Halfpenny joins AB detractors

Wales wing Leigh Halfpenny says New Zealand are no longer a side you place on the pedestal.

Coach Warren Gatland spoke earlier in the week about the All Blacks losing their “aura of invincibility” and it seems his players aren’t afraid to have a dig either. New Zealand relinquished their Tri-Nations crown this year and haven’t won a World Cup since 1987.

‘I think the time where players were in awe of them has gone and it’s definitely about us and not them,’ Halfpenny told The Western Mail. ‘We are quietly confident that it could be a good time to get a win after 50-plus years.’

New Zealand thumped Wales 29-9 in the last match between the two nations thanks to a second-half fightback. Wales led 9-6 at half-time, and Halfpenny said they will take heart from that showing.

‘We have definitely gained belief from last season that they are not invincible. We had them on the ropes until halftime.

‘Every game you play you learn from and, as a squad, we definitely learned from that experience. We have to have the belief this time that we can go out and play for the full 80 minutes and get a result. Anything other than a win will be a disappointment.’

Halfpenny added that his comments should not be construed as a lack of respect for the Blacks.

‘They are a superb team and everyone wants to play them. The haka is pretty special and it was great seeing that up close for the first time last season.’

84 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.cane: Reply to this comment

56 years since the Dragons last managed a win over NZ.

Keep talking Leigh Halfwit……….you are just what the AB’s need, …………….motivation.

• 2.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

BUT…the AB’s will still crush your Welsh bravado in a blink of an eye.

• 3.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#1 cane:

Tell ‘em straight Cane… :mrgreen:

• 4.Nils: Reply to this comment

“Wales wing Leigh Halfpenny says New Zealand are no longer a side you place on the pedestal.”

The more Welsh keep saying that, the stronger impression they themselves keep placing ABs on the pedestal. Otherwise, why keep banging on and on about it?

56 years are really pressing, it seems. It’s ok, 57 years will not look much worse.

• 5.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#4 Nils:

True…

• 6.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Proverbs 13:3

“He who guards his mouth guards his life. He who opens wide his mouth brings about his own destruction.”

• 7.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#6 Kietzphat:

Amen…

• 8.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Jy gaan op jou moer kry kleingeld.

• 9.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#8 PissAnt:

Very funny… Kleingeld. :lol:

• 10.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#1 cane: lol you sound upset 1/2p thinks you’re **** cane :)

• 11.Puma: Reply to this comment

All Blacks will win. Have no doubt about it.

Go ABs.

• 12.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Wales are going to look really stupid when they lose on Saturday.

• 13.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Will the AB’s be doing their hokey cokey in the change room again?

• 14.Nils: Reply to this comment

#12 Dantalian: Rather, they will look as usual. Pretenders.

• 15.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#11 Puma:

I hope NZ give it to Wales and let that surly-faced Gatland know that he actually is a twerp.

• 16.Jozi: Reply to this comment

What is it about the NH teams and their tendency to shoot their mouths off at the first opportunity? especially the ones in the vicinity of the mud islands.

I can’t wait for the verbals to start when the bokke get their campaign under way.

• 17.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Wales are no France or RSA… they’ll get pomped again!

• 18.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

big mouth riding on the coat tails of sa and france. the ab’s will thump them to prove that even a bad ab team is better than most welsh teams.

• 19.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#18 Knersboy: Yeah an injured Lion is far more dangerous than a healthy, aggressive maltese poodle.

• 20.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#17 bryce_in_oz:

Not even with the Welsh crowd singing of Land of our Fathers with gusto, not even with all the memories of the Welsh rugby halcyon days of Gareth Edwards and Barry John, not even all the bravado and myth of the tough Welsh coal miners etc will change the fact that the southern hemisphere Tri Nations teams make them pay big time most of the time.

It hurts them, but it’s too bad. Leigh Halfpenny knows it too.

• 21.cane: Reply to this comment

Anyone here been to a Test Match in Cardiff?

I understand it is a Humbling and Awe-inspiring experience. Almost Spiritual.

• 22.cane: Reply to this comment

#20 The Jinxta:

Hi Jinx,

New Nik I see.

Welcome back, we missed You.

• 23.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#21 cane:

Gatland wants another awe inspiriing humbling experience. He knows its what he needs. ;-)

• 24.grant10: Reply to this comment

#19 Jozi: LOL

• 25.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#22 cane:

Ah, just a variation of the same theme I guess.

Hope you’re well in NZ and enjoying life.

• 26.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#19 Jozi:

Ouch!! Hahahahaha!

• 27.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

The halfwit better believe his comments will be construed as a lack of respect for the AB’s…I expect to hear all the same old sorry excuses from Gatland and co…..’if only this or if only that..’ :lol:

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

Anyone know where I can exchange my Keo$ for Zimbabwean$.

• 29.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

#21 cane: I’ve been there last year when the Boks won 20 to 15 it is quite a experience, it’s amazing when they sing but to be honest the atmosphere at any of the big SA stadiums are better the majority of the match . It’s only when they sing when you get goose bumps. but the normal people are very nice and friendly, congratulating us Bok supporters after the match.

Oh-ja and it’s very cold in there!!

• 30.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

“…….until Half(penny) time………..”

• 31.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#21 cane:

Best Rugby City bar none.

• 32.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

#29 JA-JA: Sorry have to add this is from my point of view and I’m not saying it’s **** will definitely go there again if I get a chance, it’s worth it. It’s a good place to hang round in afterwards as well, beautiful town, or the area surrounding the Stadium.

• 33.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

Nah, I rate it actually. Good on Gats for trying to raise their own standards and good on the team for taking on the positive attitude. Its sort of like a Welsh Haka but said in funny accents and runs for 1 week instead of 1 min. The pained-faces come later.

Think win, talk win, play to win.

For 80mins.

Not 40mins.

aka Halfpenny Time.

• 34.west: Reply to this comment

No other team runs to the papers before every all black game saying they arnt invincible, lost there aura, all that sort of rubbish, it shows already that the welsh are finished.

look if the french or boks were playing the blacks they would belive in themselves and would not hold the Blacks on a pedestal but they wouldnt have to run to the media to declare there team talk. As one Nz journo put it a few years ago “Wales the village idiots of rugby”

• 35.cab: Reply to this comment

no such thing as a bad AB team, the boyos are going to get 50 put past them.
    oi yoi.

• 36.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#33 WakaNathan: you rate it because it plays into NZ’s hands, post 27 by Stormer outta hell sums it up perfectly.

#35 cab: not 50 probably 20 or 30

• 37.cane: Reply to this comment

#29 JA-JA:

Thank You Jar Jar.

When I win the Lottery I will take in 2 Test Match Venues.

Millennium Stadium, Cardiff.
    Kings Park, Durban.

And if budgetary constraints allow…….Newlands and Murrayfield.

• 38.cane: Reply to this comment

#35 cab:

Up North we SH Teams cannot put 50 on them.

I’ll be happy with a 1 point win.

This is Wales. They have Pride and there Home Crowd will lift them.

• 39.cane: Reply to this comment

#31 WakaNathan:

Thank You Waka.

• 40.cab: Reply to this comment

#38 cane:
    The welsh can have all the pride they want, this is still a very good AB side.

• 41.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#36 Big Hit:

****. I rate it because theyre trying to believe in themselves. Its a fairly good starting point if you do want to win.

You wouldnt find Boks or France saying that because they are teams on a different level and different rivalries with ABs than Wales. Stormer merely points at that ABs remain strong favourites, but Im sure the odds will still show this as a 2-horse race.

It doesnt ‘play in to NZs hands’. The game still comes down to 15 individuals at the end of the day, not halfquotes from Halfpenny.

#37 cane:

Much as Murrayfield is my spiritual 2nd Home (if I was a British MP, Id consider ‘flipping’ it), its is by no means 1 of the Great Stadium/City Rugby Towns. Cardiff is so magic because its right IN the middle of town, ON the river, and SURROUNDED in bars. No schlep from here to there. And the locals just love and KNOW their footy, not like half-interested Jocks in Edinburgh & corporate Poms at Twickenham. I suppose Cardiff is a bit like Wellington, but just with a better stadium for rugby.

• 42.Test: Reply to this comment

I think these comments are born out of a deep seated inferiority complex that the NH teams (bar France) seem to suffer from.

A good healthy respect for the opposition and a strong belief in your own abillities is the best approach imo. We love playing the AB but we never right them off.

• 43.cane: Reply to this comment

#40 cab:
    True Cab, I think Graham Henry taking over as Forwards Coach has made a big difference.

The AB’s have their Mojo back……….(whatever a mojo is).

• 44.The Jinxta: Reply to this comment

#37 cane:

The funniest quips come from Newlands. The atmosphere is better than Kings Park (which is also good btw). Newlands is like a carnival and there’s plenty laughs unless the Boks are losing of course. ;-)

The Millenium Stadium is a spiritual experience, (although the Bulls boykies would dispute that) :mrgreen:

Twickers has that “tradition” thang.

Lansdowne Rd or Croke Park are a well behaved bunch…the least booing from the crowd.

Eden Park has that hardnosed truth feel I imagine. Full blown NZ passion.

The Western Cape is the laugh province of SA. Dark humour at its best. ( Eish…even local AB supporters!!!)Chris Jack met some and was blown away by the craziness of it all.

Cane, may you win the NZ lottery and visit these shores. You will have no problem hanging out here.

• 45.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#44 The Jinxta:

Yes, Newlands is the 1 SA rugby-town I want to experience, looks sensational. As does Kings Park. The concept of braais in situ is condusive to a good time, mirrored in different ways by the old Boot Parties at Eden Park (gone now unfort) and what can be found at HQ on the Middlesex 7s Day (sensational ……atleast it was 10+ yrs ago when I 1st went).

Must visit Ellis Park too, not because its a a good town necessarily but because its Ellis Park which us Kiwis revere above all others, like Everest.

• 46.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#41 WakaNathan: no stormer is saying that all these needless public quotes will be used by the NZ coaches to motivate the team, the mental aspect of test rugby is impt. I agree you wouldn’t find the Boks, France or any of the other teams saying this stuff publicly. I’m going to have a good laugh at Gatland when his team gets beat.

• 47.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#46 Big Hit:

Well I disagree that it will in any way be used as ‘motivation’ either by the Players or the Management. That is already instilled in the Jersey, it goes with the territory.

• 48.cab: Reply to this comment

i think gatland’s actually a bit of a fool, he’s said a few things which would make our lot mighty proud, then again its all part of the gamesmanship, perhaps he’s also a maestro?

• 49.Test: Reply to this comment

#46 Big Hit: The thing is if they loose they’ll just say they didnt play to their potential… how many times have we heard that before.

• 50.Test: Reply to this comment

#48 cab: I was just thinking that if Jake was still coach he might say something like that. Remember the comments about the Wallabie pack.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.