Wian on loan to Munster
6 Nov 2009
Cheetahs loosehead Wian du Preez has signed a two-month deal with Irish club Munster.
Du Preez was the form loosehead in the Currie Cup this season and was part of the Cheetahs’ front row that was considered the best scrumming force in the competition.
However, he was a shock exclusion from the Springbok squad for the end-of-year tour.
Munster, who are struggling with a prop injury crisis, have now approached Du Preez to help bolster their front row.
‘The deal has been sealed and I will be leaving next weekend for two months,’ Du Preez told keo.co.za. ‘It will be a great experience. In the last three years, Munster have won the European Cup twice. So it’s good to know I’ll be playing for one of Europe’s powerhouses.’
Du Preez added that he is looking forward to featuring alongside players like Springbok centre Jean de Villiers.
‘It will be great to meet up with an excellent player like Jean. There are also many British and Irish Lions and other internationals in the squad, so I will learn a lot during my time there.’
Forwards coach Barend Pieterse said he is happy Du Preez has received this opportunity.
‘Wian is already a good player and he will only get better,’ said Pieterse. ‘It’s a shame he didn’t get a Springbok call-up, but this will be a great experience for him.’
Du Preez is expected to feature in five European Cup matches and three Irish League games. The prop will return on the 25 January, in time for the Cheetahs’ Super 14 preparations.

265 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All
6 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
When the Heinke experiment fails, Wian will still not make the Bok side, Bok Looseheads
1. Beast
2. Heinke
3. Wian
4. Gurthro
5. Blaauw
6 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
#97 sharks_lover: I have my sharks mate arriving at 6 pm with his wife for weekend…will see what he has to say….The Brussow deal was virtually concluded…so i am surprised…but if sharks get Wessels….a damn fine fetcher prospect in the brussow mould….without having to pay R2M…then a good deal….
They need …imo….a class 3….and agee….a top class center.
Ludick a very good buy….Alberts a class act but Kanko being judged unfairly as scrum is poor…But depth important….
Lions must be very the moer in with Sharks for those 2 !!!And Mostert…makes the WP poach of J Fourie like a kindergarten !!
Feel for Lions…DM got his work cut out…..
Anyway…things to do…cool chatting SL and S G…
Cheers…
PS will let you know if mate lets any juicy details slip!
6 Nov 2009, 11:32 am
#100 justrugby: Hi boet…see game on m net tonight so i got it covered…may call on your goodwill tomorrow for tests though?
6 Nov 2009, 11:35 am
#102 grant10: Thanks Grant please do, would love to hear about this Brussow deal, would’ve really been good for S14! But anyway, we have even bigger problems at centre. Cheers Grant have a great day further.
6 Nov 2009, 11:37 am
#100 justrugby: Far too much made of this issue…it is a slap in the face of other top class captains…like VM and J smith….
The best though is in Bath.
#103 grant10:
Cool !!
#77 sharks_lover: #86 sharks_lover:
There is another option for the Sharks that to you might at first seem ridiculous, but the more you think about it it will grow on you, especially now that Alberts will vie for a loosie spot as well.
Seeing as Beast was converted from 8 to 1, why not convert Deysel from 7 to 3.
He is as strong as an ox, he is good on the ground (tight loose), he is a nice length, tall but not too tall, so he can scrum in underneath his opponent like Kobus says on “…dis die vaste vyf” add. Put another 20 kgs on him and he’ll be a monster TH in the Carl Hayman mold.
As Jean matures, he will find himself increasingly having to fight his weight, which if not controlled will make him even slower than he is already, which is probably his only downside as a 7 flanker. Yes, he carries well at times, but too often the opposition stick three okes on him or tackle him from behind because he just lacks that bit of acceleration. So, to try and compensate for that he tries to force his way forward, often going that one yard too far and turning over the ball in the process.
As a TH he doesn’t need to carry long. He can go to ground where he is tackled, protect and recycl;e the ball and bobs your uncle.
Now that is a switch that can work for the young man.
Imagine this pack in a year or two’s time (after Smittie):
Beast/Bissie/Deysel
Mostert/Sykes (Hargreaves)
Alberts Brussow (Rhodes/Daniel/Botes)
Kankowski
As a Bulls supporter I start crapping myself just thinking of it already!
6 Nov 2009, 11:38 am
#104 Sharksgirl: Cheers…
6 Nov 2009, 11:40 am
#107 catleya: You think out the box….either a genius or a very dangerous oke….LOL
A bit like me….
Watch the crown price Dewalt tonight….i cant wait to see him in the green and gold….
Now late…cheers
6 Nov 2009, 11:44 am
#107 catleya: You sir are a genius ! Brilliant idea !
6 Nov 2009, 11:50 am
smit has been taking strain for sometime now at tighthead.
Smit props up Clermont
Clermont set a club record with a 10th successive win in the French Top 14.
Springbok captain John Smit played tighthead prop for 65 minutes as Clermont hammered Auch 36-15 away from home to retain top spot ahead of Toulouse.
Smit, who has played mostly at hooker this season, told Keo.co.za he was pretty buggered after the tighthead effort, but that playing there could only improve his all-round game.
Springbok centre Marius Joubert, according to reports, again excelled and has easily been the form centre in the competition.
Smit, who was named Bok captain a couple of months ago, may miss the French Top 14 play-offs because of international commitments against Wales in June.
Perpignan consolidated their top four place with an away win against Brive. Percy Montgomery kicked a conversion and two penalties and former Stormers centre Gavin Hume added a drop goal in the 16-7 victory.
This entry was posted on Saturday, April 26th, 2008 at 8:05 pm
6 Nov 2009, 11:52 am
catleya some great ideas and yes it could work , deysel is as strong as an ox
6 Nov 2009, 12:00 pm
#63 grant10:
The reason you annoy me and many other bloggers on here is yes, you’ve made your point and obviously have more time on your hands to keep repeating yourself on here. You say it so often you might even start to believe the **** you’re talking.
For starters, how many scrums are their in the modern came compared to breakdowns? A lot less, which is why we need Bismarck there to contest.
Can we hold our own at scrumtime during tests? I believe we can and we’ve scored some great tries from set-pieces with Smith at TH. I watched the Curie Cup final and some of the blokes you praise so highly had a tough time during some of those scrums. And nowadays so much is left to the ref’s interpretation, even Du Preez can look troubled depending on the ref on the day.
What annoyes me most is that you’re willing to take a “wait and see” approach on someone like Heinke but not willing to afford Smit the same. Yes, Smittie has struggled, I’m 1st to admit it, but give him time.
And anyone questioning his captaincy should have his head read (catch my drift Grant?) Just look at the 1st & 2nd BIL when we fell apart without John.
If the Kiwis could play Fitzpatrick and we played Francois Pienaar, both not the best in their positions at the time, should be we not take notice?
I’ve had my rant, bottom line is give Smit time, he’ll lift the world cup once again for us, and what a moment that would be!
Over and out
6 Nov 2009, 12:00 pm
#109 grant10: grant believe it or not i think keegan daniel could be an answer to the no 13 spot for the sharks , has speed etc all the attributes
would need a new mid set though
the other option i have looked at is burden, now to me he could have made a great 6 and learnt how to be a fetcher
speed strength defence a complete footballer
one weakness is ont the strongest scrummager around
but this kids got talent
6 Nov 2009, 12:04 pm
#113 UKBokSupporter: ukbok amen
john smit i repeat is the glue that keeps the boks together
i know we all have our viewpoint , thats how it should be
but to me the first man to pick is john smit
6 Nov 2009, 12:06 pm
#114 sharks_lover: Keegan at Centre that IS a good idea, at least he would offer more than Strauss!
6 Nov 2009, 12:09 pm
#114 sharks_lover:
Trying to steal my thunder now? Have a heart!
6 Nov 2009, 12:10 pm
#113 UKBokSupporter: you sond just like thamesidebokfan…that old doos…
6 Nov 2009, 12:11 pm
sond = sound
6 Nov 2009, 12:11 pm
#115 sharks_lover:
Thanks girl. I think most supporters would rather have Smit in the team than not.
I respect Grant10′s opinion, but hearing it over and over everyday gets a bit annoying, especially if its bollocks!
6 Nov 2009, 12:13 pm
#118 Pearl Rose:
I’ll take that with a pinch of salt coming from someone with “Rose” in his name…
Do you have anything useful to contribute?
6 Nov 2009, 12:14 pm
#114 sharks_lover:
Come to think of it, both those just might work.
Keegan’s got quite a step and accelleration. Might lack top end, but then he will have JPP and Mvovo outside him to finish!
and
as for Craig, sure as hell not may guys that’ll beat him to the ball, and once there, even less that’ll rip it from him.
So- who knows!
6 Nov 2009, 12:19 pm
Tonight is the night .
Our nation stands as one and casts their eyes on one man .
Our fullback.
EARL ROSE .
Today is the day. The moment is here. You can feel it in your blood. It is the moment for Earl to shine. He is the man who will lead us to victory tonight and in 2011 . He is the future of SA rugby – not Brussow.
Critics have always insulted the very best – Cantona, Federer, Woods all have been insulted but emerged victorious. Earl is no different. His time has come .
Rise with me brothers and sisters ! Rise up, and let us chant . Let our chant thunder throughout our fair land . From Limpopo to the Cape, let our chant thunder …. EARL EARL EARL EARL !
6 Nov 2009, 12:21 pm
#123 rugbygenius:
Are you having a laugh?
6 Nov 2009, 12:23 pm
#122 catleya:
Keegan played 13 at u19 level and a bit at school.
But no need for such drastic moves
15.Hernandez
14.Ndungane
13.Murray
12.Jacobs
11.JP
10.Pienaar
9.Kockott
or
15.Ludik
14.Ndungane
13.Murray
12.Jacobs
11.JP
10.Hernandez
9.Pienaar
0r
15.JPP
14.Ndungane
13.Murray
12.Jacobs
11.Mvovo
10.Hernandez
9.McCleod
etc etc
Just please no Riaan “diluted version of Dries Scholts/Tiaan Joubert 10 man rugby” Swanepoek or Andries “got fended TWICE by Doppies of all people” Strauss at S14 level.Give them to Cheetahs plus 2 mil for Brussow
6 Nov 2009, 12:24 pm
#124 UKBokSupporter: No. I am being perfectly serious.
6 Nov 2009, 12:34 pm
#121 UKBokSupporter: infact i think you are the old “box” thamesidebokfan, just with a new nic, a leopard can’t change it’s spots, same old “box” as before
6 Nov 2009, 12:34 pm
#125 mshiniwami: But what if Adi is injured. My point is that as a starting 15 goes the Sharks are good, but if any of the centres gets injured we are left with Strauss
6 Nov 2009, 12:45 pm
#125 mshiniwami: you and sharkgirl are my most admired sharks fans ever…objective, concise, witty & lucid… Keep it up
6 Nov 2009, 12:53 pm
#128 Sharksgirl:
true.
If I were Sharks if they want a bargain buy with some pedigree-look no further than Boland’s Dewey Swartbooi or De Wet Barry at EP or Walter Venter at the Lions
All better than Strauss
6 Nov 2009, 13:01 pm
#130 mshiniwami: you can have de wet for the s14 but please bring him back to us for the currie cup, he is the glue that we’re using to bond our team.
6 Nov 2009, 13:03 pm
#130 mshiniwami: Agreed, I realy like Swartbooi, and with Boland just relegated would probably be keen to move to Durbs, and also Venter. There are rumours that the Sharks have approached Venter, but don’t know how true or with what success. If only Oom Streuli would just be a bit more open with who the new signings are. Apparently there a number of them quite a few rumoured to be real excellent signings, but who really knows anything more than a rumour?
6 Nov 2009, 13:04 pm
#131 Transformation:
6 Nov 2009, 13:10 pm
#131 Transformation:
No problem,you’d be doing us a huge favour.
We’ll give u Strauss AND SWANEPOEL for Vodacom Cup.fair??
6 Nov 2009, 13:13 pm
#134 mshiniwami:
While we are trading, just make sure Strauss goes first!!
6 Nov 2009, 13:23 pm
#120 UKBokSupporter: Dont be so miserable my ma….lifrs too short…I respect your opinion too…but Smit at 3 is bollocks…
6 Nov 2009, 13:23 pm
#136 grant10: sorry spelling…
6 Nov 2009, 13:29 pm
#2 grant10:
Hey Grant10, I assume you think Peter Grant should be the starting Bok flyhalf instead of Morne?
Look out everyone its Grant10…Western Province supporter, go support the All Blacks.
6 Nov 2009, 13:37 pm
great interview with Habana on News24… check it out!
6 Nov 2009, 13:39 pm
#138 Kobus Kitty: No…M Steyn the main man…by a country mile….me a All Black fan…you gotta be insane…luv the boks…wp….sharks…bulls…lions….cheetahs…in that favour….
Cant stand the kiwis!
Rather have you at 3 than J Smit though.
6 Nov 2009, 13:39 pm
#139 ufo: cool…will do
6 Nov 2009, 13:43 pm
#136 grant10:yoh mr man, i see you gathering more groupies by the day…lol…
#134 mshiniwami: eish…swannie & strauss? Don’t you have any u21 centres that need game time, i reckon they’d do better than these okes…
6 Nov 2009, 14:07 pm
Hey grant did u catch Smit in bed with your blonde?
6 Nov 2009, 14:11 pm
I wonder if Pat Lambie can play or be developed into a centre…the boy has got lots of talent and only 19.
6 Nov 2009, 14:13 pm
#142 Transformation: LOL…Seems divergent views a threat against humanity….
#143 johnnyblue: LOL…had a few….you will need to be specific…
6 Nov 2009, 14:15 pm
#144 pokkel: That boy looks so at home at 15….can see him at 10….but why??
6 Nov 2009, 14:16 pm
#143 johnnyblue: no, that was luke thaat got caught with john smit’s wife….
I think the conversion of Deysel to TH is a great idea. You can tell he would easily gain 15kg. The last 5kg would be tough. He has the attitude for the front row, in these modern times. If he matured into the role–imagine the mobility of our Bok heavies: Beast, Bismarck, Deysel. Like having 3 extra loosies.
#143 johnnyblue: Rumour was Luks and Smits girlfriend….not sure where my current blonde comes into the equation???
6 Nov 2009, 14:17 pm
SA XV will beat Tigers by 4 tries to 1.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All