Leicester 22 SA XV 17
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opener at Welford Road.
80 mins: South Africa run through numerous phases as they move towards the try line, but a strong Leicester defence keeps them at bay. Odwa Ndungane eventually loses the ball forward and Lote Tuqiri dives over the touchline with the ball. The Leicester players celebrate as they played four minutes into extra time. Leicester beat South Africa 22-17!
79 mins: Leicester drive the ball forward through their heavies as try to waste time, but they concede a penalty to the South Africans with a minute to play. Pienaar kicks for touch to give his side a lineout in Leicester’s 22m area.
77 mins: South Africa are awarded a crucial penalty in Leicester’s 22m area. Pienaar bags the three points, which sees the visitors need a converted try to achieve victory. 22-17 to Leicester!
65 mins: After a frustrating period of play, South Africa decide to go for posts when they are awarded a penalty in the last quarter. Pienaar slots the attemot to score their first points of the second stanza. 22-14 to Leicester!
58 mins: Leicester receive their third penalty after South Africa struggle to compete at the scrums. Youngs kicks the home side into a 11-point lead. 22-11 to Leicester!
52 mins: After being dominated at the scrums, the Leicester forwards start to rule the air battle at the lineouts.
45 mins: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp in his prefered loosehead position, but Castrogiovanni still destroys him in the scrum and earns his side a penalty. Leicester score the first points of the second half as Youngs converts the goal attempt. 19-11 to Leicester!
Half-time: Leicester 16 South Africa 11
40 mins: Mauger concedes a penalty on the stroke of half-time for obstructing the South Africans from chasing the ball. Pienaar kicks the three-pointer to leave South Africa trailing by five points at the break. 16-11 to Leicester!
39 mins: Ill discipline costs the visitors as Youngs converts his third penalty. 16-8 to Leicester!
38 mins: South Africa penalised again after being out-scrummed by the Leicester front row. Guthro Steenkamp a major concern as Martin Castrogiovanni has the clear upper hand.
33 mins: Leicester are awarded a penalty on the 50m line after the South African pack were out-scrummed. Youngs bags the three points with an impressive attempt. 13-8 to Leicester!
27 mins: Leicester try! A poor clearance from Pienaar allowed Leicester to run a counter attack. A swift switch from centre Manu Tuilagi put wing Lucas Amorosino through for their first five-pointer. Youngs converted the try to put the home side in the lead. 10-8 to Leicester!
20 mins: Captain Chilliboy Ralepelle leaves the field early after suffering an injury in a scrum. Bandise Maku comes on to replace the skipper.
10 mins: Leicester hit right back as Youngs makes up for his woeful miss earlier in the game by slotting his second attempt. 8-3 to South Africa!
8 mins: South African try! After a good kick and chase from South Africa, the secure possession in Leicester’s 22m area, although it seemed centre Juan de Jongh interfered with the receiver. Fullback Earl Rose then puts a chip through, which is gather by wing Jongi Nokwe, and the Bok flyer dives over for the opening try. 8-0 to South Africa!
5 mins: Ruan Pienaar puts the visitors ahead after South Africa were awarded a penalty in front of the posts. 3-0 to South Africa!
2 mins: South Africa concede an early penalty in a kickable position, but scrumhalf Ben Youngs pushes his attempt wide.
1 min: Deep kickoff from pivot Aaron Mauger, which is received by Ashley Johnson. The No 8 secures possession as he sets up the first phase. Ruan Pienaar then kicks a good clearance back into Leicester’s half.
Leicester – 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Lucas Amorosino, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Aaron Mauger (c), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Pienaar, 6 Geoff Parling, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Calum Green, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Mefin Davies,1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Tom Armes, 19 Dan Hemingway, 20 James Grindal, 21 Greig Tonks, 22 Lote Tuqiri.
South Africa XV – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

November 6th, 2009 at 11:21 pm
this is the longest phase by the boks ever
#336 bluealligator: now you are getting ****** ridiculous!too much witblits and mampoer china?
So poor. As exciting as the last 3 minutes were we were bereft of a plan and went no where.
Bugger.
Congratulations, Leicester! Well done.
Stop complaining fellas. The Boks will only win against Italy on this tour. Don`t worry, it`s all meaningless in the end. But we will take stick from the potato peelers when we go down at Croke Park. Go have Xmas, switch off the tv and go relax, this tour is an experiment. The NH play their hearts out, good for them. We are the the best team in the world and nobody can change that.
#336 bluealligator: How’d you figure that?
My problem is that your rhetoric is taking up the space of those who are writing updates on the actual game. Some of us aren’t anywhere near a satellite dish and come here for live updates on the game.
So F*ck Off!!! Please….
November 6th, 2009 at 11:22 pm
Are these brit commentators always so pathetic? Trying to make it out like their little club side beat the Tri-nations winning Springbok team? Shows a sign of no hope.
It makes no difference what side was selected – you are still playing for your country and (I would expect) doing your best……………..
He wins the tri nations he is a saviour. He lose to leicester with a c team he is the worst coach in the world and a racist pig.
#333 WakaNathan: Waka mate this is our C or D team. If you were South African you would feel as frustrated as all of us here. Why we have to put up with this is just not good enough for the supporters that come and pay money to see the best.
They left out about 10 of our players that should have been there. Not good enough. I for one wont watch another SA team that is not selected on Merit.
Will rather watch cricket or golf or anything else. Rugby in SA will lose their supporters if we don’t select our best. We going to lose those players that play great rugby and just get overlooked.
YES WE LOST BUT EARL WAS IMMENSE !
I GO TO BE WITH THE BIGGEST SMILE OF MY LIFE
I’M HAPPIER THAN MY WEDDING DAY
HAPPIER THAN THE BIRTH OF MY CHILDRENS
EARL EARL EARL EARL !
November 6th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA QUOTA
I think we’ll call this team Springbok Q.
#306 Puma: It always hurts to lose. Every time. This is no different.
Obviously poor selections cost us this.
Not a Springbok team.
#357 Kobus Kitty: Will Greenwood was a good player, rubbish behind the mike – agreed.
#339 TheTackler: NZ won’t win the World Cup – even if it’s just them and Koekenaap u/13 in the tournament… All Blacks, Proteas and Sharks are the biggest chokers in sport today.
Johnson best of the lot by a country mile
November 6th, 2009 at 11:24 pm
#361 rugbygenius: ag shurrup man. You always “shout” – just have a normal intelligent conversation.
Lose the caps and exclamation marks.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:24 pm
Congratulations Leicester, good scalp.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:25 pm
#302 skopskiet: How about a decent front row to start. The FS CC front row would be a good starting point. Then I’d have a back three (CC back row) which would include Potgieter and Johnson but might include Deysel and/or Vermeulen for a better balance. Heinie at 9 is fine but an ill-comfort Ruan at 10 is a disaster(IMO) and wrecks the huge potential of the two centers selected. I dont have a problem with Ndungane(either of the twins) because they work hard and are genuine rugby players/thinkers allbeit slow. But I do have a problem with Earl rose because I think he is a disruptive force and is certainly no star in the making. One of the most inconsistent players I’ve ever seen. Simply put, he is ****. The head coach has a soft spot for this idiot.
Is Pienaar worthy to play in a womans division?
#287 fish out of water: ****, heinke came on as a loosehead in place of Guthro!!!
Not blaming Heinke, how can you bring a prop straight from injury on tour!!! He hasn’t played since April????
#367 SodaJoe: HOW CAN I STOP SHOUTING WHEN MY BOY EARL PLAYED THE WAY HE DID !
i’M SORRY SIR BUT THIS IS TOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD !
AND ASH DID SO WELL !
#367 SodaJoe:
ditchwater…
frankly i don’t care. the only games that matter are France, Italy and Ireland. lets hope this shocks us out of this “we’re invincible” mindset that we have found ourselves in.
#360 Puma: 100% true.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:26 pm
#357 Kobus Kitty: It will go down in History that Leiceter beat the Boks not our 3rd or 4th team. We should always select our best.
Ag, I give up. Rather watch something else when our team is not selected on merit. Never again. To sit up this late and watch rubbish never again.
Those that were left behind you know you deserved to be there and I feel for you okes.
Its an experiment tour. I dnt mind the lose. Ashley Johnson and Earl rose to be drafted into the senior team.
Settle the eff down! Earl was solid, but anything but immense!
#372 rugbygenius: please.
I`m new to this site but can quickly see that the guy call “Tackler” is an absolute bitter idiot. I would bet money he`s a saffa that emigrated to the UK. You are a sad *** my son. You have no class.
Yes RG he played well….. Stand out was Ashley Johnson so we can maybe leave Roussouw out the 22?? Although he can lock, not seeing too much positives and the way it ended just confirms Ndugane is so shite he couldnt catch swine flu!!!!!
Deysel didnt impress me Pienaar deserves to be in the second team
#374 AndrewBK:
The real Boks are invincible, the things that played today however…. ewww
November 6th, 2009 at 11:27 pm
#373 gunther: aye
#361 rugbygenius: Your childrens must be very proud.
I am watching in England on Sky, they cant stop saying leister beat the World Champs not cool
November 6th, 2009 at 11:28 pm
#373 gunther: How did Earl actually play? I saw a super gary-owen and grubber wher we scored then had to do some work.
(I also thought it was De Jongh though …)
November 6th, 2009 at 11:28 pm
he was f@kn brilliant earl rose. You dont describe his flair as solid.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:29 pm
#385 robofthecape: They are sort of within their rights to. Irritating. Enjoy the papers tomorrow.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:29 pm
#363 SodaJoe: It hurts Joe, Especially when you know if some got selected we probably would have won. It hurts bad. I feel for those players sitting at home watching this wishing they were on that field playing.
Ag, just not ever going to watch another SA team that is not selected on merit. Enough is enough. Feel bad about this. Knew it would happen after seeing who the Tigers had in their team.
This is not building for the WC not at all. Would have been if those other players come along. Pity.
November 6th, 2009 at 11:30 pm
#379 SodaJoe:
#378 WP_: No sir I refuse ! How dare people insult Our Diamond Man Earl ! Everyone was expecting him to mess up and he was SOLID ! Tonight he showed them ! And I was right ! Me ! King of all rugby pundits ! Me and Earl sit on cloud nine tonight happy that we proved the world wrong !
Greatness is ours !
#385 robofthecape: well technically they did…
What’s Pete helium going to say about this? Excuses, excuses, excuses…
sorry Tassies man but the need to get fresh players in is rife and I have no qualms about Johnson Adams Hargreaves De Jongh Hougaard Viljoen even Rose had a good game.
The problem is same as its been since the past 7 to 8 years in the Nh tours. Front row.
The players that were **** today are the players I’ve said get rid of like J. Dup etc and Roussouw.
Pienaar had a poor game and Rose had a blinder. Johnson stood up. So did most the other new guys.
Problem with our set up is we don’t use the backs we try grind it up front with one on one drives . Never going to win like that.
Even Hougaard late in the game should have swung it we may have done some damage instead of this relentless aimless pick and drive nonsense. But that is a Bok malady been ingrained in our rugby since god knows when.
#385 robofthecape: It’s true though. Not Leicester’s fault we picked a political (AND very kak) side to play them.
Rose didnt see much of the ball but was very good when he didlay his hands on it
#386 SodaJoe: Not a single mistake . Played the perfect game at Fullback. No errors ! Just perfections !
Wp_ Everyone knows you a little racist. Francois hougaard should be back up to fdp
November 6th, 2009 at 11:31 pm
#389 Puma: Well I disagree – I think that it does help build for the future. It can’t hurt.
I am getting increasingly worried about the front row. Leaving WP Nel & Wian Du Preez out is looking increasingly foolish. Especially in NH.
#361 rugbygenius: very happy for earl….and for you.*** those earl haters man.
#385 robofthecape: That is what they will say forever. That was not the world champs idiots. That is excatly what makes me so angry about the daft selections.