Leicester 22 SA XV 17
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opener at Welford Road.
80 mins: South Africa run through numerous phases as they move towards the try line, but a strong Leicester defence keeps them at bay. Odwa Ndungane eventually loses the ball forward and Lote Tuqiri dives over the touchline with the ball. The Leicester players celebrate as they played four minutes into extra time. Leicester beat South Africa 22-17!
79 mins: Leicester drive the ball forward through their heavies as try to waste time, but they concede a penalty to the South Africans with a minute to play. Pienaar kicks for touch to give his side a lineout in Leicester’s 22m area.
77 mins: South Africa are awarded a crucial penalty in Leicester’s 22m area. Pienaar bags the three points, which sees the visitors need a converted try to achieve victory. 22-17 to Leicester!
65 mins: After a frustrating period of play, South Africa decide to go for posts when they are awarded a penalty in the last quarter. Pienaar slots the attemot to score their first points of the second stanza. 22-14 to Leicester!
58 mins: Leicester receive their third penalty after South Africa struggle to compete at the scrums. Youngs kicks the home side into a 11-point lead. 22-11 to Leicester!
52 mins: After being dominated at the scrums, the Leicester forwards start to rule the air battle at the lineouts.
45 mins: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp in his prefered loosehead position, but Castrogiovanni still destroys him in the scrum and earns his side a penalty. Leicester score the first points of the second half as Youngs converts the goal attempt. 19-11 to Leicester!
Half-time: Leicester 16 South Africa 11
40 mins: Mauger concedes a penalty on the stroke of half-time for obstructing the South Africans from chasing the ball. Pienaar kicks the three-pointer to leave South Africa trailing by five points at the break. 16-11 to Leicester!
39 mins: Ill discipline costs the visitors as Youngs converts his third penalty. 16-8 to Leicester!
38 mins: South Africa penalised again after being out-scrummed by the Leicester front row. Guthro Steenkamp a major concern as Martin Castrogiovanni has the clear upper hand.
33 mins: Leicester are awarded a penalty on the 50m line after the South African pack were out-scrummed. Youngs bags the three points with an impressive attempt. 13-8 to Leicester!
27 mins: Leicester try! A poor clearance from Pienaar allowed Leicester to run a counter attack. A swift switch from centre Manu Tuilagi put wing Lucas Amorosino through for their first five-pointer. Youngs converted the try to put the home side in the lead. 10-8 to Leicester!
20 mins: Captain Chilliboy Ralepelle leaves the field early after suffering an injury in a scrum. Bandise Maku comes on to replace the skipper.
10 mins: Leicester hit right back as Youngs makes up for his woeful miss earlier in the game by slotting his second attempt. 8-3 to South Africa!
8 mins: South African try! After a good kick and chase from South Africa, the secure possession in Leicester’s 22m area, although it seemed centre Juan de Jongh interfered with the receiver. Fullback Earl Rose then puts a chip through, which is gather by wing Jongi Nokwe, and the Bok flyer dives over for the opening try. 8-0 to South Africa!
5 mins: Ruan Pienaar puts the visitors ahead after South Africa were awarded a penalty in front of the posts. 3-0 to South Africa!
2 mins: South Africa concede an early penalty in a kickable position, but scrumhalf Ben Youngs pushes his attempt wide.
1 min: Deep kickoff from pivot Aaron Mauger, which is received by Ashley Johnson. The No 8 secures possession as he sets up the first phase. Ruan Pienaar then kicks a good clearance back into Leicester’s half.
Leicester – 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Lucas Amorosino, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Aaron Mauger (c), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Pienaar, 6 Geoff Parling, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Calum Green, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Mefin Davies,1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Tom Armes, 19 Dan Hemingway, 20 James Grindal, 21 Greig Tonks, 22 Lote Tuqiri.
South Africa XV – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

November 6th, 2009 at 11:45 pm
#442 Boerboel: Hi BB…
November 6th, 2009 at 11:46 pm
“Springbok” rugby… bwaahahahaha!
Whacked by tiny little Leicester!
November 6th, 2009 at 11:46 pm
#444 grant10: Not just the scrums G10 we were **** almost everywhere and Pienaar must not be back up FH either. Should always select the best to tour. Too many left behind at home. That hurts me how the hell does it feel to the players that never got selected that should have been there?
Well now they think they have beaten the world champions and not the SA 3rd or 4th team.
Will never watch another game with players that are not selected on merit. Not good enough. Especially for the supporters that paid to watch that game.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:47 pm
Be quiet wez. Stop whining
#422 grant10: jannie dup should never come near a bok jersey,what a useless shark plonker and quota.time for smith to retire and go out with dignity.
#448 Puma:
They’d be wise to send Wian Du Preez. If you can’t scrum in the NH you are toast. Boks are in for a huge surprise.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:48 pm
Now everyone can see how superior the french and english league is to the currie cup. Only team that makes us a proud rugby nation is our first choice.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:48 pm
#450 TASSIES: So when is the coach allowed to experiment?
Surely you have to allow him that.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:49 pm
#434 skopskiet: Do you seriously believe that the Springbok B team would not beat Leicester with plenty to spare?
They would.
This is not the Springbok B team (at least not as it would be selected by a coach who can look beyond the colour of a player’s skin).
Simple as that.
It is quite shocking that in 2009 the Bok team is selected along racist lines.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:51 pm
It pains me to admit that Earl Rose was one of about three SA players who did something right.
#452 TheTackler:
No one on this site will understand how much pain you endured this year.
Trinations 2009:
Boks 3 – ABs 0
Ruan Pienaar, Danie Rossouw, Deysel etc Was seriously exposed. These players dont deserve to start a test. The coached knew something we didnt thats why they played this game.
Guthro Steenkamp should too never get close to a Bok jersey ever again!
The overrated, has been is past him best and was introduced to his arse this evening! Eish!
#434 skopskiet: nope Skop, this is not our B team. No way hozey. This was a developmental team allright. Not a Springbok B team. Checks the result old boy. That speaks for itself. But on closer analysis, this was not even a C side when one considers the balance. Where was P Grant for example?
November 6th, 2009 at 11:53 pm
#453 Puma: #455 Valkyrie: Started in the scrums Puma…say what you like….the cancer starts in the scrums!!
I have been crucified by wankers on this site who call me a doos …fark them….no one wants to acknowledge the reality till we get embarressed…well i am farking the moer in and embarressed by this lily livered downright pansie display by this Bok scrum….sucks man!
And the ‘real’ bok front row just as slapgat!…We better wake up and smell the coffee…soon i tell you!..
Ruan is so lame…he has no interest any more….he wants 9….where was J L P tonight…he would have put his body on the line…Where was Mapoe.?
And where the fark was WP nel and Wiaan Du Preez….
No…i am dik the moer in….French will take our scrum down next week….i am even kak scared of the bloody italians….
But mention scrumming and you are a traitor in SA…..
November 6th, 2009 at 11:53 pm
#459 kaksioek: One loss and it’s the end of the world. There were few positives in this game, how about looking at them?
Lets all calm down, it’s not 2011 yet.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:54 pm
#449 AndrewBK: Andrew & Boerie Roll. You are 2 of the better guys here. be cool, you’re pretty similar actually.
You guys must remember how **** the Springbok b team is. They almost lost to fiji and usa and samoa with jake white as coach at the world cup.
pienaar -shocking my gosh-time to get him prosthetic pair of testicles-deysel was great -slowed down ball carried well-forwards should haveben cheetahs front row sykes bekker stegman deysel rosouw -vermaak -d jong -expected more however bcks had no ball -early wasn bad =D
#460 katman: yes yes yes . Its okay sir. We all make mistakes .
November 6th, 2009 at 11:55 pm
#456 The Jinxta: aye.
#456 The Jinxta: Jinx we have to do with who is there. Just like tonight.
We were up against a half southern hemisphere team named Leicester tonight.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:56 pm
#427 WP_: here I agree. Earl would win a prize for inconsistency. One swallow doesn’t make a ……. springs to mind. I’d give him 10 our of 10 for embarrassment most of the time. Beating up women doesn’t help me to love him either.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:56 pm
#468 Wezwp: We have improved since then. We had a good 2nd team but they were not there.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:57 pm
I tell you 1 thing…Earl Rose played a decent game tonight….the only bloody bok with balls…and de Jongh at least tackled…Johnson was good but has to do more at set scrums.!
November 6th, 2009 at 11:58 pm
wicus blaaw, joe p and wp loose trio shouldv been there.
#467 SodaJoe: ya, just a bit cranky from the game, sorry about that BB.
#462 Wezwp:
It all started in the front row. Loosies cannot perform if the scrum goes backwards by a hundred miles an hour. The same goes for the halfbacks etc.
This must be the worst Springbok front row in a very long time. The scary thought is that they will probably give the A team’s front row a good run for their money.
We have better front rowers though. They sit in Bloem and Cape Town while a few are overseas.
#465 grant10: Where were about 10 players that should have been there? Here sitting at home watchin the game on TV. That is why we lost. If we don’t select on merit we will always get creamed.
Unfortunately teams will be increasingly chosen along racial lines. Results will be secondary. And theres not a damn thing any of us rugger lovers (people who play and watch sports for the simple love of it and to momentarily escape things like bullshit and politics and malema) can do about it.
pdv will be happy with this practice game.he will at least feel vindicated with earl’s selection.these games are nice if its just to see who is up to the challenge.jake white used test matches as practice games and i will never forgive the **** for costing me 65euro for that shambles.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:59 pm
#465 grant10: y ut grant this scrum was realy ba tonight -usualy ure having a go at the a team -lol deeeep breath!maybe oz needs to come helps us now
Agreed Wez!
#476 grant10: music to my ears . thank you sir .
November 7th, 2009 at 12:00 am
#465 grant10: I’m packing down with you on this one boet. Front row remains a problem. TH in particular. Where the **** are they? It only I had a 100kg 15 year old to train!!!!!!! We’d make fame and fortune together wearing a green jersey.
#478 AndrewBK: I thought Bekker had a very poor game in truth. But he would be in the bunch.
Only improvement since then is heinreich and beast.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:01 am
well i am so embarressed by this bloody weak kneed front row .Never have i seen a bok front row reverse in reverse like 2009….i dont give a fark how we won and who we beat…a scrum like we got gonna cost us….forget 2011….this is a disaster….
PDV …go beg CJ and BJ….this is a crisis !!
#479 Robzim: aye
#465 grant10: Take a deeeeep breath!!
But I agree our scrum was murdered tonight.
The so-called legend Heinke has been shown up. I am sad to say that my prediction the other night was unfortunately true.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:02 am
#462 Wezwp: Deysel was fine. Hope he stays on.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:03 am
#491 Boerboel: Boerboel, how could PdV select Heinke? He has not played since April? Then to top it he has never played TH. Phew!!! the mind boggles. Poor, poor selections for this Dirt Tracker side.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:03 am
#485 rugbygenius:
Hey, your hero is talented, we all know that.
The only problem is that he hardly ever play two good matches in a row.
If he can become more consistent, he might still make it.
For now, I have my doubts, but he was very good tonight.
So lets see what he does next week.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:04 am
earl continued his good form after stirling performances for the lions in their last few currie cup games.based on those performances he deserved to be in the bok squad.keep up the good work earl.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:04 am
anyone remember when Connaught took our reserve Wc team to the wire by a ball hair. Or Nz taken to the wire by Munster. Well this Tigers side would have creamed Connaught.
Our guys played ok apart from our front row. Thats what did us and Dickenson blowing the rucks in their favor all game long.
Those crying that this is a racially devised D team you talking out your hats. The quota players were actually seasoned spring bok players like Ndungane Steenkamp Du Plessis Pienaar Ralepelle and Roussouw. None of the quotas you crying about played poorly at all. Look at your kak stalwarts thats who’s gotta go and next in line is J. Smit. If he comes up against anything like this Italian stallion tonight he sees his *** same as J. Dup or Gurthro saw tonight. Heinke got drilled as bad.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:05 am
#494 Robzim: Thanks for the shout out boss. Yes Earl era has arrived . Next week he will destroy again ,
Just hope the absence of jdv and francois steyn wont hurt us to much. They were afterall our first choice inside centers going into the last world cup.
#492 Puma: lol deysels by far better than potgieter
after brussow smith spies burger h is the next best-selections ned to be corrected -transformation is a good thing just no to the detriment of south african rugby
November 7th, 2009 at 12:07 am
#496 skopskiet: not a good game at all meyer tought them the secret of the bulls -very similar