digimag-banner

Leicester 22 SA XV 17

Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opener at Welford Road.

80 mins: South Africa run through numerous phases as they move towards the try line, but a strong Leicester defence keeps them at bay. Odwa Ndungane eventually loses the ball forward and Lote Tuqiri dives over the touchline with the ball. The Leicester players celebrate as they played four minutes into extra time. Leicester beat South Africa 22-17!

79 mins: Leicester drive the ball forward through their heavies as try to waste time, but they concede a penalty to the South Africans with a minute to play. Pienaar kicks for touch to give his side a lineout in Leicester’s 22m area.

77 mins: South Africa are awarded a crucial penalty in Leicester’s 22m area. Pienaar bags the three points, which sees the visitors need a converted try to achieve victory. 22-17 to Leicester!

65 mins: After a frustrating period of play, South Africa decide to go for posts when they are awarded a penalty in the last quarter. Pienaar slots the attemot to score their first points of the second stanza. 22-14 to Leicester!

58 mins: Leicester receive their third penalty after South Africa struggle to compete at the scrums. Youngs kicks the home side into a 11-point lead. 22-11 to Leicester!

52 mins: After being dominated at the scrums, the Leicester forwards start to rule the air battle at the lineouts.

45 mins: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp in his prefered loosehead position, but Castrogiovanni still destroys him in the scrum and earns his side a penalty. Leicester score the first points of the second half as Youngs converts the goal attempt. 19-11 to Leicester!

Half-time: Leicester 16 South Africa 11

40 mins: Mauger concedes a penalty on the stroke of half-time for obstructing the South Africans from chasing the ball. Pienaar kicks the three-pointer to leave South Africa trailing by five points at the break. 16-11 to Leicester!

39 mins: Ill discipline costs the visitors as Youngs converts his third penalty. 16-8 to Leicester!

38 mins: South Africa penalised again after being out-scrummed by the Leicester front row. Guthro Steenkamp a major concern as Martin Castrogiovanni has the clear upper hand.

33 mins: Leicester are awarded a penalty on the 50m line after the South African pack were out-scrummed. Youngs bags the three points with an impressive attempt. 13-8 to Leicester!

27 mins: Leicester try! A poor clearance from Pienaar allowed Leicester to run a counter attack. A swift switch from centre Manu Tuilagi put wing Lucas Amorosino through for their first five-pointer. Youngs converted the try to put the home side in the lead. 10-8 to Leicester!

20 mins: Captain Chilliboy Ralepelle leaves the field early after suffering an injury in a scrum. Bandise Maku comes on to replace the skipper.

10 mins: Leicester hit right back as Youngs makes up for his woeful miss earlier in the game by slotting his second attempt. 8-3 to South Africa!

8 mins: South African try! After a good kick and chase from South Africa, the secure possession in Leicester’s 22m area, although it seemed centre Juan de Jongh interfered with the receiver. Fullback Earl Rose then puts a chip through, which is gather by wing Jongi Nokwe, and the Bok flyer dives over for the opening try. 8-0 to South Africa!

5 mins: Ruan Pienaar puts the visitors ahead after South Africa were awarded a penalty in front of the posts. 3-0 to South Africa!

2 mins: South Africa concede an early penalty in a kickable position, but scrumhalf Ben Youngs pushes his attempt wide.

1 min: Deep kickoff from pivot Aaron Mauger, which is received by Ashley Johnson. The No 8 secures possession as he sets up the first phase. Ruan Pienaar then kicks a good clearance back into Leicester’s half.

Leicester – 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Lucas Amorosino, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Aaron Mauger (c), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Pienaar, 6 Geoff Parling, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Calum Green, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Mefin Davies,1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Tom Armes, 19 Dan Hemingway, 20 James Grindal, 21 Greig Tonks, 22 Lote Tuqiri.

South Africa XV – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

855 Responses to “Leicester 22 SA XV 17”

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 » Show All

• 601. RobzimReply to this comment :

#593 carol:

But you are only a girl.

• 602. skopskietReply to this comment :

#537 WP_:
    Which ones let the team down you idiot name them. Which 2nd grade player of color let the team down fool you got rocks in your head same as Puma. The players that let the team down are Jakes glory selections. Steenkamp Du Plessis Roussouw Pienaar Ndungane Ralepelle. All 2007 Wc winners. Not one new player let them down, only old useless ou doos idiots like you n Puma cry about.

And just for Sofa Joe I got no time for cry baby bumkin fools. The exposure was going to happen sooner or later and its got f.all to do with exposing players like Johnson Raubenheimer Adams De Jongh Viljoen Hougaard. The rot is hanging onto dead beat f.up’s like Roussouw Du Plessis Steenkamp Ndungane and Pienaar should have never been dropped from Fh by Sharks or by Pdv, stupid ploy expecting him to get his game right in first outing under a front row back peddling like its in reverse gear all day long.

• 603. PumaReply to this comment :

Okay out of here. I must be the only sober one here. All the foul mouth swearing a bit much. Sometimes it always goes past banter here.

Cheers all catch up some other time.

• 604. grant10Reply to this comment :

#581 catleya: #584 Langenhoven: My mate….i tell you …i know f all about most things….but i am not a blind doos….you go back in scrums it affects everything….but these wankers who call me doos….fark them…tonight a lesson is hopefully learned….you cant scrum you may get lucky…but it will catch up…Leicester 3 rd team boet…thats the reality!!

• 605. carolReply to this comment :

#592 Puma: Oh well you will have to look to the next fixture.
    The trouble with the match on 17th at Wembley it is the ground is so huge it will look like the place is empty, can’t imagine there will be a full house for Bok II v Saracens.

• 606. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#581 catleya: YOu make to much sense mate… I am going to cut and paste your comment in my blogg (wall of fame)… I remember your bit on Luke Watson being the best loosie in the world.. Great argument structure… Well done.. You a warrior on the battlefield of ideas.. Long live

• 607. PumaReply to this comment :

Cheers Rob, Well done to the Cobras.

Looking forward to the cricket when England come. Should be great.

• 608. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

#585 WP Till I Die: sorry bud but your mate just pissed me off there for a while ,i just gave credit to earl rose’s last few performances and the man started to insult me out of the blue that’s why i said look at both sides before making wild judgements.

• 609. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#604 grant10: This is your night mate.. I bow before thee

• 610. WP Till I DieReply to this comment :

You’d think we lost the World Cup final the way people are going on here.

This was an experimental SA XV coached by **** Muir. Tomorrow the sun will still shine and the sky will still be blue, water will still be wet and women will still have secrets.

• 611. grant10Reply to this comment :

#589 carol: great meal…a bit too much booze though…LOL…all great….guests were as shocked as i was with the **** Bok performance.

• 612. carolReply to this comment :

#595 WP Till I Die: I am having a good laugh!!! (Being an outsider)

• 613. PumaReply to this comment :

#605 carol: It is a great stadium Carol and so many ex-pats saffas living over there but not sure if they will go and watch that game after tonight.

Cheers Carol. Catch up tomorrow.

• 614. carolReply to this comment :

#601 Robzim: “Oh Yeah, who are you calling a girl” ?

(Cummon Rob, you are going to have to try a bit harder here) !! Heheheh

• 615. RobzimReply to this comment :

#594 grant10:

If they must learn the hard way, so be it.
    Rather now then in 2011.

Jannie should stay in hospital and marry a nurse and start a family or something.

It was embarrassing out there.
    I though Italians could only sing opera and make pizzas.

• 616. guntherReply to this comment :

#610 WP Till I Die:

lol gad you didn’t get that last bit mixed up…

• 617. grant10Reply to this comment :

#596 Langenhoven: 2010 will be a good year…some football to watch as well…stadium looking real cool

• 618. RobzimReply to this comment :

#607 Puma:

Cheers Puma, take it easy

• 619. WP Till I DieReply to this comment :

#616 gunther:

In my case, they’re always wet.

• 620. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#599 WP_: He is going to moer you.. rather find a malnurished 13yo girl to fight with

• 621. carolReply to this comment :

#613 Puma: Look out for me in the crowd at the Wales match!! I will wave at the camera!! ;-)

• 622. PumaReply to this comment :

#604 grant10: And our 4th team.

Cheers Grant. Bok test side will be better. Most are selected on merit there.

• 623. WP_Reply to this comment :

Skopskiet.

You’ve clearly been drinking old fast.

I’ll tell you who let the team down. Raubenheimer was terrible and anonymous, Jannie Dup and Guthro were smashed in the scrums, Danie wasnt great, Chili was a yet, Maku wasnt great – his throwing was poor.

• 624. grant10Reply to this comment :

#598 Transformation: Yes…90% of scrums we under pressure…bloody weak we are man!

#600 WP Till I Die: No…wassup there?

• 625. guntherReply to this comment :

#619 WP Till I Die:

cheeky f*cker…

• 626. TransformationReply to this comment :

#595 WP Till I Die:i’m laughing my head off & i’m a local!! :D

#556 Puma: what truth are you on about? are you that deluded to think the **** that comes out of your head is the only truth? come on puma i thought you had more sense than that. I asked you why didn’t the sharks “cream” free state in the semis with all their bokke back, you haven’t answered.

Just save face and shut chap, cos you’re being an embarrasment.

Ffs, you can moan…

• 627. PumaReply to this comment :

#621 carol: Send some pics to RT. Will be good to see Carol.

Okay out of here now. Sober for me and can see some have had too much to drink tonight.

I am back on my health diet. Only water tonigh….hehe.

Cheers once again Carol.

• 628. carolReply to this comment :

#611 grant10: I nipped to the computer at half time and was amazed to see Tigers in the lead!
    This is a blip – someone will tell PDV to read RT and Keo if he needs some advice….
    He will get plenty of expert advice here to help him and his cronies with the next selection!! :-)

• 629. carolReply to this comment :

#627 Puma: OK will take my camera…can’t send them by phone tho!

• 630. RobzimReply to this comment :

#614 carol:

A confused little girl pretending to be a bull but deep inside a stormer?

• 631. WP_Reply to this comment :

Langhoven who are you talking about? Bring it on! :)

• 632. charoReply to this comment :

well done leicester – played with a lot of heart.
    haven’t bothered to read the 600 odd posts up to here but my observations;
    1. quota u19 or u21 players are still quotas at senior level
    2. this includes white guys
    3. pdv is fuggin around with the bok emblem by playing these quotas
    4. boks do not revere their heritage enough
    5. we are not as good enough as a nation at rugby as we think we are
    6.transformation? does that equate to lower standards?
    7. in sa rugby, it is basically a white/coloured man’s game – with a few good african players sprinkled in. no other politically engineered combination will work.
    8. did raubenheimer actually play?
    9. earl rose was ok in my view.

time for a wake up after destroying the all blacks in 2009. if we are this bad, how bad are the pathetic kiwis?

• 633. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#617 grant10: Fifa chose teh world cup to be in June because its the Kakest time of the year in SA… They want to prove to the world that its best to have a world cup in the NH… You guys better get the heating switched on at full tilt… the Brits are not use to cold.. we live with central heating here… My place is at 22degress every day of the year

• 634. PumaReply to this comment :

#626 Transformation: Transie you making a fool of yourself. Grow up and have some manners. Is that the way your parent brought you up?

Then your girlfriend speaks the same and that is a girl. Also foul mouthed just like you and Langenhoven. Grow up and get some manners. You let yourself down big time talking like that. You let your parents down too.

Cheers little boy. Sober up too.

• 635. WP Till I DieReply to this comment :

#624 grant10:

And what rough Beast, its hour come round at last, slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

• 636. grant10Reply to this comment :

#615 Robzim: said that to a mate…rather tonight than in 2011 in a quarterfinal….but rob…okes dont learn…accept mediocrity all the time…it pi sses me off so bad….we are Boks ffs….where do we go back like tonite and against the wallabies??? Un bloody acceptable….and we just dont get it!!!

Makes me so mal!!

• 637. RobzimReply to this comment :

#633 Langenhoven:

Howzit Shawn,

Where have u been lately?
    Not enough fire for u on keo anymore?

How’s it going in London.
    The pretty cousin still fine?

• 638. grant10Reply to this comment :

#628 carol: we cant scrum….thats the deal….we cant BLOODY SCRUM!!!!!!!!!

• 639. PumaReply to this comment :

#632 charo: Hello Charo, Yip well said there Charo.

Remember to meet me at mecc sometime when you in Umhlanga. I can organize a golf game for you too. Not me with kak knees but have plenty mates that play there.

Cheers Charo, Catch up some other time.

• 640. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#634 Puma: Got proud parents mate… as for you.. Get real mate.. Faking is for woman

• 641. skopskietReply to this comment :

No Wp
    Danie, Jannie, And Gurthro the main culprits followed by Pienaar, Ndungane and Ralepelle. All Wc 2007 Stalwarts. Next in line is Smit and Beast going to see their asses. If they were scrumming tonight they would have been annihilated just the same as Gurthro Jannie and Heinke were.

So there you have the problem. Now watch Kanko Smit and Beast show their mettle against France. I simply can’t wait.

Johnson Adams Rose Nokwe Hargreaves Hougaard even Raubenheimer played Ok. It was your has been’s that f’d up worse than anyone not the D Team players you crying about.

• 642. carolReply to this comment :

#630 Robzim: Thats better, but incorrect….
    WP, only for Percy….then they treated him like an OAP so I gravitated to the Big Blue’s up North.
    Where men are men!! ;-)

• 643. WP Till I DieReply to this comment :

#634 Puma:

I think you’re losing it – where did Transformation talk “foul-mouthed” as you put it? And why the hell bring in his girlfriend? I’ve been looking at Transformation’s posts, but fail to see this alleged content?

Nah, old man, I think you should rather go like you’ve been threatening for the past 20 minutes, you are making a fool of yourself now, charging windmills :lol:

• 644. RobzimReply to this comment :

#636 grant10:

Yeah, you know, it got so bad I could not watch the last 20 minutes – switched the TV off and played chess against the computer (honestly)and checked the score on Keo every 5 seconds.

I cannot handle this sh@t anymore.

• 645. WP Till I DieReply to this comment :

#642 carol:

You do know they sing “Liefling” to each other, up there? :-)

• 646. WP_Reply to this comment :

PdV must be humble enough to admit his failings and mustnt be arrogant regarding his shocking selections

• 647. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

#637 Robzim: London is cooking mate.. I am trying to solve the credit crunch all on my own… I need to curb my spending… Work is intense.. never been this busy ever.. but looking forward to Christmas… booked chrismas lunch in the restaurant on level 95 on the Eiffel Tower, Paris

• 648. grant10Reply to this comment :

anyway….sorry if o lost it a bit…..red wine and beer lethal….add in Jannie Dup and Guthro and a reverse gear that is turbo charged and the recipe for a freak out is complete….better have another beer then get some sleep….

Best of luck to eng and wales tomorrow….carol…enjoy the game!

Outta here…

PS….I HOPE SOME OKES LEARNT A LESSON ABOUT THE IMPORTANCE OF SCRUMS….DONT BE FOOLED BY BIG HIT AND OTHERS WHO SAY ITS NOT IMPORTANT….IT IS THE FOUNDATION OF A TEAM

good nite.

• 649. carolReply to this comment :

#638 grant10: Sounds like the scrums were a bit embarrasing!!! :oops:

• 650. carolReply to this comment :

#648 grant10: Thanks Grant, I will….sleep well.
    It will all seem better in the morning :roll:

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 » Show All

Leicester 22 (16)

Tries

• Lucas Amorosino

Conversions

• Ben Youngs

Penalties

• Youngs (5)

SA XV 17 (11)

Tries

• Jongi Nokwe

Penalties

• Ruan Pienaar (4)

About the author

GarethD has written 893 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator