Opportunity knocks for Kanko
4 Nov 2009
Pierre Spies’s tour-ending injury has gifted Ryan Kankowski the opportunity to prove himself on the heavier tracks of Europe.
Talented though he is, Kankowski is hardly celebrated for the pick-and-goes from the base of the scrum or the crash ball in midfield. The Sharks No 8 is devastating in a looser contest, his speed and agility marking him as the ultimate threat on the counter-attack.
He received precious few chances for the Boks this season, but his running ability has certainly been showcased for the Sharks in the back end of the Currie Cup. The KwaZulu-Natal side scored some cracking tries, most of them from turnover ball, and on several occasions Kankowski was on hand to round off.
Europe presents a different challenge for the man they call “The Hoff”. In scenes about as far from Baywatch as you can get, Kankowski is going to be measured. Now that Spies is on the injured list, Kankowski will need to show he can play a tighter role.
It’s a big ask, especially at scrum time. This Bok set piece has been in trouble for the past couple of years, although there have been instances where the Bok eight have dominated (think the first Test against the British & Irish Lions and the last Tri-Nations Test against the All Blacks). But when the Bok scrum has failed, Spies has struggled from the back. On the muddy surfaces of Europe where scrumming is hold dear to even lowly Italy, Kankowski will need to show the Bok coaching staff he has other strengths.
The Spies injury is an untimely one, as it has further disrupted the intended loose trio dynamic. With Juan Smith already ruled out, management were looking somebody to fill the void. Schalk Burger did an admirable job at the end of the Tri-Nations, but given he was initially included in the Test XV to stay at home and Heinrich Brüssow was down to start against Leicester, it suggested Burger would play 6, Spies would play 7 and Kankowski would pack at 8.
It’s an interesting selection that was made according to the opposition. In a recent interview with keo.co.za, Bok forwards coach Gary Gold spoke about the loose-forward dynamic and how it could change according to the opposition. Burger and Brüssow bring different things to the openside position, and in a hard game when ball-carrying is likely to be more important than fetching and counter-attacking, Burger would have been preferred. Spies would have also adjusted to the role of blindside and utilised to carry the ball up.
But with Spies’s injury, Brüssow has been recalled, a call that will see the Bok game plan change significantly. Burger will start at 7 and Kankowski at 8, meaning the Boks will only have one specialist ball-carrier in their back row.
Kankowski has this opportunity to prove he’s more than a gifted runner when afforded the space. On paper, this back row doesn’t have a balanced look about it, but the trio will have the France and Ireland games to prove the theory wrong.
In 2008, there was a big hype made about the debate on 8. At present, a fit Spies holds a monopoly on the position, because Kankowski is yet to make the step up in other departments. For the Boks’ sake, hopefully he can adjust to the conditions next Friday and help the Boks to their first win over France since 2005.
By Jon Cardinelli

200 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All
4 Nov 2009, 08:07 am
Go Hoff Dragon!
4 Nov 2009, 08:11 am
Kanko will grow from this opportunity and should narrow the gap between him and Spies. Leaving out Brussow was idiocy. Pure and simple. There is nothing wrong with the balance of Brussow, Burger and Kanko. But Spies, Burger and Kanko is definitely unbalanced WTF. Another instance of Muir making room for his favourites?
4 Nov 2009, 08:18 am
#2 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Lets just hope this opportunity will be good news for the Sharks as well, Kanko has been rather disapointing this season, bar one or two games!
4 Nov 2009, 08:19 am
KANKO YOU BEAUTY!Show em who the best 8!
4 Nov 2009, 08:25 am
Its a little bit unfair unfair on Kankowski to expect him to perform straight away, especially since he has basically had no extended game time since the S14 way back in May.
Since then he has played in the ridiculous third Lions test and, if memory serves, 2 currie cup games, getting a man of the match in one of them.
The rest of the time he has been bench bound.
Thats a woeful amount of game time compared to the likes of Spies, who has really benefited from his consistent game time and selection.
Whilst i am the first to admit that Spies should have been the first choice no. 8 for the Trinations and Lions tour, it might be a bit much to expect Kanko to perform miracles straight away.
But, he is a class player and you know what they say about class being permanent.
4 Nov 2009, 08:30 am
Well, just put Roussow, Deysel and Potgieter on the bench in case things go wrong….
4 Nov 2009, 08:33 am
schalk at 6 i want to puke on my speedo…
4 Nov 2009, 08:35 am
Play Brussow at 6….Deysel at 7…Dewalt at 8….
The show ponies will not shape if the conditions slow….
Schalk also damn lucky to be a ‘favorite’
Hope he proves me wrong…but i dont rate him anymore.
Drop Brussow….someone needs there heads read!!
4 Nov 2009, 08:41 am
#8 grant10: I think, and I might be wrong, but I think Schalk will make his comeback this tour. We Safas are quick to forget that Schalk was once the one player we could not do with out, when he gets his grove back…watch out!
4 Nov 2009, 08:44 am
#9 Breakdown Boy: I agree… You can’t keep a good man down!
Brussouw has been brilliant this year, but lets not forget the almighty Schalk!
To have both of them in our team… is amazing!
GO BOKKE
4 Nov 2009, 08:45 am
#5 John Galt: you’re right, it’s going to be hard for Kanko, but i think he’s good enough to show his class. He has to , i think he will.
4 Nov 2009, 08:45 am
#8 grant10: that’s a back-row for the Italy test maybe
#7 grant10: haha
4 Nov 2009, 08:47 am
#6 pepinillo:
y wud u put 3 loosies on the bench?
4 Nov 2009, 08:48 am
#9 Breakdown Boy: I agree, being dropped and starting from the bench seems to have woken him up a bit. Time for him to pull finger because there are a lot of youngsters who are hungry for his jersey..
4 Nov 2009, 08:50 am
So is it fair to say that if Kanko performs he will become the first choice Bok 8 just like J. Fourie took his chance when Adi was injured and likewise for M. Steyn?
4 Nov 2009, 08:55 am
I have always said that Spies playing with someone that can put him in gaps would be the best.
Juan never passes the ball
The best was combo with Big Joke funny enough. P3 does that at bulls as well
Burger is just a disruptive player he does not create oppertunities , he disrupts oppesition.
Kanko is better suited for 7′s thats why the Sharkies wants Alberts.
Combo with Potgieter and Brussouw and Deysel will do better this tour
4 Nov 2009, 08:57 am
#15 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter:
the way things are done in bok rugby is he stars he will get dropped
4 Nov 2009, 08:58 am
is=if
4 Nov 2009, 09:06 am
#17 sharks_lover:
Howdy SL, did you watch our U/21 against the FS before the CC final. Lambie looking pretty good.
4 Nov 2009, 09:08 am
#9 Breakdown Boy: at 7 maybe….at 6 …never!
4 Nov 2009, 09:08 am
Scrummie also looked damn good, Meyer i think his name was
4 Nov 2009, 09:10 am
WC 2011
Loosies for that competetion
6 popeys Brussow
7 Hard man Deysel
8 Ferrari Dewalt Potgieter
Bench Alberts ..Vermeulen
Bobs your aunt
4 Nov 2009, 09:12 am
#21 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: hiyas mate hope you are well
meyer is a goos scrummy but it went wrong for the sharks when he went to flyhalf , to many wrong options
as for young lambie?? i predicted long ago this is a new star born
and the more i see him the more i know i am right, this kid is brilliant
4 Nov 2009, 09:13 am
#22 grant10: hey now :angry: dont lie about my uncle bob
4 Nov 2009, 09:14 am
#22 grant10: damn…forgot about Spies!!
4 Nov 2009, 09:14 am
gm grant , eish boet all the okes you saying is going to sharks are in other squads
4 Nov 2009, 09:15 am
#24 sharks_lover: LOL…Lambie is the next big thing…
#25 grant10: and what you gonna say about kanko if he has a blinder against the french fries ??
#26 sharks_lover: Wait…all shall be revealed…
4 Nov 2009, 09:16 am
#28 sharks_lover: Him and Spies can play 11 and 14…
A Bekker 13…
Schalk Brits at 12….
Kates your uncle
4 Nov 2009, 09:17 am
#28 sharks_lover: Let him prove us wrong.
4 Nov 2009, 09:17 am
Brussow at scrumhalf….
J smit at 10 with those grubbers!!!
4 Nov 2009, 09:20 am
#32 grant10: a grubber that won a test
#31 capebull: oh he shall
#30 grant10:
4 Nov 2009, 09:22 am
#32 grant10: grant i know i brag a lot about young lambie , its just the kid is so talented , he seems to ooze confidence at the back , so much time always in position
**** and to think he only 19
4 Nov 2009, 09:23 am
#32 grant10: dare i say it? he has SPRINGBOK written all over him?? obviously not now,
4 Nov 2009, 09:25 am
I would have thought that a small fetcher like Brussow would be even more critical in the NH, where the ball is on the ground far more often than the harder fields of SA.
I have a feeling, though, that this may be Kankos last chance for the Boks as there has to be too much reshuffling of the loose trio to accomodate him. Having Kanko in the squad will be a bit of a luxury when players like Vermeulen, Alberts and Potgieter provide a better selection of options. When it comes to selecting a WC squad of 28 players, I think it’s limited to, you need as much versatility as possible in your backups, without sacrificing quality. As a specialist 8th man, Kanko doesn’t stand head and shoulders above the other contenders to give us the luxury of selecting him as a backup for the position.
4 Nov 2009, 09:26 am
#23 sharks_lover:
Good eye for talent then, think the altitude also played a part. Jeez but that FS just dont give up and I see its a philosophy employed through all their age groups
4 Nov 2009, 09:26 am
#34 sharks_lover: I have only seen him 3 times….the real deal…oozes class….hope he gets some super 14 exposure….his boot,positional sense and feel for the game is obvious….certainly one for the future…
I like the skilful players…intelligent okes…like Dewalt…Bob…Luke…Lambie…Adi Jacobs…..etc
Anyway…work to do…
Brussow and Alberts will be sharks…Not sure about Ludick.
4 Nov 2009, 09:28 am
#36 David: Amen …Brussow is being given a raw deal…cannot fathom the prospect of starting without him if he is fully fit.
4 Nov 2009, 09:32 am
#39 grant10: cheers grant tc boet catcha laters
#37 Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: true mate altitude played its paert when we had to play xtra time
i see chilliboy being hunted by the lions…he is the moer in over Gary Botha, Bulls should let him go and play at Lions ….also Lions will give him captaincy.
Bulls not budging at this stage…talks ongoing.
I see that Charmaine Weaver (Gale) has also come out about an affair with Jooste, when he was still married to his first wife and also later to Amor. Seems the guy is a serial cheat, as well as a liar.
4 Nov 2009, 09:33 am
not sure the big deal….pretty sure danie roussouw will play at no 8
4 Nov 2009, 09:37 am
#42 David: Amor needs her head read to hang around….
4 Nov 2009, 09:40 am
#42 David: sad actually and remember the ones thats gonna suffer bad is the little ones
joost is proving to be a total chop baaaaaaaad sheeep :lol;
4 Nov 2009, 09:41 am
#44 grant10: In principle I do agree with you, but I have been trying to place myself in her shoes. She has children like I do and the thought of them being disrupted is yet another huge burden that she has to face! If he is a good father, it may be better for them if they try and mend things. I certainly wouldn’t ever again share his bed though, at least not until he had passed various aids tests. I have never liked Amor, but I cannot but feel sorry for her
4 Nov 2009, 09:45 am
#46 Sharksgirl: amen
but it seems more and more stories are comming out
4 Nov 2009, 09:47 am
#46 Sharksgirl: in afrikaans sharksgirl; we have a very wise saying
“As die bok eers die oor die heining gespring het sal hy altyd so maak”
he wont change , a leopard never changes its spots
4 Nov 2009, 09:48 am
#48 sharks_lover: I guess you are right! Those poor children!
4 Nov 2009, 09:50 am
#46 Sharksgirl: Blood in the water…tainted….very seldom able to fix a relationship after this happens….more and more dirt will come out now…..
Sad….feel for the family….and all those that put Joost on a pedestal….
The drugs is a very poor reflection as well…anyway…wont throw stones…but Amor best out of there i reckon….
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All