digimag-banner

Opportunity knocks for Kanko

Pierre Spies’s tour-ending injury has gifted Ryan Kankowski the opportunity to prove himself on the heavier tracks of Europe.

Talented though he is, Kankowski is hardly celebrated for the pick-and-goes from the base of the scrum or the crash ball in midfield. The Sharks No 8 is devastating in a looser contest, his speed and agility marking him as the ultimate threat on the counter-attack.

He received precious few chances for the Boks this season, but his running ability has certainly been showcased for the Sharks in the back end of the Currie Cup. The KwaZulu-Natal side scored some cracking tries, most of them from turnover ball, and on several occasions Kankowski was on hand to round off.

Europe presents a different challenge for the man they call “The Hoff”. In scenes about as far from Baywatch as you can get, Kankowski is going to be measured. Now that Spies is on the injured list, Kankowski will need to show he can play a tighter role.

It’s a big ask, especially at scrum time. This Bok set piece has been in trouble for the past couple of years, although there have been instances where the Bok eight have dominated (think the first Test against the British & Irish Lions and the last Tri-Nations Test against the All Blacks). But when the Bok scrum has failed, Spies has struggled from the back. On the muddy surfaces of Europe where scrumming is hold dear to even lowly Italy, Kankowski will need to show the Bok coaching staff he has other strengths.

The Spies injury is an untimely one, as it has further disrupted the intended loose trio dynamic. With Juan Smith already ruled out, management were looking somebody to fill the void. Schalk Burger did an admirable job at the end of the Tri-Nations, but given he was initially included in the Test XV to stay at home and Heinrich Brüssow was down to start against Leicester, it suggested Burger would play 6, Spies would play 7 and Kankowski would pack at 8.

It’s an interesting selection that was made according to the opposition. In a recent interview with keo.co.za, Bok forwards coach Gary Gold spoke about the loose-forward dynamic and how it could change according to the opposition. Burger and Brüssow bring different things to the openside position, and in a hard game when ball-carrying is likely to be more important than fetching and counter-attacking, Burger would have been preferred. Spies would have also adjusted to the role of blindside and utilised to carry the ball up.

But with Spies’s injury, Brüssow has been recalled, a call that will see the Bok game plan change significantly. Burger will start at 7 and Kankowski at 8, meaning the Boks will only have one specialist ball-carrier in their back row.

Kankowski has this opportunity to prove he’s more than a gifted runner when afforded the space. On paper, this back row doesn’t have a balanced look about it, but the trio will have the France and Ireland games to prove the theory wrong.

In 2008, there was a big hype made about the debate on 8. At present, a fit Spies holds a monopoly on the position, because Kankowski is yet to make the step up in other departments. For the Boks’ sake, hopefully he can adjust to the conditions next Friday and help the Boks to their first win over France since 2005.

By Jon Cardinelli

200 Responses to “Opportunity knocks for Kanko”

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151. DavidReply to this comment :

#144 Bok fan:
    Potgieter or Vermeulen is a far better bench option than Kanko for that starting combo.

• 152. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

#147 grant10: John Smit is the best 3 in the country right now. If you think a 23 year-old greenhorn is better than him, that’s sad. Jannie may be a slightly better scrummager but nowhere near him in the loose. Smit is nowhere near the best 2 in the country so, once again, your argument is flawed and irrational.

• 153. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

6. Brussow
    7. Schalk
    8. Kanko

Deysel on bench

end of story

• 154. wp_boytjieReply to this comment :

The Sharks Cheetahs game was a prime example for me of a tight game where Kankowski was nowhere.HE DOES NOT have the physical game of Roussouw , Alberts , Vermeulen and others.

If our scrum is going backwards we are f*cked.

• 155. cabReply to this comment :

#147 grant10:
    lol, ok just checking, i think JW might agree with you, but i think smittie is doing very well at 3 and i dont see any obvious replacement, wp nel looks promising but so did werner kruger. lets see how these guys go in the real deal s14 first and if lions, cheetahs and wp dont get the wooden spoon again with all their supposed scrumming prowess.

• 156. Ratel Brussow (MSIUR)Reply to this comment :

#154 wp_boytjie: It used to be the same for Spies, but now through international game time that part of his game is much stronger. We’ll have Danie and another on the bench so lets give Kanko a chance to develop as a player on this EOYT.

• 157. Bok fanReply to this comment :

#151 David: All very talented including Deysel. I think Kanko deserves a chance though before them as he has been producing the goods over a longer period and his extra speed and skills would be ideal for the last 20min

• 158. Bok fanReply to this comment :

#153 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): For this tour that is def the best option

• 159. Bok fanReply to this comment :

#145 wp_boytjie: Dannie R

• 160. jockstrapReply to this comment :

#148 Big Hit:

If Kidney picks on form like he said he would then this must be the team. O’Gara has not been the same since the Lions and is playing nowhere near an International 10 while Sexton is looking like an excellent prospect. The Irish teams are not playing their best rugby to date but are improving with each game. Leinster is top of the Magners while Munster and Ulster are joint second and most are still expected to win their groups in the HC. Remember SA haven’t won in Dublin the last 2 times they’ve visited.

• 161. wp_boytjieReply to this comment :

#156 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Kanko needs more time from the bench , at least 20min in each test. You have a valid point regarding the player’s development , but agree to disagree on it i guess. For me Danie Roussouw has been unlucky and deserves a chance….

2006 England EYOT – Danie Roussouw played a blinder at 8
    2007 World Cup Campaign – Danie Roussouw 8.
    2008 England EYOT – Danie Roussouw brilliant at 7.

• 162. cabReply to this comment :

In the poll vote for starting trio against scotland, you’ve got every combination apart from the two i like

6. brussow 7. burger 8. potgieter

6. brussow 7. deysel 8. burger

mind you danie has always excelled on these EOY tours, but he’s going to be a very different looseforward to anything the french will play, then again matfield is a very different lock to anything the french will play.

• 163. cabReply to this comment :

scotland=france, time for nap.

• 164. catleyaReply to this comment :

#150 David: #142 David:

I assess every player like that and I try to be brutally honest. it is the only way. Otherwise you run the risk of falling prey to subjective issues like provincialism, personal preference, etc. it is good to know/see that you and Grant 10 ussually agree with me on most issues. I guess it is because we like the same style of play and would like to see the Boks playing that style.

• 165. MustardReply to this comment :

all this talk about the loose trio is getting silly, no matter who steps in at 8 kanko or danie they wont dissappoint, though id prefer statin with danie roussouw then shifting him to 4 after 60min and bring in kanko for last 20min to run them ragged. We should be much much more concerned about 12. Adi hasnt proven himself at 12, yes he had a blinder of a season in 2008 but that was at 13 and playing outside jdv who created almost all of his breaks.

• 166. bananasReply to this comment :

Out of France and Ireland i reckon Ireland will be the toughest test, remember there are a few sore Lions players there so revenge will be foremost.

It will be dirty and hard and possibly the Bok Mngmnt team thought bringing Shalk back in the French test would settle him before playing a part in the Ireland test …. sounds sensible ?

However there is no way he should displace Brussow at 6. Unless you play Shalk 6 Danie 8 and Kanko 7 to bash it up then bring on Brussow when they tire to chase down the game. Still feel you play the best xv every saturday.

• 167. PumaReply to this comment :

#165 Mustard: Mustard agree, Our biggest problem going to be if Adi plays inside centre. Not about our loose trio. If it is Kanko or Danie that starts we are looking good there. Think with no JdV at inside centre we may have a weak link there. Rather have WO start than Adi who has been out of form for quite some time now.

• 168. Bok fanReply to this comment :

#162 cab: Whos playing Scotland?

• 169. Bok fanReply to this comment :

#163 cab: Me too

• 170. PumaReply to this comment :

#166 bananas: Never count out the French they are very hard to beat at home but agree Ireland going to be our hardest game.

I think Brussow got under their skin far more than Burger. They had a problem with Brussow. Even when they played Cheetahs he was hand full for the Lions players.

Brussow has to start at 6, Burger at 7 and Kanko a 8. If Danie starts at 8 that would be fine too but then there is no back up for when Bakkies comes off which is after 60min.

Proabably have Deysel on the bench too. Especially when we play Ireland. Going to be a hard physical game.

Wish we were going to play England as well. Probably the first time we not playing England on our eoyt.

• 171. PumaReply to this comment :

#162 cab: Cab with that loose trio of. 6 Brussow 7 Deysel and 8 Burger. We could bash up a truck……hehehehe. Damn hard players those.

• 172. MustardReply to this comment :

Puma, yep id definately start WO aswel, hell id even start Bosman at 12 before adi. Im a huge Rob eberhson fan but hes still abit of a greenhorn, maybe in a few yrs time. Its not that i think adi is a bad player, its just i dont think hes a 12 hes done exceptionaly well at 13 though, so id have him soley as backup to fourie

• 173. bananasReply to this comment :

#165 Mustard: I regret to say that I view the Adi subject as over. I dont rate him and many dont but he is in PdV plans so we have to deal with it.
    If I was playing Boks I would target the Adi-Morne channel all game long as Adi shoulder is buggered and Morne is not the hardest tackler … (and bonus if Morne gets injured).
    I dont feel that Olivier has done much at Intl level either so we need some fresh glood in this position.

• 174. bananasReply to this comment :

glood = blood.

• 175. YetiratReply to this comment :

I think the Brussow, Burger and Kanko loose combo is, on paper, as balanced as you can get.?

You have your ball carrier in Kanko, your grafter and tackler in Burger and your fetcher in Brussow. Where’s the problem?

Kanko just needs to up his physicality and impose himself a bit more on the opposition – that is where Spies is ahead of him at the moment.

• 176. MustardReply to this comment :

@171, if deysel comes in at 7 n schalk shifts to 8 i think we losing a lineout option though, could be wrong but i dont think deysel that great in the lineouts

• 177. Storm outta hellReply to this comment :

As long as Brussouw plays I’m not too concerned with the rest of the combination,the balance will be there :cool: but to not play him would be a national disaster..!!

• 178. Breakdown BoyReply to this comment :

#150 David: I don’t think Alberts will get a shot at bok level as long as Johnson is playing well as they both are similair players (large #8) and thus they will always opt for the player of colour.

• 180. Storm outta hellReply to this comment :

#178 Breakdown Boy: Yep…that’s the way our cookie crumbles ;)

• 181. DavidReply to this comment :

#178 Breakdown Boy:
    Ashley’s 1.86m compared to Alberts 1.91. Alberts also has the advantage that he can play lock, which makes him the perfect replacement when Danie retires or’s injured.

• 182. pietskeadeReply to this comment :

Possible Leicster Tigers starting 15 without respective internationals?:

1 Dan Cole
    2 Mefin Davies
    3 Boris Stankovich
    4 Calum Green
    5 Ben Kay
    6 Geoff Parling
    7 Ben Pienaar
    8 Brett Deacon
    9 James Grindal
    10 Jeremy Staunton
    11 Johne Murphy
    12 Aaron Mauger
    13 Anthony Allen
    14 Tom Armes
    15 Scott Hamilton

• 183. Big HitReply to this comment :

#182 pietskeade: Mauger has supposedly been inked in at 10

• 184. pietskeadeReply to this comment :

#183 Big Hit: Is there any official team sheet yet?

Ben Pienaar born in Virginia in the Free State, what a loss.

• 185. DavidReply to this comment :

#184 pietskeade:
    With all the loosies at our disposal, not really.

• 186. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

How much game time has Kanko really been given to warrant all this criticism against him? Just because he’s not some great big hulking player like Spies (who should really be more powerful than he his) everyone perceives him as a lightweight. I’ve seen him hand-off McCaw and shurgging off 3 other defenders to score a try in the S14 . Kanko has awesome pace, great sidestep and quality linking and ball skills, something Spies lacks. How many times have we seen Spies knock-on at the base of a scrum?

Kanko scored a great try against Wales on his debut test in 2007 and so nearly scored another against the Baa Baas if it wasn’t for Rocokoko’s valiant effort. After that Kanko was hardly selected and how can we be judging a player based on playing the last 20mins of a match every now and then?

So what I’m saying is cut the oke some slack and give him a chance. Now is he opportunity to grab the bull by the horns and prove his detractors wrong. But if he does play kak and goes missing against France or whoever, then I will be the first to admit that he has failed to make an impression.

• 187. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

#177 Storm outta hell: Zuma would be on the phone to Div if that happened!

• 188. pietskeadeReply to this comment :

#185 David: You can never have enough loosies in one country. The Boks are sorted but he’s the potential to be a Spies sort of player and one of the S14 franchises can do with him in the squad.

• 189. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

#170 Puma: Ja man Deysel must be on the bench against Ireland. O’Gara will be kakking his broekies when he comes on. Let Brussouw and Schalk wear them down and then bring on Deysel to knock the kak out of them! We must have revenge for 2006 and BOD’s appalling behaviour in the 2nd Lions test.

• 190. guntherReply to this comment :

#181 David:

alberts will be a helluva lift in the lineouts… somebody is going to rip themselves a new one trying to get him up there…

• 192. Desert StormerReply to this comment :

Spies is ‘n nought. Rather play Earl Rose at 8.

• 193. catleyaReply to this comment :

irrespective of who plays versus France, my team versus Italy will be:
    1. Heinke vd Merwe (ease him in in a familiar position)
    2. Bismarck du Plessis (to help Heinke ease in)
    3. John Smit (to keep the youngsters settled)
    4. Danie Rossouw (rest Bakkies for Ireland)
    5. Andries Bekker (rest victor for Ieland)
    6. Heinrich Brussow (to suss his combo with Pottie)
    7. Dewald Potgieter (so coach can see what he wanted to versus Tigers)
    8. Schalk Burger (if thats where he’ll play S14)
    9. Heini Adams ( rest FdP for Ireland)
    10.Ruan Pienaar (gametime for RP and rest Morne)
    11.Jongi Nokwe (rest Habana)
    12.Wynand Olivier(more gametime to gel with Mossie)
    13.Jacques Fourie (more gametime with WO)
    14.Odwa Ndungane (rest JPP for Ireland)
    15.Zane Kirchner (more time to settle)

16.Chilliboy Rallepele (20 min off bench for Bissie)
    17.Gurthro Steenkamp (20 min off bench for Smit- Heinke to TH)
    18.Jannie du Plessis (cover for Heinke)
    19.Alistair Hargreaves (4 and 5 cover)
    20.Davon Raubenheimer(20 min off bench for Brussow at 7. Pottie to 6 or Scalla to 6/Pottie to 8)
    21.Earl Rose(if has to be Bok, might as well be Azzuri- cover 9(Ruan to 9), 10 and 15)
    22.Juan de Jongh (20 minutes ipo Mossie- to rest for Irish)

We have to rest some of the senior players, and this side will acquit itself well vs Italy

• 194. PartizanReply to this comment :

#192. Thank heavens your comment has no weight behind it

• 195. Pot Blou GevaarReply to this comment :

Pottie @ 8 thanks!!!

• 196. BiscuitReply to this comment :

#67 capebull:

Why Alberts and Kanko?

Depth.

You can’t stick with one player throughout the S14 and the Currie Cup has fewer games when the Boks can play

• 197. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

#165 Mustard: “though id prefer statin with danie roussouw”

I assume this means that the other combinations will give you heart failure? Or at least elevate your cholesterol.

You may not be alone.

Brussow, Burger, Potgieter would be outstanding Cab by the way.

• 198. CoachPeteReply to this comment :

Soda :) hey

• 199. DunxReply to this comment :

but if they get deyser in they’ll have a scavanger and a strong ball carrier

• 200. motomouseReply to this comment :

As much as I admire Spies I wouldn’t exactly consider him to be that spectacular when it comes to the tight stuff, he has been fantastic at times but also been anonymous on the odd occassion.

We will see how Kanko goes during this tour.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator