Leicester 22 SA XV 17
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opener at Welford Road.
80 mins: South Africa run through numerous phases as they move towards the try line, but a strong Leicester defence keeps them at bay. Odwa Ndungane eventually loses the ball forward and Lote Tuqiri dives over the touchline with the ball. The Leicester players celebrate as they played four minutes into extra time. Leicester beat South Africa 22-17!
79 mins: Leicester drive the ball forward through their heavies as try to waste time, but they concede a penalty to the South Africans with a minute to play. Pienaar kicks for touch to give his side a lineout in Leicester’s 22m area.
77 mins: South Africa are awarded a crucial penalty in Leicester’s 22m area. Pienaar bags the three points, which sees the visitors need a converted try to achieve victory. 22-17 to Leicester!
65 mins: After a frustrating period of play, South Africa decide to go for posts when they are awarded a penalty in the last quarter. Pienaar slots the attemot to score their first points of the second stanza. 22-14 to Leicester!
58 mins: Leicester receive their third penalty after South Africa struggle to compete at the scrums. Youngs kicks the home side into a 11-point lead. 22-11 to Leicester!
52 mins: After being dominated at the scrums, the Leicester forwards start to rule the air battle at the lineouts.
45 mins: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp in his prefered loosehead position, but Castrogiovanni still destroys him in the scrum and earns his side a penalty. Leicester score the first points of the second half as Youngs converts the goal attempt. 19-11 to Leicester!
Half-time: Leicester 16 South Africa 11
40 mins: Mauger concedes a penalty on the stroke of half-time for obstructing the South Africans from chasing the ball. Pienaar kicks the three-pointer to leave South Africa trailing by five points at the break. 16-11 to Leicester!
39 mins: Ill discipline costs the visitors as Youngs converts his third penalty. 16-8 to Leicester!
38 mins: South Africa penalised again after being out-scrummed by the Leicester front row. Guthro Steenkamp a major concern as Martin Castrogiovanni has the clear upper hand.
33 mins: Leicester are awarded a penalty on the 50m line after the South African pack were out-scrummed. Youngs bags the three points with an impressive attempt. 13-8 to Leicester!
27 mins: Leicester try! A poor clearance from Pienaar allowed Leicester to run a counter attack. A swift switch from centre Manu Tuilagi put wing Lucas Amorosino through for their first five-pointer. Youngs converted the try to put the home side in the lead. 10-8 to Leicester!
20 mins: Captain Chilliboy Ralepelle leaves the field early after suffering an injury in a scrum. Bandise Maku comes on to replace the skipper.
10 mins: Leicester hit right back as Youngs makes up for his woeful miss earlier in the game by slotting his second attempt. 8-3 to South Africa!
8 mins: South African try! After a good kick and chase from South Africa, the secure possession in Leicester’s 22m area, although it seemed centre Juan de Jongh interfered with the receiver. Fullback Earl Rose then puts a chip through, which is gather by wing Jongi Nokwe, and the Bok flyer dives over for the opening try. 8-0 to South Africa!
5 mins: Ruan Pienaar puts the visitors ahead after South Africa were awarded a penalty in front of the posts. 3-0 to South Africa!
2 mins: South Africa concede an early penalty in a kickable position, but scrumhalf Ben Youngs pushes his attempt wide.
1 min: Deep kickoff from pivot Aaron Mauger, which is received by Ashley Johnson. The No 8 secures possession as he sets up the first phase. Ruan Pienaar then kicks a good clearance back into Leicester’s half.
Leicester – 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Lucas Amorosino, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Aaron Mauger (c), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Pienaar, 6 Geoff Parling, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Calum Green, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Mefin Davies,1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Tom Armes, 19 Dan Hemingway, 20 James Grindal, 21 Greig Tonks, 22 Lote Tuqiri.
South Africa XV – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

November 7th, 2009 at 12:36 am
#534 skopskiet: 100% with you….it starts in that weak kneed lame arse lily livered wynberg girls u 15 weak sodding front row….then its all a fark up…..
But no…we got the best cappie…how can you be a doos grant 10….?
Because i am not a blind sod….i see we get drilled in scrums and the kak effect it has,,,,but the weak kneed sentimental little wankers cant see the truth until we get whacked by a leicester 3 rd team….
FFS man…when are these wankers gonna open there blind eyes!!
November 7th, 2009 at 12:37 am
#547 Puma:
Hey Puma, the Cobra’s are WP and they beat the Dolphins who are the sharks?
Welcome on board,mate
November 7th, 2009 at 12:38 am
#547 Puma: puma dont let the trailor trash drag you to their level
ignore the racist rubbish
thats all they have done all night , made everything in here race issues
#538 Langenhoven: Hi my man….long time no hear?
#526 SodaJoe: and it’s extremely hard to take you serious you ****** dimwit.pdv himself said that earl rose probably was responsible for the lions revival in their last few games but what the ***, you ***** don’t in any case take him serious as well.
#542 Transformation: They are all better players and would have won. Truth hurting you too Transie? You know they would have. Very bad selections cost us. We all know it only some wont admit it.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:39 am
#550 AndrewBK: No worries..The Almighty is here
Puma the truth my boy is what you been too afraid of facing for so long. Now you calling for all those players Vermeulen, Grant, Alberts, Mapoe, Mel, Blaauw, W. Du Preez, Juries, J. Pietersen. Players that I’ve been calling for all along and telling you to get rid of your has been’s like Roussouw Du Plessis etc. Smit going to retire after this tour watch he’s going to get drilled up front.
So now all a sudden you seen the light some of us been screaming in your ear for 2 whole years already. Thats why you talk ****. You never called for Vermeulen Grant Watson Alberts Nel Blaauw Du Preez Van Zyl before now all a sudden these the players you want. So who you going to let go then common who you going to drop?
WOULD YOU TWERPS STOP THRWOING ISNULTS ABOUT AND PUT YOUR RUDDY HANDBAGS DOWN…….
November 7th, 2009 at 12:40 am
Yeah Robzim
By all accounts Herschy was back to his very best. Great news for our Cobras! Wonderful stuff. Just need Kemp in some form now.
I just hope the Boks C team game taught Helium something. And that he’s not too arrogant to admit his hideous mistakes in selection.
#552 Robzim: I know but support Cobras.
#553 sharks_lover: Thanks Sharky, That Langenhoven has such a dirty foul mouth. Never changes how some can even speak to such trash is hard to imagine.
#555 Valkyrie:
Uncalled for. SodaJoe is one of the most balanced bloggers on here, not sure why you are slinging **** at him?
AND IF I HAD A SPELL CHECK HERE IT WOULD HELP….. :LOL:
November 7th, 2009 at 12:41 am
#543 carol: no….its great for leicester…and a good wake up call to all the little fools here who call me a doos for saying we are not as good as we think\ we are….just hope wales and poms win as well….a few beers so sorry if my language a bit nuts1
#552 Robzim: durban sport teams are going downhill very fast just like their fukked up city
#561 Puma:
Out of interest, why on earth do you support the Cobras?
#554 grant10: Long time Bro… decided to sit back and relax tonight.. watch some rugby etc.. and let off a bit of steam…
November 7th, 2009 at 12:42 am
#560 WP_:
personally I think its a ruse from the selectors sometimes to get the best out of gibbs you have to poke him with a sharp stick…
#556 Puma: Puma, welcome to the madhouse…..
One loss and they loose it……!!!
And I’m having trouble identifying the factions involved in this scrap – or is it a free-for-all?
November 7th, 2009 at 12:44 am
No one like a potty mouth!
When you start throwing swearwords around it means you dont have a big enough vocab to express yourself properly!
#558 skopskiet: Truth hurting again Skop. Go check my posts when the selected this team. I called for all of those players to have been selected.
I wont watch this Dirt Trackers again. Most are not there on merit. So will give that game a miss. Wont waste my time.
Will watch the Tests and that is it.
#552 Robzim: Hi Rob, shall we have a fight now….I will start
“Bob Dylan may have been a poet but he couldn’t sing” !!
#559 carol: Its been a while darling… anbd lets face it… you got a smile on your face… Fk the handbags… this is exciting
November 7th, 2009 at 12:45 am
#569 carol: Carol I am angry with the daft selections. Most of those players should not have been selected. We will never get players only selected on merit in this country. It is a damn shame. We are all South African and should be seen that way but it will never be.
How you by the way? Did you enjoy the game?
November 7th, 2009 at 12:45 am
#570 WP Till I Die: Yeah, just go for it…..
November 7th, 2009 at 12:46 am
#567 Langenhoven: cool my man…hope its all good that side,,,,been busy here…..business picking up steadily….thank heavens!
#562 WP Till I Die: don’t be a ****** doos now and only look at one side.if he wants to insult people on this blog he will have to accept that **** will come his way and by the way are you his ****** lawyer now!
#564 grant10:
Hi Grant,
Your theory on the scrums are holding up well.
To make matters worst, out first Xv’s front row might even be worse
But why the poms???
November 7th, 2009 at 12:47 am
#566 WP Till I Die: Have for a long, long time. My sister and brother do and they live in Fish Hoek. So maybe that is why.
I am ashamed to be a South African Supporter tonight. Not because of the loss or anything – I’m actually quite proud of the boys for the most. No, I am ashamed about the reaction of you bunch of hypocritical ignoramusses that come and spew your bias on this blog.
None of those guys picked themselves, and they gave it their all in the face of a week long tirade on this site about how pathetic they are and who else should have been in their place.
Fact is, even the Bok A side would have been clapped tonight, because their scrum is not much better than the B-side, and the truth is, honestly- WE WERE MOERED IN THE SCRUM.
That’s where it all started. And if the scrum is in reverese, your loosies are on their heels and on the back foot. So in the tackle, they end up un derneath the guy being tackled and are out of play. S how dopes your fetcher fetch when he has to tackle under these conditions the whole night. Even Brussow would have been butchered tonight. And WP Nel and Wian Dup are siting at home saying to themselves “thank God I wasn’t on that field tonight!” Because they know what happened.
Fact is, Leicester were clever. They picked a monster pack and proceeded to F@ck us up 6/love, 6/love.
Yes, some okes tried, and everybody is singing Ashley Johnson’s praize, but he was simply running around like a headless chicken like he has been doing the whole year, but lucky for him he was highly visible, so in most of your eyes that equates to being good. Fact is, the okes you are not seeing are the grafters, because in such a game they are the guys pulling off the tackles. I’m not knocking Ashley, because he tried his best, and for that I salute him.
Think guys, has your much faunted Jean Deysel who performs game after game and according to everybopdy id God’s gift to Sa rugby, suddenly turned into one of the powder puff girls? The answer is a clear no. This kind of thing happens in rugby sometimes. I’ve been there and done it- on both sides, dishing it out and receiving it.
Those forwards of Leicester would have run through a reinforced concrete wall tonight. It was in the stars- their moment of greatness. The cosmic table was set for them, and all the right planets aligned. And we were just unfortunate to be on the receiving end tonight. Yes, i certainly can’t explain it, because that very same Bok team on another night would probably put 40 points past them. But life’s a *****.
#572 Puma: We get it, Puma. You’re not going to watch the B team. You don’t have to say it a million times FFS. Who are you trying to convince? Yourself, obviously.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:48 am
#573 carol:
Horses are dangerous biters and should be muzzled
#564 grant10: It was the scrum mate…lol..and I got to admit, I did think you were a bit anal about the aspect… I take it all back. Tjommie forever!!
#578 Valkyrie:
Becalm thee, Chooser of the Slain and Odin’s Companion.
hehehe Chill Grantster!
Gunther
Hey mate, haha, yeah you make a great point about scaring Gibbs. And it works everytime!
102 off 76. That’s vintage Gibbs. Beautiful. I just wish I went down to Newlands tonight instead of staying home to watch the drivel served up from the Boks C.
scary thing is the bok main manne front row just as slap as these bloody 3 weak kneed belly dancers we had tonight….
Never before have i seen a bok scrum turbo reverse….yes,,,,we have gone back….but fark me this was at a snot spoed!!!
November 7th, 2009 at 12:49 am
#575 Puma: You have been saying this for days, it is not the team you would take.
I believe in equality but you have to have talent too!!
Had to follow the match on RT!! Visitors here!! Did the new ground look OK?
November 7th, 2009 at 12:50 am
#587 grant10: I take it the meal out was spoilt somewhat by the result?
#570 WP Till I Die: Free for all mate… its like the fight at the end of the wedding reception
#572 Puma:
I think we all know by now you won’t watch the dirt trackers…you’ve said it about twenty times…
November 7th, 2009 at 12:51 am
#588 carol: It looked great.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:51 am
#583 Robzim: You will have to try harder than that!!
November 7th, 2009 at 12:52 am
#579 Robzim: I tell you Rob….i saw this **** coming….i farken knew the wheels would come off …and i tell you again….next week is D Day…if Smit and Beast dont man up….we gotta change….we are living in a fools paradise….every team gonna target us….in fact we are a bit of a joke come scrum time….
Smitty cant fix this at 3….its a nightmare and its happening…and no one got the balls to face up…
Jislaaik, but we South African supporters are bad losers.
The internationals reading this blog must be laughing their bleeding heads off.
#577 grant10: Good to know its happening mate… BY fking time.. I got some investments there that need to grow.. mainly property based
#591 WP Till I Die: You want to hear it again
Ag, they were disappointing to watch WPTID.
Cant wait for the Tests
Then cant wait for the Cricket to start. Looking forward to that too.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:53 am
#538 Langenhoven:hey shaun duke longtime no see!
#533 grant10:all season grant?
#527 gunther:lol, i have to try everything to stop all this moaning man!
#525 WP_: we don’t know that.
November 7th, 2009 at 12:54 am
I also want to start a fight.
I cant wait for Julius to become next Pres of the Republic!
Who’s with me?
November 7th, 2009 at 12:55 am
#594 grant10:
Did you hear about the potential red tape issues with the Beast, travelling on his Zimbabwean passport?