Leicester 22 SA XV 17
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opener at Welford Road.
80 mins: South Africa run through numerous phases as they move towards the try line, but a strong Leicester defence keeps them at bay. Odwa Ndungane eventually loses the ball forward and Lote Tuqiri dives over the touchline with the ball. The Leicester players celebrate as they played four minutes into extra time. Leicester beat South Africa 22-17!
79 mins: Leicester drive the ball forward through their heavies as try to waste time, but they concede a penalty to the South Africans with a minute to play. Pienaar kicks for touch to give his side a lineout in Leicester’s 22m area.
77 mins: South Africa are awarded a crucial penalty in Leicester’s 22m area. Pienaar bags the three points, which sees the visitors need a converted try to achieve victory. 22-17 to Leicester!
65 mins: After a frustrating period of play, South Africa decide to go for posts when they are awarded a penalty in the last quarter. Pienaar slots the attemot to score their first points of the second stanza. 22-14 to Leicester!
58 mins: Leicester receive their third penalty after South Africa struggle to compete at the scrums. Youngs kicks the home side into a 11-point lead. 22-11 to Leicester!
52 mins: After being dominated at the scrums, the Leicester forwards start to rule the air battle at the lineouts.
45 mins: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp in his prefered loosehead position, but Castrogiovanni still destroys him in the scrum and earns his side a penalty. Leicester score the first points of the second half as Youngs converts the goal attempt. 19-11 to Leicester!
Half-time: Leicester 16 South Africa 11
40 mins: Mauger concedes a penalty on the stroke of half-time for obstructing the South Africans from chasing the ball. Pienaar kicks the three-pointer to leave South Africa trailing by five points at the break. 16-11 to Leicester!
39 mins: Ill discipline costs the visitors as Youngs converts his third penalty. 16-8 to Leicester!
38 mins: South Africa penalised again after being out-scrummed by the Leicester front row. Guthro Steenkamp a major concern as Martin Castrogiovanni has the clear upper hand.
33 mins: Leicester are awarded a penalty on the 50m line after the South African pack were out-scrummed. Youngs bags the three points with an impressive attempt. 13-8 to Leicester!
27 mins: Leicester try! A poor clearance from Pienaar allowed Leicester to run a counter attack. A swift switch from centre Manu Tuilagi put wing Lucas Amorosino through for their first five-pointer. Youngs converted the try to put the home side in the lead. 10-8 to Leicester!
20 mins: Captain Chilliboy Ralepelle leaves the field early after suffering an injury in a scrum. Bandise Maku comes on to replace the skipper.
10 mins: Leicester hit right back as Youngs makes up for his woeful miss earlier in the game by slotting his second attempt. 8-3 to South Africa!
8 mins: South African try! After a good kick and chase from South Africa, the secure possession in Leicester’s 22m area, although it seemed centre Juan de Jongh interfered with the receiver. Fullback Earl Rose then puts a chip through, which is gather by wing Jongi Nokwe, and the Bok flyer dives over for the opening try. 8-0 to South Africa!
5 mins: Ruan Pienaar puts the visitors ahead after South Africa were awarded a penalty in front of the posts. 3-0 to South Africa!
2 mins: South Africa concede an early penalty in a kickable position, but scrumhalf Ben Youngs pushes his attempt wide.
1 min: Deep kickoff from pivot Aaron Mauger, which is received by Ashley Johnson. The No 8 secures possession as he sets up the first phase. Ruan Pienaar then kicks a good clearance back into Leicester’s half.
Leicester – 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Lucas Amorosino, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Aaron Mauger (c), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Pienaar, 6 Geoff Parling, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Calum Green, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Mefin Davies,1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Tom Armes, 19 Dan Hemingway, 20 James Grindal, 21 Greig Tonks, 22 Lote Tuqiri.
South Africa XV – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

November 7th, 2009 at 12:07 am
Big Hoit says we dont need a scrum….Big Hit no fool….he wants us to believe that….some sentimental wallys here want J Smit in the team because he is a good captain….let me say it loud and farken clear….this aint tiddlywinks!!!!
This aint farken chess!!!
Those euro front rows are mean sons of ******* and we are being HUMILIATED!!!!!!!
Wake up PDV , **** AND GARY….2007 is over …the lions tour is over!!
2011 is close….we are playing in kiwiland….we need a scrum doctor and a proper 3 and 1 who can scrum….
Spies …brussow …will be nullified if going backwards….as will fdp and MS….
Catch a wake up…..J Smit off bench…or retire….get BJ and Cj back…get heinke fit …and leave at loosehead…..
November 7th, 2009 at 12:08 am
deysel is just a good vodacom cup player and should really be on dirtbin’s beaches working up a tan.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:08 am
#493 Puma: But he played loosehead tonight as he replaced Guthro.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:09 am
#458 Ezee-23: experiment is one thing. Being down-right stupid is quite another. Tours like this require momentum and confidence. This was never going to contribute towards that. Don’t be surprised if the tour gets off to a bad start and the trend continues. That’s how these things work sometimes. But I digress. This effort was an embarrassment to the Bok jersey.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:09 am
#487 SodaJoe: yes true… i just got a bad feeling about him this year. when he’s come on as a replacement in the tests this year, i feel we lost something out there, like we were noticeably weaker. but hey, this is just what i think….!
November 7th, 2009 at 12:10 am
#496 skopskiet: So, what did you make of the captain’s effort tonight? Give me a break. He certainly got his, as is customary.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:11 am
#499 sharkteeth: Well I wont be sitting up watching this team play their next game. Not me. Rather looking forward to the Cricket now. This was just rubbish not just the scrums everything was rubbish to watch.
Deysel should be kept and put on the bench for the tests. PdV should have selected JdV and F. Steyn too. Going to be very weak at centre with Adi. He is not in good form. Hope that we are better with our Test squad. They are tired too especially the Bulls Boks.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:13 am
its a good thing we got klapped because otherwise this painful blindness will never get exposed.
Needed to draft new players in long ago. We been trading on old has been’s far too long. Bok A team going to get hammered by France up front watch.
Puma name the 10 players that should have been in and take out 10 that went in their place.
Most the slap gat’s tonight were Sharks and Bulls stalwarts. Common who you would have dropped if you were coach last week. Now is easy to talk in hind sight. Name the players you would have taken and those you would have dropped.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:13 am
#503 Boerboel: I know but he was selected to play TH. He was not up to playing LH. You can not expect much from a player that has not played any rugby since April. What fool selects a player that has not played rugby since then? Crazy, crazy. I just shake my head at the selections of this team.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:14 am
well….i saw this coming…earlier today some oke scalling me a doos for saying our kak scrumming gonna come back to bite us…we the big manne…..the champs…who cares if we cant scrum…as long as we win….
Fark me…who is crying now??
Bloody fools wanting to go into games with wallys for props….stupid man….Jannie du plessis??
ag i am so the moer in a i am outta here….
November 7th, 2009 at 12:15 am
Puma you an old f.ng grand mother go watch cricket. Supporters like you we can do without. Go watch skittle sticks please will be a welcome change to be spared your incessant whining
November 7th, 2009 at 12:16 am
#509 Puma: Exactly, he should not have been there.
Anyways, I’m going to sleep, had a long week.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:16 am
#501 grant10: afraid you’re right. We’ve been humming that tune for quite a while now and nobody’s listening. Anyway I’m off to the pit. Cheers guys.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:17 am
#508 skopskiet: fekkin twat. “We been trading on old has been’s far too long”
What the ones who have just won the tri nations? Go put yourself down you jaundiced, one-eyed tosser.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:17 am
#511 skopskiet:
Yeah and **** of you old fuddy, duddy, tiddlywinks, tittytwistter wanker. You are a real sour cnut are you not?
November 7th, 2009 at 12:19 am
Overrated
Rose
johnson
Raubenheimer
De jongh
Pienaar at 10
and Bekker
#508 skopskiet: Where was, Vermeulen, Sykes, WP. Nel, Mapoe, F. Juries, A. Strauss, J. Pietersen, P. Grant, Alberts, Mvovo. Plenty should have got selected ahead of a lot of those players Skop. Look it hurts me to see a South African team play like that knowing we have the players at home that could have creamed that team if they got selected. I know I went on and on but want to see our best playing not our 3rd or 4th team.
Now Leicester bragging they have beaten the world champs. They beat our 3rd or 4th team. Heard them all singing LIONS, LIONS. Damn it got me angry. Are they that daft to think they played our best? If it was our first side that is sitting at home they would have got a big hiding and our 2nd side would have done so too.
Select the best I don’t care what colour a player is Skop, just want the best there.
#515 Xkreni-WP: Ag nee sies man
November 7th, 2009 at 12:21 am
#508 skopskiet:
Yet the Bulls won the 3N, CC, S14,and the WC under your hero Jake. Oh, lets not forget a Lions scalp as well. Twat
November 7th, 2009 at 12:22 am
nag Boerboel
Jannie Dup shouldn’t been there since 2007
Gurthro Steenkamp off bench
Roussouw should have been put to pasture long ago
Chili is frilly history
Ndungane is second grade. Jakes no 2 right wing
Olivier so so
H. Van der Merwe should be in Joburg and Wp Nel or Buys in Europe. So too W. Du Plessis or Blaauw.
As for Hargreaves, Adams, Johnson, Viljoen, De Jongh, Hougaard they all deserve their place
not the old doos has been’s though.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:23 am
Cheers Tassies, Boerboel and all.
I too am out of here.
Looking forward to the tests that is it, not going to watch the Dirt Trackers again. Only want to see players there playing on merit.
Bring on the cricket. Cant wait. England should be here very soon.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:24 am
bulls and shark players were kuk tonight just like puma and bluealligator!this will be the last bok touring team with so many overrated bull and especially shark players in it.
Deysel is no Bok’s arse. I’m sorry but he was poor. Along with Raubenheimer, Maku, Jannie (weak), Guthro (absolute horse ****), Danie wasnt great, Potgeiter made loads of tackles but we were beaten on the ground.
Ashley was superb! P Div better get his head out of his arse on some of these bizarre selections!
grant & puma, please you “senior bloggers” you are carrying on like a bunch of whatyoumacallits…so the experimental team that had 3 practise sessions together took on leicester, captained by aaron mauger & played badly. It is what it is, now we know what more we need to work on. Would you have been happier if that was tiaan liebenberg, wian du preez & wp nel being shunted tonight?
My bet is you would still be moaning like you are.you guys say you’ve played sport before, so get over it!
November 7th, 2009 at 12:26 am
#524 Transie
Point is, they wouldnt have.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:27 am
#495 Valkyrie: Bud. This is why it’s hard to take you seriously. I have no issue with you touting Earl Rose. Good for you.
But talk sense, comment objectively.
This post is just rubbish. If you know anything about rugby, or even watched any games you would know this not to be true.
#524 Transformation:
lol you and your senior bloggers!
French front row gonna be the Boks front row Rubicon…..
They get taken out ….Smitty must do the honarable thing….it is embarressing to see a bok front row humiliated ….personally tonight i was shocked….appalled and disillusioned….what the hell is happening to our scrumming???
Good heavens !! Farken speechless i tell you!
#511 skopskiet: The truth hurts hey skop!!
If we selected on merit we would have won. Now that is the truth even if you don’t want to hear it. I know you feel the same in your heart old friend
November 7th, 2009 at 12:28 am
#526 SodaJoe:
ditchwater…
November 7th, 2009 at 12:28 am
#496 skopskiet: If you read the posts the cticism has very little racial element to it, remarkably non-racial. Just criticism of poor players across the color spectrum.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:29 am
#499 sharkteeth: Potgieter looked very limited it has to be said.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:29 am
#524 Transformation: Bok front row been shunted all farken season boet….and this cancer is becoming terminal….nuke it !!Or farken die!!
November 7th, 2009 at 12:31 am
x krenie jou ou doos f’akwit and bok 2007 same goes for you
Watch your heroes watch maar net. You think tonight was bad. Its sharks and Bulls front row that causing all the havoc in this team. Should be a Fs and Stormers outfit and we’d be sitting pretty.
J. Dup Sharks
G. Steenkamp Bulls
C. Ralepelle Bulls
D. Roussouw Bulls
J. Smit Sharks
These the overrated pansy prick’s that can’t scrum. Nobody else.
#502 Valkyrie: I rest my case.
#521 Puma: take a hike you moaning *****.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:32 am
517 Puma
Amen buddy. So true. Tonight was a disgrace for one reason only. The team was not fully picked on merit. Certain players were there because of the colour of their skin. How disgusting.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:32 am
#529 Puma: Go fk yourself puma… The weaklink was teh caoch who happened to by your tjommie..**** Muir..#528 grant10: Howzit Broer… I have been sitting on the another thread… #524 Transformation: Hows da brada
November 7th, 2009 at 12:33 am
#524 Transformation: Those guys would never have been shunted about Transie. If we took our 2nd best we would have won. Looke we only lost by 5 points our 2nd team would have creamed them. They sat at home watching on tv. Not good.
Now will watch the tests then get ready to watch the cricket. Bring it on England….
Not going to watch the Dirt Trackers again. Wont watch a team that is not selected on merit. Mapoe should have been a cert for this tour many others too.
Well Gunther….you another bloody oke that reckons scrums mean buggerall….hope you had a bloody damascus road experience tonight as well…..doubt it though….still believe this is bloody pilates and salsa dancing i suppose!!
#511 skopskiet: You can be such an arsehole.
You are welcome to have a go.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:34 am
#517 Puma: you talking about teams that “cream”, the players you say should’ve been there would’ve also had only 3 training sessions together, there’s no guarantee that they would’ve “creamed” anyone, don’t talk **** here puma. Did the sharks with all the quality & the boks you purport to have “cream” free state, that had demas, mapoe, bosman, potgieter in the backline vs jpp, ndungane, jmh, ruan, adi? Did they cream them…get over yourself man, it’s sport, the coach was experimenting with players he feels can play to his game plan & tactics and only had 3 training sessions to get them to learn his way of playing, ****!
#540 grant10: Hi Grant, I somehow just knew you would not be too impressed with tonights result!!
#538 Langenhoven: Same to you you have such a dirty mouth it never changes. Get a life your 65 pound a hour man…..hahaha.
#537 WP_:
At least the Cobra’s won tonight. Brilliant 100 by Herch in 78 odd balls.
Fawk, at least some good news!
#537 WP_: You displaying symptoms of sexual inadequacy again… **** Muir was the kant in the team… and if yoiu cannot it see it.. then its because dementia is setting in early
November 7th, 2009 at 12:35 am
#545 Robzim: Yip, That is my team I support so that is good news.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:35 am
#544 Puma: Got a life… obviously a lot better than yours
November 7th, 2009 at 12:36 am
#530 gunther: Oh bud. Now I get it. I am a doos. Ok. Thanks.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:36 am
this thread has descended into chaos