digimag-banner

Leicester 22 SA XV 17

Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opener at Welford Road.

80 mins: South Africa run through numerous phases as they move towards the try line, but a strong Leicester defence keeps them at bay. Odwa Ndungane eventually loses the ball forward and Lote Tuqiri dives over the touchline with the ball. The Leicester players celebrate as they played four minutes into extra time. Leicester beat South Africa 22-17!

79 mins: Leicester drive the ball forward through their heavies as try to waste time, but they concede a penalty to the South Africans with a minute to play. Pienaar kicks for touch to give his side a lineout in Leicester’s 22m area.

77 mins: South Africa are awarded a crucial penalty in Leicester’s 22m area. Pienaar bags the three points, which sees the visitors need a converted try to achieve victory. 22-17 to Leicester!

65 mins: After a frustrating period of play, South Africa decide to go for posts when they are awarded a penalty in the last quarter. Pienaar slots the attemot to score their first points of the second stanza. 22-14 to Leicester!

58 mins: Leicester receive their third penalty after South Africa struggle to compete at the scrums. Youngs kicks the home side into a 11-point lead. 22-11 to Leicester!

52 mins: After being dominated at the scrums, the Leicester forwards start to rule the air battle at the lineouts.

45 mins: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp in his prefered loosehead position, but Castrogiovanni still destroys him in the scrum and earns his side a penalty. Leicester score the first points of the second half as Youngs converts the goal attempt. 19-11 to Leicester!

Half-time: Leicester 16 South Africa 11

40 mins: Mauger concedes a penalty on the stroke of half-time for obstructing the South Africans from chasing the ball. Pienaar kicks the three-pointer to leave South Africa trailing by five points at the break. 16-11 to Leicester!

39 mins: Ill discipline costs the visitors as Youngs converts his third penalty. 16-8 to Leicester!

38 mins: South Africa penalised again after being out-scrummed by the Leicester front row. Guthro Steenkamp a major concern as Martin Castrogiovanni has the clear upper hand.

33 mins: Leicester are awarded a penalty on the 50m line after the South African pack were out-scrummed. Youngs bags the three points with an impressive attempt. 13-8 to Leicester!

27 mins: Leicester try! A poor clearance from Pienaar allowed Leicester to run a counter attack. A swift switch from centre Manu Tuilagi put wing Lucas Amorosino through for their first five-pointer. Youngs converted the try to put the home side in the lead. 10-8 to Leicester!

20 mins: Captain Chilliboy Ralepelle leaves the field early after suffering an injury in a scrum. Bandise Maku comes on to replace the skipper.

10 mins: Leicester hit right back as Youngs makes up for his woeful miss earlier in the game by slotting his second attempt. 8-3 to South Africa!

8 mins: South African try! After a good kick and chase from South Africa, the secure possession in Leicester’s 22m area, although it seemed centre Juan de Jongh interfered with the receiver. Fullback Earl Rose then puts a chip through, which is gather by wing Jongi Nokwe, and the Bok flyer dives over for the opening try. 8-0 to South Africa!

5 mins: Ruan Pienaar puts the visitors ahead after South Africa were awarded a penalty in front of the posts. 3-0 to South Africa!

2 mins: South Africa concede an early penalty in a kickable position, but scrumhalf Ben Youngs pushes his attempt wide.

1 min: Deep kickoff from pivot Aaron Mauger, which is received by Ashley Johnson. The No 8 secures possession as he sets up the first phase. Ruan Pienaar then kicks a good clearance back into Leicester’s half.

Leicester – 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Lucas Amorosino, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Aaron Mauger (c), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Pienaar, 6 Geoff Parling, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Calum Green, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Mefin Davies,1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Tom Armes, 19 Dan Hemingway, 20 James Grindal, 21 Greig Tonks, 22 Lote Tuqiri.

South Africa XV – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

855 Responses to “Leicester 22 SA XV 17”

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All

• 801. charoReply to this comment :

#797 JockBok:

actually i enjoyed the band.
    “no women no cry” was a special rendition.
    one has to savour these moments in west africa.

• 802. AndrewBKReply to this comment :

#795 JockBok: this is a very silly thing to say.

• 803. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

#791 WP Till I Die: the ira was a legitimate organisation fighting for the freedom of their people and their country and michael collins bombing strategy against british soldiers forced the hand of the english at the end of the day that ’s why the republic is a free country today.the scots on the other hand are nothing but a bunch of cowards that are happy enough to tag along ubder english rule.long live the ira!long live!

• 804. JockBokReply to this comment :

#801 charo: True, they were pretty good, and it is refreshing to enjoy African music in Africa in a situation where you don’t feel threatened or judged by the colour of your skin. One of the truly magical things about Togo/Ghana, you are a human being just like everyone else.

• 805. TransformationReply to this comment :

#792 WakaNathan: lol. Eish waka i’d forgotten how verbose you can be. No mate i’m not deflecting anything from leicester, aaron mauger & scott hamilton kicked superbly & put under pressure where we had to play in our own half & they contested against rossouw & bekker.

They annihilated our scrum, so need for even mention that bit.

The breakdown is the only area where i feel we were hard done by stuart dickinson, the player with the scrum cap “hammond” or somethin like that, was constantly not entering through the gate. It didn’t help that our players isolated themselves & thus opened themselves up to being out hustled off the ball. There were instances where leicester simply shoved them off the ball like school kids, that was embarrasing.

All in all the experiment didn’t work, having had only 3 training session in the week vs a team that has some semblance of cohesion, balance & team spirit.

• 806. charoReply to this comment :

#802 AndrewBK:

can you explain?
    to me that was the truest post on this blog.

#803 Valkyrie:

somewhere in your miserable little life…you have been brainwashed to a single cell

• 807. charoReply to this comment :

#805 Transformation:

that is the point i left out in my initial post – leceister counter-rucked us to oblivion. added to that dickenson let them get away with murder on the ruck offside rule. but it was our fault – we did not commit enough bodies – very much a saffa malaise i’m afraid

• 808. JockBokReply to this comment :

#802 AndrewBK: I’m saying, perhaps in a clumsy way, that terrorism never wins.

#803 Valkyrie: lol, there are so many contradictions in such a short paragraph that I’m not sure where to start. But I suppose if you are comfortable enough to support a terrorist organisation and admit it to all and sundry, then I really have to say nothing to show you up as the fool and coward that you obviously are. Answer me one thing though, where does bravery come into planting a bomb in a busy street and detonating it from 10 miles away?

• 809. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

#795 JockBok: scots will stay a bunch of cowards reduced to nothing by the english.in the republic their iraleaders like collins,pearse,connolly and others are honoured with bridges,streets buildings etc.named after them but in scotland they still wave the british flag with gusto as if it’s their own.bunch of ****** losers!

• 810. AndrewBKReply to this comment :

#806 charo:

quote:
    “But please, do tell me oh wise one, just how did SA become a multi-cultural paradise? Because the white men gave it back my friend. That’s how. Not because you burned a few types at a road block.”

this statement is suggesting that apartheid was a sustainable system, which it wasn’t. aside from that, the protests within the country attracted the focus of the international community, and which that came sanctions and pressure. no country can flourish in isolation, isolation of communities within it’s borders and isolation from the outside world. the system was deeply flawed and doomed to fail, there was none of this kind white men giving the land back out of the goodness of their hearts, it was inevitable.

• 811. AlanDReply to this comment :

incredible how we go from a rugby game in welford road to the ira.

• 812. TransformationReply to this comment :

#795 JockBok: nc nc nc…

• 813. TransformationReply to this comment :

#804 JockBok: wow, how richly ironic, that’s what hugh masekela, miriam makeba etc said they felt like in europe & the united states back in the day… The more things change the more the stay the same.

• 814. charoReply to this comment :

#810 AndrewBK:

in short, where else in the world has the first world minority handed over power to the third majority?
    i cannot think of another example in the history of this planet.
    truly remarkable.
    the next problem is to make it succeed.

• 815. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

#808 JockBok: the irish celebrate the easter rising,commonly known as the start of the beginning of the end of british rule, up to this day.this rising was started by brave ira men not afraid to die in fighting the english unlike the scots and welsh(to make you happy)who are very happy to have the queen of england’s foot on their throats.

• 816. JockBokReply to this comment :

#809 Valkyrie: But it is our own. Have a look at the big blue bit at the back, that’s ours. You see, and I don’t expect you to understand this, we are a partnership and it’s a reciprocal arangement. If we wanted to change it, we would vote for change, and that is called democracy my small minded friend. It’s something that mature nations believe in and use to stop crazy minorities forcing their will on the majority. Like the IRA for example. A minority trying to force their way and their agenda onto a majority who don’t want it. Hence, we don’t give in and although it is tough at times, we don’t let cowardly little bombers bomb us into submission and sell out our citizens. DEMOCRACY!!!!

But hey, I’m assuming you’d respect a full on bombing campaign by the AWB?

• 817. charoReply to this comment :

#813 Transformation:

oh puleeze transie!
    we had an enjoyable evening – why the hell do you have to try to denigrate it.
    chips anyone?

• 818. AlanDReply to this comment :

don’t tell anyone but apparently there’s a rugby blog around here somewhere

• 820. JockBokReply to this comment :

#815 Valkyrie: I’m not sure if you are aware that Queen Elizabeth 2nd of England, is Queen Elizabeth 1st of Scotland. Crowned in a seperate ceremony and carrying on the tradition started by King James 6th of Scotland, who was asked to be King James 1st of England, and hence unite the monarchy?

Just wondering…

• 821. JockBokReply to this comment :

#813 Transformation: True, and maybe the world is becoming a smaller place. But I’m pretty sure that the longer we harp on about race, the longer it will take.

• 822. TransformationReply to this comment :

#811 AlanD: you can say that again aland…south africans of all kinds are a damaged bunch. I often say to my friends that one the first things the anc should’ve invested in was free psychiatric help for the masses. A lot of things that happened i this country are still affecting people mentally, from the inferior educaction that was designed not to produce thinking functional people but mere robots for a cheap labour system, to traumatic kidnappings & letter bombs…

The bust ups here on keo & the condescending retorts are just way of venting i guess…

• 823. skopskietReply to this comment :

No Charo I’m not far wrong on this. A judgment call has been made on an individual who Carol has zero frame of reference of other than by what her indoctrinated opinionated right wing pals have told her and she gullibly swallows the induced indoctrination down whole. That simply tells me Carol doesn’t have an unbiased mind of her own but is so influenced by what a bunch of fool deluded idiots think about somebody whom she knows sweet f.all about that she goes along hook line and sinker for the joy ride.

Thats straight out indoctrinated groupie blindness talking nothing short of it I.m afraid.

• 824. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

#816 JockBok: don’t make me laugh!you are a bunch of cowards that doesn’t have the will to be independent because you are so used to be ruled from westminister.you are the english queens’s whores so just accept it.

• 825. AndrewBKReply to this comment :

#824 Valkyrie: that’s also a silly thing to say! aghh! this place becomes a madhouse after dark…

• 826. JockBokReply to this comment :

#824 Valkyrie: Okay, so if we planted a few bombs and killed a few people, we would be heroes in your eyes? But what if the majority don’t want it? And also, what about facts? Don’t they count for anything? And what about the AWB? You haven’t answered that one, because according to you, they would be heroes fighting for a just cause, i.e. the minority imposing their will on the majority.

But just for you, my bigoted friend, a song by an Irish band who actually had to live through the bombs and the bullets. Read it and think for a moment before you make yourself more of a fool than you you already have.

Oh it must be so romantic
    When the fighting’s over there
    And they’re passing round the shamrock
    And you’re all filled up with tears
    “For the love of dear old Ireland”
    That you’ve never even seen
    You throw in twenty dollars
    And sing “Wearing of the Green

[Chorus:]
    Each dollar a bullet
    Each victim someone’s son
    And Americans kill Irishmen
    As surely
    As if they fired the gun

Now you’ve never stood on Belfast’s streets
    And heard the bombs explode
    Or hid beneath the blankets
    When there’s riots down the road
    No you’ve never had your best friend die
    Or lost a favorite son
    But you’ll stand there and tell us
    Just what we’re doing wrong

Each false word a bullet
    And Englishmen kill Irishmen
    As surely
    As if they fired the gun

From the minute that you’re born you’re told
    To hate the other side
    “They’re not like us, they’re not the same
    We know because we’re right”
    But can’t you see we’re all the same
    There is no right and wrong
    Why can’t we stop and realize
    Just what we’re doing wrong
    We’ve hated too much too long

Each old lie a bullet
    And Irishmen kill Irishmen
    As surely
    As if they fired the gun

How can you convince yourself
    That what you do is right?
    When people are dying there
    Night after night
    Don’t you ever wonder
    Why it still goes on?
    The hopes and fears and all the tears
    Are buried in your ground
    Buried in your ground

Each rumour a bullet
    And careless talk kills Irishmen
    As surely
    As if words fired the gun

Well it’s lasted for so long now
    And so many have died
    It’s such a part of my own life
    Yet it leaves me mystified
    How a people so intelligent
    Friendly, kind and brave
    Can throw themselves so willingly
    Into an open grave

Each new day a bullet
    And ignorance kills Irishmen
    As surely
    As if we fired the gun

• 827. TransformationReply to this comment :

#821 JockBok:maybe

#818 AlanD:that was funny :D

#817 charo: oh come on charo, get over urself. You had a lekker evening with fellow bloggers, fine by me. But the additional it was so nice to be in an environment where you are not threatened & judged by the colour of your skin stuff is just low & unnecessary when people still need to organise groups to go watch a game @ loftus versveld to avoid being abused on their own! Don’t be so quick to offer the chips when your mate jockbock here was patting you on the back about how “free” and liberated you felt in the first african country to be liberated from colonialism…eish kuse kude engqinibeni!

• 828. charoReply to this comment :

#823 skopskiet:

skoppie, it’s late for me (gmt) so it has to be very late for you.

#824 Valkyrie: mate, go to scotland and call the average jock a coward – there i dare you – maybe your cyber bravery will be exposed

#822 Transformation:

night transie – also time for you to hit the sack. come to west africa sometime and enjoy the local bands – you won’t be disappointed.

cheers jockbok – things to do tomorrow. travel safely back to lome. see you guys next time at my place

• 829. AlanDReply to this comment :

#826 JockBok: barman….a dozen Guinness please :)

• 830. JockBokReply to this comment :

#824 Valkyrie: You know, the funny thing is that I have voted for Independence many times, but have never felt the need to kill my fellow Scots who disagree with me. I have to accept that the majority don’t want it, and hopefully we can change their minds through debate and reason. The alternative is fascism and the result is terrorism. I’m surprised that a South African would support this path. Unless of course I’ve judged you wrong and you are indeed a member of the AWB???

• 831. charoReply to this comment :

#827 Transformation:

lastly – you are far too cynical.
    people here are not tainted with the sa thing – they have been doing their own thing for a long time now.
    us oburonis are not seen as a threat – more a passport to a chance of emancipation – funnily enough.

• 832. nama1Reply to this comment :

Keo will be so proud of you if he read all this **** on Sunday.

• 833. TransformationReply to this comment :

#828 charo: cheers charo, i will be coming up to ghana soon, two of my mates who i met @ varsity & now are fellow professionals are from ghana, in kumasi & wineba…plus i’ve acquired the taste of the local food there like gari, shito, banku & jolof….

• 834. JockBokReply to this comment :

#827 Transformation: Hopefully! And I started the comments about feeling ‘free’. It wasn’t meant to antagonise anyone, maybe just a comment which reflects my situation and my experience working in Togo. Maybe I now consider myself educated, maybe I now realise how much we have to do in SA to achieve the same levels. Maybe just a comment on how sick and tired I am of talking about race and not people.

#828 charo: Night Charo, thanks for a great evening and I’ll see you soon.

• 835. skopskietReply to this comment :

I also find it somewhat ironic that some white European men find it not only amicable but also very appealing and satisfying to be able to enjoy the ambience and culture of a reasonably liberated black African society and civilization who strangely enough not very long ago were also under the choking dictatorial rule of their colonialist masters. What is even more ironic is that white men can enjoy themselves in black communities and cultures because they feel this sense of freedom and open instantaneous report of humanity in such environments yet black people can hardly ever if at all have similar feelings of freedom and open hearted responses within white communities and environments. Now ask yourself the million dollar question, who is in fact in essence the racist under such ironically obvious observations.? The black man or the white man, generally speaking of course? Its pretty obvious from where I take my viewpoint, not even a debate needs to be considered to spell out the obvious.

• 836. JockBokReply to this comment :

#829 AlanD: Nice, but you can have the Guinness, I’ll have the Jamesons :)

• 837. nama1Reply to this comment :

if=when

• 838. charoReply to this comment :

#833 Transformation:

before i finally hit the sack.

kumasi (asante) is a great place – high in the hills and cool at night.
    winneba is near cape coast – the area where the old university is and the slave castles – quite historic.

you will love it here.

• 839. skopskietReply to this comment :

yeah its late, rather its early, and I.m also getting kinda tired now

So see you on the next shift
    Dont be late

• 840. JockBokReply to this comment :

#835 skopskiet: I’m not sure I get your point and I can’t see where the irony comes into it either. Simply put, I live in a country that resembles Khayaleitsha, but I can enter there and engage freely with anyone and everyone, whereas in Khayaleitsha, I would be rather scared. The point is, the rest of Africa is far more mature than South Africa, and it’s a wake up call experiencing it.

I took a friend, a black Togolese, to an Irish pub in Accra last night and he smiled from ear to ear all night, not shutting up about how he’d never been in such an environment where 99% of the people around him were white. So maybe you just need to move your reference point Skop, and stop judging everything from a South African point of view. It certainly helped me!

• 841. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

#830 JockBok: i understand your problem down in scotland but the fact of the matter is that the majority of the irish supported the ira in their fight for freedom .you might consider them as a terror organisation but their people in 1916 saw them as freedom fighters.britain and america considerd the anc also as a terrorist organisation,nelson mandela was still a person non grata as per american legislation while into his presidency so what for you are terrorists are for others freedom fighter and heroes.good luck to your peaceful struggle for independence.

• 842. JockBokReply to this comment :

Aw Valkyrie, have you gone? And I was so enjoying your reasoned debate.

• 843. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

Whipped by Leicester…. Sis man!

• 844. JockBokReply to this comment :

#841 Valkyrie: Excellent, you are still here. And coming up with a few good points too!!!

It appears we are arguing over different things. 1916 is a different kettle of dish altogether, and it would be hard to argue that the Irish were not justified in taking up arms to remove an unpopular colonial power. I’ll give you that one. Northern Ireland is another story however. And my people are not cowards my friend, apolitical and apathetic perhaps, but thankfully content to argue through a ballot box rather than using violence.

• 845. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

#842 JockBok: out of here now.take it easy now and may the forces of peace be with you.

• 846. skopskietReply to this comment :

precisely Jock bok it is a more mature openly respectful society because they haven’t been treated like down grade second class inferior citizens by a small minded insular fear ridden minority for a whole period of oppression through a whole series of generations subjected to such oppression. Why should we even have a Khyalitsha here when right across the road we have first world Somerset West with all the frills and first world trappings that come with it. Yet if you visit a Togonese household there you’d be made to feel most welcome and respected. Let a Togonese come visit the average white home in Somerset West for a reciprical bout of hospitality and check the fear and disdain that he’ll get subjected to. Get a load of the irony now? Catch my drift a little, or not quite yet?
    Even a visit to the average Khyalitsha shack would result in more hospitality from the downtrodden poor to the upper crust white than the other way around even here. So again I ask the very simple question, who carries more resentment and racial intolerance towards his fellow man in general terms, the lowly humble black man or the privileged educated white? Answer don’t need rocket science to make the deduction.

• 847. JockBokReply to this comment :

#845 Valkyrie: Thanks big boy. Be gentle with me next time.

• 848. skopskietReply to this comment :

seems up there in Accra its the white man that is finally getting to terms with his inherent humanity and become civilized mingling with his fellow human associates. Down here its still largely you stay this side of the track and I’ll stay that side and never the twain shall meet, until they emigrate to Nz or Australia then they mingle like f.ng flies. Sies Tackler can say that again sies on you, chicken runner.

• 849. skopskietReply to this comment :

definitely time for some shut eye now. Adios.

• 850. JockBokReply to this comment :

#846 skopskiet: I catch your drift, but I’m not sure I agree with it mate. From a South African perspective, yes, I understand what you are saying, but there is fear, ignorance, and a lot of history involved in your example. A lot of water passed under the bridge, and from a black mans point of view, I can imagine it must be as intimidating going to a fancy Constantia house as it would be for me to go to Khayalitsha. I have been beofre, to a friends house, and I don’t mind telling you, I was scared. But it’s down to mistrust and ignorance, foisted on us for years by a government with a separatist agenda. And it’s too soon to change when the gulf between rich and poor is still largely associated in the minds as the gulf between black and white.

But comparing that to Togo requires a shift in mindset. It is desperately poor, yes, but the white/black situation has been replaced by have/have not’s. And the people I know and the contact I have had doesn’t compare because the same people are forced down by the people who replaced the colonialists, not a rich minority of whites. Rather a core of black politicians and businessmen who control the country and keep a hold through fear and AK47’s. This is their reference point and the people who control power, are their ‘whites’. I know they would be far more intimidated by visiting a fancy house owned by a rich black dude than they would coming to my place. I pose no threat to them, never have, and the colonialists are long gone so the colour of my skin doesn’t matter. But if I was the Minister of Energy, then it would be a different matter.

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All

Leicester 22 (16)

Tries

• Lucas Amorosino

Conversions

• Ben Youngs

Penalties

• Youngs (5)

SA XV 17 (11)

Tries

• Jongi Nokwe

Penalties

• Ruan Pienaar (4)

About the author

GarethD has written 893 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator