Rankings carrot for Dragons

Wales will move from eighth to fourth in the IRB world rankings if they beat the All Blacks convincingly in Cardiff on Saturday.

Click here for the latest rankings

The Welsh, though, have not beaten New Zealand since 1953, the All Blacks having won 20 Tests in a row, the most recent a 29-9 success at the Millennium Stadium last year.

The closest Wales have come to victory in this time are two one-point losses in 2004 and 1978, but if they can break this losing streak they will climb a minimum of two places to sixth in the rankings. However, they could climb as high as fourth, providing that they were to beat New Zealand by more than 15 points and England condemn Australia to a seventh defeat of 2009 by a similar margin at Twickenham.

In this instance, New Zealand would see their ranking fall by over two points – leaving them four behind the No 1-ranked Boks – and Australia drop two places to equal their lowest ever position of fifth.

Australia’s slide would see Ireland rise to third for the first time in three years and Wales to fourth. It would also leave the Wallabies sitting less than three tenths above England in sixth.

England will climb one place in victory, regardless of the winning margin, with a positive result for Wales also resulting in two place falls for France and Argentina to seventh and eighth respectively.

Wales could actually climb a place to seventh in the rankings even in defeat, with a third Australian victory in four visits to Twickenham leading to a one place fall for England to eighth.

New Zealand can close to within a point of the Springboks with another emphatic victory – six of their last seven in Cardiff have all been by a minimum of 20 points – and even a similar win by Australia will still leave them trailing the All Blacks by more than four points.

Source: irb.com

160 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

go wales!

• 2.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#1 grant10: :shock: Why, you don’t like the AB’S. I say go Kiwis, go Bokke, go Aussies . Show the NH teams who’s boss.

• 3.Puma: Reply to this comment

GOOD LUCK ALL BLACKS. FLY THE SH FLAG HIGH.

GO ALL BLACKS.

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

#2 Jozi: I will never ever never support the kiwis….ever!

Same for Aussies…cant stand them kissing cousins….

Rather Irish, Wales,Scotland,Argies,etc….

Only support Aussies if they play Kiwis…

Personally i will never support Kiwis…

• 5.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#4 grant10: It’s the UK media that I can’t tolerate. Go read some of Stephen Jones’ work.
    We have a few nutters in the SH as well ala Spiro Zavos but the UK media for me are terrible. If any of their teams were world beaters I’d cut them some slack but most of their teams are just plain kak.

Hell I hope the AB’S give those over-hyped cobblers a shellacking of note. I’d hate to hear their gloating after the game.

• 6.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#5 Jozi: i live in wales and i’d have to move if wales beat NZ, we’ll never hear the ned of it

• 7.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#6 mbaxman93: Bwahahahahaha exactly my point. Can you imagine and god forbid if the poms, wales and Leicester tigers win this weekend? :shock:

• 8.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#7 Jozi: it’ll be even worse if the poms wins ,stephen jones and co will have a field day ,you shud hear all the trash talking going on in pubs down here ,its unbearable

• 9.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Eighth? To fourth?

Why bother?

Nobody cares.

It matters if you’re FIRST. And then if you’re not first, it matters if you’re about to be first.

Is there any point in anything other than first?

No.

• 10.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#9 TheTackler: it does matter !! if the irish and welsh win and go up in the rankings then its almost guaranteed with the biased IRB tht te team of the year will be IReland and player of the year will be BOD!!!!and i dnt think i could live with tht

• 11.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

Not gonna happen.

After this weekend it will be Southern Hemisphere 1, Northern Hemisphere 0.

Of course I’ll be rooting for Wales, but they’re still going to lose.

As for Eng vs Aus, the English have a snowball’s hope.

• 12.siener: Reply to this comment

#11 Windhoek.Lager: I think might win this one. Wilkinson is back and playing well and England have what Aus are lacking at the moment: BMT.

It’s an outside chance, but it’s a chance. Wales though don’t have any hope in hell to beat NZ.

• 13.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#8 mbaxman93: Mate I think I have an idea. I used to blog on the BBC 606 boards and I know how one eyed they can be sometimes.
    It doesn’t really matter if you’re the best in the world like the Aussies were in cricket for a long time but crowing when you have sweet blow nothing to crow about……

• 14.jci: Reply to this comment

looking at the irb ranking, is anyone able to explain why germany is not present at all. no, the tru question is : for what strange reason doesn’t rugby have appeal at all for the germans ? i would think the germans could be very good at it, both phisically and mentally, simply they don’t seem to like it. god knows for what reason …

• 15.seamus: Reply to this comment

Not gonna happen. Aus are kak, but Eng are worse. And NZ are not ranked 10 points better than Wales for no reason (and vise versa). Plus, Gatland has been shoosting his mouth off to motivate the ABs

• 16.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Mbaxman93, my fellow defender of sa rugby on youtube :)

• 17.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#2 Jozi:

I dont go in for this Hemisphere-loyalty to be honest. I didnt grow up dreaming of “…..playing for the Southern Hemisphere….”.

Ive never supported an Australian team – of any description – my whole life, why would I start now ?

Ive never ‘wanted’ the Boks to beat any other rugby team either nor does it annoy me when they do (unless its vs NZ og course) but nonchalant/happy-for any other sports of SAs to succeed. I would support Boks against Engl every time tho and, obviously as per above, vs Aus too. I supported the Boks in the Stade de France in 2007, no problems. But it wasnt a ‘Hemisphere’ thing. I would want France to beat the Boks but more because I like France than dislike SA, know wha Im sayin’.

Otherwise this pro or ante-NH/SH is as contrived as Halloween in some countries, a retail beat-up.

Nah – this Hemisphere gig doesnt work until some time in the future when the end of season Superduper Finale will have a ‘Allstars’-style selection of 6Nations vs 4Nations, and even then you will have inconsistencies without involving Polynesia/Asia/EasternEurope etc.

If that could happen tho, bring it on – thats Fantasy stuff for saddo bloggers such as ourselves….

Interesting concept tho fellas. Do your current pre-EOYT NH vs SH Fantasy XVs (XXIIs) and then, later, compare it with the post-EOYT XVs.

capische ?

• 18.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#2 Jozi: Jozi my bro, that SH loyalty thing is an illusion. The Kiwis and Aussies dont share (some) Saffas’ feeling on hemisphere.

I would always want the result that benefits the Boks. If Wales beats NZ, then the Boks pull away and go “further” to #1.
    As Tackler says #9 TheTackler (and I NEVER thought I would agree with or quote Tackler) it only matters if you are first.

The Boks are 1st again – where they should be. And they need to extend that lead… so GO WALES.

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

#17 WakaNathan: i agree…personally i hope the kiwis lose every test….same as Aussies…even support the aussies against Kiwis…and dammit thats a tall order.

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

#18 bokfan1: agree…stuff the kiwis and aussies!

• 21.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#4 grant10: Well said man – I too will never support the Kiwis. I’d support the Aussies over the Kiwis and England but no one else.

I really dont understand this love-affair that Saffas have with the Southern Hemisphere?! As if we are all buddies – those 2 teams are our biggest threats!

Rather the Argies, Welsh, France etc :-)

But luckily we were blessed to be born to support the most magnificent team ever – THE BOKKE!

• 22.grant10: Reply to this comment

#21 bokfan1: Amen….never a Kiwi….only aussies against Kiwis…even support the poms before those 2 x colluding…SAffa hating kissing cousins….too much blood in the water…kiwis dropped us too many times…aussies just downright untrustworthy!!

Stuff that….Boks,,,,everyone else…then aussies…never ever Kiwis

• 23.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#17 WakaNathan: Neither do I but anything to keep some of the UK hacks who call themselves knowledgeable rugby journos quite. It’s not loyalty per se Waka.
    In the cricket I support my chokers first and anybody else who plays against the Aussies….see it’s not about loyalty to the SH. That’s just something for the brainwashed naïve folks
    The Aussie media do give a fair bit of lip but more often than not their teams actually back it up on the pitch the same can’t always be said about the UK teams.
    Win one game and hooray…we’re the best in the world, we’re going to dominate the world….yarra yarra.
    It’s nothing personal just my opinion and preference.
    Although Aussies can be annoying sometimes, I respect their mental strength and their ability to perform consistently and achieve excellent results in any sport.
    If I had to choose who to support between NH/SH rugby teams I’d almost always go for the SH teams provided the Bokke interests were not in jeopardy. Their rugby is far more enterprising.
    Who wants to watch 10 men rugby being played in 5 inches of mud?

• 24.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#18 bokfan1: I know broer.#19 grant10: #21 bokfan1: Guys I do hope you’re joking with this whole anti Aussie, Kiwi thing cause it’s not very cool.

• 25.cane: Reply to this comment

#21 bokfanny1:

Blessed to support the “2nd most magnificent Team ever”. Is a more factual statement.

• 26.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#25 cane: No mate, I was referring to South Africans, not NZers… You guys are “blessed” with the 2nd best (and that is debatable)

• 27.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#24 Jozi: Jozi my china, why would we be joking?! Dont you think our reasons are good?

Its not about supporting northern hemisphere really (my 2nd team is Argies) its more about supporting the team that has the best outcome for Bokke.

Our “fellow” Sanzar partners dropped us with our bid for 2011. They have colluded to make the S14 and Tri Nations as difficult as possible for SA for too long.

Do you forget last year’s Tri Nations when Vic was captain and he went over to speak to the ref and McCaw waved him away?!
    That is total disrespect for a fellow captain and most un-sportsman-like.

So dont stick up for the Kiwis and support them when they plainly have no respect for the Boks – well now they do cos they Boks walloped them :-)

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

#24 Jozi:

I reach across the Oceans………the Time Zones….the cultural divide…………….and clasp you to my bosom (metaphorically), kiss you on both checks (in the manner Slavic people do….I hope Jozi is short for Jocelyn).

If not Jocelyn …….it was a hand shake.

• 29.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#28 cane: “Jozi” is the slang for Johannesburg here in SA :)

• 30.cane: Reply to this comment

#27 bokfan1:

Grow up Fanny……….How about the AB’s turn up to play a Test Match at Kings Park and the Official Program, has photo of some Saffa Thug punching Andy Dalton from behind.

• 31.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#28 cane: LOL – very good Cane! Jozi is slang for Johannesburg, so there is a lot of love there for you to embrace :)

• 32.Dunx: Reply to this comment

this is gonna be the biggest opportunity for wales to beat NZ this yr with the kiwis not having the quality like they are used to

• 33.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#30 cane: Easy on the commands Cane. This is not a SANZAR board meeting where the Saffas are expected to obey the Kiwis

That would be a great story… there’s another fairytale that goes “Once upon a time there was this fairy named Suzie and she made hamburgers for all the All Blacks in 95…”

brilliant fiction

• 34.cane: Reply to this comment

#29 Sharksgirl:

Then it was a handshake.

But you get the Slavic embrace.

And Bokfanny gets a kick in the nuts.

• 35.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#27 bokfan1: I still think you’re joking. I can’t imagine that there are too many Saffas who share that view. The AB’S are an awesome team and they have earned my respect. Aussie sportsmen have also earned my respect (I just wish they’d shut up sometimes)

Naah boet I’m not yet convinced by the likes of England etc.

#28 cane: Whooaa Caney….A hand shake it was then. :D

• 36.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#17 WakaNathan:

so, on 6N vs 4N (incl Argies)

Superduper Finale pre-EOYT XVs:-

NH XV

15. R.Kearney
    14. M.Medard
    13. B.O’Driscoll
    12. J.Roberts
    11. C.Heymans
    10. J.Wilkinson
    9. M.Phillips
    8. S.Parisse
    7. M.Williams
    6. T.Dusutoir (Capt)
    5. P.O’Connell
    4. L.Nallet
    3. M.Castrogiovanni
    2. W.Servat
    1. G.Jenkin

Bench: I.Harinordoquy; S.Chabal; S.Marconnet; M.Mermoz; J.Flannery; F.Michalak; J.Dupuy

SH XV

15. JM.Hernandez
    14. B.Habana
    13. C.Smith
    12. Jd.Villiers
    11. S.Sivivatu
    10. D.Carter
    9. Fd.Preez
    8. P.Spies
    7. R.McCaw
    6. R.Elsom
    5. B.Botha
    4. V.Matfield
    3. J.Smit (Capt)
    2. Bd.Plessis
    1. T.Woodcock

Bench: F.Steyn; M.Steyn; M.Nonu; J.Cowan; A.Hore; B.Thorn; J.Smith; Beast

Lets see how they stack up after the next 5 weeks of action.

• 37.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#34 cane: :lol: ouch!

• 38.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#29 Sharksgirl: Yeah if he’s that desparate for hugs, I’ll take him on a short visit to Berea via Hillbrow….I know many “Jocelyns” who won’t mind helping him out ;)

• 39.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#34 cane: You’re welcome to try Cane

#35 Jozi: unfortunately some Saffas might not agree with our views.

I respect the ABs as a team of course, I like a lot of the players etc. and I have no problems with Aussie players either.

That is a different subject to blindly supporting them because they are “Southern Hemisphere” – which is what you proposed. Lets not confuse the 2.

You can respect the team and the players, but as the Boks closest competition, and especially as the respect is not reciprocated by them, you shouldnt be appealing to some fantastical notion of a Southern hemisphere alliance boet :)

• 40.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#36 WakaNathan: 13. C.Smith????!
    HAHAHAHAHA whatever.

Jacque Fourie

6. R.Elsom???? Brussow

rest of the team, not bad

• 41.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#38 Jozi: shew don’t know if he could handle all “those” hugs ;)

• 42.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#40 bokfan1:

BaXXies !!!!

Im not sure youre right tho, is that the EXACT quote that, allegedly, Conrad muttered as he waltzed pass Jacque ?

I dont he think he would be so crass tho, classy guy that Smith fella – creates and finishes.

Brussow is a like-for-like selection with McCaw, in my books.

Elsom is a like-for-like selection with Juan Smith.

• 43.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

Interesting to nb that in a Walesonline.co.uk Live Poll to answer the Ques:-

“Will Wales beat the All Blacks” ?

47.1% say YES

45.9% say NO.

The Boyos are cockahoop in the Valleys and Gatland seems to have guaranteed an unbelievable atmosphere at the Millenium Stadium tomorrow. Smart man that Gats.

• 44.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#39 bokfan1: “That is a different subject to blindly supporting them because they are “Southern Hemisphere” – which is what you proposed. Lets not confuse the 2.”

You may have misunderstood my post at #2 it had nothing to do with NH/SH blind loyalty etc but more to do with my belief that those 3 teams play a far more enterprising brand of rugby as compared to their NH counterparts and as such they get my support.

That coupled with the fact that in my view the NH sides do far more talking than playing anyway.

As for the board room shenanigans between Saffas, Aussies & NZ….I honestly don’t give a d*mn. The Saffa administrators have done far worse things to the game locally than O’Neill and his mates have done to them….not condoning it just saying….

Some people may see it as “gatkruiping” but my respect for those teams still stands. The other staff about Richie is petty imo.

• 45.grant10: Reply to this comment

#24 Jozi: stuff that…i am deadly serious!

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

#27 bokfan1: and that Ces Blazey Kiwi done us out a football WC…stuff them

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

I would rather support the Outer Mongolian 15 than the Kiwis….Blazey you dog!

• 48.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#46 grant10: Yeah that guy knows how to spoil parties….Charles Dempsey was his name. I believe he passed on.

• 49.cane: Reply to this comment

#46 grant10:

Ces Blazey as President of the NZRU, was the ******** who issued the Invitation for the Boks to Tour NZ in 81.

Ces was your friend Bokfanny.

• 50.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#46 grant10:

Ces Blazey is as Kiwi as KP is a Pom.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.