understandable,

and on that note i am off to the sack
    gn everyone enjoy

• 241. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#237 Slappes: Ja but Robbie also likes a band called the Kalahari Surfers.

• 242. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#240 sharks_lover: Bye Sharky.

• 243. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

#239 SodaJoe: lol soda he is a very good player tall strong 8thman

i am sure he will do well at the sharks

played sa under 21 bok group too

he was on loan to ep for the season , and i see now he on his way to you guys
    i guess they knew alberts was ducking so they organised warren from us lol

he was one of the juniors **** muir found , but he raised in durbs

• 244. skopskietReply to this comment :

me too out. Night.

• 245. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

I thought Coca-Cola Park kind of sucked for th new name of Ellis Park. But this one takes the biscuit – the new name for the home of the Magpies – Newcastle United – a club steeped in history and a fantastic support base.

sportsdirect.com@St James’ Park.

No ****. I am not joking. This is not from Hayibo.

Which kind of meanders to another thought – are the Lions teh Newcastle United of rugby?

• 246. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#243 sharks_lover: Well I hope he is good. We need a few. Across the park.

• 247. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

soda here is info on warren whiteley

Full Name Warren Roger
    Surname Whiteley
    Height 192
    Weight 101
    Birth Date 18 September 1987
    Birth City Durban
    Marital Status Single
    Favourite Film Gladiator
    Favourite Music Everything
    Favourite Food Pasta
    Primary School Dirkie Uys Primary
    Secondary School Glenwwod High
    Tertiary Education Sharks Academy

• 248. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

ok now i am out lol
    cheers soda tc boet

• 249. Grant12Reply to this comment :

Howzit boets

• 250. RobzimReply to this comment :

Hello my brother

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

About the author

Grant has written 1933 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator