Opportunity knocks for Kanko

Pierre Spies’s tour-ending injury has gifted Ryan Kankowski the opportunity to prove himself on the heavier tracks of Europe.

Talented though he is, Kankowski is hardly celebrated for the pick-and-goes from the base of the scrum or the crash ball in midfield. The Sharks No 8 is devastating in a looser contest, his speed and agility marking him as the ultimate threat on the counter-attack.

He received precious few chances for the Boks this season, but his running ability has certainly been showcased for the Sharks in the back end of the Currie Cup. The KwaZulu-Natal side scored some cracking tries, most of them from turnover ball, and on several occasions Kankowski was on hand to round off.

Europe presents a different challenge for the man they call “The Hoff”. In scenes about as far from Baywatch as you can get, Kankowski is going to be measured. Now that Spies is on the injured list, Kankowski will need to show he can play a tighter role.

It’s a big ask, especially at scrum time. This Bok set piece has been in trouble for the past couple of years, although there have been instances where the Bok eight have dominated (think the first Test against the British & Irish Lions and the last Tri-Nations Test against the All Blacks). But when the Bok scrum has failed, Spies has struggled from the back. On the muddy surfaces of Europe where scrumming is hold dear to even lowly Italy, Kankowski will need to show the Bok coaching staff he has other strengths.

The Spies injury is an untimely one, as it has further disrupted the intended loose trio dynamic. With Juan Smith already ruled out, management were looking somebody to fill the void. Schalk Burger did an admirable job at the end of the Tri-Nations, but given he was initially included in the Test XV to stay at home and Heinrich Brüssow was down to start against Leicester, it suggested Burger would play 6, Spies would play 7 and Kankowski would pack at 8.

It’s an interesting selection that was made according to the opposition. In a recent interview with keo.co.za, Bok forwards coach Gary Gold spoke about the loose-forward dynamic and how it could change according to the opposition. Burger and Brüssow bring different things to the openside position, and in a hard game when ball-carrying is likely to be more important than fetching and counter-attacking, Burger would have been preferred. Spies would have also adjusted to the role of blindside and utilised to carry the ball up.

But with Spies’s injury, Brüssow has been recalled, a call that will see the Bok game plan change significantly. Burger will start at 7 and Kankowski at 8, meaning the Boks will only have one specialist ball-carrier in their back row.

Kankowski has this opportunity to prove he’s more than a gifted runner when afforded the space. On paper, this back row doesn’t have a balanced look about it, but the trio will have the France and Ireland games to prove the theory wrong.

In 2008, there was a big hype made about the debate on 8. At present, a fit Spies holds a monopoly on the position, because Kankowski is yet to make the step up in other departments. For the Boks’ sake, hopefully he can adjust to the conditions next Friday and help the Boks to their first win over France since 2005.

By Jon Cardinelli

200 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#98 capebull: as kanko covers 8 and 7

but you must also remember the boks take players away from a team for some time

also teams are trying to rotate players more because of injuries etc

so with the players comming to the sharks they will beable to rotate more with not to much fear of the backup not being good enough

• 102.Mustard: Reply to this comment

capebull, that would my pick aswel, esp against france. Bakkies gona have to huge against the frogs, thats gona be the most physical game on tour, and its first up.

• 103.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

depending on who the sharks are playing against they can now have many options

alberts
    brussow and deysel

or deysel kanko and brussow

or brussow alberts and kanko

alberts , rhodes , botes

or alberts daniel and botes

or or or :lol:

• 104.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@ 103 sharkie, OR some of them will get frustated with lack of game time and leave to another union

• 105.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#104 Mustard: if any of them would leave it would prolly be a botes or a rhodes or daniel

but they also know kanko and brussow will be away a lot with boks and even deysel

so chances are they know they will get lots of game time

but yes the ones like botes could end up leaving , but then again botes isnt the player he used to be

• 106.gunther: Reply to this comment

#54 Robzim:

mate joost now has a third problem this sa athlete (apparently quite a belter) has come out of the woodwork saying she had a torrid affair wth him for years….and the hits just keep on coming….what would oupa say about this I wonder..

• 107.grant10: Reply to this comment

This will be career defining tours for J Smit, Kanko and Schalk…..

Time to shape up or ship out….

The young guns are breathing down there necks….

Reputations will be made or destroyed….

Lets hope we have a bok scrum holding its own …or schalk and Kanko may be unfairly judged…..

That scrum is under the microscope…we stand up and deliver come scrum time we in with a chance….we go back…trouble.

• 108.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#107 grant10: Smit was nominated for player of the year and Schalk ain’t going anywhere. It is career-defining for Kanko however, this is his opportunity to show he’s the real deal. Don’t think the scrum will have much trouble.

• 109.Staal: Reply to this comment

Die Blou Bul eettie vannie vloer affie

ehhhh sorry. :lol:

• 110.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#109 Staal: :lol: more oom staalwol :lol:

• 111.Staal: Reply to this comment

#110 sharks_lover: yes yes, hoe lyk dinge?

hehehehehehe lanklaas van jou gehoor….

esih wat het gebeur daar teen die Cheaters? :lol:

• 112.gunther: Reply to this comment

#108 Big Hit:

lol smittie has been having career defining tours/series/games for quite some time now…. when he leads our boys to new zealand in 2011 that will also be career defining….

• 113.grant10: Reply to this comment

#108 Big Hit: How is the Irish and French front rows BH??

• 114.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This combo is the best in my opinion. Time to show your worth Kanko! As for only one specialist ball carrier, did anyone notice how Ratel carried the ball up on saturday? Very impressive. Should do well with Burger

FYI (and not to advertise another site or anything), bit did you guys catch Rugby365′s team of the CC?

rugby365′s Currie Cup Team of the Tournament:

15 – Stefan Terblanche (Sharks):
    He may not have many years left of his distinguished career, but 2009 was certainly one of his better years. There was strong competition from Joe Pietersen, while players like Riaan Viljoen, Fabian Juries and Hennie Daniller also had a look-in.

14 – Danwel Demas (Free State Cheetahs):
    He will probably not be universally accepted, but he has come along in leaps and bounds this year. There was plenty of competition for the No.14 jersey – Gio Aplon, Francois Hougaard, Chris Jordaan, Gerhard van den Heever and Dewald Pretorius.

13 – Juan de Jongh (Western Province):
    This was a ‘no contest’, with De Jongh well ahead of his rivals.

12 – Wynand Olivier (Blue Bulls):
    He may not have played the whole season, as a result of national call-ups, but he still did enough to edge strong competition from among others Barry Geel and Doppies la Grange.

11 – Lionel Mapoe (Free State Cheetahs):
    Not only was he the best and most consistent of all those who played on the left wing, but Mapoe also featured strongly on the right wing. We decided he should wear the No.11 jersey. Bryan Habana didn’t feature in enough Currie Cup games to beat off the youngster, while Gio Aplon was the best of the rest.

10 – Morné Steyn (Blue Bulls):
    There is nothing we can say about his match-winning abilities that haven’t already been said. He edged several quality rivals, despite not playing a full season. Naas Olivier, Jacques-Louis Potgieter and Juan Hernandez are amongst those who lost out.

9 – Sarel Pretorius (Griquas):
    Without doubt one of the unlucky ones to miss out on Bok selection for the year-end tour. A pillar throughout Griquas’ campaign. There’s a long list of quality scrumhalves, but Jano Vermaak, before his injury, was probably the best of the rest.

8 – Ashley Johnson (Free State Cheetahs):
    His selection for the Boks’ year-end tour was justified. Willem Alberts, Ryan Kankowski and Luke Watson all performed admirably.

7 – Dewald Potgieter (Blue Bulls):
    He also featured strongly at No.8, but we felt his best performances were at the side of the scrum. Pieter Louw, Jean Deysel, Duane Vermeulen and Frans Viljoen were amongst his strongest competitors.

6 – Francois Louw (Western Province):
    He was at the heart of an impressive Province campaign. Heinrich Brüssow, Cobus Grobbelaar, Deon Stegmann and Johan Wessels are all in a very impressive group of openside flanks.

5 – Anton van Zyl (Western Province):
    Victor Matfield is without peer in the world, but he simply could not make up the lost ground when he came back in the last few rounds of Currie Cup action. Van Zyl was of a consistent high standard throughout the season, with David de Villiers the best of the rest.

4 – Chris Jack (Western Province):
    What a revelation his performances for Province were. Just a pity he could not stay to the end. Steven Sykes was his closest rival in terms of consistent performances throughout the season.

3 – WP Nel (Free State Cheetahs):
    Also rather one-sided in this position, with Brok Harris a distant second.

2 – Tiaan Liebenberg (Western Province):
    It was a close contest in a two-horse race, with Adriaan Strauss also having his best ever domestic season. Two players who were very unlucky not to have gotten a Bok call-up.

1 – Wian du Preez (Free State Cheetahs):
    The competition was fierce, but he showed why he was a Bok tourists a few years ago. He deserves another shot at he Green and Gold. Wikus Blaauw and Coenie Oosthuizen pushed him all the way, while a few others also put their hands up.

Interresting

Comments anyone?

• 115.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#111 Staal: ons het akkies gemaak :roll: :lol:

dinge goed die kant broer en daai kant van die bees kraal??

• 116.grant10: Reply to this comment

#108 Big Hit: Smit player of the year?????

Captain maybe…player…goodness gracious….not for his scrumming…thats for damn sure!

• 117.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#113 grant10: Ireland average scrummagers, with France it depends on who they select.

• 118.grant10: Reply to this comment

#114 stormersboy: That front row will moer the Bok front row into next week!!

• 119.grant10: Reply to this comment

#117 Big Hit: France normally tough come scrum time….the Italians no easy beats either…this could be a swine of a tour!!

Dewalt Potgieter to come back the crown prince…

• 120.Staal: Reply to this comment

#115 sharks_lover: dinge is skitterend….soos dit maar met wenners is…

Ok – ek sal nou ophou!

Sallie weer nie.

• 121.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#119 grant10: France could well win in Toulouse, will be a passionate crowd, not like the Stade de France. Will be a great game. I just can’t see Ireland beating SA.

• 122.Staal: Reply to this comment

#115 sharks_lover: wat dink jy – gaan Kankoffie die ding doen daar anderkant op die natvelde?

• 123.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#121 Big Hit: in fact I think Italy have more chance than Ireland because SA will be complacent for Italy and Mallet knows his onions.

• 124.cab: Reply to this comment

I’d rather have Potgieter or Deysel over Kanko, but Kanko is a talented player who can make things happen, the question is will he contribute up north if its that sort of match.

the french loose trio is very mobile and athletic but they ruck and hit the tacklepoint and breakdown very well as a pack and gave nz alot of trouble here – so kanko needs to not only show his twinkle toes in the loose but needs to get into the sweaty ball too.

• 125.grant10: Reply to this comment

Sharks fans gonna be up in arms but against France i would have Dewalt at 8….Burger at 7….Brussel Sprout at 6….

Dewalt brings a hard edge to the game…with the soft skills….

I like Kanko…but horses for courses tells me this not his stamping ground…

• 126.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#114 stormersboy: Johnson ahead of Luke?, I dont think so

• 127.Staal: Reply to this comment

naw – i say give Kanfoffie n chance…… let’s see.

He’s been rated but hasn’t given a long spell to show us what he can do on this level.

let’s hope for the best.

• 128.cab: Reply to this comment

#127 Staal:
    dus ook waar.

• 129.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

What happens if Morne Steyn gets injured and Ruan Pienaar gets 100% kicking ratio in all the test matches, does that mean Morne must wait for Ruan to get injured in order to regain his place?

• 130.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

#114 stormerboy:

Joe Pietersen over Terblanche, Watson over Johnson, otherwise good team.

#126 Xhosakid:

Unqabile fondin’. I’ve been reading with interest at how people have been having a go at all the black players selected for the boks and yet no one has cared to comment on Alistair Hargreaves, selection ahead of the likes Wilhlem Steenkamp, Anton van Zyl, Jacques Lombaard, and the Sharks’ very own Steven Sykes, but I guess he deserves to be there since he’s got blond hair and blue eyes. Imagine if Jannie du Plessis had been Lawrence Sephaka

• 131.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#122 Staal: who knows staal he could be a hit

it also depends on conditions and how the whole pack fair

i have seen spies splay **** with the pack doing well , thats rugby

but atleast with some game time he mind find that sparkle again

• 132.cane: Reply to this comment

Kanacowski at eight………..Behind an Engine Room , of the likes of…….Beastie Boy, Eye Gouger Bismark, Lardarse, Victor and Beelzebub Bakkies.

Legendary moments in the passage of time:
    -Arthur draws Excalibur from the stone.
    -The Mayor of Hiroshima utters, “What the ***** was that”.
    -King Harold pleads “Time Out….I have something in my eye”.
    -Guy Fawkes tells the Protestants….Go ***** yourselves”.
    -Ryan goes on Tour in 09.

• 133.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

#118 grant10: I have to say, some people just don’t like John Smit, I swear if he was scrumming like a king then people would have critisized other parts of his game.

John Smit does his job well and his leadership outweighs any faults that are currently apparent to some people. When John Smit is on the field his player play better and they seem to win the toughest games. Could we say the same if we put WP Nel in his place? It was just the other day that the poor cheetahs front row was being demolished by a Lions team that John Smit was solid against, now we want WP to replace the most capped springbok in history, just because he scrummed well during a single curry cup season?

Get a grip!

• 134.Kritik: Reply to this comment

#132 cane: LOL!!!

• 135.catleya: Reply to this comment

#82 sharks_lover:
    There is only one way in which I look at a rugby player and that is how he measures up to what the position he plays requires of him, how he combines with the team around him and how he matches the gameplan.

I give Kanko 10/10 for carrying with ball in hand in space, and 10/10 for his ability to combine with players around him.
    But, I probably rate his defence at around 5/10, hia skills on the ground when he has to 5/10, his play in contact when the going gets tough about 4/10, his play going backwards in a struggling pack, which is bound to happen at least two or three times every game, about 4/10, and looking at the Sharks gameplan an 8/10, but the Bok gameplan a 5/10, simply because the tight five tend to battle. His line-outs are a fair 7/10, but overall, as test player, because tests hardly ever are a loose affair except against the minnows maybe, I rate him no higher than a 4/10 player.

You might have guessed I am a Bulls supporter, but you should know that I rate Spies as a 5/10 test player because of his tendency to miss too many tackles, his lack of skills behind a retreating scrum, his tendency not to link when carrying, his non-existant distribution skills, his tendency to turn ball over in contact, and his tendency to go walk-about every now and then when the going really gets tough, in spite of his size.

#91 Mustard:
    That was Danie in the previous WC- his swansong year. He isn’t a shadow now of what he was then, hence him being on the bench as mainly lock cover for Bakkies.

We have far greater prospects at 8.

Dewald Potgieter, Willem Alberts and Duanne Vermeulen, in that order, are my preferences, mainly because of their skillsets, and Dewald is no 1 because of his vision and ability to read the game better than any other player in SA.

#99 capebull:

Nobody is forcing you to. Here’s another one for you.

Going forward, the best Bok loosetrio to blood as a combo would be 6 Brussow, 7 Spies, 8 Potgieter, with Stegman, Vermeulen/Deysel/Raubenheimer and Alberts as cover. Of the 4, I would pick Stegmann(6) and Alberts(4,5,7,8) on the bench. I prefer speed and skill to bulk at loose forward.

• 136.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

If its a wet field. Danie Roussouw over Kankowski any day for me. Can’t undestand how so many of you are backing Kankowski. He has been great at Super 14 , but never imo has he impressed enough at international level. We all know he has the running game. If it is a tight physical contest how usefull is the oke’s running ability really gonna be.

Very debateable. Brussouw , Deysel , Burger combo also a combination I would have looked at.

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

#133 Breakdown Boy: Who said drop Smit for WP Nel?
    I have nothing against the skipper…why would i …just dont like a 3 that cant scrum.

I would never have moved him in 1 st place…play him at 2…Bissy last 30…move J Smit to 1 then…not 3….

I would of rather played Buys,WP, at 3…..

But my dream would have beemn BJ or CJ….

Nothing personal against JS…just believe he is a superkak scrummer…not his fault….crazy to try and convert him to 3!

• 138.cab: Reply to this comment

#132 cane:

• 139.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

#126 XhosaKid: #118 grant10: I guess there’s always going to be a difference of opinion on these things, I must say i thought Luke did a fantastic job this year, but Ashley too, and Joe Peterson vs Stephan, could go either way….

As for the front row, I think we are all agreed that the current bok front row is not THE strongest scrumming option, but there are other factors to consider i guess….

• 140.cab: Reply to this comment

#137 grant10:
    you have nothing against the skipper? what this wiggling out malarchy, you been calling for the skipper to do the honorable thing and fall on his sword for the last 4 years?

• 141.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

#137 grant10: You’re a superkak analyst, but don’t worry its not your fault!!

• 142.David: Reply to this comment

#135 catleya:
    That’s about my assessment of both players, as well.

• 143.jockstrap: Reply to this comment

This will be the most likely Irish team:

15 Rob Kearney
    14 Tommy Bowe
    13 BOD
    12 Luke Fitzgerald
    11 Keith Earls
    10 Jonathan Sexton
    9 Tomas O’Leary
    8 Jamie Heaslip
    7 David Wallace
    6 Stephen Ferris
    5 Paul O’Connell
    4 Donncha O’Callaghan
    3 John Hayes
    2 Jerry Flannery
    1 Cian Healy

That’s probably the strongest Ireland team in their History and Ireland are probably the best team in the world when it comes to dealing with the Aerial game. Still won’t be enough though.

• 144.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

The Best possible loose trio for the Boks possible is:

8. Schalk
    7. Juan
    6. Brussouw

With Kanko coming off the bench

• 145.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Who was our 8th man in the World Cup Final

• 146.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

I wonder if the coaches have noticed how many penalties the subs are giving away at crucial moments in the last 10 mins.

My theory is that they have too much built up frustration from watching on the bench.

I think in crucial games like semi’s and finals the coaches should rethink the whole subbing business!!!

• 147.grant10: Reply to this comment

#140 cab: Only been on keo for a year…so thats not true…the 4 year thingy….

But it is true…if J Smit a 3…then i believe he should not play for Boks…i dont believe he is a good enough 3.#141 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Ad seriously sharky your opinion of me is absolutely irrelevant….

• 148.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#143 jockstrap: I’d say O’Gara still has the inside lane at 10. Fitzgerald at 12? no D’Arcy/Wallace? Downey might even be considered. I don’t think the Irish provinces are playing particularly well at present, especially Munster.

• 149.grant10: Reply to this comment

#145 wp_boytjie: D Rossouw

• 150.David: Reply to this comment

#135 catleya:
    For me, Alberts is the best bench replacement for Danie as 8, 7 and 4 cover. 5 is a bit of a stretch, besides there’s room for a dedicated jumper.
    Until we give another 4 like Sykes or Steenkamp more experience at test level, Danie is now the designated cover for Bakkies.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.