digimag-banner

Dumond signs for Free State

Sharks pivot Monty Dumond has signed a loan deal with the Cheetahs for the Super 14 campaign next season.

The Cheetahs and the Sharks have agreed a temporary transfer, which sees Dumond join the Bloemfontein union and Free State U21 flank Johan Wessels head to Durban. The two players will return to their respective unions once the Currie Cup starts.

Cheetahs backline coach Hawies Fourie says they are happy with their signing and believes Dumond’s form can boost the squad as they prepare for the Super 14.

‘He had a great season with the Sharks, but he was unfortunate to have lost his place when they contracted Juan Hernandez,’ Fourie told keo.co.za.

‘But Monty has played and kicked well when given the opportunity. He’s definitely in his best form this season and he will take that confidence into the Super 14.’

Dumond wants to get Super 14 experience, but Fourie said the flyhalf will have to fight for a place in the team.

‘He wants to play Super 14, but he has to compete with Naas Olivier and Louis Strydom for a place in the match 22,’ he said. ‘It’s good for us to have a player of his quality in the squad and to have that depth in the flyhalf position, especially after losing Jacques-Louis Potgieter to the Bulls.’

Meanwhile, according to the Rapport, the Sharks were willing to pay R2 million to buy Heinrich Brüssow out of his contract with the Cheetahs. However, president Harold Verster confirmed with this website that the Springbok will commit to the union until the end of 2010.

51 Responses to “Dumond signs for Free State”

• 1. JoziReply to this comment :

Good, time to get even. All that’s left is for them to go and poach some young sharks from their academy :mrgreen:

• 2. DavidReply to this comment :

The Sharks are mad, unless they’ve got plans to play Adi as their first choice centre and keep Hernandez at 10. If so, then it means that he’s also seen as a 12 by PdeV.

• 3. DavidReply to this comment :

#1 Jozi:
    It’s not even poaching as it’s a jointly agreed loan. The Sharks must have an enormous depth of backline players we’re not aware of. :grin:

• 4. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#1 Jozi: Yeah but we get Johan Wessels in return which by all accounts he is the next Brussow in the making :) and then Monty comes back to us when we need a Flyhalf agains. We win both ways. Funny we were just mentioning Johan Wessels on Sharksworld, or was it here but on another thread. See what happens when you multitask :) .

• 5. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#3 David: Was wondering the same thing!

• 6. KnersboyReply to this comment :

does anyone know if hernandez (or herny and i like to call him) is contracted for the super 14?

• 7. KnersboyReply to this comment :

…as i like to call him

• 8. dWeePerReply to this comment :

This almost means that Brussouw will remain at the cheaters.

• 9. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#6 Knersboy: Yes Hernandez has signed for CC and S14!

• 10. KnersboyReply to this comment :

#9 Sharksgirl: thats great, i thought he would bugger off back to france after the cc.

so that means we have herny, cronje and ruan as possible flyhalves.

• 11. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#8 dWeePer: Cheetahs have confirmed that Brussow is staying with them to end of s14 2010.

• 12. MustardReply to this comment :

should have signed the incredibly talented earl ‘the tiger’ rose :)

• 13. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#10 Knersboy: Yes, but not so sure on Cronje for S14 yet.

• 14. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#12 Mustard: No we have poached enough players from the Lions, we’ll leave Rose where he is ;)

• 15. KnersboyReply to this comment :

#12 Mustard: they were gonna until they calculated his cost per kilogram and realised that he is more expensive than cocaine.

• 16. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#12 Mustard: Oh you meant the Cheetahs, then okai :)

• 17. grant10Reply to this comment :

Well…Johan Wessels is a bloody good fetcher…will do well for Sharks…Brussow staying at Cheetahs…great for them i reckon….

Sharks need to bolster some backs…especially if Waylon also on way out!

• 18. MustardReply to this comment :

@ 15 knersboy, lol :)

• 19. MustardReply to this comment :

with all the jokes about rose, i actually do think hes talented, he just has to pick up about 10kg and grow the other half of his brain

• 20. klippies101Reply to this comment :

so is this good or bad for natal to lose monty ?

• 21. toughnrumbleReply to this comment :

This is good business on both sides. Dumond looked good in the CC and I think he’s ready for this step up. I think he’s a better all round player than Naas Olivier. The Sharks will have Hernandez at 10, with Ruan Pienaar covering 10, whilst starting either at 9 or 15, so they should be ok without Dumond. It will be great to get him back when Hernandez leaves, and with a season of S14 under his belt.

What’s the news on Johan Wessels? Is he a shark now?

• 22. Cheetah 4 EvaReply to this comment :

#4 Sharksgirl: It is a win win situation indeed. Wessells has a bright future, but with Brussow, the equally promising Wesley Wilkens, (ex Selborne boy, that played Maties) Floors and Scholtz there he won’t be seeing much action!!

With Dumond quite adept at getting his backline moving, it could be brilliant for the Cheetahs!!

New and unusual conundrum for Naka!! Who to leave out lol

15. Daniller/Viljoen
    14. Mapoe/Basson
    13. Snyman/Geel
    12. Ebersohn/Bosman
    11. Nokwe/Demas
    10. Monty Dumond/Naas Olivier
    9. Sarel Pretorius/JP Joubert
    8. Johnson/Uys
    7. Juan Smith/Frans Viljoen/Raubebheimer
    6. Brussow/Scholtz/Wilkens/Floors
    5. David de Vill/Izak vd Westhuizen
    4. Nico Breedt/Jacques Lombard/Rudi Mathee
    3. WP Nel/Ruaan du Preez
    2. Adraai Strauss/Ryno Barnes
    1. Wian du PreezCoenie Oosthuizen

Players that can play almost any pattern effectively!!! We have a much better draw than in 2009 as well…. things look promising for the SA S14 teams

• 23. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#22 Cheetah 4 Eva: Exactly and at the end of the S14 we both get players match fit ready for CC.

The Cheetahs are looking good for S14! Our first game against you is on 20 February and in Durban, hopefully we will have our revenge this time. In the suffocating heat that is Durban in February :)

• 24. CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)Reply to this comment :

YEEEEEES, I’m sorry but Monty D kak kak ka. Why Plumtree bought him on during the FS game I’ll never know!!!!!

• 25. pietskeadeReply to this comment :

#22 Cheetah 4 Eva: We’re light at hooker, lock and centre IMO.

• 26. Cheetah 4 EvaReply to this comment :

#23 Sharksgirl: Lol, great minds think alike… Was just looking at the draw!!

Cheetahs
    Cheetahs vs Bulls in Bloem
    Sharks vs Cheetahs in Durbs (Beach Volleyball?)
    Cheetahs vs Highlandesr in Bloem
    Cheetahs vs Hurricanes in Bloem
    Bye
    Stormers vs Cheetahs in CT
    Cheetahs vs Reds in Bloem
    Warahtahs vs Cheetahs in Sydney
    Brumbies vs Cheetahs in Canberra
    Crusaders v Cheetahs in Christchurch
    Chiefs vs Cheetahs in Hamilton
    Cheetahs vs Blues in Bloem
    Cheetahs vs Western Force in Bloem
    Cheetahs vs Lions in Kimberly

7 Home games (8 actually in Durbs lol)

Sharks:
    Sharks v Chiefs in Durbs
    Sharks v Cheetahs in Durbs
    Crusaders v Sharks in Christchurch
    Waratahs v Sharks in Sydney
    Brumbies v Sharks in Canberra
    Highlanders v Sharks in Dunedin
    Hurricanes v Sharks in Wellington
    Sharks v Reds in Durbs
    Bye
    Lions v Sharks in Jhb
    Sharks v Blues in Durbs
    Bulls v Sharks in Pretoria
    Sharks v Stormers in Durbs
    Sharks v Western Force in Durbs

6 Home games

Bulls:
    Cheetahs v Bulls in Bloem
    Bulls v Brumbies in Pretoria
    Bulls v Waratahs in Pretoria
    Bye
    Bulls v Highlanders in Pretoria
    Bulls v Hurricanes in Pretoria
    Western Force v Bulls in Perth
    Blues v Bulls in Auckland
    Chiefs v Bulls in Hamilton
    Reds v Bulls in Brisbane
    Bulls v Lions in Pretoria
    Bulls v Sharks in Pretoria
    Bulls v Crusaders in Pretoria
    Stormers v Bulls in CT

7 home games

Stormers:
    Lions v Stormers in Jhb
    Stormers v Waratahs in CT
    Stormers v Brumbies in CT
    Stormers v Highlanders in CT
    Stormers v Hurricanes in CT
    Stormers v Cheetahs in CT
    Bye
    Western Force v Stormers in Perth
    Blues v Stormers in Auckland
    Chiefs v Stormers in Hamilton
    Reds v Stormers in Brisbane
    Stormers v Crusaders in CT
    Sharks v Stormers in Durbs
    Stormers v Bulls in Pretoria

7 home games

Lions:
    Lions v Stormers in Jhb
    Lions v Chiefs in Jhb
    Hurricanes v Lions in Wellington
    Brumbies v Lions in Canberra
    Waratahs v Lions in Sydney
    Crusaders v Lions in Christchurch

• 27. Cheetha ChampsReply to this comment :

Good for Johan Wessels. He is a superstar.

I have always said that the no 1 problem for the Sharks is their lack of a genuine fetcher. No one will convince me that Deysel, Botes, Daniel (all fairly good on the ground) are specialist fetchers.

Free State have always known this, and traditionally target the turn overs when the sides meet.

Wessels might well end up playing a lot for the Sharks.

Wonderful to see two SA sides use common sense.

Now all FS need to do is get Wilhelm Steenkamp to come and lock for us, then we will have a really mean pack !!

• 28. Cheetah 4 EvaReply to this comment :

Lions:
    Lions v Stormers in Jhb
    Lions v Chiefs in Jhb
    Hurricanes v Lions in Wellington
    Brumbies v Lions in Canberra
    Waratahs v Lions in Sydney
    Crusaders v Lions in Christchurch
    Highlanders v Lions in Dunedin
    Bye
    Lions v Reds in Jhb
    Lions v Sharks in Jhb
    Bulls v Lions in Pretoria
    Lions v Western Force in Jhb
    Lions v Blues in Jhb
    Cheetahs v Lions in Bloem

Cheetahs, Stormers and Bulls have good draws starting most of their games in SA… Sharks and Lions hit the road early!!

• 29. PapooseReply to this comment :

Why okes like Tacticus are not out on this thread screaming Impatience is beyond me

• 30. PumaReply to this comment :

#4 Sharksgirl: Yip, as long as we get him back and have Hernandez playing for us right now that is fine. Also we may still be getting Brussow. Still waiting to hear more about that.

• 31. PumaReply to this comment :

#28 Cheetah 4 Eva: Sharks actually have a really **** draw next year. We face Chiefs first up too. At the Tank thank goodness but in FEB!! When the ball will be like oil from all the humid weather. Then we face Cheetahs at the tank our bogey team. Then head off to NZ to play Saders then too Oz for two games then back to NZ for two games. Tough, tough draw.

• 32. Cheetah 4 EvaReply to this comment :

Jip, I agree, that is not a cool draw at all!! Hope Cheetahs use this opportunity to actually achieve something in the S14, at least a top 6 finish

• 33. TransformationReply to this comment :

why players like chiliboy, maku, heini adams don’t negotiate loan deals like this is beyond me. good on you monty, if plum is not seeing the value in you, go where you’re needed boet!

• 34. Pot Blou GevaarReply to this comment :

I’m afraid both Dumond and Olivier may be found wanting during the S14, or close to that. They’re decent footballers at CC level, does however not inspire a lot of confidence for my part… The Cheetahs would have been better served by securing Brummer’s signature who’s going to see very little 1st class games (bar Vodacom Cup) maybe.

Add to that Bosman at 12, and a possible return of Ebersohn at 13 and things is starting to look up again..

• 35. Pot Blou GevaarReply to this comment :

I see Keo has a vote on a possible backrow combination now that Spies is out of the equation. How about;
    6. Brussow
    7. Burger
    8. Potgieter

or is that a bit “too” much out of the box thinking, Kanko on the bench.

• 36. YetiratReply to this comment :

I don’t rate Dumond at all. He just seems to come across as average in every facet of play.?

• 37. TransformationReply to this comment :

#34 Pot Blou Gevaar: francois brummer? are you serious, come on man don’t let ur blou bulle bias cloud ur judgement…brummer is not even out of nappies yet…

• 38. Pot Blou GevaarReply to this comment :

#37 Transformation: TRANS – point taken. It is however a sad state of affairs that SA is really thin on quality FH’s. This is my pecking order at the moment;
    1. Morné
    2. Ruan (all the attributes needed, the Sharks however owes him an extended run at FH).
    3. Grant
    4. Burton (no surprises here, a really gifted footballer)
    5. De Waal (if only for consistency – he sticks to a gameplan like flies at a rotting carcass and his defence on the inside channel is not all that bad).
    6. Croy (needs exposure at S14 and CC soon, talented player).
    7. Brummer (only a blind man can’t see the obvious class he possess)

Olivier / Monty, put it this way… in all their years of being around, I’m yet to be convinced.

• 39. guntherReply to this comment :

nice interview with ashley johnson in the cape times…when asked about his “trademark mop” he replies

“its just overgrown….and there are no good barbers in bloemfontein…”

quality..i look forward to seeing him wreak havoc on friday…

• 40. wp_boytjieReply to this comment :

#26 Cheetah 4 Eva: That cant be right man we played the Bulls at Loftus this year…

• 41. Cheetah 4 EvaReply to this comment :

#40 wp_boytjie: Sorry! you are correct !! Last match is Stormers vs Bulls

• 42. Pot Blou GevaarReply to this comment :

#41 Cheetah 4 Eva: Repeat of CC semi ‘09 perhaps? If the Stormers maintain the sort of form they’ve shown this year it’s gonna be epic. Add the cool heads of Habanero and the “Self Proclaimed” greatest one and it all boils down to a pending monster.

• 44. puffReply to this comment :

Jacques Botes, Keegan Daniel, Skoliwe Ndlovu
    All fetchers.
    Why the need for Wessels?

• 45. puffReply to this comment :

Jean Deyzel, Michael Rhodes, Justin Downey
    on the blindside
    Ryan Kankowski, Keegan Daniel (again)
    eighth man

and Blignaut (lock or flank or eight?)

Seems the Sharks need more cover at 8.

Willem Alberts?

• 46. postsReply to this comment :

Sharks will fail yet again until they get there backline sorted out. They have the players just need a no nonsense coach like Ferguson to lay the law down. With the draw they have for the Super 14 I don’t believe that they will even make the quarter finals so ain’t going to buy a season ticket for 2010, rather watch soccer

• 47. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

Shark goes to Cheetahs… that’s not something you see everyday… maybe he’s dyslexic?

• 48. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

#34 Pot Blou Gevaar: Monty made Brummer his ***** in the Sharks Bulls match in Durban!

• 49. DunxReply to this comment :

would be a big coup if we got brussow but i feel for the current pack of loosies

• 50. Cheetha ChampsReply to this comment :

#44 puff: I am the first to admit that everyone has an opinion – but in my very very humble opinion, i dont think Botes, Daniel are even close to real fetchers. They spend way too much time on the wing / center to fall in that category.

ndlovu is still young. He can prove me wrong. Sharks need a real on the deck, fighter – not another flank standing in the backline.

• 51. mxhosaReply to this comment :

Finally the Sharks have a real fetcher in their ranks. However, Nikolai Blignaut should also have been part of the deal, add him to Rudi Mathee, Dawid De Villiers and Nico Breedt all of a sudden the Cheetahs’ lock cupboard does not seem that bare.

About the author

GarethD has written 893 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator